All

Blue Diamond Riviera Maya Reviews

Mexico | Mexico - Riviera Maya Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 25 Reviews
Value
 
4.4
Service
 
4.3
Beaches & Pools
 
4.6
Dining Options
 
4.1
Room Comfort
 
4.3
4.4 out of 5
"You will not be disappointed. Everything is fabulous. This is a great resort for those who just want to relax and get away... would not be great for people who want a lot of activities." – Ghop
23 out of 27 (85%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Poolside Beach view Getting ready for lunch Fig salad! Yum! Blue Diamond resort map View from the pool cabanas.

All Blue Diamond Riviera Maya Customer Reviews

1-10 of 25 reviews. Sort by
March 25, 2013
Second only to your imagination

To describe the Blue Diamond as amazing or incredible or breath taking, while true, only just brushes the surface of the exquisite "Diamond" that it really is. To clarify, let's start with the rooms. Each room from the beautiful Cenote suites to the Lagoon Palifitos to the Beachfront Casitas is tastefully decorated. Elegantly crafted open ceilings and hardwood floors welcome you with warm tones that invite relaxation. The furniture is simple and comfortable and the beds will encourage sleep long past the beautiful sunrises. Rain heads in the showers was a nice touch. A gentle shower after a hot day was welcome. Outside we had a private bath/plunge pool that was also great to just sit and soak away the cares of the day in private. For food you have 4 options. Room service has its own small menu. The main restaurant is The Ambar. Walking through the front door into a mood lit circular wine room where you're greeted and shown to your table. There is a wonderful ambiance to the restaurant. The menu here is always the same but full of choices (may i suggest the duck salad) and the food here was delicious. I would recommend a table outside as it sits over the lagoon. Beautiful views of the lagoon and its natives while we ate was a real treat. The next is the Aquamarina where my lady and I had most of our meals. We were greeted by our hostess Aracelli who is an absolute sweetheart. She will take care of everything you need. The head waiter Jesus will great you and oversee that everything is perfecto. And if you have the opportunity to be served by Roman you will not be disappointed. Service with a smile never had truer meaning. The menu here changes nightly. While we we there it was Mexican flare, Mayan flare and a French menu. All nights the food was wonderful! It made you feel like it was a different restaurant every night except with the same warm people serving you. Excellent wine list here as well. Very nicely situated on the beach so again a seat outside is a must to take in the sights, smells and sounds of the Caribbean. Below the Aquamarina is the Ceviche Cha Cha Cha. A nice place to enjoy a lite lunch after a swim in the beautiful blue waters just a few steps away. Again the service here is no different, with Cesar and Ricardo taking control of making your vacation memorable with laughs and good conversation. Very modern decor here so it's easy to feel right at home. After lunch on the deck you can sit on the lounge chairs in the sand and Cesar continues to make sure every want you have is taken care of to the letter. There are several pools at the resort. We did not use the spa because of time but heard the pool there was great as well as the variety of services offered there. Down on the beach front if you've had enough of the sand you can sit in the pool there. It seemed a bit chilly to us but prob just because the ocean was so warm. The jacuzzi overflows into the endless pool and the are both pleasantly warm. All with full service from the bar on site. All of these amenities are within walking distance of your room. It's a very nicely gardened path that stretches probably the better part of a half of a mile from lobby to the beach. But if you left your walking shoes at home there is always a cart with a willing driver to escort you wherever you need to go. The true beauty of this resort is its service. From upper management to the concierge to the waitstaff and the gardeners, they made us feel like family. When we left it tugged at the heart. A big round of thanks and commendation goes out to our friends Victor, Jose and Merial in concierge, Jesus, Roman, Daniel and Aracelli at the Aquamarina, Ceser and Ricardo at the Ceviche, Luis, Jose and Federico at the pool bar, and Luis, Jesus, Darwin, Aldo and Adrianna as the bellmen and front desk reception. Thanks to you all for the most wonderful week we have ever had on a vacation. We will be back soon. To recap for you readers, The Blue Diamond is the only place you will want to go in the Playa del Carmen area. Top notch on all scores. You will never want to leave. We didn't. Thanks for reading and enjoy your stay at the Blue Diamond.

Fig salad! Yum!
29 of 31 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image
Top 1000 Contributor
From: Missoula MT
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

May 6, 2013
Best resort for couples, don't look any further.

