All

Catalonia Royal Bavaro Reviews

Caribbean | Dominican Republic - Punta Cana Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 67 Reviews
Value
 
4.1
Service
 
4.1
Beaches & Pools
 
4.2
Dining Options
 
3.7
Room Comfort
 
3.8
4 out of 5
"The hotel has 7 restaurants for both resorts but open only 3 or 4 each day. The surcharge for lobster is not fair because the grill lobster was terrible. I ordered it but had only one bite." – NHHN
59 out of 77 (77%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
party in the pool party on the beach

All Catalonia Royal Bavaro Customer Reviews

1-10 of 67 reviews. Sort by
October 19, 2014
Excellent Honeymoon

Spent 10 days here for our honeymoon and had a blast. Plenty of adventures off property to do and very relaxing on property. Our room's air conditioner was a bit strained to say the least, but that really wasn't too much of an issue. The staff were all amazing and fun to be around. This place allowed us access to the family side as well which greatly increased the eating options while keeping us away from kids (which we wanted to avoid on the honeymoon). This was our first all-inclusive trip and our first time to the D.R., so not sure how it compares to other resorts. However, we were beyond satisfied and fell in love with the place. Would definitely recommend to others.

Excellent Honeymoon
0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Atlanta, Ga
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

October 13, 2014
Terrible first international travel experience

We booked this hotel in October of 2012 and the trip was not until the end of January 2013 so I thought we had booked plenty early enough to not have problems with our room. Boy was I wrong! This was my first trip outside the United States and also my first time being on a plan so I was already nervous, anxious, and excited. When we arrived at the hotel we were informed that they had overbooked the "adults only" part of the hotel but they had a room for us on the family side. I couldn't believe that! We had paid extra money to be on the adults side and that is where we wanted to be. My boyfriend and I were young and wanting to have fun, not have to listen to screaming kids all day. Sorry but we don't have kids and that is not my idea of a relaxing vacation. However, it was late and we were wore out from traveling all day so we told them one night on that side would be ok as long as we had a king bed. When we arrived in the room, they had pushed two twin beds together to try to make it a king. We finally convinced them to bring us a king mattress to put on top so we wouldn't fall through since the beds kept sliding apart. After all this, we still didn't have a room the next day or the next. Finally, after our third night of still being on the family side, my boyfriend went up to the front desk (which by the way seemed like it was 2 miles from our room on the other side of the resort) and made up a story about how he was going to propose to me on the trip and they had ruined it. The very next morning they came to our room and moved us to one of the two story private villas with our own private infinity pool for the next two nights.The villa was stunning but it did not make up for the three nights we spent in a TINY room with a TINY bathroom. To top it all off, the family side did not have free Wi-Fi like the adults side did so they charged me for using the phone and computer. The only reason I was using it was because no one at the desk spoke decent enough English to help us so I had to call my mother in the US on long distance just to get her to communicate with Cheap Caribbean for us. I will never go back here again.


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
1.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: South Carolina
Age: 19-24
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

October 5, 2014
Not a 4+ Resort

Extremely slow and poor customer service in most aspects: -The majority of the food was under par. -The water at the beach was not clear, unless you caught it early in the morning. -The pool was peeling on the bottom and at the swim up bar. -Food service at the restaurants and room service (if they answered) usually took hours. -The room was, at first glance, very nice, but throughout the week we found loose fixtures, mold and it always smelled of mildew. A particularly bad experience ensued when our door lock/handle malfunctioned. We spent 12 hours (all day) going back and forth, pleading with the front desk (5+ times), the maids (twice) and maintenance (twice) to have it fixed and then reprogrammed. In the mean time, one of us had to be in the room to let the other person in/wait for someone to come and deal with the issue. On a positive note, the majority of the bartenders were pleasant and even enjoyable - singing, mixing delicious drinks and engaging guests. They helped make our stay tolerable. Also the grounds are well kept. Additionally, I am a mosquito magnet - I know this - so I came prepared with sprays and wipes and bracelets...still no luck! I was covered in bites after the first night! I have visited other Caribbean resorts without a similar experience, so this leads me to believe they don't make this a priority for the comfort of their guests. Unfortunately these complaints seemed common among guests at the Catalonia Royal. It was very disappointing. My husband and I are easy going and easy to please. Definitely wasn't what we thought we had paid for...


