All

Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta Reviews

Mexico | Mexico - Puerto Vallarta Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 34 Reviews
Value
 
4.4
Service
 
4.6
Beaches & Pools
 
3.9
Dining Options
 
3.7
Room Comfort
 
3.6
4.2 out of 5
"Overall this is a very good resort... I could write a book about the things that I like here. I would like to keep it as my secret but this resort gets my vote." – SFgrl
34 out of 39 (87%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
ZIPLING WITH CANOPY TOURS Sunsets were amazing

All Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta Customer Reviews

1-10 of 34 reviews. Sort by
July 30, 2010
Fabulous All-Inclusive

If you're looking for a taste of Mexico, go to Canto Del Sol! It is a small, intimate enviornment with availble included saiing, kayaking, snorkeling and scuba lessons. The staff takes personal interest in the clients and can't do enough for you! We were looking for Albondigas soup, and one of the staff made arrangements for her mother to make us a liter of homemade soup and it was served to us for dinner one evening. Talk about going above and beyond! Other vacationers are from a vareity of countries and you have no reason not to have folks to chat with. Security is excellent, ensuring that guests are not bothered by vendors or "gate-crashers" from the beach entrance. Food was excellent and everything was clean and "spiffy!" The grounds are well-manicured and even the gardening crew was willing to be of assistance to ensure a pleasant stay. It is close to opportunities to visit Puerto Vallarta proper, if you so choose, but there are so many available activities on site, there's really no need to leave. Language is no problem and we were always met with nothing but smiles and pleasant manners. We WILL return!


56 of 59 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Southern California
Age: 55-64
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

January 6, 2016
Fantastic place for just the right price!!

Canto Del Sol was an absolutely fabulous place to stay. Still in the resort district but closer to old PV with lots of shops and areas to explore by foot. The price was very reasonable and what they lack in amenities, they more than make up for in service and friendliness. Don't let the negative nit-picking trouble you. Canto Del Sol is a 3 star hotel with 5 star service. The food is good, especially in the specialty restaurants. The beach and pool areas are awesome and the vendors on the beach are actually very nice people trying to earn money to feed their families. Just say "No thank you" and they move on. The rooms are modest but comfortable; you really don't need that space other than to sleep, which was perfect. Things to do? Go scuba diving at Twin Dolphins, go to the Malecon (city center) on Sunday evening, go to Los Pienes Pier for fish tacos, visit Our Lady of Guadalupe, relax at the resort at least a day, go to a tequila factory and have some real blue agave tequila, go surfing, tour the mountains either north or south or both, see the humpbacks, get on a boat and either tour outside of the bay (Marietas) or go to Los Arcos, learn as much Spanish as you can, and just have some fun! Puerto Vallarta has something for everyone! And Canto Del Sol is the perfect springboard for your adventures!


10 of 10 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Tennessee
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

May 25, 2015
Hmmm

It was okay, nothing exceptional. When we where there, there was a three day event for locals so the resort was PACKED. There were times that the actual tourist for around the world such as myself had no where to sit. IF I had known that there was a huge convection for 3 days I would have avoided the specific dates. Secondly, the tour guide for Cheap Caribbean Alberto visited us on the resort to ensure our comfort. He convinced us that if we purchased a excursion he would throw in the city tour for us for free. We agreed on that deal. We purchased the excursion then he stated that he did not have the trips for the city tour and will bring it tomorrow, he would leave it at the front desk for us by 5pm. Lets just say we never heard of seen him since and there were no tickets left at the desk for us. We got hustled.


8 of 8 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Chicago
Age: 19-24
Travel: 7+ trips/year

May 20, 2016
Great for the price

The rooms weren't much, but who spends time in the room anyhow? But, they WERE clean! The pool and swim up bar were great. The booze was rail, but they did have better brands as long as you asked for them by name (Absolute & soda rather than vodka & soda). The beach was nice, but not for snorkeling. A little pebbly, but water was warm. A lot of peddlers selling wares, and it's a public beach. Peddlers aren't allowed up the steps into the pool area, so if you don't like being bothered, just hang by the pool. We had massages on the beach that were AWESOME and CHEAP!!! Definitely get a massage! Food was fair and the service was great, especially Juan, who delivered drinks and lunch to our lounge chairs! Don't bother pre-paying for transfers to/from the airport at $27 per person. A cab is cheaper, and is only about a 15 minute ride. Will definitely return!!!


