All

BlueBay Villas Doradas Reviews

Caribbean | Dominican Republic - Puerto Plata Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 72 Reviews
Value
 
3.8
Service
 
3.9
Beaches & Pools
 
3.7
Dining Options
 
3.3
Room Comfort
 
3.2
3.6 out of 5
"I had a great relaxing time with my gf, well relaxed. Not impressed by the dinning options. Nice pools and good friendly staff. Needs Better music at pool bar and disco night" – savie
64 out of 90 (71%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Blue bay beach Paradise island

All BlueBay Villas Doradas Customer Reviews

1-10 of 72 reviews. Sort by
June 27, 2016
Relaxing, Calm Get Away!

The hotel is the only adult only resort in Peurto Plata, so it got our attention. We also heard the Peurto Plata area is quiet and has a lot less partying crowd. We were looking for a time to just relax, move from the pool, to the beach, to food/bar, to the room, and a continuous cycle of that. No crying kids, drunk/loud people, just relaxation. That is what we got here. The resort is small with only 4 restaurants (only one is open per night and you must make reservations in advance), a buffet, 3 pools, and the beach area. The standard room was spacious and cleanly. I have seen others complain about the rooms, but they need to realize this is not a first world country and do not have the same high falutin standards some people hold. Everyday our room was cleaned. The staff was wonderful and super happy. Even if some aren’t flamboyant like some patrons expect, they are always sincere and had a smile. The stuff they deal with, I definitely wouldn’t have a smile, but they do. There is a team (Animation) that has events going on all day to engage people if you are into that, such as bingo, spanish lessons, yoga, sushi making classes, pool games, etc… But we aren’t into the social events, so we did not have any hands on with these experiences, but everybody seemed to be having a good time who was involved. The buffet was great, which they switched up some items every night and had a theme. There were some classics that remained every day, which is fine. Some folks like the same thing every day. I personally would have like to see just Dominican dishes, but they must please everyone. I see a lot of reviews mention specific people on the resort that stand out and specifically more the animation team. But I would like to mention some of the staff that do not get as much credit: such as wait staff members: Raphael, Rafael, Nilson, and Rosanna and the beach bar bartender: Lilyanna (Hopefully I spelled that correctly.) The only complaint about this hotel is the CircleOne Sales personnel trying to get you into a timeshare. If asked for a tour by them, just decline because it is just a sales pitch. We didn’t do the tour as a kind “we are not interested” was enough for our Rep Easy. The others are much more pushy. Just be aware. The beach is beautiful but you must weed your way through vendors, but a simple “No mas or No gracias” is enough to keep them moving. We had a great time and if you are looking for a quiet, relaxing resort, this is the place.


23 of 23 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Laramie, WY
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

April 1, 2013
Beautiful Beach, Good Resort

Are you a fan the Don Omar song "Danzo Kudoro?" If you are, then this is the resort for you. The song is the (un)official theme song of the resort and is played no less than 15 times per day. On the bright side, it's catchy and the staff tries their best to get everyone in on the dancing and clapping. On a more serious note, I'll break my review down into sections: Beach: easily the best part of the resort. The water is beautiful, clear, calm, and that perfect Caribbean temperature. There are a limited number of umbrellas and people seem to get up very early to claim them. Like before 6:30 am early. Beach vendors are pleasant and in no way pushy. They respect when you say no and are not much of a bother. Pool: two main pools and one smaller spa pool. The pools are not huge, but are well maintained. One has a swim up bar and was clearly the "party pool." Having the second pool you could just relax in was nice. Food: really nothing special. Everything is edible and I would say average to slightly above average. I wish they presented more Dominican food instead of trying to approximate "American" food. Buffet was good for breakfast, okay for lunch. Again Dominican night was the best food at the buffet. Three restaurants on the property. Steakhouse was pretty good. Steak was seasoned and cooked nicely but the sauces were not appetizing. Seafood restaurant had fish that was cooked well, but again sauces were not that great. Asian restaurant had good flavors and the best desserts. Drinks: one type of beer, about 20 available mixed drinks. Most are your standard beach-type drinks with fruit juices, frozen mixes, etc. Unless you specifically ask, you get less than a shot per drink. That being said, the bartenders are very happy to pour you a strong drink with a simple request. No pool or beach drink service (you have to get up and walk to the bar), which would be a nice addition. Rooms: don't settle for the first room they give you if you aren't happy. Our first room was literally steps from the pool, had no privacy, and was loud and kind of dingy. The front desk staff were VERY accommodating and kindly walked us around the property showing us available rooms and gave us our pick. Room was pretty big, had a nice balcony, bathroom was clean, no tub just a shower, small TV, AC worked very well. Bed wasn't great. Mattress was thin and old, sheets were kind of scratchy and felt cheap. Pillows the same. Staff: the regular staff is very friendly, helpful, and truly dedicated to making sure you have a good time. They all speak easily understandable English and are always available for any assistance. Service in the restaurants is a little slower than in American restaurants, but that is simply a function of Caribbean/Latin culture. The VIP club staff is another story. I understand it is their job to try and "sell" VIP membership to guests, but they are quite pushy. You basically get harassed every time you walk to and from the beach until you go and listen to them give their talk about the VIP membership. It took 25 minutes of repeatedly saying "I"m not interested" for them to take the hint. With that said, once we got that presentation out of the way, they no longer bothered us the rest of the trip. But I felt it was tacky to be as pushy as they were about the VIP membership. Airport Transport: Olympus Tours is a professional operation. They know what they're doing. Staff is very helpful, they have rosters and check you in and will handle your bags. A representative comes to the resort the day after you arrive and you sit down with him/her for 5 minutes to schedule your return trip. They were on time, prompt, and courteous. We did the shared transport and it was worth saving the money. Airport is 20 minutes from the resort and we waited maybe 10 minutes on the bus for other guests to arrive before leaving for the resort. I would definitely use them again for transport. Overall, you have to realize that in any resort, you get what you pay for. This isn't one of the more expensive places in Mexico, Jamaica, Aruba, etc., but it's a clean resort with decent food and a beautiful beach. If you want a relaxing vacation with beautiful scenery on a budget, then this is the place for you. Go in with your eyes open and don't expect it to be a 5 star resort and you will have a great time.


