All

Catalonia Riviera Maya All-Inclusive Reviews

Mexico | Riviera Maya Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 235 Reviews
Value
 
4.3
Service
 
4.3
Beaches & Pools
 
4.1
Dining Options
 
3.7
Room Comfort
 
3.9
4.1 out of 5
"I love this Hotel, the services is amazing, Love it, Love it. I am coming back." – Lissette
232 out of 277 (84%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Pool at night time Beautiful view from our balcony. And A Little Music Good Food Catolonia Riviera Maya View of the hotel from the ocean. view from 7033 Hotel Catalonia Riviera Maya From the pool facing the hotels entrance view from room amazing white sandy beaches What you see while sitting on Privledhed beach Open air buffet Plenty of chairs One of the Pools Beach View daily entertainment At the Sports Bar View while rooftop dining! Dolphin Discovery Wonderful snorkeling area! A great view! the view doesn't get much better than this! Beautiful Pool! Privledged Beach Hotel Grouds Pool view

All Catalonia Riviera Maya All-Inclusive Customer Reviews

91-100 of 235 reviews. Sort by
June 19, 2013
Very nice...would go back again

Stayed for 5 nites, June 12-17 with family. 3 kids aged 18-21. Rooms were nice and comfortable but by no means 5 star, but we did not upgrade, and we literally slept an changed in there. The dining options were plenty, and easy to find. You can also upgrade or somehow we got passes for the finer dining and we chose the Italian and Japanese restaurants which were excellent!!!!! You just need to arrive early for the Japanese one or be prepared to wait over an hour. we heard that and went early the next nite. All the non motorized watersports are included, catamarans just need to be reserved starting at 8:15 on the day you want them at the towel hut. The swim up bars were nice and never crowded, nor was the resort. We were told they were sold out, but chairs and pool space were plenty and we never waited in line or felt crowded anywhere. The local service is EXCELLENT! Bar none, the best service on any island. Always so polite. Tip a few dollars and it gets even better. (like $2 to start the day..seriously!) The spa was incredible, and I would highly recommend. But reserve the services at the towel bar and tell them you are with Cheap Caribbean/Olympus tours and you get a very nice substantial discont vs, booking at the spa directly. the Gym is very well quipped and spa also has yoga and pilates. Use their free use of bikes to ride the entire marina area, which was VERY self contained and we never feared for our safety. It was a neat little village grown so much since we last went 18 years ago. shops, restaurants, dolphin experiences all within the marina area which is about 2 miles total. Many new condos and only 3 hotels, so not alot of traffic. We have been to Cancun 6 times, and have stayed in 5 star and not. If you go in realizing you got a great deal at Catalonia then you will be happy. If you go in expecting a 5 star resort, you wont be happy. We were very happy. You can upgrade to the Privilege Suites, but we are not picky travelers and we just expect clean and comfortable, with a view and we got all three. IThey even moved us so we could be next door and to be sure we had refrigerators for insulin. f you complain about the food, you are probably just a complainer in general. For all they prepare every day 24/7 we were never dissatisfied. We loved the choices, and the selections and if you dont see it, just ask. Puerto Aventuras is about an hour from the airport but a quick ride and we paid extra for a private van so we didnt have to stop, and check in was easy and fine. They have a kids zone, a sports bar, 2 swim up bars, and yes, you are combined with Catalonia Yucatan but its all the same resort. The Yucatan pool is quieter where as the R.M has games and music and just more activity but never felt like "spring break". It was big enough, but not so big you need a golf cart. My ONLY complaint, was that the beaches and water were coral and rocky. It was not a wade into your waist with a cold drink white sandy beach, but for all the other positives this resort provided, we could not be more pleased. Would go back again. Well worth the bargain you paid for it. Dont assume less is not more...its a great place. Would recommend and would go back in a heartbeat. LOVE Cancun!


4 of 4 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Richmond, VA
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

June 13, 2013
Great, but some notes

We went on this trip for our honeymoon for 7 days, and we loved it! It was our first all inclusive resort style vacation, so this review may not have the best perspective. There was a lot to do, and always was something going on, so we were never bored, but we were also able to relax and enjoy the sun as much as we wanted as well. We loved the resort's spa. The employees were very courteous and professional. The spa was kept very clean. We thought the pool in the spa would be warmer, but it did not seem to be different than the pools by the beach. I have read a lot of reviews about resorts watering down their drinks. They did not do this here! The drinks were GREAT! Here are some of our "complaints", but none of this really upset us. The rooms we stayed in were the "privileged" suites. There were hallways that seemed to resonate the noise. Doors closing and cleaning crews seemed loud inside the rooms. The rooms were equipped with air conditioners and dehumidifiers which were also noisy. The beach is short. Most of the water was full of shells, coral, and rock. Take water shoes!! There was a nice spot that was pure white sand, but lots of people were always there. The dinning seemed to have weird hours. Also the places seemed to open late, or were slow right at the start. We never had much of a wait, nor were they crowded. This was organized very well. If it rains, do not loose or break your umbrella! Ours broke, so we turned it in for a new one, and never got a replacement! We called several times, and all we were told is that they knew about it. We would definitely vacation here again! The crew was great, the place was kept very clean, and was a great overall experience for us.


