All

Catalonia Riviera Maya All-Inclusive Reviews

Mexico | Mexico - Riviera Maya Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 419 Reviews
Value
 
4.3
Service
 
4.2
Beaches & Pools
 
4.1
Dining Options
 
3.8
Room Comfort
 
3.9
4.1 out of 5
"A/C was not working for 2 days in alot of main buildings not all rooms have fans over the beds. Staff was v nice. Room was clean.food was good 1 hour wait for some places but buffet was good and fast." – spike166
396 out of 484 (82%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Hotel Grouds View from room beach Privledged Beach Plenty of chairs And A Little Music beach view from room daily entertainment Beautiful view from our balcony. From the pool facing the hotels entrance At the Sports Bar Wonderful snorkeling area! One of the Pools amazing white sandy beaches Pool Front view of Resort Newlyweds by the cabanas Pool view Pool at night time 5 Star Hotel Elevator! A great view! What you see while sitting on Privledhed beach Open air buffet view from 7033 Beach View View of the hotel from the ocean. the view doesn't get much better than this! Dolphin Discovery Hotel Catalonia Riviera Maya Private terrace to our suite hotel rooms Romantic Dinner Dirt Dishes! Beautiful Pool! Good Food The newlyweds on the beach Swimming lagoon at the resort View from the Terrace Beach at night View while rooftop dining! View from balcony Sunrise Catolonia Riviera Maya

All Catalonia Riviera Maya All-Inclusive Customer Reviews

1-10 of 419 reviews. Sort by
July 20, 2012
Great Value & Lots of Fun

This was my first stay at Hotel Catalonia and in Puerto Aventuras altogether. It was a girls' trip and we wanted a good beach, good snorkeling from the hotel, and decent food. This resort turned out to be a GREAT choice for us! The beach options here are terrific. One section has chairs down on the sand that goes right into the ocean. Another section has chairs along a boardwalk that is above the ocean, and another section has chairs along a lagoon just off the ocean, where it's extremely safe and easy to swim, snorkel, and feed the fish that are numerous there. One area is all 'ocean noise' and another is closer to the pool where you can hear the music and the staff offering activities. The pools are very nice and have safe, shallow areas where children can swim and adults can lie in the shallow water. The activities staff do a fabulous job of providing plenty of optional games and entertainment, and they stick to the activities schedule, do everything on time as planned, and have a great variety of options. We took archery lessons one day, did water aerobics, salsa and merengue lessons, and played in a ping pong tournament. They also have free water activities such as kayaks you can take out for an hour at a time in the lagoon (which is a much cooler water tour than it would appear from standing on shore at the hotel - I highly recommend it), a captain-led catamaran ride for up to 2 or 3 people at a time, which is 20 minutes out into the ocean, and the only cost is an optional tip to the captain. This was REALLY fun and a great way to see how gorgeous the Caribbean is up close. You just have to get on that day's schedule first thing in the morning. The lifeguards are friendly and helpful if you are nice to them, and one of them took me out snorkeling three different times. This was a highlight for me, and I definitely would not have gone out as far or as long as we did by myself, but felt very comfortable doing so with a lifeguard by my side. The current was strong and the waves were a little challenging, but even with my mediocre swimming skills and no life jacket, I managed to have three wonderful snorkeling excursions right from the hotel beach. You can also take out bikes from the hotel and ride around the gated community of Puerto Aventuras. There's a marina there, and they do 'Dolphin Adventures' that you can watch from right in the middle of town. It's extremely safe to walk, run, or ride a bike around Puerto Aventuras. I felt safer there than I do in my own neighborhood in smalltown Kentucky. The nightly shows range from decent to terrific, but it's always impressive to see the activities staff giving it their all on stage at night after working out in the sun entertaining guests at the pool all day long. They are truly amazing. The International Show, Mexican Show, and the Lion King show are all definitely worth seeing! The disco on the property is open every night at 11pm, and if you just want to dance and have a drink, it's fine. If you want a big-time club scene, you can cab it to Playa del Carmen ($22 USD each way). The food at the hotel was better than expected, based on our stays at other All-inclusives in Mexico. The buffet was extremely varied, offering Mexican food, sandwiches, seafood, chicken, and pizza everyday, among other special dishes. The fresh fruit was delicious - some of the best cantaloupe and watermelon I've ever had. Everything I tried was very good - even the pizza! They have fresh guacamole and homemade tortilla chips at all meals and in the 'snack bar' near the pool at all times. I'm not a big drinker, but the few drinks I had tasted just fine to me. I didn't hear anyone complaining about the bar or the drinks. The sit-down restaurants were a nice change of atmosphere from the buffet, but I honestly don't believe the food was of any higher quality or better prepared in the sit-downs than it was at the buffet. If you eat at a sit-down, be prepared to wait for a table and for the service to take a long time. It's not the thing to do for dinner if you are in a rush for any reason.The Creperie (an ice cream/crepe outdoor table-service restaurant upstairs near the sit-down restaurants) is a must-visit for dinner and dessert - it's wonderful and rooftop dining over the ocean is just really cool. There are two Catalonia resorts here technically (Riviera Maya and Yucatan), but they are on the same property, and we checked into one and were given a room in the other. It seems like RM is the nicer one nad Yucatan is the more low-end one, from what we could tell. They definitely operate as one single property. We booked the least expensive room available on CheapCaribbean and they put us in what had to be the lowest-end room they had. We walked past all these nice rooms and suites in the 'upgrade section' and then got to our room, which was in the hotel section with the broken elevator, so we had to walk one flight of stairs to get to our room. The room itself was just okay - not new or fancy AT ALL. The bathroom fixtures and walls were old and worn out, and the room was very basic. But it was clean and everything was functional, so we were fine with it. If we had paid any more or had I needed to spend more time in the room, I would have been dissatisfied with the room. The cleaning service was terrific (as it always is in Mexico - they are so much cleaner there than we are in the U.S.!) and our housekeeper left us an animal made out of towels everyday, even in the 'low-rent' section of the hotel. :-) Two recommendations: 1) Don't buy excursions AT the hotel - buy them in Playa del Carmen or online before you go if you want to get a decent price. All the bus excursions are on the same busses - they are just sold by different tour salespeople who mark them up at their own discretion. We paid $60 for an all-day bus trip to Chichen Itza, and if we had bought the exact same tour from the guy in the hotel lobby, it would have been $109. 2) Buy your airport shuttle service online before you go. Cancun Shuttle is the airport's official service and I strongly recommend it. Buying it online BEFORE you go on your trip will ensure that you get a much better price and that you aren't forced into some crazy high-priced shared transportation once you land and get into the chaos of the ground transportation area at the Cancun Airport. Our experience proved them to be very professional, they provided detailed documentation and instructions, the vehicles were very nice, it was private (not shared), and they were right on time. It was WAY better than any taxi service I've ever had in the U.S.


