All

Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort Reviews

Caribbean | Dominican Republic - Puerto Plata Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 337 Reviews
Value
 
3.9
Service
 
3.6
Beaches & Pools
 
4.1
Dining Options
 
2.9
Room Comfort
 
3.6
3.6 out of 5
"Nice place, outstanding service, awesome shows, good food, horrible rude people (travelers, not staff). Rooms have no soundproofing whatsoever. sewer smell every now and then" – PAgirl222
269 out of 402 (67%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Bloody Mary Breakfast Paradise comfy cabana at the beach bed on beach our room view from the OceanSide room One of the pool Beach Dirty floors Paradise! our room Mold One of the pools Delicious!! Puerto Plata tour cable ride. Our building Jr Suite VIP beach Our beautiful room! View of the Cheap Caribbean VIP section from the sushi bar Bathroom of junior suite Zipline! ED RELAXING VIP Beach Area Sunrise outside the lobby. view of beach below restaurant deck Rainy Day Picture

All Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort Customer Reviews

1-10 of 337 reviews. Sort by
August 19, 2014
Was expecting much more...

The price was a bit much for the service that I received and overall experience. Just by saying that I had a better time outside of the resort than in it should explain itself.


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 2
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
2.0
Beaches & Pools
 
1.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
2.0
User Image

From: Miami, FL
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

August 12, 2014
what we paid was worth

We've been in 7 days in Confresi Palm beach & Spa Resort. The Pools are beatiful and good food, rooms are comfortable, the employees are nice and friendly... what we paid was worth .... What we did not like (how all the resort make) tried to sell us timeshare ... ... the worst thing was that they said us it was just a tour and suddenly they were doing it pressure .... they made to spend our time ... we were excited to enjoy the resort and Rita took us to the "Tour"... She was rude to us when she said she had lost her time with us ... we feel very inconfortable with all this (We are not there for buy timeshare)... And also there were many cockroaches in the room .... And finally, the sea around Puerto Plata is not the caribbean sea ... And it is not pretty ... it's a brave sea, with many stones.


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Dracut , MA
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

August 11, 2014
Will Never Return

Upon arrival to the Dominican Republic I learned that there is a $10 entry fee that no one told me about. I later learned that it may have been mentioned on the plane, but in Spanish. When we arrived at the Cofresi, we were not greeted with a cool towel and a drink like I am accustomed to. Instead, we were greeted by an employee who told us he would be our guide for the duration of our stay. He was late picking us up for breakfast the next day. We were picked up by someone else as we left our room. This guy and the waitress were sort of arguing because breakfast was over. Finally, we were allowed to order an omelet .My friend had to order for me because the chef only understood Spanish. After breakfast, the original guide showed up. It ended up being a sales presentation that he wanted us to attend. When we did not purchase, we were exited through a side door without any information as to how to get back to our room. The guide was no where to be found. Later that day and the next day or so, he ignored us every time he saw us. During our visit, the power went off numerous times. We stayed 7 nights but were only given 3 dinner reservations. They didn't even have the correct room number on them. I am not sure we received the room that we paid for. Reservations were needed at all restaurants except the buffets. Why would you want a buffet dinner when you could go to a specialty restaurant and order what you want? One reservation was for 9:30pm. Trying to change reservations or make additional reservations was impossible. The spa charged $80 each for a combination manicure and pedicure, but my friend had to go back the next day because her polish was coming off. She had not even been in the pool. The girl told her she did not use clear, she used base. It began coming off again in another couple of days. There were no premium drinks at the VIP beach. There weren't enough seats in the VIP sushi bar where we could get free Wi-fi. We ended up paying for a set amount of hours. I don't drink alcohol, but even the soft drinks at the bars are watered down. However, you can't get ice water at a restaurant unless you request it, and then only if they understand you. When I wasn't at a restaurant, I purchased sodas from the gift shop. There are no do not disturb signs. The locks on the doors could be bypassed by the maids. The maid came in several days while we were in the room. Only the latch stopped her from getting in, but our privacy was still breached. She had to come back on numerous occasions because we either were not left any towels or not the right amount or kind of towels. You can't drink the water, but we were not told at the desk. There is a picture on the sink. We left everything in the room to make our own coffee, except a stirrer. The shower was old and wobbly, the water pressure was bad at times, the tub did not drain quickly enough, and at times, the toilet would not flush. The shuttle was suppose to run until 11pm, but once we were at a shuttle stop waiting for more than 30 minutes and we ended up walking to another stop before we saw a shuttle. Another time we waited and finally walked to a guarded shuttle stop. Again, the employee only spoke Spanish. He called on his radio multiple times for a shuttle for us, but we still ended up walking somewhere else. On karaoke night, all the songs were sung in Spanish. It seems like the Cofresi caters to the Dominicans and not the tourists. I believe 99% of the guests were Dominican. I will never return to the Dominican Republic nor will I book any hotel named Cofresi.


