All

Catalonia Riviera Maya All-Inclusive Reviews

Mexico | Mexico - Riviera Maya Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 457 Reviews
Value
 
4.3
Service
 
4.3
Beaches & Pools
 
4.1
Dining Options
 
3.8
Room Comfort
 
3.9
4.1 out of 5
"Wife and I had a great time at this resort. Service was excellent. Rooms were updated and clean. The buffet was plentiful and diverse. Look forward to going again." – EandD
436 out of 526 (83%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Catolonia Riviera Maya Pool view Plenty of chairs View from room Hotel Grouds One of the Pools The newlyweds on the beach View while rooftop dining! Newlyweds by the cabanas Pool Beach View view from room At the Sports Bar beach What you see while sitting on Privledhed beach Private terrace to our suite Hotel Catalonia Riviera Maya Hawk Family Good Food View outside of our balcony Dirt Dishes! Dolphin Discovery Pool at night time Beach at night Front view of Resort 5 Star Hotel Elevator! Mexican style restaurant Wonderful snorkeling area! Swimming lagoon at the resort View from the Terrace View from balcony amazing white sandy beaches beach Beautiful Pool! From the pool facing the hotels entrance Privledged Beach view from 7033 Welcome package And A Little Music View of the hotel from the ocean. Open air buffet Sunrise the view doesn't get much better than this! daily entertainment A great view! Beautiful view from our balcony. Romantic Dinner hotel rooms

All Catalonia Riviera Maya All-Inclusive Customer Reviews

91-100 of 457 reviews. Sort by
August 16, 2010
Catalonia Maya Riviera - an excellent experience!

Last August, I surprised my girlfriend for her 33rd birthday...the surprise was a trip to the amazing all-inclusive resort of Catalonia Maya Riviera. We departed from Denver, and it wasn't even until our connecting flight in Phoenix that she knew we were going to Mexico. You can imagine the look on her face when she found out...and it just got better and better from there. When we arrived at the beautiful resort, we found everything to be absolutely perfect - professional and friendly staff, clean rooms, well-maintained facilities and well-manicured grounds. We spent four days bouncing between the beach and the pools - from snorkeling, kayaking and playing beach volleyball to dancing, soaking up the sun and getting drinks at the Margaritas swim-up bar, we thoroughly enjoyed all of the options made available to us. The youthful staff made it a lot of fun by getting everyone around the pool involved in games like darts and pool Olympics - they really had great energy and did a good job of sharing it with everyone. The on-site restaurants provided a wide range of meal options - the food was always fresh and continually exceeded our expectations. The service was superb, from the time we arrived to the very end. It was my girlfriend's first time to Mexico and Catalonia Maya Riviera made for a very memorable trip, one she and I will never forget and hope to experience again.

amazing white sandy beaches the view doesn't get much better than this!
2 of 2 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Colorado
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

February 8, 2011
friends get away

This was the first time we stayed at the Catalonia. We had a blast!! The resort is fairly small but we still had a great time. We did upgrade to the suite, which was nice, a lot of room. The resturants were okay, Japanese Steak House was excellent!! The beach was very nice especially on the lagoon side. Which if you have children it would be perfect, its protected from the waves of the Caribbean, which can sometimes be pretty rough. Overall, we had a great time and would stay there again. Actually we may be staying there when we go back this year!


2 of 2 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Va Beach, VA
Age: 35-44

July 7, 2011
Very Nice Place

Very nice place. The pools were great! We stayed in a privileged room with an outdoor tub on the patio. It was a beautiful room. Very clean! The regular rooms looked very small and not as nice. We were supposed to get the honeymoon suite, but it was not a suite. It was a was a reg. room with a lot of of extra amenities. They said that we could move into a suite for an extra $20 a night, We opted to stay where we were. False advertising. We had a wonderful vacation! It was a very safe area. In a gated community, within walking distance to the Marina. We had a day and !/2 of rain. They said the weather is beautiful in April and May.

Very Nice Place Very Nice Place
2 of 2 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Ohio
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

July 29, 2011
Catalonia Riveria Maya

This resort offered an especially clean beach and pool areas. The service was mostly prompt, however , the reservation process for restaurant seating was tedious at best. We had to waste precious vacation hours waiting outside a beachside bar in swealtering humidity in line to set our reservations with ONLY ONE PERSON to serve everyone manually writing names in a tablet! UGH... one would think with todays computer technology, this would not be an issue! Not to mention, by the time one reached the front of the line, spots were already filled for the most desired eateries. We ate almost all meals in the buffets and were pleased with the variety and freshness. Our greatest compliment goes to Olympus Tours. Our tour represenative Edwin met us on time as arranged and personally guided us toward excursions that was perfectly suited for us! He made phone calls to make sure all arrangements went smoothly.. and they did! Housekeeping should be complimented for their hard work and the groundskeeping team was always working to keep everything pristine.