155 of 158 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Lexington, Kentucky
Age: 35-44
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

November 8, 2011
We didn't want to leave!

My wife and I stayed here for our honeymoon 10/25-10/31/2011. This was our first time staying in an 'all inclusive' resort. We didnt know what to expect after only having seen pictures and reading reviews. We chose this resort because of the reviews truthfully. We were blown away by the kindness that we met in the olympus tours representatives that shuttled us from the airport to the resort. They were so kind and helpful. We were comforted by them as we were in a strange place. At the resort, ALL of the staff were so nice. We were not hounded or pressured to leave tips, it was even discouraged. The food was good. There was plenty variety to choose from. However, even with being very careful, we both still had bouts of diarrhea throughout the week. However, it was never bad enough that some anti-diarrhea meds couldnt handle. It also never kept us from leaving th room and enjoyinh ourselves. The water served in the restaraunts is bottled water so dont be scared to drink it. Just keep in mind that they cook with different spices, foods, etc than most americans are used to so expect your tummy to disagree a bit. The other vacationers there were couples and families, not very many young college partiers as we expected. The atmosphere was very laid back and calm. We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves the entire week. Hurricane Rina stopped in for a visit during our stay and we were astonished at the level of planning and professionalism the staff had during the preparation before her arrival. You could tell that they have been through these several times and are pros at handling it with all th guests. We felt very safe and cared for. DO ABSOLUTELY stay in the priveliged rooms! I promise you that if you really do the math, you will see that it doesnt cost much more to upgrade. It is absolutely worth every penny. We stayed in the suite and 'wow' was all we could say on our arrival. We heard from other guests that the standard rooms are very subpar. The resort is about 20-25 minutes from Playa Del Carmen, the closest large city. They tell us its only 15 buts its not. Theres a very popular place in the city that they call 5th Avenue. Its their version of New York City. A truley must-see. Its a great place for souveneir shopping. But keep in mind, its all very over-priced and there is hasseling. The resort is located inside Puerta Aventuras which is a gated community and very safe. You can feel at ease going anywhere inside the community. DO eat at the Japanese restaraunt in the resort. DONT eat their dessert though. DO eat at the Italian restaraunt. DO snorkel and kayak at the resort. If you get the priveliged rooms, you get to do these for free everyday. DO bring some water shoes with you if you plan to swim in the ocean. It is very rocky once you leave the sand and begin entering the water and more than likely your feet will get cut without them. I highly recommend this resort. We had a wonderful time and are already planning our next visit and bringing family with us. You wont want to leave!


