All

British Colonial Hilton Nassau Reviews

Caribbean | Bahamas - Nassau Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 59 Reviews
Value
 
3.8
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.2
Room Comfort
 
3.7
3.9 out of 5
"Enjoyed stay at the British Colonial Nassau and thought it an excellent location for sightseeing." – Sketch
54 out of 69 (78%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Our room view View of a cruise ship coming into harbor View from hotel room View from the beach at the British Colonial View of the beach from the pool area View from Hotel Enjoying the beach with the harbor view The beach and the back of the hotel

All British Colonial Hilton Nassau Customer Reviews

1-10 of 59 reviews. Sort by
April 26, 2011
Never again

While I own a timeshare, I booked this trip with CheapCaribbean.com because we had a decent experience in the past and wanted the convenience of one stop shop. First, I felt quite mislead upon booking since I thought I was signing up for a Bed&Breakfast package which I paid extra. Apparently, the small print indicated otherwise, I noticed and called and was informed that making changes to my reservation would cost additional fees which would likely exceed the extra. I purchased transportation to and from the airport which was a nightmare. Very disorganized, my 3 year old was pushed onto the ground by one of the workers and we waited over an hour to board. We ended up paying a Taxi for our return because I didn't want to put my children through the nonsense again. We paid for a Deluxe City View which was a waste of money since we were on the 3rd floor and the view is not pleasant. Very loud, there were parties until 4 in the morning almost every night. I pretty much slept during the day since sleeping a night was impossible. Going forward, I will just use another service to book because after talking to other people who booked through CheapCaribbean, providing good service seems unimportant.


80 of 89 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 2
Value
 
1.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
1.0
User Image

From: Stamford, CT
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

August 21, 2012
Great Getaway

As a frequent guest of this hotel, we, once again had a stellar stay. Room was clean and comfortable, beach and pool divine, and the new cabanas and day beds are a dream. We used the pool each evening and usually had it to ourselves. Check in was delayed, but they gave us vouchers for drinks at the Patio Bar or Buillion, and kept on top of things in getting us into our room as soon as possible. One thing that I would do different. We booked 4 ppl in a room with 2 queens.. just too crowded, especially since we had one of the smaller bathrooms. Next time we'll book 2 rooms and make sure we have the bathrooms with separate showers.


16 of 16 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: New York/ Bahamas
Age: 45-54
Travel: 7+ trips/year

March 19, 2015

britsh colonial hilton nassau lost power at times lost tv all the time lost hot water all the tme do not go to this hotel ever. wast of money.


14 of 14 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 2
Value
 
2.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
1.0
User Image

From: mercerville new jersey
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

December 19, 2010
Nice getaway but not a resort

The hotel is located in the heart of Nassau just a short walk to the Straw Market. The hotel is very nice but our bed was so soft that I awoke with a backache each morning. The hotel is not a resort so you will have to look elsewhere for things to do. The beach is very small - you don't really feel like you're sitting on the beach in the Caribbean. We arranged snorkeling through the hotel and went towards Paradise Island. There was virtually nothing to see as far as snorkeling (a few colorful fish) but it was fun to take the boat ride to the snorkeling location and the driver pointed out celebrity houses on Paradise Island as we went by. Downtown Nassau is not a particularly nice spot. I would not feel comfortable walking around after dark. Good restaurants are a taxi cab ride away. My advice would be to stick to a resort. I have been to other resorts on other islands and found them to be much more enjoyable.


