All

Catalonia Riviera Maya All-Inclusive Reviews

Mexico | Mexico - Riviera Maya Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 415 Reviews
Value
 
4.3
Service
 
4.2
Beaches & Pools
 
4.1
Dining Options
 
3.8
Room Comfort
 
3.9
4.1 out of 5
"Very nice hotel. Clean and friendly. Great food. Weak drinks. Rocky ocean enterance very hard to enter. Would stay again." – Bigmoe5
393 out of 480 (82%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
amazing white sandy beaches Beautiful Pool! Beach View At the Sports Bar 5 Star Hotel Elevator! A great view! What you see while sitting on Privledhed beach Private terrace to our suite Romantic Dinner Hotel Catalonia Riviera Maya Wonderful snorkeling area! Good Food Pool view view from 7033 One of the Pools Newlyweds by the cabanas Pool daily entertainment view from room Privledged Beach From the pool facing the hotels entrance Front view of Resort beach Beautiful view from our balcony. And A Little Music beach hotel rooms Dolphin Discovery Dirt Dishes! Catolonia Riviera Maya Plenty of chairs View of the hotel from the ocean. Open air buffet Swimming lagoon at the resort View from room Sunrise Hotel Grouds View from the Terrace Pool at night time the view doesn't get much better than this! The newlyweds on the beach View from balcony View while rooftop dining! Beach at night

All Catalonia Riviera Maya All-Inclusive Customer Reviews

91-100 of 415 reviews. Sort by
July 16, 2013
Had a good time

This was our second trip to this resort because we enjoyed it so much the first time. They have made some changes since our last visit that was a little disappointing but overall still had an enjoyable vacation. The food quality seems to have dropped a little except at the Japanese Steakhouse where the food and service there was amazing. The selections on the buffet were lacking and there has been a change in their liquor but would still return.


2 of 2 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Plainfield,IL
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

August 27, 2013
Nice resort, too far from everything else though

Pros: The resort was nice. The staff was friendly. All-inclusive. Private beach. Cons: I would recommend you get your currency exchanged before you go to the resort, they may have a different rate than what others may have. I got screwed on my last day there because the rate was different than at the airport. A little too far from everything else, so be sure to arrange transportation ahead of time to/from the airport. Playa Del Carmen is about 20 mins away, but the gated community is nice and small and you can borrow resort bikes to get to the local market and marina.


2 of 2 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Milwaukee, WI
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

October 15, 2013
Great Honeymoon

There were a lot of different options for traveling to a tropical paradise for our honeymoon. I had never been to Mexico. This resort was a great value. We did upgrade our room to a suite on arrival which was beautiful. Service and cleanliness were excellent. The employees are working around the clock to make sure everything is top notch. The specialty restaurants were all good. We tried Terrace Tapas, The Steakhouse, the Italian and ate at the Japanese place twice. Definitely enough food and drinks to go around. Lots of activities are offered throughout the day and you can snorkel on the beach there are a lot of fish to see along the lagoon, or take a 20 min ride on a wind boat. The Marina and dolphin discovery is close walking distance from the resort and there are lots of places to eat and shop there as well. Had a great time!

Catolonia Riviera Maya Dolphin Discovery
2 of 2 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: St. Clair Shores, MI
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

December 14, 2013
Catalonia Riviera Maya Dec.'13

This was our first experience in an all- inclusive resort! We really liked a lot of things the resort offered, but we definitely had few issues... The all-inclusive isn't really all- inclusive. There are some restaurants that you can go only if you upgrade, and the thematic ones, you are depending on vouchers to go in (???) you dont have vouchers for all your stay, for instance, if you stay for 4 nights they will give you 2 vouchers...the rest of the trip, you gotta go to the buffets, which is no bad, but it gets repetitive after a while...and no one told us about that prior to the arrival by the way. Our room was good, nothing fancy, but we were in a beautiful area, right in front of the pools, with ocean view, so that was great! The service at the hotel is one of the best I have ever seen! The really work very hard to make you comfortable! They are always smiling and they are very pleasant! At the end, its what you make out of it. We had a very good time there, people were friendly the place is truly beautiful and you do get a good value for your money after all!


2 of 2 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Newark, Nj
Age: 25-34

February 23, 2014
Part Deux

Second visit and still very satisified. Wonderful resort. Small and cozy. But some how I still have not discovered all there is to offer. The spa was amazing and the spa staff very educated on services they offer. The hotel staff and guests were super friendly just like I remebered.We made new friends the first visit and new friends on this trip also. I hate to write anything too nice because I'd like to keep Hotel Catalonia as my little secret place in paradise. We will be back--sooner the better.

Part Deux Part Deux
2 of 2 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Oshkosh, WI
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

February 23, 2014
Great resort and a true bargain!

