All

Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort Reviews

Caribbean | Dominican Republic - Puerto Plata Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 298 Reviews
Value
 
3.9
Service
 
3.7
Beaches & Pools
 
4.1
Dining Options
 
2.9
Room Comfort
 
3.6
3.6 out of 5
"Can't beat for the price. Resort was very large and accommodating. The VIP beach was a great daily hang out. The food was nothing to write about. Overall fantastic bang for your buck." – JoshGwvu
241 out of 355 (68%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Paradise! Dirty floors Rainy Day Picture Delicious!! One of the pool Beach View of the Cheap Caribbean VIP section from the sushi bar Our beautiful room! ED RELAXING our room Paradise One of the pools Sunrise outside the lobby. Our building comfy cabana at the beach view of beach below restaurant deck Bathroom of junior suite bed on beach Puerto Plata tour cable ride. our room Jr Suite Mold view from the OceanSide room VIP Beach Area Bloody Mary Breakfast

All Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort Customer Reviews

1-10 of 298 reviews. Sort by
April 16, 2014
Unhappy!

I would never go to this resort again. I was able to relax and enjoy my vaca, but I did not like the fact that if you’re not V.I.P you don't get to eat in nice restaurants and enjoy good drinks. This resort is all about V.I.P (Timeshare). We were so upset that we could not watch the basketball game because we were not V.I.P, there are 29 restaurants and we were only allowed to eat at 4 we had to repeat two. I have gone many times to Punta Cana all inclusive and have never been labeled or told what beach, pools, bar, and restaurants I am aloud to eat at. If I pay for an all-inclusive I should have to go to guest services every day and fight to eat in a restaurant. There is no way to get V.I.P unless you become a (timeshare holder). So unfair will not refer to friends or Will not return. Save your money and go to a real all inclusive resort.


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 2
Value
 
1.0
Service
 
2.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Miami FL
Age: 25-34

April 1, 2014
Great, minus the relentless timeshare people

Super friendly staff, easy to find help and get places within the resort. Easy time with dinner reservations and everything else. Good food, awesome beach, super warm water. The only issue I had is that the people selling timeshares/asking you to be a member are relentless. We were evading them the entire time.


1 of 1 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: StL, Missouri
Age: 19-24

March 27, 2014
Great value

Can't beat for the price. Resort was very large and accommodating. The VIP beach was a great daily hang out. The food was nothing to write about. Overall fantastic bang for your buck.


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: New Jersey
Age: 19-24
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

March 18, 2014
Amazing Vacation, Got What We Paid For

I read a great deal of reviews before coming to Cofresi and was very worried because I noted a lot of complaints and had high expectations upon arriving. My boyfriend and I went together and when we checked in we were first given a room with two beds but immediately switched to a room with a single bed, no fuss. We weren't completely clear with the type of room we would get, the room in the photos is NOT the supreme garden view room, whatsoever. I recommend googling the hotel and getting images of other rooms to make sure you know what room you are exactly getting. The title floor of the room we were in was white so you were able to see every little mark, initially it was a shock and I wasn't exactly happy with the room, being that it was old fashioned and the bathrooms were very outdated and plain, but it is an average room and we got exactly what we paid for. We were only in the room to sleep and being 22 year olds, it became perfect for us, it was done up and cleaned everyday and we had no issues with bugs. We were replenished with water bottles everyday as well which was very helpful since they advise you not to drink the water. there are SO many pools and beaches available to you, eve if you aren't exactly "VIP". We had a standard blue bracelet and it would have been nicer I am sure to be VIP, be we felt it didn't effect us or we didn't feel restricted one bit. There was a pool directly outside of our room building (207 building) and the beach was the opposite direction, max 3 minute walk. The Confresi beach was very nice! Large pool, entertainment, volley ball court, large man-made beach and then you could walk onto the regular beach and the ocean was nice as well. Not crystal blue, but warmer than most pools and definitely very calm and relaxing. We were also able to go to the VIP beach, this was BEAUTIFUL, just make sure you get there by 8:00am if you want to get a balcony/canopy bed or get a good spot for you and your party. We learned this as the week went on. The shuttle services were perfect, they were very helpful and we took them as we needed, but we later found that the walk from our beach (cofresi) to VIP was nothing more than 5 minutes! Super convenient! The food was delish. We got lucky and were able to get four reservations, Mexican, Chinese, Italian, and international. THe Mexican was the best, the Italian was ok, not true Italian but it was descent, and everything else was good, good enough for us. The buffet wasn't bad either. The best times are probably breakfast and dinner, we only ate twice for dinner and a few times for lunch, but it was good. We tipped once in a while because the service was so good and everyone was very polite and pleasant. We never had to wait and the staff often went out of their ways to make us happy. Tipping was not mandatory as it says in the vacation package, but it is sometimes nice to do so, so the staff continues to give you the best service. They do hackle you do buy into their timeshare program, but my boyfriend and I are in college, so even though they brought us to a presentation and everything, we politely declined and said this is not something we can afford. There is only so much bargaining they can do if you continue to say no thankyou--and we got a free bottle of rum and mamajuana out of it as well! Overall, the trip was amazing, we went for 6 nights. I got back two days ago and am already wishing to go back. I would definitely go back to this resort, there is a lot to do and many hotels inside the resort that yiu have access too. Thursday's VIP party was AWESOME and there are shows and activities every night. I would recommend this to anyone who likes to travel within a budget, and is simple like we are. Other than the room, the hotel is absolutely beautiful!


