All

CocoLaPalm Seaside Resort Negril Reviews

Caribbean | Jamaica Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 41 Reviews
Value
 
4.6
Service
 
4.6
Beaches & Pools
 
4.8
Dining Options
 
3.9
Room Comfort
 
4.2
4.5 out of 5
"This is my 9th time at CocoLaPalm; however, it was my first time staying in the new building. The room was clean, spacious, and very comfortable! I would recommend to everyone!" – MsMoEd
46 out of 47 (98%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Beach at CocoLaPalm Lush Gradens The Beach the view from our room gorgeous view from the beach funtime view from adult pool Beautiful morning in Negril CCLP's beach sunset on the beach

All CocoLaPalm Seaside Resort Negril Customer Reviews

1-10 of 41 reviews. Sort by
March 26, 2015
Changed

We have been to CocoLaPalm 4 times in the last five years. My reviews have always been excellent. This trip was different as the resort has changed. This last year the resort expanded with the completion of a three story motel. This is a game changer as CocoLaPalm has always been smaller type of resort with a minimal amount of rooms. As nice as this new edition is, there is some design flaws. The biggest one being the lack of patios on the first floor. People like myself coming from Minnesota after a long cold winter really look forward to morning coffee on the patio surrounded by the lush green vegetation that this resort is known for. This was a common complain with people trying to change rooms with little success as the resort was booked solid. Another common complaint was that one of the main access points to the beach came right thru the motel on the first floor. This was like a echo chamber all night long with people coming and going at all hours. As I mentioned before that the resort was booked to capacity and it really showed. The beach had more people on it than I had ever seen before, but not nearly to capacity. If you wanted a chair in the first row on the beach you just had to be a early riser. Please be advised as this in no longer an inexpensive place to vacation. Red Stripe beer is $4.75 a bottle. The meals in the restaurant have gone up substantially with breakfast at up to $12. Really not a concern as you can find less expensive food and drink a short walk up and down the beach. Please do not get me wrong. None of this was by any means a deal breaker as I still think this resort is one of the nicest on the beach. I never really tried to change rooms as we spend as little time as possible in them. The staff is the greatest and care about you as if you were family. This resort is clean, safe and perfect for everyone whether you are a family, couple or single. The staff is very accommodating as I asked for a first floor room close to the beach and this is exactly what I got. They do not guarantee any specific rooms unless you book directly thru the resort it self. I just wish they would of put a little more thought into their expansion plans and not try to pay for it the first year out. Will I return to CocoLaPalm? Hard to say as I have another year to contemplate this all important question. But for the first time in five years I am checking out other resorts online.


25 of 25 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Minnesota
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

July 28, 2012
Best place on the beach!

This was my first time to Negril we wanted to make sure we chose a place that was close to town, comfortable, and we didn't want an AI because we wanted to be able to experience other restaurants in the area. We did that, however Coco LaPalm also offered some great food right on site. Everyone from the bellman to the front desk to the Guardsmen, bartenders, wait staff, was EXCELLENT. The beach was clean and well kept, they even have a towel service so you don't need your own beach towel. The breakfast that was included was a basket full of goodies with some fresh fruit, but upgrading was cheap and they even deducted the continental part if you upgraded! Also, one of the best features is you were able to charge things to the room (meals, drinks, etc) and pay at the end of your visit. There are always people walking up and down the beach but no one ever bothers you, a simple "no thank you" and they keep moving on. Some of the people have some great things to sell, loved the beef patties, fresh lobster, fruit. Well worth the money. Joan at the shack makes the world's best jerk chicken. O'Neil the bartender is one of the nicest people on the island! Vernon the nighttime bartender makes them just the way you want, and the nightly entertainment they offer is a great buffer before a night on the town! I loved this hotel, will probably stay here EVERY time we come back!!! My friend who came with me has been to Negril 10 times and has stayed at both non inclusive and all inclusive, and said by far this was the best place to stay!

