All

Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort Reviews

Caribbean | Dominican Republic - Puerto Plata Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 347 Reviews
Value
 
3.9
Service
 
3.6
Beaches & Pools
 
4.1
Dining Options
 
2.9
Room Comfort
 
3.6
3.6 out of 5
"Super nice resort it's our 4th time ....nothing compares" – Natanto
276 out of 413 (67%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
One of the pools Zipline! Dirty floors Our beautiful room! Jr Suite Paradise! Puerto Plata tour cable ride. Beach Mold Sunrise outside the lobby. Bloody Mary Breakfast Rainy Day Picture our room VIP beach comfy cabana at the beach bed on beach Our building Bathroom of junior suite One of the pool Delicious!! view of beach below restaurant deck ED RELAXING view from the OceanSide room our room VIP Beach Area Paradise View of the Cheap Caribbean VIP section from the sushi bar

All Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort Customer Reviews

1-10 of 347 reviews. Sort by
September 23, 2014
Excellent resort

Fabulous place, with endless activities by the pool and food. The water aerobics instructor Romeo is top natch. Loved that place!


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Nyc
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

September 23, 2014
Wonderful Resort for a great price!!

This resort is more than what you would expect for such a great price. The service staff is very friendly, the rooms are very comfortable, and all the food available at all hours are good enough for the price!! My number one complaint is that the resort does not have wireless internet access. You have to pay to get internet at an average of $1.00/day. They advertise that you get wi-fi at the VIP beach for free but I was never able to get free access to it. I guess, if you want an email free vacation this is the resort to go to! The pools are beautiful. The beach is pretty too but there was too much sea-weed for my swimming pleasure. The food was good at all the restaurants. Overall, it was a great vacation at a great price. I will definitely come back.


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Bowling Green, KY
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

September 23, 2014
it was ok

Ill start with the good. The resort it self was beautiful! And most of the employees were very friendly and helpful, which was nice. And for the money you really can't find a better deal. However, some parts of the resort had a constant terrible stench that literally made us gag! Also, unfortunately most of the time there was nothing to do at night. Everything shuts down at like 9 and your only option is pretty much to just go to your room.


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Norwich , CT
Age: 19-24
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

September 13, 2014
Excellent resort, amazing price for value

The value for the price was extremely good, especially since it was all inclusive and when in Dominican Republic you really don't spend any money aside from your occasional tips. The service to and from the hotel and at the hotel was very accommodating, and we reccomend to book the transportation with the flight, it costs less and it makes things alot easier. The hotel personell were all super nice, the entertainers are hilarious and were all great guys. The events they had everyday were super fun and different all the time. The pools are beautiful and well maintained, however the beach has a good amount of seaweed, alot of Solicitors and not Much room between the wall of the resort and water (not much sand), but the water is beautiful and so is the view while on the beach. Def perfect for a couples getaway. They have cabanas and hammocks everywhere that are perfect to relax in and are in great locations. Having all inclusive drinks was a plus, there were a few very good bartenders and if you take care of then they will be sure to do the same for you. The food was excellent.... The buffet was kind of boring, always the same foods, but if you have dinner reservations at the restraunts, they are excellent... Especially the Italian and Mexican. We had such a good experience in getting to know the people from the resort that it was tough to leave! Cofresi is def the better side, and the junior Suite is by far the way to go! The only things I would Change if I could are..... Food is not alwys easily available depending on the time, the fitness center (if you can call it that) was a joke, although they are newly renovating another one, and make sure you bring tons of singles because although they have American money and change for you, they always tell you they don't except at the front desk... Unless its Felipe, because he's the best!!! Melvin was the best bartender we had, and Nathaniel, Albert were excellent waiters and Luis from cheap Caribbean was a great guy too and helpful with coordinating everything. I highly reccomend this trip if you can book a week for less then 650 a person all inclusive! Thanks again cheapcaribean and Cofresi resort, see you again sometime In the future!!!


1 of 1 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: New York, NY
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

