All

Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort Reviews

Caribbean | Dominican Republic - Puerto Plata Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 379 Reviews
Value
 
3.9
Service
 
3.6
Beaches & Pools
 
4.1
Dining Options
 
2.9
Room Comfort
 
3.5
3.6 out of 5
"room cleaning is not satisfied showers sinks toilets are not cleaned daily all towels collected in AM and cleaned towels returned in late PM No towels available during the day" – marinadv
296 out of 448 (66%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
view of beach below restaurant deck Beach Jr Suite Paradise! One of the pools ED RELAXING Our beautiful room! Zipline! View of the Cheap Caribbean VIP section from the sushi bar Our building VIP beach Bloody Mary Breakfast Sunrise outside the lobby. One of the pool comfy cabana at the beach our room view from the OceanSide room Paradise Mold Dirty floors Puerto Plata tour cable ride. Rainy Day Picture bed on beach Bathroom of junior suite our room Delicious!! VIP Beach Area

All Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort Customer Reviews

1-10 of 379 reviews. Sort by
March 31, 2015
Enh...

Overall - not impressed. The resort was mostly clean and some of the staff was very nice. Easy enough to avoid the timeshare speech if you just say no, but they definitely watch for new people and try and convince them they need the "tour" The food was mediocre. There were a few great items, nothing horrible, but the french fries were definitely the best thing I ate there. You can definitely get your money's worth out of drinks if you choose to do so. The beach was clean, the pools were also very lovely. Plenty of seating, though shade can be sparse at times. The major downfall to me was service. Guest services was helpful and one front desk person. But the majority of staff speaks mostly Spanish, and does seem to struggle a little with English if not at an office. Additionally, while I'm sure couples and families didn't have this issue, as a single female at the resort I definitely attracted a lot of attention that I didn't want and was hard to dissuade. But it was very beautiful there.


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 2
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
2.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Westchester, NY
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

March 29, 2015
Great vacation for the money

This is the second time that me and my husband have visited this same resort. It is a lot of vacation for the money, so all in all a good value. Our room much nicer the first time we were there, but our room this time was fine, just older. I am a vegetarian and my husband is not and we still enjoyed all of our meals. Our reservation dinner was at the Mexican restaurant and it was delicious. The guest engagement people are awesome and are really fun to hang out with for the week. The beach is pretty, but it has darker, courser sand than a lot of other Caribbean destinations. It's a large resort so bring comfy sandals.


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Warrenville IL
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

March 24, 2015
March 2015 trip

I took my 18 yr old daughter for her spring break to the Cofresi Palm resort. Overall the experience was good. I was worried reading some of the awful reviews. There are some truths but by no means awful and the staff were quite accommodating in resolving the issues. The 1st room unfortunately (206) building did have that sewage odor that was written about in the reviews. We were moved that night to another room in the (205) building, no odor but later noticed that the light/ceiling was leaking.....maintenance checked it out and found it to be the air conditioner. Was addressed 2x's and then no further issues. Staff was great! Very friendly. The other issue I had was the time share/villa selling- we were called at 830am and was told our concierge was picking us up for breakfast on the 1st morning of our stay, that was fine and after we were to wait in the lounge area for our concierge to bring us for the tour. After speaking with a couple we left, as she told us it was not mandatory and unless we planned on buying a share it was a waste of a day. About 15minutes after we left, he found us and kind of tricked me into coming to the VIP offices for the tour. He told me that it was not a selling tour but rather to show us where we can go and what there is to do. Which couldn't be further from the truth. We met with Emilio who I told him politely and right up front that I was not interested or in a position to buy and did not want to waste either of our time. He understood, appreciated my honesty and for the rest of the trip was no issue. Staff: All were friendly and helpful, the entertainment/activities people were most entertaining, I participated in the pool exercise and pool Olympics. Lots of fun! There were some beach complaints in reviews I read. No, the beach is not big, sand is brown, small waves and some sea weed but I spent every day in the water......I would compare it to Ft. Lauderdale beach water with less surf and a little more seaweed. Pretty blue water. The hair braiding ladies on the beach were persistent, I did let them braid 2 French braids for $10, she wanted $20, the smaller braids are for $2 each. Dining was average. The seafood restaurant was the best. At the Mexican restaurant I ordered a dish with jumbo shrimp and the shrimp were tiny. the Casablanca buffet at Tropical was very good where the Pearl at Cofresi just average. Drinks were pretty good, served in very small cups. We purchased 2 insulated cups at at the gift shop for $25, the next time I'll bring my own. Regarding the gift shop, I was almost out of sunscreen and for a bottle of spray sunscreen they wanted $37 dollars, I made out last bit last rather than pay. Overall we had a great time. We can roll with the punches and make the best out of a bad situation, this was no where near bad and would definitely return. Remember it is not a 5 star hotel, if you want a good time this place will definitely provide one for you.