If you want to be pampered and treated like royalty, look no further. Aside from the amazing rooms, food and views, the all inclusive packages include everything you would want to do at the resort - spa installation like the vapor room, sauna, bubble therapy, and even an authentic Mayan temazcal ceremony are all included; in addition to snorkeling at the reef, kayaks, sail boats, and go-cart transportation. On top of all, the staff is there 24/7 to serve you and to make your stay even better. Rooms were cleaned twice a day, or even more if you wish; restaurant/beach staff are really good and will recommend the best dishes from the a-la-carte menu with daily specials. The food and drinks are great! The best way to describe the food would be high-end dishes with a Mexican twist. You can have any kind of drink at the resort, from tropical juices to cocktails, to wine and spirits. The beach at the Blue Diamond is also a great amenity! It maybe has some small pebbles when you try to go in the water but once you pass it (maybe a foot or two in length) there are no rocks at all. We walked up and down the beachfront to OTHER resorts and their beaches sucked! No service by the beach, no clean towels layer out for you, no showers, and worst of all massive coral rocks all along their beaches. That's not the case with the Blue Diamond, service is always available and very little rocks. If you are thinking this resort may be a little pricey, it is completely justified once you go. You won't regret it! We are very certain we will return!

Getting ready for lunch View from the pool cabanas.
13 of 14 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Maryland, USA
Age: 19-24
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

February 12, 2014
OMG! Perfection !

Leave the world behind and enter through the gates of Blue Diamond Riviera Maya to a perfect vacation! The huge and impressive open lobby feels Daunting until you are greeted with a sweet cool drink and a chilled towel. Check in is fast and easy( especially having booked through Cheap Caribbean ). Your host gets Your things and you on a speedy little chariot ( golf cart) driven by a sweet young man who Takes you right to your suite. All the accommodations at Blue Diamond are suites. No 3,500 room monster buildings With elevators and hallways here!!! 128 suites dotted throughout the most beautiful jungle setting ever! From Jr. Suites (like ours) with art installations In each "patio" they share, to the lagoon 2story suites with water view to the very Special beach casitas, no choice is a wrong One! The BD property is a one mile stretch from Lobby to Beach! It sounds long but, seriously It is one of the prettiest most enjoyable walks You could take! Relax!!! There are plenty of golf carts to catch As they pass! They will slow down to offer a ride but, we actually chose to walk a lot. So much food and so much to drink, we needed to work some of it off!:) The raw stone "road" leads from one end to The other taking you through lush, tropical Surroundings. Once you reach the end you Can hear the waves crashing, birds calling And voices chatting. Up the white stucco stairs and you have reached the Hub. The center of life at BD. The small pool bar greets you first, if 10 Lovely folks haven't already, and introduces You to the main Pool/beach area. No massive man made lake with bridges and Swim Up bars here!!!! Just a serene fairly shallow infinity pool (cool) sizable but not crazy and the long ( warm) lap pool that ends With the jacuzzi. Two incredible places to dip or spend hrs. Floating around like a duck on a pond! All of this looking out over the tops of the palm trees to the glittering ocean. Plenty of chaise lounges, umbrellas and even White tented cabanas ring the pools for all To enjoy. Never was there a fight for a place To plant ourselves. Sun or shade there were Always options even late in the morning if One chose to sleep in. This was not the case for us! Since there is Little to do entertainment wise after dinner At this blissfully quiet resort, we found Ourselves back at our room and asleep early most nights. Usually after a delightful Dinner at Aquamarina or Ambar, the slightly More formal restaurant (dinner only). Men, Long pants and closed toe shoes required. Nice jeans are ok but if you are going Somewhere nice, dress well! Right? The menu at Ambar is more traditional, Serious food. Attention payed to us as well as the food they serve was wonderful!! A footstool was brought to our table for my Purse because Romero felt it was necessary. Wow! Has that ever happened Even at the finest places in NY or Paris? I think not!!:) Beef tenderloin, salmon, quail risotto, cauliflower soup, Beet salad and a killer chocolate desert and much more will Be too much to chose from. The best Cappuccino and a shot of tequila will surely Finish you off!! Good luck:) Awake early with warm sun and the sounds Of the birds! Ready for a delish breakfast we walked up the road to the pool to eat in the sun at Aquamarina one of the Two main restaurants. Modern and elegantly casual This high cielinged room is great! Many sat Inside but we like "Al Fresco"! Juan, Cesar,Priciliamo and the gang will take Special care of you! From fresh squeezed juices, fruit plates, eggs of all kinds, yogurt And granola to sweet or savory crepes and waffles, oh my what to choose!! Eggs Benny, Mexican crepes and the smoked salmon bagel Are winners as is the Natural yogurt and granola!! I'm allergic to pineapple so they substituted kiwi, watermelon and bananas. Added to an already impressive plate of melons and fresh papaya!! Yummmm That's just breakfast! Sit by the pool, on the beach, at Aquamarina Or the ceviche bar for lunch! They will bring It to you or you can sit on the decks of either Spot watching people go by, birds play in the breeze and the water roll up on the beach. Heaven! (Speaking of the breeze... While we were there, the breeze was strong And constant! Lovely but makes you forget How strong the sun is and it's easy to over Do it big time!!! SPF 30 at least please!!) Moving on...:) Start with the ever perfect chops, salsa and Guacamole they serve automatically , then.. Full lunch menu with salads, sushi, sashimi Fish tacos and steaks to the "snack" menu Including ceviche(marinated fish and Veggies served cold) excellent buffalo wings Burgers, fish fritters, empanadas and fries!! Amazingly good food and lots of choices Especially for an All Inclusive!!! Cesar is a whirlwind of energy and he delivers Food and drinks at great speed to his guests Everyone here, in all capacities, works very Hard!! It shows in the way they keep the grounds, clean the rooms, serve us at the bars and dining areas and in the kind genuine Way they greet everyone with a smile, a hand To their heart and a big happy "Hola"! Everyone was wonderful to us and we showed Our appreciation with small $ tips throughout The week. It is very appreciated and deserved It is no big hardship to have some singles Or a few pesos in your beach bag or shorts pocket, truly!! Do it!:) No need to worry about leaving things at your Chair by the pool! We left IPads, camera and cash in our tote with no worries! On the Beach, maybe not so safe since it is not as Secure an area! *(Now... There is a safe in every room and we Assume everyone will use theirs but this is Just common sense. There is no need here For jewels and fancy things! So leave them At home. ) Our beach was by far the Prettiest of the strip. We walked both directions And magically our little piece was softer, cleaner And the water was clearer. Not so just a short way down on either side! The other resorts dwarf our little BD but I couldn't wait to turn around and get back To our special place! Some water sports are available. We had a free Snorkel trip with our room and the guys have A couple of jet skis and kayaks if one wants For the most part, little to do but chill and relax. Exactly what we needed! If you want music and dance parties and water slides this ain't the place! Seriously This is an oasis and it should be respected As just that!! Adults only!!!! I have come to learn, sadly, that "Adults" Doesn't equal "Grown Ups". There were a few groups,young and older, Who just had no clue how loud they were, How drunk they got and how they imposed On others around them. Shhhhh!:( The concierge crew did hear our concerns And did try to curb it a bit but, they have a Tough job and I don't envy them that part a Bit!! Although this unfortunate issue did arise We don't hold it against the resort or the BD staff In any way!!!!! So come! Relax, enjoy and be peaceful. It is a gift and a special one to savor! We will see everyone soon! Your fan, foodie girl! ( Thanx Cheap Carribean!!)


