All

Bolongo Bay Beach Resort Reviews

Caribbean | USVI St. Thomas Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 19 Reviews
Value
 
3.9
Service
 
3.9
Beaches & Pools
 
3.8
Dining Options
 
4.1
Room Comfort
 
3.3
4 out of 5
"Nice quiet resort with friendly staff, good food, nice view from the room, quiet relaxing beach and the catamaran trips were spectacular!" – Danojb
22 out of 26 (85%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
the view from our beach front room

All Bolongo Bay Beach Resort Customer Reviews

1-10 of 19 reviews. Sort by
July 20, 2011
Nice Beaches, Terrible Customer Service!

The beach was very nice, we enjoyed the paddle boards, Hobie Cats, kayaks, windsurfers, aqua tricycles, and swim mats. The restaurants Lobster Grill and Mim's had both excellent customer service and food! We had issues with the Assistant Manager Tahja who was very rude since the first day that we arrived. He had no customer service skills, was rude and getting any information from him was like pulling teeth. We were two families, (a total of 9 people and stayed in two villas) one of the rooms was very dirty and had repairs which were "jimmy-rigged!" On just our second day there one of our kids left their wallet under the pillow and it disappeared into thin air....when we walked up to the office to file the complaint, they were very rude and refused to look into the issue. They also refused to call 9-1-1 or the police from the office phone, they told us we had to walk back to our room and call them. We had to file a police report since we need to have our IDs handy (for the airport) to get back home and they didn't care. As a matter of fact, they treated us as if we had stolen something! We ended up having to drive up to the police station which was located about 30-45 minutes away from the hotel...we made four trips in total because the St. Thomas police don't really keep "regular" hours (this took about a days worth of our time!!!!) Then, on the last day of our stay there when we were trying to print our boarding passes for the next day, we were basically pushed out of the computer room because they had to close it and when we explained to them that the airline's web site had issues, they said that was our issue and to take it up with the airlines. We have traveled to many resorts in California, Florida, Hawaii, and Mexico, and we had NEVER been treated like this!!! If we do decide to go back to St. Thomas, it will NOT be at this hotel!!!!!


37 of 38 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
1.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
2.0
User Image
Top 1000 Contributor
From: Dallas, TX
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

August 13, 2011
Bolongo Bay

I have relatives that live on St. Thomas. This was my forth time staying at Bolongo Bay. First of all they did not have a room with two beds and I had brought my 6'3" nephew for a graduation gift on vacation. They brought a roll away bed that my dog would not have slept on. If this was not bad enough the bed in the room was a double bed. Additionaly the telephone in our room did not work for the activities people to contact us about cancelling our snorkeling with the turtles tour and my relatives had to keep calling my cell phone at $2.00 per minute to get a hold of us. Several complaints later to the front desk and asking for the manager was completely useless. They had lots of different excuses depending on who I spoke to and they were defensive and argumentative. When I was at the front desk about the bed I did see a bottle of Champayne sitting on the desk behind the counter with a note attached that stated sorry about the telephone with a last name other then mine attached to it. There was no "do not disturb sign/clean room" sign in our room, so the maid came and pounded on our door at 8:00AM to clean the room. We were still sleeping so our room wasn't serviced with fresh towels. Everyday I had to go to front desk and get clean wash rags and towels. There was one trash can in the bathroom and there should have been one in the kitchenette as well. When I complained about the maid I was informed that they start service at 8AM and if you don't get your room cleaned then they do not have to come back becasue they are on a schedule. I was told that I had to hang up the do not disturb sign I explained that there wasn't one and even asked the maid for one and never recieved one. I explained this was my forth stay here, that I have relative s that live her and I would not come back to stay here after how I was being treated this time. He could care less. The cusotmer service was awful, the beach towels were old and falling apart, they ran out of all towels and wash rags everyday. I was really dissapointed in how bad the service at the hotel had become.