54 of 59 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Washington, DC
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

April 8, 2013
Room issues!!!

Went for a bachelor party with friends (each had own rooms). Overall stay was good, other customers and staff were good and helpful. However, the last 2 days i was bit and didnt realize that my room (close to the beach) had bedbugs (yikes - first experience and it was horrible). Also, the bathroom was leaking from the roof while showering, i called and requested the staff to come by and fix but noone came and my 4 day vacation was over. I liked the area but due to the discomfort of the room (bedbugs) I most likely wouldnt recommend this place).


13 of 13 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
1.0
User Image

From: NJ
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

December 11, 2011
Awesome Vacation!

We met with 3 other couples at the resort to celebrate our friends anniversary and birthday! After reading the reviews, we were somewhat hesitant however, I can tell you honestly, if anyone has a bad tine at this resort, most likely, they were the cause of it! The staff was amazing and met our every need. We upgraded our package and highly recommend it as the alcohol provided in the room is much better than what is served at the tiki huts. We ate at all the ala carte restaurants and our favorite was the seafood however our friends preferred the Asian restaurants. I can understand why as we ate our last dinner there and the manager did dance impersonations of Michael Jackson with the staff in the background making the music! We had a wonderful last night even though the food wasnt the best compared to the other places. The buffet is a typical buffet and for those complaining about a lack of selection, I cannot imagine whatelse you wanted to eat as there were no less than 40 items to choose from. In 7 days we didnt even come close to trying it however I must say that my favorite snack was the fried chicken at the beach grill. The food is wonderful and readily available and if not, ask! Politely please! We seen plenty of people having an amazing time and a few who were miserable. The difference in the two was the way they were dealing with their situaiton. The staff here are extremely patient and helpful and there is NO NEED to berate them or curse them out. They are working for you, treat them with respect and they will treat you the same. The yellow shirt time share people are very friendly and would take no thank you without pursuing further. There was one guy who called my fiance' a curse word in spanish when he politely said no. The staff needs to be careful and understand that some might not be fluent in their language, however we do know some words :) The vendors on the beach are very friendly and yes, Cheapy Willy is well worth meeting. It does become hard to relax when every 3 minutes someone is walking up to you to sell something however over the days, we became friends with a few and that seemed to hold off the rest. Our favorites for hair braiding was Marie (#24) Louis for excursions....he is the man to see for whatever you want. He knows the beach sellers and will hook you up with whatever you want from cigars to custom made braclets! It was tough telling everyone no however you dont have to be rude. Just say no gracias and they will go away. I told Cheapy Willy the very first day that I would make my purchases from him the day before I left and that seemed to keep the rest of them away from me. I wanted a gift for my friend who is a larger woman and the guy selling the wraps didnt have a dress large enough and let me pick out the material and the next day he showed up with the dress! That is service! We stayed in Building 5 and we felt was the best building ever! Very quiet and though the staff came in and out of their area by our room, they were very respectful and quiet and we didnt even notice them. I do know that our friends all had issues with their rooms flooding when it rained and were located opposite the resort of our room. My guess is the high water table....after all....it is an island. The staff addressed their issues very quickly and though I know it was a pain for them to deal with, once they realized the situation, a bath towel under the door prevented it from occurring again. Not a vacation breaker here people...just some heavy rain on an island! The one issue I really had was the bathroom. Our room was huge and had a lot of unused space. I have no idea why the bathrooms would be so tiny but they are. So tiny to the point that I had a bruise on my right hip from hitting the doorknob constantly. The shower was wide but not deep and I found trying to rinse my long hair would result in the water overfilling the shower pan and begin draining onto the floor. Again not a deal breaker, just annoying,. I can definetely say that this was one of the most relaxing vacations I have had in years. We normally cruise and on the first day thought we made a mistake by not however soon discoverd that it was nice not having to run everywhere to catch a show or eat or find a pool. The resort is smaller compared to others but that is what makes it so charming and quaint. I would recommend this to anyone at any age however this isnt your Spring Break Location. if you are looking for 24/7 parties, they are not here and you wont have fun. Most everything quiets down after midnight however there is always good times to be had at the beach bar listening to the ocean while talking with new friends. We are looking to return in the next 3 months to use our credit for the rain and cant wait! I love resort, the people are amazing and the guests, most of them anyway, are friendly and fun!


