All

Catalonia Riviera Maya All-Inclusive Reviews

Mexico | Riviera Maya Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 241 Reviews
Value
 
4.3
Service
 
4.3
Beaches & Pools
 
4.1
Dining Options
 
3.7
Room Comfort
 
3.9
4.1 out of 5
"I love this Hotel, the services is amazing, Love it, Love it. I am coming back." – Lissette
238 out of 283 (84%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
view from 7033 A great view! Beach View Beautiful view from our balcony. Good Food Catolonia Riviera Maya Beautiful Pool! Open air buffet the view doesn't get much better than this! Plenty of chairs Wonderful snorkeling area! view from room From the pool facing the hotels entrance Dolphin Discovery And A Little Music Privledged Beach What you see while sitting on Privledhed beach One of the Pools amazing white sandy beaches Pool at night time At the Sports Bar View of the hotel from the ocean. Pool view Hotel Catalonia Riviera Maya View while rooftop dining! daily entertainment Hotel Grouds

All Catalonia Riviera Maya All-Inclusive Customer Reviews

91-100 of 241 reviews. Sort by
June 25, 2013
Great deal

Everything was just what it looks like. Food, food, food. Go have Japanese, and Italian there very recommended. Also, they have a Steak House at night it was delicious. Rooms very clean. Service at bars and restaurants unbelievable, not like the USA, Tip at the end of you trip to bartenders who were over and above, and your housekeeping at the end of the trip. It's easier. My only regret was that I had fallen at home before leaving so the longer I was there the more hurting I had, finally I gave in and seen a doctor (DON"T) it cost me $335.00 for my visit. I had fractured ribs before I came (which I pretty well knew), but thought I could bear it. After seeing him I was in more pain but mostly in my pocket (haha). Overall, great place to go and relax. Lots of activities at the pool., and tours from what I understand from others were reasonable. They do 2 for 1 and so on. So enjoy, and I know you will go back. This was my 2nd trip at same hotel, and will return thanks to Cheap Caribbean. It was my friends birthday and they had a banner on the door, a cake decoration made out of the towels with floral petals, and when we returned at night to the room a cake can't beat that hospitality with a stick.


1 of 1 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Scranton, PA
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

June 24, 2013
Not the greatest

It was okay for the price...but I would not go back again. The pools were tiny, never once went into them..full of kids. The beach is non existent.. it is so rocky..lots of coral, PAINFUL to get in...The only side you can walk in to was the lagoon side but it was pretty dirty. The buffets were okay, had better. The restaurants were okay as well, everything is just okay. The rooms were nice but can use a little upgrade. Overall..would not go back again.


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 2
Value
 
2.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
1.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
2.0
User Image

From: Chicago, Il
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

June 24, 2013
Not what it looks like

heard so much about how beautiful Riviera Maya would be not the experience I had at all. the resort was nothing like the pictures I looked at on website. We arrived it looked like a huge hut. The rooms were run down motels oh but the catch is you upgrade which costs more then you may get a better room. The pools were small no wait staff offering drinks or food all restaurants were like eating at the buffet. Overall extremely disappointed what a waste of a vacation!


3 of 3 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 1
Value
 
1.0
Service
 
2.0
Beaches & Pools
 
2.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
1.0
User Image

From: west bloomfield, michigan
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

June 22, 2013
Fun Vacation Getaway

Catalonia was in an amazing location! It had beautifully kept grounds, stunning oceans. The service was subpar, to say the least. When we got there, our room wasn't ready and we were told to wait until 4:00. When we went back, still no room, no explaination, we just waited for 15 minutes. When we did get our room, we walked in and someone was already in it! We went back and finally got it taken care of, but there was no apology, only pushiness asking us that upgrade because they over booked. We were able to snorkel right off the beach and see some awesome fish. It is amazing and the rooms were nice, we weren't there much though. I personally didn't love the food, I'd seen better at most all inclusive resorts but I think it was decent. I would absolutely go back due to the location, the pools and the entertainment. We swam with the dolphins and could walk to the marina which was no more than a 5 minute walk. I also always felt very safe. Definitely do it!