5 of 5 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: New Jersey
Age: 19-24
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

March 10, 2014
Noo good

hi I was there last week for the wedding the service that was horrible the food was horrible the the everything that was needed in the stock the fridge Raiders again with beer everything was horrible nothing was actuated we will ask us for hope nobody could help us it was always backseat means age is nothing of the hotel was good at all the service nothing


0 of 3 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 1
Value
 
1.0
Service
 
1.0
Beaches & Pools
 
1.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
1.0
User Image

From: North bergen, nj
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

March 3, 2014
cheap getaway

The accommodations were ok but starting to get a little run down. Buffets were awesome as were the beaches. People of the DR are all wonderful and very helpful and friendly. Take the tour and consider an upgrade.


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Maryland
Age: 55-64
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

February 25, 2014
Great Resort with lots to offer

This is a beautiful resort and has so much to offer everyone! Yea there is a lot of walking to do, but your on vacation who cares. Plus the walk is very scenic and enjoyable! Food is available almost at all times, this is a huge plus if your hungry. The bar is not bad, has a lot to offer. If your looking to not be apart of the time share then simply avoid the salesman the day they invite you out and they will never bother you again. Yes the power goes out here and there but its not bad! I would say 2 or 3 power outages a day not lasting for more then 5 minutes! Who cares! Clean resort, good pools, don't listen to half of these bad reviews they are incorrect.


1 of 1 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Detroit, MI
Age: 19-24
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

February 25, 2014
Pools and Staff great.. Dining options dismal

Nice resort.. A lot of pool and bar options which was great.. Staff was awesome and went above and beyond.. We were only able to get a reservation for one of the a la carte restaurants one night and the rest of the time were subjected to the buffet which was pretty bad. Also, the resort is a little over the top in trying to get you to purchase a time share, which is annoying when you're on vacation. Overall, probably wouldn't go back.


1 of 1 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Montclair, NJ
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

February 23, 2014
Beautiful setting

The resort is built on the side of several hills with amazing, manicured gardens. Mature palm trees line the walking paths and streets. The buildings are architecturally designed and surrounded by sculptured pools. The place is a delight to the eyes. Our room was adequate. Really, just a hotel room in side, surrounded by spectacular grounds. The one real draw back was the absence of any chest of drawers. No bedside light or clock. When we arrived, the room fridge didn't work. When I called the front desk, they had a repairman on the spot within minutes. Same thing happen during the week with a broken hairdryer. Help arrived instantly. The beach was only a short walk away from our unit. We enjoyed taking Spanish classes and water aerobics daily at the ocean side pool. Food was ok. The Pearl buffet provided limited options. We couldn't always get reservations to the on site restaurants we wanted, but REALLY enjoyed our night at the Indian restaurant.


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image
Top 1000 Contributor
From: Indiana
Age: Over 65
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

February 21, 2014
If a "VIP" you have it made... If not, so sorry!

We went here on our honeymoon wanting relaxation and beautiful weather. We did get that, but it was not the dream trip we envisioned... The wait staff and concierge was super friendly. However this is a Vacation Club! Needless to say this means there are multiple people walking around asking your to take a tour of the facility. We did so, figuring why not - but at the end of the tour, we said no. The sales manager slammed his binder shut and walked away slamming the door behind him without even saying goodbye. The salesman looked us, concerned more about his job than anything. The nice friendly people that drove us over to the "VIP" area to take the tour disappeared, we had to walk back to our hotel instead of getting a ride back. Without the "VIP" membership to the club you were not entitled to WiFi, Top Shelf liquors, the most beautiful and well kept beaches and many of the restaurants were off-limits. For us non-VIP vacationers we had well drinks, had limited number of places to eat. The food was mediocre at best. The Italian restaurant was incredibly disappointing. The buffets were OK, the best part being the "Executive Chef" stations. We do recommend the going to the Indian restaurant however - the food was amazing!!! Unfortunately we tried to go back another night and we were told it was not open the next evening. While there - the beach was full of seaweed and we were unable to go in without coming out like a monster with the exception of one day. We are unsure if this had to do with the tides or time of year, but we thought it was best if we stayed by the pools instead of on the beach.


3 of 3 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
2.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
2.0
User Image

From: New York City Metro Area
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year