All

Catalonia Riviera Maya All-Inclusive Reviews

Mexico | Mexico - Riviera Maya Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 318 Reviews
Value
 
4.3
Service
 
4.2
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.7
Room Comfort
 
3.9
4.1 out of 5
"the resort is was great. loved that it was family oriented. would definitely take my family back" – blanca
302 out of 369 (82%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Beautiful view from our balcony. And A Little Music Hotel Catalonia Riviera Maya Swimming lagoon at the resort View of the hotel from the ocean. View from the Terrace Open air buffet Hotel Grouds Pool at night time A great view! the view doesn't get much better than this! daily entertainment Dolphin Discovery Front view of Resort Plenty of chairs Private terrace to our suite One of the Pools Wonderful snorkeling area! Good Food Pool view View while rooftop dining! Catolonia Riviera Maya At the Sports Bar Privledged Beach What you see while sitting on Privledhed beach Beach View amazing white sandy beaches beach Beautiful Pool! view from room From the pool facing the hotels entrance view from 7033

All Catalonia Riviera Maya All-Inclusive Customer Reviews

91-100 of 318 reviews. Sort by
December 14, 2013
Catalonia Riviera Maya Dec.'13

This was our first experience in an all- inclusive resort! We really liked a lot of things the resort offered, but we definitely had few issues... The all-inclusive isn't really all- inclusive. There are some restaurants that you can go only if you upgrade, and the thematic ones, you are depending on vouchers to go in (???) you dont have vouchers for all your stay, for instance, if you stay for 4 nights they will give you 2 vouchers...the rest of the trip, you gotta go to the buffets, which is no bad, but it gets repetitive after a while...and no one told us about that prior to the arrival by the way. Our room was good, nothing fancy, but we were in a beautiful area, right in front of the pools, with ocean view, so that was great! The service at the hotel is one of the best I have ever seen! The really work very hard to make you comfortable! They are always smiling and they are very pleasant! At the end, its what you make out of it. We had a very good time there, people were friendly the place is truly beautiful and you do get a good value for your money after all!


2 of 2 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Newark, Nj
Age: 25-34

February 23, 2014
Part Deux

Second visit and still very satisified. Wonderful resort. Small and cozy. But some how I still have not discovered all there is to offer. The spa was amazing and the spa staff very educated on services they offer. The hotel staff and guests were super friendly just like I remebered.We made new friends the first visit and new friends on this trip also. I hate to write anything too nice because I'd like to keep Hotel Catalonia as my little secret place in paradise. We will be back--sooner the better.

Part Deux Part Deux
2 of 2 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Oshkosh, WI
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

February 23, 2014
Great resort and a true bargain!

This place is excellent! The resort is beautiful, the staff is wonderful, and the food rivals any cruise ship you've ever been on. Book your trip and thank me later. FIRST: You DEFINITELY need to upgrade to PRIVILEGE class! For the few extra bucks, you get: a MUCH better room, more dining options, and perhaps most importantly, access to the exclusive beach area and the Pure Chill Out bar. The upgraded rooms are fantastic...our balcony looked directly out on the ocean and beach. Dining options were expansive; they reminded us of the "specialty" restaurants on cruise ships. The tapas and creperie were fantastic, as was the Mexican restaurant. The steakhouse was great, with the staff attending your every need. However, the Italian restaurant was completely marginal....the pasta dishes at the 2 buffets were better. As to the buffets, if you are PRIVILEGE, it's almost an ala carte experience. You get seated at the best tables, and immediately a staff member takes your drink order. Food choices are abundant, and we liked both the indoor as well as the outdoor buffet. SECOND: Anyone who complains about the drinks is crazy! You can get ANYTHING, and they are mixed strong! Beer, wine, cocktail, soda...everything was GREAT! Service was the best, and everyone had a smile on their face. Plus, everyday they refill your room mini-bar, so happy hour on the balcony before dinner was a daily event. THIRD: The beaches and entertainment options were excellent. DEFINITELY do the free catamaran ride...DAILY! The captains were great and the trips are excellent. Also, avail yourself of the free bicycles, and ride down to the marina, where you can watch all the Dolphin Experience stuff for free, and enjoy the great scenery there. The kayaks were so-so, in that they are cheezy plastic things, but for a nice short ride in the nearby lagoon, they weren't bad. Snorkeling gear was provided free, but this area didn't have a lot to see underwater. FINALLY: If you've followed along so far, and upgraded to PRIVILEGE, then get your beach chair at the Pure Chill Out bar and spend all day there! Upgraded chairs, and the giant beanbags are the BEST! Great music, a smaller and quieter crowd, premium liquor and beer, and fantastic bartenders. And that's just during the day. At night, the place is the most peaceful spot on the resort, and the moonlight combined with the cool blue lighting, comfortable tables and chairs, premium drinks and excellent service, make this the spot to be. AVOID: Don't bother with the Sports Bar....WAY TOO LOUD and it's lit up like a football stadium at night...bright as the sun! The smaller pool by the outdoor buffet is crowded all the time, so head to the pool by the Pure Chill Out bar. Also, the "shopping bazaar" held most nights on the walkways is a waste of time...tourist junk that you don't need. SUMMARY: This place is a hidden gem! The rooms are fantastic, the food and drinks are great, and the staff is the best! But remember: You HAVE TO UPGRADE TO PRIVILEGE!!!


