All

Catalonia Royal Tulum Resort Reviews

Mexico | Mexico - Riviera Maya Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 150 Reviews
Value
 
4.5
Service
 
4.6
Beaches & Pools
 
4.6
Dining Options
 
4.1
Room Comfort
 
4.4
4.4 out of 5
"Please don't go by the bad reviews the resort was outstanding. It was clean, friendly, beach was amazing food was good...would definitely good back!" – Jikki
148 out of 168 (88%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
The beach area! Pathway from lobby to pool/beach beach at Catalonia Royal Tulum Sunrise! Cocktails at B Loved Privileged Beds view from Bloved. Coatis The pool

All Catalonia Royal Tulum Resort Customer Reviews

1-10 of 150 reviews. Sort by
March 18, 2013
Great 12 days at Catalonia Royal Tulum

Just back home from 12 days at the Catalonia Royal Tulum. This was our first time to the Cancun area but 5th time to Mexico. We went on 3 day or half day tours (Chichen Itez, Tulum and a snorkeling trip) and spent the other 9 days not leaving the resort. All of our other trips to Mexico we were able to walk to a village or city but this resort is not within walking distance of anything and that turned out to not be a problem and a welcome change. We had the standard room but only slept and showered there otherwise we were laying by the pool, on the beach, eating, playing pool, etc so we are glad we did not pay to upgrade our room. A tip, if you want a lounge chair by the pool, you need to get down there and reserve it most days before 7am or you are out of luck. We preferred to lay by the pool because the beach sometimes had a breeze and we could control the shade we got easier by the pool (I burn easy but avoided a sunburn this trip). Our room was large, comfortable and private with the extensive landscaping outside our patio. Like a cruse ship there was towel art on the bed each day. The resort is on a white sand beach in the middle of a bay. There are 2 smaller places on either side of the property and 3 large abandoned resorts on the bay. This made the beach fairly private. It took us close to an hour to walk to one end of the bay on the sand to the other end and back to our resort. We walked it at least twice a day and did it before sunrise and also after dark and always felt safe. Down the beach they have a kite surfing shop and it was fun to watch them on the water. The resort had a large population of guests from Europe which made it fun and a bit of an adventure. No shortage of great food, and beverages. Even though tips are included in the all inclusive price, we found that all but 1 of the dinners we tipped a couple dollars for extraordinary service (although the one time we did not tip we felt the service was pretty poor). The lady working the pool for beverages was great, quick with the drinks, always had a smile and checking about every 15 minutes to see if we wanted anything or had plastic drink glasses to pickup. Breakfast and lunch we learned the second week to ask for David's table, always a smile, tried to anticipate what we wanted and had it for us before we knew what we wanted. We also really liked the omelet lady in the morning. Entertainment at night was fun, not the highest quality but appealed to the international guests and was worth attending. We talked to other guests that had vacationed in the area, sometimes yearly, commented that they appreciated that there were no kids here and the best place they had stayed in the Cancun area. Our next trip to Cancun we would look to stay here again.


57 of 57 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Seattle
Age: 55-64
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

October 17, 2016
Amazing Anniversary Trip

We just returned from Catalonia Royal Tulum yesterday and had the best time celebrating our 4th wedding anniversary! We were offered Pina Coladas before we even checked in, and our luggage met us in our room. There are 6 buildings with rooms, all along a tree-covered stone pathway from the lobby to the pool/beach area. We enjoyed this short walk every time we made it, as there's wildlife along the way, our favorite being the coatis (raccoon-like animals). The different restaurants are spread out along this path. While the little walk may be a deterrent to some, we enjoyed the exercise and the scenery. The beach was the real winner for us! Soft white sand, clear water with a smooth ocean floor, and activities. We kayaked, paddle boarded, partook in "aqua gym", played beach volleyball, and relaxed. This trip was everything we hoped for!

Coatis Pathway from lobby to pool/beach
18 of 19 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Louisville, KY
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

May 28, 2014
GO

There are always negative reviews that scare you and I was concerned. Turned out to be a waste of energy. Loved the hotel- rooms-food only complaint was the breakfast buffet All the resturaunts were excellent we were there 9 nights so we did steak twice , Asian twice, Italian - once and Tapas -3 times, the tapas was by far our favorite best food, best service and so romantic. Beach and pool were great you will have to play the chair game but you have till about 9:30 before your choice is severly limited. Room was great service was excellent everywhere. Would I go again? YES PLEASE If you go take the Collectivo very cheap and was easy to use, you really shouldn't need a cab to get around and SEE THE TURTLES well worth the trip Turn right on the beach and you will find a shack with $35.00 massage & a very small shack that sells t-shirts, jewelery and such @ reaonable prices.


