All

Catalonia Royal Bavaro Reviews

Caribbean | Dominican Republic - Punta Cana Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 69 Reviews
Value
 
4.1
Service
 
4.1
Beaches & Pools
 
4.2
Dining Options
 
3.7
Room Comfort
 
3.8
4 out of 5
"The hotel has 7 restaurants for both resorts but open only 3 or 4 each day. The surcharge for lobster is not fair because the grill lobster was terrible. I ordered it but had only one bite." – NHHN
61 out of 79 (77%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
party in the pool party on the beach

All Catalonia Royal Bavaro Customer Reviews

1-10 of 69 reviews. Sort by
March 29, 2015
First time. And would most definitely come back.

Once I arrived. I was meet with the up most respect. AsI went to check in. I was given a delicious juice. Check in was quick. Was explained details in english. Room was perfect. Loved the hot tub in the suite. Balcony has a hammock 2 chairs and a table. Room comes with 24hrs room service. Chicken wings are delicious. This resort is meant as a true getaway. Not much to do but relax, drink, and eat. All other activities cost extra like for example boongie. Which is worth it. Highly recommended it. Always chairs available by the beach and pool. Not going to make this review to long. And will finish with. I give this resort 5 stars. And would highly recommend. P.S. It's like to resort in one. Because you have access to the sisger resort. Which is literally next door. Second P.S. Cheapcarribean has a representative on site. Which makes it even more wonderful.


2 of 2 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: New York, NY
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

March 22, 2015
Beautiful, fun and relaxing

My girlfriend and I just got back from our trip and had a wonderful time. We needed this trip because of all the snow storms we've been hit with this winter. Let me start by saying you have access to Catalonias sister resort, but they don't have access to this resort, the Royal Bavaro. So if you want a relaxing time by the pool or beach, stay at R.B. with the mature crowd. If you want to party or participate in activities then head over to the sister resort. Collectively, the two resorts landscape are beautifully decorated and maintained with palm trees, bushes, and nice green grass. There's a little rainforest area with birds, turtles and iguanas you can take a stroll through. There's a total of 3 pools. One gorgeous infinity pool and the other two have bars you can sit and drink at. Oh yes, and two jacuzzis. The beach is ok, lots of seaweed (not much you can do about nature, God has put that there for a reason). The sand is nice and white but be aware of sharp seashells or whatever those shards were. Be sure to lay on the hammocks whenever you want a nap in the shade. When you're on the beach you may be approached by two aggressive, overweight female masseuses. They were annoying, they persisted on asking me if I wanted a massage more than twice. Try the juice bar, delicious and healthy! Food was amazing! Many options. The beer is Presidente, good beer. As far as liquor, unless your getting the "Exclusive" liquor, which costs more I think, you're probably drinking hydrogen peroxide. I drank beer the entire time. The room is nice. There's a hammock on each balcony, awesome! If you plan on using the jacuzzis inside the room, I hope you have patience. There's a sink faucet on it which takes a century to fill. Bed is comfortable. MY BIGGEST PROBLEM with the Catalonia was the persistent pestering from the concierge AS SOON AS YOU CHECK IN! They try to sell you future deals. I thought to myself, dude can I enjoy my well deserved vacation?! He wanted us to return the next day to talk about it and I thought forget that. But he eventually found us lol and he wanted information like my occupation, income, email and wanted to sell me for future visits. I told him politely to that we're not interested and want to enjoy our vacation. The funny thing is, later that day when I was at the pool, I saw that this concierge is also the towel boy lol. Oh yeah, he offered me a free beach bag and t shirt that I never got, no biggy though. I think what should've been done, is they give you a pamphlet or brochure of info on future stays and other Catalonias with a free gift AS YOU CHECKOUT. Anyways, I digress. Overall the trip was AMAZING! We had a wonderful time and I would most definitely go back and recommend this to family and friends!


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: NJ
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

October 19, 2014
Excellent Honeymoon

Spent 10 days here for our honeymoon and had a blast. Plenty of adventures off property to do and very relaxing on property. Our room's air conditioner was a bit strained to say the least, but that really wasn't too much of an issue. The staff were all amazing and fun to be around. This place allowed us access to the family side as well which greatly increased the eating options while keeping us away from kids (which we wanted to avoid on the honeymoon). This was our first all-inclusive trip and our first time to the D.R., so not sure how it compares to other resorts. However, we were beyond satisfied and fell in love with the place. Would definitely recommend to others.

Excellent Honeymoon
1 of 1 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Atlanta, Ga
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

October 13, 2014
Terrible first international travel experience

We booked this hotel in October of 2012 and the trip was not until the end of January 2013 so I thought we had booked plenty early enough to not have problems with our room. Boy was I wrong! This was my first trip outside the United States and also my first time being on a plan so I was already nervous, anxious, and excited. When we arrived at the hotel we were informed that they had overbooked the "adults only" part of the hotel but they had a room for us on the family side. I couldn't believe that! We had paid extra money to be on the adults side and that is where we wanted to be. My boyfriend and I were young and wanting to have fun, not have to listen to screaming kids all day. Sorry but we don't have kids and that is not my idea of a relaxing vacation. However, it was late and we were wore out from traveling all day so we told them one night on that side would be ok as long as we had a king bed. When we arrived in the room, they had pushed two twin beds together to try to make it a king. We finally convinced them to bring us a king mattress to put on top so we wouldn't fall through since the beds kept sliding apart. After all this, we still didn't have a room the next day or the next. Finally, after our third night of still being on the family side, my boyfriend went up to the front desk (which by the way seemed like it was 2 miles from our room on the other side of the resort) and made up a story about how he was going to propose to me on the trip and they had ruined it. The very next morning they came to our room and moved us to one of the two story private villas with our own private infinity pool for the next two nights.The villa was stunning but it did not make up for the three nights we spent in a TINY room with a TINY bathroom. To top it all off, the family side did not have free Wi-Fi like the adults side did so they charged me for using the phone and computer. The only reason I was using it was because no one at the desk spoke decent enough English to help us so I had to call my mother in the US on long distance just to get her to communicate with Cheap Caribbean for us. I will never go back here again.