2 of 2 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Midland, MI
Age: 55-64
Travel: 7+ trips/year

March 24, 2014
Terrible, terrible food

We just returned back from 7 nights at the Catalonia Riviera Maya today. I have never been so hungry before. Let me start with the good things, lest you think this is a completely un-objective rant: -The grounds are beautifully kept. Every part of the resort was immaculately clean and manicured. - We stayed 7 nights in a Privileged upgraded Honeymoon suite, which was very nice. -Despite a fair number of guests, the resort is laid out so that it does not feel crowded or loud. It is peaceful, and right on the beach so the wind from the shore carries all the noise away. - Although VERY few spoke english, the staff members were very kind to us. -The drinks were excellent, and bartenders would make them strong if you asked them to. Now for the bad news... -THE FOOD. People, I cannot stress to you enough how TERRIBLE the food is. Worse that the lowest tier buffet on a cheap all-inclusive cruise. There are specialty options available for the evening, as have been reviewed by previous posters, but be warned: even Mikado which receives glowing reviews, is just "okay". It's like microwaved Chinese food. That being said, it was the best meal we had at the resort.... because all the meals were terrible so suddenly "microwaved Chinese food" went way up on the list. Let me give you some examples of actual food on the buffet: pancakes but no syrup (anywhere), strange raw pork loins, pork chops, pork EVERYTHING but with no sides to accompany. Squid ink watery pasta sauce on VERY al dente macaroni noodles. Rubbery warm ham slices in the "deli" section. "Seafood" crepes filled with some mixture of ground fish and clams that resembled cat food in taste and smell. Canned peaches, canned green jello salad, canned pears. No fresh dairy, no fresh fruit, no fresh vegetables. My husband and I ate french fries (the frozen kind, not even homemade) and a slice of pizza every day for lunch. That would tide us over until 6 PM when we could make it to a themed restaurant for dinner. We wanted to go to the steakhouse on our last night. We didn't have any "punches" left for any other restaurants and we had not been to the steakhouse yet. We waited 30 minutes outside and the restaurant had decided to close for the night. That meant that the other 3 options left we had already visited and could not visit again. So we didn't get to eat at a restaurant that night. Sure, it's just bad luck, but why completely close down a restaurant when you have guests who don't have the option to eat anywhere else? We ended up going to the crepe place and getting dessert only. We were hungry but so DONE with the resort by that point we just wanted to go home. Let me follow this up by saying that I am not a foodie. I didn't have unrealistic expectations. We knew it was an all-inclusive. We didn't expect 5 star dining, just something comparable to American buffet dining. The Catalonia had the worst food I have ever been subjected to in 30 years of traveling. Worse than college dorm food, worse than cruise food, worse than casino food. Unfortunately, the food issue so overshadowed the good things about the resort (cleanliness, service) that we could not even focus on the positives. Because the city is so remote, you don't have the option of going somewhere else to eat. We were trapped there, hungry and cranky. We counted down the days to the airport Starbucks and McDonald's, and ate delicious local CHEAP Mexican food out on every excursion we went on. These were the only times we were satisfied. I wish I had a better report to give, but I can't recommend the Catalonia Riviera Maya to anyone. Please don't go. You will be hungry and cranky and sad by the end. Other small issues to report (although they paled in comparison to the food quality) -No hot water on our last night there, or the morning of our departure. Called the front desk twice, no repairman was ever sent. -Room 6301 was very quiet until the last night when they had a LOUD party at a nearby bar. It kept us up all night. -Both hotel gift shops were closed for the majority of the day one day. I had a female issue (TMI!) and needed something from the gift shop and couldn't get it. I called the front desk, waited 5 hours, and never got a call back or any help. My husband eventually negotiated with someone at the gift shop to let us take tampons and charge them to the room. -Our special honeymoon breakfast was scheduled (and not delivered) twice. When they finally got it right, the "breakfast" was a bowl of apples and grapes and a pot of coffee with 2 slices of toast. Not kidding. We had waited 3 days trying to schedule that???? -Pools close at 6 PM. The sun is brutal during the day, but you can't swim in the evenings because there are no pools open. In short: there are minor issues, but this is not a 5 star experience. The food is 1 star at best. Proceed with caution.