2 of 2 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: New York
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

March 17, 2015
Loved it

I went to this resort with low expectations based on previous reviews. The only reason I booked it was because a friend of mine went there and said she had a good time. So I trusted her judgment rather than other negative reviewers. I am absolutely glad I went to this resort. It is absolutely gorgeous. It is not a 5-star resort but you will not be disappointed. The food however was subpar in my opinion. When I go to a different country I expect to eat real food from that specific culture however they had mostly American food such as burgers and hotdogs. They had Italian, Mexican, Indian which I may add the Indian restaurant was excellent. So you must visit it. I went on this trip with two of my girls one of which is getting married so this was a bachelorette vacation for her. The only thing I didn't like about the resort was that wifi was only available at the VIP beach and available funtil 6pm which is when the beach closes. That's the only complaint I have. But the resort is huge you will have transportation available to you to wherever you want to go in the resort. It is a very big resort. There is a big event that occurs on Thursdays at the VIP world which is a must see. It's spectacular. All in all we had a great time and would definitely wrist again. They will try to have you sign up for timeshare just tell them you don't have time to meet and they will leave you alone. Bonus you get a free bottle of mama Juana when you meet with them to discuss the timeshare. But you don't have to sign up if you don't want to.


2 of 2 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Boston, MA
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

March 16, 2015
Definitely worth the money and very joyful vacatio

The whole trip to DR was awesome; Cofresi Palm Beach Resort and bundle of resorts next to it were very accommodating and made our trip very joyful. Make sure you have access to VIP beaches when you purchase your trip otherwise you won't be happy! Also don't miss attending 2 big parties on Sundays and Thursday nights, they are awesome!


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: New York
Age: 25-34

March 16, 2015
7 day 8 night vacation

My friend and I stayed an entire week at this resort. We thought it was a beautiful resort. Our room was a little disappointing as were the mattresses that we slept on. The room was very old, the air conditioning was loud (probably age). The room was mostly clean, except that I found the floor to be dirty. I dropped something under the bed and there was a layer of dust. The service at this resort made up for the fact that our room was sub-par. The buffet food was good and the restaurants that required reservations were spectacular. We felt, like others, that this resort was too sales pitched. Every day we were asked if we wanted to snorkel or use the kayaks, go to the spa, or horseback ride. Our thought was that if we wanted to do those things, we would search them out. We avoided the "VIP" tour... which we heard was a sales pitch for time-shares, but we were asked 4 times throughout the week. There was a lot of walking and stairs. The hotels currency exchange would not change over larger bills for smaller ones, which was very aggravating if you wanted to tip. The gift stores on site were overpriced and did not accept credit cards. They filled our small fridge with 4 beers then waters and sodas only to never fill it again.. we were told that is only available the first night, which to me made no sense since it was an all inclusive resort... and 2 thirty something females couldn't enjoy a beer on our own balcony after a long day... We highly suggest the Paradise Island excursion. It was a full 8 hour day but was very enjoyable. The bus ride is long (1.5hrs), but you get to take a boat (20 min ride) out to a small sandbar with huts where you enjoy snorkeling the reefs, drinks and fruit. Then back to land for lunch. Then we stopped at a store where they had souvenirs and cigar making on the way back to the resort. Overall, we really did have a great time. We were there to soak up sun and swim and that is exactly what we did.


