All

Caribe Hilton San Juan Reviews

Caribbean | Puerto Rico Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 145 Reviews
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.1
Beaches & Pools
 
4.3
Dining Options
 
3.5
Room Comfort
 
4.1
4.2 out of 5
"This vacation was great.The service and staff was excellent. Room view was not as advertised but all in all this is an excellent resort" – FW11
144 out of 168 (86%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Caribe Hilton PR Main pool the view from 6th floor of the hotel Sunrise at the Caribe A shot of the private beach around 8am Caribe hilton Our Room View A shot from 12th floor hotel room over looking the private beach. from our balcony El Yunque Rainforest Fort Geronimo Trash in kids' basketball court area View from our room ! View from our room ! view from our balcony looking east A beautiful view from our room! Taken on my cell phone while lounging by the pool Me and My Husband the back view hammock area View from our room

All Caribe Hilton San Juan Customer Reviews

1-10 of 145 reviews. Sort by
March 4, 2012
Trip to San Juan

For the most part our trip to San Juan was quite memorable. It did start off with some small issues: The flight out of Miami was held up for 1 hour and 20 minutes on the plane at the terminal and we never got a reasonable explanation ( American Airlines), second there was an issue over our room at the Caribe- no balcony ,that was corrected but only because I would not accept anything but what I paid for. The food choices at the Caribe were diverse but I felt over priced. The facilities however were magnificient and the staff very helpful. We were picked up and dropped off at the airport in grand style by Elegant Steering, these people did our Bacardi tour excursion and exceeded all of our expectations. They did everything that we had arranged and more, we felt they are the most well run and knowledgeable people in San Juan. Overall Old San Juan, New San Juan, the pools and beach at the Caribe were well worth the trip. Food choices in the area were vast, you could have anything you wanted. The best place to eat we felt was the Casa Lola, if you go there you have to have the fish bites.

Sunrise at the Caribe
87 of 90 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image
Top 250 Contributor
From: Chesterfield, Va.
Age: 55-64
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

May 16, 2012
Fabulous Honeymoon!

We just got home from staying at the Caribe Hilton May 1-6th for our honeymoon. We loved it! Every single staffer was super nice to us. I had an international block on my checking account that I didn't know my bank routinly did and it caused me problems at check in. All the ladies at the desk were super nice and patient as I got it taken care of. Our housekeeper Victor (Vin Diesel look-alike lol) gave us great ideas of what to see and how to get there. Danny at the Concierge Desk recommended a great place to eat in Old San Juan called Toro Salao. The food was fantastic! Our king sized bed slept great and had more pillows than we needed. Our room was very spacious, clean, had a very nice flat screen tv, and was well stocked with coffee and bath items. We had a refrigerator and a double single-serving coffee maker and we requested a microwave that was brought up immediately free of charge. The large tiled shower with a glass front was beautiful. Even though our balcony was over the restaurant roof we still had a great view of the fountain garden below and a great beach view looking east. There is a Subway and a mom & pop restaurant across the street that have good food. We didn't eat onsite very much bc it is the Hilton and the food is EXPENSIVE! We paid $23.75 plus tax & tip for breakfast buffet that was average w/ an omelet station, self-serve eggs (mediocre), pancakes, french toast, bagel toasting, and fruit bar w/ cereal and juice. The Morton's Steakhouse on site is even more expensive w/ the smallest steak being $48! We skipped that one. The lobby bar is hopping on weekends though and serve food late! The pool is beautiful and has a swim-up bar in it. The beach is man made due to the rocky nature of that area of the island but really is a nice swimming lagoon w/ lounging BEDS and plenty of chairs and umbrellas for free. The grounds are beautifully manicured with gorgeous plants everywhere. We really enjoyed walking around in the evenings. We were greeted eagerly and very friendly by all of the staff we encountered. We had a great time there and just really enjoyed a great honeymoon at an UNBELIEVABLY affordable price. Our entire package price with airfair from our small hometown airport was cheaper than just the cost of the hotel bill would have been BEFORE TAXES! Thanks Cheap Carribean for a dream honeymoon! Its my second wonderful trip using your company.

Taken on my cell phone while lounging by the pool view from our balcony looking east
26 of 26 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Knoxville, Tn
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

March 14, 2011
Caribe Hilton is a great stay!

We were booked into a suite with full kitchen and a balcony overlooking the lagoon where we could hear the waves lapping into shore - very relaxing. Between our villa and the front desk was a little park with several peacocks, lots of goldfish, a wooden bridge and a pond overlook - very relaxing - very zen! Each day we had included in our stay a full buffet with an omlette station staffed by an excellent omlette maker - he always got it right. And free champagne to spice up the fresh squeezed OJ was a neat touch. We swam in the several pools and the ocean. The surf was rough but you cant swim out - it is over a quarter mile and on the other side of 2 breakwaters. Nevertheless the ocean was 12 feet deep and I had about a 2 kilometer long beach to swim along - plenty of open swimming space. Being close to Old San Juan, we took advantage of the old district and treated ourselves to the Marmalade - this guy deserves a couple of Michelin stars! Oh, BTW, we loved the Caribe Hilton!


20 of 20 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Port Washington, NY
Age: Over 65
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

June 5, 2012
Great Vacation

Caribe Hilton hotel was located in a good distance from many activities. For example, its just a 5min cab ride to viejo san juan and 10min walk to the casinos or a public beach. The hotel itself was ok, the rooms need an update but the staff were awesome and made you fell welcomed. I recommend to rent a car to avoid taxi fees and outrageous tour fees. It also gives you the chance to eat outside the hotel. El Yunque is a must see and its a 30minutes drive from the hotel and its FREE..Also 5mins from there is Liquillo beach which is nice to stop by and relax. ALso Seven Seas beach is 15minutes north of Liquillo that is a must see as well..Puerto Rico is a beautiful island with lots of historic sites to see and beautiful beaches to visit. With no doubt i will visit PR again but in a different hotel just to experience another vibe.