This place is excellent! The resort is beautiful, the staff is wonderful, and the food rivals any cruise ship you've ever been on. Book your trip and thank me later. FIRST: You DEFINITELY need to upgrade to PRIVILEGE class! For the few extra bucks, you get: a MUCH better room, more dining options, and perhaps most importantly, access to the exclusive beach area and the Pure Chill Out bar. The upgraded rooms are fantastic...our balcony looked directly out on the ocean and beach. Dining options were expansive; they reminded us of the "specialty" restaurants on cruise ships. The tapas and creperie were fantastic, as was the Mexican restaurant. The steakhouse was great, with the staff attending your every need. However, the Italian restaurant was completely marginal....the pasta dishes at the 2 buffets were better. As to the buffets, if you are PRIVILEGE, it's almost an ala carte experience. You get seated at the best tables, and immediately a staff member takes your drink order. Food choices are abundant, and we liked both the indoor as well as the outdoor buffet. SECOND: Anyone who complains about the drinks is crazy! You can get ANYTHING, and they are mixed strong! Beer, wine, cocktail, soda...everything was GREAT! Service was the best, and everyone had a smile on their face. Plus, everyday they refill your room mini-bar, so happy hour on the balcony before dinner was a daily event. THIRD: The beaches and entertainment options were excellent. DEFINITELY do the free catamaran ride...DAILY! The captains were great and the trips are excellent. Also, avail yourself of the free bicycles, and ride down to the marina, where you can watch all the Dolphin Experience stuff for free, and enjoy the great scenery there. The kayaks were so-so, in that they are cheezy plastic things, but for a nice short ride in the nearby lagoon, they weren't bad. Snorkeling gear was provided free, but this area didn't have a lot to see underwater. FINALLY: If you've followed along so far, and upgraded to PRIVILEGE, then get your beach chair at the Pure Chill Out bar and spend all day there! Upgraded chairs, and the giant beanbags are the BEST! Great music, a smaller and quieter crowd, premium liquor and beer, and fantastic bartenders. And that's just during the day. At night, the place is the most peaceful spot on the resort, and the moonlight combined with the cool blue lighting, comfortable tables and chairs, premium drinks and excellent service, make this the spot to be. AVOID: Don't bother with the Sports Bar....WAY TOO LOUD and it's lit up like a football stadium at night...bright as the sun! The smaller pool by the outdoor buffet is crowded all the time, so head to the pool by the Pure Chill Out bar. Also, the "shopping bazaar" held most nights on the walkways is a waste of time...tourist junk that you don't need. SUMMARY: This place is a hidden gem! The rooms are fantastic, the food and drinks are great, and the staff is the best! But remember: You HAVE TO UPGRADE TO PRIVILEGE!!!


2 of 2 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Midland, MI
Age: 55-64
Travel: 7+ trips/year

March 24, 2014
Terrible, terrible food

We just returned back from 7 nights at the Catalonia Riviera Maya today. I have never been so hungry before. Let me start with the good things, lest you think this is a completely un-objective rant: -The grounds are beautifully kept. Every part of the resort was immaculately clean and manicured. - We stayed 7 nights in a Privileged upgraded Honeymoon suite, which was very nice. -Despite a fair number of guests, the resort is laid out so that it does not feel crowded or loud. It is peaceful, and right on the beach so the wind from the shore carries all the noise away. - Although VERY few spoke english, the staff members were very kind to us. -The drinks were excellent, and bartenders would make them strong if you asked them to. Now for the bad news... -THE FOOD. People, I cannot stress to you enough how TERRIBLE the food is. Worse that the lowest tier buffet on a cheap all-inclusive cruise. There are specialty options available for the evening, as have been reviewed by previous posters, but be warned: even Mikado which receives glowing reviews, is just "okay". It's like microwaved Chinese food. That being said, it was the best meal we had at the resort.... because all the meals were terrible so suddenly "microwaved Chinese food" went way up on the list. Let me give you some examples of actual food on the buffet: pancakes but no syrup (anywhere), strange raw pork loins, pork chops, pork EVERYTHING but with no sides to accompany. Squid ink watery pasta sauce on VERY al dente macaroni noodles. Rubbery warm ham slices in the "deli" section. "Seafood" crepes filled with some mixture of ground fish and clams that resembled cat food in taste and smell. Canned peaches, canned green jello salad, canned pears. No fresh dairy, no fresh fruit, no fresh vegetables. My husband and I ate french fries (the frozen kind, not even homemade) and a slice of pizza every day for lunch. That would tide us over until 6 PM when we could make it to a themed restaurant for dinner. We wanted to go to the steakhouse on our last night. We didn't have any "punches" left for any other restaurants and we had not been to the steakhouse yet. We waited 30 minutes outside and the restaurant had decided to close for the night. That meant that the other 3 options left we had already visited and could not visit again. So we didn't get to eat at a restaurant that night. Sure, it's just bad luck, but why completely close down a restaurant when you have guests who don't have the option to eat anywhere else? We ended up going to the crepe place and getting dessert only. We were hungry but so DONE with the resort by that point we just wanted to go home. Let me follow this up by saying that I am not a foodie. I didn't have unrealistic expectations. We knew it was an all-inclusive. We didn't expect 5 star dining, just something comparable to American buffet dining. The Catalonia had the worst food I have ever been subjected to in 30 years of traveling. Worse than college dorm food, worse than cruise food, worse than casino food. Unfortunately, the food issue so overshadowed the good things about the resort (cleanliness, service) that we could not even focus on the positives. Because the city is so remote, you don't have the option of going somewhere else to eat. We were trapped there, hungry and cranky. We counted down the days to the airport Starbucks and McDonald's, and ate delicious local CHEAP Mexican food out on every excursion we went on. These were the only times we were satisfied. I wish I had a better report to give, but I can't recommend the Catalonia Riviera Maya to anyone. Please don't go. You will be hungry and cranky and sad by the end. Other small issues to report (although they paled in comparison to the food quality) -No hot water on our last night there, or the morning of our departure. Called the front desk twice, no repairman was ever sent. -Room 6301 was very quiet until the last night when they had a LOUD party at a nearby bar. It kept us up all night. -Both hotel gift shops were closed for the majority of the day one day. I had a female issue (TMI!) and needed something from the gift shop and couldn't get it. I called the front desk, waited 5 hours, and never got a call back or any help. My husband eventually negotiated with someone at the gift shop to let us take tampons and charge them to the room. -Our special honeymoon breakfast was scheduled (and not delivered) twice. When they finally got it right, the "breakfast" was a bowl of apples and grapes and a pot of coffee with 2 slices of toast. Not kidding. We had waited 3 days trying to schedule that???? -Pools close at 6 PM. The sun is brutal during the day, but you can't swim in the evenings because there are no pools open. In short: there are minor issues, but this is not a 5 star experience. The food is 1 star at best. Proceed with caution.