1 of 1 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
2.0
User Image

From: Cape Cod, MA
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

March 16, 2015
Great deal for the price I paid

Ok so here we go on Cofresi Palm Beach and Spa Resort. Like the title says, for what I paid and what I got as far as all-inclusive goes as well as my length of stay I really can't complain. But then I wouldn't be completely honest, lol. Want the good or the bad first? Being that I gave the title what I did, let's start with THE GOOD. For what I paid, I was able to stay 6 days and 5 nights all-inclusive and get away from the snow here in Jersey. Breakfast at The Pearl Buffet followed by hours at the pool either reading while soaking in the sun or swimming up to the pool bar (Cheers) enjoying a beer or pina colada was pretty much what I did from the time I woke up until early afternoon when it was time to go back to The Pearl to grab lunch. For breakfast, lunch, and dinner at The Pearl I would give the resort 7 out of 10. The food I chose was absolutely acceptable. There was, however, trays of food that I wouldn't even go near. Stick with the simple stuff here folks...salads, fruit, fresh grilled meats, freshly made omelets, pancakes, roasted potatoes, etc. After lunch guess where I would go? Back to the pool for sun and alcohol! The first 2 nights I had to hit the buffet again for dinner being that for a 5 night stay the resort only made reservations for dinner on the 3rd, 4th, and 5th nights. That's something I would change although I do understand why they do that. They want a nice flow of patrons hitting up the different restaurants they have to offer without being totally backed up which does make total sense to me. Complaining guests are annoying guests. The amount of pools and restaurants they have to offer are impressive. So the 3rd night for dinner I was able to hit up Trapiche, the Mexican restaurant. Awesome food. I had the taco salad bowl with beef fajitas. Once again, I kept it simple and stuck to what I knew and what I thought the chefs had better get right, and they did. This was the first night that I enjoyed premium alcohol. They had a stand set up with about ten different bottles of Cuervo all different flavors - infused with cherries, orange peel, lemon peel, cinnamon, hot peppers(awesome), star fruit, regular silver, regular gold, and I can't remember the other 2. Either way, a great way to try and satisfy everyone's palate. This was also great because you could get up and serve yourself these shots or if you asked the waiter (like I did after my 5th shot being afraid I would either drop a bottle or simply fall face first into the display), they would bring it to you. The 4th night we hit up the Asian restaurant. Mai Tai please. I once again kept it simple and ordered the beef and broccoli. At the end of dinner, my plate was completely empty. Once again, I kept it simple and it paid off big time. Another great dinner. They even had sangria at the Asian restaurant which I though was a little weird until I tasted it. Then I stopped thinking about how weird it was and simply enjoyed it (along with the Mai Tai). The 5th and final night was at El Pilon, the Dominican restaurant. Being that I went with beef the previous 2 nights I decided to go with what the menu states is the most popular dish...the chicken with rice and andoules. Glad I did...plate empty. Here I stuck to white wine which was eh...ok. The entire trip I stayed away from what the locals scream about...Mamajuana. I'm simply not a rum guy. I like my vodka and tequila. I'm a Jersey guy which means I like to talk to people and have fun and that's what I did. Was every single person that worked there nice and polite? No. Were the majority? Absolutely. Get to know the bartenders by a first name basis. Throw the waiters and the bartenders and the maids a few bucks. They deserve it. Oh the maid service? Second to none. The one that did my room 3 times was an absolute sweetheart. I grabbed 6 cigars from the resort's shop (2 Cohibas, 2 Montecristos, 2 Romeo y Julietas)...AWESOME. Ok ready for THE BAD? From time to time you get to enjoy the sweet smell of sewage coming from the resort. Yeah, kinda gross. The pools were awesome, until you kept swimming into bird feces (this is something the resort has absolutely no control over unless they put up some kind of ridiculous looking nets surrounding the pool), so deal with it. One the 2nd day that I was there, I was being hunted down by these guys who wore these beige hats and shirts. Apparently Lifestyles resort seeks out guests who book through other vendors such as Cheap Caribbean, Apple Vacations, etc. and they take you to these salesmen who try and get you to upgrade through some sort of timeshare. I spent 90 minutes with this guy who takes you on a golf cart and shows you what you can really have (if you just have $13k to put down). I'm like dude, I'm here because of Cheap Caribbean's prices, not because I'm a self-made millionaire (yet). There was a good part to this though...you get a free bottle of rum (nice gesture) and you get to see these absolutely beautiful properties. If I hit the lotto...I would consider the oceanfront homes....holy lord. So that's pretty much it. Overall score for me? 7 out of 10. Considering what I paid, and how long I stayed? Like Charlie Sheen says...WINNING.

Great deal for the price I paid Great deal for the price I paid
1 of 1 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: North Jersey
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

February 13, 2015
Cofresi Resort

My husband and I weren't searching to go on vacation but seen this great deal and decided why not spend a week in the Dominican Republic!? WE HAD AN AMAZING TIME! We met great people from all over the states! Everyone of the staff members at the resort were extremely nice! Especially the entertainers!(Salami was my favorite) we booked 2 excursions 1 through the hotel with the ATV's (Ask for Alex and Pedro They are very sweet young boys and extremely hilarious!) and another excursion with some guys off the beach to go on the party boat! --sounds sketchy but it really wasn't! both excursions were well worth the money! the only thing we werent really impressed with was some of the food, but lets me honest you arent going to love everything you have ever tried just stay away from the 2 am buffets! Even with all the alcohol you have consumed that food is still horrible!!

Cofresi Resort
3 of 3 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Iowa
Age: 25-34

February 12, 2015
GREAT VACATION

THIS IS A WONDERFUL PLACE FOR A VACATION. BUT RENT A GOLF CART THE FIRST DAY YOU GET THERE. MY ONLY COMPLAINT IS THE STAIRS...WAY TO MANY STAIRS TO CLIMB TO GET TO THE DINING ROOM ETC. EVERYTHING ELSE THE ROOM , POOL, BEACH WAS A 5 STAR FOR SURE. I JUST COULD NOT DO ALL THOSE STAIRS AND WAITING FOR THE SHUTTLE WAS NOT GOOD. I LOVED IT BUT WE WOULD NOT RETURN. TOO OLD. FOOD WAS FANTASIC, BEACH BEAUTIFUL DRINKS GREAT.. ROOM WAS TOPS...


2 of 2 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image
Top 500 Contributor
From: GOFFSTOWN NEW HAMPSHIRE
Age: Over 65
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

January 29, 2015
Confresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort

If you just want a nice relaxing place to hang out, drink and relax for a very reasonable price, this is a great place. The staff if very helpful and friendly and the pools and beach areas are very clean and maintained with plenty food and bars. If you can't leave your internet behind, keep in mind that the free wifi is only available near the sushi bar at Lifestyles Tropical Beach (sister resort next door) and is spotty. They do offer wifi in the rooms for a pretty reasonable price. You do have access to all of the amenities at the Tropical Beach Resort which is only a short walk along the beach, or you can catch the shuttle at the entrance which is free. My wife and I like this resort for the relaxation.


1 of 2 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Salt Lake City, UT
Age: 55-64
Travel: 3-6 trips/year