All

Catalonia Royal Bavaro Reviews

Caribbean | Dominican Republic - Punta Cana Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 75 Reviews
Value
 
4.2
Service
 
4.1
Beaches & Pools
 
4.3
Dining Options
 
3.8
Room Comfort
 
3.9
4 out of 5
"The hotel has 7 restaurants for both resorts but open only 3 or 4 each day. The surcharge for lobster is not fair because the grill lobster was terrible. I ordered it but had only one bite." – NHHN
67 out of 85 (79%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
beach cooking! party on the beach beautiful sunrise party in the pool paella on the beach, delicous

All Catalonia Royal Bavaro Customer Reviews

1-10 of 75 reviews. Sort by
January 29, 2013
Great Week

We stayed here from January 18-25 and were very happy. The resort is composed of "two sides"--this side (Catolina Royal Bavaro) which is the adults only side and then a more family friendly side. If you don't have children, definitely stay on the adults only side--it's smaller and quieter, but you can still jump to the other side whenever you want. As a guest on the adults only side of the resort, you have access to all the facilities at both resorts. There are three restaurants on the adult side and about eight (i.e. Italian, Asian, Mexican, Steakhouse, etc.) on the other side. The food was great with lots of variety and options. We never needed reservations. We enjoyed one of the restaurants on the adults only side the best -- Thalassa. There is also 24 hour room service. We ordered breakfast several times and were very happy with it. The beach was beautiful with lots of lounges and shady spots. There were two pools which were both great. The staff was fantastic and went above and beyond. Very nice, friendly, personable. Our room was great. The only minor complaint is that the room always feel a little humid, but that's due to the weather and there's nothing the staff could do about that. The AC worked great, as did the ceiling fan. The spa was great and the prices were very reasonable. Gym was good, as were the hot tubs. This is a small resort that isn't trying to be a "four seasons" or anything like that. But it's a great resort and well-worth the price and we can't think of any reason that we weren't happy.


50 of 50 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image
Top 250 Contributor
From: Media, PA
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

January 13, 2013
Paradise

My girlfriend and I stayed at the Catalonia Royal Bavaro in early December of 2012. We had a great time. We requested a room near the beach and the beach is where we spent most of our time. The beach is full of palm trees and has plenty of chairs (even though you may have to search for a bit) and the staff is very attentive. One thing I will warn of is the people that go out early and put their towels on the chairs to reserve them. The most frustrating thing is that you'll notice the reserved chairs stay empty most of the day. The snorkeling is a lot of fun. We brought our own snorkeling equipment with us that we bought on Amazon right before we left. The beach's minimal waves, and man-made reef were perfect for snorkeling. We saw all kinds of fish and they would come up close - especially if you'd bring bread out with you. We ventured off the resort on a few different excursions and we are so glad we chose the CRB because the beach is phenomenal compared to the other resorts' beaches. The seaweed was not bad and the staff works really hard to clean it up from sunset to sundown. I have a lot of respect for those guys and they deserve to be thanked daily. Our room was not what we were expecting, it was better than expected. Since we read so many reviews about the mold smell and some of the other issues I was really worried. My girlfriend is really allergic to mold so I thought we'd surely have to move a few times. There was a bit of a smell in the rooms but it wasn't unbearable. The cleaning staff does a great job of cleaning. One thing we learned and have never seen before is the key-card that goes into the wall switch - don't take it out or it will cut the power to the whole room. All you have to do is put it right back in but it resets all the clocks. I thought the food was alright. It wasn't bad. My girlfriend doesn't eat meat but she does eat seafood. She was disappointed that there weren't better options for seafood since we were in the Caribbean Her favorite was the California roll from the SeaBlue restaurant by the beach. We found that to be the best option for both of us. Thalassa for breakfast was good. Neither one of us were impressed with the Gran Bahia on the other side of the resort. We both liked the buffet by the beach. This is a great place for couples and for people looking to relax and reset. The infinity pool and surrounding area are beautiful. The outdoor beds are super relaxing! The staff are very accommodating and friendly. Be aware of the vendors selling items. It can be very frustrating and difficult to walk away from them. They will put jewelry on you before you know it and you're stuck. Overall we recommend the CRB and will likely return someday