100 of 104 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image
Top 100 Contributor
From: Cary, NC
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

February 9, 2016
Honeymoon Trip

We recently stayed at Catalonia for our honeymoon in January. We pre-paid for the upgraded honeymoon suite and it is was well worth it! You can tell the workers here work very hard to keep their grounds maintained and clean. The pictures for this website don't do this place justice! There are 5 pools, 2 with swim up bars and the beach is beautiful. They have activities everyday by the pool which are engaging and entertaining. They discourage savings loungers by the pool, but we saw people get up very early and place their towels down on the best spots and not come back for hours, so you might as well do the same. They do try to push you to see their presentation, which got to be a bit annoying but not enough to ruin our trip. We loved Catalonia and had an amazing time. I read a lot of reviews that the beach had tons of seaweed. We never saw any seaweed the entire 11 days we were there! The buffets are buffets..its all inclusive so people really shouldn't complain too much. It's food and they do have other restaurants that you can eat dinner at, they don't take reservations and give you a very long wait time, but we never had to actually wait that long let alone longer then 20 minutes. We would definitely return.


16 of 16 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Minneapolis, MN
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

July 29, 2012
We would go back in a minute

This resort is excellent for the money !! Upon arrival in Cancun the transfer company was easy to find after the long walk from the gate.(Olympus)Check in was very easy and we got the room we desired.(Two Queen Beds) Our room had a balcony overlooking the pool and a little far away the sea. NO refrigerator with the standard room.!!! Ask for hangers as soon as you arrive if more are needed. The buffet food was delicious and the bar service was great. Try the steakhouse, we went two times. The beach does have many rocks so PLEASE take shoes to walk on the beach and in the water. The pools were clean and the staff always cleaning the pool area. A lot of walking as any big resort. The staff was friendly and always willing to please their guests. This hotel is located with in walking distance to the Dolphin Discovery (swim with the dolphins) shopping, (drug store, gifts etc) restaurants and day fishing cruises. If any items needed you can save money by taking the 15 minute walk instead of paying the high prices in the hotel shops. The hotel offers NO transportation to Playa but the cab is only $20.00 each way or take the local bus for a few dollars which you can catch outside the compound. Very good security getting inside the compound area, all cars are checked upon arriving.( A little walk to the compound entrance so we took a cab and then got the public van/bus to Playa) The grounds are beautiful, the room was clean and the food as mentioned very good. The shows in the theatre were very good, try at least one.


23 of 24 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Florida
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

April 6, 2012
Ultra-relaxing experience!

-very attentive staff -detail-oriented housekeeping -well-kept grounds and amenities -amazing food options: japanese, ilatian, multiple buffets, dessert-only buffet, and so on... -very close to: dolphin encounters, parasailing ventures, jet-ski rental, etc. well worth the price, amazing experience overall.


28 of 30 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image
Top 1000 Contributor
From: Auburn, AL
Age: 19-24
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

December 7, 2015
Thanksgiving in Mexico

Vacationing in Mexico in November for Thanksgiving was perfect timing. The weather was absolutely perfect! The Catalonia Riviera Maya was a very nice resort. The facilities were excellent with several amazing pools, friendly staff, a beautiful spa and some pretty great restaurants for dinner. I am happy with our decision to vacation there and would give it a 7/10. Some things that we were disappointed about from our vacation were the constant "invitation" for a special breakfast/lunch: ie. come to our hour long sales pitch to try to get you to upgrade to the "privileged" side of the resort. They actually call it that. They are non stop and ask to talk to you every time you walk by. There is also a "privileged" part of the beach that we couldn't use which was very annoying as we were asked to move to the other side that doesn't have as comfortable seating. A couple of other things that were disappointing were the ants in our bathroom. They were everywhere, every day. We were constantly wiping ants off the sink, toilet, shower and our toiletries.The buffet breakfast & lunch were below average. My family is not picky at all and we were all unhappy with the food. There were several things about the resort that we loved. The resort itself was beautiful, clean and very well maintained. The staff always was super friendly and helpful. Every employee that we encountered, from the first aid workers, to the cashiers at the gift shops, to the wait staff, were all super nice. We got a punch card for dinners at the 4 nicer restaurants. The meals there were fantastic! The habachi grill was our favorite! The pools were sparkly and clean. We never felt crowded at all. I hope this review helps you make your decision. I know deciding for myself took hours, as there are so many resorts to choose from.