2 of 2 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 2
Value
 
1.0
Service
 
1.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: San Antonio, TX
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

April 5, 2014
riveira resort

I spent10 days at the Maya Riviera and enjoyed myself with my sisters and friend. I was very disappointed in our room. We had no fridge or ice bucket to keep anything cold. When we asked for an ice bucket we were told it would be delivered to our room and finally after 5 nights we got a very small fridge in our room. I have never been in a hotel that didn't have a clock in the room. The light in our room in the ceiling was never there and we wondered why our room was so dark every day and then the night before we left we found out that the light was never in the socket which we thought was a sprayer in case of fire. The food was not the best at all. We had difficulty getting in to the steak restaurant although we were allowed to go 2 times and had to complain and finally were admitted after a lot of bit--ing We really enjoyed the Japanese restaurant and our cook was very entertaining. However we should have been given a choice of the first course. Not every one likes raw fish which was served as first course. The elevator on our floor did not work ( AT ALL FOR GUESTS}. We were told it did not work however I did see the workers going in it and going up or down a couple of times. Why were we not allowed to use it? We asked for a room on the main floor as my sister had a need for NOT WALKING UP STAIRS. Yet we were put on the second floor and she had a terrible time going up and down to the pool. I truly will discourage friends to use this resort. I'm sorry that I have painted such a bad reference to this resort but I am telling the truth and you can do with it whatever you please. Before I sign off I must say the pools were wonderful and very beautiful setting around the resort. Too bad the other things that I have written were so bad. Sincerely, Diana A former guest at the Riviera.


2 of 2 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 2
Value
 
2.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
1.0
User Image

From: North Carolina
Age: Over 65
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

May 21, 2014
Def worth it

Me and my boyfriend just got back on May 16 2014, it was well worth the price, everything was beautiful and i would def go back .. the staff is super friendly, everything was super clean, food was great ...we are already looking into booking again! Also the jungle maya excursion was awesome!

Def worth it
2 of 2 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Mass
Age: 25-34

June 2, 2014
Great value in a safe area

HCRM is an excellent value. My wife and I paid less for this resort than we would have paid for the same duration of stay in another Riviera Maya or Cancun resort. We upgraded to a Privileged room on arrival, which was worth every penny. With Privileged, our fridge was restocked every day, we had access to additional beaches (much nicer area, with bar service at our beach chair). There were a couple of other perks that came with Privileged, but we did not use them. The spa was great - Thursday was a special 2 for the price of 1 massages, so we scheduled once they ran the special. Though the hydrotherapy pool looks amazing, the water was too cold for us to enjoy it. Puerto Aventuras itself is a very safe area - the entire community (not just the resort) is gated, which means there is very limited access. We walked around Puerto Aventuras one day and felt very safe the entire time. Parts of the resort itself is showing a little age. The tub faucet in our bathroom, for example, was sort of patched together with some putty. Water took some time to get hot, and there was a putrid smell at the bottom of our stairs. The theater looks pretty run-down, too. Julio (the Amstar rep) hooked us up with an excursion - Tulum Extreme through Mayan Adventures. If you're looking to get a good variety of history, adventure, and snorkeling, this is the way to go. For about $120 each, we snorkeled in a cenote, rappelled, zip-lined, and visited the Tulum Mayan site. The lunch wasn't bad, either.


