All

Catalonia Royal Bavaro Reviews

Caribbean | Dominican Republic - Punta Cana Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 54 Reviews
Value
 
4.2
Service
 
4.2
Beaches & Pools
 
4.3
Dining Options
 
3.7
Room Comfort
 
3.9
4 out of 5
"The hotel has 7 restaurants for both resorts but open only 3 or 4 each day. The surcharge for lobster is not fair because the grill lobster was terrible. I ordered it but had only one bite." – NHHN
51 out of 63 (81%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
party on the beach party in the pool

All Catalonia Royal Bavaro Customer Reviews

1-10 of 54 reviews. Sort by
June 25, 2014
Great fun in the sun

Went with a group of 8 moms and 8 daughters....Still don't know who had the better time!


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Natick,Ma
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

June 24, 2014
great getaway

we had a great trip and enjoyed the resort. The service was excellent, the food very good, and the beaches and pools were beautiful. Some of the activities I would rate as only fair, such as Tennis and Golf, though available (tennis is free), they are certainly not the focus of the resort as you are pretty much on your own (which can actually be nice on a golf course). The tennis courts are not maintained very well, but again, they are there to use. Our best night was the beach barbeque at Sea Blue...excellent food and dancing on the beach. The "club" at night is not much of anything, but the daytimes were so busy with sun and fun that it was not something we were looking for after dinner, the show, and a fw cocktails in one of the may lounges. Cheap Caribbean as a service provider was also very attentive to our needs and made things like transportation to/from the airport easy.


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: boston,ma
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

June 24, 2014
Paradise at a great value

Overall, my boyfriend and I LOVED this place and had a great time! We were all the way in Villa 19, which is the furthest away from the lobby and main pool. However, it's the closest to the beach, which was important to us. It was a newer building and was very well appointed. House keeping kept it spotless and were always nice when we had to interrupt them. The beach was beautiful but it was a bit small and intimate, which was fine for us. That's what we were looking for. Be warned, like all resorts- you'll have to get up and play the towel game if you want a good spot on the beach. If you get up and take your stuff out by 7:00am, you'll get a great spot. Sea weed constantly washes up on the shores (a sign of healthy coral reefs), but the workers sweep it up and clean it all day long. It really was amazing how hard they all work to make your vacation perfect. If you want a bigger beach with less sea weed and more chairs, go next door. It has a huge beach, but it was a bit loud for us.On the adult side, the water was clear and blue with great snorkeling. They provide masks but not flippers, so bring your own if you want them. While on the beach, there are two bars close by and servers come by quite a bit even on the beach. Tipping will help, so please take care of these hard working people. A single dollar bill goes a long way even with multiple drinks. As for the food, we tried CaTa Tapas the first night and had a poor experience. The server recommended the ribs, but they were terrible. Perhaps it's because I'm a southerner and we know our ribs or perhaps they only had little skimpy ones left since we ate late, but they were burnt and had barely any meat. Happily though, this was the only poor dining experience we had. Thasalla is amazing! Lunch and dinner here was great! The Churrasco beef was hands down the best steak I've had in years. They are small though, so both my boyfriend and I ordered two each. Sea Blue had decent snack type lunches, and their dinner was great. I had the veal- oh my, it was great! The pizza place beside the pool has great pizzas and calzones during the day and really good Thai food at night. We ate on the other side, but other than the breakfast buffets, it really couldn't measure up. You will have people constantly try to get you to take tours for whatever or to do excursions. We just always told them no thanks and didn't let them really intrude too much on our vacation. We had to deal with lost luggage too, and the concierge took charge since we had a language barrier to deal with. She had it delivered to our room and everything. I've been to Jamaica to high dollar resorts and to Mexico to comparably priced resorts, and I think this place is hands down a great value and makes for a wonderful vacation. It was worth every penny and then some.


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Knoxville, TN
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

June 20, 2014
June 2014

We were disappointed in the resort as far as communication not because of the language but information. We had the most difficulty at front desk not giving us information about the days or even the week ahead events. Never asking us to upgrade rooms or services. The Wait and Bar staff were incredible very fun and friendly. The food seclection was common We expected a bit more tropical, Watermelon, Pineapple and Cantaloupe were the only fruit selections we saw. The weather was great never saw a bug and just a small shower so we would recommend early June before the storms start to kick up. We would skip this resort in the future only because there was no WOW!!!


