All

Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort Reviews

Caribbean | Dominican Republic - Puerto Plata Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 327 Reviews
Value
 
3.9
Service
 
3.6
Beaches & Pools
 
4.1
Dining Options
 
2.9
Room Comfort
 
3.6
3.6 out of 5
"Nice place, outstanding service, awesome shows, good food, horrible rude people (travelers, not staff). Rooms have no soundproofing whatsoever. sewer smell every now and then" – PAgirl222
261 out of 389 (67%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
One of the pool our room Jr Suite Our beautiful room! bed on beach ED RELAXING Rainy Day Picture Beach Dirty floors VIP Beach Area Our building Puerto Plata tour cable ride. Bathroom of junior suite our room view of beach below restaurant deck comfy cabana at the beach Sunrise outside the lobby. View of the Cheap Caribbean VIP section from the sushi bar Delicious!! Paradise Bloody Mary Breakfast Paradise! Mold view from the OceanSide room One of the pools

All Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort Customer Reviews

1-10 of 327 reviews. Sort by
June 29, 2014
I love the people there! Made my stay amaizinG!

We just got back this week, we were there for a week at the resort. The place was overall wonderful, the pools and restaurants were kept clean and pleasant. The food was delicious! Not too many options with the breakfast buffets each day but overall good. One thing I did not like was not being able to set up my own reservations for certain places until certain times... this was a pain because it made it really difficult to make reservations where we wanted. The shows were wonderful! So much fun! Sunday's especially, don't miss out and stay until the end. One thing I must say, the service was wonderful! I honestly felt like we were greeted and treated great every day, by every one we came across. If they see you are looking to take care of them, they make sure they take care of you, and in an All Inclusive option this is key! I honestly had a wonderful experience. The VIP Beach is so pleasant and relaxing, just get there early to reserve a good spot. We didn't have access to a few beaches, pools, and restaurants, but even though, the ones we did have access to were great and we were all very pleased. We got as call from a time share guy the first morning there and then never again got asked anything by anyone else AT ALL! Not sure what other people are complaining about. We stood in Cofressi building 201 which had a bit of water issues the first day but honestly after that, everything was fine. I think some people that complain are looking for the ultimate experience and for what we paid I felt we had it. We were very happy and pleased with out stay, I would definitely come back! I LOVE IT!


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Long Island, NY
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

June 25, 2014
Would not go back

We were traveling with a large group and e-mailed ahead asking that the rooms be together, they were not we were spread all over the place. Some of the rooms were very nice, ours was horrendous and they would not move us. You also needed reservations for many of the restaurants and could not get them even though the restaurants were empty when you got there. We have gone to other all inclusive resorts and would not recommend this one


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
1.0
User Image

From: Sarasota, florida
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

June 25, 2014
Not The Best Vacation Resort

Cofresi Lifestyles Resort with Cheap Caribbean made my family and I feel as if we paid for a cheap vacation. I am a family of four including myself, my five month pregnant wife and two late teenage boys. We booked two separate rooms and requested for the rooms not to be together as we wanted our boys to be separate from our room in which the resort did accommodated us with that request. However the room that my pregnant wife and I was placed in had to have been the very first hotel that was built on the resort. We were placed in a three story horrible building on the (3rd floor). It was on the other side of the resort at the end of the resort sewer line that had the smell of the sewer the moment you open the front door or the terrace door. From the moment we stepped into to the room we both wasn't satisfied however we felt that maybe we'll feel better after we grab a bite to eat. So we decided not to unpack and do just that. Once we got back to the room we noticed two roaches in the room and immediately called the front desk and made them aware of us not being satisfied and was told the resort was completely booked and there isn't any available rooms. We had to actually go to the front desk and become very demanding to get some sort of help. A evening manager I think by the name Jacqueline was very helpful and told us that she will have a room for us the first thing in the morning. I have so many other issues however not enough writing space.


