All

Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort Reviews

Caribbean | Dominican Republic - Puerto Plata Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 393 Reviews
Value
 
3.9
Service
 
3.6
Beaches & Pools
 
4.1
Dining Options
 
2.9
Room Comfort
 
3.5
3.6 out of 5
"The sign say PARMEASAN CHEESE BUT They serving picccante cheese ( pecorino romano) SAME ON TROPICAL RESORT REASTAURANTS EXCEPT AT THE ITALIAN RESTAURANT." – joropo
304 out of 462 (66%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
our room our room ED RELAXING bed on beach Our beautiful room! VIP Beach Area Delicious!! Paradise! Jr Suite Bathroom of junior suite View of the Cheap Caribbean VIP section from the sushi bar Rainy Day Picture Dirty floors comfy cabana at the beach Paradise VIP beach view from the OceanSide room One of the pools Zipline! One of the pool Sunrise outside the lobby. Our building Puerto Plata tour cable ride. Mold view of beach below restaurant deck Bloody Mary Breakfast Beach

All Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort Customer Reviews

1-10 of 393 reviews. Sort by
March 17, 2012
No Bad

Overall it was a very nice place and very big. You only have access to part of it, because you must buy into their program (timeshare) before you have a VIP band. It was very clean, there was always someone cleaning something. The room mini bars are not really mini bars, they contain 2 waters, 2 sodas, and 2 beers. They are stocked every other day. The reservation process for dinner is crazy. You must get up and stand in line at 9:00am to see if you can get in somewhere. There are only usually about 3 options a day and you have to wait for a ticket under your door to let you know if, when, and where you are going that night. The people were very nice and made it a great trip with the exception of "Guest Services". What a joke. If you plan an excursion in the morning and it's on a day when you don't have a pre-made reservation, good luck! They told us the day before to come early to make our dinner reservations and when we tried they said there was no way. The food and alcohol were not so good. If you go to the VIP beach, they do have top shelf liquer and food that is good, but only until 5:00pm. They also should not advertise that tips are included, because there is NO WAY. Everybody expects and waits for a tip, there are tip jars everywhere. Just keep in mind what you are paying, overall it's worth the money.


186 of 191 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
2.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image
Top 50 Contributor
From: Pensylvania
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

December 27, 2012
Wonderful time, but....do not lose your bracelet!

Had a wonderful time at this beautiful resort. Lots of pools to select from. Stayed in one of the new buildings close to the ocean. Our junior suite was gorgeous. All the people at the resort were wonderful, lovely people. The only downfall: One of our kids had a ride on a banana boat in the ocean and his bracelet was ripped off his wrist and obviously lost in the ocean, never to be found again. We were charged $100.00 for the replacement of the bracelet. Even though I spoke to assistant managers and managers they still insisted that we had to pay $100.00 cash on the spot, or he would be escorted off the resort. This did not make me happy and I asked them how they came up with the $100 price. I would have been willing to $20 or even $50, why $100? This is very excessive!. I did not let this ruin my vacation but was not happy that the resort would not budge at all or even compromise with us.


96 of 100 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image
Top 100 Contributor
From: Ontario, Canada
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

December 29, 2011
great experience! definitely get what you pay for!

I came to Cofresi on the opening week so I didn't have the highest expectations. My room was great, bed was comfortable, bath tub was huge, and the shower was nice. My building was right on the beach which was awesome. The beaches were nice. VIP beach was fun and nice to be served food and drinks in the cabana. Drinks varied in quality, I'd suggest finding a bartender that makes drinks the way you like them, tip them well, make conversation, and then go back to them the next day. The food quality ranged from great to inedible. You can go to the buffets whenever you want--and the food there is exactly what you would expect from buffets. Some of the restaurants were better than others. You have to make a reservation every day for that night if you want to eat at the restaurants. It's annoying, but it also makes sense. "Blue Lagoon" the seafood restaurant was the best one we went to and "Indochine" the Chinese restaurant, was by far the worst. We went on two excursions: the city tour and the mega extreme adventure tour, both were amazing. Overall it was a great experience and I definitely got my money's worth! Just don't go into the trip expecting first-class food, drinks, and service. You have to enjoy what you have in the moment. I saw so many people complaining and upset, and it just didn't make sense to me why they saw the worst in the resort instead of enjoying all of the amazing things around them. PS--when flying OUT of the DR, you CANNOT bring umbrellas or hair straighteners! So check them or don't bring them! Security threw away our two umbrellas!!


