All

Catalonia Riviera Maya All-Inclusive Reviews

Mexico | Mexico - Riviera Maya Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 449 Reviews
Value
 
4.3
Service
 
4.3
Beaches & Pools
 
4.1
Dining Options
 
3.8
Room Comfort
 
3.9
4.1 out of 5
"Excellent service. Specialty restaurants were excellent. Buffet fair. Drinks good until they ran out of mint for my mojitos. No bacon at breakfast buffet. Overall good experience. Would go again." – Jcs1118
428 out of 518 (83%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Hawk Family Good Food hotel rooms 5 Star Hotel Elevator! Sunrise Open air buffet Romantic Dinner Hotel Grouds View from the Terrace Beautiful view from our balcony. Plenty of chairs Swimming lagoon at the resort Dirt Dishes! View while rooftop dining! The newlyweds on the beach View from room beach amazing white sandy beaches view from room Beautiful Pool! Welcome package Newlyweds by the cabanas beach Privledged Beach One of the Pools What you see while sitting on Privledhed beach From the pool facing the hotels entrance Beach at night Dolphin Discovery Hotel Catalonia Riviera Maya the view doesn't get much better than this! Pool at night time A great view! View of the hotel from the ocean. View outside of our balcony View from balcony daily entertainment Pool view Catolonia Riviera Maya Wonderful snorkeling area! And A Little Music Front view of Resort Pool At the Sports Bar Beach View Private terrace to our suite view from 7033

All Catalonia Riviera Maya All-Inclusive Customer Reviews

91-100 of 449 reviews. Sort by
August 7, 2011
Great family vacation

Very family friendly. We had a great time. Our room was very clean. The Ala Carte restaurants were good, especially the Japanese. The buffet was just average. We always found something to eat, but didn't care for a lot of the food on the buffet. The Creperie was fun for an evening dessert or coffee. The staff was very friendly. We had a little trouble with communication at times.. We had requested a roll away bed when we made the reservation, as we were travelling with our kids (ages 12 and 19). When we checked in, they said they would send one to our room within 10 minutes. 4 hours, 2 phone calls and another trip to the front desk later and we finally got one. Then, we discovered that the sofa bed mattress was so thin it was impossible to sleep comfortably on. So, the second night we requested a 2nd rollaway. We finally got one the 3rd night there after multiple attempts. That was probably our biggest disappointment was the sleeping arrangements. We had a privileged suite, thinking it would be fine for 4 of us. It was would have been nice to have a comfortable bed for the kids. Even the rollaways were pretty uncomfortable and it took multiple attempts to get them. I don't know what other option you have other than booking 2 rooms, which would be cost prohibitive. A 2 bedroom option would be nice. I'll probably look for that next time. Other than the buffet and the beds, we loved the resort. We had a great time snorkeling, kayaking and just hanging out on the beach. The kids played beach volleyball, and got to see baby sea turtles being released. We went on one tour, which we booked onsite through Olympus Tours. We did "Tulum Extreme" and loved it - rappelling, ziplining, snorkeling in a cenote and the Tulum archeological site. No problems booking there. The kids did a "Trainer for Life" program at Dolphin Discovery and had a great time. They got to swim with dolphins, manatees and sharks. One of their favorite experiences. Overall, a great vacation.


2 of 2 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Springfield, MO
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

August 14, 2011
Catalonia Riviera Maya all inclusive

This was our first trip to Mexico and to the Catalonia Riviera Maya all inclusive. I made three phone call to James at Cheap Caribbean and each time he was very helpful and spent alot of time to make sure I picked the right destination for our family. He couldn't have picked a more perfect resort for our family of six. It was our best vacation ever. There was something to do everyday or just do nothing and enjoy the spectacular view of the lagoon and clear blue water. Our teenage son said it was the best day of his life!!! after returning from a scuba trip that left from our hotel. I really plan on making this a yearly family trip. Thanks Again James!!!


