All

Catalonia Royal Bavaro Reviews

Caribbean | Dominican Republic - Punta Cana Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 57 Reviews
Value
 
4.2
Service
 
4.1
Beaches & Pools
 
4.3
Dining Options
 
3.7
Room Comfort
 
3.9
4 out of 5
"The hotel has 7 restaurants for both resorts but open only 3 or 4 each day. The surcharge for lobster is not fair because the grill lobster was terrible. I ordered it but had only one bite." – NHHN
53 out of 66 (80%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
party on the beach party in the pool

All Catalonia Royal Bavaro Customer Reviews

1-10 of 57 reviews. Sort by
July 16, 2014
ridiculous resort

They call this an adult resort but there is nothing for adults to do but lay on mildew lounges and run into a seaweed infested beach.....If you want to have anything such as fun, you'll have to pay extra to do it off of the resort or go next door to the sister resort that has plenty of kids running around to do so. It was not worth the money in any way, the food in almost all of the restaurant were terrible. If you wanted something good to eat you would have to eat pizza all day. For that was the only thing worth while to eat. If it was for being with my family this 7 day trip would've been a nightmare for me!


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 1
Value
 
1.0
Service
 
1.0
Beaches & Pools
 
1.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
1.0
User Image

From: MD
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

July 16, 2014
anniversary

wonderful! so relaxing the people were very friendly and warm food and service great beautiful beach will definitely go back!


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: long island ny
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

July 8, 2014
My Best Vacation EVER

I was very doubtful about this vacation. I went with an open mind but I was totally blown away. The service, the food, the entertainment, the people were just amazing.


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: New York
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

June 25, 2014
Great fun in the sun

Went with a group of 8 moms and 8 daughters....Still don't know who had the better time!


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Natick,Ma
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

June 24, 2014
great getaway

we had a great trip and enjoyed the resort. The service was excellent, the food very good, and the beaches and pools were beautiful. Some of the activities I would rate as only fair, such as Tennis and Golf, though available (tennis is free), they are certainly not the focus of the resort as you are pretty much on your own (which can actually be nice on a golf course). The tennis courts are not maintained very well, but again, they are there to use. Our best night was the beach barbeque at Sea Blue...excellent food and dancing on the beach. The "club" at night is not much of anything, but the daytimes were so busy with sun and fun that it was not something we were looking for after dinner, the show, and a fw cocktails in one of the may lounges. Cheap Caribbean as a service provider was also very attentive to our needs and made things like transportation to/from the airport easy.


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: boston,ma
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

June 24, 2014
Paradise at a great value

Overall, my boyfriend and I LOVED this place and had a great time! We were all the way in Villa 19, which is the furthest away from the lobby and main pool. However, it's the closest to the beach, which was important to us. It was a newer building and was very well appointed. House keeping kept it spotless and were always nice when we had to interrupt them. The beach was beautiful but it was a bit small and intimate, which was fine for us. That's what we were looking for. Be warned, like all resorts- you'll have to get up and play the towel game if you want a good spot on the beach. If you get up and take your stuff out by 7:00am, you'll get a great spot. Sea weed constantly washes up on the shores (a sign of healthy coral reefs), but the workers sweep it up and clean it all day long. It really was amazing how hard they all work to make your vacation perfect. If you want a bigger beach with less sea weed and more chairs, go next door. It has a huge beach, but it was a bit loud for us.On the adult side, the water was clear and blue with great snorkeling. They provide masks but not flippers, so bring your own if you want them. While on the beach, there are two bars close by and servers come by quite a bit even on the beach. Tipping will help, so please take care of these hard working people. A single dollar bill goes a long way even with multiple drinks. As for the food, we tried CaTa Tapas the first night and had a poor experience. The server recommended the ribs, but they were terrible. Perhaps it's because I'm a southerner and we know our ribs or perhaps they only had little skimpy ones left since we ate late, but they were burnt and had barely any meat. Happily though, this was the only poor dining experience we had. Thasalla is amazing! Lunch and dinner here was great! The Churrasco beef was hands down the best steak I've had in years. They are small though, so both my boyfriend and I ordered two each. Sea Blue had decent snack type lunches, and their dinner was great. I had the veal- oh my, it was great! The pizza place beside the pool has great pizzas and calzones during the day and really good Thai food at night. We ate on the other side, but other than the breakfast buffets, it really couldn't measure up. You will have people constantly try to get you to take tours for whatever or to do excursions. We just always told them no thanks and didn't let them really intrude too much on our vacation. We had to deal with lost luggage too, and the concierge took charge since we had a language barrier to deal with. She had it delivered to our room and everything. I've been to Jamaica to high dollar resorts and to Mexico to comparably priced resorts, and I think this place is hands down a great value and makes for a wonderful vacation. It was worth every penny and then some.


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Knoxville, TN
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

June 20, 2014
June 2014

We were disappointed in the resort as far as communication not because of the language but information. We had the most difficulty at front desk not giving us information about the days or even the week ahead events. Never asking us to upgrade rooms or services. The Wait and Bar staff were incredible very fun and friendly. The food seclection was common We expected a bit more tropical, Watermelon, Pineapple and Cantaloupe were the only fruit selections we saw. The weather was great never saw a bug and just a small shower so we would recommend early June before the storms start to kick up. We would skip this resort in the future only because there was no WOW!!!


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: SW Florida
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

June 20, 2014
Great Place for the Price

Me and my boyfriend we here for a week and we loved it. Staying at this resort you can go to the sister resort as well, but we felt the pools and dining options were better on our side. The other side had more places to eat but we felt the quality of food on our side was better. I wish they had more options for breakfast that was our major complaint. But aside from that the staff was nice and helpful, it was nice and relaxing, all in all great trip for the price i feel we got our money worth for our trip!


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Cleveland, OH
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

June 17, 2014
Catalonia Royal Bavaro

This resort is nice......but only nice. Not fantastic or outstanding. The rooms are old and in need of a major update. The air in my room never got cool enough to get comfortable. There were ants in the bathtub and sink. The toilet would clog on almost every flush. Uuuuuugh! I can say that the staff was very polite and did everything they could to make my vacation enjoyable. I would visit again for the same price.


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
2.0
User Image

From: Atlanta, GA
Age: 35-44
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

May 12, 2014
Awesome!

Amazing resort!! Relaxing and fun! We did not want to leave after our five night stay. Food was so much better on the adult side - Pizza and Thai restaurant was the absolute best! I would stay away from the family side food and eat at the adult side only. The drinks were the best at the Piano Bar which was located in the lobby. Overall it was a great experience and I would definitely come back to this resort!


1 of 1 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: PA
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year