All

Bolongo Bay Beach Resort All-Inclusive Reviews

Caribbean | USVI St. Thomas Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 46 Reviews
Value
 
4.1
Service
 
4.3
Beaches & Pools
 
3.8
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
3.8
4.1 out of 5
"Very nice and quiet place to relax. Food was delicious and had a good variety of choices. Trip to town was reasonable. We had beautiful weather. Enjoyed the whole week." – ARBIES
41 out of 50 (82%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
View from our room on the patio Great Time! Sweet views! View from our balcony View from the Lobster Grille fresh crab legs Bolongo bay from rom

All Bolongo Bay Beach Resort All-Inclusive Customer Reviews

1-10 of 46 reviews. Sort by
May 15, 2013
Great Tropical Honeymoon Vacation

My husband and I just spent a week in St. Thomas at the Bolongo Bay Resort. We had a wonderful time and will def be going back soon. If you are looking for an authentic caribbean vacation without the passport Bolongo is the way to go. Also, you HAVE to get the all-inclusive though, I don't think it would have been worth it to pay for everything seperately (in my opinion). It's an island, they are literally on island time, be patient, there is plenty of beauty to take in while you wait for your food/drinks. The room was pretty nice and basically what we were expecting, we got an ocean view (rm:127) and we were happy with everything. The shower was a little small, a lil hard to shave your legs, but you can work it out. Also, the a/c unit can be a little loud but my husband's snoring was much louder and my earplugs took care of both things. I was just grateful to have a/c and a very comfortable bed to sleep in. I'm happy there was a safe, we felt better not just leaving our valuables (credit cards, etc) just sitting out in the open. We had plenty of room, there was a sitting area in our room and one on the balconey. There was a little kitchen area with a sink and little fridge, which came in handy. Don't leave candy or open drinks out all nite, you will get little ants (we learned that the hard way and had a few ants but wiped them away and knew better next time). But, this is an island, if you leave stuff like that out and open it can happen, here or anywhere. The water activities that were offered by Bolongo were by far the best around. We saw more sea life and turtles at the beach on Bolongo for FREE than we did on the excursion that we paid for off the resort... The food was very good, get the bananas foster pancakes, they are amazing. We ate and drank like kings for a week and can't wait to go back. Also, try the Eco Tours excursions, ours was awesome. We went kayaking, hiking and snorkeling. We aren't very outdoorsey either so you don't have to be in great shape or be super active on the weekends to enjoy this excursion. If you want some place all marble and corporate with minimum caribbean authencity stay at the Marriott down the street (they don't offer free water bikes, paddle boats, hobie rides and snorkeling tho). We thought the Marriott would've been a better choice cause it was "nicer" but Bolongo was beautiful and had all the little extra amenities that we were looking for to actually enjoy the island, not just look at it...


246 of 248 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Hammond, IN
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

March 18, 2014
Excellent St. Thomas Vacation

We have been to St Thomas multiple times in the last few decades, and stayed twice at Bolongo Bay. I can honestly say that Bolongo has been the best experience we've had at a St Thomas all-inclusive resort. The food is excellent, and the service of the staff is very good. Being family owned, they seem to take great pride in service (which is far above what is considered normal on this island - we've had very lousy service and food at other St Thomas resorts). The rooms are adequate. They are not the nicest or most modern. However, each room has beautiful ocean views with individual porches/terraces, a/c, and television. Ours had a nice kitchenette with sink, dishes, fridge and microwave. The grounds are pretty and well kept with a large beach, plenty of beach chairs, catamarans, kayaks, paddle boards, snorkeling equipment, a dive shop (with organized dives available), beach bar, and pool bar. Both times we've come here, we had a great experience. The staff and guests are very friendly and there are lots of things to do. My wife and I will definitely stay here again, and I would recommend it to my friends.


30 of 30 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image
Top 250 Contributor
From: Upstate Pennsylvania
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

April 29, 2015
Awesome

We picked Bolongo Bay because it was on the beach. The view from our room was perfect. They great you with a rum punch, which by the way is a great way to start a perfect vacation. They explain all the emeneties for the resort, then take you to your room. The rooms are nice, a little dated but great. I wasn't on vacation, in paradise to stay in my room! The lobster grill on premise is great food, Iggys on the beach next to Bolongo ( which is part of the package ) is a great time. Mims Restraunt which is down the beach is also a awesome place to eat. Mind you there are many choices to go and eat all over the island and there is plenty of things to go and do. If you get the all inclusive, which is a 5 night minimum stay ( which I highly recommend ) you get to go on the Heavenly Days catamaran for a sunset harbor cocktail cruise, the crew members are outstanding. Worth the trip. They have equipment there that you can use, paddle boats, small parasailing crafts, kayaks , snorkeling equipment , noodles and floats. I would suggest to spend the money for the catamaran trip to St John ( honeymoon beach ) to snorkel or lay on the beach for the day. Breath taking and a lot of fun, you eat , drink and they feed you a great lunch. The snorkeling is out of this world! The turtles swim all over and can see them from afar including on the beach at Bolongo Bay! The staff: Let me just say that they were beyond words. They are the most friendliest and helpful in every way. When you get up and got to breakfast,there is not one person that doesn't say good morning or hello. The staff is awesome. We met so many wonderful people and made many friends. The owners were also great people . This was the most relaxing vacation that I have ever had. Well worth the money that we spent and we plan on going back. When you plan your trip , do not take the Tropic Tours from the airport or your return trip, it's not worth the money. You can get a taxi anywhere. I can't wait to go back!!!

