All

Coco Reef Bermuda Reviews

Caribbean | Bermuda Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 13 Reviews
Value
 
4.2
Service
 
4.4
Beaches & Pools
 
4.7
Dining Options
 
3.4
Room Comfort
 
4.2
4.4 out of 5
"Coco Reef is the place to stay for excellent accomodations, wonderful beaches, good food and friendly service,and access to public transportation. Don't pass this up!" – lucci1
19 out of 19 (100%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
The pool The beach

All Coco Reef Bermuda Customer Reviews

1-10 of 13 reviews. Sort by
March 10, 2012
1st Time Bermuda

Quaint & Quiet - Grounds well kept - Time for remodel and spruce up - Rooms clean and no bugs - Coffee maker in room, suggest using bottled water to make your coffee - Modern Mart down the street great place to buy water snacks and personal items - Paraqueet good place to eat - Great View from the 2nd floor - Great exersize whenever you had to go somewhere - Food at Coco Reef very good - Good Bar with great views - Pink coral sand beach - Next door to large resort with more dining options - Taxis & Cab system easy to use, get a multi day bus pass - Found Mamas great for breakfast when you visit St. Georges - Hog Penny great place to eat in Hamilton - Lido's also good food next to Coco Reef -


38 of 38 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Virginia Beach
Age: 55-64
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

July 11, 2011
By far the best 3 day weekend ever!

We just returned from a long weekend at Coco Reef. Having traveled to many beaches over the years, we both agree that this is by the far at the top of our list. Coco Reef was everything we hoped for and more. We upgraded to a beachfront room and the view was incredible. Our room was nice and clean, none of the issues that others had mentioned in reviews. Bed was comfortable, plenty of towels and the AC would freeze us out, so no ac complaints that we had seen in other reviews. The beach was so beautiful. Pink sand just like you see in the pictures, water was clear and the beach was spotless. Plenty of lounge chairs and umbrellas. The staff at the hotel were so nice, especially Steve! He took us down to our rooms and definitely went the extra mile to ensure we had everything we needed. The food in the restaurant was excellent, we ate dinner there on 2 nights and also lunch once. We never made it to breakfast. Mango daquiris were yummy and the beer was cold! The thing that surprised us the most about CocoReef/Bermuda was the fact that everybody we met seemed so happy. None of the panhandling issues that we have encountered in other vacation destinations. We can't wait to go back to Bermuda and especially CocoReef!


23 of 24 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Atlanta, GA
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

July 7, 2011
Coco Reef July 1-4

We just returned from our weekend getaway to Bermuda/Coco Reef. After reading all the negative reviews, we had to tell you about our experience. We have traveled to many beach destinations, but this is by far one of the best places we have ever visited. We were blown away by the pleasant temperment of the staff (especially Steve!!) and their willingness to make our stay enjoyable. Our room was great, not the fanciest for sure but clean and had an ac that was freezing cold which was great because it was so hot outside! There could not be a better view in Bermuda. We had a ground floor beachfront room that looked out over the pink sand beach and the surf splashing up on the rocks. All we could hear was the sound of the waves. As this is a small property, there was plenty of space on the beach and we never felt crowded. We found the crowd down the beach at Elbow Beach resort. Wall to wall beach umbrellas...not at all what we like in a beach vacation. The food in the restaurant was surprisingly good. We ate dinner there 2 nights. We ventured into town to the Lobster Pot which was waste of time and money. Elbow Beach Resort had nice lunch options. We loved Bermuda and the fact that we felt safe and welcome. Everyone we met was nice and pleasant and seemed genuinely happy. No begging or feeling targeted like we've experienced in other destinations. The cab drivers were the nicest we have ever encountered and eager to talk about how much they loved Bermuda. We will definitely be back and will most definitely return to Coco Reef!!


13 of 13 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Atlanta
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

July 31, 2010
Coco Reef

We spent our honeymoon on the coco reef resort and it was awesome. The view from your room was breath taking. The room we stayed in was small but very cozy with our own private patio to sit and watch the sunrise in the morning while sipping on our coffee. The whole staff was a joy to deal with. everyone was super nice and caring to me and my new wife. the only thing we really didn't like about the whole place is the lack of food options. the only dining there was a gourmet five star resturant. don't get me wrong the dinner was to die for but if we ate there every night we would go broke in a few days. Also coco reef we have found out is for more of an older crowd but being next to elbow beech it really didn't matter to us. we loved the quiet private beech, the gorgeous beech view, and the friendly staff. We are alreay planning on coming back real soon.