2 of 2 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 2
Value
 
1.0
Service
 
1.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: San Antonio, TX
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

April 4, 2014
riveira resort

I spent10 days at the Maya Riviera and enjoyed myself with my sisters and friend. I was very disappointed in our room. We had no fridge or ice bucket to keep anything cold. When we asked for an ice bucket we were told it would be delivered to our room and finally after 5 nights we got a very small fridge in our room. I have never been in a hotel that didn't have a clock in the room. The light in our room in the ceiling was never there and we wondered why our room was so dark every day and then the night before we left we found out that the light was never in the socket which we thought was a sprayer in case of fire. The food was not the best at all. We had difficulty getting in to the steak restaurant although we were allowed to go 2 times and had to complain and finally were admitted after a lot of bit--ing We really enjoyed the Japanese restaurant and our cook was very entertaining. However we should have been given a choice of the first course. Not every one likes raw fish which was served as first course. The elevator on our floor did not work ( AT ALL FOR GUESTS}. We were told it did not work however I did see the workers going in it and going up or down a couple of times. Why were we not allowed to use it? We asked for a room on the main floor as my sister had a need for NOT WALKING UP STAIRS. Yet we were put on the second floor and she had a terrible time going up and down to the pool. I truly will discourage friends to use this resort. I'm sorry that I have painted such a bad reference to this resort but I am telling the truth and you can do with it whatever you please. Before I sign off I must say the pools were wonderful and very beautiful setting around the resort. Too bad the other things that I have written were so bad. Sincerely, Diana A former guest at the Riviera.


2 of 2 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 2
Value
 
2.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
1.0
User Image

From: North Carolina
Age: Over 65
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

May 21, 2014
Def worth it

Me and my boyfriend just got back on May 16 2014, it was well worth the price, everything was beautiful and i would def go back .. the staff is super friendly, everything was super clean, food was great ...we are already looking into booking again! Also the jungle maya excursion was awesome!

Def worth it
2 of 2 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Mass
Age: 25-34

June 2, 2014
Great value in a safe area

HCRM is an excellent value. My wife and I paid less for this resort than we would have paid for the same duration of stay in another Riviera Maya or Cancun resort. We upgraded to a Privileged room on arrival, which was worth every penny. With Privileged, our fridge was restocked every day, we had access to additional beaches (much nicer area, with bar service at our beach chair). There were a couple of other perks that came with Privileged, but we did not use them. The spa was great - Thursday was a special 2 for the price of 1 massages, so we scheduled once they ran the special. Though the hydrotherapy pool looks amazing, the water was too cold for us to enjoy it. Puerto Aventuras itself is a very safe area - the entire community (not just the resort) is gated, which means there is very limited access. We walked around Puerto Aventuras one day and felt very safe the entire time. Parts of the resort itself is showing a little age. The tub faucet in our bathroom, for example, was sort of patched together with some putty. Water took some time to get hot, and there was a putrid smell at the bottom of our stairs. The theater looks pretty run-down, too. Julio (the Amstar rep) hooked us up with an excursion - Tulum Extreme through Mayan Adventures. If you're looking to get a good variety of history, adventure, and snorkeling, this is the way to go. For about $120 each, we snorkeled in a cenote, rappelled, zip-lined, and visited the Tulum Mayan site. The lunch wasn't bad, either.


2 of 2 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Kentucky
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year