All

Catalonia Riviera Maya All-Inclusive Reviews

Mexico | Mexico - Riviera Maya Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 435 Reviews
Value
 
4.3
Service
 
4.3
Beaches & Pools
 
4.1
Dining Options
 
3.8
Room Comfort
 
3.9
4.1 out of 5
"Very nice hotel. Clean and friendly. Great food. Weak drinks. Rocky ocean enterance very hard to enter. Would stay again." – Bigmoe5
412 out of 501 (82%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Pool at night time Beach View A great view! At the Sports Bar Beach at night Dolphin Discovery the view doesn't get much better than this! Hotel Catalonia Riviera Maya daily entertainment Privledged Beach beach View from room View while rooftop dining! View from balcony Newlyweds by the cabanas The newlyweds on the beach One of the Pools From the pool facing the hotels entrance view from room Beautiful Pool! What you see while sitting on Privledhed beach Welcome package beach view from 7033 Open air buffet View from the Terrace amazing white sandy beaches Hawk Family Beautiful view from our balcony. Swimming lagoon at the resort Dirt Dishes! Romantic Dinner hotel rooms 5 Star Hotel Elevator! Hotel Grouds Front view of Resort Pool view Plenty of chairs Wonderful snorkeling area! Pool Sunrise Catolonia Riviera Maya Good Food Private terrace to our suite View of the hotel from the ocean. And A Little Music

All Catalonia Riviera Maya All-Inclusive Customer Reviews

91-100 of 435 reviews. Sort by
August 12, 2012
This place was MUCH better than I expected

OK, I've only been to the Riviera Maya once before (a week at the Grand Bahia Principe Tulum... which wasn't that enjoyable in October '07 after a hurricane came though). So I wasn't expecting much on our 12 day vacation at the Hotel Catalonia Riviera Maya. BUT MY WIFE AND I HAD A GREAT TIME THERE! I really liked the size of the place... small enough so you don't have to walk a long way or take a shuttle, but big enough that there's always a lot to do. And the service was really good. The activities staff was lots of fun. We were also surprised at the high quality of evening shows at the theater... WOW! They were top notch! We got 5 coupons for dining at the nice restaurants (our favorites were the italian, japanese and the steakhouse). The two buffet restaurants are pretty good too (one open air and one air conditioned). It's a very friendly resort and we met LOTS of people from all over the world. This place has a nice beach in a cove and the snorkeling is good. Downsides? Our room faced a service drive, so a couple times we awoke to the noise of bottles crashing in a dumpster. They offered to move us, but we chose to stay in that room. When checking out a snorkel, mask and fins, they only let you use them one hour per day... but that seemed OK after I got over it.

Hotel Catalonia Riviera Maya Open air buffet
2 of 2 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Fresno, CA
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

September 23, 2012
Best vacation.

I highly recommend resort ! Everything is beautiful about resort ! Everything was VERY clean ! All inclusive was excellent ! Food was always prepared fresh ! Liquor was the best alcohol for Mexico ! I've gone other all inclusices alcohol was horrible !!


2 of 2 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: New jersey
Age: 35-44
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

November 5, 2012
very satisfied

Very good when all inclusive there are a lot of restaurants to chose from but they only give you a certain amount of meal ticket to use during your stay for dinner and when you run out you just eat in the buffet. the environment around the resort is nice and gate so you can walk to shops and stores close to the resort without any problems most of the excursions are within the gate community so you don't have to travel very far you could even walk if you want. the safe for the room is 7 dollrs a night


2 of 2 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Denver
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

March 13, 2013
Great Trip

It was a great trip. We loved the area. There is a marina within a short walking distance with different restaurants and small shops all within a gated type community. The resort is beautiful and the food at the ala cart restaurants was excellent. We are ready to go back ASAP. Suggest choosing a different airline than spirt.

Great Trip
2 of 2 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: SE Michigan
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

May 11, 2013
Great Value

Great resort...extremely clean. Food quality/options were low, but burgers were available at the buffet until 2am! Olympus Tours were the best shuttle and offer excellent guidance on tours and options. Jungle Maya is the best purchase for a full-blown adventure (no lazy pools here)...not for children. I would return to the resort and definitely book everything with Olympus Tours!


2 of 2 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Akron, OH
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

July 16, 2013
Had a good time

This was our second trip to this resort because we enjoyed it so much the first time. They have made some changes since our last visit that was a little disappointing but overall still had an enjoyable vacation. The food quality seems to have dropped a little except at the Japanese Steakhouse where the food and service there was amazing. The selections on the buffet were lacking and there has been a change in their liquor but would still return.


2 of 2 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Plainfield,IL
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

August 27, 2013
Nice resort, too far from everything else though

Pros: The resort was nice. The staff was friendly. All-inclusive. Private beach. Cons: I would recommend you get your currency exchanged before you go to the resort, they may have a different rate than what others may have. I got screwed on my last day there because the rate was different than at the airport. A little too far from everything else, so be sure to arrange transportation ahead of time to/from the airport. Playa Del Carmen is about 20 mins away, but the gated community is nice and small and you can borrow resort bikes to get to the local market and marina.


2 of 2 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Milwaukee, WI
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

October 15, 2013
Great Honeymoon

There were a lot of different options for traveling to a tropical paradise for our honeymoon. I had never been to Mexico. This resort was a great value. We did upgrade our room to a suite on arrival which was beautiful. Service and cleanliness were excellent. The employees are working around the clock to make sure everything is top notch. The specialty restaurants were all good. We tried Terrace Tapas, The Steakhouse, the Italian and ate at the Japanese place twice. Definitely enough food and drinks to go around. Lots of activities are offered throughout the day and you can snorkel on the beach there are a lot of fish to see along the lagoon, or take a 20 min ride on a wind boat. The Marina and dolphin discovery is close walking distance from the resort and there are lots of places to eat and shop there as well. Had a great time!

Catolonia Riviera Maya Dolphin Discovery
2 of 2 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: St. Clair Shores, MI
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

December 14, 2013
Catalonia Riviera Maya Dec.'13

This was our first experience in an all- inclusive resort! We really liked a lot of things the resort offered, but we definitely had few issues... The all-inclusive isn't really all- inclusive. There are some restaurants that you can go only if you upgrade, and the thematic ones, you are depending on vouchers to go in (???) you dont have vouchers for all your stay, for instance, if you stay for 4 nights they will give you 2 vouchers...the rest of the trip, you gotta go to the buffets, which is no bad, but it gets repetitive after a while...and no one told us about that prior to the arrival by the way. Our room was good, nothing fancy, but we were in a beautiful area, right in front of the pools, with ocean view, so that was great! The service at the hotel is one of the best I have ever seen! The really work very hard to make you comfortable! They are always smiling and they are very pleasant! At the end, its what you make out of it. We had a very good time there, people were friendly the place is truly beautiful and you do get a good value for your money after all!


2 of 2 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Newark, Nj
Age: 25-34

February 23, 2014
Part Deux

Second visit and still very satisified. Wonderful resort. Small and cozy. But some how I still have not discovered all there is to offer. The spa was amazing and the spa staff very educated on services they offer. The hotel staff and guests were super friendly just like I remebered.We made new friends the first visit and new friends on this trip also. I hate to write anything too nice because I'd like to keep Hotel Catalonia as my little secret place in paradise. We will be back--sooner the better.

Part Deux Part Deux
2 of 2 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Oshkosh, WI
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year