10 of 10 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Cincinnati, Oh
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

May 24, 2011
Great Value/Fabulous Resort

This resort was all that was pictured & more. Being at this resort afforded the quiet of being at an adult resort, fabulous dining, service, rooms, beaches, pools as well as the entertainment/additional dining afforded through the sister resort right on the same property. The nightly shows were fabulous and quite professional. While others on the plane home complained about other resorts not meeting their expectations, I was quite pleased with this resort. Tipping was NOT expected as it was included in the package price & the staff did not alter their service if you did not tip, although I did simply due to the fact that I was so pleased with all the smiling/genuine/great service.


6 of 6 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: PA
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

November 24, 2011
A Great Place

Just returned from 6 days at the Royal Catalonia Bavaro and have nothing but good things to say. The staff is friendly and attentive, the food and drink excellent, and the pools and beach relaxing. This resort is adullts only and is small and quaint. Vacationers included newlyweds, Americans, Brits, Germans, and French. This resort is calm, quiet, and classy in its feel and services. Staying here gives you rights at the sister property next door, and we did go over there to eat at the Japanese restaurant (very good) as well as an American steakhouse ( good food and service- a little rushed). This property is 3-4 times larger than the one that we stayed at, and attracted more singles, young people, and families. While a nice property, I would not stay here and much preferred the Royal Catalonia. I would definitely go back.


12 of 14 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: lONG ISLAND ny
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

July 3, 2012
Beautiful Beach, but Food was Lacking

Overall, I enjoyed my stay at Catalonia Royal Bavaro. The service was wonderful. The staff was friendly and helpful. The resort is beautifully maintained. It was great to be able to have VIP access to the sister resort as well as having the exclusivity of Catolonia Royal Bavaro. The beach was lovely and pool area was really nice. The biggest cons relate to the food. I thought that the food in the main buffet restaurant was average and lacked in variety. Also, in order to go to the specialty buffets, men had to wear pants which I didn't appreciate. Also, our room had a moldy/mildew smell to it. The hotel provided us with a humidifier and gave us an option to move to a different room. Finally, if you are interested in actually seeing the island and exploring the city, this resort may not be for you. There is really nothing to see near or around the resort.


7 of 8 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Minneapolis, MN
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

September 25, 2011
Beautiful Resort with Poor Service

I have NEVER had to send a poor review on a resort, until this one. This resort was absolutely beautiful, however, the lighting at night and the drainage was terrible. It was raining several nights as my wife and I walked to dinner, the lighting was so bad that we could not see the puddles of water covering the walk ways. We tried several different routes to get to our restaurant to make our reservation and each route was completely covered with water. We attempted to walk through the grass as a last resort leaving my wife and I, (as well as others) with muddy shoes with the bottom of her dress and my pants being muddy as well. When we left the restaurant, I used my iphone light to see where we were walking to avoid the water. There was NOT enough huts at the beach, so if you want to get one, you better be there before 7:00 a.m. Beach towels were to be changed out each day (WHICH THEY WERE NOT). We received beach towels 3 out of the 8 days that we stayed and they were delivered after 10:30 p.m. We booked an excursion in which we were going to be picked up at 6:15 a.m. The night before, we called room service in an attempt to get beach towels to take with us. We were told that they would bring them to us in a few minutes. Needless to say, we never received them. We got up early the next morning hoping that the front desk could provide us with some, however, we were told that laundry did not open until 7:00 a.m. The desk clerk gave me a key to 2 unfinished rooms at the other end of the resort to see if those rooms had beach towels. My wife had to hold up the taxi while I was running from room to room looking for beach towels. We never received our towels and had to go on our excursion without any. We had to also call the front desk daily for bath towels and wash clothes as well. Our bathroom sink would not drain out properly and as a result stayed full of nasty water. The airconditioner did not work properly and was very noisy. We complained to the front desk and they assured us that they would check it. It was never fixed. On the day that we were to check out, the resort offered us a room to shower in before we were picked up at 2:00 p.m. Our luggage was taken to the room and they told us to call the front desk when we were ready and they would pickup our luggage and take us to the lobby so that the taxi could pick us up. We called the front deak and waited over 30 minutes and no one ever showed up. We finally decided to take our luggage ourselves. Luckily we did, because when we arrived at the front lobby, the taxi was pulling away and we had to flag him down. Again, the resort was absolutely beautiful and not all of the service was bad. This truly could be a 5 star resort if they would work on the service from the front desk, the lighting at night and housekeeping/laundry.