2 of 2 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Milford,Mi
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

August 12, 2012
This place was MUCH better than I expected

OK, I've only been to the Riviera Maya once before (a week at the Grand Bahia Principe Tulum... which wasn't that enjoyable in October '07 after a hurricane came though). So I wasn't expecting much on our 12 day vacation at the Hotel Catalonia Riviera Maya. BUT MY WIFE AND I HAD A GREAT TIME THERE! I really liked the size of the place... small enough so you don't have to walk a long way or take a shuttle, but big enough that there's always a lot to do. And the service was really good. The activities staff was lots of fun. We were also surprised at the high quality of evening shows at the theater... WOW! They were top notch! We got 5 coupons for dining at the nice restaurants (our favorites were the italian, japanese and the steakhouse). The two buffet restaurants are pretty good too (one open air and one air conditioned). It's a very friendly resort and we met LOTS of people from all over the world. This place has a nice beach in a cove and the snorkeling is good. Downsides? Our room faced a service drive, so a couple times we awoke to the noise of bottles crashing in a dumpster. They offered to move us, but we chose to stay in that room. When checking out a snorkel, mask and fins, they only let you use them one hour per day... but that seemed OK after I got over it.

Hotel Catalonia Riviera Maya Open air buffet
2 of 2 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Fresno, CA
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

September 23, 2012
Best vacation.

I highly recommend resort ! Everything is beautiful about resort ! Everything was VERY clean ! All inclusive was excellent ! Food was always prepared fresh ! Liquor was the best alcohol for Mexico ! I've gone other all inclusices alcohol was horrible !!


2 of 2 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: New jersey
Age: 35-44
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

November 5, 2012
very satisfied

Very good when all inclusive there are a lot of restaurants to chose from but they only give you a certain amount of meal ticket to use during your stay for dinner and when you run out you just eat in the buffet. the environment around the resort is nice and gate so you can walk to shops and stores close to the resort without any problems most of the excursions are within the gate community so you don't have to travel very far you could even walk if you want. the safe for the room is 7 dollrs a night


2 of 2 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Denver
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

March 13, 2013
Great Trip

It was a great trip. We loved the area. There is a marina within a short walking distance with different restaurants and small shops all within a gated type community. The resort is beautiful and the food at the ala cart restaurants was excellent. We are ready to go back ASAP. Suggest choosing a different airline than spirt.

Great Trip
2 of 2 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: SE Michigan
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

May 11, 2013
Great Value

Great resort...extremely clean. Food quality/options were low, but burgers were available at the buffet until 2am! Olympus Tours were the best shuttle and offer excellent guidance on tours and options. Jungle Maya is the best purchase for a full-blown adventure (no lazy pools here)...not for children. I would return to the resort and definitely book everything with Olympus Tours!


2 of 2 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Akron, OH
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

July 16, 2013
Had a good time

This was our second trip to this resort because we enjoyed it so much the first time. They have made some changes since our last visit that was a little disappointing but overall still had an enjoyable vacation. The food quality seems to have dropped a little except at the Japanese Steakhouse where the food and service there was amazing. The selections on the buffet were lacking and there has been a change in their liquor but would still return.


2 of 2 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Plainfield,IL
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

August 27, 2013
Nice resort, too far from everything else though

Pros: The resort was nice. The staff was friendly. All-inclusive. Private beach. Cons: I would recommend you get your currency exchanged before you go to the resort, they may have a different rate than what others may have. I got screwed on my last day there because the rate was different than at the airport. A little too far from everything else, so be sure to arrange transportation ahead of time to/from the airport. Playa Del Carmen is about 20 mins away, but the gated community is nice and small and you can borrow resort bikes to get to the local market and marina.


2 of 2 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Milwaukee, WI
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

October 15, 2013
Great Honeymoon

There were a lot of different options for traveling to a tropical paradise for our honeymoon. I had never been to Mexico. This resort was a great value. We did upgrade our room to a suite on arrival which was beautiful. Service and cleanliness were excellent. The employees are working around the clock to make sure everything is top notch. The specialty restaurants were all good. We tried Terrace Tapas, The Steakhouse, the Italian and ate at the Japanese place twice. Definitely enough food and drinks to go around. Lots of activities are offered throughout the day and you can snorkel on the beach there are a lot of fish to see along the lagoon, or take a 20 min ride on a wind boat. The Marina and dolphin discovery is close walking distance from the resort and there are lots of places to eat and shop there as well. Had a great time!

Catolonia Riviera Maya Dolphin Discovery
2 of 2 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: St. Clair Shores, MI
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year