view from adult pool Best place on the beach!
21 of 21 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: South Portland, Maine
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

August 1, 2010
Great Value, beautiful beach

We originally booked a standard room at CCLP for 7 nights. Our first night there, it was pouring rain, so we decided to order room service. The menu is limited, and being that both my husband and I are vegetarian, there was nothing on the dinner menu for us to eat (rasta pasta was on the menu, but they said they no longer served it). The staff agreed to make us a pizza margherita off of the lunch menu, though they were a bit hesitant to deliver it to our room because of the rain. In the end, the meal was delivered, but it was not great. We spent our first night in that room, which unfortunately smelled of cigarette smoke, and was a rather unattractive room. The next morning, we tried to change rooms. They do not provide any "non-smoking" rooms but offered to let us try another standard room. In the end, we chose to pay for an upgrade to a beach front room, which was totally worth it. For $35 extra/night, we were in the room right above the "adult" pool. It has beautiful french doors that open onto a balcony overlooking the pool and the ocean. The hotel provides complimentary breakfast, which I believe consists of toast, pastry, fruit, and coffee/tea. We upgraded our breakfast everyday, and for a few dollars were able to get eggs, pancakes, french toast, etc. All the upgraded breakfast choices were delicious. My only complaint about breakfast is that the outdoor seating is in the sun and very hot (and again, there is not a non-smoking section). Toward the second half of our stay, we decided to have breakfast sent to our room instead, and this made it much more enjoyable. The beach at CCLP is gorgeous - it's very clean, there's plenty of shade (I tended to hide beneath the trees to escape the heat from the sun), and the water is perfect (clear, warm, and calm). There are a lot of locals trying to sell items on the beach, which at times could be a bit annoying. However, for the most part, a quick "no thanks" was enough to get them to move on. I did buy a few things from the beach peddlers: the fresh fruit is a refreshing afternoon snack which they cut up on the spot for you and the veggie patties are freshly baked and still warm. We also purchased a few wood carvings from Donovan, who has a stand on the CCLP beach. He was very nice and willing to custom-make exactly what we wanted. My husband and I intended to do beach activities, but never got around to it. We enjoyed the majority of our time lounging on the beach or in the water. I was a bit hesitant to sign up for some of the water sports, mostly because there aren't really any store fronts that you can go to. The people that run the jet ski's and boats just walk up and down the beach trying to get business. The security guards at CCLP stay on the beach all day long, and are even sometimes helpful when you are haggling over the price of an item. At one point, I was a bit disappointed when the security guard tried to get me to agree to go do some water sports even though I didn't want to. It was early in the morning, and I asked him to open the towel hut so that I could trade my old beach towels for new ones. He started asking if I wanted to do water sports, and then got on his cell phone and called his friend, who them came over to try to sell me a jet ski trip. (*On an important note, despite the fact that we did not go out on jet ski's, we saw quite a few people get swindled while on the beach. If you decide to rent the jet ski's, be sure to take note of how much time you have, and watch the time closely while you're out there. Every person that we saw rent the jet ski's was told by their salesperson upon returning that they went over their time, and was then charged extra, even if it wasn't true.*) In terms of food, it's not always easy to travel because we are vegetarian. Since many rasta's are vegan, we though we'd have an easier time of it in Jamaica. This wasn't always the case, however, we did find some great places to eat. Right next door, Idle Awhile has some great tofu dishes (they even custom made a tofu curry dish). Down the beach a bit, we stopped at Norma's at the Seasplash Resort. They did not have any veg dishes listed on the menu, but the chef made us a "jerk tofu" that was delicious. Finally, we would highly recommend Pushcart, which had a veggie stew (soooo good!) and a few other options for us. We had to take a taxi to get there, which cost roughly $20. On the way back from Pushcart, we decided to share a cab with a couple we befriended, thinking we would split the cost. However, this did not work out - the cabbie just charged us both full fare, and was not willing to negotiate. We also tried both Rick's and Margaritaville, and both were a huge, overpriced disappointment. Also, we wanted to go to "The Hungry Lion" which was supposed to have vegetarian food, but it was closed for the summer. The last thing I want to mention is the service at CCLP. Everyone was very friendly, especially the ladies that came to clean the room. The staff at the front desk was welcoming, however, they did not have a great deal of info regarding things to do in the area. I guess I am accustomed to having a concierge or someone that can help us out when we have questions. The staff were not really able to answer all our questions (i.e. where do we buy bottled water, are there any vegetarian restaurants, where is the best place to do water sports, etc). Also, despite a hairdryer being advertised as part of the room features, the standard rooms are not equipped with them. If you want one, you have to ask the front desk, which only has a limited number. I was not able to get one that first day, but after upgrading, our room had one. Overall, we had a delightful visit to Jamaica. CCLP was a good value for what we paid, and I would definitely return (if I could get a beach front room)!

