All

Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort Reviews

Caribbean | Dominican Republic - Puerto Plata Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 329 Reviews
Value
 
3.9
Service
 
3.6
Beaches & Pools
 
4.1
Dining Options
 
2.9
Room Comfort
 
3.6
3.6 out of 5
"the beach warm weather all u can eat games friendly people or i could be shoveling snow" – brokenwing
264 out of 393 (67%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sunrise outside the lobby. Beach ED RELAXING Dirty floors our room Puerto Plata tour cable ride. Paradise Jr Suite view from the OceanSide room Bathroom of junior suite Delicious!! view of beach below restaurant deck One of the pool Paradise! Our beautiful room! Our building View of the Cheap Caribbean VIP section from the sushi bar Mold Bloody Mary Breakfast bed on beach comfy cabana at the beach Rainy Day Picture One of the pools our room VIP Beach Area

All Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort Customer Reviews

1-10 of 329 reviews. Sort by
July 26, 2014
The Cofresi Palm

So we arrived on July 17th. Our room was not ready (even though the reservation was made in APRIL). After waiting a few minutes, we were whisked to our room. I must say, the room view was beautiful, the mountain on the right and the ocean on the left. The room itself was nice too (20136). Very comfortable beds, flat screen tv, nice bathroom and plenty of towels. The next morning I got lost going to the beach, as this place is MASSIVE. Yes, there are a lot of stairs and hills, but we walked off all the food we ate. If your bringing your little ones, I would suggest leaving the stroller in your room and getting a carrier. The Pearl, which is the main eating area, was nice, good variety of food. The beach was beautiful. The water is very choppy, and the floor is rocky, but other than that, perfect. There were always cabanas available for us to use. I guess people preferred to be in the pool which got crowed,but there are a couple to choose from, me I am an ocean girl. The drinks, even though the liquor was not top shelf, were good. I really don't care about top shelf, liquor is liquor as far as I am concerned. I loved the adult only pool and thank you to Joel, for keeping it adult only. The hotel staff were nice and accommodating. The grounds were beautiful and well maintained as well. The Thursday Night and Sunday Parties were amazing. The foam party is real, I have video! :) Now for the bad: The restaurant reservation process is a HORROR. Why should I be told where I can eat and at what time. Reservations for 9:00pm REALLY!?!? In order to cancel, you go to guest services (which is a disaster in the afternoon) to cancel and between 2-3 to get a reservation. 3:00pm the last thing I was thinking is dinner reservation, when I just had lunch. I would change the process. How about when you check in, go to guest services, pick the places and the times you want, and if you want to change them, then do it in the morning. Makes sense right?!?! The whole VIP Thing. Personally I didn't care, I can get my own drinks and like I said, I always had a cabana. I understand that the "members" have all the amenities, but don't throw it in my face and make me feel less than a person. Also, why do they need 5 beaches?!?! Most of the time were empty after a certain time. Why not give the "commoners" one or two beaches to use!?! or at least give us access after a certain time. Same with the restuarants. Do they really need that many?! I can take rudeness and no manners to a certain point, but some of the things I witnessed. Its a shame that people that are supposed to be on vacation act this way. Overall we had a great time, met some great people, and I cannot wait to go back. I would suggest DO NOT check in on a Saturday, the lobby is a MADHOUSE. We came in on Thursday and it was easy breezy


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: New Jersey
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

July 22, 2014
COFRESI PALM JULY 2014

well the trip was fantastic! We met some amazing people! The resort was nice, clean and they definately know how to through a party. Be sure to not stay in the 30 buildings, the sewer smell could just kill you!!! We went there and requested buildings 40-42 those are the best! We loved the VIP Beach just be sure to get up early to get a bed. The service was good very accomindating. The pools where clean and many to choose from. We didnt not have full access to all the "vip" areas but really felt that its not that important. The rooms where clean and comforable. Loved the jacuzzi tub too! Always had a shuttle or a staff person in a golf cart to bring us to the multiple resorts. The pool staff at Cofresi where so fun especially Coco Loco... ;-) The shows where great, lipsynced but the costumes where amazing. The beginning of the week the dancers where unbelievable sooo good, however the last day we where there im not sure if they where the backup to the backup dancers but not so great...lol still fun to watch! Now for the not so great stuff. The food.... no good! Breakfast was the best because you could order eggs ect... the potatoes where good...pasta was good... anything really after that was either way to salty or you couldnt desiguish what kind of meat i was. No Salsa! That was my biggest complaint... all they served was the round nacho chips you get at sporting events and that orange canned cheese...not what you expect at a tropical desitination. We ate at the Italian Restuarant which was good. The seafood place... gross.. the only thing we liked was the shrimp coctail. Dont order the scallops (it wasnt scallops!) awful. Im not that picky but I really couldnt find much i liked. Lived on mostly carbs/booze all week. ;-) The ocean was nice but wow real salty! The beach was nice but if you walked it there was alot of trash on it from the locals. We found the weekends to be very crowded with locals at Cofresi, my recommendation would be on the weekends go to the other resort and spend the day its less crowded and more relaxing. The bars all close at 11 so you have to go to the dance club which is so small, hot and loud! We did find out that the seafood place over near the vip beach is also open and they serve food the bartenders are so nice there and its much nicer I recommend that. Now what to do about the sales push. Be firm dont go to the info session as soon as you get there. You dont have to! To get your free gift, just tell them how long you are willing to give to them and be firm! We gave him 30 mins. The show house is beautiful and worth a look but really we went so our guide would get the credit for doing his job. Your in charge of your vacation dont let them push you! Be sure to pack Singles $ we used about 100.00 of them throughout the week and it was perfect! Bug spray, Insulated cups (better than using little 8oz plastic cups) they will fill it and it stay nice and cold longer, floats you can use them in the pool great for lounging...then you can give them to someone else to use when you leave. Overall the vacation was amazing, i think i may stay at the other resort if i was to go back. Happy Vacationing!