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: SW Florida
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

June 20, 2014
Great Place for the Price

Me and my boyfriend we here for a week and we loved it. Staying at this resort you can go to the sister resort as well, but we felt the pools and dining options were better on our side. The other side had more places to eat but we felt the quality of food on our side was better. I wish they had more options for breakfast that was our major complaint. But aside from that the staff was nice and helpful, it was nice and relaxing, all in all great trip for the price i feel we got our money worth for our trip!


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Cleveland, OH
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

June 17, 2014
Catalonia Royal Bavaro

This resort is nice......but only nice. Not fantastic or outstanding. The rooms are old and in need of a major update. The air in my room never got cool enough to get comfortable. There were ants in the bathtub and sink. The toilet would clog on almost every flush. Uuuuuugh! I can say that the staff was very polite and did everything they could to make my vacation enjoyable. I would visit again for the same price.


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
2.0
User Image

From: Atlanta, GA
Age: 35-44
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

May 12, 2014
Awesome!

Amazing resort!! Relaxing and fun! We did not want to leave after our five night stay. Food was so much better on the adult side - Pizza and Thai restaurant was the absolute best! I would stay away from the family side food and eat at the adult side only. The drinks were the best at the Piano Bar which was located in the lobby. Overall it was a great experience and I would definitely come back to this resort!


1 of 1 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: PA
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

May 9, 2014
Best choice I ever made

Wonderful trip! No problems at all! Everything went very smoothly from the flight to the airport pick up to the check in! Resort was great! Cheap Caribbean did not disappoint! I am definitely using them again!


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Florida
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

March 3, 2014
Real Deal

I read all of the reviews when considering to book this short vacation. As is typical the reviews were very contradictory to each other. Some loving the place others not so much! I realized as I was there at the resort that the reviews could have been relevant to the season of travel. Of course the air conditioners will struggle in June -August. I'm sure that insects are more prevalent at certain times of the year as well, so when considering the reviews, they should mirror your season to be relevant to you. There will also always be the people who just cant be happy. The resort and the staff are all friendly. They do not speak much English, but you can communicate with them if you try. It can also frustrate you if you allow it to. I found it fun. The food choices are many but not all great. In general if you are looking for the cruise ship dining experience you will not get that here. The food is good but not always hot. It isn't always seasoned the way you would like but it is good. There is a small pool deck area near the hot tubs and pool bar that turns into a Thai restaurant in the evening. It's great! It is also unknown (until now). We had grilled lobster 2 nights that was great. They tend to overcook food to ensure safety I think so ask them not to and they will comply. We drank the water! It is fine! There were 4 of us who ate, drank, and enjoyed this resort for 5 days and loved it. No one got sick! it was a fun time!


2 of 2 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Annapolis, Maryland
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

February 27, 2014
Not the Dominican Republic!!!

After staying at the Majestic in Punta Cana which was similarly rated our expectations were the same here and we were incredibly disappointed. It took maintenance a hour to get a blow dryer fixed (which made us late for dinner), oh and dinner you need to be there at 7:00 for the minimum rest or you wait for 40 minutes at least. One day after breakfast arrived back at our suite to find 5 men working on sliding glass door in room, day before we left and it took them well over an hour, there had been no indication this was to occur from guest services and we were checking out the next day (why do it our last day). On top of that management didn't care, was passed off because I was AMERICAN and told I had to have an appointment to air my grievance only to be told they were no longer available. Then had to write my grievance on paper! Took them 5 requests and 4 days in to get a hammock which was supposed to be on the balcony to begin with. The beach is not Bavaro and is a very limited walk. Beware that you will be accosted each and every day by time share requests or dolphin swimming excursions, each day they paraded at least 10+ couples through the swimming pool talking about the resort, ridiculous and not classy at all. For relaxing and quiet do not get trapped into the fact its adults only on a few occasions children from neighboring pool came over and no requests or oversight to remove them! Staff could care less on service or follow up and everything was rushed, service was less than appropriate so don't spend the amount on this resort.


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 1
Value
 
1.0
Service
 
1.0
Beaches & Pools
 
2.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
2.0
User Image

From: Hartford, CT
Age: 35-44
Travel: 7+ trips/year