All

Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort Reviews

Caribbean | Dominican Republic - Puerto Plata Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 362 Reviews
Value
 
3.9
Service
 
3.6
Beaches & Pools
 
4.1
Dining Options
 
2.9
Room Comfort
 
3.5
3.6 out of 5
"the beach warm weather all u can eat games friendly people or i could be shoveling snow" – brokenwing
286 out of 431 (66%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
our room Bloody Mary Breakfast ED RELAXING Delicious!! Rainy Day Picture Paradise comfy cabana at the beach bed on beach our room Zipline! One of the pool view of beach below restaurant deck Beach One of the pools Puerto Plata tour cable ride. Dirty floors View of the Cheap Caribbean VIP section from the sushi bar Our building Mold VIP beach Bathroom of junior suite Jr Suite Paradise! VIP Beach Area Sunrise outside the lobby. Our beautiful room! view from the OceanSide room

All Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort Customer Reviews

1-10 of 362 reviews. Sort by
October 28, 2014
Aviod special rate rooms

Stayed at the Cofresi Palm Beach During travel dates 10/10/14 - 10/14/14 We stayed in room # 25011 We did not have dressers for our clothes. Which made it slightly inconvenient to get dressed but that was only the beginning. We immediately walked into a leak in the bathroom ceiling someone over us was showering. The ac started leaking the next day. The small fridge was rusted and the rubber gasket would not allow the door to close. The telephone in this room was not working which made it difficult to communicate with the front desk and also our friends that were staying there. This hotel caters to VIP and Vacation club members. Even with all the mishaps going on in this room. We stayed optimistic until the 2nd & 3rd day of the buffet and food at the beach. I was literally hungry everyday. Even the seafood restaurant was a disgrace. We were ALL so disappointed with the food selection and taste. The entertainment and service patrons were accommodating.


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 2
Value
 
1.0
Service
 
2.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
1.0
User Image

From: New Jersey
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

October 27, 2014
Horrible accommodations

Its true when they say, 'you get what you pay for'. The room was horrible, roaches, ants and the smell of mold and water damage. Tried to change rooms, I was told no other rooms are available and to buy bug spray from the shop. This was the worst accommodations ever. Do not stay at Confressi. Pay extra to stay at the other resorts if you can.


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 1
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
1.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
1.0
User Image

From: new jersey
Age: 35-44
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

October 25, 2014
Nice Resort for the Price

The resort was average. We were satisfied with our vacation, but we would not go back nor recommend the resort. The food was good, but off season not all dining options are available and you only find out once you get to the resort. Also to get reservations at the restaurants can become a hassle if you miss their time frame for making the reservations. The staff could be more helpful. They couldn't provide us with necessary information we needed about getting around the Puerto Plata area. We had to make several phone calls, until someone could help us. The room, I would have liked to have been cleaner. The lamp fixtures were dirty and rusted, when we asked for new sheets they did not get changed. Another thing I did not like is that smoking is allowed in all the rooms. When we arrived the room was not ready and stunk of cigarettes, they covered up the smell with a neutralizing spray. They told us they do not have a distinction between smoking and non smoking rooms. On the positive side the beaches and pools were beautiful. VIP sections had very good service. The food was good. We enjoyed the shows at the colosseum. I liked that you could access the entire complex of the resort no matter where you were staying. It was nice once, but wouldn't return to this resort.


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
2.0
User Image

From: New York, ny
Age: 19-24
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

October 25, 2014
Awesome vacation

My bf and I had an amazing time here. The resort is beautiful and the staff is so great I especially want to shout out Julio from the entertainment staff who made our stay so much fun and Domingo from the "El Pilon" restaurant who was so sweet & friendly. The whole staff is great and neighborly. I will definitely be back. We enjoyed everything that the resort had to offer. I even liked that there was a lot of walking to do because I ate and drank so much it was nice to walk it all off. Some people I spoke with didn't like some of the restaurants like the Italian or Chinese... But this is the Dominican Republic stop expecting authentic food. They're doing it the best they know. The views are so pretty you could be lounging by the pool and see the mountains on one side and the beach on the other, gorgeous! If you're not part of their vacation club you get one of their basic rooms which is just a bed and bathroom with no frills. We really didn't mind because we were always out enjoying the resort but if you're a person with high expectations don't come. You get a great deal with this place so enjoy what it has to offer and chillax! You're in the freakin Carribean!