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: NH
Age: 35-44

June 29, 2014
I love the people there! Made my stay amaizinG!

We just got back this week, we were there for a week at the resort. The place was overall wonderful, the pools and restaurants were kept clean and pleasant. The food was delicious! Not too many options with the breakfast buffets each day but overall good. One thing I did not like was not being able to set up my own reservations for certain places until certain times... this was a pain because it made it really difficult to make reservations where we wanted. The shows were wonderful! So much fun! Sunday's especially, don't miss out and stay until the end. One thing I must say, the service was wonderful! I honestly felt like we were greeted and treated great every day, by every one we came across. If they see you are looking to take care of them, they make sure they take care of you, and in an All Inclusive option this is key! I honestly had a wonderful experience. The VIP Beach is so pleasant and relaxing, just get there early to reserve a good spot. We didn't have access to a few beaches, pools, and restaurants, but even though, the ones we did have access to were great and we were all very pleased. We got as call from a time share guy the first morning there and then never again got asked anything by anyone else AT ALL! Not sure what other people are complaining about. We stood in Cofressi building 201 which had a bit of water issues the first day but honestly after that, everything was fine. I think some people that complain are looking for the ultimate experience and for what we paid I felt we had it. We were very happy and pleased with out stay, I would definitely come back! I LOVE IT!


2 of 2 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Long Island, NY
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

June 25, 2014
Would not go back

We were traveling with a large group and e-mailed ahead asking that the rooms be together, they were not we were spread all over the place. Some of the rooms were very nice, ours was horrendous and they would not move us. You also needed reservations for many of the restaurants and could not get them even though the restaurants were empty when you got there. We have gone to other all inclusive resorts and would not recommend this one


1 of 1 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
1.0
User Image

From: Sarasota, florida
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

June 25, 2014
Not The Best Vacation Resort

Cofresi Lifestyles Resort with Cheap Caribbean made my family and I feel as if we paid for a cheap vacation. I am a family of four including myself, my five month pregnant wife and two late teenage boys. We booked two separate rooms and requested for the rooms not to be together as we wanted our boys to be separate from our room in which the resort did accommodated us with that request. However the room that my pregnant wife and I was placed in had to have been the very first hotel that was built on the resort. We were placed in a three story horrible building on the (3rd floor). It was on the other side of the resort at the end of the resort sewer line that had the smell of the sewer the moment you open the front door or the terrace door. From the moment we stepped into to the room we both wasn't satisfied however we felt that maybe we'll feel better after we grab a bite to eat. So we decided not to unpack and do just that. Once we got back to the room we noticed two roaches in the room and immediately called the front desk and made them aware of us not being satisfied and was told the resort was completely booked and there isn't any available rooms. We had to actually go to the front desk and become very demanding to get some sort of help. A evening manager I think by the name Jacqueline was very helpful and told us that she will have a room for us the first thing in the morning. I have so many other issues however not enough writing space.


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 1
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
2.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
2.0
User Image

From: Brooklyn, NY
Age: 25-34

June 25, 2014
Decent

My wife and I stayed at the Cofresi Palm resort for 7 days and 6 nights. This was our first trip to the Caribbean, so we were not sure what to expect. We were very happy with the entertainment options on the resort and were blown away by how nice the resort was. We had a great time on the excursions which we participated in: Paradise island and Ocean World. The Cheap Caribbean staff were excellent! They spoke very good English, were very friendly, and went out of their way to make sure our experience was the best possible. The staff of the resort, on the other hand, did not speak English very well which made it difficult to communicate our needs and desires. We also felt ambushed by the staff who were responsible for giving a "tour" of the facilities. This was an attempt to get us to buy a timeshare which we had no interest in doing. We explained to them several times that we did not want to go on the tour, but they would not stop trying to get us to go with them. One person even said for us to think about his children. The other issue that we had involved dining on the resort. We specifically wanted to do an all-inclusive resort because we didn't want to have to worry about finding our own meals. About a week before our trip, we contacted the resort to make dinner reservations and were told that we had to wait until we arrived to make reservations. Upon arrival, we were told that they had automatically scheduled two reservations for us. We initially thought this was excellent, but we did not know at the time how difficult it would be to secure alternative and additional reservations. Essentially, unless you want to dine at the standard buffet you must have a reservation. If you want to change our your reservation for a different reservation, then you must do so the same day between 9:00-10:00 in the morning. If you do not have a reservation for a day and would like to make one, you must go to guest services between 3:00 and 4:00 in the afternoon to see if any availabilities opened up. This schedule was a problem for us because we were on excursions during the above times so we had to settle for the buffets. On the other days we were told that there were no cancellations so we could not make reservations. While we were at our reservations, however, at least a 1/3 of the restaurants were open. Overall, we had a good experience and would recommend the resort if a reasonable price is offered. We hope that the resort will improve on the above issues.