11 of 12 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Massachusetts
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

August 11, 2014
The Next Level

We have been to three different resorts in the Playa del Carmen/Rivera Maya area and Blue Diamond is definitely head and shoulders over the others. Rooms as well as common areas are fabulously beautiful, new and modern. I want to build a new house now! Service and amenities were excellent. Loved the boutique feel. I couldn't quite understand all the room offerings between this website and the hotel's before we left, but we stayed in a Patio Junior Suite. Lots of other reviewers have a done a good job describing the resort, but I'll just try to clear up what I was confused about here in my review. All PATIO JUNIOR SUITES (6 courtyards with 8 units each) have an outdoor tub, very private back yards, and a sitting area. There is one PATIO SUITE in each courtyard that has its own private swimming pool. We loved the privacy that you had not being on the water, and had our outdoor tub filled daily (it just took a phone call and 20 minutes of patience having cocktails on the back patio) Would stay in this room again. The Cenote Deluxe Junior Suites are farthest from the beach (not a big issue because bikes and carts are readily available), closest to the spa and don't have as much privacy with all back patios facing each other on the cenote. The Laguna Suites are close to the beach, are larger units, and have colder AC (friends of ours were moved there for that reason, something to do with the water table), but again, have less patio privacy. The Palafito Deluxe Junior Suites are very close to the beach, two stories with a beautiful view of the mangrove lagoon (I thought the prettiest waterway), but again, patio is very visible. The Beach Front Casitas looked amazing and had private pools. They even had a special section of beach with lounge chairs that were reserved for those units. I've uploaded the resort map for reference. Happy travels!

Blue Diamond resort map
8 of 9 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: San Antonio, TX
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

May 30, 2015
True definition of relaxation!!!