11 of 11 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Milw, wi
Age: Over 65
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

May 8, 2014
relax and enjoy

We spent eight days at Catalonia Royal Tulum in April 2014. I would like to start with the negatives because I expect the resort to be perfect and compare all resorts to an impeccable two weeks at Couples Swept Away. The resort could use some sports facilities like a tennis, basketball or racketball court. The workout room was underused but with only one treadmill and elliptical you may have to wait 20 to 30 minutes for your turn. The saving of lounge chairs at the beach and pool is silly. You have to get out to the pool by 7:30 AM to get a group of lounge chairs. Now for the positive parts of our week at the Catalonia Royal Tulum. The staff was great. It started prior to our arrival with email correspondence with concierge Laura Scucchia, who was very helpful with my room needs. Everything that was promised, was delivered. Jorge was our hotel personal assistant and was ready to help every time we walked into the lobby. The restaurant staff, maid service and drink service personnel were friendly and efficient. We tipped and occasionally got extra attention however those around ours that were not tipping received the same friendly service. I brought $100 in singles and did not use it all. The food was outstanding with quite the variety. Mexican, Italian, Asian and American. The lunch snack bar was good but should have had precooked pizzas and snacks to go. The beach was perfect with plenty of room to lay out in the sun or relax under a palm tree. The sand was clean and soft with an easy ocean swim area. The pool and hot tub were clean and open 24 hours. About 5% of the women at the beach and pool went topless. 20% of the men wore Speedo type swimwear. The entertainment was enjoyable with the comedy show a “do not miss” and the disco was a fun place to dance the night away. The disco could have used more chairs especially on karaoke night. AMSTAR transportation was worth the money. They were waiting for us at the airport with a driver that got us to our resort as quick as possible. The van was clean and safe with a reliable driver. We went on a tour with Autournative. The Original Coba Maya Encounter. You visit the archaeological site of Coba, and a Maya village. You rappel down a centers, two average zip lines, swim in hidden caves and walk through the jungle learning about the unique Maya environment. Enjoy a lush meal of typical food, soft drinks and hand-made tortillas. Our guide was Cristina Loris. She was more than a guide, she was a friend telling us about the Maya and taking us on an adventure. The tour was well worth the money.


8 of 8 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: USA
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

November 11, 2014
I'll keep it simple.

I'll keep it simple. Food - Average Wait Staff - 75% of them excellent. Cook was depressed. Beach - Beautiful. Guests: Seemed annoyed or 'to good' -- wanted to high 5 a couple that smiled at us. Rooms - Average (WIFI is streaming media restricted (ie Netflix) Drinks/Bars - excellent. Francisco @ the Margarita Bar was excellent. Spending time with spouse was excellent, the resort had many "hiccup" moments, (ie: luggage wasn't delivered for first 2 hours) (Wife found plastic in salad) I forgave those until....... What had destroyed my experience for this hotel all together - the Exclusive Travelers Club AKA: ETC... My opinion; - Exclusive Travelers Club - presentation/purchase. The guys whom put on the presentation are great and should have academy awards. The presentation reality in comparison to this legal reality is stretched to say best. Misrepresented and construed, not to mention the hours of time it consumed from our stay and the bonus15 years not even discussed at any point. I have no trust in this resort any longer and will not return. My opinion/review: The 90 minute breakfast is bull... a scam don't sign anything or talk to anyone associated with ETC. Stay very far away from them. My overall advice. Spend a little more money and enjoy your stay. Stay at a place like the Valentine Imperial Maya... much more class.


8 of 8 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 2
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
2.0
User Image

From: United States
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

March 1, 2016
Excellent Value. Great Experience!

