All

Catalonia Riviera Maya All-Inclusive Reviews

Mexico | Riviera Maya Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 260 Reviews
Value
 
4.3
Service
 
4.3
Beaches & Pools
 
4.1
Dining Options
 
3.7
Room Comfort
 
3.9
4.1 out of 5
"I love this Hotel, the services is amazing, Love it, Love it. I am coming back." – Lissette
252 out of 303 (83%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Catolonia Riviera Maya And A Little Music amazing white sandy beaches One of the Pools Pool view Front view of Resort Beautiful Pool! View while rooftop dining! Good Food the view doesn't get much better than this! Wonderful snorkeling area! beach daily entertainment Open air buffet Beach View Hotel Catalonia Riviera Maya Beautiful view from our balcony. Privledged Beach Pool at night time A great view! Dolphin Discovery View of the hotel from the ocean. view from room From the pool facing the hotels entrance At the Sports Bar Plenty of chairs What you see while sitting on Privledhed beach Hotel Grouds view from 7033

All Catalonia Riviera Maya All-Inclusive Customer Reviews

91-100 of 260 reviews. Sort by
August 22, 2013
Catalonia Riviera Maya- You won't be upset

Resort was everything I could have asked for except for our initial room booking. Booked standard room that apparently comes with nothing. No alarm clock, coffee maker, blow dryer, etc. You could purchase them if you wanted to; very odd. However, we payed an extra $160 for 8 days, $20 extra a day and got a wonderful room with everything we could have asked for and then some. I suggest buying the upgrade up front. The resort itself was great and I have already suggested it to family and friends. The value is great, service great, beach and lagoon awesome. Pools and swim up bars were also everything you need. The restaurants were also very good with pretty much amazing service. Sometimes I wonder why I tip 20% in the states when these people deserve and earn it much more than any waiter I've ever had. The resort was great and if people say its too rocky on the beach then they just didn't take the time to walk 50 yards to the other side of the cove near the lagoon, its absolutely perfect for swimming and snorkeling and feeding fish. And if they say kids are an issue, there are plenty pools or pool bars to choose from. The shows were even pretty solid in the theatre and I imagined they would be lame. I laughed a bunch and was happy. Bars are also good. Sports bar and the club need some redecorating (just blah), but we still had a blast in both. Rented Hookah's a few nights, awesome. If you book, you'll enjoy.


4 of 4 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: NJ
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

August 22, 2013
Not so good

We took a family vacation to Riviera Maya, Mexico and stayed at Catalonia Riviera Maya Resort & Spa. The people were very friendly the service was good. We were with 2 other couples so there was 6 people in all. We would go to a restaurant to give them our tickets that you need to put in our names and room number so we could eat at that restaurant. We could put our names in at 630 pm and if we were lucky we might get in to eat around 930 pm or even later. It seems that because we had a larger party of people we were being punished. Several other families that had small children with them were told to be at the restaurant at a certain time and they went back to there room and woke up their small children and they were told they would have a table at 830 and they left the restaurant with there 4 small children crying at 1000 pm with no dinner. The food was repetitive and when there was something good they were gone in a flash and was not replaced. The people that were serving us was cordial and friendly. The beach is to be desirable. I love to tan then go in the water to cool off, it's a rocky cove, that when you walk in the water it's so uneven that I had several abrasions on my ankles and my sister in law fell causing her to have a Hugh abrasion to her knee. The pool was great and the bartenders were wonderful. The gift shop was expensive. I needed to buy finger nail polish remover it cost me $3.49 for a very small bottle, which in the states it would of cost me $1.00 for a large bottle. This place is over rated and I will never return. The exertions were expensive and over priced yet fun. I almost forgot when we got to the hotel we opted to up grade our room for $280.00 more so we could have a lockbox and a refrigerator which was not included in the price, which has always been in the price of all the other vacation destinations we have attended. All the vacations I have been on, have had a LOCKBOX and a refrigerator. This refrigerator was stocked with 2 beers, 3 waters, 1 orange soda, 1 7up, 2 Pepsi's, and 2 diet Pepsi's, there was no choice with what the refrigerator was stocked with (I DO NOT DRINK SODA). It seemed that we were being nickeled and dimed to death through out our 14 day stay.


0 of 1 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
1.0
Service
 
2.0
Beaches & Pools
 
1.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
2.0
User Image

From: bear, Delaware
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

August 21, 2013
Awesome Vacation

I just came back from a 10 days 9 nights vacation at the Catalonia Riviera Maya and had a wonderful time. There were 16 of us and the challenge was being able to sit at one table for any meals. The Italian restaurant did finally accommodated us when we ordered their lobster dinner. We loved the ocean, so clear, we able to see many fishes just by feeding them bread. We didn't need to snorkel to see them. The drinks were good. Just ask for double shots. The entertainment staff were so friendly and so nice. I was there celebrating my 50th birthday and one of the staff went out of his way to buy me a birthday cake with his own hard earned money. I was so touched. We went to the CoCo Bongo disco and had the best time. I highly recommend anyone over 18 to go there at least for the experience. I also highly recommend going to the Explor park. Wish I could go back already.


