All

Catalonia Riviera Maya All-Inclusive Reviews

Mexico | Riviera Maya Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 244 Reviews
Value
 
4.3
Service
 
4.3
Beaches & Pools
 
4.1
Dining Options
 
3.7
Room Comfort
 
3.9
4.1 out of 5
"the resort is was great. loved that it was family oriented. would definitely take my family back" – blanca
239 out of 286 (84%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
View while rooftop dining! amazing white sandy beaches Hotel Catalonia Riviera Maya What you see while sitting on Privledhed beach Hotel Grouds Dolphin Discovery Beautiful Pool! Good Food view from 7033 Pool view At the Sports Bar the view doesn't get much better than this! Pool at night time view from room View of the hotel from the ocean. From the pool facing the hotels entrance Beach View Privledged Beach A great view! And A Little Music Catolonia Riviera Maya Beautiful view from our balcony. Wonderful snorkeling area! Open air buffet daily entertainment Plenty of chairs One of the Pools

All Catalonia Riviera Maya All-Inclusive Customer Reviews

91-100 of 244 reviews. Sort by
July 2, 2013
Great vacation

The staff was amazing! They constantly got everyone involved in the activities throughout the day which made it fun and exciting. They were all so friendly! The resort is beautiful. It looks exactly like the pictures show. The food wasn't the greatest, but it also wasn't bad. The buffets served the same thing everyday, so we just stuck to what we liked. The specialty restaurants were very good though. They all served an appetizer, entree, and dessert. Mikado the Japanese restaurant was our personal favorite. The nightlife wasn't a party-goer kind of resort, but they did have a beautiful Pure Chill Out Bar which is a covered deck on the sand facing the ocean. It was so relaxing and beautiful with the moon shining on the water at night while having some drinks. The resort was the perfect size having 5 different pools to go to plus the ocean. It was very well kept and clean. I would definitely recommend this resort and go to it again!


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: PA
Age: 19-24
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

July 1, 2013
Reasonable Price

Very nice resort. I would give it 3 1/2 stars. About an hour ride from the airport. Enclosed with gate so you feel safe. Stay away from the buffets as much as you can. Don't bother with the Italian restaurant. Go to Mikado (Japanese) early as it always gets packed and The Mexican restaurant was also great. Pool bars pretty good but don't expect quality liquor you will need to drink alot to get a buzz or do shots. As for the rooms and service if you are not in a privileged room don't expect them to pay much attention to you. Standard room is ok nothing spectacular but when you go on vacation you're not going to be in the room most of the time. Entertainment staff is great ! Very active and get you involved! Beach is beautiful for the eyes but you will need water shoes seeing as there are shells and rocks all around it. There are some small openings where you can get in without touching a rock. Clear waters you can see different fish. Lagoon is stinky. If you're going with your spouse keep in mind that King beds are limited. When we arrived we had a room with 2 full sized beds (not what I had in mind) Went to the front desk and they said their hotel is 100% full and I would have to wait 3 days to get a room with a King size bed. We didn't let it bother us seeing as we were there for some RnR . Overall I had a great time. It was a reasonable price. I would recommend to others but I myself would like to experience another resort if I return to Cancun.


1 of 1 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: New York, NY
Age: 19-24
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

June 27, 2013
Best Beach

We are returning from Catalonia Riviera Maya on june 26,2013. Room and service are very poor, but territories are very charming! The best beach and lagoon with blue-blue water!


1 of 2 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
2.0
User Image

From: Washington,DC
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

June 25, 2013
Great deal

Everything was just what it looks like. Food, food, food. Go have Japanese, and Italian there very recommended. Also, they have a Steak House at night it was delicious. Rooms very clean. Service at bars and restaurants unbelievable, not like the USA, Tip at the end of you trip to bartenders who were over and above, and your housekeeping at the end of the trip. It's easier. My only regret was that I had fallen at home before leaving so the longer I was there the more hurting I had, finally I gave in and seen a doctor (DON"T) it cost me $335.00 for my visit. I had fractured ribs before I came (which I pretty well knew), but thought I could bear it. After seeing him I was in more pain but mostly in my pocket (haha). Overall, great place to go and relax. Lots of activities at the pool., and tours from what I understand from others were reasonable. They do 2 for 1 and so on. So enjoy, and I know you will go back. This was my 2nd trip at same hotel, and will return thanks to Cheap Caribbean. It was my friends birthday and they had a banner on the door, a cake decoration made out of the towels with floral petals, and when we returned at night to the room a cake can't beat that hospitality with a stick.


1 of 1 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Scranton, PA
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

June 24, 2013
Not the greatest

It was okay for the price...but I would not go back again. The pools were tiny, never once went into them..full of kids. The beach is non existent.. it is so rocky..lots of coral, PAINFUL to get in...The only side you can walk in to was the lagoon side but it was pretty dirty. The buffets were okay, had better. The restaurants were okay as well, everything is just okay. The rooms were nice but can use a little upgrade. Overall..would not go back again.


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 2
Value
 
2.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
1.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
2.0
User Image

From: Chicago, Il
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

June 24, 2013
Not what it looks like

heard so much about how beautiful Riviera Maya would be not the experience I had at all. the resort was nothing like the pictures I looked at on website. We arrived it looked like a huge hut. The rooms were run down motels oh but the catch is you upgrade which costs more then you may get a better room. The pools were small no wait staff offering drinks or food all restaurants were like eating at the buffet. Overall extremely disappointed what a waste of a vacation!