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 1
Value
 
1.0
Service
 
1.0
Beaches & Pools
 
2.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
1.0
User Image

From: Cortland, IL
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

August 11, 2014

the price in reflective in what you get in terms of product. The service however from the people that work there is 4 star.


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
2.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
2.0
User Image

From: boston, ma
Age: 25-34

August 6, 2014
Place is not that great

Not worth it. there is plenty of other placed that are better for the price. Food is very bad and the place is too big. 70% of the rooms have very poor air conditioning. Unless you are a "VIP" you will get treated very poorly.


1 of 1 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 1
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
2.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
1.0
User Image

From: NJ
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

July 30, 2014
Had a great time

DR was really fun and this was resort was really good. A couple problems I had was with the drinks they weren't all too good so we had to keep ordering the same drink over and over to be satisfied. Also some of the bartenders were complete jerks by the lobby of cofresi. On lifestyles beach they don't care about giving you good service if you don't have a VIP band on your wrist. Sometimes even VIP received bad service. Other than that it was a great experience and the resort is beautiful. The food is really good & with the 2 resorts combined it's sooooo huge. I recommend this place !

Zipline! VIP beach
1 of 1 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: New York
Age: 19-24

July 28, 2014
not impressed

We stayed for a week and the room which was a junior suite was very small and outdated, the bed was uncomfortable, and the whole room over all felt dirty. The restaurants were not good the food was terrible, only decent food to be had was at the buffets. The service of the staff was not bad in the restaurants/buffets and the bartenders were great very friendly. The whole first full day at the resort was wasted with a 3-4 hour sales pitch to try and sell us a time share for the resort. Overall it was a decent vacation but I would personally never stay here again, and wouldn't recommend this as a first choice resort to anyone.


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 2
Value
 
2.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
2.0
User Image

From: nj
Age: 25-34

July 28, 2014
Great package Deal

Had a great time. Cheap Carribean staff at Resort was very helpful and resourceful.


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Philadelphia
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