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 2
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
2.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Pittsburgh, PA
Age: 25-34

September 22, 2014
really good place

The room was great with lots of space, comfortable bed and really clean. Great food and service at all of the restaurants, great service at the bars. Room service was even included, which was a nice unexpected perk. The beach was a little small but beautiful anyhow. My only problem was the sales worker - tried to get us to a sales pitch meeting but didn't explain it well. After you tell them a fourth time they leave you alone, but still feel like he was high pressure and annoying. The sales guy was the only non-relaxing part of the whole experience. Overall a great value and we never left the resort the 5 days we were there. Just tell whichever sales person approaches you in the lobby that you're already working with someone to get them to leave you alone.


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Baltimore, MD
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

September 16, 2014
2.5 star all the way

Service,Service,Service was just not there! Room was okay but the bed was as hard as a rock! the buffet's were just well just was not okay! The cost of this hotel,well I could have gotten a 4 or a 4.5 star hotel in Cancun. The beach was full of sea weed and it smelled! The water was not as tropical as I expected! I can say this will be mine and my wife first and last time to Punta Cana ! We spent two whole days out of the eight days traveling ,so which really means we only spent two days vacationing at the resort! Stay away from the free gifts that the resort offers if you will go on a little tour of the resort and sit through what they claimed to be only an hour long spill for you to buy a membership with them! the whole ordeal took 3.5 hours out of mine and my wife day, just to end up telling them no several times! The gift is not worth it! Some of the staff was real friendly but as a whole they need a lot of work and they were very not understanding hardly any of the English that me and my wife was trying to convey to them!


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 1
Value
 
1.0
Service
 
1.0
Beaches & Pools
 
1.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
2.0
User Image

From: Rockwall, Tx
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

September 10, 2014
Disappointing at best

There are a lot of good things to say about this property. The beach and the pools are great, the rooms are big and comfortable and the grounds are absolutely beautiful. For us it really fell short in the areas of food and service. Eating here was awful. Despite having plenty of restaurant choices and food selections, we didn't have one good meal during our entire stay because unfortunately, little of what was served was very good. As far as the service the best I can say is the staff did their jobs. From check in to check out we were provided with everything we needed and wanted but from a staff that seemed indifferent to our experience as guests. With the exception of perhaps a handful of cheerful, friendly employees, the staff managed to take the hospitality out of the hospitality business. The worst were the excursion sales people who seem to be completely unrestricted and entirely too aggressive at this property. For us this group crossed the line from sales to harassment. If you enjoy exercising each day as we do, you'll be disappointed by the gym facilities. There are two but each is very small and equipped with outdated equipment that has seen better days. Unlike many island beaches we've visited this one is calm and wave less, great for swimming and kayaking but leave the boogie board at home. The beach from end to end is small. perfect for not so long walks on the beach, as long as you wear your flip flops because there is more kelp and seaweed than you can possibly imagine. So if things like food and friendliness aren't important to you, you'll love it here but if they are, there are better properties in the DR you can visit.


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
2.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: CT
Age: 55-64
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

August 19, 2014
Birthday

only complaints was the bed it was not comfortable at all very hard. the team that harassed you the entire trip to come to a presentation. all in all I enjoy my stay and I would stay again but I would defiantly need a better bed.


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
1.0
User Image

From: Houston Tx
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

August 1, 2014
Humidddddd

The resort was nice but bigger than I thought. The adult only was 200+ rooms but was connected to the family side of 800+ rooms. The food was good for the most part but the air conditioning went out a couple of times which made it miserable in July. I also did not like them trying to sell me a membership after telling me they wouldn't. The staff was great. The pools were good but the beach was full of seaweed and smelled. The shopping trip shuttle is a must. You get to watch them make cigars, chocolate, and rum with lots of free samples. Great Time. Over-all a good vacation and would do it again at a different time of year.


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: tennessee
Age: 55-64
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

July 23, 2014
Everything was PERFECT until...