13 of 13 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: St. Louis, Missouri
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

July 9, 2012
A relaxing vacation

Having never taken an all inclusive vacation before, I wasn't sure what to expect. I have taken cruises before and like waking up at a different port each day so I wasn't sure if I would like spending the whole week in one place. I did indeed enjoy the Catalonia resort. It wasn't a 5 star hotel but had most amenities that we enjoyed all week. It wasn't crowded for the time of year we were there, there were no lines of people at any time for anything. There were plenty of chairs under the thatched umbrellas on the waterfront with amazing views of the water. It is not a beach front resort although there was a nice sandy area that gave the illusion of a beach and the swimming area was perfect for enjoying the waves and the week we were there, there was a constant breeze which was very refreshing. The rocky areas provided a place for coral to grow therefore there was a variety of fish to observe while snorkeling, even a baracuda or two that would sneak up on you and observe you!. My husband spent a lot of time snorkeling and loved it. There were excursions provided for additional charges for the Cancun area and Mayan ruins. We zip lined, rappelled and swam in a cave before exploring the ruins. It was a great day!. The spa was amazing and we took advantage of the free Hydrotherapy, and "splurged" on a 25 min massage which ended the week on a very relaxing note. We spent the little extra to have a privileged room(not the suite) and if you are in building 7 rooms 12,13,22,23,32,or33 you will have the most amazing views of the resort.The privileged rooms are comfortable, with robes, slippers, free wifii and turn down service most f the time. We found the Mercado restaurant on Wednesday morning and realized it has the same buffet items as the open air(birds enjoyed this restaurant) buffet by the pools except the Mercado is air conditioned and much quieter. The Japanese Restaurant was very good as well as the Bellavista(Itallian cuisine) as well as the Terrace(Spanish cuisine). I wasn't impressed with the steakhouse(the snack bar by day, steakhouse by night) but other people found it the best of the week. Leo was an amazing bar tender and he looked out for us all week. We would stay at the Catalonia again. It was a smaller resort in that I think that whatever room you have, you don't feel the need for a golf cart to get you to the various restaurants or pools, everything is a 5 min or less walk. We also used airport transfers arranged by Cheap Caribbean and based on the fact the resort was 1 hour from the airport we felt it was worth the money. Enjoy!!

view from 7033 Plenty of chairs
12 of 12 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Eastern NC
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

February 28, 2013
Grest get away

This was our 25 anniversary trip. We arrived early and our room was not yet ready. they checked us in and said we had avout an hour to kill. we decided to grab a bit to eat. We Ate at the buffet and were pleased. Our room was nicely appointed and clean as a whistle. The rest of our vacation was fantastic. The food was top notch and the drinks were bottomless. I have read some reviews that said the service was sub par. Don't believe them. If we had to ask for something the staff bent over backwards to accomidate us. Everyboby always had a smile on their face. The wait staff was always there. The grounds were unbeilvably clean. there was always someone cleaning something. If i had to say something bad about the resort i woiuld mention the beach. It was nice but not built for long walks. I would not hesitate to go back and would recommend this to anyone


12 of 12 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Charlton Massachusetts
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

November 9, 2011
awesome!!!

First vacation with my wife. we had a great time and would definately recomend this to anyone. food was great service was great just everything about this resort was great. we just escaped the hurricane which is probably the best part. all staff members were friendly. definately worth the money, upgrade to a suite!!! it is very nice. there were many options for food, japenese, mexican, steakhouse, italian, spanish and then the buffets. i think there were 7 bars a night club all around this was something that i would definately recomend you to try.


11 of 11 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: San Diego, CA / Hudsonville MI
Age: 19-24
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

November 27, 2012
Great Trip, But Double Check Your Airline

The resort was great and I can't say enough about the staff! From the front desk check in to the bars and restaurants (all of which were very assessable), we were greeted warmly and helpfully! The rooms were comfortable and clean and we found upgrading your room to the midrange was well worth it! The beach beautiful with soft white sand, plenty of chairs and crystal clear water! There were also really pretty fish swimming with you, so I recommend brining a snorkel! We did the Chi Chenitza excursion and had a fantastic time! The guide was engaging, knowledgable and entertaining! Don't be discouraged by the length of the trip it's well worth it! My only warning is that you double check the airline included in your package! DO NOT FLY SPIRIT AIRLINES!! My husband and I as well as everyone of our fellow travelers, renamed this joke of an airline 'Break Your Spirit Airlines'! The worst customer service I've ever experienced; canceled flights, $100 carrie-on luggage fees and seats so close together my 5,10' husband was kissing his knees!


11 of 11 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Denver, Co
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year