All

Catalonia Riviera Maya All-Inclusive Reviews

Mexico | Riviera Maya Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 249 Reviews
Value
 
4.3
Service
 
4.2
Beaches & Pools
 
4.1
Dining Options
 
3.7
Room Comfort
 
3.9
4.1 out of 5
"Excellent service. Specialty restaurants were excellent. Buffet fair. Drinks good until they ran out of mint for my mojitos. No bacon at breakfast buffet. Overall good experience. Would go again." – Jcs1118
243 out of 292 (83%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Catolonia Riviera Maya Front view of Resort Beach View At the Sports Bar Open air buffet daily entertainment view from 7033 Pool at night time View while rooftop dining! Good Food Pool view view from room View of the hotel from the ocean. Plenty of chairs Privledged Beach And A Little Music What you see while sitting on Privledhed beach Wonderful snorkeling area! beach From the pool facing the hotels entrance One of the Pools Beautiful Pool! Hotel Grouds Hotel Catalonia Riviera Maya amazing white sandy beaches the view doesn't get much better than this! Beautiful view from our balcony. Dolphin Discovery A great view!

All Catalonia Riviera Maya All-Inclusive Customer Reviews

91-100 of 249 reviews. Sort by
July 16, 2013
Had a good time

This was our second trip to this resort because we enjoyed it so much the first time. They have made some changes since our last visit that was a little disappointing but overall still had an enjoyable vacation. The food quality seems to have dropped a little except at the Japanese Steakhouse where the food and service there was amazing. The selections on the buffet were lacking and there has been a change in their liquor but would still return.


2 of 2 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Plainfield,IL
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

July 16, 2013
Great stay for the money

We stayed for 6 nights. The room was comfortable, pools were clean, beach was beautiful, and the staff was friendly. For the money it was a great place to stay. The buffet food was some of the best I've had. I would recommend to a friend. I am an easy to please person so this place was great. My only complaint was that my room was only cleaned 2 times in a 6 night stay.


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Atlanta, Ga
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

July 5, 2013
Wonderful Anniversary Trip

My husband and I decided to do something special for our 5-year anniversary. After searching cheapcaribbean.com, which was highly recommended by many of our friends, we came across the Cantalonia Hotel in Riviera Maya, Mexico. When we arrived, we were greeted with delicious drinks. The hotel management encouraged us to upgrade to a honeymoon suite for only an additional $25.00/night. After reading other reviews, we thought this might be the best option. With the upgraded package we had access to all of the restaurants in the resort for each night of our stay. In addition, we received a 25-minute couples massage, wine and chocolate delivered to our room, breakfast in bed, a 5x7 couples picture taken by a professional photographer, a romantic dinner for two with a special menu selection of surf and turf, a stocked minibar with bottled water, soda, and Corona and a suite! The minibar was restocked everyday too, which was nice because you don't want to drink the tap water! This upgrade was well worth the money and I would highly encourage anyone to do it! The staff workers at the resort were friendly and helpful. Although, there was a communication barrier they did their best to help us with any questions or concerns! The restaurants served 3-course meals with a variety of menu options and choices! If you did not like something that you ordered, the restaurant staff would take back the course and get something else for you. Although we only ate at the buffet for breakfast and lunch, they served a variety of different choices every day. Some of the food was bland, but other than that it was good. The drink menu and selection was amazing. Try the Baby Monkey with banana liquor in the evening! It's delicious! The bars and bar staff were friendly and upgraded your glass to a larger size if you were friendly and tried communicating with them in Spanish! Even if you can't speak a lick of Spanish, give it a try! It's fun and the staff appreciate it! We decided to relax at the resort and did not do any excursions. However, if you are looking for something free to do in the early morning or evening, visit the marina. It is a short 5-minute walk and you will get to see dolphins, manatees, sting ray, and other sea life. There are also a variety of bars and shops to explore. The entertainment at the resort was decent. We went to the shows every night. We enjoyed the International Show, the Black Light Show, and the Comedy Show. Overall, the shows were entertaining! The pool towels were provided and you could exchange them at anytime during the day. The beach chairs were comfortable and the umbrellas provided a lot of shade. We had beautiful weather when we visited and spent a lot of time in the ocean and on the beach. The beach is rocky, but I did not wear water shoes and was fine. We went snorkeling for an hour everyday, which was free. We saw some pretty amazing fish and sea creatures such as an eel, stingray, octopus, and a barracuda. The catamarans and other non-motorized water sport equipment was also free and worth the fun in the sun on the ocean! Book at this resort and you will not have any regrets!