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: New Jersey
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

October 22, 2014
Our Stay

Overall the trip was very nice. The Pilon resturant was not a favorite but all others including Casablanca which is next door in the Lifestyle (stayed there last year). The only inconvience was that the WiFi was not free!!! The employees and service staff was great!!! Had bad weather Saturday night and Sunday night (which caused the welcome party to be cancelled). Great food at the speciality resturants and the Pearl. No activities during the day and a lot of closures to the beach access due to new VIP beach area. Would stay again but get a room upgrade to a suite.


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Fl
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

October 19, 2014
sorry we came

our first room was bad so we asked for another one.Our 2nd room was worse than the 1st, so we went back again and asked for another . Our 3rd room was the worst of them all , so we gave up. Shower heads all corroded with no water pressure, no hot water,hair dryers that didn't function (bad especially for my wife). There was no coffee,cups ,spoons or stirrers. Good thing they came to clean our room the next day at @ 1pm because that's when we got our coffee. Our shower leaked onto the floor no matter what we did, so that we had to use one of the towels on the floor all the time , or else the water would go out of the bath area into the living area and because it's tile it was very slippery, where my wife landed on her posterior until we realized where the water was coming from. I wuoldn't recommend this to anybody especially on the Confressi side.


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 2
Value
 
2.0
Service
 
2.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
1.0
User Image

From: montague ,NJ
Age: Over 65
Travel: 7+ trips/year

October 19, 2014
Beautiful and relaxing!

My husband bought this trip for our 1st Anniversary and after reading many reviews about Confresi my husband and I were not sure what to expect, but we were completely satisfied with our whole experience! Honestly, I think there are folks out there who are never satisfied with anything. If you are looking for a 5 star resort then, by golly, pay for a 5 star resort! Keep in mind that there are a lot of stairs to climb, but they do provide golf cart and shuttle transportation to anywhere on this and its sister resort. The American $ is accepted everywhere that we visited and they did a very good job at converting our money to theirs (Peso) and vice versa. The shops we visited also gave back American money as change unless you asked otherwise. We were treated very well by everyone we encountered. We also did not have to upgrade to be treated any better. We took the tour our 2nd day there and we found it quite nice, but keep in mind they are trying to sell you a timeshare but in no way do you have to buy or even go on it if you chose not to. The food was very good and there are plenty of options. Two buffets and many reservation required restaurants. We ate at three of the restaurants (Italian, Mexican, and sea food) and all three were very good! Out of the two buffets, we found that The Pearl, at Confresi, was much better then the Casablanca at the Tropical. We also found that the pools at Confresi were much nicer then at the Tropical. You are allowed to go to all restaurants, pools, bars, etc at both resorts unless it is for VIP only. With our package we were allowed to go to the one VIP beach located at the Tropical every day if we wanted to. They do have nights were they throw parties on VIP beaches where everyone is allowed to go! We went on two excursions. Honestly not sure if it's cheaper buying it on here or once you are there, but since we bought it when we were booking our trip we didn't have to worry about taking extra cash with us. We ended up taking $500 with us for tipping and souvenirs and we still came back with about $150. When taking spending and tipping money I recommend taking mainly $1s and $5s for tipping with $10s and $20s for shopping. Also, I want to mention that all the staff speak English and if they don't understand what you are saying or understand what you are asking they will ask you again or they will ask you to explain better, while they are apologizing for not understanding what you are saying lol.. All iin all, we really enjoyed ourselves and were completely satisfied with our decision to go to the Confresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort!