We stayed at the Catalonia Royal Bavaro for 8 days.. It was gorgeous, landscaping was spot on and well maintained, food service and bar service was great.. Overall everyone was extremely helpful and kind.. The beach was immaculate, gorgeous too of course.. The restaurants were nice, good atmosphere, food was for the most part ok. We would recommend the Japanese restaurant on the family side.. I would NOT recommend the buffet restaurant on the adult only side, (we got sick there once from eating the fried eggs).. Overall the adult only side was awesome, just a great trip.. UNTIL... We came back to our room to get ready for dinner on our second to last night there.. A leak had started on our ceiling, (we stayed on the first level junior suite.. I recommend the 2nd level for any type of room, less musty smelling..) So the leak got worse and worse... we called the front desk 2 times to send servicemen over to fix it.. By the time they showed up it was dinner time and our room had a small lake in it.. Luckily no water got onto our stuff really, but still it sucked... The servicemen looked at our ceiling and then went directly upstairs to see the source of it.. They didn't leave a bucket to catch the STILL RAINING water in our room.. Not so nice of them.. They completely disappeared and worked on the problem upstairs, (someone left their massive Jacuzzi tub on and left it running for hrs probably). Basically we were forgotten, we waited for about an hour, (still raining), and no one from the concierge called to check on us, even though they definitely knew of this situation since I spoke with the manager DIRECTLY from the beginning to report this..) I had to call an initiate the changing of our room, they could not comp us something nicer so they had a bell boy come and show us 3 rooms to pick from.. One of those 3 rooms actually ALSO had a leaking ceiling as well, I just had to laugh at this point... We finally piked our room, it was the same style as our orignal room but just on the next floor up.. We had to pack up during the raining in our room.. The floors are all tiled so it was extremely slippery and dangerous.. Still no management called to see if they can help, or if we needed anything... like a BUCKET perhaps?! We tried to not let this ruin our second to last night there, since the rest of our trip was perfect.. I kept getting the runaround when trying to get a hold of a manager at the front desk so I decided to jus deal with it at checkout time... We wanted to be at the fron desk a half hour early for our checkout in order to get this resolved, (comp'ed a night... something...) but the bell boy was a half hour late in picking us up that morning... (good thing we called over and over or else we could have missed our ride to the airport!) At this point i am livid, I get to the front desk, retell this whole scenario for the 5th time.. our ride arrives and we have no time to wait for this non-existent manager... I had to pay $50 extra for a few charges that I had made to the room, which I was kindly asking and insisting that they waive since they ruined one of our precious and expensive nights on vacation... They said they could not because they were not a manage and yada yada yada... I could not keep our ride waiting any longer sooo I had to pay, wrote up a complaint which they said they would contact me about asap.. SURPRISE they haven't.. I am also waiting for a call back from Cheap Caribbean about this, since the resort was of no help... Meanwhile at the front desk we overheard a couple next to us, same situation actually... And they received 20% off of their entire stay... Just not fair that we got swept under the rug and soooo poorly treated in a situation that could have EASILY been resolved and fixed on the spot.. I so did not want to leave on a sore note like this, but we paid A LOT of money to be ignored.. Also, someone called our NEW room on our last night to inquire about any suggestions we may have on how to improve anything.. I retold all of this and in the midst of saying "I would improve your customer service/management of this place" the lady says " OK thanks bye." and literally hangs up on me.. I guess they only want to hear good things??! Basically our situation was semi unique, if nothing goes wrong with your room you will have an amazing time here.. I wish they just had better customer service management..


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: NY
Age: 25-34

July 23, 2014
Great time at Catalonia Royal Bavaro in Dom Rep

Visited the Dom Rep in June for the second time and again stayed at the Catalonia Royal Bavaro. We had a great time the first time so we decided to return. Everything was wonderful ! Rooms are spacious, clean, and we received an up-grade without asking. The two pools are clean with plenty of chairs and shade to lie in. The infinity pool overlooks the beach. The beach area is our favorite. Pinkish sand with palm trees right on the water - lots of chairs and umbrellas for your comfort. We bought our own snorkels and did that off the beach each day. Lots of tropical fish to see without paying for a tour! The Tappas restaurant was really nice - dine at night by the pool with a fountaiin - very romantic and the food is excellent. The lobby restaurant is great for breakfast with a huge buffett each morning. For lunch we usually hit Sea Blue down by the beach. Excellent food. This resort is adult only but only a short walk or golf cart ride away is the sister resort with more restaurants and activities to choose from. The Italian and Steakhouse restaurants were very good, but the Mexican one was outstanding!!! We went back there twice. Service at the resort, beach, and restaurants was excellent.


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Florida
Age: 55-64
Travel: 3-6 trips/year