A great view!
2 of 2 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Central Florida
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

August 7, 2011
Great family vacation

Very family friendly. We had a great time. Our room was very clean. The Ala Carte restaurants were good, especially the Japanese. The buffet was just average. We always found something to eat, but didn't care for a lot of the food on the buffet. The Creperie was fun for an evening dessert or coffee. The staff was very friendly. We had a little trouble with communication at times.. We had requested a roll away bed when we made the reservation, as we were travelling with our kids (ages 12 and 19). When we checked in, they said they would send one to our room within 10 minutes. 4 hours, 2 phone calls and another trip to the front desk later and we finally got one. Then, we discovered that the sofa bed mattress was so thin it was impossible to sleep comfortably on. So, the second night we requested a 2nd rollaway. We finally got one the 3rd night there after multiple attempts. That was probably our biggest disappointment was the sleeping arrangements. We had a privileged suite, thinking it would be fine for 4 of us. It was would have been nice to have a comfortable bed for the kids. Even the rollaways were pretty uncomfortable and it took multiple attempts to get them. I don't know what other option you have other than booking 2 rooms, which would be cost prohibitive. A 2 bedroom option would be nice. I'll probably look for that next time. Other than the buffet and the beds, we loved the resort. We had a great time snorkeling, kayaking and just hanging out on the beach. The kids played beach volleyball, and got to see baby sea turtles being released. We went on one tour, which we booked onsite through Olympus Tours. We did "Tulum Extreme" and loved it - rappelling, ziplining, snorkeling in a cenote and the Tulum archeological site. No problems booking there. The kids did a "Trainer for Life" program at Dolphin Discovery and had a great time. They got to swim with dolphins, manatees and sharks. One of their favorite experiences. Overall, a great vacation.


2 of 2 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Springfield, MO
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

August 14, 2011
Catalonia Riviera Maya all inclusive

This was our first trip to Mexico and to the Catalonia Riviera Maya all inclusive. I made three phone call to James at Cheap Caribbean and each time he was very helpful and spent alot of time to make sure I picked the right destination for our family. He couldn't have picked a more perfect resort for our family of six. It was our best vacation ever. There was something to do everyday or just do nothing and enjoy the spectacular view of the lagoon and clear blue water. Our teenage son said it was the best day of his life!!! after returning from a scuba trip that left from our hotel. I really plan on making this a yearly family trip. Thanks Again James!!!


2 of 2 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Milford,Mi
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

August 12, 2012
This place was MUCH better than I expected

OK, I've only been to the Riviera Maya once before (a week at the Grand Bahia Principe Tulum... which wasn't that enjoyable in October '07 after a hurricane came though). So I wasn't expecting much on our 12 day vacation at the Hotel Catalonia Riviera Maya. BUT MY WIFE AND I HAD A GREAT TIME THERE! I really liked the size of the place... small enough so you don't have to walk a long way or take a shuttle, but big enough that there's always a lot to do. And the service was really good. The activities staff was lots of fun. We were also surprised at the high quality of evening shows at the theater... WOW! They were top notch! We got 5 coupons for dining at the nice restaurants (our favorites were the italian, japanese and the steakhouse). The two buffet restaurants are pretty good too (one open air and one air conditioned). It's a very friendly resort and we met LOTS of people from all over the world. This place has a nice beach in a cove and the snorkeling is good. Downsides? Our room faced a service drive, so a couple times we awoke to the noise of bottles crashing in a dumpster. They offered to move us, but we chose to stay in that room. When checking out a snorkel, mask and fins, they only let you use them one hour per day... but that seemed OK after I got over it.

Hotel Catalonia Riviera Maya Open air buffet
2 of 2 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Fresno, CA
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

September 23, 2012
Best vacation.

I highly recommend resort ! Everything is beautiful about resort ! Everything was VERY clean ! All inclusive was excellent ! Food was always prepared fresh ! Liquor was the best alcohol for Mexico ! I've gone other all inclusices alcohol was horrible !!


2 of 2 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: New jersey
Age: 35-44
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

November 5, 2012
very satisfied

Very good when all inclusive there are a lot of restaurants to chose from but they only give you a certain amount of meal ticket to use during your stay for dinner and when you run out you just eat in the buffet. the environment around the resort is nice and gate so you can walk to shops and stores close to the resort without any problems most of the excursions are within the gate community so you don't have to travel very far you could even walk if you want. the safe for the room is 7 dollrs a night


2 of 2 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Denver
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

March 13, 2013
Great Trip

It was a great trip. We loved the area. There is a marina within a short walking distance with different restaurants and small shops all within a gated type community. The resort is beautiful and the food at the ala cart restaurants was excellent. We are ready to go back ASAP. Suggest choosing a different airline than spirt.

Great Trip
2 of 2 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: SE Michigan
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year