All

Catalonia Riviera Maya All-Inclusive Reviews

Mexico | Mexico - Riviera Maya Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 447 Reviews
Value
 
4.3
Service
 
4.3
Beaches & Pools
 
4.1
Dining Options
 
3.8
Room Comfort
 
3.9
4.1 out of 5
"the resort is was great. loved that it was family oriented. would definitely take my family back" – blanca
427 out of 516 (83%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Beach View At the Sports Bar One of the Pools Pool at night time The newlyweds on the beach View while rooftop dining! Beach at night Pool view Dolphin Discovery the view doesn't get much better than this! Hotel Catalonia Riviera Maya A great view! Plenty of chairs Pool Front view of Resort View outside of our balcony Hotel Grouds Sunrise Good Food Catolonia Riviera Maya Private terrace to our suite Wonderful snorkeling area! View of the hotel from the ocean. Open air buffet view from 7033 And A Little Music Beautiful Pool! amazing white sandy beaches View from the Terrace Hawk Family Dirt Dishes! Swimming lagoon at the resort 5 Star Hotel Elevator! Beautiful view from our balcony. Romantic Dinner hotel rooms daily entertainment view from room From the pool facing the hotels entrance beach View from room View from balcony Newlyweds by the cabanas Privledged Beach beach Welcome package What you see while sitting on Privledhed beach

All Catalonia Riviera Maya All-Inclusive Customer Reviews

1-10 of 447 reviews. Sort by
July 20, 2012
Great Value & Lots of Fun

This was my first stay at Hotel Catalonia and in Puerto Aventuras altogether. It was a girls' trip and we wanted a good beach, good snorkeling from the hotel, and decent food. This resort turned out to be a GREAT choice for us! The beach options here are terrific. One section has chairs down on the sand that goes right into the ocean. Another section has chairs along a boardwalk that is above the ocean, and another section has chairs along a lagoon just off the ocean, where it's extremely safe and easy to swim, snorkel, and feed the fish that are numerous there. One area is all 'ocean noise' and another is closer to the pool where you can hear the music and the staff offering activities. The pools are very nice and have safe, shallow areas where children can swim and adults can lie in the shallow water. The activities staff do a fabulous job of providing plenty of optional games and entertainment, and they stick to the activities schedule, do everything on time as planned, and have a great variety of options. We took archery lessons one day, did water aerobics, salsa and merengue lessons, and played in a ping pong tournament. They also have free water activities such as kayaks you can take out for an hour at a time in the lagoon (which is a much cooler water tour than it would appear from standing on shore at the hotel - I highly recommend it), a captain-led catamaran ride for up to 2 or 3 people at a time, which is 20 minutes out into the ocean, and the only cost is an optional tip to the captain. This was REALLY fun and a great way to see how gorgeous the Caribbean is up close. You just have to get on that day's schedule first thing in the morning. The lifeguards are friendly and helpful if you are nice to them, and one of them took me out snorkeling three different times. This was a highlight for me, and I definitely would not have gone out as far or as long as we did by myself, but felt very comfortable doing so with a lifeguard by my side. The current was strong and the waves were a little challenging, but even with my mediocre swimming skills and no life jacket, I managed to have three wonderful snorkeling excursions right from the hotel beach. You can also take out bikes from the hotel and ride around the gated community of Puerto Aventuras. There's a marina there, and they do 'Dolphin Adventures' that you can watch from right in the middle of town. It's extremely safe to walk, run, or ride a bike around Puerto Aventuras. I felt safer there than I do in my own neighborhood in smalltown Kentucky. The nightly shows range from decent to terrific, but it's always impressive to see the activities staff giving it their all on stage at night after working out in the sun entertaining guests at the pool all day long. They are truly amazing. The International Show, Mexican Show, and the Lion King show are all definitely worth seeing! The disco on the property is open every night at 11pm, and if you just want to dance and have a drink, it's fine. If you want a big-time club scene, you can cab it to Playa del Carmen ($22 USD each way). The food at the hotel was better than expected, based on our stays at other All-inclusives in Mexico. The buffet was extremely varied, offering Mexican food, sandwiches, seafood, chicken, and pizza everyday, among other special dishes. The fresh fruit was delicious - some of the best cantaloupe and watermelon I've ever had. Everything I tried was very good - even the pizza! They have fresh guacamole and homemade tortilla chips at all meals and in the 'snack bar' near the pool at all times. I'm not a big drinker, but the few drinks I had tasted just fine to me. I didn't hear anyone complaining about the bar or the drinks. The sit-down restaurants were a nice change of atmosphere from the buffet, but I honestly don't believe the food was of any higher quality or better prepared in the sit-downs than it was at the buffet. If you eat at a sit-down, be prepared to wait for a table and for the service to take a long time. It's not the thing to do for dinner if you are in a rush for any reason.The Creperie (an ice cream/crepe outdoor table-service restaurant upstairs near the sit-down restaurants) is a must-visit for dinner and dessert - it's wonderful and rooftop dining over the ocean is just really cool. There are two Catalonia resorts here technically (Riviera Maya and Yucatan), but they are on the same property, and we checked into one and were given a room in the other. It seems like RM is the nicer one nad Yucatan is the more low-end one, from what we could tell. They definitely operate as one single property. We booked the least expensive room available on CheapCaribbean and they put us in what had to be the lowest-end room they had. We walked past all these nice rooms and suites in the 'upgrade section' and then got to our room, which was in the hotel section with the broken elevator, so we had to walk one flight of stairs to get to our room. The room itself was just okay - not new or fancy AT ALL. The bathroom fixtures and walls were old and worn out, and the room was very basic. But it was clean and everything was functional, so we were fine with it. If we had paid any more or had I needed to spend more time in the room, I would have been dissatisfied with the room. The cleaning service was terrific (as it always is in Mexico - they are so much cleaner there than we are in the U.S.!) and our housekeeper left us an animal made out of towels everyday, even in the 'low-rent' section of the hotel. :-) Two recommendations: 1) Don't buy excursions AT the hotel - buy them in Playa del Carmen or online before you go if you want to get a decent price. All the bus excursions are on the same busses - they are just sold by different tour salespeople who mark them up at their own discretion. We paid $60 for an all-day bus trip to Chichen Itza, and if we had bought the exact same tour from the guy in the hotel lobby, it would have been $109. 2) Buy your airport shuttle service online before you go. Cancun Shuttle is the airport's official service and I strongly recommend it. Buying it online BEFORE you go on your trip will ensure that you get a much better price and that you aren't forced into some crazy high-priced shared transportation once you land and get into the chaos of the ground transportation area at the Cancun Airport. Our experience proved them to be very professional, they provided detailed documentation and instructions, the vehicles were very nice, it was private (not shared), and they were right on time. It was WAY better than any taxi service I've ever had in the U.S.


