All

Braco Village Hotel & Spa Reviews

Caribbean | Jamaica Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 38 Reviews
Value
 
4.4
Service
 
4.6
Beaches & Pools
 
4.1
Dining Options
 
4.2
Room Comfort
 
4.5
4.5 out of 5
"Had a great time result was beautiful staff was awesome Could be better food but not badAll in all great place to go" – jpcc2016
39 out of 42 (93%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
main entrance Perfection! at Ocho Rios Room with sea views! Dining in the Market Place

All Braco Village Hotel & Spa Customer Reviews

1-10 of 38 reviews. Sort by
March 18, 2016
FIVE STAR SERVICE, LOCATION, AND STAFF

We booked the Melia Braco Village as a last minute getaway for my wife and I. The resort is beautiful. Although everything is not yet open it was still a GREAT experience. Also keep in mind that when I say not everything is not yet open that it will have almost no affect on your vacation. There is one "upper level" type area that is fenced off. Short of seeing a barrier and looking at the map of the resort, you would almost never know the difference had you not been here before when it was owned by another company. I have to say one of the nicest things they offered because of everything not being 100% open yet was all of the excursions are FREE. I can almost promise this won't last so take advantage of it as soon as you can. The resort is very, VERY, private. So much so that it has an exclusive type feel to it. Not overbooked or swarming with 1000's of people. Very relaxed feeling when we were there. There was always plenty of seating at the pools, bars, beach, and restaurants. Very clean!! Nothing was ever out of place. There was nightly entertainment and it was always "island" themed. Very tastefully done. Our room was well appointed and very clean......and they got the hot water problem fixed....it was always hot. We had an oceanview patio room and it had a million dollar view (I almost forget to mention we got a free upgrade from a second story balcony to first floor patio) The staff needs their own review. My wife and I travel several times a year. We've stayed at multiple resorts and been on almost a dozen cruises. The staff at the Melica Braco are among the best we have ever encountered. They are constantly asking if you need anything are quick to ask how you are doing. From the housekeeping, to the bar staff, to the guy who rakes the beach. They are some of the nicest most courteous people we have ever met. The food is the only thing I would rate a 4 out of 5. It was very good but this is one of the things you notice when things aren't 100% open. One of the 5 restaurants is not yet open and not all the restaurants are open at all times. We ate at all 4 restaurants while we were here but for example the Rosta Pasta (Order the Yah Mon pasta dish!!! and the Tiramisu was AWESOME) was only open one night and the steak house you will need a reservation for. The other nights we had a buffet on the beach and had a street dance themed dinner. We very much still enjoyed the changeup but if you are hoping to eat Italian every night you might be disappointed. Please keep in mind that you probably won't mind a bit when you're drinking almost nothing but top shelf alcohol. I simply can't say enough good things about the Melia Braco. I give it almost a 5 star rating. It's well deserved and I can guarantee you won't be disappointed for the investment you make. I found it to be much more reasonable in cost than a lot of the other big resorts but in a much more relaxed private setting. YEA MON!!


38 of 38 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Watertown, WI
Age: 35-44
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

May 13, 2016
Melia Braco

We had a wonderful vacation at the Melia Braco Village. I can honestly say in many years of traveling, that I have never experienced the outstanding service that we had from the entire staff. Friendly, helpful and always asking if we needed anything to make our stay more enjoyable -- Absolutely outstanding. Rooms were very comfortable. No problems whatsoever with items that were included in earlier reviews (shower heat, air conditioning, noise). Food was good. We ate at each of the restaurants and had a good experience at each. Favorite was the grilled jerk chicken and pork available all day long at the grill restaurant. The coconut stand was outstanding also as well as the 24 hour room service where the food was always delivered hot and fresh. Beach was very good, only issue was the rocks out in the water. Was very nice for snorkeling however. We never had an issue getting a very comfortable cabanna or chairs. The only item that we were disappointed with was the lack of water sports. The website of the Melia, as well as on Cheap Caribbean stated that there were numerous water sports available (water bikes, sailing, canoeing). None of these were available at all. We did talk to Guest Services and they helped us out by offering an excursion for our family which we thoroughly enjoyed. Again, a very enjoyable stay. I would recommend this resort to anyone looking to avoid the larger, very busy resorts. Thanks again to the staff - wonderful job, was nice to meet each of you.