27 of 29 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
2.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
2.0
User Image

From: Boston, NY
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

January 31, 2013
Bahamian experience

When in Nassau if what you're looking for is the true Bahamian experience instead of Paradise Island, the British Colonial is the place to go. Situated right in the middle of everything to do in Nassau there is hardly a need for a taxi. Unless you are dressed up and need a ride the three blocks to the exquisite Graycliff restaurant or Cafe Matisse. The Fish Fry, for a fun-filled evening of local Bahamian food, drink, music and conversation with the locals is a lovely stroll along the water front. Shopping, carriage rides, forts, botanical gardens, it's all right there. The staff are impeccable, and though they maintain the Bahamian "vacation" attitude of nothing in a hurry, they are competent and polite. The hotel is a stately old building that is fresh, bright and very clean. None of that mustiness often found in tropical locales. The lounge is a classy place to meet and have the bartender mix your favorite cocktail or create something new for you. The pool side cabanas are a treat, offering a luxurious feel to relaxing in the shade of softly blowing curtains at no cost. The food is average and nothing to get excited about but there are so many dining options in the vicinity that it hardly mattered. Breakfast was substantial and the drinks are delicious and fortifying. A pampering treat.


11 of 11 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Fort Lauderdale, FL
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

August 8, 2010
Definitely worth it!

As typically a single traveler, my personal safety is usually one of my foremost concerns when choosing not only a destination but also an accommodation. I stayed for two weeks and had no problems at all. I actually felt safe...and that's saying a lot!!! Location: At first I wasn't quite sure how I felt about the hotel being in the heart of downtown, but it really worked out great for me. It was easy to get to the places I wanted to go without having to depend on transportation if I didn't desire so. The service and staff were absolutely fabulous, friendly, helpful, and timely! I had no complaints. The hotel itself was well maintained. One downer for me was that not all the features mentioned on the hotel's website at the time matched what was available once I got there. For example, there was no jazz nightclub/lounge (one of the reasons I booked). Outside of that, everything was as promised. The fitness room was always nice and clean when I visited. The beach and pool were always clean when I visited them. My only complaint was the size of the private beach and/or lack of accessibility to the outer areas. Dining. The food was great! The breakfasts were wonderfully fresh and presented many options. My only dietary complaint was the shortage of organic food options, however the staff was always willing to work me. The night scene was pretty chic. The dinners and bars were nice. I liked that one could feel comfortable dressed up or dressed down and have options. Rooms. I absolutely LOVED my room! I had a great view, it felt clean, the bed was comfortably yummy, the housekeeping staff worked around my random sleeping schedule(s), and amenities were on point!...I did wish for a microwave though :o( I have traveled quite a bit in my day and visited the Bahamas a few times having stayed at different sites. Overall, I felt that for me the British Colonial was an excellent choice!!! At the time I was in dire need of a get-a-way to a place that offered calm and relaxation and that's exactly what I received! :o) My only real grievance is that for the amount of time that I stayed (two weeks) and the tab earned during said time (meals and drinks can get pretty pricey), I didn't receive any perks (not even a free drink or meal)...but I guess that's just the thrifty traveler in me! :o)


26 of 29 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Near Atlanta, GA
Age: 25-34

January 29, 2013
Average hotel with high prices

My husband and I just returned from 5 nights at the Hilton Nassau. The Room: When we arrived at 2pm our room was not ready. When we finally got to our room at 3:30 it was very small but clean. The shower was small and it was impossible to get the water the right temp. The faucets are all old and dated and our sink was even missing a part of the cold water faucet. However the bed was comfortable and there was a mini fridge and coffee maker. There are no balconies and our room although it had a "harbour view" also over looked dumpsters and a parking lot for the employees. The Grounds: The hotel itself is well kept. The restraunt Aqua is very nice if you don't mind a $150 dinner. Boullion is a sleek Bar that is very attractive but again expect to pay $12-20 per drink. The Pool: Clean but small. In the evening there are rats everywhere around the pool area and all of nassau actually. My husband and I were out sipping a evening coffee at around 7-8pm when we started to notice the rats (very large rats). We saw 5 in 10 minutes and decided to go back inside as I am not found of rats. The Beach: Again small but clean most of the time. In the evening you will start to see the garbage accumulate on the shoreline. There are a lot of lounge chairs avaiable and they are quite comfortable. The Staff: Everyone was very friendly and helpful. The staff are the best part of this hotel, hands down. Overall: My husband and I did not enjoy this hotel. We have travelled the world and this is one of our least favorite places we have visited.