July 26, 2014
The Cofresi Palm

So we arrived on July 17th. Our room was not ready (even though the reservation was made in APRIL). After waiting a few minutes, we were whisked to our room. I must say, the room view was beautiful, the mountain on the right and the ocean on the left. The room itself was nice too (20136). Very comfortable beds, flat screen tv, nice bathroom and plenty of towels. The next morning I got lost going to the beach, as this place is MASSIVE. Yes, there are a lot of stairs and hills, but we walked off all the food we ate. If your bringing your little ones, I would suggest leaving the stroller in your room and getting a carrier. The Pearl, which is the main eating area, was nice, good variety of food. The beach was beautiful. The water is very choppy, and the floor is rocky, but other than that, perfect. There were always cabanas available for us to use. I guess people preferred to be in the pool which got crowed,but there are a couple to choose from, me I am an ocean girl. The drinks, even though the liquor was not top shelf, were good. I really don't care about top shelf, liquor is liquor as far as I am concerned. I loved the adult only pool and thank you to Joel, for keeping it adult only. The hotel staff were nice and accommodating. The grounds were beautiful and well maintained as well. The Thursday Night and Sunday Parties were amazing. The foam party is real, I have video! :) Now for the bad: The restaurant reservation process is a HORROR. Why should I be told where I can eat and at what time. Reservations for 9:00pm REALLY!?!? In order to cancel, you go to guest services (which is a disaster in the afternoon) to cancel and between 2-3 to get a reservation. 3:00pm the last thing I was thinking is dinner reservation, when I just had lunch. I would change the process. How about when you check in, go to guest services, pick the places and the times you want, and if you want to change them, then do it in the morning. Makes sense right?!?! The whole VIP Thing. Personally I didn't care, I can get my own drinks and like I said, I always had a cabana. I understand that the "members" have all the amenities, but don't throw it in my face and make me feel less than a person. Also, why do they need 5 beaches?!?! Most of the time were empty after a certain time. Why not give the "commoners" one or two beaches to use!?! or at least give us access after a certain time. Same with the restuarants. Do they really need that many?! I can take rudeness and no manners to a certain point, but some of the things I witnessed. Its a shame that people that are supposed to be on vacation act this way. Overall we had a great time, met some great people, and I cannot wait to go back. I would suggest DO NOT check in on a Saturday, the lobby is a MADHOUSE. We came in on Thursday and it was easy breezy


3 of 3 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: New Jersey
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

July 22, 2014
COFRESI PALM JULY 2014

well the trip was fantastic! We met some amazing people! The resort was nice, clean and they definately know how to through a party. Be sure to not stay in the 30 buildings, the sewer smell could just kill you!!! We went there and requested buildings 40-42 those are the best! We loved the VIP Beach just be sure to get up early to get a bed. The service was good very accomindating. The pools where clean and many to choose from. We didnt not have full access to all the "vip" areas but really felt that its not that important. The rooms where clean and comforable. Loved the jacuzzi tub too! Always had a shuttle or a staff person in a golf cart to bring us to the multiple resorts. The pool staff at Cofresi where so fun especially Coco Loco... ;-) The shows where great, lipsynced but the costumes where amazing. The beginning of the week the dancers where unbelievable sooo good, however the last day we where there im not sure if they where the backup to the backup dancers but not so great...lol still fun to watch! Now for the not so great stuff. The food.... no good! Breakfast was the best because you could order eggs ect... the potatoes where good...pasta was good... anything really after that was either way to salty or you couldnt desiguish what kind of meat i was. No Salsa! That was my biggest complaint... all they served was the round nacho chips you get at sporting events and that orange canned cheese...not what you expect at a tropical desitination. We ate at the Italian Restuarant which was good. The seafood place... gross.. the only thing we liked was the shrimp coctail. Dont order the scallops (it wasnt scallops!) awful. Im not that picky but I really couldnt find much i liked. Lived on mostly carbs/booze all week. ;-) The ocean was nice but wow real salty! The beach was nice but if you walked it there was alot of trash on it from the locals. We found the weekends to be very crowded with locals at Cofresi, my recommendation would be on the weekends go to the other resort and spend the day its less crowded and more relaxing. The bars all close at 11 so you have to go to the dance club which is so small, hot and loud! We did find out that the seafood place over near the vip beach is also open and they serve food the bartenders are so nice there and its much nicer I recommend that. Now what to do about the sales push. Be firm dont go to the info session as soon as you get there. You dont have to! To get your free gift, just tell them how long you are willing to give to them and be firm! We gave him 30 mins. The show house is beautiful and worth a look but really we went so our guide would get the credit for doing his job. Your in charge of your vacation dont let them push you! Be sure to pack Singles $ we used about 100.00 of them throughout the week and it was perfect! Bug spray, Insulated cups (better than using little 8oz plastic cups) they will fill it and it stay nice and cold longer, floats you can use them in the pool great for lounging...then you can give them to someone else to use when you leave. Overall the vacation was amazing, i think i may stay at the other resort if i was to go back. Happy Vacationing!


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: NH
Age: 35-44