18 of 18 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Wisconsin
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

May 2, 2016
absolutely relaxation

We just love that place so close to the beach the food was great service was wonderful the beach was nice I was totally relaxed and stress free I would definitely go back oh the block party on Friday was incredible


6 of 6 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Charleston SC
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

August 11, 2016
Beautiful Villa

Villas are beautiful, staff is excellent, gorgeous pool and beach area. Water sports at the resort was great. Glass bottom boat ride was awesome, we also booked other excursions (i.e Dunn's River and Bob Marley home) right there at the resort. Overall we had a great time and would definitely recommend this resort to others. We had a cookout, parade, concert and fireworks right there on the property celebrating Jamaica's Independence and that was lots of fun. Dont's: Needs an ATM machine, needs its own Melia resort shuttle, Resort is out in the middle of nowhere (35 minutes from airport) so you would have to book your own shuttle service to and from the airport $35 US rt.


4 of 4 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Birmingham, AL
Age: 35-44
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

May 4, 2016
Room for improvement - Only open a few months

Melia corporate will not honor your Melia Rewards number unless you book directly with their corporate website! I booked 2 rooms for 9 days and got no credit for it. They advertise "water sports" but do not have any at all! Staff is very friendly, but restaurant service is still on their "new" learning curve. So don't expect your glasses to be kept topped off with water or coffee at meals. Executive Chief Frederick Gayle is excellent and I strongly recommend all of the restaurants, accept Rasta Pasta. Pasta was way to under cooked and sauce tasted more like canned Chef Boyardee. Dana the main hostess at the Market Restaurant is excellent, as is Rupert the breakfast omelette chief. Winston stands out as one of the best waiters and can be found in various restaurants depending upon his assignment that night. Marlon Rasta is wonderful and will provide you with freshly chopped coconuts and sugar cane to enjoy by pool side. Be extremely careful in the beaches as they are riddled with sea urchin and a few lion fish. Onar and Garnett will keep your glasses full at the swim up pool bar. Entertainment starts way to late at night, 9 pm, well after everyone has gone into a food comma and had their fill of drinks. Most resorts start their entertainment towards the middle of dinner to encourage active participation. Maid service lacked much to be desired and some rooms had major water issues for several days. Gracie, Rachel, Rackel, and Maleka stand out in terms of their customer service and over all positive professional attitude.

main entrance
6 of 7 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image
Top 1000 Contributor
From: Kent Island, MAryland
Age: 55-64
Travel: 7+ trips/year

June 27, 2016
Great Vacation

There are 2 sides to the resort. The "Level" side and the "Regular" side. All the staff are extremely friendly, courteous and attentive. The resort is in the process of adding attractions on site, however, this in NO way interfered with the level is service provided. Aside from the lush extras that come along with staying on the Level side of the resort I'd never know there was a difference. Family oriented, very clean, beautiful scenery. The rooms are very nice. In some of the rooms the bathroom is a little small. I can't say enough about the staff and their prompt attention to detail even to remember your name. The food is great and plenty. Assistance with concerns about rooming, transportation, drinks etc were handled and addressed immediately. The only downside was the four or five cats that wonder around the resort. I'm REALLY A GERM FREAK. I was extremely comfortable during my stay here. The pool was cleaned daily or as needed, the access to the beach, activities coordinator, restaurants are all worth the money spent for a relaxing, worry free vacation. I will be returning!!!! Until next time.........IRIE.......


