All

Catalonia Royal Tulum Resort Reviews

Mexico | Mexico - Riviera Maya Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 201 Reviews
Value
 
4.5
Service
 
4.6
Beaches & Pools
 
4.6
Dining Options
 
4.1
Room Comfort
 
4.3
4.4 out of 5
"Please don't go by the bad reviews the resort was outstanding. It was clean, friendly, beach was amazing food was good...would definitely good back!" – Jikki
199 out of 224 (89%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Ahhhhh!! Coatis Pathway from lobby to pool/beach Main path at night Cocktails at B Loved The beach area! from the boardwalk The pool Paradise. Chichen Itza Sunrise! Topas diner view from Bloved. Privileged Beds beach at Catalonia Royal Tulum

All Catalonia Royal Tulum Resort Customer Reviews

1-10 of 201 reviews. Sort by
March 18, 2013
Great 12 days at Catalonia Royal Tulum

Just back home from 12 days at the Catalonia Royal Tulum. This was our first time to the Cancun area but 5th time to Mexico. We went on 3 day or half day tours (Chichen Itez, Tulum and a snorkeling trip) and spent the other 9 days not leaving the resort. All of our other trips to Mexico we were able to walk to a village or city but this resort is not within walking distance of anything and that turned out to not be a problem and a welcome change. We had the standard room but only slept and showered there otherwise we were laying by the pool, on the beach, eating, playing pool, etc so we are glad we did not pay to upgrade our room. A tip, if you want a lounge chair by the pool, you need to get down there and reserve it most days before 7am or you are out of luck. We preferred to lay by the pool because the beach sometimes had a breeze and we could control the shade we got easier by the pool (I burn easy but avoided a sunburn this trip). Our room was large, comfortable and private with the extensive landscaping outside our patio. Like a cruse ship there was towel art on the bed each day. The resort is on a white sand beach in the middle of a bay. There are 2 smaller places on either side of the property and 3 large abandoned resorts on the bay. This made the beach fairly private. It took us close to an hour to walk to one end of the bay on the sand to the other end and back to our resort. We walked it at least twice a day and did it before sunrise and also after dark and always felt safe. Down the beach they have a kite surfing shop and it was fun to watch them on the water. The resort had a large population of guests from Europe which made it fun and a bit of an adventure. No shortage of great food, and beverages. Even though tips are included in the all inclusive price, we found that all but 1 of the dinners we tipped a couple dollars for extraordinary service (although the one time we did not tip we felt the service was pretty poor). The lady working the pool for beverages was great, quick with the drinks, always had a smile and checking about every 15 minutes to see if we wanted anything or had plastic drink glasses to pickup. Breakfast and lunch we learned the second week to ask for David's table, always a smile, tried to anticipate what we wanted and had it for us before we knew what we wanted. We also really liked the omelet lady in the morning. Entertainment at night was fun, not the highest quality but appealed to the international guests and was worth attending. We talked to other guests that had vacationed in the area, sometimes yearly, commented that they appreciated that there were no kids here and the best place they had stayed in the Cancun area. Our next trip to Cancun we would look to stay here again.


58 of 58 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Seattle
Age: 55-64
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

October 17, 2016
Amazing Anniversary Trip

We just returned from Catalonia Royal Tulum yesterday and had the best time celebrating our 4th wedding anniversary! We were offered Pina Coladas before we even checked in, and our luggage met us in our room. There are 6 buildings with rooms, all along a tree-covered stone pathway from the lobby to the pool/beach area. We enjoyed this short walk every time we made it, as there's wildlife along the way, our favorite being the coatis (raccoon-like animals). The different restaurants are spread out along this path. While the little walk may be a deterrent to some, we enjoyed the exercise and the scenery. The beach was the real winner for us! Soft white sand, clear water with a smooth ocean floor, and activities. We kayaked, paddle boarded, partook in "aqua gym", played beach volleyball, and relaxed. This trip was everything we hoped for!

Coatis Pathway from lobby to pool/beach
21 of 22 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image
Top 1000 Contributor
From: Louisville, KY
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

May 28, 2014
GO

There are always negative reviews that scare you and I was concerned. Turned out to be a waste of energy. Loved the hotel- rooms-food only complaint was the breakfast buffet All the resturaunts were excellent we were there 9 nights so we did steak twice , Asian twice, Italian - once and Tapas -3 times, the tapas was by far our favorite best food, best service and so romantic. Beach and pool were great you will have to play the chair game but you have till about 9:30 before your choice is severly limited. Room was great service was excellent everywhere. Would I go again? YES PLEASE If you go take the Collectivo very cheap and was easy to use, you really shouldn't need a cab to get around and SEE THE TURTLES well worth the trip Turn right on the beach and you will find a shack with $35.00 massage & a very small shack that sells t-shirts, jewelery and such @ reaonable prices.