CCLP's beach the view from our room
27 of 29 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Binghamton, NY
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

December 16, 2011
Getting Off the Campus

Coco LaPalm is a wonderful non-all-inlcusive hotel about 2 miles from downtown Negril. The grounds are immaculately kept and very attractive. The service the hotel provides is excellent, the room is neat and functional, and the proximity to the beach can't be beat. The hotel provides entertainment 2 nights a week and there is a free buffet/bar Monday night. Beach chairs are plentiful and towels are readily available. We ate dinner the first night at the hotel and would recommend it only to people who want to eat non-Jamaican. We only had the continental breakfast (free), so I can't vouch for the Jamaican breakfast ($9), but I can tell you that there are excellent restaurants within walking distance where you can get authentic breakfast food for $2-5 and dinner for around $10. Drinks are overpriced, but if that's a concern walk down the beach to another hotel bar and get your buzz-on cheaper. Happy hour (2 for 1) Tues-Sun 5-7pm. If you need JA$ and phone service Cambio and Digicell are located right by the roundabout downtown, and it's a short walk from there to the Hi-Lo supermarket on the road to the West End. Local cabs will drive you downtown for $100JA, walk out to the street and flag a cab there. You can book bus trips or water excursions at the front desk, but they will add a 10% service charge for outside vendors. I highly recommend Coco LaPalm. People, please just don't book it too much, so we don't have a problem making a reservation the next time we go to Jamaica.


13 of 13 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Boston
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

July 4, 2012
Exactly What We Needed

My boyfriend and I stayed at CocoLaPalm from June 24 - June 28. It was the most relaxing vacation we have ever taken. First, the hotel property is small and quaint. The grounds are beautifully kept and the pools are nice and clean. We stayed in a Superior room, which was not too big and not too small. We were right by the bar and so close to the beach. We ate breakfast outside each morning and enjoyed the beautiful weather. The staff was fabulous! Steve, who works in the towel house, was extremely helpful and polite. He went out of his way to make sure we had clean beach towels, floats, etc. He even recommended the Red Stripe Catamaran cruise to us. We took his advice and had a great time. It is definitely something you should do! The beach was immaculate. It was clean, there were plenty of chairs available, and the water is the clearest I have ever seen in my life. As a city, Negril is pleasant. The people are beautiful and very welcoming. I enjoyed getting to know the locals. From the people trying to sell you things to the people working in the bars and restaurants - they are all great! I never once felt unsafe. It was a perfect vacation and I look forward to returning someday :-)


9 of 9 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Kentucky
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

December 22, 2011
Negril is the best

Words fail me when I try to describe the good time I had on my birthday at CocoLaPalm, wow comes to mind. The staff was incredible, the room was perfect, the food was delish, and don't get me started about the 2 for 1 happy hour and dirty bananas...woo hoo. Negril never dissapoints, but this time was even better than the last 7 times. Can't wait to go back again and again.


