All

Coconut Bay Resort and Spa Reviews

Caribbean | St. Lucia Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 72 Reviews
Value
 
4.4
Service
 
4.5
Beaches & Pools
 
4.1
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
3.9
4.3 out of 5
"its a nice place the people are nice but the resort needs a little update" – tocsore
73 out of 83 (88%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Pitons from restaurant The beach! Beach view coconut bay harmony pools Nice Beach View from lounge chair View from the door of our room.

All Coconut Bay Resort and Spa Customer Reviews

1-10 of 72 reviews. Sort by
July 19, 2011
A fantastic value, and a very good time!

First, the resort is literally 5 minutes (less?) from the airport! This is a wonderful way to start your trip! In Jamaica years ago, we had to take a ~2 hour bus ride to the Sandals resort we went to, and it was a very grumpy start to that trip. Room: This resort is a FANTASTIC value. The facilities and rooms are not as nice as the ones at the Sandals we went to in Jamaica, but they certainly were more than adequate. Honestly the room we had at Coconut Bay (the lower priced Adult one) was larger than at Sandals, and the temperature control was actually much better. It just was not as "fancy". But it was clean, and everything was fine. We were on the lower level, and had a great view of the grounds and the Ocean in the short distance. Facilities: Pools: As mentioned above, while you could probably find better at more expensive resorts, the facilities were great. We spent most of our time at the main pool with the pool bar. Its not the best pool bar set up, but it does the trick :) Children are allowed in the pool with the pool bar, and they server a good selection of non-alchoholic drinks as well. I'm sure the kids get a kick out of it, but it was a bit odd to have them there. But I will say we had no problems with "rowdy" kids or anything, just kids and families. If you go to this resort, you know there will be kids, so it was fine. There is plenty of pool space for games or just lounging. As above, it might not be as fancy as a more expensive resort, but it was very nice. The Water Slides were a HUGE plus!! One of the things that made us pick Coconut Bay was the water park - and it did not disappoint! The 2 slides and the lazy river were tons of fun for my wife and I, as kids at heart. Bars: There were probably half a dozen bars, including the swim up bar. They were all well stocked with a wide variety of included liqueur and drinks and 2 kinds of beer (Piton and Heineken). Also available for $2-$4 are top shelf liqueur if you are interested. The bartenders were mostly friendly, and always quick with a drink. The bars, and much of the resort, closes down a bit earlier than we might like - at 1am. So if you are looking for an all night party, this is not the place for you. But it does make you go to bed earlier to get early :) They have European style disco in one of the bars that wasn't always very crowded. Maybe 3 out of the 6 days we were there was there any 'late night' crowd, so again, its not a constant party place. The variety of bars does give a nice variety of atmospheres - from the relaxed main bar in the open air lobby, to the more fancy bar (with beds!) in the upstairs lounge. Activities: We did not participate in too many on resort activities, but when we did we had a good time. We joined in the fun for the "Charity Casino night" that they do weekly. You pay money for play chips, and the money goes to charity for a local school. Then they set up card and roulette tables where you can gamble for more chips. At the end they gave away a bunch of things from the giftshop as prizes. We had a great time with the staff and guests - but again it all closed down around 11pm. The resort had lots of organized games and live music throughout our stay, but we didn't always participate. The staff always seemed very involved playing games in the pool with people, or playing games with the kids. Of course there are the off resort excursions that offer a variety of options. We did the half day Sofrier tour, which was a good length and took us lots of places. We also did the Rain Forest nature "walk" - which was very interesting and a good guide, but by "walk" they mean strenuous hike uphill... My wife has bad asthma and we asked the person at the tour desk before we booked it if it was a tough hike or walk, and she laughed and said it wasn't hard. My wife didn't have much trouble, but we had to stop along the way - its LOTS of dirt stairs uphill (no climbing, just rough stairs). Food: We liked the food. There are what I would call 2.5 sit down restaurants - 2 fancy ones, and an Italian one that is really just an expanded menu and seating at the grill each night. They split up times for the 2 fancy ones between adult and family time which is nice. The food was good, but the menus did not appear to change at these sit down restaurants, so if we were there longer than a week it might get old. Then there is the buffet and the grill. The grill offers a very nice selection (even salads!) and is open the latest till 1am. The times we ate at the buffet (which is open for 3 meals a day) the variety was good and there was always several things that we both liked. It changed every day at the buffet. Beach: As other reviewers have said, the beach on this side of the island is not the cleanest (seaweed, not garbage). We did not do more than put our feet in the water, but it looked clear besides the seaweed. They do their best to removed it, but its constantly there. The beach sand is relatively small compared to some east coast USA beaches, but the beach in Jamaica was about the same size. Don't come here if you are expecting a perfect beach. Again it was nice, but not the best. Weather: It rains for a bit every day. Don't get worried if you look at the forecast before you leave and it says rain everyday. We were a bit worried, but that seems to be normal. Rain was in the forecast at about 50% everyday, and usually it would rain for 5-10 minutes a day. When it rains, it REALLY rains! It comes in, and clears up, very quickly though. Maybe it was just the season (July), I'm not sure. Its hot and humid, as you would expect. However, the breeze off the ocean is fantastic! It made it very comfortable at all times of the day. The open air lobby with seating and bars was a great atmosphere with the breeze. Overall - for families, or couples that don't mind kids on the resort - this was an exceptional value. You could spend more for a fancier resort, but if you just want a nice all inclusive, with plenty of pools and water slides, friendly comfortable grounds, this is the place for you.