6 of 7 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Maryland
Age: 35-44
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

July 16, 2016
Friendly Resort

Resort Staff: The Melia's staff were, by far, the friendliest I have ever dealt with in visiting 6 all inclusive resorts over the past several years. At the bar, Kamice and Amieka were outstanding! Throughout the resort, workers greeted us and wished us a great day. Staff told us how much they appreciated us and loved having us there. I commend the resort's management for contributing to such a delightful atmosphere. Check In - Fast and friendly. Room: Our room was very clean. Housekeeping came late in the day (near 5 pm; we were in building 6 which is the last in the row). However, when we requested that they clean in the morning, we were accommodated. Excellent service! The air conditioning worked very well. The balcony was nice with rocking chairs, but it was so hot that we rarely used it. Also our view was the garden but instead we saw the garden to one side and a large tree directly in front of the balcony. (Rm 616) Dining: The buffet is smaller than other resorts we have stayed at. However, there was variety in the kinds of hot dishes. I mainly ate tossed salads, fruit and dessert. My husband ate the hot food. There was always enough to fill us up. One positive about the smaller buffet .... we didn't over eat like we have done at other all inclusive resorts. The only downside to the buffet was that it is an open air restaurant. The overhead fans and breeze from the ocean made it fairly comfortable but I would have preferred to sit in air conditioning during meals (heat index was over 100 degrees for several days while we were there). The jerk chicken at the grill was delicious. We ate at the steak restaurant one night. Although it was air conditioned, we were told we had to sit outside on the balcony. There was a wait for inside. Since the ocean breeze made the temperature comfortable, we opted for outside. The service was slow and the food was lukewarm to cool when it arrived. The worst part of the experience was that the restaurant was directly across from the bar where they were having a piano sing along. This might have been fine if it was quiet and in tune. But, it sounded like a bunch of loud drunks.... not the atmosphere you want for a nice dinner. Then, the band started up in the street and was so loud! We ate as quickly as we could and left without dessert. I wouldn't recommend the outside dining at the steak house. We ate at the pasta restaurant and the food and service were excellent. This restaurant is also not air conditioned. It was comfortable sitting outside but not stifling inside. We sat inside for 10 minutes before asking to be moved. We also ate at the Japanese restaurant. The service was good, although it took quite awhile to get the meal started. When asked about dietary restrictions, I requested low salt. The chef didn't offer to cook some food aside for me, but instead poured on the salt and soy sauce. I know... expect high salt in Japanese food, but I was hoping for some accommodation in this. My husband ate his meal but I ended up eating at the buffet afterwards. The positive about the experience was that the restaurant was air conditioned. Beach: The beach was lovely. It was somewhat rocky as you walked out into the water. I don't swim in the ocean so it didn't bother me. We never had trouble getting a lounge chair under a tree. The beach beds were usually reserved with towels fairly early. Waitresses came from the bar to serve drinks regularly. Entertainment: We were very impressed with the Show time dancers and the synchronized swimmers. We couldn't believe the talent and the show they put on for a small resort. Hats off to the Melia for providing high quality entertainment! Pool: The pool was clean but relatively small compared to other resorts we have stayed at. It was a fairly quiet pleasant place to be until the last day we were there. The volume of the music was suddenly turned up considerably and prevented us from enjoying the pool. We prefer a quiet, relaxing environment rather than loud music. Overall, this resort was one of the best we have been too. I would definitely recommend it.


3 of 3 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Iowa
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

August 14, 2016
Great to be back!