El Yunque Rainforest the view from 6th floor of the hotel
20 of 20 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: dallas, Texas
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

June 4, 2011
Wonderful, Beautiful

This was our first trip to Puerto Rico! From the time we landed until the time we left it was a wonderful and beautiful vacation. The Hilton could not have been any nicer. The employees were the best to deal with and everyone went out of their way to be kind and helpful. We rented a car and went to Old San Juan. That is a beautiful little city to visit they have wonderful shops and everyone working there was very kind and helpful. We adventured off with the help of our GPS don't leave home without it!! LOL After reading all the reviews before we booked our trip I would have to say I was a little apprehensive. Now that I know better it was one of our best trips. We are already planning to come back next year!! I can't say enough on how wonderful this trip was. Dealing with Cheap Caribbean for the first time was a great experience this will not be the last time. They made our trip hassel free and worry free. Thank You! This trip was half the cost of going to Hawaii and I will have to say it was a better choice.


17 of 17 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Lake Station, IN
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

June 24, 2012

The place was nice, they have beautiful pools and the beach area was great! The staff was fine not overly friendly but nice enough. We had some items stolen from our room though (camera & 2 ipods) so honestly I have a bad taste about this hotel, they took a report and let us know they would notify us if they found our items. They do have a safe in the room at an additioanl cost but we did't use it, so anyone going it's best to pay the extra money so your belongings are safe.


36 of 39 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 2
Value
 
2.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Sacramento, CA
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

August 18, 2013
Unsatisfactory

This stay has been the worst I've ever had in my life!!! Besides paying for an ocean view but getting a parking lot view and having to listen to trash trucks beep for literally 30 minutes at a time once at 0600 and another at 0900!!!! Every ocean view I've ever paid for was just that a view of the ocean not a parking lot! I ve recorded the noise and view so you can have a better understanding if you'd like to listen! Our service and hospitality here at the Hilton has been far from "5" star! Honestly I've been treated better stayin at a budget inn! This is by far the unhappiest I've ever been on a vacation, this am at 0100 we were woken up by what sounded like gun shots, my fiancé opens the balcony door to see fire works going off! Literally almost on our balcony, not small fire works but large loud booming fireworks! My fiance is active duty military and has served in iraq, with that comes issues no one could possibly undertand, neesless to say waking up from a deep sleep to what he thought was gun shots ruined the rest of his vacation! at another time We had an hour wait for what i would rate as a 40$ lunch that cost us 80$. we took trip for our excursion. And had to drive 2hoursOne way! Because we had to make so many stops to pick up others! My kids were starving and cranky and the excursion was miserable! I had heard great things about cheap Caribbean but was obviously Mislead, and as far as the Hilton goes I'd rather stay at a holiday inn.. Horrible trip horrible experience.. Very unsatisfied, traumatized and irritated


36 of 39 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 1
Value
 
1.0
Service
 
1.0
Beaches & Pools
 
1.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
1.0
User Image

From: Stlouis mo
Age: 35-44
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

August 14, 2013
Great Deal & beautiful Resort - Poor Service

I'll start by saying that cheap carribbean.com was amazing in their customer service and processing. The Caribe Hilton was absolutely beautiful, clean with fantastic views. However the service was minimum to say the least. Both main elevators did not work the entire week we were there and we had to use the service elevators with the staff. No apologizes, no upgrades or perks to offset the fact that we have to use service elevators for 6 days. We arrived early and asked for an early check-in, they said okay and they would call our cell when rooms were ready. We never got a call, every half hour my wife went back to see if the room was ready and was told no. While at the desk, she overheard someone getting an early check-in. When she asked why we weren't first, they said the couple called in advance for an early check-in. We said I guess the fact that they called in gives them preference over customers who are already here waiting. The entire arrival was so unpleasant, it literally caused us to argue. We finally got our rooms, when we went backup to the desk, but they never called us. We got a "we were just about to call you. They seemed just as annoyed at us, as we were with them. The maid staff was really good, they bought us towels even when we didn't want our rooms cleaned. Our overall experience was good, the resort was clean and well maintained. They just need to bring in customer service trainers.


15 of 15 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
2.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Bronx, ny
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

July 30, 2010
Nice but expensive

Nice hotel/ resort. Expensive overall. Limited options for eating option for breakfast lunch and dinner. Breakfast is either room service, which is expensive and has a $5 room charge tagged on, or the $26pp buffet. Lunch options are one of three bar/ resturants that open at noon or room service. The only other option is a Subway within walking distance. Dinner is either one of the bars which are mediocure, a terrible italian resturant or Mortons which was excellent but pricey. If you are into sitting on a private beach or lounging in the pool drinking expensive drinks this is the place. Awesome views with a constant breeze, your hotel is on the water. Though my wife and I enjoyed our stay, we realized that we aren't lay on the beach kind of people. We had more fun seeing old san juan and eating local foods.

A shot from 12th floor hotel room over looking the private beach. A shot of the private beach around 8am
20 of 21 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Dallas
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

June 11, 2012
GREAT RESORT!!!!!

The CARIBE is a great place to stay especially for kids. The rooms were very spacious and the staff were nice and helpful.The pool area is very nice with a bar and hammock area. The beach is awesome. It has a rock jetty that keeps the rough water out and provides for some snorkling. The CARIBE is also very close to restaurants and a bus or cab ride to old SAN JUAN also not far from the airport.


11 of 11 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: New Orleans, LA
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year