All

Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort Reviews

Caribbean | Dominican Republic - Puerto Plata Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 357 Reviews
Value
 
3.9
Service
 
3.6
Beaches & Pools
 
4.1
Dining Options
 
2.9
Room Comfort
 
3.6
3.6 out of 5
"it wasn,t my best vacation ,but i relaxed and try to stay positive we met new friends and we all agree that the resort was buitiful but not ready to open not many option what to do there" – lata
284 out of 425 (67%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Zipline! Delicious!! View of the Cheap Caribbean VIP section from the sushi bar our room Our beautiful room! ED RELAXING One of the pools view of beach below restaurant deck Paradise Dirty floors comfy cabana at the beach VIP beach Mold Jr Suite view from the OceanSide room bed on beach One of the pool Beach Sunrise outside the lobby. Our building Rainy Day Picture our room Bathroom of junior suite Bloody Mary Breakfast VIP Beach Area Puerto Plata tour cable ride. Paradise!

All Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort Customer Reviews

1-10 of 357 reviews. Sort by
October 19, 2014
sorry we came

our first room was bad so we asked for another one.Our 2nd room was worse than the 1st, so we went back again and asked for another . Our 3rd room was the worst of them all , so we gave up. Shower heads all corroded with no water pressure, no hot water,hair dryers that didn't function (bad especially for my wife). There was no coffee,cups ,spoons or stirrers. Good thing they came to clean our room the next day at @ 1pm because that's when we got our coffee. Our shower leaked onto the floor no matter what we did, so that we had to use one of the towels on the floor all the time , or else the water would go out of the bath area into the living area and because it's tile it was very slippery, where my wife landed on her posterior until we realized where the water was coming from. I wuoldn't recommend this to anybody especially on the Confressi side.


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 2
Value
 
2.0
Service
 
2.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
1.0
User Image

From: montague ,NJ
Age: Over 65
Travel: 7+ trips/year

October 19, 2014
Beautiful and relaxing!

My husband bought this trip for our 1st Anniversary and after reading many reviews about Confresi my husband and I were not sure what to expect, but we were completely satisfied with our whole experience! Honestly, I think there are folks out there who are never satisfied with anything. If you are looking for a 5 star resort then, by golly, pay for a 5 star resort! Keep in mind that there are a lot of stairs to climb, but they do provide golf cart and shuttle transportation to anywhere on this and its sister resort. The American $ is accepted everywhere that we visited and they did a very good job at converting our money to theirs (Peso) and vice versa. The shops we visited also gave back American money as change unless you asked otherwise. We were treated very well by everyone we encountered. We also did not have to upgrade to be treated any better. We took the tour our 2nd day there and we found it quite nice, but keep in mind they are trying to sell you a timeshare but in no way do you have to buy or even go on it if you chose not to. The food was very good and there are plenty of options. Two buffets and many reservation required restaurants. We ate at three of the restaurants (Italian, Mexican, and sea food) and all three were very good! Out of the two buffets, we found that The Pearl, at Confresi, was much better then the Casablanca at the Tropical. We also found that the pools at Confresi were much nicer then at the Tropical. You are allowed to go to all restaurants, pools, bars, etc at both resorts unless it is for VIP only. With our package we were allowed to go to the one VIP beach located at the Tropical every day if we wanted to. They do have nights were they throw parties on VIP beaches where everyone is allowed to go! We went on two excursions. Honestly not sure if it's cheaper buying it on here or once you are there, but since we bought it when we were booking our trip we didn't have to worry about taking extra cash with us. We ended up taking $500 with us for tipping and souvenirs and we still came back with about $150. When taking spending and tipping money I recommend taking mainly $1s and $5s for tipping with $10s and $20s for shopping. Also, I want to mention that all the staff speak English and if they don't understand what you are saying or understand what you are asking they will ask you again or they will ask you to explain better, while they are apologizing for not understanding what you are saying lol.. All iin all, we really enjoyed ourselves and were completely satisfied with our decision to go to the Confresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort!


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Schellsburg, PA
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

October 14, 2014
Would definitely go back

We received and amazing unbeatable deal from CheapCaribbean.com and it was definitely worth it! The location had the same problems a lot of all inclusive places can run into: Not great buffet food, bottom shelf alcohol, etc. But other than that, which is easy to over look because hey! You're still on vacation! We kept an open mind about everything because some people did have bad reviews, but I also believe some people expect way too much and get too upset over small things that you shouldn't let bother you on vacation. The rooms were huge and gorgeous, we were very close to the pools and beach. Many people commented about the size of the resort, don't get me wrong, it is big, but it is not as big as some made it sound. We walked everywhere, in flip flops, and had no problem. The furthest walk was maybe 10 minutes, and that was if you walked through the resort, which we would usually just walk down the beach because it cut the time in half. People will try to sell you things from time to time, but they are very polite and will take no and smile and tell you to have a great day still. Just remember that is how they are trying to make a living so be polite and they have no problem leaving you alone. We didn't get to experience any of the events or clubs, but from what we could hear, they sounded very entertaining. We did venture down the street to Ocean World and the Casino, which we had a lot of fun at both. Everyone we met, whether they lived/worked there, or were staying in the resort as well, were very happy, pleasant, and seemed to be having a great time. Also we were upgraded to a better room for free when arriving, which was amazing. Also check out is at 1pm but our cab was not picking us up until 4 to take us to the airport for our flight home, and they allowed us to check out and they keep the luggage in a back room for you, and let us keep our wrist bands to continue to get food, drinks, and wander around the resort. We would go back in a heartbeat, or at least somewhere similar!!