157 of 160 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Lexington, Kentucky
Age: 35-44
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

November 8, 2011
We didn't want to leave!

My wife and I stayed here for our honeymoon 10/25-10/31/2011. This was our first time staying in an 'all inclusive' resort. We didnt know what to expect after only having seen pictures and reading reviews. We chose this resort because of the reviews truthfully. We were blown away by the kindness that we met in the olympus tours representatives that shuttled us from the airport to the resort. They were so kind and helpful. We were comforted by them as we were in a strange place. At the resort, ALL of the staff were so nice. We were not hounded or pressured to leave tips, it was even discouraged. The food was good. There was plenty variety to choose from. However, even with being very careful, we both still had bouts of diarrhea throughout the week. However, it was never bad enough that some anti-diarrhea meds couldnt handle. It also never kept us from leaving th room and enjoyinh ourselves. The water served in the restaraunts is bottled water so dont be scared to drink it. Just keep in mind that they cook with different spices, foods, etc than most americans are used to so expect your tummy to disagree a bit. The other vacationers there were couples and families, not very many young college partiers as we expected. The atmosphere was very laid back and calm. We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves the entire week. Hurricane Rina stopped in for a visit during our stay and we were astonished at the level of planning and professionalism the staff had during the preparation before her arrival. You could tell that they have been through these several times and are pros at handling it with all th guests. We felt very safe and cared for. DO ABSOLUTELY stay in the priveliged rooms! I promise you that if you really do the math, you will see that it doesnt cost much more to upgrade. It is absolutely worth every penny. We stayed in the suite and 'wow' was all we could say on our arrival. We heard from other guests that the standard rooms are very subpar. The resort is about 20-25 minutes from Playa Del Carmen, the closest large city. They tell us its only 15 buts its not. Theres a very popular place in the city that they call 5th Avenue. Its their version of New York City. A truley must-see. Its a great place for souveneir shopping. But keep in mind, its all very over-priced and there is hasseling. The resort is located inside Puerta Aventuras which is a gated community and very safe. You can feel at ease going anywhere inside the community. DO eat at the Japanese restaraunt in the resort. DONT eat their dessert though. DO eat at the Italian restaraunt. DO snorkel and kayak at the resort. If you get the priveliged rooms, you get to do these for free everyday. DO bring some water shoes with you if you plan to swim in the ocean. It is very rocky once you leave the sand and begin entering the water and more than likely your feet will get cut without them. I highly recommend this resort. We had a wonderful time and are already planning our next visit and bringing family with us. You wont want to leave!