9 of 9 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Pennsylvania
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

June 11, 2013
Good resort

Our overall stay was good.. The staff was great!!! Everyone was really pleasant and the service was good. Except for an incident with the housekeepers. Some of my husbands clothing that had been hanging in the closet came up missing.. The food is okay, could be better. It's about the same as any other buffet style that we have had at any other resort. The restaurants that we tried we good, Japanese was the BEST! Our only complaint about the restaurants is that they all aren't open every night, and they are first come first serve. That means it could take forever to be able to eat dinner unless you get there right when they open. Also, the portions are really small, except for the Japanese restaurant. The beach and pool was great! Lots of chairs so there was plenty of room and no crowding.


1 of 1 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Oklahoma City, OK
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

June 11, 2013
June 2013 Vacation Oooo Yeah!!!

My husband and I only chose this place because of one, the price, two the reviews and three to get away to a beach. I highly recommend this resort; our room was exactly like the picture and more. It did rain pretty good for most of the week only in the morning until breakfast and at night so it was a great surprise to find an umbrella in the closet. The food was good and the staff a wonderful help with everything, very polite. The Spa was Amazing!! Wish I could have gone again before I left. The gift shops there are pricey but the locals came in and set up booths at night were we could purchase gifts and they did negotiate their prices. We bought the XelHa and Tulum package and the ruins were nice to see. (Bug spray required) Kids would love XelHa (do not be late for the bus they will not wait) yes we were one of those couples. Back to Catalonia, very kid friendly as well. Two swimming pools plenty of food and a beach area for them with no waves. That was comforting to see as a parent and I am definately going back soon with my own kids next time.

From the pool facing the hotels entrance
1 of 1 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Okc, ok
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

June 10, 2013
A nice family vacation...

Over all this resort was good. We've traveled a lot and stayed at numerous all inclusive's. My husband and I traveled with our three children ages 16 to 20. The highlights of this resorts were the friendliness and efficiency of the staff. The beach was really cool in that you could snorkel right there. There was also a small lagoon that was sheltered and that was really cool too. The restaurants were all really good but you are only allowed two nights in the specialty restaurants for a five night stay. I don't like this. We wouldn't go back here simply because of this reason. The buffet gets old after a while even though it is a good buffet. You simply must upgrade rooms though. If you stay in the most inexpensive Gardenview rooms, you will be disappointed. They need updating severely and are not comfortable at all. If you spend a little bit more and update to the privilege rooms it is much better. Another drawback is that it is close to an hour and 15 minute drive from the airport. It's also almost $100 to get into Playa Del Carmen by taxi and back. So, if you're going to this resort you really need to plan to stay put. We did an awesome Mayan National Geographic excursion though with zip lining and snorkeling in the caves. That was awesome and recommended to us by the hotel. The nightly entertainment was decent, the bartenders were friendly and the grounds really were kept up Well. We used the spa and that was excellent. They give you discounts if more than one person book services. One thing we really wish was that there was at music at the pool. All day long there was no music playing which at a resort like this you would like some fun music going or even just something relaxing would have been fine. Overall this resort was good but I'm not sure I'd stay here and again simply because there are too many other resorts to explore in the Riviera Maya!


3 of 3 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Mchenry, il
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

June 9, 2013
Catalonia at May

Excellent trip to Catalania, very friendly and very clean resort. All food ...just a dream.....we just return and we are comming back at Fall.....Thank you for your excellent hospitality.....Beautifull laguna,canoeing,swimming ,snorkling, catamaran sports....