33 of 33 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Boston, MA
Age: 19-24

February 21, 2012
I wish I could get my week of vacation back.

Our stay at Cofresi Palm was our worst vacation ever. We had not even left the lobby when the high pressure salesmen started their pitch for the VIP membership timeshare. They badgered us from the lobby to our room, at the pool and at the bar. The only place they didn’t follow you was in the ocean. We kept refusing them, but “Mario” tricked us into a free ride on his golf cart that ended up at the timeshare presentation. We decided we would start their tour because we were both looking to get a cold drink and not sure where in the resort we were at. The tour started at the Sportsman’s Bar, but we were not allowed to get a drink there because we were not VIP members. We decided right there that the tour was over. They left us to find our own way back to the resort. Boy, talk about feeling like you weren’t wanted unless you had money to invest. We later learned this was the atmosphere at the other VIP bars and restaurants don’t come in here, you’re not welcome and will be escorted out. Even the restaurants for the Cofresi Palm were offered to VIP members first. We struggled to get any reservations, and the 2 we did get during our week were very late for us at 9pm. This didn’t seem right because both times the restaurant was only half full. The next problem was our room. We paid for their best ocean view suite, but were given a pool view. When we talked to guest services, we were told you can see the ocean if you look past the pool and through the trees just right. Also, there was a terrible septic smell that was enough to make you sick. I grew up on a farm and can tolerate odors better than most people, but human feces smell was so strong that we couldn’t leave the patio door open and had to use air fresheners in the room. We explained this was not acceptable, but they replied they were fully booked and could not move us. To make this even worse, they sprayed insecticide in our room after we definitely told them not to. So we had to open the patio door to air it out and sit on the deck because we did not trust leaving with the door open. One day we had no water. Another day the electricity was on and off throughout the day. Two days the maid took our towels and did not leave any. Yes, we were tipping her. Other guests did not get towels either. Many people were sick for days in their room from the food, but we had brought antibiotics along so we did better than most. The bars only have the local DR brand. The running joke with the guests was order your drink by color, because that’s the only difference. At least the beer was cold.


147 of 158 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 1
Value
 
1.0
Service
 
1.0
Beaches & Pools
 
2.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
1.0
User Image
Top 50 Contributor
From: WI
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