7 of 7 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Maryland, USA
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

June 9, 2014
Honeymoon in Puerto Vallarta

From the moment we got here everyone was helpful and gracious. Canto del Sol decorated our room and gave us 3 complimentary fine dining dinner coupons. We were offered a drink at check in and a list of activities for the days we were here. We started our stay walking around the surrounding area and then coming back to a tequila tasting with music and dancing at the resort. The second day we participated in the promotion and it was totally worth it. Unfortunately we couldn't buy what they were selling, but we were given breakfast, a 7 hour City Tour (fantastic!), and cpls massages on the beach for our time. TOTALLY WORTH IT! Because we did this not only did we receive gifts, but we also got the promotional price on all other excursions. Some saving us only 10 bucks on some, others 60 each person (worth it). We loved the boardwalk! Such a fun atmosphere. Being from AZ and an ASU grad my favorite bar was Devils Bar at the boardwalk. We met the owner another ASU grad. Adrian the waiter was excellent! I practiced my Spanish while he practiced his English. Wed of our trip we did the city tour and were surprised at how exhausted we were. Thursday we did fishing. Ramon we met on the beach and I was a little weary. But OMG not only did we save quite a bit of money, but we had a blast for 4 hours with Mario fishing. That night we had to go back to the boardwalk and mercados we found on the city tour. We loved the Outdoor adventures from Vallarta Adventures. We took a speed boat to a small village, then a big truck up the mountain. From the moment we were greeted I was impressed and in love. The burro ride, zip lining, repelling, water slide, ahh just an amazing experience. It rained while in the jungle and was an experience my husband and I won't forget. My husband and I love storms and that night we saw a beautiful storm from the outdoor bar. We had planned to do something the next day, but I will say we were sore and exhausted from the outdoor adventure so we skipped to massages and relaxing by the pool. Our flight the last day did not leave till later than our check out and the hotel offered to extend our check out until we left for the airport. Everything from start to finish was amazing. Some suggestions would be, offer a better room with a beach view (especially for honeymooners). Breakfast for whatever reason was just so so and seemed to make my stomach a little sick. But the buffet for lunch and dinner was awesome! Overall an amazing experience and I would definitely recommend and come back to Canto del Sol and all of the excursions.


6 of 6 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: AZ
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

August 30, 2013
Not a good value- & a time share arm twister

Buffet was boring and the food edible but not great but if you like to drink alcohol and can drink a lot this is the place may be worth it. We had to move three times a d the room was still inadequate. Very few ammeities are available and I did not appreciate the high pressure sales pitch we were roped into as part of the check in process or the fact that tours can only be attained by first attending a presentation. I have been on all in lusives before - this was the most disappointing. Finally, while the service was great, you felt constantly obligated to tip several wAiters for service rather than 1 waiter. I would not recommend this resort. They con you into a 90 minute presentation when you check in - then send you for towels where they tell you they want to show you around the resort as they have updated- meanwhile it's a 90 minute presentation that you must stay till the end or not be able to take any tours. All tours must be booked via these presentations


9 of 10 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 2
Value
 
2.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
2.0
User Image

From: Hackensack, NJ 07601
Age: 55-64
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

August 18, 2014
Canto Del Sol not a 5 star

My son and I booked a trip to this hotel through Cheap Caribbean. We have had some great trips through them in the past. We decided to book one of their "last minute deals" and head to Mexico for a few days to relax. The hotel was rated 5 stars, so we were excited to enjoy our experience. We arrived at the hotel at about 1:30. It took a half hour to check in, as they were very short staffed. When we walked into the lobby, it looked nothing like the pictures. It was very run down and shabby. When we finally got shown to our room, it was also run down and shabby. They strongly encouraged us to lock up our valuables in the safe, which was disconcerting. There was a white film across the window, so we couldn't even see outside. It felt like a prison cell and was very noisy. The beds and bathroom were also very shabby. We decided to go eat at the buffet. It was absolutely a joke. I was afraid to eat the food, as I was worried that any fruits and veggies were not cleaned in purified water and we would end up sick. The food choices were very few and not appetizing. I ended up eating some cheese and bread, which was hard, crunchy and stale. The café overlooked the pool that was absolutely jammed packed with people. Not one square foot without somebody already in it. There was some sort of game being narrated which was completely in Spanish. I understand that in Mexico, you are going to hear a lot of Spanish and that is the allure. But it does seem this hotel is not catering to tourists. At that point, we started to look furiously on the internet to find something else, to try and salvage this vacation. Fortunately, the hotel only charged us for one night and let us back out of our reservation, once we found something more suitable. I would strongly suggest that this hotel be removed from your list of preferred properties or be marketed as a 2 star hotel. It is very deceiving to call this a 5 star hotel. It is nothing of the sort.


