All

Catalonia Royal Bavaro Reviews

Caribbean | Dominican Republic - Punta Cana Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 59 Reviews
Value
 
4.2
Service
 
4.1
Beaches & Pools
 
4.3
Dining Options
 
3.8
Room Comfort
 
3.9
4 out of 5
"The hotel has 7 restaurants for both resorts but open only 3 or 4 each day. The surcharge for lobster is not fair because the grill lobster was terrible. I ordered it but had only one bite." – NHHN
54 out of 68 (79%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
party on the beach party in the pool

All Catalonia Royal Bavaro Customer Reviews

1-10 of 59 reviews. Sort by
July 23, 2014
Everything was PERFECT until...

We stayed at the Catalonia Royal Bavaro for 8 days.. It was gorgeous, landscaping was spot on and well maintained, food service and bar service was great.. Overall everyone was extremely helpful and kind.. The beach was immaculate, gorgeous too of course.. The restaurants were nice, good atmosphere, food was for the most part ok. We would recommend the Japanese restaurant on the family side.. I would NOT recommend the buffet restaurant on the adult only side, (we got sick there once from eating the fried eggs).. Overall the adult only side was awesome, just a great trip.. UNTIL... We came back to our room to get ready for dinner on our second to last night there.. A leak had started on our ceiling, (we stayed on the first level junior suite.. I recommend the 2nd level for any type of room, less musty smelling..) So the leak got worse and worse... we called the front desk 2 times to send servicemen over to fix it.. By the time they showed up it was dinner time and our room had a small lake in it.. Luckily no water got onto our stuff really, but still it sucked... The servicemen looked at our ceiling and then went directly upstairs to see the source of it.. They didn't leave a bucket to catch the STILL RAINING water in our room.. Not so nice of them.. They completely disappeared and worked on the problem upstairs, (someone left their massive Jacuzzi tub on and left it running for hrs probably). Basically we were forgotten, we waited for about an hour, (still raining), and no one from the concierge called to check on us, even though they definitely knew of this situation since I spoke with the manager DIRECTLY from the beginning to report this..) I had to call an initiate the changing of our room, they could not comp us something nicer so they had a bell boy come and show us 3 rooms to pick from.. One of those 3 rooms actually ALSO had a leaking ceiling as well, I just had to laugh at this point... We finally piked our room, it was the same style as our orignal room but just on the next floor up.. We had to pack up during the raining in our room.. The floors are all tiled so it was extremely slippery and dangerous.. Still no management called to see if they can help, or if we needed anything... like a BUCKET perhaps?! We tried to not let this ruin our second to last night there, since the rest of our trip was perfect.. I kept getting the runaround when trying to get a hold of a manager at the front desk so I decided to jus deal with it at checkout time... We wanted to be at the fron desk a half hour early for our checkout in order to get this resolved, (comp'ed a night... something...) but the bell boy was a half hour late in picking us up that morning... (good thing we called over and over or else we could have missed our ride to the airport!) At this point i am livid, I get to the front desk, retell this whole scenario for the 5th time.. our ride arrives and we have no time to wait for this non-existent manager... I had to pay $50 extra for a few charges that I had made to the room, which I was kindly asking and insisting that they waive since they ruined one of our precious and expensive nights on vacation... They said they could not because they were not a manage and yada yada yada... I could not keep our ride waiting any longer sooo I had to pay, wrote up a complaint which they said they would contact me about asap.. SURPRISE they haven't.. I am also waiting for a call back from Cheap Caribbean about this, since the resort was of no help... Meanwhile at the front desk we overheard a couple next to us, same situation actually... And they received 20% off of their entire stay... Just not fair that we got swept under the rug and soooo poorly treated in a situation that could have EASILY been resolved and fixed on the spot.. I so did not want to leave on a sore note like this, but we paid A LOT of money to be ignored.. Also, someone called our NEW room on our last night to inquire about any suggestions we may have on how to improve anything.. I retold all of this and in the midst of saying "I would improve your customer service/management of this place" the lady says " OK thanks bye." and literally hangs up on me.. I guess they only want to hear good things??! Basically our situation was semi unique, if nothing goes wrong with your room you will have an amazing time here.. I wish they just had better customer service management..


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: NY
Age: 25-34

July 23, 2014
Great time at Catalonia Royal Bavaro in Dom Rep

Visited the Dom Rep in June for the second time and again stayed at the Catalonia Royal Bavaro. We had a great time the first time so we decided to return. Everything was wonderful ! Rooms are spacious, clean, and we received an up-grade without asking. The two pools are clean with plenty of chairs and shade to lie in. The infinity pool overlooks the beach. The beach area is our favorite. Pinkish sand with palm trees right on the water - lots of chairs and umbrellas for your comfort. We bought our own snorkels and did that off the beach each day. Lots of tropical fish to see without paying for a tour! The Tappas restaurant was really nice - dine at night by the pool with a fountaiin - very romantic and the food is excellent. The lobby restaurant is great for breakfast with a huge buffett each morning. For lunch we usually hit Sea Blue down by the beach. Excellent food. This resort is adult only but only a short walk or golf cart ride away is the sister resort with more restaurants and activities to choose from. The Italian and Steakhouse restaurants were very good, but the Mexican one was outstanding!!! We went back there twice. Service at the resort, beach, and restaurants was excellent.


