All

Catalonia Riviera Maya All-Inclusive Reviews

Mexico | Riviera Maya Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 278 Reviews
Value
 
4.3
Service
 
4.2
Beaches & Pools
 
4.1
Dining Options
 
3.7
Room Comfort
 
3.9
4.1 out of 5
"I love this Hotel, the services is amazing, Love it, Love it. I am coming back." – Lissette
267 out of 323 (83%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
view from room amazing white sandy beaches Dolphin Discovery daily entertainment View while rooftop dining! A great view! From the pool facing the hotels entrance And A Little Music Plenty of chairs At the Sports Bar Beach View Privledged Beach beach Pool at night time View of the hotel from the ocean. Catolonia Riviera Maya Beautiful view from our balcony. Front view of Resort view from 7033 Good Food One of the Pools Hotel Grouds What you see while sitting on Privledhed beach Open air buffet Pool view Hotel Catalonia Riviera Maya the view doesn't get much better than this! Beautiful Pool! Wonderful snorkeling area!

All Catalonia Riviera Maya All-Inclusive Customer Reviews

91-100 of 278 reviews. Sort by
April 12, 2013
I thought the reservation held your room?

This was definitely the worst place we have ever experienced. After a lengthy check-in with the front desk, they informed me that they did not have a room and would be moving us to the Barcelo. NO - they would not be. I asked to speak with manager, but he/she was too busy to speak with us...huh? So we said we would go to lunch and come back. Well, when we came back they said they were upgrading us to Privilege Ocean View because they saw that I am a Destination Expert on Trip Advisor (I never mentioned it to them). I thought CheapCaribbean had more power than that? Apple customers do not get moved. Anyway, the resort was not very nice. The food was bad and the liquor is definitely watered down. That is the first time we have ever experienced watered down alcohol. The beach is pretty rocky. This is the first resort that we experienced the word NO. Usually, the staff at AIs say "No problem" or "It's a pleasure" or "Let me check" - never NO? We will not be returning here. Thankfully, on our third morning, they made an announcement at the pool that adults could move to Catalonia Royal Tuluum. Glad we jumped at the chance. CRT is a much nicer resort, great staff. The only problem is that they had the same watered down, poor alcohol selection. Other than that, CRT was wonderful.


3 of 5 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 1
Value
 
1.0
Service
 
2.0
Beaches & Pools
 
2.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Bloomfield Township, Michigan
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

May 30, 2012
First time All Incusive

Since this was our first time at an all inclusive resort, we weren't sure what to expect. All in all, this was a good experience and we would consider returning to this resort. Most of the personnel was very friendly. As with any place, there were a few service personnel that didn't seem to like their job. A couple of negatives... 1. When we checked in, we were given $40.00 in coupons to use at the spa, however when we made an appointment for a couples package we were told that we couldn't use these since this was already a "special". The particular package we chose was listed in their brochure, and made no mention of being on "special". 2. Our final night was Mexican night, so all the ala cart eateries were closed. Thus we did not get to use our voucher for the Terrace restaurant. 3. Long ride from the airport. (about an hour and 45 minutes due to other resort stops). On the good side. 1. No real "surprises". 2. Good food. 3. Great atmosphere. 4. Plenty of room to enjoy the pools, ocean, and scenery. 5. Good value. We would have like to see La Creparie open earlier in the day....:) Thank you for an enjoyable trip.


2 of 3 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Nashville, TN
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

September 23, 2014
" The reviews are accurate"

This is a good hotel but not great. If you are looking for a better hotel i would stay in playa de carmen. This is a small community, that is gated. No shopping. More for adults then kids. We did not see many. The theme restaurants were the best, I would not waste time on buffets. The ride down is about 1 hour. No problems with check in. The beer is corona and modelo. They do have some good liquor but you have to ask for it. There are a lot of pools but they are not connected. The beach is rocky but there is a area to snorkel. If i was a person that liked to lay out and hear the beach , this would be perfect. Staff is very niece and easy to work with. Hotel was very clean and well keep. Did not see much wild life around the grounds. The shows were not very good but lots of plays to sit outside.


2 of 3 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image
Top 500 Contributor
From: nashville, tn
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

July 31, 2010
Best Vacation so far...

