All

Buccaneer Reviews

Caribbean | USVI St. Croix Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 41 Reviews
Value
 
4.4
Service
 
4.8
Beaches & Pools
 
4.5
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.6
4.7 out of 5
"Very gracious. It felt S though we had been welcomed in there family c" – Nadds
44 out of 48 (92%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
View from our room Mermaid beach At hotel grounds Mermaid Beach Grotto beach pool view from our patio

All Buccaneer Customer Reviews

1-10 of 41 reviews. Sort by
March 14, 2012
Not a place for young couple or romantic getaway-

My B/F and I just took our first trip to St. Croix. We are a young couple under the age of 35 with no kids. We stayed at the Buccaneer for 4 nights. The grounds and beaches are beautiful. The service was great. But the biggest downfall the this establishment is that it is a ten minute drive to town where all the bars/restaurants/ watersports are. So if you don't rent a car you have to spend about 10$ each way every time. Also taxis are unreliable and don't run past about 10:30. Also if you rent a car, they drive on the other side of the road which can be tricky. For not being an all inclusive resort you are forced to stay and pay Manhattan prices for food. In town it is much cheaper. This hotel is not good for young couples with no children. It does not have a young crowd and the bar only stays open until 10. I was trying to relax on the beach but there were about 12-15 screaming children and there parents doing nothing about it. This hotel should NOT be a location for a honeymoon or romantic get away. I would suggest trying to find a hotel right in Christensted or the DIVI.


58 of 62 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: New York
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

November 15, 2010
Beautiful

My husband and I decided to go to the Buccaneer for our one year anniversary. The hotel was absolutely beautiful. We even saw humming birds and their native bird on their grounds. Their already included breakfast was wonderful (you can even have then make you an omlette). That is if you can bypass the fresh fruit, pancakes, fresh juices, pastries, assortment of breads and bacon just for starters. The staff was always smiling and went out of their way to help us. You get free snorkling gear here while at other hotels you have to pay for each piece (and towels). This hotel beautiful! They also provide a welcoming party one day a week which include steel drums, dancers free food and alcohol. Try to eat your other meals off premises they are very expensive here and there is so much, good food to try on the island. We made a lot of friends. Oh you must try the rum raisin ice cream downtown!

At hotel grounds
21 of 22 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: New York
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

August 28, 2011

This was a beautiful resort - we had a room very close to the Grotto Beach grill, pool and beach which was very important to me as I have a disability and walking a lot is very difficult for me - The Buccaneer upgraded us to that room without me even asking - all the staff was so friendly and accommodating - in fact, I would say it was extraordinary - I can't wait to return - I can definitely recommend The Buccaneer 100%.


12 of 12 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: North Florida
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

June 12, 2011
Couldn't Imagine a Better Honeymoon Experience

My wife and I visited the Buccaner for our honeymoon. The resort was a short distance from the airport and from the moment you enter the property the vistas in every direction are breathtaking. The golf course wraps around the property the great house sits high on a hill overlooking the entire resort. The beauty of the island is well framed by the resort and in all directions you can see either how the water alternates between crystal clear and electric blue or how the stoic mountains seem to be constantly steeped in steamy fog from the tropical heat. Upon checking in we we were ushered to our room, which was nice, but not quite what we were expecting. I made a call to the front desk to see about a room change and within thirty minutes we were brought to a room that far exceeded our expectations. The balcony allowed us to see nearly all of the resort and the activities available. To the left we could clearly see one of the several beaches located on the property. Another beach and the tennis courts were right in front. A third "private" beach was directly to the right preceded by the golf course. Breakfast was free each morning and provided fresh juices and . The staff was more than friendly and there is a sundry store right on site. The food at the Terrace restaurant was as good as any food that I have had at any four star restaurant.The beaches were beautiful. The tropical fish would swim so close that they would actually brush against you in order to initiate a game of tropical tag. In short, it was paradise.


16 of 17 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Atlanta, GA
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

July 31, 2010
Beautiful, Charming Resort!!!

My husband and I spent a wonderful week at the Buccaneer - such a charming and historical inn! We mentioned it was our 30th anniversary and they graciously upgraded us to a superior room right next to the sugar mill. We had the most comfortable king bed I have ever slept in, and a balcony that overlooked the tennis courts and the ocean. One of our favorite things was the lovely gourmet breakfast that we enjoyed each morning that opened up to an amazing view of the island and ocean! I even took a private watercolor class overlooking this view at our restaurant. It was a steep walk down to the beach, but you could request assistance down in a golf cart if needed. Everyone was very accommodating, and we definitely hope to return!


10 of 10 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Frankfort, IN
Age: 45-54

May 19, 2011
Coundn't have asked for more

Thanks is not enough, We were upgraded to the Buccaneer in St Croix after something happened to our original hotel. We were then upgraded to a fabulous mountaintop room overlooking the grounds and down to the ocean. We watched the sunset from our large patio every night. There were 3 beaches and all with something a little different to offer. The Grotto was rocky with calm waters and great snorkeling. The cafe on the beach serves a grotto burger that can't be beat. The Mermaid was calm and sandy and great for lounging under the lovely palm trees. It also had a a small reef with excellent snorkeling. The hotel is absoutely beautiful.. It sits high on a hill with beautiful landscaping. The staff is friendly and warm.. A daily breakfast is served buffet style and is truly a feast. Everything you can think of is offered. Chocolate chip pancakes. Uhm. Lunch and dinner are offered and there is nightly entertainment. I can't say enough about the place. I also can't say enough about Cheap Caribbean. Our flight was delayed out of DFW and we had to stay overnight in Atlanta. Cheap Caribbean contacted the hotel and arranged another night for us and then rearranged the airline schedule so we could enjoy a full vacation. It was a fantastic vacation. St Crois is a quiet, laid back island with outstanding beaches. I hope to visit there again soon..