16 of 21 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 1
Value
 
1.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
1.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
1.0
User Image

From: Seattle, WA
Age: 45-54

January 20, 2012
GREAT TRIP

THE TRIP WAS GREAT AND THE BEST THING WE DID AND EVERYONE SHOULD TRY IT IS ZIP LINING WITH CANOPY TOURS. IM A LITTLE BIT OF A CHICKEN. BUT IT WAS VERY FUN. tHE ONLY THING ABOUT THE TRIP IS THERE IS SOME CLIMBING IF YOU ARE IN MED SHAPE NO PROBLEM BUT IF YOU ARE IN BAD SHAPE COULD BE DIFFICULT. THE HOTEL COMPLAINT I HAD I WASNT INTERESTED IN A TIMESHARE AND TOLD THE REP THAT BUT EVERYTIME SHE SAW US SHE WOULD SAY SOME COME ON LET ME SHOW YOU MY PRESENTATION. WE STARTED USING THE BACK ENTARANCE SO WE WOULDNT HAVE TO GO THRU THRU THE LOBBY. TO AVOID THE TIMEHARE REP. OVERALL GREAT HOTEL...

ZIPLING WITH CANOPY TOURS GREAT TRIP
11 of 14 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: CARLSBAD,CALIFORNIA
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

July 22, 2014
Excellent service, food and view!

My boyfriend and I did an all-inclusive trip to Canto del Sol in Puerto Vallarta. We were very impressed with the cleanliness of the resort, the amazing service and attitude of the staff, the authentic Mexican food and the stunning view of Puerta Vallarta. One of the best parts about the all-inclusive package was there were multiple restaurants we could eat at, from a snack bar (with awesome shrimp tacos and chimichangas) to a fancy surf and turf restaurant. It is definitely a family resort. There were daily activities, such as water aerobics, blackjack, water polo, water volleyball, kayak tours and beach volleyball. At night, there was a free show and dance lessons by the performers afterwards near the lobby bar. The drinks were very tasty, too, especially the pina coladas. It was a blast! Canto del Sol is also within walking distance of downtown/ the center of the city. We spent one morning exploring the streets, visiting the Cathedral, eating at a local taqueria, buying souvenirs and walking up and down the beach. Everyone we met was very friendly. Our Spanish is pretty solid, which helped. But, most people we talked to were very generous in helping us out in English when our Spanish faltered. I am very happy we purchased our transportation through CheapCaribbean. It was very stress-free to travel from the airport to the resort and vice versa and was only a 15 minute ride. We would recommend anyone to stay at Canto del Sol and visit Puerto Vallarta. It was a phenomenal experience. We would do it again in a heartbeat.


3 of 3 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: McAllen, TX
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

July 26, 2016
First time to Puerto Vallarta

The resort was as described and generally as per the online reviews. The room we were in was a little old and in need of refurbishing but was adequate for our short stay. Based on reviews I was expecting the food to be poor but it was generally very good and there are a lot of options, and if it does get repetitive going beyond a stay of 1 week then there are plenty of good and cheap restaurants within a 5 minute drive. Taxis are easy to find and are cheap.The resort and area is very safe. My youngest child enjoyed the shows. Sea was unsafe to swim in at times for kids but this was well advertised at such times. The front desk got a little pushy and tried to mislead us into attending a 3 hour long time-share talk and tried extracting personal information such as salary. They also had a strict 11am check out so did not let us stay beyond that although we were told that if we check out at 11am we could use the facilities. At the time of check out the guy we spoke to said that was not the case and we would have to purchase food/drinks during our 3 hour wait before departing to the airport. With two young kids I thought that was unfair and noticed they were not applying that rule to all of the families departing at the same time as us. We had our all-inclusive wrist bands removed at 11am whilst others kept theirs. Taxi ride from/to the airport was 70 to 100 pesos (about 6 dollars). There are plenty of tours available and easy to arrange whilst you are here. Hotel Staff were great and worked hard to ensure guests follow the rules but were well attended.


4 of 5 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: USA
Age: 35-44
Travel: 3-6 trips/year