September 1, 2014
Not what I expected, in a bad way

To start off, the vacation was ok, however a good 90% of the staff (bar tending, front desk, and wait staff) were rude and acted as if they would rather have you not there. The day you will arrive, they will take you on the mandatory "tour" aka a sales pitch to buy a time share there. They will profile you by race and language and then choose which part of the property to show you. My wife and I being white English speaking Americans got the tour where everything cost in the $100K plus range simply because in there minds all white Americans are rich. To prove that point, some friends we met are from NY, but are Hispanic descent and they told them they could not afford here and then proceed to ask what credit cards they had to see if they do indeed have money. Yes, this really happened. On the tour they told us Cheap Caribbean was a bad way to come because it was cheap. Finally, after a tour of a $2 million dollar house which we did not ask for, they guy ask what its going to take for me to buy. I told them I was not interested in and did not have this kind of money. He immediately stopped talking to us and silently dropped us off at our resort. Which again was better than our friends from NY who were literally left on the tour by there guide a long way from their resort. Once you decline ownership of a time share and you do not get their coveted "VIP bracelet" forget about it, you are the lowest of the low and they want to make sure you know it. All the pictures on the website and all the places listed only a third of them can you actually go to if you are not VIP. This includes pools, restaurants (of which you only get three dinners out of for the week), and even beaches, there are beaches in which the likes of non VIP people are not allowed. They even told us that our resort (their own resort) was not that nice and we should upgrade. So in conclusion, if you would like to spend a good amount of money on mediocre food, ok rooms and to be berated by the same resort you spent money with, this place is for you.


2 of 3 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
2.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Charlotte, NC
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

September 1, 2014
Never again

The reason for choosing this hotel was because i was part of a wedding party. The wedding was a total unplanned chaos. The resort is very big and It happened to be raining all day the day of the wedding.The hotel did not make any accommodations to drive Any of the bridal party to the reception area . The very least the bride and groom should've been accommodated instead bride was walking in the rain with her heels and wedding dress to the very far reception area. Besides the wedding, the overall hotel experience was not very great. The food offered was not very tasteful. The hotel had lots of restaurants but god forbid you arrived late to your dinner. Even if the restaurant was completely empty they would not seat you if you missed your reservation and you were only allowed to change your reservation the same day from 9am to 10am. If you called room service for extra towels they took a very long time. I also did not like all the different vip categories and all the segregation. I would not recommend this resort to anyone unless you are very high class and stay at a villa.


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 2
Value
 
2.0
Service
 
2.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
2.0
User Image

From: Westchester ny
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

August 26, 2014
WHAT HAPPENED

2nd time there wont go again had a wonderful time but on the weekend all the islanders flock to the beach and hotel had a few arguments while waiting online to eat they just dont care they go in front of you while you are waiting to be served also could not use pool or lounge on the vip beach they took over the whole resort i wont go back unless its just monday to friday come the weekend nope dont care for it


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 2
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
2.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: staten island ny
Age: 55-64
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

August 26, 2014

I feel that I got rob, the hotel was awful in general especially the food and service around the hotel. I would not recommend this hotel.


1 of 1 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 1
Value
 
1.0
Service
 
1.0
Beaches & Pools
 
2.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
1.0
User Image

From: Miami, fl
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

August 26, 2014
Not Worth It

After just returning from a week long vacation at this resort there was a strong urge to inform other customers about our stay and how unsatisfied we were. Here are some pros and cons from our trip: Pros: -Friendly and helpful staff -Beautiful beaches and pools -Resort grounds are well maintained Cons: -Horrible food.. I mean HORRIBLE! -Little to no food selection.. Same thing every day! -Too big. Resort is massive with no way to get around besides on foot. -Drinks are cheap.... Cheap liquor= bad hangovers! Granted the drinks are part of the inclusive package but it's really bad quality. -Filled with kids! Want romance? Don't stay here! Kids are running around all over the place with no parent supervision! -Rooms are in bad shape! Dented and scratched up walls, no AC in the bathroom, and beds are as hard as concrete... Really uncomfortable! -Any additional things you want you have to pay for (lock for the safe, extra towels, phone calls, etc) -Pool bars close at 5pm which the exception to one which is the furthest away from the rooms. -Pools close at 7pm.. Like really? This is vacation! -First day of the trip and you'll get hounded by the sales staff to buy a time share. Claim they will give you a tour of the resort to show what you have access to but instead they show you everything you don't have access too and how wonderful it would be to be a VIP member.... Honestly your on vacation and that's the last thing you want to hear! -As a non-VIP member you are restricted to most restaurants, pools and beaches. Really annoying and rude! -No appropriate signage or direction to anything. Unfortunately this resort is not a place you will want to spend your vacation! Good luck with your resort selection and I hope you all enjoy your vacation more than we did!


1 of 1 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 2
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
1.0
User Image

From: New Jersey
Age: 19-24
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

August 26, 2014
Good Purchase

My fiancé & I went there last week for 4 nights and 5 days. The overall experience was good. There is an adult section part of the pool which was nice and the lifeguards were very strict with keeping anyone under 18 out of the adult area. The food was average. The breakfast buffet was okay. There was a wait for pancakes & eggs. If you do not mind the wait, then it is fine. There one major problem was the reservations and having the amount of restaurants they have. We got there on Saturday & they had set reservations for us for Monday & Tuesday, but we had to do buffet for Saturday & Sunday. We would have liked to have eaten a la carte both those days, but overall, the price was very good. The price cannot be beat!


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: New Jersey, USA
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year