All

Coconut Court Beach Hotel Reviews

Caribbean | Barbados Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 130 Reviews
Value
 
4.2
Service
 
3.9
Beaches & Pools
 
4.1
Dining Options
 
3.2
Room Comfort
 
3.6
3.9 out of 5
"Family owned hotel on a gorgeous beach with a friendly staff who we can not wait to see again!!!" – barbados10
129 out of 159 (81%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
the view from our room, Coconut Court Resort view from our room evn my Fun fuzzy Flip Flops love the view. view from our balcony Beautiful sunset from hotel This barrier is home to many types of beautiful fish view from our balcony The beach shaded by palms on the beach veiw from our room View from our balcony View from oceanfront room view from our balcony Coconut Court Beach our submarine tour, thank you Atlantis Crew sailing on the Rubáiyát catamaran view from balcony This beach is stunning Coconut Court Our Beach @ Coconut Court... view from our balcony Rainbow in Barbados You could be here...

All Coconut Court Beach Hotel Customer Reviews

1-10 of 130 reviews. Sort by
March 23, 2012
Pretty good until the end

Having traveled extensively around the world including the Caribbean and other locations - most often with all inclusive options, we knew this would be different since only b/fast was included and it seemed we booked an "economy"/ "value" kind of vacation in this case. Given previous reviews we were prepared for quite modest accommodations etc. However, we were quite pleasantly surprised. The hotel could compare with some of the all inclusive places we have been to and we appreciated the small fridge, microwave and toaster oven in our room. Unlike some of the other destinations we have visited - Barbados at this location felt quite safe, certainly to catch the quick bus ride to nearby grocery store or restaurant. In fact, we did that daily by choice. You could also safely walk to the variety of stores and restaurants nearby. Food in Barbados is not cheap. Most is exported from around the world and variety is limited but it was OK. We did appreciate couple of the theme nights at the resort w/ options i.e. "Indian Buffet" or "Beach BBQ (w/ great fish, steak and chicken options). Prices were higher than we would expect in low(er) key US restaurants but still much cheaper than restaurants on the Boardwalk i.e. Naru (super overpriced). The food quality of these theme parties was great! Worth the money. B/fast - though continental was mostly toast and cereal and only hard boiled eggs and bananas, juice, coffee... so that could use some improvement. From local restaurants we loved Oistins fish market w/ large servings of fantastic fish, chicken and BBQ options and sides for a very good price... Blakey's was a good bar and good food option within walking distance too....Locals often recommended Brown Sugar and similar places for a true Bajan experience. KFC, Subway and Fridays were fairly near if you wanted US quick foods... The hotel has a very nice beach w/ beautiful white sand and fantastic Atlantic ocean access, that was a very nice surprise. We would also recommend Glory Tours for best rate on travel i.e. to the Wildlife Reserve and Harrison's Cave... We did not do snorkeling as our dgtr is only 2 y/o (which is also why we were not looking for a big party hotel...., though that's near if you want it) The property is well maintained and staff quite pleasant (w/ the exception of our last / check out morning). The front desk person did not know what time we were scheduled for hotel taxi (included in price), called us repeatedly (by mistake) 15 + min earlier b/c "the driver was there". We did let her know our departure was 5:50am, she said OK but then called 1 more time (by mistake)..... We told her we are will be down in just a couple of minutes... However, the driver left (contrary to the other delayed Bajan routines) when we were exactly 2mins late getting down to the lobby.... While this was included in price, the front desk person (who claimed to be the manager on 3/12) quickly then suggested 20$ cab... She was quite rude! Disappointing as you can see esp. given tourism is a #1 industry for Barbados.... If you forget this experience, our stay was a nice surprise though we were also ready for good variety of foods (yes this is an American privilege) at the end....


59 of 59 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image
Top 250 Contributor
From: Ann Arbor, MI
Age: 35-44
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