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 1
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
2.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
2.0
User Image

From: Brooklyn, NY
Age: 25-34

June 25, 2014
Decent

My wife and I stayed at the Cofresi Palm resort for 7 days and 6 nights. This was our first trip to the Caribbean, so we were not sure what to expect. We were very happy with the entertainment options on the resort and were blown away by how nice the resort was. We had a great time on the excursions which we participated in: Paradise island and Ocean World. The Cheap Caribbean staff were excellent! They spoke very good English, were very friendly, and went out of their way to make sure our experience was the best possible. The staff of the resort, on the other hand, did not speak English very well which made it difficult to communicate our needs and desires. We also felt ambushed by the staff who were responsible for giving a "tour" of the facilities. This was an attempt to get us to buy a timeshare which we had no interest in doing. We explained to them several times that we did not want to go on the tour, but they would not stop trying to get us to go with them. One person even said for us to think about his children. The other issue that we had involved dining on the resort. We specifically wanted to do an all-inclusive resort because we didn't want to have to worry about finding our own meals. About a week before our trip, we contacted the resort to make dinner reservations and were told that we had to wait until we arrived to make reservations. Upon arrival, we were told that they had automatically scheduled two reservations for us. We initially thought this was excellent, but we did not know at the time how difficult it would be to secure alternative and additional reservations. Essentially, unless you want to dine at the standard buffet you must have a reservation. If you want to change our your reservation for a different reservation, then you must do so the same day between 9:00-10:00 in the morning. If you do not have a reservation for a day and would like to make one, you must go to guest services between 3:00 and 4:00 in the afternoon to see if any availabilities opened up. This schedule was a problem for us because we were on excursions during the above times so we had to settle for the buffets. On the other days we were told that there were no cancellations so we could not make reservations. While we were at our reservations, however, at least a 1/3 of the restaurants were open. Overall, we had a good experience and would recommend the resort if a reasonable price is offered. We hope that the resort will improve on the above issues.


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Knoxville, TN
Age: 25-34

June 24, 2014
Terrible rooms in an amazing resort

Cofresi is an old resort so the gardens are mature and beautiful, so is the beach and the pools. The food is great and so are the dining rooms. However the rooms are very tired. The first room they put us in was very damp as the air con filter had stopped working and was dripping water on the floor. Eventually they moved us to another room but this was spoiled by noisy girls in the next room. They arrived, turned on the TV and left. They never came back. The TV was on, loud for all day and all night. In the middle of the 2nd night, after MANY complaints they eventually sent a maid in to turn off the TV.


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
2.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
1.0
User Image

From: England
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

June 18, 2014
Will go elsewhere in future

This resort is all about VIP and not about their other guests. Went here for my honeymoon and was not satisfied at all. Will tell people in future to pick another resort. After the staff tried to sell us VIP status and we clearly could not afford the HIGH prices they were very rude to us from there on out. Also the alcoholic beverages when not VIP were disgusting.


1 of 1 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
2.0
Service
 
1.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
1.0
User Image

From: Boston, MA
Age: 19-24

June 16, 2014
Lower your standards

It's not that me and my newly wed husband had a horrible time on our honeymoon at Cofresi Palm Resort- but we definitely had to work to keep a positive attitude when we were bombarded with sales pitches and requests for tips when we didn't even ask for help- all after we had carefully purchased a trip with EVERYTHING included. Turns out- all inclusive is not really all inclusive here. Only VIP members get true all inclusive priveledges- what we got was told no at almost every restaurant we tried to make reservations at or places we wanted to go. By the end of the trip we had figured out which buffet to go to and what foods to avoid. The beach is so pretty and the pools are cool. Spend your time there and try not to eat things you don't recognize....