57 of 60 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 1
Value
 
1.0
Service
 
1.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
1.0
User Image
Top 250 Contributor
From: San Diego, CA
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

January 9, 2011
Had a Good Time

I was hesitant to stay here after reading some of the negative reviews. I went with my mom and my 2 kids (12 and 14) and we stayed in 2 rooms. We were greeted right away by Ben who took our luggage to our rooms. It's true there is not an elevator but using the stairs wasn't awful since someone else carried the luggage. My kids absolutely loved the non-motorized water toys and quickly became friends with Antonio who works that area. I barely saw the kids as they were down "helping" Antonio or taking out a kayak. We had the all inclusive plan so they were all included! Nice perk! The breakfast at the Lobster Grille was very good! Several choices and even had a small buffet. The lunch there was good, too, with several different choices. I'm not a seafood fan, but there were many seafood choices at both restaurants. The steak was delicious at Lobster Grille. Iggies is the other restaurant with special nights such as all you can eat ribs and chicken. The ribs were good and we had the brownie dessert to share more than once. Most of the people that work at Bolongo Bay are very friendly and go out of their way to make sure you are enjoying yourself. My daughter and I got eaten alive by bugs but that's no fault of Bolongo Bay. The Heavenly Days trip to swim with the turtles was fun. My son celebrated his birthday there and they made him a special cake for a small charge. The room is nothing super-fancy but did provide a few dishes to use. We had the ocean view rooms and the view was gorgeous. The showers definitely are small but I didn't have trouble with having hot water or pressure. It is a challenge to shave your legs but where there's a will, there's a way! This hotel was perfectly fine if you just want to hang out, sit in the sun, and have some good food and drinks. There isn't a lot to do or walk to nearby so if you plan to leave the resort, you'll want to rent a car or take taxis. I was too scared to drive on the left but I think I could've done it if I wanted to. We mostly stayed on the resort property but we did do a tour of St. John, went to Coral World, and made a trip to K-Mart to buy snacks and water shoes. I would stay at this hotel again and would suggest it to other people. If you had a problem, I think they would work with you to resolve it.


16 of 16 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Iowa City, IA
Age: 35-44
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

August 6, 2010
Bolongo Bay Beach Resort, St. Thomas USVI

The resort wasn't anything special, just a typical 2 story hotel. The hallways are on the outside of the hotel, there isn't really an 'inside' to the place. The beach is awful, so if you're planning on going and not having to travel to a nicer beach then pick somewhere else (there was seaweed everywhere in the water and on the edge of the sand, rough sand, broken shells, some rocks, etc.). The restaurants were good though. The lobster place was a fancier dinner experience (more expensive) while Iggies was a fun bar and grill to go to at night (always something different going on there: live music, carnival, karaoke, etc). The activities booth was the best part of the place. They helped us set up trips on their 53 foot catamaran to go snorkeling and to go on a sunset cruise with cocktails around the bay, and on an all day trip to St. John (a really fun trip). Nearly every day we called a taxi and went to a different beach, which ended up working out really well. We went to Coki Beach (a MUST do, look it up if you're curious) and Megan's Bay, two beautiful beaches that we probably wouldn't have seen if we were staying at a place with a nice beach. The hotel is very remote, not many people on the beach at all, so if you want more of a social atmosphere look elsewhere.


12 of 12 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
1.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: New Hampshire
Age: 19-24
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

January 22, 2011
Casual and comfortable

This is not the fanciest of resorts, but if you are looking for a laid back atmosphere, great service, and the best all-inclusive value, this is it! Step out your door, and you are in the sand; beach is kept clean and plenty of lounges for relaxing. Most of the staff are long time employees which speaks to the integrity of management. This was our 5th return visit, and we will be back!


11 of 11 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: New jersey
Age: 55-64
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

November 2, 2011

If the room was clean and the greeting started with a smile rather than indifference, the whole stay could've been different, however, that was not the case.


