All

Catalonia Riviera Maya All-Inclusive Reviews

Mexico | Riviera Maya Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 304 Reviews
Value
 
4.2
Service
 
4.2
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.7
Room Comfort
 
3.9
4.1 out of 5
"A/C was not working for 2 days in alot of main buildings not all rooms have fans over the beds. Staff was v nice. Room was clean.food was good 1 hour wait for some places but buffet was good and fast." – spike166
287 out of 352 (82%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
And A Little Music From the pool facing the hotels entrance Beautiful view from our balcony. beach Front view of Resort View of the hotel from the ocean. Hotel Catalonia Riviera Maya daily entertainment Open air buffet Pool at night time View from the Terrace Dolphin Discovery Plenty of chairs Hotel Grouds the view doesn't get much better than this! One of the Pools View while rooftop dining! Catolonia Riviera Maya Beautiful Pool! Privledged Beach What you see while sitting on Privledhed beach A great view! view from 7033 view from room At the Sports Bar Pool view Wonderful snorkeling area! Good Food amazing white sandy beaches Beach View

All Catalonia Riviera Maya All-Inclusive Customer Reviews

91-100 of 304 reviews. Sort by
March 31, 2015
Privileged is misleading

Nice resort, excellent food including the buffet. Breakfest bacon was the best bacon I have ever tasted, and I have tasted alot of Bacon. The information was misleading on what is included in the "superior privileged" You do not get a private hot tub in your privileged room, you do get a daily replinished mini bar which includes 2 beers per day. I would recommend the resort, but be very careful of the wording with CheapCarribean and the Hotel around what the privileged really means


2 of 2 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Ashland MO.
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

April 3, 2015
Great resort to visit

overall our vacation at this resort was wonderful. Our room was clean and comfortable, but had a slight odor. checking in and out was quick and easy. the hotel's concierge was always trying to get us to go to presentations so be careful of that. cheap Carribeans rep on site was very helpful so I recommend doing all your dealings with them for excursions. the pools are beautiful and we had a great time in them. however, they are smaller than they appear in the pictures on the website.we had to put our towels on the pool chairs in the morning if we wanted a seat because they were all taken by 8 o'clock in the morning. we were able to go kayaking and swim in the ocean, but there was a lot of rocks and a lot of seaweed. the restaurants were okay. we were always able to find something we like to eat, but it was limited because of the types of food offered. we expected this going out of the country. We felt safe there because it was a gated community. Nobody was able to get in unless they had a good reason to be there. we recommend the Dolphin Discovery which is down the road but still within the gated community. also, we recommend that you upgrade your room to privileged because you get more restaurant options and other privileges. overall, we had a great time and would go back.


2 of 2 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Maine
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

May 29, 2015
good hotel

very good resort good dinning options, beach not so good many stone very good swimming pools


2 of 2 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Baltimore
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

June 1, 2015
Perfect Honeymoon

My wife and I returned this last week from our honeymoon, and I can honestly say that the Catalonia Riviera Maya was the perfect location for a honeymoon. We booked the Privileged Honeymoon package which came with fantastic amenities and an awesome room. The a la carte restaurants we went to were the Alebrejes, Bellevista, and the Terrance. All three provided us with three course meals that were excellently prepared. The buffets for breakfast and lunch were both very good. The snack bar by the pools was okay, but we preferred to go to the buffets anyways. The pools were always clean, partially because they closed the pools every night at 6:00 for cleaning. We wanted to night swim in the pools but there was not an opportunity for that. The ocean was beautiful but a little rocky. Bring water shoes or chacos and you can navigate the rocks just fine. CheapCaribbean made this process very easy and affordable. Thanks CheapCarribean and Catalonia Riviera Maya for making my honeymoon perfect.


