All

Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort Reviews

Caribbean | Dominican Republic - Puerto Plata Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 344 Reviews
Value
 
3.9
Service
 
3.6
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
2.9
Room Comfort
 
3.6
3.6 out of 5
"Can't beat for the price. Resort was very large and accommodating. The VIP beach was a great daily hang out. The food was nothing to write about. Overall fantastic bang for your buck." – JoshGwvu
273 out of 410 (67%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Bloody Mary Breakfast One of the pools ED RELAXING Paradise! bed on beach Delicious!! Bathroom of junior suite Mold Sunrise outside the lobby. view from the OceanSide room VIP beach Paradise Puerto Plata tour cable ride. Jr Suite Dirty floors Zipline! Beach our room our room Our beautiful room! Our building View of the Cheap Caribbean VIP section from the sushi bar Rainy Day Picture comfy cabana at the beach One of the pool view of beach below restaurant deck VIP Beach Area

All Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort Customer Reviews

1-10 of 344 reviews. Sort by
September 13, 2014
Excellent resort, amazing price for value

The value for the price was extremely good, especially since it was all inclusive and when in Dominican Republic you really don't spend any money aside from your occasional tips. The service to and from the hotel and at the hotel was very accommodating, and we reccomend to book the transportation with the flight, it costs less and it makes things alot easier. The hotel personell were all super nice, the entertainers are hilarious and were all great guys. The events they had everyday were super fun and different all the time. The pools are beautiful and well maintained, however the beach has a good amount of seaweed, alot of Solicitors and not Much room between the wall of the resort and water (not much sand), but the water is beautiful and so is the view while on the beach. Def perfect for a couples getaway. They have cabanas and hammocks everywhere that are perfect to relax in and are in great locations. Having all inclusive drinks was a plus, there were a few very good bartenders and if you take care of then they will be sure to do the same for you. The food was excellent.... The buffet was kind of boring, always the same foods, but if you have dinner reservations at the restraunts, they are excellent... Especially the Italian and Mexican. We had such a good experience in getting to know the people from the resort that it was tough to leave! Cofresi is def the better side, and the junior Suite is by far the way to go! The only things I would Change if I could are..... Food is not alwys easily available depending on the time, the fitness center (if you can call it that) was a joke, although they are newly renovating another one, and make sure you bring tons of singles because although they have American money and change for you, they always tell you they don't except at the front desk... Unless its Felipe, because he's the best!!! Melvin was the best bartender we had, and Nathaniel, Albert were excellent waiters and Luis from cheap Caribbean was a great guy too and helpful with coordinating everything. I highly reccomend this trip if you can book a week for less then 650 a person all inclusive! Thanks again cheapcaribean and Cofresi resort, see you again sometime In the future!!!


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: New York, NY
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

September 1, 2014
Not what I expected, in a bad way

To start off, the vacation was ok, however a good 90% of the staff (bar tending, front desk, and wait staff) were rude and acted as if they would rather have you not there. The day you will arrive, they will take you on the mandatory "tour" aka a sales pitch to buy a time share there. They will profile you by race and language and then choose which part of the property to show you. My wife and I being white English speaking Americans got the tour where everything cost in the $100K plus range simply because in there minds all white Americans are rich. To prove that point, some friends we met are from NY, but are Hispanic descent and they told them they could not afford here and then proceed to ask what credit cards they had to see if they do indeed have money. Yes, this really happened. On the tour they told us Cheap Caribbean was a bad way to come because it was cheap. Finally, after a tour of a $2 million dollar house which we did not ask for, they guy ask what its going to take for me to buy. I told them I was not interested in and did not have this kind of money. He immediately stopped talking to us and silently dropped us off at our resort. Which again was better than our friends from NY who were literally left on the tour by there guide a long way from their resort. Once you decline ownership of a time share and you do not get their coveted "VIP bracelet" forget about it, you are the lowest of the low and they want to make sure you know it. All the pictures on the website and all the places listed only a third of them can you actually go to if you are not VIP. This includes pools, restaurants (of which you only get three dinners out of for the week), and even beaches, there are beaches in which the likes of non VIP people are not allowed. They even told us that our resort (their own resort) was not that nice and we should upgrade. So in conclusion, if you would like to spend a good amount of money on mediocre food, ok rooms and to be berated by the same resort you spent money with, this place is for you.