1 of 1 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Washington, DC
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

August 20, 2013
Very Nice trip

Resort was great. Very nice beach with multiple pools. Service was very good. Rooms were fully cleaned everyday with new sheets and the floors mopped daily. Can't complain one bit. One negative has nothing to do with the resort. From the airport to the hotel is about 90 minutes......with no traffic and the transfer doing a decent rate of speed.


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Wallingford, Ct
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

August 20, 2013
second stay

I was there last year for 12 days with my husband and grown son..we had such a good time that we returned this year with my brother, my sister in law and my father. We had to wait excessive hours to be served at the restaurants. ..they said because we had a party of six...Numerous parties that arrived after us were sat and served. This really ruined our stay..we will nt return.


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
1.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Horsham Pa
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

August 20, 2013
Upgrade

The upgrade to privileged suite was a good idea. It rained for 2 days and having a separate sitting area and TV was nice. However there was NO privileged check in desk nor was there any privileged lounge as advertised. You did however get and extra dinner at the special restaurants and the Spanish tapas restaurant was free instead of a $15.00 charge. So the upgrade was worth it to us.


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: pittsburgh, p
Age: 55-64
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

August 19, 2013
Great Trip!

Enjoyed this trip tremendously. Beach is nice and plenty of fish to see. Nice variety of dining options and buffet was good. Check out the creperie in the evening. Upgrade your stay though, you get more meal passes for specialty dining and discounts at some stores. The help was very nice and the resort is clean, Make sure to pack plenty of sunscreen, we ran out and had to buy a bottle..it was over $30 USD. Lots of bars and activities like kayaking and snorkeling. We'll definitely be back!


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Ohio
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

August 15, 2013
Good Value

Hotel was beautiful, rooms were clean, and hotel staff very pleasant. The one drawback about the beach was it was a bit rocky, had to wear water shoes. Pools were clean and bar staff was fun. Food at the a la carte was good and the longest we ever had to wait was 1 hour, managed to eat four out of the five nights, the creperie was fantastic. The only drawback about the food was the open air buffet had birds visiting all the time, got a bit annoying as my friend was terrified of them. Overall, was a great time and good value for the money


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Pennsylvania
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

August 14, 2013
Good time for the money!

The suite was perfect! We had a soaker tub on the veranda and used it every night, but if you want privacy ask for a room on the backside of the hotel. However, we did meet a couple who paid a lot less for their room- but what I didn't know didn't hurt me. It was our 2nd time and they gave us a bottle of tequila in our room, since it was our anniversary Cheap Caribbean setup for us to have champaign and chocolate sent to our room. The large suite was perfect, upgrade before you go. The lagoon is great, make sure to bring floats and your own snorkel gear, you could snorkel all day in the lagoon. Bring water socks for the regular beach, it is a little rocky. The restaurants were great, of course as all of the reviews say the Japenesee restaurant is the best. We did not go to the Itiailian restaurant and Tapas dinner menu was not that great but the dessert menu was to die for. Bring $50 in ones so you can tip, tip your bartenders and maid... The better you tip the better they treat you. We were treated like royalty. We went zip lining - it was a lot of exercise. We went snorkeling in the underground caves- fantastic! We jumped in a 150 foot cenote- scary but fun. We also went to Telum, Coba and Chiten itza- very hot bring sunscreen but worth it. The community the hotel is in is very safe, you are walking distance from a dolphin pool. The hotel offers free bikes and in a 20 minute bike ride you can snorkel in a Federal park. The spa was wonderful, my husband and I went together for a couples message and I went back again for another massage and a facial. I have been to many spas and this one is a first rate spa, the facial is the best I have ever received. The hydrotherapy is so relaxing make sure both of you get a locker key at the spa. We had a great time and would go to the same hotel again.


3 of 3 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Binghamton, NY
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

July 17, 2013
Catalonia good hotel

Overall it was a good service, the only downside of it was one of our rooms smell like milldew, also we kept getting condensation from the AC everytime we open the door, it took 3 days for someone to come and fix it. The shows were great!....the entertaiment group works really hard to keep everybody entertained. The food at all the restaurants was very good except the buffet. I WILL RECOMMEND THIS PLACE!!


1 of 1 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
2.0
User Image

From: Texas
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year