April 11, 2011
Coconut Court Beach Hotel Barbados

I picked Coconut Court Beach Hotel after searching Cheap Caribbean's site and being intrigued by the heading "Boutique Resorts." I like smaller, quieter properties, and the pricing for a package for 2 was excellent. An added incentive was the fact that we could reach Barbados with a direct flight from JFK. I was travelling with my adult daughter and we both like the same thing: BEACH! The Barbados airport is very easy and efficient, and the same can be said for all of the people that we dealt with, all helpful and cheerful. I guess living in Paradise makes for happy people! Upon check-in at the hotel, I asked to see a potential room upgrade so we could be looking directly at th ocean, and not over the roof tops of the restaurant, also this would be quieter being removed from the beach bar. Even though the hotel (and most hotels there) are on a main road, it is at the back of the resort and once in your room you do not hear the traffic noise over the fabulous sound of waves (or your air conditioner.) We did upgrade the room, it was quite reasonable, and Alison was very helpful to get this accomplished. The facility is in need of some updating, BUT it was spotless and very clean, and the rooms were freshly painted. Settling in, we enjoyed the balcony overlooking the beach (where we played cards and drank wine every night before going out to dinner). I would stress that this is a bargain vacation so I'm sure a redecorate would raise the pricing. Continental breakfast is included and the restaurant is lovely and well attended. Staff whisks away your plates to thwart the birds that try to grab some food when you are not looking. Some people have complained about the birds but this is OUTDOORS and the birds have figured out there is a free lunch for them if they're quick! Get over it and co-exist with nature. The beach bar is small and quaint and very enjoyable; the bartenders have wonderful personality and take pride in pleasing you. Antonio is of note. The beach was indeed as beautiful as promised, and an added feature is the gorgeous and well-tended landscaping. Unusually for a natural beach are the many mature palm trees that create frond-fringed shade, so much better than umbrellas. I burn easily and always must be covered on the beach, and this was a wonderfully pleasant way to do it. There are plenty of chairs for everyone and we didn't need to compete for them. We only went in the pool a couple of times (also clean and beautiful) because we wanted to spend every minute on the beach. The water is clear and beautiful in the morning, with a sheltered cove created by a line of coral reef, which has great shallow snorkelling. It is the South coast, so a little windy (but that's nice on the beach, you don't get really hot, even in the gorgeously consistent 85 degree weather), and stronger waves than the West coast. It's a little rocky getting in the water. I was recovering from a broken ankle so didn't want to twist it on the rocks; wearing those rubber soled mesh water shoes made all the difference. I would go back again and recommend this package as a great value in a friendly atmosphere, and for its beauty.

view from our balcony shaded by palms on the beach
74 of 78 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: upstate NY
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

October 25, 2014
Nope

This is probably the worst hotel I have ever stayed at. Our reservation got screwed up by Cheap Caribbean and we had to stay in a less expensive room after already paying the most expensive rate. I had a feeling it wasn't going to be the greatest hotel but decided to book the "newly renovated" room, as other reviewers said it made up for the condition of the rest of the hotel. We ended up in an outdated room because the hotel had sold out of the room type by the time I realized CC's error. They tried to accommodate us by adding transfers and breakfast. Breakfast was a joke, there was construction going on the entire time we were there, no toiletries are provided in your bathroom, you only get ONE beach towel for the entire stay (you pay extra if, heaven forbid, you want a fresh, clean towel) and the shower temperature was hit or miss. I could go on but I'm just glad we're back home and would like to move on from this awful experience.


25 of 25 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 2
Value
 
2.0
Service
 
2.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
1.0
User Image

From: US
Age: 25-34

December 5, 2010
barbados beautiful

My husband and I were undecided in july 2010,where to go on a a vacation. There were many stresses ocurring at the time and we hesitant to go out of the country or anywhere.I spontaneously called cheap caribbean and asked for a recommendation from there qualified staff for a SAFE , dependable location and special deals, because I GET THE BEST DEALS FOUND ! or at least make me think so! After his patience , we decided that Barbados sounded interesting and we left the next day at 7:00 AM from over 100 degree Indiana heat to 92 degree heat ,100% beauty, and a wonderful memory again in the caribbean . Barbados was much differerent from some other islands.COCONUT COURT was an intergral part of the stay. The fornt is not impressive , but the beach front is gorgeous and open , the staff friendly and accomodating, breakfast very good, Rooms good/ private .Bus line is great ,gives you a chance to talk to the locals.People are honest,smiling ... just say hello.. they can speak english and are WONDERFUL.SNORKELING GREAT EVERY WHERE,WRECKS AND TURTLES FROM BEACH. Don't miss olestin's fish fry, TED'S ISLAND TOUR, he belongs in an institution, I mean he is an institution .BRUSH UP ON YOUR IRISH BAR JOKES , He is also good w/ kids as he is a great Dad himself. We will be back again , prepared,for another memory long remembered. Thanks CC, Barbados, Caribbean Jim, Ted , Bajans.

veiw from our room
11 of 11 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: lafayette,IN USA
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

July 7, 2011
beach

It is located on one of the prettiest beaches on the island. The hotel is spotlessly clean and has excellent security. We would use this hotel again.


16 of 17 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: bossier LA.
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

June 20, 2016
Cheap Caribbean IS THE BEST!!!!!!!