0 of 1 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
2.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Charlotte, NC
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

September 1, 2014
Never again

The reason for choosing this hotel was because i was part of a wedding party. The wedding was a total unplanned chaos. The resort is very big and It happened to be raining all day the day of the wedding.The hotel did not make any accommodations to drive Any of the bridal party to the reception area . The very least the bride and groom should've been accommodated instead bride was walking in the rain with her heels and wedding dress to the very far reception area. Besides the wedding, the overall hotel experience was not very great. The food offered was not very tasteful. The hotel had lots of restaurants but god forbid you arrived late to your dinner. Even if the restaurant was completely empty they would not seat you if you missed your reservation and you were only allowed to change your reservation the same day from 9am to 10am. If you called room service for extra towels they took a very long time. I also did not like all the different vip categories and all the segregation. I would not recommend this resort to anyone unless you are very high class and stay at a villa.


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 2
Value
 
2.0
Service
 
2.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
2.0
User Image

From: Westchester ny
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

August 26, 2014
WHAT HAPPENED

2nd time there wont go again had a wonderful time but on the weekend all the islanders flock to the beach and hotel had a few arguments while waiting online to eat they just dont care they go in front of you while you are waiting to be served also could not use pool or lounge on the vip beach they took over the whole resort i wont go back unless its just monday to friday come the weekend nope dont care for it


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 2
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
2.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: staten island ny
Age: 55-64
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

August 26, 2014

I feel that I got rob, the hotel was awful in general especially the food and service around the hotel. I would not recommend this hotel.


1 of 1 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 1
Value
 
1.0
Service
 
1.0
Beaches & Pools
 
2.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
1.0
User Image

From: Miami, fl
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

August 26, 2014
Not Worth It

After just returning from a week long vacation at this resort there was a strong urge to inform other customers about our stay and how unsatisfied we were. Here are some pros and cons from our trip: Pros: -Friendly and helpful staff -Beautiful beaches and pools -Resort grounds are well maintained Cons: -Horrible food.. I mean HORRIBLE! -Little to no food selection.. Same thing every day! -Too big. Resort is massive with no way to get around besides on foot. -Drinks are cheap.... Cheap liquor= bad hangovers! Granted the drinks are part of the inclusive package but it's really bad quality. -Filled with kids! Want romance? Don't stay here! Kids are running around all over the place with no parent supervision! -Rooms are in bad shape! Dented and scratched up walls, no AC in the bathroom, and beds are as hard as concrete... Really uncomfortable! -Any additional things you want you have to pay for (lock for the safe, extra towels, phone calls, etc) -Pool bars close at 5pm which the exception to one which is the furthest away from the rooms. -Pools close at 7pm.. Like really? This is vacation! -First day of the trip and you'll get hounded by the sales staff to buy a time share. Claim they will give you a tour of the resort to show what you have access to but instead they show you everything you don't have access too and how wonderful it would be to be a VIP member.... Honestly your on vacation and that's the last thing you want to hear! -As a non-VIP member you are restricted to most restaurants, pools and beaches. Really annoying and rude! -No appropriate signage or direction to anything. Unfortunately this resort is not a place you will want to spend your vacation! Good luck with your resort selection and I hope you all enjoy your vacation more than we did!


1 of 1 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 2
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
1.0
User Image

From: New Jersey
Age: 19-24
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

August 26, 2014
Good Purchase

My fiancé & I went there last week for 4 nights and 5 days. The overall experience was good. There is an adult section part of the pool which was nice and the lifeguards were very strict with keeping anyone under 18 out of the adult area. The food was average. The breakfast buffet was okay. There was a wait for pancakes & eggs. If you do not mind the wait, then it is fine. There one major problem was the reservations and having the amount of restaurants they have. We got there on Saturday & they had set reservations for us for Monday & Tuesday, but we had to do buffet for Saturday & Sunday. We would have liked to have eaten a la carte both those days, but overall, the price was very good. The price cannot be beat!