2 of 2 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Texas
Age: 19-24
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

July 30, 2015
Vacation

My husband and I went to Mexico for the first time this summer 2015, we have never stayed at a resort before and found the experience to be very enjoyable. We both agree that the upgrade to the "privilege" suite was well worth the money. The room was spacious with a very comfortable bed, a large bathroom with built in closet for storage. The balcony also held a large soaking tub that was great to lounge in the evenings. But the best part about the upgrade was the dining options. Both my husband and myself really enjoy food. So upstairs every morning and at lunch we could go upstairs to the restaurants and one was always open for sit down breakfast and lunch, the day staff was exceptional and fun. We did not go to the buffet any day for meals. The restaurants at night are a first come first serve basis so to get in the good ones you need to get there early ie. the Japanese Hibachi which was delicious! Our least favorite was the Italian place because the food was bland. The pools were very nice we enjoyed having free reign of both hotels the Riviera Maya and the Yucatan, we found the Yucatan had the better pools and it also has the private privilege bar which was great and the day time bartenders are fun and good. There is a Marina close by within 5-10 minutes of walking time to see some local shops in a safe environment where you can haggle for souvenirs Also I would recommend to take the shuttle from the airport and back it makes your travel life so much easier. Although if you get in early rooms aren't ready till 3 pm so pack a suit to change in the bathroom otherwise you will be warm and bored till you can change. We also took a excursion with Caribbean Adventures and they were awesome!!! Sea turtles and the ruins at Tulum are very educational and super fun! The only negative comment I have about the hotel itself is they have tones of people walking around talking to you about a "time share" type sign up where basically the hotel has you join this exclusive club and you pay money to always have a room available to you and its " cheaper" cost for the rooms. We found the badgering to go to the lecture for 60-90 minutes to be annoying and unwanted. We were just looking to relax and they have a hard time taking no as an answer and all the guys in white shirts keep asking you about it. But all in all it was a great trip!


2 of 2 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Grove City, Ohio
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

August 15, 2015
Absolutely loved it!

The Catalonia Riviera Maya, in my opinion, was amazing! I was a bit nervous going at first after reading previous reviews of bad experiences, but I really don't understand how anyone could have a bad experience. My boyfriend and I went for four nights. The hotel was beautiful and clean, the service was great. The beach was beautiful, though I do recommend bringing swim shoes because it can be a bit rocky. Even so, it was beautiful, the sand was clean, and you see the workers constantly trying there hardest to clean the sea weed that washes up to shore. The pools were also very clean! My boyfriend and I were very pleases with the variety of different food opinions and all the different activitrs that we were able to do. The resort was a good combination of being able to "party" and also being able to relax. Overall, we had an amazing time and I would reccommend this resort!


2 of 2 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Wisconsin
Age: 19-24
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

November 7, 2012
This is not a "beach" resort

Although it is billed as a beach resort, the Catalonia Riviera Maya has no beach to speak of. Don't be fooled by the photos... They have used a retaining wall to create a sort of flat terrace, which is covered with sand. Beach chairs are jammed in, side-by-side. There is a tiny, man-made beach along side a mand-made lagoon, but the water is not particularly clean and the sand is not inviting. Food at the Catalonia is not great, even by resort standards. The "inclusive" aspect is somewhat misleading, as guests can only access one restaurant and the snack bar on a regular basis. You are given three coupons to use at the other restaurants over the course of a one-week stay; however, they do not take reservations at these restaurants and the night we tried to use our coupons, there were waits of 1- 1 1/2 hrs at at least two of the restaurants. When we were finally seated at the steak house (which is set up in the snack bar), we had a mediocre meal, which was hardly worth the 1 hour, 15 minute wait. I was traveling with a friend and we were looking for a relaxing vacation spot. The Catalonia Riviera Maya is not that: lots of young adults into the bar scene and families with young children running around everywhere. Let me just say that I have stayed at numerous family resorts in the Caribbean and elsewhere. This spot was especially noisy. I will say that the rooms are quite nice for a moderately priced hotel. No complaints there. On a somewhat comic note, although we had made it very clear that we were not a couple (2 women), after a long wait (several hours after the 3:00 check-in time) we were shown to a room with a big banner saying "Happy Anniversary!; a heart-shaped towel "scupture" and rose petals adorned one of the beds! The concierge was lovely, very helpful and sympathetic--although there was really nothing she could do to resolve our issues (noisy, no beach). Ultimately, we left the hotel within 24 hours and went to stay at the Azul Beach Hotel (another family resort), which was absolutley fantastic. In fact, in a way we have the Cataonia to thank for our relocation to what is truly one of the jewels of the Riviera Maya. We are already planning a return to the Azul Beach--as soon as possible!