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Schellsburg, PA
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

October 14, 2014
Would definitely go back

We received and amazing unbeatable deal from CheapCaribbean.com and it was definitely worth it! The location had the same problems a lot of all inclusive places can run into: Not great buffet food, bottom shelf alcohol, etc. But other than that, which is easy to over look because hey! You're still on vacation! We kept an open mind about everything because some people did have bad reviews, but I also believe some people expect way too much and get too upset over small things that you shouldn't let bother you on vacation. The rooms were huge and gorgeous, we were very close to the pools and beach. Many people commented about the size of the resort, don't get me wrong, it is big, but it is not as big as some made it sound. We walked everywhere, in flip flops, and had no problem. The furthest walk was maybe 10 minutes, and that was if you walked through the resort, which we would usually just walk down the beach because it cut the time in half. People will try to sell you things from time to time, but they are very polite and will take no and smile and tell you to have a great day still. Just remember that is how they are trying to make a living so be polite and they have no problem leaving you alone. We didn't get to experience any of the events or clubs, but from what we could hear, they sounded very entertaining. We did venture down the street to Ocean World and the Casino, which we had a lot of fun at both. Everyone we met, whether they lived/worked there, or were staying in the resort as well, were very happy, pleasant, and seemed to be having a great time. Also we were upgraded to a better room for free when arriving, which was amazing. Also check out is at 1pm but our cab was not picking us up until 4 to take us to the airport for our flight home, and they allowed us to check out and they keep the luggage in a back room for you, and let us keep our wrist bands to continue to get food, drinks, and wander around the resort. We would go back in a heartbeat, or at least somewhere similar!!


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image
Top 1000 Contributor
From: Allentown, PA
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

October 13, 2014
Division of classes!!!

If you do not ensure you have the VIP package you will not be allowed to certain beaches, restaurants or ride certain shuttles.. If felt like we were second class citizens. Overall, the property is beautiful and the service is ok. We had a great vacation despite not receiving the VIP treatment.


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 2
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
2.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Washington, D.C.
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

October 13, 2014
Good deal, but mixed reviews

My boyfriend and I purchased a great value deal in July for a September trip to the Cofresi Palm Resort. It's hard to argue with the low price we received, especially considering that the resort is all-inclusive, but we did feel that the site/advertising misrepresented the resort's options. There are multiple resorts near the Cofresi, all under the Lifestyles brand, and they share restaurants, pools, and the beachfront. If you do not have the VIP status, there are several areas/beach locations where you will not be allowed to go. Access to the specific "VIP Beach" was included in our deal, but not the VIP status in general. The pools and beachfront areas were beautiful- nothing to complain about. The VIP Beach in particular was nice as you can order food/drinks from your cabana/beach chairs. The dining options were a very mixed bag. The resort advertises a dozen or so restaurants, but during our stay, only 2-3 of them were open each night. We received 3 "pre-booked" dinner reservations at various restaurants when we checked in, but 2 of them were for late dinner times (9pm). You can call/go to Guest Services between 9-11am on the day of your reservation to ask to change the time or choose the other open restaurant, but there are no guarantees, and this was a bit of a hassle. We were not able to visit our preferred restaurant on Friday night. The food quality in the themed restaurant ranged from ok to great (iffy Asian restaurant, pretty good Italian, nice seafood restaurant). There are always 1-2 buffet restaurants open to everyone (no reservations needed), but the food quality was much lower here. A "snack bar" was open during the day, but only served dried up French fries and/or flavor-lacking pasta. There is a sushi bar at the VIP Beach, but the chefs really only made California rolls (which were not bad, considering) and rolls with smoked salmon- no other options. Again, hard to complain since the food is included, but this is definitely not a foodie destination. Wine is included at some of the dinner restaurants, but there are 2 options (red or white) and we were almost certain that the wine had been mixed with water. We're not picky, but had never tasted anything like it. There are gift shops near a few of the restaurants, so we ended up buying our own bottles at two dinners. Service is excellent across the resort- they maintain hundreds of staff (we were told 400 security guards alone) and most seemed friendly and eager to please. We were approached by resort staff twice about "taking a resort tour" (ending in a timeshare presentation) when we first arrived, and had to be quite forceful in saying no...the staff seem to stake out the new arrivals. We definitely would not return, due to the low food quality, but it was still a good deal as our package included airfare and 6 nights, so this should be more of an FYI than a complaint.


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: NY
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year