1 of 1 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
1.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Cincinnati, OH
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

June 21, 2013
Great Getaway!!!!

I was very happy when I walked into the lobby of Catalonia Riviera Maya. The picture on the website are just what I walked into. From the lobby you can see the bluest water ever, while checking in I was given a welcome drink (nice touch), My room was nice and clean, I couldn't wait to hit the beach, the pools were sparkling clean, plenty of chairs on the beachfront, everyday a featured drink at the bar, lots of food choices, the Spa was five star wonderful (a must do), the staff was amazing, I have never gone to a resort twice but I WILL BE GOING BACK TO CATALONIA RIVIERA MAYA!!!!!!!!!!!!


1 of 1 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Maryland
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

June 20, 2013
Worth a Visit

Very nice, slightly above average resort with some fairly normal flaws. I went to Hotel Catalonia with my wife and a group of six others. When we booked the package, I checked the room options and upgraded to the Preferred Honeymoon package. After looking at the rooms of some of the others in our group, it was well worth it. The standard rooms are very unappealing, and only a good option if you're truly trying to save money. If you can, upgrade to Preferred. The beachfront and the pools are very nice, and there are a ton of water activities for those who don't want to lounge by the swim-up bars and soak up the sun. The dining, on the other hand...well, the buffet is always stocked with fresh fruit and a selection of deli meats, cheeses, and bread that are delicious. Anything prepared tended to be under-seasoned consistently, and often unappetizing as a whole. I couldn't recommend any of the restaurants, although I did not get a chance to try the steak house. The service was incredibly friendly, with a staff that was always willing to help out. The flip side of that, though, is the administrative hoops in place to wring every last dollar and peso out of you. This might be standard for the region, it was just a little jarring for us. Overall, I was very comfortable with my stay. Some small issues, but a very pleasant experience that I would recommend to anyone trying to stay within a budget.


1 of 1 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Detroit, MI
Age: 35-44

June 19, 2013
Very nice...would go back again

Stayed for 5 nites, June 12-17 with family. 3 kids aged 18-21. Rooms were nice and comfortable but by no means 5 star, but we did not upgrade, and we literally slept an changed in there. The dining options were plenty, and easy to find. You can also upgrade or somehow we got passes for the finer dining and we chose the Italian and Japanese restaurants which were excellent!!!!! You just need to arrive early for the Japanese one or be prepared to wait over an hour. we heard that and went early the next nite. All the non motorized watersports are included, catamarans just need to be reserved starting at 8:15 on the day you want them at the towel hut. The swim up bars were nice and never crowded, nor was the resort. We were told they were sold out, but chairs and pool space were plenty and we never waited in line or felt crowded anywhere. The local service is EXCELLENT! Bar none, the best service on any island. Always so polite. Tip a few dollars and it gets even better. (like $2 to start the day..seriously!) The spa was incredible, and I would highly recommend. But reserve the services at the towel bar and tell them you are with Cheap Caribbean/Olympus tours and you get a very nice substantial discont vs, booking at the spa directly. the Gym is very well quipped and spa also has yoga and pilates. Use their free use of bikes to ride the entire marina area, which was VERY self contained and we never feared for our safety. It was a neat little village grown so much since we last went 18 years ago. shops, restaurants, dolphin experiences all within the marina area which is about 2 miles total. Many new condos and only 3 hotels, so not alot of traffic. We have been to Cancun 6 times, and have stayed in 5 star and not. If you go in realizing you got a great deal at Catalonia then you will be happy. If you go in expecting a 5 star resort, you wont be happy. We were very happy. You can upgrade to the Privilege Suites, but we are not picky travelers and we just expect clean and comfortable, with a view and we got all three. IThey even moved us so we could be next door and to be sure we had refrigerators for insulin. f you complain about the food, you are probably just a complainer in general. For all they prepare every day 24/7 we were never dissatisfied. We loved the choices, and the selections and if you dont see it, just ask. Puerto Aventuras is about an hour from the airport but a quick ride and we paid extra for a private van so we didnt have to stop, and check in was easy and fine. They have a kids zone, a sports bar, 2 swim up bars, and yes, you are combined with Catalonia Yucatan but its all the same resort. The Yucatan pool is quieter where as the R.M has games and music and just more activity but never felt like "spring break". It was big enough, but not so big you need a golf cart. My ONLY complaint, was that the beaches and water were coral and rocky. It was not a wade into your waist with a cold drink white sandy beach, but for all the other positives this resort provided, we could not be more pleased. Would go back again. Well worth the bargain you paid for it. Dont assume less is not more...its a great place. Would recommend and would go back in a heartbeat. LOVE Cancun!