12 of 12 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Milw, wi
Age: Over 65
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

November 11, 2014
I'll keep it simple.

I'll keep it simple. Food - Average Wait Staff - 75% of them excellent. Cook was depressed. Beach - Beautiful. Guests: Seemed annoyed or 'to good' -- wanted to high 5 a couple that smiled at us. Rooms - Average (WIFI is streaming media restricted (ie Netflix) Drinks/Bars - excellent. Francisco @ the Margarita Bar was excellent. Spending time with spouse was excellent, the resort had many "hiccup" moments, (ie: luggage wasn't delivered for first 2 hours) (Wife found plastic in salad) I forgave those until....... What had destroyed my experience for this hotel all together - the Exclusive Travelers Club AKA: ETC... My opinion; - Exclusive Travelers Club - presentation/purchase. The guys whom put on the presentation are great and should have academy awards. The presentation reality in comparison to this legal reality is stretched to say best. Misrepresented and construed, not to mention the hours of time it consumed from our stay and the bonus15 years not even discussed at any point. I have no trust in this resort any longer and will not return. My opinion/review: The 90 minute breakfast is bull... a scam don't sign anything or talk to anyone associated with ETC. Stay very far away from them. My overall advice. Spend a little more money and enjoy your stay. Stay at a place like the Valentine Imperial Maya... much more class.


11 of 11 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 2
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
2.0
User Image

From: United States
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

May 8, 2014
relax and enjoy

We spent eight days at Catalonia Royal Tulum in April 2014. I would like to start with the negatives because I expect the resort to be perfect and compare all resorts to an impeccable two weeks at Couples Swept Away. The resort could use some sports facilities like a tennis, basketball or racketball court. The workout room was underused but with only one treadmill and elliptical you may have to wait 20 to 30 minutes for your turn. The saving of lounge chairs at the beach and pool is silly. You have to get out to the pool by 7:30 AM to get a group of lounge chairs. Now for the positive parts of our week at the Catalonia Royal Tulum. The staff was great. It started prior to our arrival with email correspondence with concierge Laura Scucchia, who was very helpful with my room needs. Everything that was promised, was delivered. Jorge was our hotel personal assistant and was ready to help every time we walked into the lobby. The restaurant staff, maid service and drink service personnel were friendly and efficient. We tipped and occasionally got extra attention however those around ours that were not tipping received the same friendly service. I brought $100 in singles and did not use it all. The food was outstanding with quite the variety. Mexican, Italian, Asian and American. The lunch snack bar was good but should have had precooked pizzas and snacks to go. The beach was perfect with plenty of room to lay out in the sun or relax under a palm tree. The sand was clean and soft with an easy ocean swim area. The pool and hot tub were clean and open 24 hours. About 5% of the women at the beach and pool went topless. 20% of the men wore Speedo type swimwear. The entertainment was enjoyable with the comedy show a “do not miss” and the disco was a fun place to dance the night away. The disco could have used more chairs especially on karaoke night. AMSTAR transportation was worth the money. They were waiting for us at the airport with a driver that got us to our resort as quick as possible. The van was clean and safe with a reliable driver. We went on a tour with Autournative. The Original Coba Maya Encounter. You visit the archaeological site of Coba, and a Maya village. You rappel down a centers, two average zip lines, swim in hidden caves and walk through the jungle learning about the unique Maya environment. Enjoy a lush meal of typical food, soft drinks and hand-made tortillas. Our guide was Cristina Loris. She was more than a guide, she was a friend telling us about the Maya and taking us on an adventure. The tour was well worth the money.


9 of 9 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: USA
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

November 27, 2012
Smokers Paradise!!!!

I have been many places in Cancun and this hotel caters more to the European scene and acomidate them more, knowing this I (we) still ventured to see this area of hotels. As for the hotel it self very nice the paths are so beutiful and the facilties are well kept very clean and staff is very nice and well versed however for anything it is a walk, and a wait ,we were located in the middle of the hotel and it was a 1 to 2 block walk to anything now to some thats fine to others its a problem. The one and only thing that will keep me from ever going there again is the SMOKE factor! Every were we went it was like being in a open air bar with 8 out of 10 people smoking us being the 2 that were not.