February 25, 2013
Worst trip ever

First, I've travelled all over the world and to a lot of Caribbean Islands, this has, by far been the worst experience I've had. Unfortunately our trip started with our luggage not arriving which is not the fault of the resort but when we arrived, there was no empathy or understanding that we needed resources. When we arrived at the Confresi Palm in Dominican Republic, we asked the staff to help us to go to a location where we could buy basics, dress, bathing suite, underwear and toiletries. They just referred us to the shop in the resort shop that didn't provide all that we needed. We asked if the could help us to find a store outside of the resort, and they just wouldn't refer us anywhere off the resort. We asked if they had a toothbrush or any toiletries and they again so no, just go to the shop. I've been stranded in other resorts and hotels and never experienced the lack of concern as I experienced at this resort. As if that wasn't bad enough, when we got to our room, it was not all what was advertised. While I realize that we didn't pay for the best room in the resort, the room we received was very small, with old damaged furniture. The shower curtain was filthy and stained as well as the window curtains. The floor was dirty and there were dead flies smashed onto the walls of the room. But by that time, we were tired and hot and just wanted to take a shower and go to sleep. But the shower was clogged and wouldn't drain. In addition the toilet seat top wouldn't stay up. When we went to back to the front desk to complain and ask for a new room, they told us there were no other rooms available. The resort is huge and I know that if it was sold out there would be a lot more people around, so I know it wasn't sold out. But they did say that they would send maintenance and cleaning. But unfortunately neither maintenance nor cleaning did a good job. And all management would say is, Sorry. The next day, we received a call saying that they would take us to breakfast. We asked if it was a timeshare tour and they said NO. They took us to the breakfast location where we tried to have a nice leisurely breakfast but they kept coming by asking if we were ready for our tour. We again said we din't want to go and they kept pressing us saying they wanted to show us the VIP beach. We kept declining but finally we said, we just wanted to see the beach and that was all. They proceeded to take us to look at the villa and try to do the timeshare tour. We again said no, we aren't interested, we paid for our trip and didn't want to do this, they proceeded to get angry and say we aren't your tour guide. Where we said, we didn't ask for the tour, they demanded it. I used to work for a vacation club company but never experienced the rudeness and hard sell of these people. Especially since we did pay for our resort stay. A few other things of note: - you can only make restaurant reservations between 9-10 in the morning. So if you are on an excursion, you can't make a reservation and you're stuck at the buffet. In addition, the better restaurants were unavailable because they said they were full on the only day we were able to make a reservation. While they never said, I think that owners of the timeshare can make reservations in advance while guests can only do it the day of - the vibe of the resort was a college party atmosphere. They had house music blaring all day. While some of the activities were fun; volleyball, water aerobics others were just a keg party atmosphere. I will not be returning to this resort nor will I ever use Cheap Caribbean again and I will be sure to share this review across all travel opinion sites across the web.


85 of 90 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 1
Value
 
1.0
Service
 
1.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
1.0
User Image

From: Washington DC
Age: 35-44
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

January 4, 2012
Disappointing

Our experience at the Cofresi was very disappointing. Our family went as a Christmas vacation and it was frustrating from the very first moment we walked in the lobby. It was late in the day after spending two hours at the airport filing a missing luggage report. We arrived at the resort around 4:00 pm and were greeted by the desk and given our room keys etc. We were then driven to our rooms by one of the "staff" members. The resort is very large and without a map difficult to navigate the first day...where is the beach, pools, restaurants etc. The staff member who drove us told us that they would give us a tour the next morning, no map that first night no information - see you in the morning after breakfast. We tried to find a restaurant that first night and were told they were all closed...no food at the resort but we could take the shuttle to the resort next door and have the buffet. We took the shuttle to the resort and buffet was mediocre at best. Next morning after breakfast our staff member along with MANY other staff members were waiting not only for us but many other guests...this immediately looked like a full on sales pitch. We explained that we were at the resort on vacation and not interested in buying into their vacation program. No...this is not a sales pitch - just a tour. With much hesitation we got into the shuttle and went on the tour with the first stop being the SALES OFFICE. We explained again we were not interested in buying anything - no no just a tour. Needless to say we left and walked back to the resort and figured out the locations of everything ourselves. Restaurants are only available to members so.....all inclusive means that you can drink all of low quality drinks you want and eat the mediocre buffet. If you want to TRY to get a reservation at one of the many restaurants that are promoted in the ALL INCLUSIVE you can get up early and wait in line at Guest Services - be the 5th person in line only to discover that EVERY restaurant is already booked. ALL INCLUSIVE is very deceiving and VIP is deceiving as well. VIP status got us access to the VIP beach and the better drinks there but that is about it. Our room accommodation was not much better - no mattress cover on the mattress...a flat sheet too small for the bed was intended to the be the fitted sheet over the mattress, our children asked for an extra blanket on three occasions but never received it. Our shower head was broken and spraying water in to the bathroom, we contacted the desk two times and our tour representative once and no one ever came it repair it. Hot water was a hit or miss. We had bottled water in the refrigerator on day one but never again, we asked...no one every came. The refrigerator barely worked and the same went for the refrigerators in the other rooms we had. One in room refrigerator looked like it was pulled out of a college dorm room dump - broken, dented and without a shelf in it. The redeeming factor in all of this was the beach and pools. The beach was very nice and staff kept it clean, pools were clean and very nice but no evening swimming was allowed. The holiday party Christmas eve was nice (very disorganized with service) but pretty decent food and drinks. We enjoyed our time with our family and my husband and I tried to keep our opinions to ourselves about our impressions of the resort but I don't believe we would go back unless huge changes occurred.