100 of 104 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image
Top 100 Contributor
From: Cary, NC
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

July 29, 2012
We would go back in a minute

This resort is excellent for the money !! Upon arrival in Cancun the transfer company was easy to find after the long walk from the gate.(Olympus)Check in was very easy and we got the room we desired.(Two Queen Beds) Our room had a balcony overlooking the pool and a little far away the sea. NO refrigerator with the standard room.!!! Ask for hangers as soon as you arrive if more are needed. The buffet food was delicious and the bar service was great. Try the steakhouse, we went two times. The beach does have many rocks so PLEASE take shoes to walk on the beach and in the water. The pools were clean and the staff always cleaning the pool area. A lot of walking as any big resort. The staff was friendly and always willing to please their guests. This hotel is located with in walking distance to the Dolphin Discovery (swim with the dolphins) shopping, (drug store, gifts etc) restaurants and day fishing cruises. If any items needed you can save money by taking the 15 minute walk instead of paying the high prices in the hotel shops. The hotel offers NO transportation to Playa but the cab is only $20.00 each way or take the local bus for a few dollars which you can catch outside the compound. Very good security getting inside the compound area, all cars are checked upon arriving.( A little walk to the compound entrance so we took a cab and then got the public van/bus to Playa) The grounds are beautiful, the room was clean and the food as mentioned very good. The shows in the theatre were very good, try at least one.


24 of 25 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Florida
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

April 6, 2012
Ultra-relaxing experience!

-very attentive staff -detail-oriented housekeeping -well-kept grounds and amenities -amazing food options: japanese, ilatian, multiple buffets, dessert-only buffet, and so on... -very close to: dolphin encounters, parasailing ventures, jet-ski rental, etc. well worth the price, amazing experience overall.


30 of 32 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image
Top 1000 Contributor
From: Auburn, AL
Age: 19-24
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

February 28, 2013
Grest get away

This was our 25 anniversary trip. We arrived early and our room was not yet ready. they checked us in and said we had avout an hour to kill. we decided to grab a bit to eat. We Ate at the buffet and were pleased. Our room was nicely appointed and clean as a whistle. The rest of our vacation was fantastic. The food was top notch and the drinks were bottomless. I have read some reviews that said the service was sub par. Don't believe them. If we had to ask for something the staff bent over backwards to accomidate us. Everyboby always had a smile on their face. The wait staff was always there. The grounds were unbeilvably clean. there was always someone cleaning something. If i had to say something bad about the resort i woiuld mention the beach. It was nice but not built for long walks. I would not hesitate to go back and would recommend this to anyone


12 of 12 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Charlton Massachusetts
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

