All

Bougainvillea Beach Resort Reviews

Caribbean | Barbados Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 22 Reviews
Value
 
4.5
Service
 
4.4
Beaches & Pools
 
4.4
Dining Options
 
3.4
Room Comfort
 
4.5
4.5 out of 5
"Excellent value, Friendly staff, warm and inviting. Would go back in a heartbeat. Safe island, and very friendly and hospitable people." – PhillyJr
26 out of 27 (96%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Waves!!!! From the restaurant View of Beach from room Relax & have a drink Beautiful Caribbean Water and Sky

All Bougainvillea Beach Resort Customer Reviews

1-10 of 22 reviews. Sort by
August 7, 2010
Just What the Doctor Ordered

I only had 4 days to get away with my teenage daughter, and we had totally different agendas. I needed lots of R&R and she was looking for a rocking adventure. We both came home delighted from Bougainvillea. On a relatively limited budget I was really surprised by the spacious rooms and comfort of our suite, to say nothing of our gorgeous ocean view. (Somehow going to sleep and waking up to the sound of the waves made our quick jaunt feel like we had been away a few weeks.) It quickly felt like home and the full kitchen was really a full kitchen! Double terraces were where we often started and ended our days. The staff throughout the resort was warm and attentive, from the front desk to the beach staff, restaurant servers, shop clerks and housekeepers. We had a meal plan for breakfasts only, which were delicious and offered great variety. If you go make sure to go to Oistin's Fish Fry, which is a lot of fun. The resort offers a jitney there and back. We thoroughly enjoyed one of the dinners we had at the hotel but the last night we ate at the Italian restaurant which was quite pricey but not very good. Sandwiches and salads served to you on the beach are surprisingly good and generous portions. (We ate almost nothing of what we ordered at the Italian restaurant but were delighted to go back to our room where we had left half of our lunches in the fridge and ate on our terrace.) The beach was exquisite but the tide was quite rough when we were there in February. My daughter went out boogie boarding with some other people but you couldn't really just loll about at the water's edge. That's okay, I was very content with the comfy lounge chairs and umbrellas supplied by the beach staff. We weren't there long enough to take advantage but heard from other guests about other water sports offered either very reasonably or totally free from the resort. We will definitely plan more next trip. If you're into really high end, formal resorts with staff that bow and scrape, Bougainvillea is not for you. If you're more impressed by a genuine smile and not having to dress to the nines to go down for a drink while you're on vacation, you will not be disappointed.


18 of 18 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Westchester, NY
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

May 31, 2011
Bougainvillea

Great place, nice room, good beach, nice folks. Food very poor. Use the food truck that parks out front from 12 till 1:30. He has great food, different items each day, and a lot for only $10 a plate. Food at resort very bad, and slow. Also their is a little store at the edge of the resort that sells sodas, juice, beer, ans things like bread, cookies, and such thet you can use for snaaks and breakfast. We'll go back, just will eat other places.


4 of 4 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: York, PA
Age: Over 65
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

August 1, 2010
Beautiful Beach, Great Value

We originally planned to stay for 5 days, but couldn't leave. We payed the airfare price for the added days, and it was well worth it. The water is warm and clear, and the beach is beautiful. Our room had a great ocean view, and was very comfortable. The personnel were all friendly and helpful. One of the restaurants was closed for renovation, so that limited our choices. However, we found it easy to make the short drive or 20" walk to many nearby restaurants in St. Lawrence. We appreciated our anniversary gift. We will definitely return to the Bougainvillea, in fact it we surely wish we were there right now.


3 of 3 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Stockton, CA
Age: Over 65
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

January 7, 2012
Barbados - Bougainvillea

Barbados is a beautiful country! The Bougainvillea is the perfect resort. The service is impeccable. Our every need was met. It had a private beach and I love that it was not packed at the resort. There were always seats available on the beach. The lady, Shamora, who helped us plan our activies was awesome. She was really nice and helpful. Please take her advice and go on the Jammin Boat Cruise, you will have the time of your life! I loved eating breakfast at their restaurant right on the beach every morning! It is so beautiful and serene. Also the first 2 days there were no bugs, then it rained(lol) and the bugs came but it wasn't too bad. I can't wait to go back!

Barbados - Bougainvillea Barbados - Bougainvillea
5 of 6 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Chicago, IL
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

November 29, 2011
Perfect Holiday

From check-in to check-out everything was perfect. The room was large and very clean. Large bathroom with plenty of towels, all decorated with fresh flowers upon arrival. We pre-ordered groceries through the resort so we did not have to go shopping as soon as we arrived which allowed us to unwind and head to the beach after a long day of travel. The staff was amazing, all very friendly and accommodating. Restaurants on site were very good with good service. The breakfast that was included with our stay was very good, alot of choices with alot of food. The beach was great, soft powdery sand, nice rolling waves, good to swim and boogie board if you wanted to. The beach was nice for walking a few times a day, plenty of chairs and umbrellas available if you wanted one. The staff was more than happy to put it up for you and always with a smile. We will definitely be back to the Bougainvillea. This is our new home away from home.


2 of 2 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Lehighton PA
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

August 11, 2010
Barbados Bougainvillea Vacation

In short, the trip was wonderful. Everything from the airport transportation to the rooms and service at the resort went smoothly. The beach and pool were spectacular. We especially enjoyed the daily happy hour at the pool bar. The restaurants on the property were not awesome, but they were adequate, and St. Lawrence Gap is just a short walk away. The Friday Night Fish Fry at Oistins is a must.

View of Beach from room Relax & have a drink
3 of 4 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Atlanta, GA
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

July 31, 2010
Even Better Than Expected!

If you're looking for a scenic, clean low-key resort on a beautiful, spacious beach -- and close to the airport, to boot -- then you should consider the Bougainvillea. It's a short taxi ride to the restaurants and shops in "The Gap," a popular spot in SW Barbados. The two teenagers I brought had a blast in the pool and the surf on the beach. We enjoyed our balcony overlooking the lovely pools and grounds. The kitchenette was a great convenience. Staff was courteous, helpful and friendly. Would I go back? Absolutely!


1 of 1 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Fairfield County, CT
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

August 1, 2010
our home away from home

we have been coming to the bourgainvillia for 11 years now twice a year the staff here makes you feel like family we get the same room every time we come the rooms are so clean and spacious all the activity is right outside your room pools resturants entertainment beach gift shop it is all a few feet away so if you have health problems as i do it is no problem!!! i would recomend the bourgainvillia to everyone from baby to senior it has it all for any age so the next vacation you take come to the bourgainvillia i know you will be as happy as we are and will return !!!!


1 of 1 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: utica new york
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

April 22, 2011
Bougainvillea/ Christ Church

Excellent value, Friendly staff, warm and inviting. Would go back in a heartbeat. Safe island, and very friendly and hospitable people.


1 of 1 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Rockland, NY
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

July 22, 2013
Barbados in July

I just got back from a week vacation in Barbados. The resort is average, but very clean, people are friendly and the service is great The beach is awesome but very small and not private at all. There are locals walking around selling stuff or just making conversation. During the day but mostly in the afternoon several locals are just taking over the beach, with friends, family and kids. In the morning if you want to walk on the beach they will be there no matter how early you go. The food is good, but the menu lacks variety and it never changes. The best meal of the day is the lunch, dinner is good but the portions are extremelly small for a high price. Overall it was a good time, but If you want lots of food, drinks and entertainment go to Mexico.


1 of 1 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Iowa
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year