We stayed at the Catalonia Royal Tulum from February 15th to the 22nd. This was our 5th visit to Playa del Carmen; the previous 2 times, we stayed at the Riu Palace Playacar, which we enjoyed both times. I was about ready to book the Riu Palace again, when I found this resort while browsing the internet. After reading many reviews, we decided to give Catalonia Royal Tulum a try. Lobby Area – beautiful, open, and immaculately clean. The check-in process seemed to take a bit longer than necessary, but our room was ready, and we did manage to make it to the beach area by mid-afternoon of our travel day. Room – we booked a Superior room, and did not go for the Privileged upgrade. Our room was nothing extraordinary, but was adequate in size and, again, spotlessly clean. Nice, clean stone flooring. Nice bathroom, with a large walk-in shower (with plenty of water pressure). Our room was on the second floor (of 3), which kept us below treetop level of the jungle, but got us a little more light. Unlike a review I read, there was no musty smell. Minibar was stocked with bottled water, soda, beer, and snacks. Good size balcony. The only complaint we have is that the mattresses need to be upgraded. Grounds – beautifully kept everywhere. Again, extremely clean. I read reviews which talked about the long walk to the pool/beach area. We did not find the walk to be long. In fact, the flora and fauna made the walk a pleasure. The staff were continually sweeping the walkways and cleaning everything. The restrooms in all public areas were kept very clean. Pool Area – beautiful pool, with plenty of seating. Adequate number of palapa huts for shade. Very clean, and generally on the quiet side. Excellent beverage service. Beach – world class beach! White powder sand and blue-green water for a half mile in either direction. Surf was pretty constant the whole time we were there. No undertow. Constant breeze; almost to the point of being cool when the sun goes behind clouds. The staff were constantly grooming the beach area to keep it free of seaweed and debris. Plenty of palm trees for shade. I do agree with other comments about the Privileged area of the beach. In order to create demand for the Privileged upgrade, the resort designates a portion of the beach to the Privileged guests, and places fewer chairs in that area, while jamming more chairs in the general beach area. I understand about exclusive restaurant use, and upgraded rooms, but the beach is why we were there. Having said all this, there was only one day when the general beach area really felt crowded. Food – outstanding! My wife and I travel a lot, and appreciate quality dining. The breakfast and lunch buffets were both excellent, with large variety. Everything was high-quality, and well-prepared. We never tried the dinner buffet, because the a la Carte restaurants were so good. Our favorites were the Mexican and the Italian. We really appreciated not having to make reservations in advance for the a la Carte restaurants, and never had to wait to get seated. The service was excellent. Staff – extremely professional and friendly. I read a few reviews mentioning preferential treatment of Italian guests by the Italian staff. While there were a large number of Italian guests, we never noticed any preferential treatment. All of the staff, Mexican and Italian, were very friendly and polite. In particular the ladies who serve drinks to guests in the pool and beach areas were wonderful, and really hustled. We also want to thank Ana, at the front desk, who was as delightful as she was helpful. All in all, this was a wonderful vacation, and we would not hesitate to return.


8 of 8 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Madison, WI
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

March 3, 2017
One of the best beach vacations ever

I cannot rave enough about our vacation at the Catalonia Royal Tulum. This review is going to be a little long, but they were all so helpful before I booked that I just wanted to give back to anyone else considering coming here! The staff was so friendly, welcoming, and happy throughout the whole resort and it really seemed like they enjoyed their jobs (from the reception staff, to the cleaning crew, bartenders, wait staff - seriously everyone). The resort was smaller than others I have been to, but big enough for a week long vacation. It seemed relatively new, or just very well maintained and so clean. We upgraded to the "Privileged" package which was very much worth it for a less crowded area on the beach, beach drink service, and access to the BLoved restaurant. Our room was a great size, had a king bed, which was pretty comfortable. The bathroom was updated and again very clean. There was a small balcony which was very private. We were on the first floor, so there was really no view, and if I go back I would request a 2nd or 3rd floor room for this reason. The minibar was always stocked, but there could have been better options (soda, 2 beers, water, oreos, and some other peanut type snack). We had a couple our age (30's) on one side of us and never heard them. An older couple came later in the week and we could hear their TV quite clearly, but I think the volume was just up louder than usual. The restaurants were all really good. I was worried about the drinking water, but they use all filtered/bottled water and ice and we never had an issue. There is one buffet for breakfast and dinner, and one for lunch. The one in the lobby for breakfast was fantastic with tons of options including made-to-order omelets, fresh fruit, and anything you could want. The lunch buffet near the pool/beach was usually crowded and sometimes had to wait for a seat, and the food was not as great as breakfast truthfully. There was a pool-side bar and restaurant for lunch which was awesome. The dinner restaurants were really great in my opinion. BLoved was my favorite by far and one the best meals I have ever had in my life (and I wish we went before the last night to go there more often!). The Mexican restaurant was also excellent. The ambiance of the Spanish restaurant was absolutely incredible (a tropical terrace with hanging lights) and they served tapas that were good, but small portions (as with most tapas) so we re-ordered a few different rounds (and the staff was more than happy to do this). We did not try the Asian or Italian restaurants (we figured we could get this at home anyhow). The beach was phenomenal! Beautiful soft white sand, all kept very clean. Beach chairs set all over with palm trees providing shade. The ocean was incredible shades of blue. Most days the water is as smooth as glass. One day prior to a storm blowing through (thankfully overnight), there was "rough surf" which wasn't really bad and fun to swim in the waves. Beach towels are provided in your room, and someone from the cleaning staff knocks on your door in the evening to exchange for fresh towels (a little bit of an odd system but worked just fine, as long as the do not disturb sign isn't on your door). There is a smoothie bar on the beach that was awesome. The pool area was very pretty with lounge chairs and umbrellas all around, with drink service as well. They had a team for entertainment. During they day, they did different activities each day (pool aerobics, music, taco bar). On 'national margarita day' they walked around and offered them to everyone at the pool and beach. At night, there was live music in the lobby, and then musical type shows in the pool area that was a little kitschy but amusing. The gym was located inside the spa. The locker room was amazing and better than any spa I've been to. It was clean, but the machines were a bit on the older side but functional. Three treadmills, four ellipticals, 2 recumbent bikes, and about 8 upright spin bikes for cardio. Reasonable set of free weights and some resistance machines. Mats, water, bottles, and small towels all easily available. The only downfall was the distance from the airport. It took over an hour from Cancun International. We used Cheap Caribbean's shuttle through Amstar, which was very clean and the drivers were friendly. Just wish I knew how long the ride would be to be prepared and it probably wouldn't have been as bad. Also, the Cheap Caribbean representative at the resort was nice to have, and confirmed our return shuttle, but pushed a little too much to get us to book an excursion, when we just wanted some time in the sand. Overall an amazing vacation and would absolutely visit again!