I was not sure what to expect with my package...I was nervous...I wanted to give my twins a nice, once a life time 18th birthday vacation that they never forget...I needed something that I could afford, so I found this great site. As a first time customer I was not sure if the low price would meet my high expectations for the trip, the hotel...OMG...I was / we all were so pleasantly surprised!!!!!!! Anything I needed, like adding another person to our room, airport pick up, booking a tour --- customer service took care of us. The flight was perfect...The Hotel --- Coconut Court Beach IS AMAZING...We had a perfect room with a perfect view, and the staff was most accommodating and friendly. The food and entertainment there was also excellent, but, the BEACH...Wow...So BEAUTIFUL...We had the best time!!! The people of Barbados are some of the nicest people you can ever meet. We were close to St. Lawrence Gap, where all the nightclub and restaurants are that we enjoyed. We also went to the Shipyard, or Boatyard, forgive me, a beach about 10 minutes from Coconut Court, where you pay $50 Barbados dollars, and you get access to their beach, water trampoline, pier jumping activities, a boat tour to swim with sea turtles, and get 40 out of the 50 dollars for food and drinks, which are delicious!!!!!!!The best place and sweetest deal ever!!!!!!! I/ we had a GREAT GREAT Time and Caribbean Vacations delivered it to us...Thank you!!!

Our Beach @ Coconut Court...
10 of 10 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Atlanta, GA
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

April 26, 2011
Coconuts in Heaven...

Lovely! Very nice staff... Super clean and comfortable rooms with all the necessary amenities. Everything you could want in a well priced Caribbean vacation. The price was so perfect we could splurge a little on art and souvenirs at the end of our stay! Oh, and the long stretch of beach was AWESOME!!! We actually saw a large sea turtle come up to nest on the land... was AMAZING. Highly recommended.


9 of 9 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Los Angeles
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

September 13, 2010
Barbados Coconut Court

We were very pleasantly surprised. Our room was spacious and clean. We had a private balcony with a beautiful view of the beach and ocean. The beach was great, there was plenty of chairs available and palm trees offering shade for those of us who needed a cool escape the constant sunshine. We purchased snorkeling gear at a department store downtown and took advantage of the small man-made reef habitat right in front of the hotel. It was one of our favorite activities while on the island and it was free! We only ate dinner at the hotel's restaurant once and did not care for the food, but there are plenty of places to eat not far from the hotel. We loved the breakfast that was included in our package! There were many choices and it was wonderful to start the day in the open air dining room overlooking the ocean and beach. The hotel pool area was nice and the activities we participated were fun. One negative was that the walls of our room were thin and we had a very disrespectful neighbor on one side who carried on at all hours; it was unfortunate but the hotel certainly is not to blame. I would be hesitant to return to Barbados and stay somewhere else- Coconut Court was a amazing value and we could not have asked for more!


7 of 7 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Syracuse, NY
Age: 25-34

December 17, 2011
Great value

We just returned home from Coconut Court Hotel and have to say is was one of the best vacations we have had. We have traveled quite a bit and really enjoy the smaller, locally owned hotels. Very comfortable rooms/beds. All rooms oceanfront-the view was spectacular!! I really liked the fact that the hotel was very close to Bridgetown (about 3 miles-we walked in a few times) but when you walked out to the beach you would have thought you were in the middle of nowhere. It was that serene. The locals were so friendly and helpful. Will not hesitate to go back-hoping next year. And don't forget to go to Oistens!!


7 of 7 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Pennsylvania
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

November 14, 2012
BARBADOS EXPERIENCE

Barbados island speaks for itself.it has alot to offer: beautiful beaches and plenty of restaurant choices not to mention duty free shopping at it's capital. We started our trip experience when our airport shuttle driver drove us to the Coconut Court Resort for our check in. I was a little apprehensive coming into the coconut court family business as the reviews i had read prior to our trip was sort of none appealing. My husband & I are bringing with us great island experiences from our travels every year and had stayed mostly with 4 star all inclusive properties,so trying coconut court was a little of a gamble base on reviews we had read.Our check in process was a breeze,front desk was friendly although i may say there is a Shirley employee there that may seem to need to learn her friendliness skills like the rest. There was a gentleman that stood out to us-his excellent customer service that brought recognition of quality standard of their hotel-who we later found out he was the hotels Service Manager.That friendliness marked our hotel experience along with the smiley faces of the rest of the staff we met through out our stay in the property.the negative reviews we had read prior were not founded.Coconut court Resort is not a 4 star but not a worst one either. The hot buffet breakfast every morning was minimal but helpful we both enjoyed the convenience of it.The hotel proximity to it's Capital & Great dining is only a $1 mini bus ride.The beachfront walk everyday was invigorating.Over all our coconut court stay was great.We only wished we had upgraded ourselves into a superior beach front room.but we settled anyway to what we have which was a very comfortable large room.


7 of 7 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Darien,Ct
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year