100 of 104 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: New Jersey
Age: 25-34

July 28, 2011
Glorious!!!!!!!!!

Must say it was the most gorgeous, impeccable facility, friendly service with beautiful smiles and not a paint chip off anywhere. People and an organization that genuinely dedicated to seeing to it our stay was perfect. They took excellent care of us on and off property excursions as well as seeing to it that our water excursions with Elements 2 with Chris who mans the water excursions at Coconut Bay were perfect and enjoyable. Happy memories made with these outstanding service oriented people. Smiles everywhere. Gorgeous fresh flowers in the lobby. Beautiful fresh meals with awesome entertainment every night! We were greeted with cold champagne and lime cold cloths after our long trip to get there. Anyone who doesn't take this opportunity for a real vacation is missing IT! I am a world traveler and have traveled the Caribbean for 30 years. Coconut Bay, St. Lucia The BEST!


18 of 18 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Aiken, South Carolina
Age: 55-64
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

July 28, 2012
not the service I expected.

The Coconut Bay Resort was OK. I expected better. If you have ever been to an all inclusive resort before as I have you expect more services. The front desk staff was OK and the greeters were OK. The rest of the hotel staff in the dining room and around the resort were less friendly, they seemed overworked and understaffed. At meal time the water glasses were filled right away but that was the end of the service. If you wanted a drink other than water, you had to get it yourself most of the time. Other resorts I have visited have a staff that bends over backwards to get you what ever you need as soon as you are seated. An example of the mediocre service is the salt shakers on the table where mostly empty. When you mentioned it to a staff member they just exchanged the salt shaker from your table with one from another table. Sometimes those were empty as well. No on tried to correct to situation. The resort was also pretty run down. There really was not a lot of night time activities and the bugs were overwhelming. Mosquitos galore inside the lobby area. Flies all over the food. The pool areas were good. The grill was under staffed as well, only one person cooking when there was a huge line of people waiting to order. Again I am used to the resort providing my every comfort. This does not happen at this resort. I did enjoy the excursions tremendously.


30 of 35 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
2.0
Service
 
1.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image
Top 1000 Contributor
From: Upstate, New York
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

March 24, 2013
It was OK

The hotel was ok. Unfortunantly we saw a rat run pass our feet im sure unavoidably. The dinning options where just ok. Spa package was decent. Beach and pools where the best part of the hotel experience. Upgraded our room to ocean view and arrive to see 2 huge palm trees in the way.......not ocean view at all. Hammocks adorable. Adult side good for couples. Excursion where awesome!!! Did zip lining and valcono exploring. Sulphur bathing. Best part of trip. Drinks horrible......didnt have one good drink til last day. Overall trip was just OK.


8 of 8 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Brooklyn, NY
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

June 4, 2014
Loved Coconut Bay !

I can't stress enough how much we loved Coconut Bay Resort in St. Lucia! As seasoned travelers, our standards are high. This was going to be our first vacation including our 4 kids ages 21-23. We chose this resort carefully as it seemed to meet all our criteria. It went way beyond meeting our expectations. In fact, we struggled trying to come up with any negative comments. The food was spectacular, especially the buffet. My family has gone on many cruise ships, so our expectation of the buffet area at this resort , was equivalent to a cruise ship buffet. Not so…. the buffet at this resort was like 4-5 star dining. The two specialty restaurants we tried, Calabash and Silk, were also very good. The beach was beautiful, lined with Coconut trees. Don't listen to anyone complaining about the turtle grass. They do a great job raking it off the sand every morning, and the little that is left throughout the day didn't bother us at all. We spent a lot of time on the beach walking, swimming, snorkeling, kayaking, and paddle boarding. The use of the equipment is all part of the package at Coconut Bay. If you like the beach but need to stay out of the sun, there are fantastic cushioned lounge chairs covered by wooden overhangs, very relaxing. Since Coconut Bay is on the Atlantic, there are waves and a constant nice breeze. We never felt hot even when it was almost 90 degrees! The pools are also very nice. We liked the Harmony adult side, but the family pools were great too. The staff was very friendly and interactive, from the lovely women who did the daily maid service, to the bar attendants. We thoroughly enjoyed getting to know some of the local people. The water park and entertainment were good. Keep in mind the water park is small, two slides and a lazy river. The entertainment is laid back, a different small ensemble playing each evening. Some evenings have a themed night. We loved Caribbean night. They set up tables with white lined table clothes all around the largest pool area. The buffet was also set up outside, all different caribbean foods. The entertainment that night was a little more dramatic, with fire eaters , caribbean band, dancers, and men dancing on stilts.Honestly, the only negative thing we could come up with about Coconut Bay is that they need to improve their coffee! We highly recommend this resort, and the Island of St. Lucia.


