All

Catalonia La Romana Reviews

Caribbean | Dominican Republic - La Romana Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 64 Reviews
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
3.9
Beaches & Pools
 
4.4
Dining Options
 
3.8
Room Comfort
 
3.6
3.8 out of 5
"I had a great time on my vacation. All the staff and entertainment crew was wonderful. Everyone was very friendly and helpful. Dininng options could have been better but overall a very nice trip." – VKfromNJ
57 out of 74 (77%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Entry to the resort Mold Baby crib View from my sunbed

All Catalonia La Romana Customer Reviews

1-10 of 64 reviews. Sort by
August 2, 2013
Excellent Place to Stay

My finace and I had a wonderful time at La Catalonia. The pools were very clean and refreshing. The beach was amazing with clear blue water and lots of tropical fish to see while snorkling. The entertainment during the day was fun to watch and at night it was even more pleasing. Though our timing was off for dinner at the restaurants (could have been informed on times of the restaurants a bit better), we did enjoy the buffet and pizzaria each night. The food was good and very accomodating to all taste buds. I would highly recommend this resort to anyone looking to stay in La Romana.


24 of 24 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: East Brunswick, NJ
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

June 20, 2013
I loved this resort.

#1: The staff was incredibly friendly. Whether it was the front desk, the people who cleaned your room, the servers in the restaurant... anyone you saw was super friendly. It was great to speak Spanish with them, so if you are a traveler who wants to practice, Spanish, this resort is definitely for you. #2: The atmosphere of the resort was phenomenal because the people were from all over the world. There were definitely more Europeans than Americans and I found this to be a plus because it made interacting with everyone more fun. #3: The smaller size of the resort made it feel like a vacation family. Both seeing the same staff and having them recognize you or doing the the activities and going to shows with the same people you saw on the beach, I loved how tight-knit it felt. #4: The "Animacion" team (entertainment) was amazing. We did all the dance lessons on the beach and stuff like that with them. They were a blast and it added a lot to the experience. #5: The food was great. A lot of variety. For anyone going: definitely upgrade to the "Privileged" status. It was totally worth it. If I had to "complain" about anything, I would just warn that sometimes the hot water takes a while to heat up (who cares) and that the humidity is intense even in your cool room so your sheets may feel wet from it. Really though, who cares... it was wonderful!

Entry to the resort
19 of 21 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Dallas, TX
Age: 25-34

July 31, 2013
A great time was had by all

Spent five nights with two teens and two 20+ kids! Small resort. Awesome service. The staff are exemplary. Especially Luis, Roberto, Lilo, Shorty and all of the dancers. The beach is beautiful, the ocean is warm and clean. Snorkel with the fishes, kayak and sail. Liked the buffet but the Italian restaurant and the steakhouse were a letdown. Overall a wonderful place

View from my sunbed
7 of 8 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Chicago, il
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

June 30, 2016
Catalonia

Nestled along the beautiful Caribbean sea with clean white sand. The resort grounds were kept clean and neat. The villas are Spanish style and tastefully done. Finding your way around is an adventure in itself as the walkways are connected by circles and can be confusing. Everything you need is right there at the resort. Had a wonderful stay. Nice get away.


4 of 4 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: randallstown, Md
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

October 27, 2016
AMAZING

Everything from the service to the food to the hotel and staff was perfect. We will be staying here from now on and going through cheapcarribean from now on. THANK YOU SO MUCH


4 of 4 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Sedro Woolley WA
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

October 7, 2016
Best getaway yet!

My husband and I are in our early 30's and are experienced travellers. We needed to get out of the states for our visas (we're only allowed in the states for 6 months at a time) so I did some research and found an incredible deal leaving from Ft Lauderdale to the Dominican for 5 nights, flights, accommodation, airport transfers and at an all inclusive. So I booked! The reason we chose Catalonia was the reviews of the beach. And it superseded our expectations. It was incredible. We didn't swim in the pool once even though the pool looked incredible too. But the beach had the most stunning blue turquoise waters I've ever seen. At reception we had an option to upgrade our stay to 'Privileged' and since we had an incredible deal already we thought why not, and we're so happy we did. We had a room closer to the beach, we had access to a special part of the beach with beach lounges and our own thatched hut shade, and we also had access to our favourite restaurant 'The Terrace' which is on the beach with incredible views, wonderful staff, and delicious meals. We also ate at the buffet and Yuca which also had some amazing foods and wonderful service. There is not one thing we could complain about from our trip. The only thing I had a little trouble with was the language. Most staff do speak a little english so non spanish speaking guests could get by but there were a couple of times I needed my husband to help me as I couldn't understand what the staff were saying. But that is nothing compared to the incredible time we had. I would definitely return and I definitely recommend this resort to others. I would also recommend the Saona Island excursion because if you think Bayahibe beach is amazing, you'll be blown away by Saona Island. So beautiful. The all inclusive was more than enough food and drink for us. I'm not sure what it would have been like if we didn't upgrade but at the Terrace we were able to order cocktails from morning until night, there was also a smoothie stand behind us which was so delicious and refreshing in that heat. The only thing that we did need to pay for was the wine. Which we only had once at the buffet. Otherwise no money except a little tip money for cab drivers and tour operators was needed.