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Knoxville, TN
Age: 25-34

June 24, 2014
Terrible rooms in an amazing resort

Cofresi is an old resort so the gardens are mature and beautiful, so is the beach and the pools. The food is great and so are the dining rooms. However the rooms are very tired. The first room they put us in was very damp as the air con filter had stopped working and was dripping water on the floor. Eventually they moved us to another room but this was spoiled by noisy girls in the next room. They arrived, turned on the TV and left. They never came back. The TV was on, loud for all day and all night. In the middle of the 2nd night, after MANY complaints they eventually sent a maid in to turn off the TV.


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
2.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
1.0
User Image

From: England
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

June 18, 2014
Will go elsewhere in future

This resort is all about VIP and not about their other guests. Went here for my honeymoon and was not satisfied at all. Will tell people in future to pick another resort. After the staff tried to sell us VIP status and we clearly could not afford the HIGH prices they were very rude to us from there on out. Also the alcoholic beverages when not VIP were disgusting.


1 of 1 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
2.0
Service
 
1.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
1.0
User Image

From: Boston, MA
Age: 19-24

June 16, 2014
Lower your standards

It's not that me and my newly wed husband had a horrible time on our honeymoon at Cofresi Palm Resort- but we definitely had to work to keep a positive attitude when we were bombarded with sales pitches and requests for tips when we didn't even ask for help- all after we had carefully purchased a trip with EVERYTHING included. Turns out- all inclusive is not really all inclusive here. Only VIP members get true all inclusive priveledges- what we got was told no at almost every restaurant we tried to make reservations at or places we wanted to go. By the end of the trip we had figured out which buffet to go to and what foods to avoid. The beach is so pretty and the pools are cool. Spend your time there and try not to eat things you don't recognize....


1 of 1 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
1.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Spokane, WA
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

June 13, 2014
Worst Trip Ever

Let me start off by saying we have traveled all over the Caribbean and stayed at a variety of resorts from $1500 to $7500. I knew that since the price was so low obviously some amenities wouldn't be what other resorts had but still expected to enjoy the trip. The room was old and smelt like a basement. The toilet didn't flush properly and we found a dead cockroach under the bed. The mattress was like a spring board and the noise was unbelievable at all hours. No such thing as a partial ocean view and the property around 200/300 smelt like the most disgusting thing you could imagine from all the sewage. The food was horrible and you are unable to get in to any restaurants other than the 2 they give you which you have no say of the place or time. You have to go back to the hotel at 9 then 2 then 6 to try to get in somewhere which took up valuable time while on vacation. The staff was beyond rude and inconsiderate. They would consistently walk by you without and ignore any motion you made to attempt to order something. Multiple times a day, we would ask question and either get different responses from everyone or have the staff completely ignore the question. Even repeating it multiple times they would walk away. They allow locals to fill the "VIP" Beach area and the grounds for that matter every day and night which creates people CONSTIENTLY bothering you to buy something no matter where you turn. The "VIP" area that you can use is decent with Cabana's but you need to wait in line at 7am in order to even get one to sit in. There are about 50 beds in a very small area so you are squished like sardines. You would think this would mean the drink service would be great since the area is so small but no. Getting a drink was like pulling teeth if you didn't go up to the bar. The beach is public which is horrible. You can not stand on it for more than 2 minutes without getting pestered to buy something or do an excursion. The people do not take no and will bother you repeatedly through the day. The chairs to lay on are located all the way on the other end of the beach stacked up meaning you have to drag them yourself to an area on the beach to sit. No one set's up the chairs or does anything on the beach for that matter to make it enjoyable. The staff attempts to take you on a tour of the property to show you the nice areas which you have to be a VIP with a gold or black bracelet to get to. Basically showing you that you are a second class citizens with horrible accommodations unless you upgrade. We denied the tour since other told us it took up to 3 hours and the man followed us on the beach, mind you he works there, and yelled at us saying he was going to lose his job if we didn't go and we needed to answer to his boss. Seriously???? What a joke. I understand this resort is heavily discounted so your expectations need to be lowered but good customer service does NOT COST A THING. The staff is clearly lacking this with their complete disregard for the guests. We had staff ignore us, speak rude to us and even roll their eyes at us! This was the worst vacation we have ever been on and I would never stay at another Lifestyles resort no matter what the price is. STAY AWAY save your money this is a complete waste!


2 of 2 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 1
Value
 
1.0
Service
 
1.0
Beaches & Pools
 
2.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
1.0
User Image

From: Boston, MA
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year