1 of 1 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
1.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Spokane, WA
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

June 13, 2014
Worst Trip Ever

Let me start off by saying we have traveled all over the Caribbean and stayed at a variety of resorts from $1500 to $7500. I knew that since the price was so low obviously some amenities wouldn't be what other resorts had but still expected to enjoy the trip. The room was old and smelt like a basement. The toilet didn't flush properly and we found a dead cockroach under the bed. The mattress was like a spring board and the noise was unbelievable at all hours. No such thing as a partial ocean view and the property around 200/300 smelt like the most disgusting thing you could imagine from all the sewage. The food was horrible and you are unable to get in to any restaurants other than the 2 they give you which you have no say of the place or time. You have to go back to the hotel at 9 then 2 then 6 to try to get in somewhere which took up valuable time while on vacation. The staff was beyond rude and inconsiderate. They would consistently walk by you without and ignore any motion you made to attempt to order something. Multiple times a day, we would ask question and either get different responses from everyone or have the staff completely ignore the question. Even repeating it multiple times they would walk away. They allow locals to fill the "VIP" Beach area and the grounds for that matter every day and night which creates people CONSTIENTLY bothering you to buy something no matter where you turn. The "VIP" area that you can use is decent with Cabana's but you need to wait in line at 7am in order to even get one to sit in. There are about 50 beds in a very small area so you are squished like sardines. You would think this would mean the drink service would be great since the area is so small but no. Getting a drink was like pulling teeth if you didn't go up to the bar. The beach is public which is horrible. You can not stand on it for more than 2 minutes without getting pestered to buy something or do an excursion. The people do not take no and will bother you repeatedly through the day. The chairs to lay on are located all the way on the other end of the beach stacked up meaning you have to drag them yourself to an area on the beach to sit. No one set's up the chairs or does anything on the beach for that matter to make it enjoyable. The staff attempts to take you on a tour of the property to show you the nice areas which you have to be a VIP with a gold or black bracelet to get to. Basically showing you that you are a second class citizens with horrible accommodations unless you upgrade. We denied the tour since other told us it took up to 3 hours and the man followed us on the beach, mind you he works there, and yelled at us saying he was going to lose his job if we didn't go and we needed to answer to his boss. Seriously???? What a joke. I understand this resort is heavily discounted so your expectations need to be lowered but good customer service does NOT COST A THING. The staff is clearly lacking this with their complete disregard for the guests. We had staff ignore us, speak rude to us and even roll their eyes at us! This was the worst vacation we have ever been on and I would never stay at another Lifestyles resort no matter what the price is. STAY AWAY save your money this is a complete waste!


2 of 2 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 1
Value
 
1.0
Service
 
1.0
Beaches & Pools
 
2.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
1.0
User Image

From: Boston, MA
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

June 10, 2014
DO NOT GO HERE

This is by far the WORST vacation I have ever experienced. I will happily give you the run down. The first day I got there I was starving from a long plane ride and there was NO restaurants open what so ever. The workers are horrible they are very innopropioate towards woman and say nasty things. one of the workers kept asking me to be his girlfriend infront of everybody it was EMBRASSING. The hotel rooms are terrible I had no running water in the shower and I reported it they sent someone to fix it but it didn't work and they refused to switch my rooms. Also the rooms are joined and my neighbors were having "fun" if you know hat I mean every night disturbing me. My toilet in the room stopped running also..... now the service was also bad nobody takes consideration in you unless you are VIP. if your not forget about it you don't even get good drinks. and the food is nasty to I came back a week ago and im still throwing up DONT HAVE A HORRIBLE VACATION LIKE ME !!!


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 1
Value
 
1.0
Service
 
1.0
Beaches & Pools
 
2.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
1.0
User Image

From: NEW YORK NY
Age: 19-24
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

June 9, 2014
Awesome Location and great Ammenities

This was our first time going to a resort, and it was incredible. Cheap Carribean took care of us so there were no worries about transportation or anything else. Staying at Cofresi, you have access to all the pools, lots of restaurants and beaches at the other tresorts, and really everything is just a short walk away. There are tanks of safe water at each housing section,so you don't have to worry about that, and all of the drinks are made with bottled water ice. There was a nice mix of beaches and pools, and activities for the vacationers. We had an incredible time, and we're already hoping to go back to Cofresi next year, or in the near future. I already have recommended this to friends, and I highly recommend it to anyone. Just be careful of the locals selling their wares on the beach, everything is extremly costly, so don't fall into thetrap unless you are a great bargainer.


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Poughkeepsie, NY
Age: 19-24
Travel: 1-2 trips/year