16 of 18 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
2.0
Service
 
2.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
1.0
User Image

From: SW Florida
Age: 45-54

August 23, 2012
Vacation at Bolongo Bay Beach Resort

We just visited Bolongo Bay Beach Resort. Before our trip, I read many reviews- mostly great reviews about Bolongo Bay and that is why we decided to stay there. It was great to have a beachfront room which was a few steps from the beach. The ammenities were great. Something to do for everyone. The guys working the amenities were very kind and helpful. It was nice to have two restaurants on site, however we were not impressed with the service or the food. We opted for the all inclusive package. It is a great deal monetarily because the food and drinks are pricey. The service was extremely slow and the wait staff not all that friendly. I don't know if the people there are just so laid back and care free or just didn't care. Each time we dined, there was barely anyone in the restaurants so the slow service wasn't due to being busy and crowded. It almost seemed that if the wait staff saw you wearing an all inclusive bracelet (which we didn't like doing either) they wouldn't give you excellent service because your gratuity is already included in the all inclusive. There were several meals at both restaurants where we ran out of our drink and the service was super slow to refill our beverages. Personally if the service was stand out and excellent, even though the food was just ok it would have made our stay more enjoyable. I can say 007 was excellent!!! He was the only food/beverage service staff member that provided excellent service. One more point I wanted to make- when we arrived at the resort we were shown to our room which had two queen or double beds. I had booked a king size bed. So we had to go back down and the lady at the front desk did give us the room we were aking for. Also, I had read you would be greeted with rum punch. We had to ask the guy that showed us to our room for the rum punch, and he kind of acted like it was a chore to go get the rum punch. So the trip really didn't start the way it should have. I feel this resort really needs to focus on consistent,excellent service since the rooms are quite out dated. If we go back to St. Thomas, we will try another resort.


11 of 12 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
2.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: South Carolina
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

November 2, 2012
Perfect Honeymoon!

We were so happy with our choice of going to Bolongo Bay Beach Resort for our Honeymoon! All I have to say is, ALL-INCLUSIVE!!!! It was the best! We never had to worry about how much dinner was going to be or if we could "afford" a certain cocktail...all those worries went stright out the door as soon as we steped into the lobby. The staff is amazingly nice! Mark, walked us to our room and then later had to show us how NOT to use the door key. Eveyone was very friendly and kind! The food at The Lobster Grill was unbelievable! Lobster, every night! AND, theres Iggies! The best bar, in the world! All open air, on the beach with live music everynight...what else could you ask for???? We are already planning our return tripm to Bolongo Bay Beach Resort!!!

the view from our beach front room
13 of 15 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Nashville, TN
Age: 25-34

January 21, 2014
Fantastic "Mom & Pop" Beach Resort!

This is not the place for travelers who want a fancy, luxury hotel on St. Thomas. This is for travelers who want a low-key, relaxed-fit stay. PROS -- beautiful cove setting -- plenty of beach activities on site (kayaking, snorkeling, scuba diving & lessons, wave runners, etc.) -- the staff is friendly and attentive -- 3 restaurants right on the beachfront -- delightfully removed from main tourist hubs, so relatively few people cluttering up your vacation -- gift shop with basic meds, toiletries and sunscreens at reasonable prices -- everything is well manicured and clean! -- cable tv, HBO and wifi in every room CONS -- slightly rougher waters than the north side beaches means the beach loses its soft sand quickly, making it rocky. You basically need water shoes to walk or swim comfortably. -- not close to main tourist hubs, so its a 15 minute drive minimum to any other island attractions or restaurants. -- rooms were last renovated around 1992 (my best guess), it's cute for what it is, but you need to be in the right mindset for it. ;) -- wifi went out two of the nights we were there. Annoying! -- the main restaurant, Lobster Grill, is not great. Overpriced, not great food, not great service. BUT, the other two restaurants (Iggie's and Mim's) more than make up for it. LAST WORD We had a wonderful time. Great getaway. Highly recommend. :)


5 of 5 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: New York, NY
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

July 31, 2011
BEST VACATION EVER!!!!

This was the first time we had ever used cheapcaribbean & first time we actually stayed on St Thomas. It was so beautiful & Bolongo Bay Beach Resort was awesome. Every one was so friendly at the resort & the restraunts. The food, entertainment & all the water sports were great. It was the perfect vacation & the only bad part was when we had to leave. I would definitly go back. Everyone had an awesome time, kids and all!


4 of 4 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: CHANDLERVILLE, IL
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year