4 of 4 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Richmond, VA
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

June 13, 2013
Great, but some notes

We went on this trip for our honeymoon for 7 days, and we loved it! It was our first all inclusive resort style vacation, so this review may not have the best perspective. There was a lot to do, and always was something going on, so we were never bored, but we were also able to relax and enjoy the sun as much as we wanted as well. We loved the resort's spa. The employees were very courteous and professional. The spa was kept very clean. We thought the pool in the spa would be warmer, but it did not seem to be different than the pools by the beach. I have read a lot of reviews about resorts watering down their drinks. They did not do this here! The drinks were GREAT! Here are some of our "complaints", but none of this really upset us. The rooms we stayed in were the "privileged" suites. There were hallways that seemed to resonate the noise. Doors closing and cleaning crews seemed loud inside the rooms. The rooms were equipped with air conditioners and dehumidifiers which were also noisy. The beach is short. Most of the water was full of shells, coral, and rock. Take water shoes!! There was a nice spot that was pure white sand, but lots of people were always there. The dinning seemed to have weird hours. Also the places seemed to open late, or were slow right at the start. We never had much of a wait, nor were they crowded. This was organized very well. If it rains, do not loose or break your umbrella! Ours broke, so we turned it in for a new one, and never got a replacement! We called several times, and all we were told is that they knew about it. We would definitely vacation here again! The crew was great, the place was kept very clean, and was a great overall experience for us.


9 of 9 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Pennsylvania
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

June 11, 2013
Good resort

Our overall stay was good.. The staff was great!!! Everyone was really pleasant and the service was good. Except for an incident with the housekeepers. Some of my husbands clothing that had been hanging in the closet came up missing.. The food is okay, could be better. It's about the same as any other buffet style that we have had at any other resort. The restaurants that we tried we good, Japanese was the BEST! Our only complaint about the restaurants is that they all aren't open every night, and they are first come first serve. That means it could take forever to be able to eat dinner unless you get there right when they open. Also, the portions are really small, except for the Japanese restaurant. The beach and pool was great! Lots of chairs so there was plenty of room and no crowding.


1 of 1 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Oklahoma City, OK
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

June 11, 2013
June 2013 Vacation Oooo Yeah!!!

My husband and I only chose this place because of one, the price, two the reviews and three to get away to a beach. I highly recommend this resort; our room was exactly like the picture and more. It did rain pretty good for most of the week only in the morning until breakfast and at night so it was a great surprise to find an umbrella in the closet. The food was good and the staff a wonderful help with everything, very polite. The Spa was Amazing!! Wish I could have gone again before I left. The gift shops there are pricey but the locals came in and set up booths at night were we could purchase gifts and they did negotiate their prices. We bought the XelHa and Tulum package and the ruins were nice to see. (Bug spray required) Kids would love XelHa (do not be late for the bus they will not wait) yes we were one of those couples. Back to Catalonia, very kid friendly as well. Two swimming pools plenty of food and a beach area for them with no waves. That was comforting to see as a parent and I am definately going back soon with my own kids next time.

From the pool facing the hotels entrance
1 of 1 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Okc, ok
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year