8 of 8 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Boston MA
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

November 27, 2012
Smokers Paradise!!!!

I have been many places in Cancun and this hotel caters more to the European scene and acomidate them more, knowing this I (we) still ventured to see this area of hotels. As for the hotel it self very nice the paths are so beutiful and the facilties are well kept very clean and staff is very nice and well versed however for anything it is a walk, and a wait ,we were located in the middle of the hotel and it was a 1 to 2 block walk to anything now to some thats fine to others its a problem. The one and only thing that will keep me from ever going there again is the SMOKE factor! Every were we went it was like being in a open air bar with 8 out of 10 people smoking us being the 2 that were not.


22 of 27 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 2
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Corpus Christi Tx
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

March 29, 2015
Great beach.

We just returned from the Catalonia royal Tulum. The resort is beautiful and very clean, however, I'm not sure if I would return. Upon our arrival we were welcomed by a woman wanting us to attend a sesson to become a member to the resort. When we turned her down is when Hen the attitude started. I understand this is how the resort makes their money, but we had been up since 1am traveling, and we're exhaused. We were approached several more times during our stay, it made it feel stressful as to what line you were going to give them this time. However the staff, the servers, housekeeping, bell boys all excellent.


6 of 6 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Wisconsin
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

June 9, 2015
Excellent Trip!

We had a wonderful trip to Catalonia Royal Tulum! I would highly recommend the resort to anyone looking for a relaxing trip. We found the food to be great (best dinner restaurants were the tapas – definitely keep an eye out for Nico, the most adorable raccoon who runs alongside the river, and BLoved, more on that later) but seriously had a great meal no matter where we ate that day. The breakfast buffet was great; I loved how they had some traditional Mexican food, as well as food that catered to some of the other guests (American breakfast, bread/oil/tomato for Italian guests, etc.) – made for a very unique morning experience! The service was phenomenal – everyone seemed to be so nice and kind and wanted us to have a great trip! We ended up upgrading to the “privileged” building (buildings 5 & 6, closest to the beach/pool area) and thought it was wonderful value for the money we paid. I don’t know that our room was any “nicer” than a regular room, but loved the king sized bed and found it very comfortable. Being in the closet building to the beach helped, but honestly, it is only a 3-5 minute walk from the furthest building to the beach/pool area, so even if we had been further away, it wouldn’t have been a big deal. The real draw was being able to go to BLoved – the dinner menu was FANTASTIC. Get the salmon and thank me later. The dedicated beach area was nice but there was actually more shade on the non-privileged side, so definitely check out both sides of the beach. We didn’t have any issues with seaweed. We were never approached by the time share people (they’re in the white shirts), so can’t comment on that. Overall, we were blown away by the great value for our money and have recommended the resort to a few friends that are looking to get away and unplug/relax for a few days. We are highly considering going to another one of the Catalonia resorts for our next trip!


6 of 6 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Boston, MA
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year