12 of 14 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Buffalo, NY
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

July 31, 2010
Beautiful beach

Coco Reef was in a great location, the South shores of Bermuda- pretty close to the most famous, gorgeous beaches Bermuda has to offer- Horseshoe, Jobsons Cove, Elbow, etc. Its beach was spectacular. The lobby and restaurant were beautiful, although the menu was pretty limited. The rooms on the other hand weren't the greatest. They were a bit dated and had a major ant problem. It's best selling point is location- smack dab on the south shore, a 5 minute cab to Hamilton, 25 minutes to St. George and the airport and 30 to the Dockyard. The beach in front of the hotel was also spectacular. I would probably stay there again if the ant problem was eradicated.


9 of 10 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Northeast, Ohio
Age: 35-44
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

July 1, 2013
Good value on best beach in Bermuda

We have traveled to Bermuda many times and Elbow Beach is the place to be; best beach and close cab ride to Hamilton for dinner. Coco Reef is more affordable than Mandarin Oriental and closer to beach, although rooms are smaller and more dated. We opted to stay here to save $ since we have a 4 year old and 8 year old and don't spend much time in the room. We had a pull out sofa and brought our toddler blow-up bed. Next year we probably won't fit in the room. The hotel is definitely geared to adults but the staff is very friendly, efficient and accommodating to all needs. We had a beach front room 20 steps to the best beach and enjoyed an affordable breakfast and lunch every day on-site.

The beach The pool
7 of 8 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Groton, MA
Age: 35-44
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

July 31, 2010
Mark Twain was right.

We knew we had a good deal for the flight + hotel package but only upon arrival did we realized what a GREAT deal it was. Bermuda is rather expensive - they finance their government by sales tax (no income tax). By Bermudian standards our 7 night stay with the flight from Atlanta ($3000 for 2) was nothing. We ended up in a great hotel on the best beach on the island. The water was clear, the fish was huge (snorkeling right off the shore) and the beach was uncrowded. But the best thing about the island are the people. The most polite and pleasant group we've seen anywhere in the world. The great Mark Twain said "You can go to heaven if you want. I'd rather stay in Bermuda." We endorse that.


6 of 8 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Atlanta, GA
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

May 6, 2013
nice clean room

Had some problems with the hotel room. Fridge did not work, had it replaced on the first night, replacement didn't work. Finally got a working fridge on the 4th day. Had to request a stopper for tub on the first nigt so I could take a bath, water not hot enough. Tiolet needed repairing twice, finally got it fixed, only to break again on our last night. Hot water never increased. Restaurant and bar prices way too high for rather low quality, ate elsewhere. Charged over $8.00 for two cokes. Room was very comfortable and clean, beach was very nice. It was necessary to walk half a mile to get out to the main road to take buses.


5 of 7 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
2.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: south carolina
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

August 26, 2013
A Secret Paradise

The resort, located centrally on the south shore, had it's own private cove and beach. We brought our own snorkeling equipment and went right out our door every day. The staff was friendly and accommodating and the food was great. So relaxing! Stayed only 5 days, wish it were longer. We will definitely return and bring the whole family next time. What a gift!


2 of 2 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Central New Jersey
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

August 26, 2016
As long as you're in it for the beach, it's great

First the good: Coco Reef is on a magnificent stretch of beach and the water and sand are both beautiful. The rooms are adequate, but the view is spectacular. Two of the cleaning ladies were exceptionally nice and the front desk ladies went out of their way to help us with anything we asked about. Now the bad: We didn't it know it when we booked, but it turns out Coco Reef has an agreement with the cruise ships that come to port and they basically rent out the hotel's facilities and beach to dozens of passengers of the ships. This wouldn't be a problem, but Coco Reef's beach is very small and there are limited chairs and umbrellas. Cruise ship passengers took to "reserving" chairs and umbrellas by leaving their possessions there ALL DAY LONG, for hours while they weren't there. What would have been a quiet, inimate beach, ended up being crowded and stressful in trying to find a chair. What could be improved: The beach chairs: Some are old, some are new. The old were just gross, scratchy fabric. Rooms were just OK, bed was pretty worn out and there was mold growing on the shower curtain. Options at the restaurant are slim pickin' and everything we ate was pretty mediocre, considering the price. Good to know: Be prepared to walk up steep hills to and from the beach and to your room. The bus stop is about a 5-10 minute walk from the lobby and is easy to take around the island. On day 4 we finally found the mini-fridge! It was hidden in what looks like dresser drawers. We were constantly in search of bottled water. Bring change for the vending machine. The hotel store is only open intermittently and there are no bottles of water to be bought from the front desk.


3 of 5 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Washington, DC
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year