3 of 3 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 1
Value
 
1.0
Service
 
2.0
Beaches & Pools
 
2.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
1.0
User Image

From: west bloomfield, michigan
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

June 22, 2013
Fun Vacation Getaway

Catalonia was in an amazing location! It had beautifully kept grounds, stunning oceans. The service was subpar, to say the least. When we got there, our room wasn't ready and we were told to wait until 4:00. When we went back, still no room, no explaination, we just waited for 15 minutes. When we did get our room, we walked in and someone was already in it! We went back and finally got it taken care of, but there was no apology, only pushiness asking us that upgrade because they over booked. We were able to snorkel right off the beach and see some awesome fish. It is amazing and the rooms were nice, we weren't there much though. I personally didn't love the food, I'd seen better at most all inclusive resorts but I think it was decent. I would absolutely go back due to the location, the pools and the entertainment. We swam with the dolphins and could walk to the marina which was no more than a 5 minute walk. I also always felt very safe. Definitely do it!


1 of 1 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
1.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Cincinnati, OH
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

June 21, 2013
Great Getaway!!!!

I was very happy when I walked into the lobby of Catalonia Riviera Maya. The picture on the website are just what I walked into. From the lobby you can see the bluest water ever, while checking in I was given a welcome drink (nice touch), My room was nice and clean, I couldn't wait to hit the beach, the pools were sparkling clean, plenty of chairs on the beachfront, everyday a featured drink at the bar, lots of food choices, the Spa was five star wonderful (a must do), the staff was amazing, I have never gone to a resort twice but I WILL BE GOING BACK TO CATALONIA RIVIERA MAYA!!!!!!!!!!!!


1 of 1 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Maryland
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

June 20, 2013
Worth a Visit

Very nice, slightly above average resort with some fairly normal flaws. I went to Hotel Catalonia with my wife and a group of six others. When we booked the package, I checked the room options and upgraded to the Preferred Honeymoon package. After looking at the rooms of some of the others in our group, it was well worth it. The standard rooms are very unappealing, and only a good option if you're truly trying to save money. If you can, upgrade to Preferred. The beachfront and the pools are very nice, and there are a ton of water activities for those who don't want to lounge by the swim-up bars and soak up the sun. The dining, on the other hand...well, the buffet is always stocked with fresh fruit and a selection of deli meats, cheeses, and bread that are delicious. Anything prepared tended to be under-seasoned consistently, and often unappetizing as a whole. I couldn't recommend any of the restaurants, although I did not get a chance to try the steak house. The service was incredibly friendly, with a staff that was always willing to help out. The flip side of that, though, is the administrative hoops in place to wring every last dollar and peso out of you. This might be standard for the region, it was just a little jarring for us. Overall, I was very comfortable with my stay. Some small issues, but a very pleasant experience that I would recommend to anyone trying to stay within a budget.


1 of 1 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Detroit, MI
Age: 35-44

June 19, 2013
Very nice...would go back again

Stayed for 5 nites, June 12-17 with family. 3 kids aged 18-21. Rooms were nice and comfortable but by no means 5 star, but we did not upgrade, and we literally slept an changed in there. The dining options were plenty, and easy to find. You can also upgrade or somehow we got passes for the finer dining and we chose the Italian and Japanese restaurants which were excellent!!!!! You just need to arrive early for the Japanese one or be prepared to wait over an hour. we heard that and went early the next nite. All the non motorized watersports are included, catamarans just need to be reserved starting at 8:15 on the day you want them at the towel hut. The swim up bars were nice and never crowded, nor was the resort. We were told they were sold out, but chairs and pool space were plenty and we never waited in line or felt crowded anywhere. The local service is EXCELLENT! Bar none, the best service on any island. Always so polite. Tip a few dollars and it gets even better. (like $2 to start the day..seriously!) The spa was incredible, and I would highly recommend. But reserve the services at the towel bar and tell them you are with Cheap Caribbean/Olympus tours and you get a very nice substantial discont vs, booking at the spa directly. the Gym is very well quipped and spa also has yoga and pilates. Use their free use of bikes to ride the entire marina area, which was VERY self contained and we never feared for our safety. It was a neat little village grown so much since we last went 18 years ago. shops, restaurants, dolphin experiences all within the marina area which is about 2 miles total. Many new condos and only 3 hotels, so not alot of traffic. We have been to Cancun 6 times, and have stayed in 5 star and not. If you go in realizing you got a great deal at Catalonia then you will be happy. If you go in expecting a 5 star resort, you wont be happy. We were very happy. You can upgrade to the Privilege Suites, but we are not picky travelers and we just expect clean and comfortable, with a view and we got all three. IThey even moved us so we could be next door and to be sure we had refrigerators for insulin. f you complain about the food, you are probably just a complainer in general. For all they prepare every day 24/7 we were never dissatisfied. We loved the choices, and the selections and if you dont see it, just ask. Puerto Aventuras is about an hour from the airport but a quick ride and we paid extra for a private van so we didnt have to stop, and check in was easy and fine. They have a kids zone, a sports bar, 2 swim up bars, and yes, you are combined with Catalonia Yucatan but its all the same resort. The Yucatan pool is quieter where as the R.M has games and music and just more activity but never felt like "spring break". It was big enough, but not so big you need a golf cart. My ONLY complaint, was that the beaches and water were coral and rocky. It was not a wade into your waist with a cold drink white sandy beach, but for all the other positives this resort provided, we could not be more pleased. Would go back again. Well worth the bargain you paid for it. Dont assume less is not more...its a great place. Would recommend and would go back in a heartbeat. LOVE Cancun!


4 of 4 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Richmond, VA
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year