2 of 2 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
1.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: South Carolina
Age: 19-24
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

October 5, 2014
Not a 4+ Resort

Extremely slow and poor customer service in most aspects: -The majority of the food was under par. -The water at the beach was not clear, unless you caught it early in the morning. -The pool was peeling on the bottom and at the swim up bar. -Food service at the restaurants and room service (if they answered) usually took hours. -The room was, at first glance, very nice, but throughout the week we found loose fixtures, mold and it always smelled of mildew. A particularly bad experience ensued when our door lock/handle malfunctioned. We spent 12 hours (all day) going back and forth, pleading with the front desk (5+ times), the maids (twice) and maintenance (twice) to have it fixed and then reprogrammed. In the mean time, one of us had to be in the room to let the other person in/wait for someone to come and deal with the issue. On a positive note, the majority of the bartenders were pleasant and even enjoyable - singing, mixing delicious drinks and engaging guests. They helped make our stay tolerable. Also the grounds are well kept. Additionally, I am a mosquito magnet - I know this - so I came prepared with sprays and wipes and bracelets...still no luck! I was covered in bites after the first night! I have visited other Caribbean resorts without a similar experience, so this leads me to believe they don't make this a priority for the comfort of their guests. Unfortunately these complaints seemed common among guests at the Catalonia Royal. It was very disappointing. My husband and I are easy going and easy to please. Definitely wasn't what we thought we had paid for...


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 2
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
2.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Pittsburgh, PA
Age: 25-34

September 22, 2014
really good place

The room was great with lots of space, comfortable bed and really clean. Great food and service at all of the restaurants, great service at the bars. Room service was even included, which was a nice unexpected perk. The beach was a little small but beautiful anyhow. My only problem was the sales worker - tried to get us to a sales pitch meeting but didn't explain it well. After you tell them a fourth time they leave you alone, but still feel like he was high pressure and annoying. The sales guy was the only non-relaxing part of the whole experience. Overall a great value and we never left the resort the 5 days we were there. Just tell whichever sales person approaches you in the lobby that you're already working with someone to get them to leave you alone.


1 of 1 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Baltimore, MD
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

September 16, 2014
2.5 star all the way

Service,Service,Service was just not there! Room was okay but the bed was as hard as a rock! the buffet's were just well just was not okay! The cost of this hotel,well I could have gotten a 4 or a 4.5 star hotel in Cancun. The beach was full of sea weed and it smelled! The water was not as tropical as I expected! I can say this will be mine and my wife first and last time to Punta Cana ! We spent two whole days out of the eight days traveling ,so which really means we only spent two days vacationing at the resort! Stay away from the free gifts that the resort offers if you will go on a little tour of the resort and sit through what they claimed to be only an hour long spill for you to buy a membership with them! the whole ordeal took 3.5 hours out of mine and my wife day, just to end up telling them no several times! The gift is not worth it! Some of the staff was real friendly but as a whole they need a lot of work and they were very not understanding hardly any of the English that me and my wife was trying to convey to them!


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 1
Value
 
1.0
Service
 
1.0
Beaches & Pools
 
1.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
2.0
User Image

From: Rockwall, Tx
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

September 10, 2014
Disappointing at best

There are a lot of good things to say about this property. The beach and the pools are great, the rooms are big and comfortable and the grounds are absolutely beautiful. For us it really fell short in the areas of food and service. Eating here was awful. Despite having plenty of restaurant choices and food selections, we didn't have one good meal during our entire stay because unfortunately, little of what was served was very good. As far as the service the best I can say is the staff did their jobs. From check in to check out we were provided with everything we needed and wanted but from a staff that seemed indifferent to our experience as guests. With the exception of perhaps a handful of cheerful, friendly employees, the staff managed to take the hospitality out of the hospitality business. The worst were the excursion sales people who seem to be completely unrestricted and entirely too aggressive at this property. For us this group crossed the line from sales to harassment. If you enjoy exercising each day as we do, you'll be disappointed by the gym facilities. There are two but each is very small and equipped with outdated equipment that has seen better days. Unlike many island beaches we've visited this one is calm and wave less, great for swimming and kayaking but leave the boogie board at home. The beach from end to end is small. perfect for not so long walks on the beach, as long as you wear your flip flops because there is more kelp and seaweed than you can possibly imagine. So if things like food and friendliness aren't important to you, you'll love it here but if they are, there are better properties in the DR you can visit.


1 of 1 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
2.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: CT
Age: 55-64
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

August 19, 2014
Birthday

only complaints was the bed it was not comfortable at all very hard. the team that harassed you the entire trip to come to a presentation. all in all I enjoy my stay and I would stay again but I would defiantly need a better bed.


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
1.0
User Image

From: Houston Tx
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

August 1, 2014
Humidddddd

The resort was nice but bigger than I thought. The adult only was 200+ rooms but was connected to the family side of 800+ rooms. The food was good for the most part but the air conditioning went out a couple of times which made it miserable in July. I also did not like them trying to sell me a membership after telling me they wouldn't. The staff was great. The pools were good but the beach was full of seaweed and smelled. The shopping trip shuttle is a must. You get to watch them make cigars, chocolate, and rum with lots of free samples. Great Time. Over-all a good vacation and would do it again at a different time of year.


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: tennessee
Age: 55-64
Travel: 3-6 trips/year