44 of 46 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 2
Value
 
1.0
Service
 
1.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
2.0
User Image

From: New England
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

March 8, 2012
Time well spent

I'm going to keep this short and sweet. I came across a lot of negativity when perusing the tripadvisor reviews, so I was very skeptical about the impending experience I was going to have when I arrived in Cofresi. I went for a wedding, so I did not have much of a choice regarding where I would stay, but I can confidently say that I was very pleasantly surprised and would recommend Cofresi to most people. The food was great. I stayed away from all the seafood, had my meat cooked well and just used common sense. Through those means, I encountered no problems on my week long stay. The alcohol is ubiquitous, I mean, there are bars everywhere! The staff was friendly, helpful and enhanced my stay. I did come across people who were not happy with their stays, but I always found their reasonsing...kind of devoid of substance. The beach is not excellent. The sand is not the pearly whites of the caribbean, but the water is warm and fun to hang out in. The pools are great and the entertainment staff was engaging and energetic. The VIP area contains Cabanas and jacuzees that were a fun place to hang out and relax. There are two night clubs available, but ICE seems to be the one where everyone gravitates and it's in Cofresi (you have access to Tropical as well). Altogether, if you are looking for a passive vacation, this will more than satisfy you.


59 of 63 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: New York, NY
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

March 16, 2012
Great Spring Break

This was my first time out of the country or on spring break. At check in, they gathered us all in their theater and checked us in as a group. They made copies of our passports and premade dinner arrangements (which were changeable). They then shuttled us to our rooms in building 42. This building was brand new and very clean and modern. Just be warned that there is nowhere to eat between 5 and 630. The american food served in the buffets was mediocre, but the other types of food served there were good. The restaraunts were also good, and there was a shuttle to take you to restaurants at the neighboring resort. The beach was nice, but got loud in the afternoons. The pools were good, but closed at 7pm. The maids did a good job every day, and didn't steal any of our stuff. There was also free wifi availible in cofresi lobby and VIP beach. Food service on VIP beach was slow and they brought us the wrong food twice, but the food they did bring us was good. Overall I would definately go back and recommend this resort.


20 of 20 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Wilkes Barre, PA
Age: 19-24
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