Catalonia at May Catalonia at May
1 of 1 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Rochester,MI
Age: 55-64
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

June 9, 2013
maybe it was the weather

after reading other reviews I was skeptical of this place before we arrived. after staying for 5 nights I can say that they are both right & wrong. having done all inclusive resorts before I do know that this is not the best one out there but it's definitely not as bad as some others have made it out to be. first the pros... the place is very beautiful & very well up kept. landscaping is immaculate & has a very tropical look. the choice of beach & lagoon was very nice as well. the service is top notch from the entire staff ( except maybe the front desk) but the waiters & waitresses & bartenders are so so friendly & helpful. the food at the al a carte places was very very good & we tried all but the Italian. the drinks are not watered down but not to strong. just about right ;) now the cons. when we arrived we upgraded & was told there was only 1 ocean view left so we got it ( actually at a cheap price. very well worth it) but when we left desk & went to bellhop with our room number he said it was already in use. ( how does the bellhop know this but not the front desk who gave it to us?) & since he said they only had 1 left we thought we weren't goin to get 1... but somehow they talked & he "miraculously" had another 1 ha. the room we got was very nice tho so no big deal I guess. until the first night when we realized we had only cold water in the shower & the nxt morning when the floor was flooded with a/c leak. both were fixed quickly but still a turnoff..& the power kept goin off every night which shut off the a/c & fan & my wife & I would wake up sweating but then would come on within a hour or two. the breakfast & lunch buffets were good, ESP breakfast, but in 5 days it never changed once & just got bland.. now as I stated before the al a carte places were great but we only got 3 coupons for 5 nights so that's kinda a downer too. all in all it's not a bad place but it's not a great place either. if you've never done all inclusive resorts before you would think you're getting a great deal but if you have been to a 5 star before you can tell the slight downgrade. but it was a lil cheaper so I guess you get what you pay for... lastly I must say that it rained 2 of our 5 days all day & hard every night & that did affect our mood & maybe that's why I noticed the lil things or even why the lil things bugged us so much. the place is really not that bad & you can have a wonderful time there.. but if you got a couple extra hundred dollars I would recommend somewhere else


1 of 1 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: South Carolina u.s.a
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

June 5, 2013
Don't drink the TEQUILA!!!

My husband and I just came back from here on 6/2/13 with lovely tans and some great stories to tell! Although I must say that if it wasn't for the amazing people we met we just might have cut our trip short. I'll begin with the positive as I'm an optimist by nature. The Resort itself is absolutely gorgeous...the sea, the beaches, the pools and grounds are kept very well and very clean. The room, after having to upgrade to a Priviledged room was spotless and the staff kept it that way our entire stay. Now if the subject of my review caught your eye, this ought to give you a good laugh! My hubby and I love to throw a couple back and have a good time. We both stopped drinking tequila in our early 20s and for just cause...we just can't handle it! So on our first day it decided to rain all day, which was not an issue as we had already met our new friends. Sitting in the lovely pool with the rain was a blast...or so I've heard LOL! We both told the bartenders that we were not to have any tequila and were either vodka or rum drinkers so any shots should not have tequila in them. Well, by 5pm we were practically crawling to our rooms and by the next day trying to put the pieces back together. By the second day, we realized that this resort treats tequila like the woman in the Franks Red Hot commercial...THEY PUT THAT STUFF IN EVERYTHING!!! We spent the rest of our time sniffing our drinks before we consumed them and NO LIE! 8 out of 10 times we had to send the drink back and watch them pour it...if we didn't watch them, the drink came with tequila in them. So basically, if you can't drink tequila, stay away from here! The food was decent, nothing spectacular. The restaurants do not take reservations so we waited no less than 1 1/2 hours for dinner each night. The Japanese restaurant was the best out of all of them. All in all, we had a decent time. I definitely would not return to the resort.


8 of 11 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
2.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: New Jersey
Age: 35-44

June 4, 2013
Great Place

My husband and I had a wonderful time. The facility was beautiful and the staff was great. We had a garden view but it did overlook the pool and we could see the ocean on the side. The room needs some updating. Bed mattresses were hard and the pillows were like "envelopes". You need to have water shoes to get in on the beach because it's quite rocky. The variety of food at the buffets were great. The specialty restaurants were also good.


1 of 1 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Fair Play, SC
Age: Over 65
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

June 4, 2013
Good Price. Delicious food. Rocky beach.

We loved the Japanese, Italian, and Bolero place (especially the steak/shrimp meal we got in the honeymoon room package). The snack bar food was okay, but no real options. we could have gone into tje buffey at lunch, but didnt want to miss the rays.It wasn't the nicest spa we had been to, but still had a great massage! Complaints: rocky beach so don't expect to go on long strolls, so many Euros in thongs...nobody wanted to see that, weak drinks, bad poolside chairs that weren't comfy at all, and no bacon at breakfast some mornings, and no room service (really?!). Positives: great daily breakfast buffet, good variety of dinner options, nice service, and stuff to do. Having the kids there didn't bother us like we thought it may. Most of them were in kids club all day. We were with another couple and had fun together and enjoyed going on the turtle excursion. Just be prepared of the rocky beach!


1 of 1 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Midwest
Age: 25-34