June 13, 2013
Great, but some notes

We went on this trip for our honeymoon for 7 days, and we loved it! It was our first all inclusive resort style vacation, so this review may not have the best perspective. There was a lot to do, and always was something going on, so we were never bored, but we were also able to relax and enjoy the sun as much as we wanted as well. We loved the resort's spa. The employees were very courteous and professional. The spa was kept very clean. We thought the pool in the spa would be warmer, but it did not seem to be different than the pools by the beach. I have read a lot of reviews about resorts watering down their drinks. They did not do this here! The drinks were GREAT! Here are some of our "complaints", but none of this really upset us. The rooms we stayed in were the "privileged" suites. There were hallways that seemed to resonate the noise. Doors closing and cleaning crews seemed loud inside the rooms. The rooms were equipped with air conditioners and dehumidifiers which were also noisy. The beach is short. Most of the water was full of shells, coral, and rock. Take water shoes!! There was a nice spot that was pure white sand, but lots of people were always there. The dinning seemed to have weird hours. Also the places seemed to open late, or were slow right at the start. We never had much of a wait, nor were they crowded. This was organized very well. If it rains, do not loose or break your umbrella! Ours broke, so we turned it in for a new one, and never got a replacement! We called several times, and all we were told is that they knew about it. We would definitely vacation here again! The crew was great, the place was kept very clean, and was a great overall experience for us.


12 of 12 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Pennsylvania
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

November 9, 2011
awesome!!!

First vacation with my wife. we had a great time and would definately recomend this to anyone. food was great service was great just everything about this resort was great. we just escaped the hurricane which is probably the best part. all staff members were friendly. definately worth the money, upgrade to a suite!!! it is very nice. there were many options for food, japenese, mexican, steakhouse, italian, spanish and then the buffets. i think there were 7 bars a night club all around this was something that i would definately recomend you to try.


11 of 11 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: San Diego, CA / Hudsonville MI
Age: 19-24
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

November 27, 2012
Great Trip, But Double Check Your Airline

The resort was great and I can't say enough about the staff! From the front desk check in to the bars and restaurants (all of which were very assessable), we were greeted warmly and helpfully! The rooms were comfortable and clean and we found upgrading your room to the midrange was well worth it! The beach beautiful with soft white sand, plenty of chairs and crystal clear water! There were also really pretty fish swimming with you, so I recommend brining a snorkel! We did the Chi Chenitza excursion and had a fantastic time! The guide was engaging, knowledgable and entertaining! Don't be discouraged by the length of the trip it's well worth it! My only warning is that you double check the airline included in your package! DO NOT FLY SPIRIT AIRLINES!! My husband and I as well as everyone of our fellow travelers, renamed this joke of an airline 'Break Your Spirit Airlines'! The worst customer service I've ever experienced; canceled flights, $100 carrie-on luggage fees and seats so close together my 5,10' husband was kissing his knees!


11 of 11 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Denver, Co
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

February 9, 2016
Honeymoon Trip

We recently stayed at Catalonia for our honeymoon in January. We pre-paid for the upgraded honeymoon suite and it is was well worth it! You can tell the workers here work very hard to keep their grounds maintained and clean. The pictures for this website don't do this place justice! There are 5 pools, 2 with swim up bars and the beach is beautiful. They have activities everyday by the pool which are engaging and entertaining. They discourage savings loungers by the pool, but we saw people get up very early and place their towels down on the best spots and not come back for hours, so you might as well do the same. They do try to push you to see their presentation, which got to be a bit annoying but not enough to ruin our trip. We loved Catalonia and had an amazing time. I read a lot of reviews that the beach had tons of seaweed. We never saw any seaweed the entire 11 days we were there! The buffets are buffets..its all inclusive so people really shouldn't complain too much. It's food and they do have other restaurants that you can eat dinner at, they don't take reservations and give you a very long wait time, but we never had to actually wait that long let alone longer then 20 minutes. We would definitely return.


16 of 17 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Minneapolis, MN
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

May 18, 2013

This was our honeymoon and first all inclusive trip- it was absolutely wonderful! Can't say enough good things. The resort was gorgeous and clean. Staff was extraordinarily friendly. Our room (privileged honeymoon suite) was very nice, cleaned twice a day, mini bar always stocked, and the extras that come with the upgraded room (couples massage, breakfast in bed, etc) are more than worth the small price difference. The food is not gourmet, and the drinks are rather weak, but these minor things did not damper our trip one bit. The beach is rocky, yes- but with watershoes or even flip flops, you won't notice. Besides, the water is crystal clear, the fish are plenty when snorkeling, and the landscape is paradise. We read reviews beforehand and were nervous that it might be a bust- but it was really a great resort for a great price, we're still daydreaming about it, and will definitely return!


10 of 10 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Nashville, TN
Age: 25-34