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image
Top 500 Contributor
From: Allentown, PA
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

October 13, 2014
Division of classes!!!

If you do not ensure you have the VIP package you will not be allowed to certain beaches, restaurants or ride certain shuttles.. If felt like we were second class citizens. Overall, the property is beautiful and the service is ok. We had a great vacation despite not receiving the VIP treatment.


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 2
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
2.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Washington, D.C.
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

October 13, 2014
Good deal, but mixed reviews

My boyfriend and I purchased a great value deal in July for a September trip to the Cofresi Palm Resort. It's hard to argue with the low price we received, especially considering that the resort is all-inclusive, but we did feel that the site/advertising misrepresented the resort's options. There are multiple resorts near the Cofresi, all under the Lifestyles brand, and they share restaurants, pools, and the beachfront. If you do not have the VIP status, there are several areas/beach locations where you will not be allowed to go. Access to the specific "VIP Beach" was included in our deal, but not the VIP status in general. The pools and beachfront areas were beautiful- nothing to complain about. The VIP Beach in particular was nice as you can order food/drinks from your cabana/beach chairs. The dining options were a very mixed bag. The resort advertises a dozen or so restaurants, but during our stay, only 2-3 of them were open each night. We received 3 "pre-booked" dinner reservations at various restaurants when we checked in, but 2 of them were for late dinner times (9pm). You can call/go to Guest Services between 9-11am on the day of your reservation to ask to change the time or choose the other open restaurant, but there are no guarantees, and this was a bit of a hassle. We were not able to visit our preferred restaurant on Friday night. The food quality in the themed restaurant ranged from ok to great (iffy Asian restaurant, pretty good Italian, nice seafood restaurant). There are always 1-2 buffet restaurants open to everyone (no reservations needed), but the food quality was much lower here. A "snack bar" was open during the day, but only served dried up French fries and/or flavor-lacking pasta. There is a sushi bar at the VIP Beach, but the chefs really only made California rolls (which were not bad, considering) and rolls with smoked salmon- no other options. Again, hard to complain since the food is included, but this is definitely not a foodie destination. Wine is included at some of the dinner restaurants, but there are 2 options (red or white) and we were almost certain that the wine had been mixed with water. We're not picky, but had never tasted anything like it. There are gift shops near a few of the restaurants, so we ended up buying our own bottles at two dinners. Service is excellent across the resort- they maintain hundreds of staff (we were told 400 security guards alone) and most seemed friendly and eager to please. We were approached by resort staff twice about "taking a resort tour" (ending in a timeshare presentation) when we first arrived, and had to be quite forceful in saying no...the staff seem to stake out the new arrivals. We definitely would not return, due to the low food quality, but it was still a good deal as our package included airfare and 6 nights, so this should be more of an FYI than a complaint.


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: NY
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

October 6, 2014
Exceptional Value

We had a fantastic time at Cofresi. The room was nicer than I had hoped. The pools, beaches, and restaurants provided plenty of options and comfort. We went on two excursions and both were very enjoyable and a great value for our money. If I had to give some negatives: the food got a little redundant by the end of the week and I felt a little sick from something I ate that never really went away the whole time I was there. Both of those were somewhat to be expected, so with managed expectations I had no complaints. The staff was so nice to us and I felt like we had everything we needed. I had never been to an all-inclusive, so I was very pleasantly surprised with how relaxing and enjoyable it was. Definitely, definitely worth it considering the outstanding deal we got from CheapCaribbean.


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Washington, DC
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

October 5, 2014
we wished to stay longer

nice place, very nice and friendly personal, the dif. restaurants are just magnific, spec. the BRASILIAN...5 stars... The junior suites are very very nice and the room service ist excellent. The bad thing is, that between 3:00 - 6:00 every afternoon they make the "musik" (just for the jungsters, hard rock, rap etc) at the pool bar just in front of this rooms) so badly loud, that you can not even be in the room. You have to leave Cofresi Palm and go to Tropical Lifestyle.


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Germany
Age: 55-64
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

October 2, 2014
average resort

I guess is true what people said " that is what you get for what you paid". very cheap trip, but resort has many degrees of VIP people so if you DO NOT become MEMBER be prepared to walk a LOT of hills . out of the 29 restaurants that they claim they have it will be MANY restrictions for NON MEMBERS. so ALL INCLUSIVE do not cover the whole resort. Worst part was FOOD POISONING.... we think it was in the trip to paradise island ( we exchange e-mails with the people who went to this trip and everybody got sick... very badly... so be careful with the food in this beautiful place, thousands of flies yuck :( Food in the resort was OK .... we travel sep 16 and it was great not too many people in the resort.... but in the weekends totally different it seems like all the locals like to go there to spend their weekends. room was ok at cofresi palm, service is not so good, nobody really cares.


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 2
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: ny
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

September 30, 2014
GREAT VACATION GREAT SERVICES

THANKS TO THE STAFFS OF Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort MAKING OUR VACATION A MEMORIAL ONE. The services are incomparable.


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: san francisco
Age: 55-64
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

September 30, 2014
awesome time!

I fell in love with DR.... The hotel was great, staff were all friendly, entertainment was really good, good was ok, room was ok (didn't matter much as we were barely in there)....I mainly hung out in the VIP area which was a lot of fun! Will def. go back!


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Washington, DC
Age: 25-34