Transfer from airport was right where they were suppossed to be, minimal waiting for ride. Ride to resort was comfortable, and easy. Arrival at Catalonia, check-in was a breeze with drinks immediately in hand. Upgraded to suite, best decision. We had 2 small kids so sep. bedrm was very nice. The pools were clean big, very nice and never so busy. Swim up bars were fun...service was excellent everywhere we went in resort. Beach was very cool, lagoon area with no waves, and beach area w/ waves, lots of tropical fish for snorkeling. Food was excellent everywhere except beachside grill, where it was OK. Went to the spa, unbelievable beautiful, feel like you are in a different world..highly recommend. The area is facinating, we did lagoon snorkeling and Tulum. Would not recommend Tulum to people traveling w/ small children. There is also shopping a quick walk from the resort and free dolphin shows...was a wonderful vacation, we just booked our next trip to Riviera Maya but are trying another resort to compare.


1 of 1 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Lafayette, IN
Age: 35-44
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

August 6, 2010
Best Bang for Your Buck - Trip: June 3rd-8th, 2010

I have traveled all over the Caribbean, and I have stayed at some fancy hotels and not so fancy hotels. This hotel was very clean, The food was great, and the hospitality exceeded our expectations. On a previous trip and after paying much more for a hotel in the Dominican Republic (which was much nicer, but again, we paid much more), I expected that paying much less for this hotel would cause the service, food, or hospitality to be lacking. Boy was I wrong. My fiance and I had a wonderfull time. No complaints at all. Some of the reviews we read prior to staying here were about the food. My opinion is that I think some of those folks were just too used to the fast food American lifestyle (burgers, fries, hot dogs, pizza, etc.) and do not like to experience various entrees. Don't let the previous sentence scare you if you are one of those folks, because one of the resturants/grille on the property served just that. Overall we had a great time, and we are recommending the Catalonia Riviera Maya to all of our friends and family who are thinking about traveling to the area. Strongly recommend visiting Chichen Itza, and snorkling in the Cenotes.


1 of 1 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Denver, CO
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

August 7, 2010
Great value through a great travel discount site

Purchasing the package was really easy with this site. The resort was all they suggested it would be. Had a great time. Went in July. I would recommend that you avoid Mexico in July - it's their summer time and heat is serious!


1 of 1 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Richmond Hill, Georgia
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

April 1, 2011
Better than expected!

We had a fabulous "girls" trip to this resort! Everything was top-notch! Wish we could have eaten in the restaurants more, tho. They all had excellent food! Disco was a bit disappointing in that hardly anyone ever utilized it! Maybe it should open prior to 11pm & have more American tunes! Just a thought!:) Looking forward to returning!


1 of 1 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Kansas City, KS
Age: 45-54

August 2, 2011
Great trip

I agree with what most of the recent reviewers say about this place: Nice pools Good beach Clean rooms Good food Friendly service The resort is in a gated condo community with a marina, dolphin park, and a 9-hole golf course. The condos were going for >$200k, so it is not a cheap community, and it looked well-kept. The beach is not that big since it is almost a lagoon, and it is pretty rocky in the water except for certain areas, but there were tropical fishes around for a casual snorkel. You can tell there used to be coral reefs but it is all gone now. I upgraded to a Privileged room, and looking at other reviews, it is probably recommended for a better room experience. The food was ok, and better than I expected. The best thing to do at the buffet was to go to the chef stations and get your food there. The reservations for the a la carte dinners was a pain as another reviewer commented but I think it depended on the day you went because Monday was a long line but I had no wait on Friday. If you are lucky, you can be there when they do a baby sea turtle release at the beach and see the little guys crawling into the ocean. Fun to see.


1 of 1 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Boston, MA
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

May 22, 2012
funin the sun

Overall this is a great place to visit. Pools, beach, lagoon for snorkling all right at the resort. Pool bars excellent. Staff friendly and helpfull. Food at the buffets was good and had alot of variety. Japanese steakhouse was the best. Upgrading your room is the way to go. A little extra money gets you alot more comfort and more food options.


1 of 1 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: indiana
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

May 25, 2012

stayed here six sun filled days weather beautiful room was nice only problem wish we were closer to beach or pool the food was ok fruit and tomatoes really good the biggest problem i had was language barrier and that the hotel doesnt take american money you should work on that would go back probably next year thanks for the memories


1 of 1 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: boston mass
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year