10 of 10 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image
Top 250 Contributor
From: Lebanon, PA
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

July 2, 2013
Great Time - Now off to college

Five days of sun and fun and plenty of drinks. Moms and daughters on one last trip before the girls are off to college. We wanted a fun place but not "too fun" and the Hotel Catalonia was just right. Rooms were very nice. Everythings was clean. Everyone was so very friendly. The buffet food does get boring after a couple of days but the other resturants on site are very good. There were lots of activities and of course, plenty of sunshine. Hippos Resturant, just a short walk from the hotel, was very tasty and at a good price. The Hotel Catalonia is very safe - located inside a gated community. Try the Drink of the Day.


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: North Carolina, USA
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

July 2, 2013

We had an absolutely wonderful ttime The resort was about 45 min from airport but well worth the trip. We were greeted with fruit drinks and big smiles. Everyone was super friendly resort was beautiful and clean. We never had to leave the resort the beach snorkeling was the best! Cheap carribean was a great travel service and we will plan to use them on future trips. Thanks for great memories


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Nashville
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

July 2, 2013
Great vacation

The staff was amazing! They constantly got everyone involved in the activities throughout the day which made it fun and exciting. They were all so friendly! The resort is beautiful. It looks exactly like the pictures show. The food wasn't the greatest, but it also wasn't bad. The buffets served the same thing everyday, so we just stuck to what we liked. The specialty restaurants were very good though. They all served an appetizer, entree, and dessert. Mikado the Japanese restaurant was our personal favorite. The nightlife wasn't a party-goer kind of resort, but they did have a beautiful Pure Chill Out Bar which is a covered deck on the sand facing the ocean. It was so relaxing and beautiful with the moon shining on the water at night while having some drinks. The resort was the perfect size having 5 different pools to go to plus the ocean. It was very well kept and clean. I would definitely recommend this resort and go to it again!


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: PA
Age: 19-24
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

July 1, 2013
Reasonable Price

Very nice resort. I would give it 3 1/2 stars. About an hour ride from the airport. Enclosed with gate so you feel safe. Stay away from the buffets as much as you can. Don't bother with the Italian restaurant. Go to Mikado (Japanese) early as it always gets packed and The Mexican restaurant was also great. Pool bars pretty good but don't expect quality liquor you will need to drink alot to get a buzz or do shots. As for the rooms and service if you are not in a privileged room don't expect them to pay much attention to you. Standard room is ok nothing spectacular but when you go on vacation you're not going to be in the room most of the time. Entertainment staff is great ! Very active and get you involved! Beach is beautiful for the eyes but you will need water shoes seeing as there are shells and rocks all around it. There are some small openings where you can get in without touching a rock. Clear waters you can see different fish. Lagoon is stinky. If you're going with your spouse keep in mind that King beds are limited. When we arrived we had a room with 2 full sized beds (not what I had in mind) Went to the front desk and they said their hotel is 100% full and I would have to wait 3 days to get a room with a King size bed. We didn't let it bother us seeing as we were there for some RnR . Overall I had a great time. It was a reasonable price. I would recommend to others but I myself would like to experience another resort if I return to Cancun.


1 of 1 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: New York, NY
Age: 19-24
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

June 27, 2013
Best Beach

We are returning from Catalonia Riviera Maya on june 26,2013. Room and service are very poor, but territories are very charming! The best beach and lagoon with blue-blue water!


1 of 2 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
2.0
User Image

From: Washington,DC
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

June 25, 2013
Great deal

Everything was just what it looks like. Food, food, food. Go have Japanese, and Italian there very recommended. Also, they have a Steak House at night it was delicious. Rooms very clean. Service at bars and restaurants unbelievable, not like the USA, Tip at the end of you trip to bartenders who were over and above, and your housekeeping at the end of the trip. It's easier. My only regret was that I had fallen at home before leaving so the longer I was there the more hurting I had, finally I gave in and seen a doctor (DON"T) it cost me $335.00 for my visit. I had fractured ribs before I came (which I pretty well knew), but thought I could bear it. After seeing him I was in more pain but mostly in my pocket (haha). Overall, great place to go and relax. Lots of activities at the pool., and tours from what I understand from others were reasonable. They do 2 for 1 and so on. So enjoy, and I know you will go back. This was my 2nd trip at same hotel, and will return thanks to Cheap Caribbean. It was my friends birthday and they had a banner on the door, a cake decoration made out of the towels with floral petals, and when we returned at night to the room a cake can't beat that hospitality with a stick.


1 of 1 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Scranton, PA
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

June 24, 2013
Not the greatest

It was okay for the price...but I would not go back again. The pools were tiny, never once went into them..full of kids. The beach is non existent.. it is so rocky..lots of coral, PAINFUL to get in...The only side you can walk in to was the lagoon side but it was pretty dirty. The buffets were okay, had better. The restaurants were okay as well, everything is just okay. The rooms were nice but can use a little upgrade. Overall..would not go back again.


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 2
Value
 
2.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
1.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
2.0
User Image

From: Chicago, Il
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year