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: New Jersey, USA
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

August 19, 2014
Was expecting much more...

The price was a bit much for the service that I received and overall experience. Just by saying that I had a better time outside of the resort than in it should explain itself.


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 2
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
2.0
Beaches & Pools
 
1.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
2.0
User Image

From: Miami, FL
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

August 12, 2014
what we paid was worth

We've been in 7 days in Confresi Palm beach & Spa Resort. The Pools are beatiful and good food, rooms are comfortable, the employees are nice and friendly... what we paid was worth .... What we did not like (how all the resort make) tried to sell us timeshare ... ... the worst thing was that they said us it was just a tour and suddenly they were doing it pressure .... they made to spend our time ... we were excited to enjoy the resort and Rita took us to the "Tour"... She was rude to us when she said she had lost her time with us ... we feel very inconfortable with all this (We are not there for buy timeshare)... And also there were many cockroaches in the room .... And finally, the sea around Puerto Plata is not the caribbean sea ... And it is not pretty ... it's a brave sea, with many stones.


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Dracut , MA
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

August 11, 2014
Will Never Return

Upon arrival to the Dominican Republic I learned that there is a $10 entry fee that no one told me about. I later learned that it may have been mentioned on the plane, but in Spanish. When we arrived at the Cofresi, we were not greeted with a cool towel and a drink like I am accustomed to. Instead, we were greeted by an employee who told us he would be our guide for the duration of our stay. He was late picking us up for breakfast the next day. We were picked up by someone else as we left our room. This guy and the waitress were sort of arguing because breakfast was over. Finally, we were allowed to order an omelet .My friend had to order for me because the chef only understood Spanish. After breakfast, the original guide showed up. It ended up being a sales presentation that he wanted us to attend. When we did not purchase, we were exited through a side door without any information as to how to get back to our room. The guide was no where to be found. Later that day and the next day or so, he ignored us every time he saw us. During our visit, the power went off numerous times. We stayed 7 nights but were only given 3 dinner reservations. They didn't even have the correct room number on them. I am not sure we received the room that we paid for. Reservations were needed at all restaurants except the buffets. Why would you want a buffet dinner when you could go to a specialty restaurant and order what you want? One reservation was for 9:30pm. Trying to change reservations or make additional reservations was impossible. The spa charged $80 each for a combination manicure and pedicure, but my friend had to go back the next day because her polish was coming off. She had not even been in the pool. The girl told her she did not use clear, she used base. It began coming off again in another couple of days. There were no premium drinks at the VIP beach. There weren't enough seats in the VIP sushi bar where we could get free Wi-fi. We ended up paying for a set amount of hours. I don't drink alcohol, but even the soft drinks at the bars are watered down. However, you can't get ice water at a restaurant unless you request it, and then only if they understand you. When I wasn't at a restaurant, I purchased sodas from the gift shop. There are no do not disturb signs. The locks on the doors could be bypassed by the maids. The maid came in several days while we were in the room. Only the latch stopped her from getting in, but our privacy was still breached. She had to come back on numerous occasions because we either were not left any towels or not the right amount or kind of towels. You can't drink the water, but we were not told at the desk. There is a picture on the sink. We left everything in the room to make our own coffee, except a stirrer. The shower was old and wobbly, the water pressure was bad at times, the tub did not drain quickly enough, and at times, the toilet would not flush. The shuttle was suppose to run until 11pm, but once we were at a shuttle stop waiting for more than 30 minutes and we ended up walking to another stop before we saw a shuttle. Another time we waited and finally walked to a guarded shuttle stop. Again, the employee only spoke Spanish. He called on his radio multiple times for a shuttle for us, but we still ended up walking somewhere else. On karaoke night, all the songs were sung in Spanish. It seems like the Cofresi caters to the Dominicans and not the tourists. I believe 99% of the guests were Dominican. I will never return to the Dominican Republic nor will I book any hotel named Cofresi.


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 1
Value
 
1.0
Service
 
1.0
Beaches & Pools
 
2.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
1.0
User Image

From: Cortland, IL
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year