2 of 2 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Kentucky
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

June 25, 2014
Excellent Time

I just got back this friday June 20th from Catalonia. I was alittle worried after reading some of the reviews but I will say I had a blast!! Here are my thoughts on it. Upgrade!!! They have low level Garden view rooms and those are the rooms they advertise to get you to book with them. I'll tell you right now.. just go for the privileged upgrade. Its worth it. I had garden view standard room and waited too long to upgrade so had to wait till I got there to do it. For the week it cost me an extra $200 for me and my girlfriend to upgrade. The room was sooooo worth it. Only minor down fall was the bed was two doubles put together, but minor issue. Bed was comfortable. Bathroom was huge, with Huge shower. Had safe that was easy to use.. and mini fridge with coke, dt coke, sprite and water in it that was replenished each day! Food Yes the main food is a buffet style restaurant. One buffet is inside but open air. So it was a little warm. The food was ok...BUT it was all included so have at it. Yes.. there is better food in the world, but lunch was easy to eat and breakfast was simple enough. I had eggs, toast, sausage and bacon each day.. Worked great for me! We ate at the Japanese steak house which was good. I've had better.. I've had worse. Next night we ate at the Tapas Bar. Again... I have a friend that owns one so the bar is high, but the food was good. You get to try alot of little things. Very cool. Afterwards we went to the Creperia.. i got a sundae others in my group got crepes. It was fun and good and INCLUDED.. any money i spent was in tips.. and lets be honest you should tip cuz thats how waitstaff make money. We also at at the Steak house. that too was good. Again. I've had better but it was good! The steak place during the day is also a buffer of burgers, hot dogs pizza and other things. I enjoyed it. We had lunch at one of the privliege restaurants upstairs.. nice view.. nice atmosphere took allittle longer to get food compared to buffet so that was only slightly annoying because I wanted to get back to the beach! Another perk to Privleged was tht there was an air conditioned buffet tht you had access to. I was there all week! Drinks Drinks were good and fruity. I'm not a huge fruity drink fan so I had more beer than anything. Are they super strong no... but easily fixed by telling the bartender what you want. My gf wanted some more in her pina colada and they obliged and i tipped him nicely for it. Atmosphere The pool area is great, yes this isnt the US so there is smoking alittlle.. but didn't bug me. Yes the beach is rocky... BRING WATER Socks.. now that you know that,.. you can't complain about it. I knew about it ahead of time.. so slipped them on and went right into the water. The privileged area is nicer but either side is cool. A few nights around the pool they had vendors selling things. Yes you will need to negotiate prices.BUT if you really see something you like get it otherwise I recommend going into Playa de Carmen for an evening and getting you shopping done there. It was a $25 cab ride for 4 of us to get there. It was very safe and alot of fun. Excursions - We did the PArasailing and Catamaran and bother were fun. Be sure to see your Amstar rep when you get there to book with him. You get a better deal than booking through the hotel guy. Parasailing was awesome! Jet ski ride was a bit exciting... and the catamaran tour was worth the $! Do it!!! This was my first time and all and all I was on a tight budget when booking this trip. But the upgrade is well worth it. it was an extra $50 a night for two people.... totally worth it. We had a van ready to pick us up from the air port just exit the terminal and look for the flowery shirts. They were super helpful. I have no complaints about this. Are there better resorts? Totally.. but they also cost more. for those on a budget or first time travelers.. book this place with confidence!

Excellent Time Excellent Time
2 of 2 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Chicago, IL
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

March 31, 2015
Privileged is misleading

Nice resort, excellent food including the buffet. Breakfest bacon was the best bacon I have ever tasted, and I have tasted alot of Bacon. The information was misleading on what is included in the "superior privileged" You do not get a private hot tub in your privileged room, you do get a daily replinished mini bar which includes 2 beers per day. I would recommend the resort, but be very careful of the wording with CheapCarribean and the Hotel around what the privileged really means


2 of 2 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Ashland MO.
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

April 3, 2015
Great resort to visit

overall our vacation at this resort was wonderful. Our room was clean and comfortable, but had a slight odor. checking in and out was quick and easy. the hotel's concierge was always trying to get us to go to presentations so be careful of that. cheap Carribeans rep on site was very helpful so I recommend doing all your dealings with them for excursions. the pools are beautiful and we had a great time in them. however, they are smaller than they appear in the pictures on the website.we had to put our towels on the pool chairs in the morning if we wanted a seat because they were all taken by 8 o'clock in the morning. we were able to go kayaking and swim in the ocean, but there was a lot of rocks and a lot of seaweed. the restaurants were okay. we were always able to find something we like to eat, but it was limited because of the types of food offered. we expected this going out of the country. We felt safe there because it was a gated community. Nobody was able to get in unless they had a good reason to be there. we recommend the Dolphin Discovery which is down the road but still within the gated community. also, we recommend that you upgrade your room to privileged because you get more restaurant options and other privileges. overall, we had a great time and would go back.


2 of 2 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Maine
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year