January 23, 2012
Not a Great Hotel Experience

My boyfriend & I stayed at the Cofresi Palm Beach & Palm Resort 1/13/12-1/19/12. We arived at the hotel around 3:30 p.m. & had to wait about 20 min. after checking in before out room was ready. Not too long of a wait but after a long morning of travel we were ready to hit the beach. Once we got to our room it was not what we expected. The room looked as though it had not been updated since the hotel was built. We decided not too get too discouraged since we didnt expect to spend a lot of time in our room. 1st night in the room we discovered out air conditioner did not work. The front desk sent out a couple of guys to try & fix it but it could not be fixed & after 2.5 hours they finally gave us a new room. So now comes the good & the bad: Good: 1. The hotel & the property is beautiful & I think it could have a lot of potential if they put some effort into trying to make their guest happy. 2. The bartenders are really nice & seem to be very attentive unlike some of the front desk staff. The glasses are small but we came prepared with our own large cups so we wouldnt have to keep going back to the bar as often. 3. Travel excursion office staff is very helpful. 4. VIP Dinner on Sunday was really good. You do not need to sign up for this, just make sure you are in the lobby between 6:30 p.m.-7:00 p.m. so you can catch one of the shuttles to the property next door. If anyone tells you that in order to go to this you have to go with them to get an invite do not listen to them. (Please see my comments below regarding who you need to avoid) 5. Excursions that are a must- The Mega Extreme excursion was AMAZING!! It was a 3 in 1 tour that includes 7 waterfalls, zip lining & horse back riding. You do have to hike for about an hour, uphill/downhill to get to the waterfalls so make sure you are prepared for that. Comfortable watershoes are a must & be prepared for cliff jumping. You will definatley get your moneys worth on this tour. The other excursion we took was a boat to Paradise Island. This place is breathtaking, wish we could have stayed longer! The BAD: 1. STAY CLEAR of the people walking around the hotel that are wearing white polo shirts that say on the back "Tell it only to your best friends" & carry clip boards. These guys will harass you from the moment you arrive. They will tell you that they are your personal concierge & will show you around the property. DO NOT FALL FOR THIS!! Anyone who is willing to show you around the property is part of the "timeshare/membership" staff. These guys will bug you & bug you. I am fluent in Spanish but I dont think they knew because they would say things in Spanish in front of me that they probably did not intend for me to hear. I heard them a few times on their walkie talkies telling each other about new guest arriving & to try & talk them into the "tour." 2. They only have 2 options for dinner unless you make reservations which we were only able to get into 1 other place. If you dont have reservations then you have your choice of 2 buffet restaurants. One of them is at the Cofresi & the other one is at their sister property next door. The food is what you would typically expect at an all inclusive. 3. The maid service was awful or at least in our experience it was. Everyday they would clean our room but not re-stock it. Our fridge was never stocked, our towels were never stocked. They would take towels from our bathroom everyday but never replace them. I think by the end of our trip we literally only had 2 towels left in the bathroom. 4. As some of the other reviews state, if you ask for something that is missing from your room chances are you will probably never get it. We had asked for an ironing board from the 1st day we arived & never received one. 5. No room service or any reading material in the rooms that tell you about the country or city, as most hotels do. We stay at all inclusive hotels everytime we travel so we know what to expect when it comes to food, drinks etc. This hotel experience had to be one of the not so great ones we have ever had. It's very sad because like I stated before the property is very nice & the beach is really nice. I had heard the the property was big & that you would have to do a lot of walking to get everywhere but I dont think my feet were prepared for it. I recommend comfy shoes :) One of the staff members that caters the VIP members told me that they are working on making the property only accessible to members & in about 2 years or so they will not be allowing anyone to make vacation reservations unless you buy into their member services. I guess this is why they give everyone who isnt a member such bad service but you would think it would be the opposite that way you would want to become a member. Any how we made the best of what time we had & tried to not let it ruin our vacation. Just go with an open mind & avoid the guys with the clip boards & you should be fine.


24 of 25 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 2
Value
 
2.0
Service
 
1.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
1.0
User Image
Top 1000 Contributor
From: Dallas, TX
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

October 12, 2012
Amazing! And Cheap!

So, 2 people, air travel, hotel near the pool and beach, all inclusive FOOD and ALCOHOL, 4 resorts in 1, restaurants, pools, bars & clubs all over the place... 650 each! can't beat that price. It was an awesome time. and I booked it 8 hours before my flight departure time! Pro: Value, awesome service, beach and pools, hospitality, free alcohol, nice people, beautiful scenery, they give you access to VIP lounge with free WiFi! The animation crew was always keeping you entertained! Amazing looking room! Cons: Our resort is built on a hill, so had to take shuttles for everything. IT's such a big place (4 resorts in 1) that you NEED shuttles for everything, but if you go to a stop, the security guard will call you for one, so barely any wait. The food was OK in the buffet, but was better at the restaurants, it's just they only opened 2 restaurants per night... beds were a bit hard. no free WiFi in the room.


15 of 15 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Mineola, NY
Age: 19-24
Travel: 1-2 trips/year