7 of 7 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: syracuse ny
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

December 3, 2015
Wonderful

We came here for our anniversary and could not have been any happier! Everyone is helpful and polite, the hotel and grounds are beautiful and the food/drinks to choose from are delicious. We did a couple of extra excursions, Highly recommend the 6 hour island buggy tour. Beautiful views, mud bath, hot spring, waterfall and finally some authentic food in a beautiful restaurant staring at the Pitons! Chubs was our tour guide and did a fabulous job! Also did the catamaran tour with snorkeling, a must!! : ) Only a couple of flaws which are minimal and could be dealt with, the beach is a little small on Harmony side of the resort. The ocean water is a little rough on the Atlantic side of the island with a lot of "turtle grass". This is kinda like seaweed but without the nasty smell. lol Our room had 2 beds, for some reason the one bed was horrible. My husband and I could not sleep well, and I woke up with a stiff neck. But, the other bed was great! haha The bar by the harmony pools was wonderful with bartender Dillan! Kept them coming and kept us entertained, by far the best bartender at the resort! *NOTE: We did the all inclusive and with this they say that tips are included. They are, but my husband and I could not do this, we did tip our bartenders, waiters, waitresses, etc. Even if its just a dollar, it is greatly appreciated and remembered. Plus, afterward, if you are standing at a crowded bar, you definitely do not have to wait for a drink!! ; )

Pitons from restaurant coconut bay harmony pools
7 of 7 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: New Jersey
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

July 9, 2012
I would recommend

We were drawn to Coconut Bay resort and spa for two main reasons: 1. 5 minutes from the airport and 2. adults only section. A lot of people on our flight in from JFK were going to Sandals on their honeymoon, and the drive from the airport was approx an hour and 45 minutes away. It was so nice to zip right to our hotel! We loved the lobby area and everything looked really great, even though we arrived at night. Our room could definitely use some upgrading, but it was fine. The next morning after exploring, we did not see an adults only section. The main pool had kids in it and the "family-friendly" area, off to the left with all the slides, etc. obviously had kids. We were confused. Upon further exploration, we found the adults only section way off to the right. It was small and super quiet. I would highly recommend this resort for families. I loved that we were on the Atlantic Ocean side, as opposed to the Carribean sea side, as the water was lighter, but more rough. The staff were wonderful!!!! So nice and accomodating, and they work their butts off! The food was great! If you are looking for top shelf liquor in the all-inclusive, you have to pay either 2 or 4 dollars extra. The local beer, Piton, and Heineken, are the only beers you can get, but Piton is delicious! My husband and I went alone, but are looking to return with the kids next time.


6 of 6 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: new york, ny
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

May 6, 2016
Enjoyment in St. Lucia

The Coconut Bay Beach Resort has some of the warmest, helpfu,l friendliness staff that I have ever been around. We choose a different Caribbean Island every time we vacation. They are the best from among the ten or twelve islands and resorts my husband and I have visited over the years. The food was good and we absolutely loved the nightly entertainment. The housing accommodations were clean and neat, not exquisite but, comfortable enough. I am planning for a return visit!


6 of 6 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Waukegan, Illinois
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

May 25, 2013
Non accomadating, old rooms.

Rooms are outdated, decor also. The maids do not clean the rooms well at all and the bathroom had a smell of urine the whole entire stay even after just being "cleaned." Oh how can I forget, the comforter on our bed smelled god awful. The front desk staff would not change us to a room with a King bed, although the hotel was not completely booked. One of the girls asked me to come back after 3pm to see her about it, only to find out she leaves at 3. Lol. Never again.The food however, was fair and the pools were nice.


9 of 10 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 2
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
2.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
1.0
User Image

From: Brooklyn, NY
Age: 35-44
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

July 28, 2011
Great Anniversary Trip

This resort has it all. Staff are exceptional and truly make your stay enjoyable. The grounds are kept very nice. Drinks are wonderful and bar staff make your day by having a fun atmosphere. A wide array of food selections. Pools are relaxing and activities if you want to join in. Convenient to airport after a long day of travel. Spa services are wonderful! Rooms are very clean and comfortable. While there celebrated our anniversary, staff/managmement sent champagne to our room that evening and made our dinner reservation special!! An awesome resort to escape from the daily grind.....wish we were back there enjoying a relaxing walk on the beach followed by a Chain Reaction at the bar.

View from lounge chair Beach view
8 of 9 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Pennsylvania, USA
Age: 35-44
Travel: 3-6 trips/year