6 of 7 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Fort Lauderdale, FL
Age: 25-34
Travel: 7+ trips/year

June 21, 2017
Best Vacation

I'll start with purchasing this vacation deal It was easy to purchase it with an agent through Cheap Carribbean.com We flew by Spirit first time and it was great We were picked up at St Domingo airport and transferring to the Hotel Catalonia Grand Dominicus Checked in in our upgraded room Room was nice, but a little older furniture Our mini bar was updated every day Nice clean towels every day Food was excellent, with a lot of choices Steakhouse was ok Yuca was the best restaurant We eat pretty much everyday at the buffet and loved it Beaches are awesome!!!!! Clean, with blue water We took two excursion, Zip Lining and Blue Azul And Catalina Island , loved it!!!! We stayed for 7 nights at this hotel and didn't want to leave the place I'll recommend everyone to go there


6 of 7 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Jupiter, FL
Age: 35-44
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

July 22, 2015
DO NOT GO HERE

Stay from July 11 to July 18, 2015 I will start with the positives: 1-Jeannine in the computer room went above an beyond to help resolve an issue I had with my airline- Kudos Jeannine- und Danke 2- The Privileged rooms were very nice 3- The beach was beautiful 4- Housekeeping maintained the room adequately The Negatives: 1- No pool services, which requires guests lounging at the pool to go to one of two bars to get drinks. Not conducive to the type of relaxation I expect while on vacation 2- Food was fair AT BEST in all restaurants and buffet, with one exception- the food and service at Yuca was excellent. 3- SERVICE: a-Bartenders: without exception the bartenders thought we were there for them instead of the other way around- poor bartender service would be an understatement- drinks were watered down (we wound up buying and using our own alcohol for our drinks) b- Wait staff: Yoselin was the only bright star in an otherwise gloomy group of waiters/waitresses c- I happen to upgrade to Privileged because we thought it would be nice to have breakfast in in the room from time to time- WASTE OF MONEY- the food was always cold and tasteless, the fruit generally rotten or overripe, the coffee cold. My wife did enjoy the oatmeal. d-Buffet staff: the buffet is divided into the regular patrons and the privileged patrons d1- Privileged: upon sitting down, water was poured, high chair was brought without hesitation, drinks orders instantly filled. d2- Non Privileged: 99% of the time I did not sit in privileged so I could eat with my family: some times it took up to 10 minutes to get a high chair, a few times I went searching for one myself, luck was with you if you got water or coffee in the first 5 minutes; forget about soft drinks- might as well die of thirst. Management: I found it funny and sad that they have a day every week to pat themselves in the back; I think they called it the "Managers ball" or something ridiculous like that. Yet when my niece reported an IPhone6 stolen from a room, they told her to call the police, no effort was made by the hotel management to investigate. When I had an issue at check out and requested a manager, one was not willing to see me or not available, I was told both. I could go on and on. I will not, I have better things to do, but I will say: My family and I (51 of us) went there; got lousy services, poor food and dismal management support. BUT we had a great time, because we were there as a family. DO NOT USE THIS FACILITY- you have been warned


7 of 9 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 1
Value
 
1.0
Service
 
1.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Massillon, OH
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

July 31, 2013
Lovely Dominican Republic

We had a great time in the Dominican Republic. The people were very friendly and helpfull. The resort offered everything we could need. Highly recommend a trip here!


3 of 3 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Norway
Age: 35-44
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

December 1, 2013
Thanksgiving Stay

Overall I feel that it is a very nice resort and the people are very friendly. The beach is great, weather is beautiful, and the staff was very hospitable. The only things that would have made it better would be a swim up bar at the pool. The location from the airport (Santa Domingo) was a bit far (1.5 hour shuttle ride). Being from America the language barrier was a bit challenging at times as most people speak Spanish or French. The food was okay, there was always something that you could find but as with any place it gets kind of old eating out the whole week. Don't want to sound negative since we really did have a very nice vacation.

Thanksgiving Stay
3 of 3 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Pittsburgh, PA
Age: 25-34

+ Vacation Packages
+ All-Inclusive Deals
+ Hotels
+ Destinations