All

Catalonia Riviera Maya All-Inclusive Reviews

Mexico | Riviera Maya Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 290 Reviews
Value
 
4.3
Service
 
4.2
Beaches & Pools
 
4.1
Dining Options
 
3.7
Room Comfort
 
3.9
4.1 out of 5
"Had a wonderful time, the staff was very informative, and all of the food was really good. The rooms , pools, and grounds were very neat and clean." – attraversiamo
278 out of 336 (83%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Pool at night time Beach View A great view! view from 7033 Open air buffet View of the hotel from the ocean. the view doesn't get much better than this! Dolphin Discovery amazing white sandy beaches Good Food One of the Pools Wonderful snorkeling area! From the pool facing the hotels entrance And A Little Music Beautiful Pool! view from room What you see while sitting on Privledhed beach beach View from the Terrace At the Sports Bar Hotel Grouds Privledged Beach Plenty of chairs Pool view Catolonia Riviera Maya View while rooftop dining! Front view of Resort daily entertainment Hotel Catalonia Riviera Maya Beautiful view from our balcony.

All Catalonia Riviera Maya All-Inclusive Customer Reviews

91-100 of 290 reviews. Sort by
May 27, 2015

Upon booking, we reserved adjoining rooms, as we have in the past. We upgraded our rooms from what we had last trip. Upon arrival, we were told that the level upgrade we had didn't have any adjoining rooms. Had I been told that upon booking, I would have saved the extra money for the upgraded room, just to have adjoining rooms. However, we had side by side rooms in one of the Villas and it was absolutely gorgeous. The resort is immaculately kept and the staff is exceptionally helpful. Dining options are fine, but I wasn't thrilled with Bomboleo, the steak house. During the day, it doubles as a snack bar & grill and that was fine. But at night when it's open for dinner as the steak house, I found the food wasn't the greatest. The Mexican restaurant and the Italian restaurant were ok (being a NY'er, I'm not easily impressed with others version of Italian food...lol). However...I certainly didn't starve, and the food was good. All in all, it was a wonderful trip and I would recommend the resort to others. The only complaint I have about the beach is the amount of rocks in the water. You can't go in without some sort of water shoes.


2 of 2 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Long Island, NY
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

May 29, 2015
good hotel

very good resort good dinning options, beach not so good many stone very good swimming pools


2 of 2 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Baltimore
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

June 1, 2015
Perfect Honeymoon

My wife and I returned this last week from our honeymoon, and I can honestly say that the Catalonia Riviera Maya was the perfect location for a honeymoon. We booked the Privileged Honeymoon package which came with fantastic amenities and an awesome room. The a la carte restaurants we went to were the Alebrejes, Bellevista, and the Terrance. All three provided us with three course meals that were excellently prepared. The buffets for breakfast and lunch were both very good. The snack bar by the pools was okay, but we preferred to go to the buffets anyways. The pools were always clean, partially because they closed the pools every night at 6:00 for cleaning. We wanted to night swim in the pools but there was not an opportunity for that. The ocean was beautiful but a little rocky. Bring water shoes or chacos and you can navigate the rocks just fine. CheapCaribbean made this process very easy and affordable. Thanks CheapCarribean and Catalonia Riviera Maya for making my honeymoon perfect.


2 of 2 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Texas
Age: 19-24
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

November 7, 2012
This is not a "beach" resort

Although it is billed as a beach resort, the Catalonia Riviera Maya has no beach to speak of. Don't be fooled by the photos... They have used a retaining wall to create a sort of flat terrace, which is covered with sand. Beach chairs are jammed in, side-by-side. There is a tiny, man-made beach along side a mand-made lagoon, but the water is not particularly clean and the sand is not inviting. Food at the Catalonia is not great, even by resort standards. The "inclusive" aspect is somewhat misleading, as guests can only access one restaurant and the snack bar on a regular basis. You are given three coupons to use at the other restaurants over the course of a one-week stay; however, they do not take reservations at these restaurants and the night we tried to use our coupons, there were waits of 1- 1 1/2 hrs at at least two of the restaurants. When we were finally seated at the steak house (which is set up in the snack bar), we had a mediocre meal, which was hardly worth the 1 hour, 15 minute wait. I was traveling with a friend and we were looking for a relaxing vacation spot. The Catalonia Riviera Maya is not that: lots of young adults into the bar scene and families with young children running around everywhere. Let me just say that I have stayed at numerous family resorts in the Caribbean and elsewhere. This spot was especially noisy. I will say that the rooms are quite nice for a moderately priced hotel. No complaints there. On a somewhat comic note, although we had made it very clear that we were not a couple (2 women), after a long wait (several hours after the 3:00 check-in time) we were shown to a room with a big banner saying "Happy Anniversary!; a heart-shaped towel "scupture" and rose petals adorned one of the beds! The concierge was lovely, very helpful and sympathetic--although there was really nothing she could do to resolve our issues (noisy, no beach). Ultimately, we left the hotel within 24 hours and went to stay at the Azul Beach Hotel (another family resort), which was absolutley fantastic. In fact, in a way we have the Cataonia to thank for our relocation to what is truly one of the jewels of the Riviera Maya. We are already planning a return to the Azul Beach--as soon as possible!


3 of 4 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 2
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
1.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Providence, RI
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

August 17, 2012
Would not recommend

Terrible customer service. I am a very layed back person, but this place was rude, they lied about prices and made me pay more the last day. Had to call several times to get service. Beaches are all rocky, so wear water shoes!!! Beach are mean't for looking, not playing in. Screaming kids everywhere! night life is cheesy. They do not serve alcohol until 10-11am every morning. Drinks are served in plastic cups, no beach/pool service. If you want a cheap vacation to bring kids and expect to get cheap service and surrounding, this is your spot! I am willing to spend a $1000-$2000 more for a great experience! This was my first time and it was not a good one! Food is adequate. It's basically set up like a summer camp buffet! YUCK! DO NOT BRING NICE CLOTHES TO THIS RESORT!! There is not a single place to dress up. Denny's has classier service, just without the beach... i think I took it easy on this review...