16 of 17 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Florida
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

December 26, 2011
Good resort...after we had a room

I booked a last minute trip for my wife and I for Thanksgiving 2011. Blue Bay had good reviews on TripAdvisor so I took a chance that the rainy season wouldn't be so bad. I was wrong about that. It rained every day almost non-stop. The weather does not have an influence on my review, though. Our experience in the hotel was good...after we got a room. When we checked in, we were told that they were having plumbing problems in one of the buildings and they moved us to a very crowded family resort next door for the night. It was awful. Between the partiers coming back from the disco at 4 AM and the screaming children waking up at 7, we did not get any sleep. Upon investigation, we found out that they lied to us. They had overbooked by almost 20 rooms and had to move several guests to the other resort, some for more than one night. We also were told by returning guests that this practice is not uncommon for BlueBay. This was only a four night trip for us, so 25% of our vacation was spent in subpar accommodations and the next day was a waste as we had only got two hours of sleep. The hotel provided us spa treatments for our trouble. Our package already included spa treatments but they wouldn't offer any other compensation. The Pros: -Better than average lunch and dinner and a good variety. Make sure you make your reservations for the restaurants early in for trip because they fill up fast. The seafood restaurant was our favorite. -Great pools. There were three pools, each with different characteristics depending on your mood. -Good pool bar. The bartender kept a bottle of top shelf whisky for his good customers. If you tip well, and are nice, you may get more than the standard well liquor. The Cons -Couldn't get a room. See above. -Breakfast. Stick with the fruits and fresh cooked eggs. Stay away from the buffet.


16 of 17 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
2.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Peoria, IL
Age: 35-44
Travel: 7+ trips/year

April 19, 2016
Tips to Stay and Around the Resort

My husband and I had really good time and had so much fun in Dominican Republic. We decided to go back some days soon. Be very careful with the TSA at Puerto Plata Airport ( In my opinion: people working in the resort is so much better than those who work for the local government). Hotel/Room/Bedding: * Room near Spa area is quieter than the pool/entertainment area. Bed sheet is clean. It's about 2.5/5 standard room in New York City. * Hotel Orientation - they try to sell you a membership card(?) really expensive, however, they won't push you if you don't like to buy it. Please avoid this orientation if you don't want to waist your time. * Room Services - This is free services, however, if staff works great, please tip them. They're working so hard. * Room Safe / Security box - $3 USD per stay * You will get 1towel cards per person; and if you lose one it will cost you $25USD. * Internet - You have to pay for Wifi. $1 USD per minutes (no kidding), but I would recommend you to NOT buy wifi. Just relax and pay more attention to the one who next to you. You will be grateful for it. * 5 mins walk to a nearby mall, prices are fair for tourist. Restaurant: * Required reservation * Food is not good in those reserved restaurants. My husband and I love the Buffet restaurant bc it has so many options and selections. Beach: * Very Nice and enjoy the best sunrise around 6:30 am in April. Water/Sport/Excursions - please go, a lot of great activities around. * Paradise Island - A MUST GO. MISC Airport tips: * Tourist card - $10 USD per person. (why???) * Currency: Not necessary to exchange local currency. I felt like local people love US dollar. * TSA: Do not bring Umbrella and battery bank/charger. If you want to bring this, make sure you check-in luggage instead of carries-on to the plane. TSA will collect your umbrella and battery bank.........(why???) * Tips: $1 USD means a lot to local staff. Please show your appreciation to them if you feel they worth it. But you will also notice some of those are only work for tip sss sss..... Hope you all enjoy your vacation!