4 of 4 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
1.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
2.0
User Image

From: SC
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

March 16, 2012
Food & Facilities

The hotel grounds and rooms were well maintained. There was constantly people working on keeping the property clean and in good condition. The rooms were clean and modernized. The only complaint was the matress - it was more like a box spring. There were numerous food options and some of the meals were hit or miss. We usually wound up in th buffet for the variety. The other resteraunts tried to be gormet, but, usually had average food. The water depth for the beach was shallower than we like but the beached were clean, water sparkling and always being cleared of seaweed. The staff was very fiendly and helpful. We had a great time.


4 of 4 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: NJ
Age: 55-64
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

October 30, 2013
Peace at the Beach

First let me sat, DO NOT TRUST THE NEGATIVE REVIEWS!! THIS PLACE WAS GREAT-BEYOND GREAT!! My husband and I were travelling kid-free (first time since kids were born!) with another couple to celebrate our 10 year anniversaries. This trip could not have been anymore relaxing! The rooms were clean, cool(A/C worked really well!), and large. The grounds were covered with tropical trees, a real Caribbean feel (I do not like the stark white resorts!). The pools were great ("party pool" up front, quiet pool in the back by the beach). The food was surprisingly good, even at the main resort. Our favorites were Thalassa (awesome breakfast buffet!), Rodeo Steakhouse (the crab cake was not good! Maybe its a European way to make it...). Cata Tapas was so delicious! It was all good. The beach was wonderful, and a constant breeze kept us comfortable in the sun. The beach was cleaned daily, as there was sea grass in the ocean. My husband enjoyed snorkeling in the far right corner of the swimming area (fish and small stingrays!). Be prepared to be asked about "activities" from the guys on the beach, but they are polite and kindly accept your no. Eventually, they recognize you and stop asking. We did book a dune buggy excursion through the tour company. The ride was fun, the beach (Macao) was amazing, but the overall trip was longer than anticipated. But, was a nice way to leave the resort and see Punta Cana. The shopping tour basically takes you to 2 gift shops, with slightly decent prices compared to some of the resort stores. Especially the liquor. The prices at the beach shops start off hgh, can be bargained down a lot. Be sure the tip the wait staff! They greeted us daily, and we felt very welcomed. I can't wait to go back!


4 of 4 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Lancaster, PA
Age: 25-34

April 3, 2011
Loved It!!!

I thoroughly enjoyed the resort and my time at Catalonia. I stayed on the adult only side, but had complete access to the entire property, which was absolutely beautiful. There are a lot of activites, food and drinks to enjoy! I didn't have to leave the resort for my complete enjoyment. The service was excellent and the people there are so nice. I would recomment it to anyone


3 of 3 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Washington, DC
Age: 35-44
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

July 14, 2011
Was good but not great!

Let me start with all the positives of this place. The grounds are beautiful and so are the pools. The beach is white sand that is beautiful and cleaned a few times a day. The workers are fantastic as well. The down side is the food. Average at best. Breakfast was always great but it is hard to mess up breakfast. But all the fish that I had was terrible. Meat and chicken was always overdone. The only specialty restaurant that we enjoyed was the Mexican restaurant we had the fajitias. The japanese restaurant was good. They serve everyone the same thing so you don't get a choice. The italian restaurant was so HOT that we sat down to eat and were sweating so bad that we got up and left. The tapas place was good but small portions. And I don't know what i had but I got sick for 8 days when I got home. Don't drink the water, eat the ice or have fruit or salads.


3 of 3 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Chicago
Age: 35-44
Travel: 3-6 trips/year