4 of 7 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 2
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
1.0
Beaches & Pools
 
2.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
2.0
User Image

From: St. Louis
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

April 12, 2013
I thought the reservation held your room?

This was definitely the worst place we have ever experienced. After a lengthy check-in with the front desk, they informed me that they did not have a room and would be moving us to the Barcelo. NO - they would not be. I asked to speak with manager, but he/she was too busy to speak with us...huh? So we said we would go to lunch and come back. Well, when we came back they said they were upgrading us to Privilege Ocean View because they saw that I am a Destination Expert on Trip Advisor (I never mentioned it to them). I thought CheapCaribbean had more power than that? Apple customers do not get moved. Anyway, the resort was not very nice. The food was bad and the liquor is definitely watered down. That is the first time we have ever experienced watered down alcohol. The beach is pretty rocky. This is the first resort that we experienced the word NO. Usually, the staff at AIs say "No problem" or "It's a pleasure" or "Let me check" - never NO? We will not be returning here. Thankfully, on our third morning, they made an announcement at the pool that adults could move to Catalonia Royal Tuluum. Glad we jumped at the chance. CRT is a much nicer resort, great staff. The only problem is that they had the same watered down, poor alcohol selection. Other than that, CRT was wonderful.


3 of 5 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 1
Value
 
1.0
Service
 
2.0
Beaches & Pools
 
2.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Bloomfield Township, Michigan
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

May 30, 2012
First time All Incusive

Since this was our first time at an all inclusive resort, we weren't sure what to expect. All in all, this was a good experience and we would consider returning to this resort. Most of the personnel was very friendly. As with any place, there were a few service personnel that didn't seem to like their job. A couple of negatives... 1. When we checked in, we were given $40.00 in coupons to use at the spa, however when we made an appointment for a couples package we were told that we couldn't use these since this was already a "special". The particular package we chose was listed in their brochure, and made no mention of being on "special". 2. Our final night was Mexican night, so all the ala cart eateries were closed. Thus we did not get to use our voucher for the Terrace restaurant. 3. Long ride from the airport. (about an hour and 45 minutes due to other resort stops). On the good side. 1. No real "surprises". 2. Good food. 3. Great atmosphere. 4. Plenty of room to enjoy the pools, ocean, and scenery. 5. Good value. We would have like to see La Creparie open earlier in the day....:) Thank you for an enjoyable trip.


2 of 3 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Nashville, TN
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

September 23, 2014
" The reviews are accurate"

This is a good hotel but not great. If you are looking for a better hotel i would stay in playa de carmen. This is a small community, that is gated. No shopping. More for adults then kids. We did not see many. The theme restaurants were the best, I would not waste time on buffets. The ride down is about 1 hour. No problems with check in. The beer is corona and modelo. They do have some good liquor but you have to ask for it. There are a lot of pools but they are not connected. The beach is rocky but there is a area to snorkel. If i was a person that liked to lay out and hear the beach , this would be perfect. Staff is very niece and easy to work with. Hotel was very clean and well keep. Did not see much wild life around the grounds. The shows were not very good but lots of plays to sit outside.


2 of 3 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image
Top 500 Contributor
From: nashville, tn
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

July 31, 2010
Best Vacation so far...

Transfer from airport was right where they were suppossed to be, minimal waiting for ride. Ride to resort was comfortable, and easy. Arrival at Catalonia, check-in was a breeze with drinks immediately in hand. Upgraded to suite, best decision. We had 2 small kids so sep. bedrm was very nice. The pools were clean big, very nice and never so busy. Swim up bars were fun...service was excellent everywhere we went in resort. Beach was very cool, lagoon area with no waves, and beach area w/ waves, lots of tropical fish for snorkeling. Food was excellent everywhere except beachside grill, where it was OK. Went to the spa, unbelievable beautiful, feel like you are in a different world..highly recommend. The area is facinating, we did lagoon snorkeling and Tulum. Would not recommend Tulum to people traveling w/ small children. There is also shopping a quick walk from the resort and free dolphin shows...was a wonderful vacation, we just booked our next trip to Riviera Maya but are trying another resort to compare.


1 of 1 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Lafayette, IN
Age: 35-44
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

August 6, 2010
Best Bang for Your Buck - Trip: June 3rd-8th, 2010

I have traveled all over the Caribbean, and I have stayed at some fancy hotels and not so fancy hotels. This hotel was very clean, The food was great, and the hospitality exceeded our expectations. On a previous trip and after paying much more for a hotel in the Dominican Republic (which was much nicer, but again, we paid much more), I expected that paying much less for this hotel would cause the service, food, or hospitality to be lacking. Boy was I wrong. My fiance and I had a wonderfull time. No complaints at all. Some of the reviews we read prior to staying here were about the food. My opinion is that I think some of those folks were just too used to the fast food American lifestyle (burgers, fries, hot dogs, pizza, etc.) and do not like to experience various entrees. Don't let the previous sentence scare you if you are one of those folks, because one of the resturants/grille on the property served just that. Overall we had a great time, and we are recommending the Catalonia Riviera Maya to all of our friends and family who are thinking about traveling to the area. Strongly recommend visiting Chichen Itza, and snorkling in the Cenotes.


1 of 1 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Denver, CO
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year