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Florida
Age: 55-64
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

July 16, 2014
ridiculous resort

They call this an adult resort but there is nothing for adults to do but lay on mildew lounges and run into a seaweed infested beach.....If you want to have anything such as fun, you'll have to pay extra to do it off of the resort or go next door to the sister resort that has plenty of kids running around to do so. It was not worth the money in any way, the food in almost all of the restaurant were terrible. If you wanted something good to eat you would have to eat pizza all day. For that was the only thing worth while to eat. If it was for being with my family this 7 day trip would've been a nightmare for me!


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 1
Value
 
1.0
Service
 
1.0
Beaches & Pools
 
1.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
1.0
User Image

From: MD
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

July 16, 2014
anniversary

wonderful! so relaxing the people were very friendly and warm food and service great beautiful beach will definitely go back!


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: long island ny
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

July 8, 2014
My Best Vacation EVER

I was very doubtful about this vacation. I went with an open mind but I was totally blown away. The service, the food, the entertainment, the people were just amazing.


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: New York
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

June 25, 2014
Great fun in the sun

Went with a group of 8 moms and 8 daughters....Still don't know who had the better time!


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Natick,Ma
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

June 24, 2014
great getaway

we had a great trip and enjoyed the resort. The service was excellent, the food very good, and the beaches and pools were beautiful. Some of the activities I would rate as only fair, such as Tennis and Golf, though available (tennis is free), they are certainly not the focus of the resort as you are pretty much on your own (which can actually be nice on a golf course). The tennis courts are not maintained very well, but again, they are there to use. Our best night was the beach barbeque at Sea Blue...excellent food and dancing on the beach. The "club" at night is not much of anything, but the daytimes were so busy with sun and fun that it was not something we were looking for after dinner, the show, and a fw cocktails in one of the may lounges. Cheap Caribbean as a service provider was also very attentive to our needs and made things like transportation to/from the airport easy.


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: boston,ma
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

June 24, 2014
Paradise at a great value

Overall, my boyfriend and I LOVED this place and had a great time! We were all the way in Villa 19, which is the furthest away from the lobby and main pool. However, it's the closest to the beach, which was important to us. It was a newer building and was very well appointed. House keeping kept it spotless and were always nice when we had to interrupt them. The beach was beautiful but it was a bit small and intimate, which was fine for us. That's what we were looking for. Be warned, like all resorts- you'll have to get up and play the towel game if you want a good spot on the beach. If you get up and take your stuff out by 7:00am, you'll get a great spot. Sea weed constantly washes up on the shores (a sign of healthy coral reefs), but the workers sweep it up and clean it all day long. It really was amazing how hard they all work to make your vacation perfect. If you want a bigger beach with less sea weed and more chairs, go next door. It has a huge beach, but it was a bit loud for us.On the adult side, the water was clear and blue with great snorkeling. They provide masks but not flippers, so bring your own if you want them. While on the beach, there are two bars close by and servers come by quite a bit even on the beach. Tipping will help, so please take care of these hard working people. A single dollar bill goes a long way even with multiple drinks. As for the food, we tried CaTa Tapas the first night and had a poor experience. The server recommended the ribs, but they were terrible. Perhaps it's because I'm a southerner and we know our ribs or perhaps they only had little skimpy ones left since we ate late, but they were burnt and had barely any meat. Happily though, this was the only poor dining experience we had. Thasalla is amazing! Lunch and dinner here was great! The Churrasco beef was hands down the best steak I've had in years. They are small though, so both my boyfriend and I ordered two each. Sea Blue had decent snack type lunches, and their dinner was great. I had the veal- oh my, it was great! The pizza place beside the pool has great pizzas and calzones during the day and really good Thai food at night. We ate on the other side, but other than the breakfast buffets, it really couldn't measure up. You will have people constantly try to get you to take tours for whatever or to do excursions. We just always told them no thanks and didn't let them really intrude too much on our vacation. We had to deal with lost luggage too, and the concierge took charge since we had a language barrier to deal with. She had it delivered to our room and everything. I've been to Jamaica to high dollar resorts and to Mexico to comparably priced resorts, and I think this place is hands down a great value and makes for a wonderful vacation. It was worth every penny and then some.


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Knoxville, TN
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

June 20, 2014
June 2014

We were disappointed in the resort as far as communication not because of the language but information. We had the most difficulty at front desk not giving us information about the days or even the week ahead events. Never asking us to upgrade rooms or services. The Wait and Bar staff were incredible very fun and friendly. The food seclection was common We expected a bit more tropical, Watermelon, Pineapple and Cantaloupe were the only fruit selections we saw. The weather was great never saw a bug and just a small shower so we would recommend early June before the storms start to kick up. We would skip this resort in the future only because there was no WOW!!!


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: SW Florida
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

June 20, 2014
Great Place for the Price

Me and my boyfriend we here for a week and we loved it. Staying at this resort you can go to the sister resort as well, but we felt the pools and dining options were better on our side. The other side had more places to eat but we felt the quality of food on our side was better. I wish they had more options for breakfast that was our major complaint. But aside from that the staff was nice and helpful, it was nice and relaxing, all in all great trip for the price i feel we got our money worth for our trip!


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Cleveland, OH
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year