My family and I returned from Melia Braco last week, it was a wonderful week! My husband and I had visited this resort 12 and 14 years ago under different ownership so we knew how beautiful the grounds were, we knew that this resort was the perfect size-not too large with the feel of a small village. My kids loved Melia and Jamaica. I know this resort is currently adding many more adventure attractions and we look forward to them. From what I could see it will be amazing. They are adding four wheeling, paint ball course, electric bikes. My husband, daughter and myself got to ride the new electric bikes around the resort, this was amazingly! Marlon was a fantastic "tour guide" . The food was great! Apart from the Japanese restaurant which was spectacular, the buffet was our #1 choice. The food was great and my kids did not want to eat anywhere else. We stayed on the level side which was beautiful, our rooms were right next to the ocean with amazing views. If you want a busier pool then you will need to go to the main pool, the level pool was relaxing and we were always able to get chairs which was nice. Staying on the level side you had access to a separate small buffet and your own pool bar. I wish the pools stayed open later, but I expect it will happen as this resort gets busier. There were many Jamaicans staying at this resort who had returned home for their Independence Day celebration, this should tell you that it is a very nice resort. The Prime Minister of Jamaica was here as well, though I didn't know this until later. If I had to make any suggestions it would be to add more entertainment for the kids, ocean trampoline, option to scuba (extra cost would be okay), X box room that stays open past 5pm, more nighttime shows. I would have a very hard time going to any other resort. We drove by many other HUGE resorts where you had to take shuttles to get around, Melia is the perfect size. Once they complete all the activity options that they are planning, it will be perfect.


3 of 3 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Augusta, Georgia
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

September 18, 2016
Jamaica Ya Mon!

The Melia Braco Village is a tropical garden with exotic flora and a village feel that can only be described as relaxing to your senses. The amazing hospitality of the staff is above all others. The rooms are equipped with the usual amenities although I wasn't staying at their upscale area known as the "Level" everything else as they say here NO PROBLEM. The entertainment is up close and personal making it warm and friendly. The gastronomy team is to die for, only one restaurant where a reservation is needed that's the Peruvian Japanese restaurant. The stakehouse was exceptional, gentlemen need to wear pants to be admitted. My sincere thanks to Marlon, Marlon and to the most energetic person I've ever met, Jovon. All said and done a thumbs up to everyone who made our vacation memorable.


3 of 3 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Tobyhanna, PA
Age: 55-64
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

December 22, 2016
Enjoyed the Stay-Good Value

We did not upgrade to "the level," so we can't speak to whether we think that is a good option or not. I can say I thought overall it is a good, safe place to stay. GOOD: All-included means that. Although there are upgrade options, they don't try to trick you, or make you feel like you are getting sub-quality product for not getting upgrades. I felt very happy overall with the qualify of our stay without paying for any extras. Adventure Land: They have an obstacle course which is really fun, a BIG climbing wall, and trampolines with safety harnesses that can launch you up. My kid went both days we had a chance to do it, and LOVED it. The zip line looks cool, and is close to being complete. Food. We brought our son (7), and grandma. Everyone was able to enjoy the food. They have lots of great options, 5 restaurants at night, two at lunch. The options change at the main buffet area, the market, which is alwasy solid. They include lots of authentic Jamacian dishes every night. Wish we had done the Jamacian restaurant View:Awesome. Safety: Always felt safe, even boozed up walking back to your room at night. This place is kind of far from everything, which is why; it takes a while to get anywhere from this place. They have guards around, lighting, and so I felt good. However, I am a guy, so a woman would still probably want to be escorted at night. Street Party: On Friday, they had a street party that is supposed to be like the X-mas eve street party that Jamaica does. It was great. We thought overall, the entertainment was good. booze: solid. NOT AS GOOD: (not bad, just not as clearly a strength). The beach. Really nice to look at. But, this is near a coral reef, so the sand is not going to be that nice (more course). You need swim shoes to go in. Even so, there was lots of wind so there were big waves, and it was just not that great of a beach to actually be on. They keep it clean, and they have some paddle boats, etc, but the bay is pretty small. Service: A bit inconsistent. Sometimes really good, sometimes ok. They have a TON of staff, but sometimes they are on Jamacian time. Don't be in a hurry. Room: This is in the carribean, which is a tropical country (i.e., steam bath at times). We had to run the AC all the time to keep the bedding from (as) getting damp, was still damp often though. I don't remember that happening when I visited the Dominican Republic. Just saying. Kids Stuff to Do: My 8 year old did love the adventure land, but that is open only about an hour a day. The beach and pool are ok, but not as fun unless there are other kids around. The number of kids was LOW.


3 of 3 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Near LA
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year