8 of 8 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Dallas,Texas
Age: 55-64
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

July 31, 2010
Sugar, sugar

For our first visit to St. Croix, this former sugar mill site was a wonderful place to stay. An airport shuttle delivered us to the front door and we enjoyed three days without worrying about where to go, where to eat or how to get to the beach. The resort has three beautiful beaches, with different characteristics, so something for everyone. The breakfast buffet included was also varied and the option to order a special made it hard to leave hungry, even for the pickiest eater. The fresh air dining area was lovely, even if you were not hungry. It was also the site for nightly music, a relaxing and fun way to chill at the end of the day. Other meals were hit or miss, with service sometimes painfully slow even by island time standards, and food that was acceptable but should have been much more for the price. But after three days, it was time to see more of the island! We were able to have a car delivered to the resort, and enjoyed many more activities with the competent and personable aid at the concierge. Remember to stay left! A comfortable room at the end of each day made for a sweet stay and a memorable vacation.


12 of 13 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Nashville
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

December 17, 2011
Beautiful Buccaneer

We have been coming to St. Croix for years yet this was our first stay at the Buccaneer. It is a beautiful facility rich in history and atmosphere. The accommodating staff were both friendly and professional. Don't miss the weekly manager's welcome party which features a performance by Mocko Jumbies you won't want to miss. The complementary breakfast buffet offered each morning included a plethora of dishes, all very good. The wait staff wore constants smiles and were always eager to please. We highly recommend a stay at the Buccaneer.

Grotto beach pool Mermaid beach
16 of 19 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Dallas TX
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

August 19, 2016
Best Beach

This was our second trip to The Buccaneer in St. Croix. We love the beautiful beach and the relaxing environment. The hotel beach shack provides a variety of free equipment for those who are not content to just lounge in a chair enjoying the sun, sand, and view. Last year we went snorkeling among the reef (with gear from the shack) and were thrilled to witness a small octopus, an eel, and a stingray among the schools of gorgeous fish swimming around us. This year we actually swam with a sea turtle and were stunned to cross paths with a barracuda! Very exciting! Besides snorkeling, my husband took advantage of the free paddleboarding available (last year we paid $40 for the service). I tend to be the type of person who sits on the beach and reads as I'm not a very confident swimmer, but the beach at The Buccaneer is so tranquil that there is no need to even worry about crashing waves! It's like swimming (and floating) in a pool! We were pleasantly surprised this year with a lovely gift basket from the management as a thank you for returning to the resort! It was a very sweet gesture. As far as the rooms go, I do think we preferred last year's Great House room. The Luxury Suite located below the Great House seemed to be much noisier - we could hear everything from the neighboring room. The restaurants did not fail to please. Every dish we ate was a delight to the taste buds. Last year the Terrace restaurant and the Lounge had different menus, which was great since we typically just stay put at the resort and could look forward to a variety of meals. We were surprised to learn that this was not the case this year. Both restaurants had the same menu, so if you plan to stay longer than just a few days, your options may be limited. But if you're craving a burger, you've got to visit The Grotto for the best cheeseburger and fries. It was our favorite option for a quick lunch while we were at the beach. The only thing I would recommend if booking this vacation again and not renting a car is to not book your transportation to and from the airport through Cheap Caribbean. The taxis they use are the most dilapidated dirty vans. We had to wait until all parties who booked transportation arrived (over 30 minutes) only to be put in one of these vans by ourselves anyway and then on the return trip having to wait 20 minutes for a couple that was late for departure. You would be better off contacting The Buccaneer directly to arrange transportation via their Courtesy Vans, which are clean and driven by their wonderful staff.


9 of 10 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Pennsylvania
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

June 29, 2015
Perfect!

We booked a last minute vacation and were very pleased with our decision. First off, service was excellent. Everyone is friendly and helpful. They try to be as accommodating as possible. They had 2 beaches - Mermaid & Grotto - which had ample chairs and trees for shade. You did not have to get there early to claim your spot! They also offered free snorkel gear, kayaks, noodles, and sand toys and they had plenty to go around. Our room was nice and clean. They restocked the towels and did not make it a hassle to get extra towels or replacement towels quickly. The food options were good but got a little old towards the end of our 5 night/6day trip. The fine dining at Kendricks was superb! The resort offers a variety of activities, some at low-cost. We did the scuba introduction and received discounted open dives. The complex is fairly hilly but they do offer free shuttles to help you get around. There is ample parking if you want to rent a car, which might be a good idea as cabs can get very expensive. The resort does offer a well-priced shuttle into downtown but you are stuck to their shuttle schedule. Overall, excellent stay and would highly recommend to others.


5 of 5 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Chicago, IL
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year