9 of 9 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: New York, NY
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

May 11, 2011
GREAT VALUE/RELAXING TIME

WE HAD A WONDERFUL TIME. GREAT STAFF, VERY WIDE SELECTION OF FOODS AT THE BUFFET. THERE IS A ROBERT TRENT JONES SR GOLF COURSE ACROSS THE STREET. A VERY CHALLENGING LINKS. THIS WAS OUR SECOND TRIP AND WE'LL BOOK THIS RESORT AGAIN. LOTS OF GUEST FROM ALL OVER EUROPE AND NORTH AMERICA. NICE WALKING BEACH WITH EUROPEAN STYLE SUNBATHING. DAILY ACTIVITIES AROUND THE POOL ARE A HOOT. ONLY A 10 MINUTE RIDE FROM THE AIRPORT. YOU CAN PAY MORE, BUT I DOUBT YOU'LL HAVE MUCH MORE FUN........


5 of 5 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: CHICAGO, IL
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

May 12, 2011
Great couples vacations!

My girlfriend and I enjoyed our stay with Bluebay. We both left the resort feeling connected with the staff and satisfied with the level of customer service. The staff tries extremely hard to keep daily activities for those who want to participate... ie. Volleyball, pineapple bowling, bartending, and even water aerobics. (Not that we took place in aerobics but great option for some) The beach was beautiful and has a 24hr walk up bar. (The bartender Frankie is super friendly and generous) Topless for those who feel comfortable with your femininity. Watch out for the beach solicitors however, they try selling you everything! (You can haggle with pricing) - Advise, be stern with them when you really aren't interested in purchasing. Oh! Purchase any excursions from the guys on the beach however, (saves you $20 US dollars/person) the hotel can over price them. The safari tour was somewhat disappointing and can be sensitive for some. My girlfriend had a shock of her life when she found out about cock fights and in general the depth of poverty outside the resort. The waterfalls are more like water sides rather than actual "FALLS" but they still promote as extravagant drops. Regardless... I would go back! The people are great and the Dominican Sun felt great! Super relaxing!


4 of 4 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Orange County, CA
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

March 18, 2013
First Impression: OK.....not so great

We arrived at reception desk and were told that if we didn't have a printed copy of our voucher/reservation confirmation, we would not be allowed into the resort, even though our names showed up on his computer screen. Passports and driver's licenses were presented..When we tried to explain that our reservation had been made by a third party (residing in the Dominican Republic), and that we had just gotten to the country, we had no access to a printer or a smart phone, the clerk was adamant that we could not check in. When asked if he couldn't just print the vouchers for us, his response was that "we don't have a printer here." After further discussion and flaring of tempers, he directed us to go to the Wi-Fi Center at the other end of the pool to ask THAT clerk if we could access our email and get the print out ....that process took about 30 minutes, as THAT clerk said his computer was running slow. When we finally brought back our printout, the desk clerk said that most of their guests were from Canada, they handle their trips thru a travel agent who prints out everything before the trip.Our response was, First, we're not from Canada, Second, we didn't personally make the reservation, and Third, in all our travels to Miami, NY, Los Angeles, San Diego, Puerto Rico, and other resorts in the Sosua area of the Dominican Republic, etc.we had NEVER been denied a reservation just because we had no printed confirmation...at that point the clerk asked us not to get upset!!! This was our first and probably last visit to Blue Bay Playa Dorada. PS: Our family/friends wanted us to celebrate our 40th anniversary there.


4 of 4 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
2.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
2.0
User Image

From: CA
Age: 55-64
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

October 14, 2012
BlueBay Villas Doradas in the Dominican Republic

Well when I got there they offered me a room that was on the ground floor and the woman that I was traveling with and me did not want to be on the ground floor, so they gave us a room on the third floor but with one bed. We needed two beds, so we went back to the lobby and we said we booked a room with two beds and also we paid extra for the Gold Deluxe Package that said there was a sitting area and a balcony, which when we got in the room there was no sitting area. The bathroom was very small so I would suggest not to paid extra for the upgrade. We were also supposed to get a fruit plate and we did not. Also we were supposed to get a Champagne Breakfast in bed and we did not get it. They closed the main pool with the swim up bar for maintenance for two days, and when they did open it, it was gross. The food in the buffet was ok but the restaurants are better. The rooms were clean. The beach was nice. The service was very good but the staff was very short handed, so they did the best they could. They were very friendly and happy to help. Entertainment was good. The entertainment team were very good, they got everyone to participate. You get what you pay for. It was also hot and humid there. Overall I had a good time.


6 of 7 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
2.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
2.0
User Image

From: Staten Island, NY
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

+ Vacation Packages
+ All-Inclusive Deals
+ Hotels
+ Destinations