View from our room on the patio
25 of 25 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Upstate new york
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

March 2, 2013
Great Resort All Around

Nice room with great view. Clean and Comfortable. Amazing options for relaxing or enjoying the water activities. Very helpful making excursions. All around excellent service from bars to restaurants. Good food options. Hope to return again soon.

Great Time!
40 of 42 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image
Top 500 Contributor
From: Chippewa Falls, WI
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

July 2, 2013
Beautiful Beach Resort

The service and the view were amazing from the moment we arrived at the resort until the time we left. The employees were very friendly and helpful. The view was beautiful. There were so many activities you could do, or just sit and relax on your balcony enjoying the view. The food at the Lobster Grille and Iggies was wonderful, with many choices each day. It was great to have live music at Iggies every night so you never had to leave the resort for entertainment. I would definitely recommend this resort to anyone who appreciates a more relaxed atmosphere. We could literally walk off our balcony and be on the sand in 10 steps, the ocean in 20 steps.

View from our balcony View from the Lobster Grille
29 of 30 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image
Top 1000 Contributor
From: Chicago, IL
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

November 9, 2015
EXCELLENT!

Bolongo Bay Beach Resort served as our honeymoon destination. We read countless reviews that said it was a smaller, intimate resort that wasn't a 'party' palace, which is what we were looking for. We booked the beachfront room and so happy we did. We opened our back door, stepped on the patio and took 5 steps to the beach. The bay was split perfectly up by the boating dock. One side was snorkeling, playful non-motorized activities and very shallow for a far stretch. The other was sandy for yards out, but started the coral reef that stretched for yards and yards out. The sand was beautiful and soft and pretty white. I think one of our favorite things was the staff. EVERYONE was helpful, informative, welcoming and wanted to ensure that we enjoyed ourselves as much as possible. They showed so much empathy and really wanted us to come back. The two dining options are Iguana Grille, which serves breakfast, lunch and dinner, the other, is Iggie's bar and grille, which serves lunch and dinner. Some people think that that isn't enough choices, but it is. There was a full menu at both and there was a 0 wait. Almost everything (all food was included) in the all inclusive was available. The only thing that wasn't was high end liquors. Since St. Thomas is known for Cruzan rums, there was every flavor possible, and a shot waiting for us as soon as we landed at the airport. I highly recommend this place. We'll be returning soon, and with our families.


18 of 18 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: OKC
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

August 30, 2016
Amazing trip!

This was our first time using Cheap Caribbean and our first trip to St. Thomas, and we have loved every minute! Bolongo Bay is a great place to stay. The food is great. All inclusive is definitely the way to go. We only left the resort on our first day. They offer lots of activities right at the resort. We went snorkeling with sea turtles, and they have live entertainment every night at Iggie's. Such a fun time!


10 of 10 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Alma, ga
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

May 25, 2015
Layed back atmosphere

If you're looking for a really quiet layed back atmosphere, then look no further. Really nice slow lifestyle. Not for teenagers. Food is great but takes a while. Prices are high so you must get all inclusive. Also great shopping is only a ten min. cab ride. Get the resort to call one for you then get his number, he will come and get you, which is the safest and most cost effective way to travel. The beach is nice but can't go in barefoot. Too much coral and sea urchins. Book a ride to Jost VanDyke. Best and most famous beach in the Carribean for swimming and drinking.


9 of 9 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: South Carolina
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

May 15, 2013
it was amazing

WE WENT ON OUR 19 YEAR ANNIVESARY THE PLACE WAS AMAZING THE PEOPLE WERE SO NICE. IT WAS LIKE WALKING INTO A DIFFRENT UNIVERSE. TJHE FOOD WAS VERY GOOD AND THE DRINKS WERE AWESOME. THANK YOU BOLONGO BAY FOR MAKING MY STAY SO AWESOME. VICKY STEARLE


17 of 19 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: CLINTON TN
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

December 18, 2013
Wonderful time!!

I had read some of the negative reviews about Bolongo Bay and was a little nervous. I was pleasantly surprised! It was the perfect vacation for us. It is a small, unpretentious resort with no dress code, just shirts and shoes but you can certainly dress up if you like. I had also read about being on island time and to relax about waiting for things, but we experienced exceptional service. I highly recommend the all-inclusive package and felt like we got a great deal for the price. Contrary to reviews about other all-inclusives, I felt that we received even better service when we showed them our bracelets. Some standouts were the breakfast servers, Kiki and Piper and our favorite daytime bartender at the Lobster Grille, Alex. She was an incredible bartender and we NEVER waited for a drink. We didn't do any of the tours as we just wanted to relax and kick back on the beach which is what we did. The snorkeling was exceptional and highly recommended. The beach is sandy, but as soon as you get in the water, it is a bit rocky. We packed our rock shoes based on previous reviews and were glad we did. But the rocks just made for better snorkeling! One thing to remember: there are sand fleas but the resort has cans of Off stashed everywhere. I never saw them or felt them, so figured I didn't have to worry, but two days into it, I was scratching my feet and ankles big time. Use the Off!! Another great facet of the resort are the three rescue cats that roam freely around the resort. They were very friendly and loved to be petted, and as an animal lover, this made my stay. I would highly recommend Bolongo Bay to anyone and we are already making plans to come back next year!!


13 of 14 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Wilder, VT
Age: 45-54