22 of 27 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 2
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Corpus Christi Tx
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

June 9, 2015
Excellent Trip!

We had a wonderful trip to Catalonia Royal Tulum! I would highly recommend the resort to anyone looking for a relaxing trip. We found the food to be great (best dinner restaurants were the tapas – definitely keep an eye out for Nico, the most adorable raccoon who runs alongside the river, and BLoved, more on that later) but seriously had a great meal no matter where we ate that day. The breakfast buffet was great; I loved how they had some traditional Mexican food, as well as food that catered to some of the other guests (American breakfast, bread/oil/tomato for Italian guests, etc.) – made for a very unique morning experience! The service was phenomenal – everyone seemed to be so nice and kind and wanted us to have a great trip! We ended up upgrading to the “privileged” building (buildings 5 & 6, closest to the beach/pool area) and thought it was wonderful value for the money we paid. I don’t know that our room was any “nicer” than a regular room, but loved the king sized bed and found it very comfortable. Being in the closet building to the beach helped, but honestly, it is only a 3-5 minute walk from the furthest building to the beach/pool area, so even if we had been further away, it wouldn’t have been a big deal. The real draw was being able to go to BLoved – the dinner menu was FANTASTIC. Get the salmon and thank me later. The dedicated beach area was nice but there was actually more shade on the non-privileged side, so definitely check out both sides of the beach. We didn’t have any issues with seaweed. We were never approached by the time share people (they’re in the white shirts), so can’t comment on that. Overall, we were blown away by the great value for our money and have recommended the resort to a few friends that are looking to get away and unplug/relax for a few days. We are highly considering going to another one of the Catalonia resorts for our next trip!


6 of 6 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Boston, MA
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

January 15, 2013
Honeymoon, first-timers

My husband and I stayed here for our honeymoon in August 2012. It was our first time in Mexico, but it will not be our last! At check in we were taken to our room (which ended up not being ready) so after a few minutes sitting and sweating on the golf cart we were taken to another "nicer" room. We really liked the fact that the staff worked quickly to make the problem right. There are some really great staff members there that you will get to know/recognize. The weather was great for our entire stay. The beach here was amazing. We could do some snorkeling at the beach (which was basically private since it was surrounded by abandoned hotels or something?). There weren't many Americans there to socialize with so I wouldn't recommend this resort to a group that'slooking to party.. There were a lot of Europeans, which isn't a problem but they were not very friendly to us even after multiple tries on our part.. The food was OK.. not quite as good as what we expected but again, it was our first time. The breakfast buffet was good and the steakhouse resturant was our favorite. There was also some great pizza at the poolside snack bar! The drinks were always good and the pool was nice. Overall the resort was very clean and well kept. The staff works hard and the beach couldn't be better. Perfect sand and clear water! I recommend going to Tulum on your own (not in the excursion package) because it doesn't give you enough time to check out all the local vendors/shops if you're wanting to find some cool souveniers.. We will be back to this resort! Very relaxing.


9 of 10 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: dayton, OH
Age: 19-24
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

March 14, 2016
Excellent in most ways

My husband and I stayed at the Catalonia Royal Tulum in early March, 2016. In many ways, this was the nicest all inclusive on the Mayan Riviera that we have stayed at, and we have stayed at several. I love to snorkel, every day if possible, and so having access to a reef from the beach is very important to me. And from the Catalonia, you do! You need to be comfortable enough in the water to swim out about 300 yards to get to the reef, but the water is not rough and there is no boat traffic. The reef is somewhat sparse and battered, as it is almost everywhere anymore, but in comparison to many locations, it was beautiful, and there was a variety of small to medium sized fish, sea fans, brain corals, etc. I saw one manta ray near the hotel. Food was quite good, with a variety of healthy offerings at the buffets. If you want to eat healthy, you can here. The restaurants were a mixed bag. Recommend the steak grill most of all; Tapas restaurant was also good. Italian, OK. Mexican, OK. Asian - skip it. Rooms were fine, although there was a decided mildew odor in the room which did not go away with the AC on. I had to air out and launder all my belongings when I got home to get rid of the smell. Staff is very pleasant and attentive. "Shows" are not worthwhile. Many of them were done at the pool at night with inadequate seating, difficult to see and hear. They are building a new area near the lobby which may become a nightclub, not sure about that, but it would be great if it were. Catalonia is owned by Spaniards and caters particularly to Italian clientele (they have a travel agent there). Staff speak Italian as well as English and Spanish, and the entertainment staff is almost all Italian. Unfortunately, Italians enjoy their cigarettes, so you will find a lot of them smoking in the outdoor areas including the beach, and the walkways through the "jungle". There is easy access via the public bus service that is available right outside the hotel to get to Playa del Carmen for shopping or Akumal to snorkel with the giant sea turtles. Although many tour guides will tell you to take an expensive taxi ride to go anywhere outside the resort, the "camionetas" are perfectly safe, cheap, and give you a chance to see how locals get around. We would consider returning to Catalonia Royal Tulum in the future, which is saying a lot since we have never returned to any other beach resort.