22 of 25 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image
Top 250 Contributor
From: Illinois
Age: 55-64
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

July 4, 2015
Little slice of Heaven!

Words can't adequately express what a fabulous time we has at Cocolapalm! My twin sister were looking for a peaceful yet fun place to celebrate our 50th birthday and we couldn't have chosen a better spot! The resort is beautiful with well cared for grounds. The rooms are large, airy and clean ( we stayed in the older rooms which are by far our favorite!). The staff and people of Jamaica and welcoming, friendly and polite. As two women traveling outside of the country together for the first time I never once felt unsafe. We were told where not to go and how to be smart and safe. The 7 mile beach is all it is said to be from the turquoise color to the soft white sand! If you are looking for a low key yet lovely resort this is the one for you! It's authentic and you truly feel like you are getting a taste of the Jamaican culture. There are many adventures you can try if you want or just walk the beach, float in the gorgeous ocean and relax! We plan on going back again as soon as possible!


11 of 12 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Massachusetts
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

July 31, 2010
been back twice

for what you pay this is one of the best vacations ever, the staff is beyond wonderful & you couldn't be on a better part of the beach in all of Jamacia. They have a great restaurant plus a beach side bar with tappas. Then there are tons of great afordable restaurants in each direction. If you want to experience real Jamacia, feel the heartbeat of the island, not some all inclusive cave that you could be in florida, then coco la palm is definitely where to be as l have returned twice. The suits are amazing, all rooms are clean & have ac & water pressure.i can't wait to go back :)


9 of 10 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: new york, ny
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

June 11, 2014
This resort was great!

Ok folks. This resort was great. If you are looking for a place that is affordable, won't break your pockets, but still has the amenities and great staff that comes with 5 star hotels, this is the one to stay in. I just came back for the second time after having my first visit one month ago. I stayed at Fun Holiday Beach Resort which was a couple of resorts down from Cocolapalm. I must say that my stay there was horrible. The staff wasn't very friendly. They weren't mean, but you could tell that the smiles weren't genuine. The beach towels that I had to sign out were tattered, did not have a clean odor, and honestly should have been thrown away. I could not believe I had to sign my name for this. The food there wasn't good at all. They served the same thing everyday. So this time when I booked my trip, I decided not to go all-inclusive. To pay for my meals as I went and it worked out. Cocolapalm had a continental breakfast which included coffee, bread, muffins and fruit. If I wanted more than that, they had a menu that I could have ordered from. Once the restaurant closed at 11am, they had a little bar kitchen on the other side open from 11am to 6pm where you could order lunch. The food was excellent and affordable. The resort location is perfect. It is close to Margaritaville, the jungle, it's on the 7 mile beach and security is tight. They also play good reggae music the entire time. I am not going back to Jamaica because I think I have seen all that I needed to see, but if I had to recommend a spot I say definitely go here. Thanks CocoLaPalm for my wonderful experience


5 of 5 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Philadelphia
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

June 12, 2011
Coco LaPalm part two

We traveled with our one year old for a second time this year to Negril. Negril has a great beach. Calm and warm, white sand. Coco has one of the best beach fronts on the stretch-- wide, lots of shade if you want it. Maids are great and freindly. Security guards too, Beach boys not all so helpful-- Steve is great. Rooms vary. First time we had a great room (honeymoon suite). this time, we had a superior room, and it was large enough and nice with kitchnette, but the matress was HORRIBLE-- soft and worn out. When we're in the room, we're usually on the matress, so this is a big minus to my mind. (Coco-- please replace shot matresses), Restaurant is fine-- breakfast (included) is awesome. Sunrise Special is my favorite. Pool was nice. We'd stay at Coco again. Some tips: there are wildfires in the Great Morass (at least there were in May) some days were smokey. Coco's neighbor is supposed to be going through some renovations until October-- may be loud.


9 of 11 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
2.0
User Image

From: Pittsburgh
Age: 35-44
Travel: 3-6 trips/year