9 of 10 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
2.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Ontario Canada
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

December 4, 2012
Not the Hilton experience I expected

I picked the British Colonial Hilton Nassau because of its downtown location in Nassau, thinking we'd be able to walk to things like markets & restaurants, and it would be fun to watch the cruise ships at the nearby port. These turned out to be positives during our short (5 day) trip. However, the Hilton itself fell short of my expectations in several areas. Our room, while comfortable and well-equipped, was next to the elevators and thus noisy most of the time. In addition, the room's sole window was small (about 3' x 3') and so high on the wall that we could see only sky unless we climbed on the furniture. This was a city-view room, so there wasn't much to look at anyway (the view was across a lower roof toward the street frontage of the hotel), but it would have been nice to see out. Towel service was adequate but inconsistent. On arrival, we had 3 bath towels, 3 hand towels, 3 facecloths, and 2 bathmats (one for the tub and one for the separate shower). The next day we got 3 each of both towel sizes and facecloths, but only one bathmat. Each succeeding day brought differing numbers of towels. However - the towels were big, thick, and fluffy! On arrival we found one bar of face/hand soap (presumably for the sink) and one body bar, which we had to share between the tub and the shower. After that we got new soaps (both kinds) each day as well as new lotions, shampoos, conditioners, and shower caps - something of a surfeit! The water pressure in the shower was dismal. It was not the worst hotel shower I've ever experienced, but it was close. It was also hard to get a comfortable temperature; I had to adjust between hotter and colder every few minutes. We found the beach adequate but not attractive; it faces the cruise ship port. There were plenty of lounge chairs and umbrellas, as there were also at the pool, which is large and pretty in well-landscaped grounds. There are a variety of seating options between the back of the hotel building and the water - on a paved patio, on grass, on the pool deck, and on the beach itself; padded chairs, couches, chaise lounges, some with privacy curtains and integral sunshades. We ate at the hotel twice only, once in the main restaurant and once at the poolside bar/grille. In both instances the food was good but not great and took a LONG time to arrive. Service generally seemed slow, even accounting for Bahama-time. There are two computers in the lobby for hotel guests. Both were often busy, which surprised me because the internet connection was very poor every time we tried to use them. These negatives were relatively minor for us, and the hotel was otherwise fine. Staff at the registration desk and concierge desk were very courteous and helpful (the concierge even let me print boarding passes for our return flight from his computer when I couldn't connect on the public computer), and we found Bahamians generally very friendly. The lobby and grounds are lovely and well-maintained (there were several weddings there during our stay; we saw the bridal parties posing for pictures on the grand marble staircase in the lobby - very nice!) and the bed was comfortable; the room's amenities (bedding, furniture, TV, lighting, etc.) were more than adequate. The convenient location was good, but after touring Atlantis one afternoon we kind of wished we'd splurged and stayed there!


17 of 22 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
2.0
User Image

From: Massachusetts
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

February 13, 2012
Good for relaxing and shopping

The four nights spent at the British Colonial Hilton were just what the doctor ordered for me and my girlfriend.The pace of the staff was wonderful and polite. You never felt hurried no matter what you wanted to do. The hotel is convenient to all types of shopping and gambling.The decor was elegant but not overdone.While the food was a little pricey, it was tastefully done. The drinks were ample in size. Overall, we enjoyed our stay and would return again.


10 of 12 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Orange New Jersey
Age: Over 65
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

May 30, 2012
Excellent Service

We are very happy with our stay at the Hilton BC. We had a problem the first night, but the management and staff did an excellent job to remedy the situation. We received outstanding service throughout our 7 day stay and absolutely loved the private beach! We visited Atlantis a couple of times and were happy that we stayed at the Hilton. The hotel is very nice and close enough that it didn't cost too much for taxis to the areas we wanted to go (it would have cost much more to rent a car). Many thanks to Lavardo and Sylvester for their great personalities and service!


10 of 12 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Houston, TX
Age: 35-44