3 of 4 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 2
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
1.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Providence, RI
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

August 17, 2012
Would not recommend

Terrible customer service. I am a very layed back person, but this place was rude, they lied about prices and made me pay more the last day. Had to call several times to get service. Beaches are all rocky, so wear water shoes!!! Beach are mean't for looking, not playing in. Screaming kids everywhere! night life is cheesy. They do not serve alcohol until 10-11am every morning. Drinks are served in plastic cups, no beach/pool service. If you want a cheap vacation to bring kids and expect to get cheap service and surrounding, this is your spot! I am willing to spend a $1000-$2000 more for a great experience! This was my first time and it was not a good one! Food is adequate. It's basically set up like a summer camp buffet! YUCK! DO NOT BRING NICE CLOTHES TO THIS RESORT!! There is not a single place to dress up. Denny's has classier service, just without the beach... i think I took it easy on this review...


4 of 7 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 2
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
1.0
Beaches & Pools
 
2.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
2.0
User Image

From: St. Louis
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

April 12, 2013
I thought the reservation held your room?

This was definitely the worst place we have ever experienced. After a lengthy check-in with the front desk, they informed me that they did not have a room and would be moving us to the Barcelo. NO - they would not be. I asked to speak with manager, but he/she was too busy to speak with us...huh? So we said we would go to lunch and come back. Well, when we came back they said they were upgrading us to Privilege Ocean View because they saw that I am a Destination Expert on Trip Advisor (I never mentioned it to them). I thought CheapCaribbean had more power than that? Apple customers do not get moved. Anyway, the resort was not very nice. The food was bad and the liquor is definitely watered down. That is the first time we have ever experienced watered down alcohol. The beach is pretty rocky. This is the first resort that we experienced the word NO. Usually, the staff at AIs say "No problem" or "It's a pleasure" or "Let me check" - never NO? We will not be returning here. Thankfully, on our third morning, they made an announcement at the pool that adults could move to Catalonia Royal Tuluum. Glad we jumped at the chance. CRT is a much nicer resort, great staff. The only problem is that they had the same watered down, poor alcohol selection. Other than that, CRT was wonderful.


3 of 5 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 1
Value
 
1.0
Service
 
2.0
Beaches & Pools
 
2.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Bloomfield Township, Michigan
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

May 30, 2012
First time All Incusive

Since this was our first time at an all inclusive resort, we weren't sure what to expect. All in all, this was a good experience and we would consider returning to this resort. Most of the personnel was very friendly. As with any place, there were a few service personnel that didn't seem to like their job. A couple of negatives... 1. When we checked in, we were given $40.00 in coupons to use at the spa, however when we made an appointment for a couples package we were told that we couldn't use these since this was already a "special". The particular package we chose was listed in their brochure, and made no mention of being on "special". 2. Our final night was Mexican night, so all the ala cart eateries were closed. Thus we did not get to use our voucher for the Terrace restaurant. 3. Long ride from the airport. (about an hour and 45 minutes due to other resort stops). On the good side. 1. No real "surprises". 2. Good food. 3. Great atmosphere. 4. Plenty of room to enjoy the pools, ocean, and scenery. 5. Good value. We would have like to see La Creparie open earlier in the day....:) Thank you for an enjoyable trip.


2 of 3 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Nashville, TN
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year