5 of 5 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Atlanta, GA
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

March 3, 2017
One of the best beach vacations ever

I cannot rave enough about our vacation at the Catalonia Royal Tulum. This review is going to be a little long, but they were all so helpful before I booked that I just wanted to give back to anyone else considering coming here! The staff was so friendly, welcoming, and happy throughout the whole resort and it really seemed like they enjoyed their jobs (from the reception staff, to the cleaning crew, bartenders, wait staff - seriously everyone). The resort was smaller than others I have been to, but big enough for a week long vacation. It seemed relatively new, or just very well maintained and so clean. We upgraded to the "Privileged" package which was very much worth it for a less crowded area on the beach, beach drink service, and access to the BLoved restaurant. Our room was a great size, had a king bed, which was pretty comfortable. The bathroom was updated and again very clean. There was a small balcony which was very private. We were on the first floor, so there was really no view, and if I go back I would request a 2nd or 3rd floor room for this reason. The minibar was always stocked, but there could have been better options (soda, 2 beers, water, oreos, and some other peanut type snack). We had a couple our age (30's) on one side of us and never heard them. An older couple came later in the week and we could hear their TV quite clearly, but I think the volume was just up louder than usual. The restaurants were all really good. I was worried about the drinking water, but they use all filtered/bottled water and ice and we never had an issue. There is one buffet for breakfast and dinner, and one for lunch. The one in the lobby for breakfast was fantastic with tons of options including made-to-order omelets, fresh fruit, and anything you could want. The lunch buffet near the pool/beach was usually crowded and sometimes had to wait for a seat, and the food was not as great as breakfast truthfully. There was a pool-side bar and restaurant for lunch which was awesome. The dinner restaurants were really great in my opinion. BLoved was my favorite by far and one the best meals I have ever had in my life (and I wish we went before the last night to go there more often!). The Mexican restaurant was also excellent. The ambiance of the Spanish restaurant was absolutely incredible (a tropical terrace with hanging lights) and they served tapas that were good, but small portions (as with most tapas) so we re-ordered a few different rounds (and the staff was more than happy to do this). We did not try the Asian or Italian restaurants (we figured we could get this at home anyhow). The beach was phenomenal! Beautiful soft white sand, all kept very clean. Beach chairs set all over with palm trees providing shade. The ocean was incredible shades of blue. Most days the water is as smooth as glass. One day prior to a storm blowing through (thankfully overnight), there was "rough surf" which wasn't really bad and fun to swim in the waves. Beach towels are provided in your room, and someone from the cleaning staff knocks on your door in the evening to exchange for fresh towels (a little bit of an odd system but worked just fine, as long as the do not disturb sign isn't on your door). There is a smoothie bar on the beach that was awesome. The pool area was very pretty with lounge chairs and umbrellas all around, with drink service as well. They had a team for entertainment. During they day, they did different activities each day (pool aerobics, music, taco bar). On 'national margarita day' they walked around and offered them to everyone at the pool and beach. At night, there was live music in the lobby, and then musical type shows in the pool area that was a little kitschy but amusing. The gym was located inside the spa. The locker room was amazing and better than any spa I've been to. It was clean, but the machines were a bit on the older side but functional. Three treadmills, four ellipticals, 2 recumbent bikes, and about 8 upright spin bikes for cardio. Reasonable set of free weights and some resistance machines. Mats, water, bottles, and small towels all easily available. The only downfall was the distance from the airport. It took over an hour from Cancun International. We used Cheap Caribbean's shuttle through Amstar, which was very clean and the drivers were friendly. Just wish I knew how long the ride would be to be prepared and it probably wouldn't have been as bad. Also, the Cheap Caribbean representative at the resort was nice to have, and confirmed our return shuttle, but pushed a little too much to get us to book an excursion, when we just wanted some time in the sand. Overall an amazing vacation and would absolutely visit again!


8 of 9 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Boston MA
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year