This is truly one of the most peaceful resorts you will ever visit. There is a not a lot to do at the resort which was why it appealed to us for our 10 year anniversary. We didn't want a big crowded resort with lots of groups. It was mostly couples. The grounds are beautiful. Pool area is small but very peaceful and easy to get cabanas. There were no hidden costs for anything. The servers are so friendly (checkout the Javi special at the pool bar) and food was excellent!! I have been to several all-inc where food is not so great. Everything they make is gourmet and delicious. Don't be turned off because there are only 3 restaurants. They change the theme in one nightly so different menus and all are wonderful. We were also extremely pleased with the true top shelf bar. Lots of places advertise top shelf and then serve you Popov vodka. They had every liquor and mixer you could imagine. Mini bar (which was not so mini) restocked in the room frequently. The only complaint if I had to give one is the ice in the room situation. Due to the design of the resort, there are no ice machines. You need to call the desk every time you want ice. Most of the time, they were there quickly (within 15 minutes) but a couple times, we had to call twice and wait over 2 hours to get it. Last thing is definitely get a bike!!! The grounds are gorgeous and there are paths everywhere to ride a bike. Also makes getting to beach and restaurants easier. They have golf carts to bring you around as well (which come very quickly when needed) but the bike is so much more fun. Caution riding the bike after the Javi special!! LOL!! I suggest calling resort before you go to make sure they have them available for you. They only have so many and of course the nicest rooms get those. The little people get put on a wait list. I bugged concierge a couple times to get one.


4 of 4 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Delaware
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

March 28, 2016
A vacation shouldn't be work

We arrived at the hotel to a bucket of champagne after arranging for a non-alcohol room set-up. We asked for a late checkout since our flight out wasn't until evening. We were initially told 3pm, but the day before departure were told that they couldn't give us a late checkout and would have to check out at 9am. When i asked why they wouldn't accommodate a later checkout i was told that they could remove us from the hotel for non-compliance. Who enforces a 9am checkout at a vacation resort? Also, there weren't many people here that we could see, so why be so inflexible with those that are trying to enjoy staying here. The food was good, our dinner service was top rate. We tipped the server heavily because we we're so happy to be treated that nicely. The Royal Swim with the Dolphins was awesome, the Coba Mayan Encounter was another highlight and well worth the money, the Xplor package was a bit disappointing in that they should disclose that they're taking you to a theme-park instead of having you assume you're out in the open country. Big difference. Overall, we were hoping to return here for each anniversary, but didn't ever get that wow, happy you're here, how can we make this your best vacation ever feeling. Too bad.


4 of 4 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 2
Value
 
2.0
Service
 
1.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: California
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

September 9, 2013
Comfortable Service

We stayed 5 nights and overall loved the resort. The positives included excellent, warm, friendly service, beautiful environment (rooms, spa, restaurants, grounds) The food was much better than we expected with full menu options for all meals. The in room bar was well stocked but a request had to be made for restock. The negatives: mosquitos were everywhere! Spray was provided in the room for a reason. The bed and pillows were disappointing. Any outside activities required a taxi ride from $20 to $40 and up one way depending on distance Overall I would recommend and we will definitely be back.


6 of 8 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Louisville, KY
Age: 35-44
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

December 11, 2014
It Doesn't Get Much Better!

From the moment we arrived til we left we felt pampered and relaxed. We stayed in the Patio Suite (Basic room) and loved it. It afforded us privacy, space and luxury. We loved the room and the patio area. Riding the golf carts to/from the beach and restaurants is easy to do. We never waited more than a few minutes. Walking was enjoyable too as you get to look at the art installations and wildlife. We saw coati, crocodiles, a huge snake (yuck), beautiful birds and butterflies, small geckos and what looked like a nutria. The pool and beach were never crowded - both pools at the beach have infinity edges and one is heated. There is also a jacuzzi alongside the heated pool. All of the staff was very friendly and helpful. There is no nightlife here at all, no loud entertainment staff and music is soft and sort of new age like all day/night. So, it's not for everyone. If you are looking for a lively party trip this is not the place. This is romance (99% couples, not a single scene), spoiling, excellent food & drinks in a gorgeous upscale resort. There are bottles of wine and upgraded beef/lobster available but no one every pushed anything or even offered it to us. It was just shown on the menu. Other items comments on - the ride from the airport was not long but we did private shuttle, maybe 30 mins. The outside pool/tub was not cold water. We had very warm, nice bubble bath water filled in our pool. Didn't give room 5 stars as I thought bed was hard and regarding the dining, I thought they could use another option or two.

It Doesn't Get Much Better! It Doesn't Get Much Better!
4 of 5 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Phila, PA
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

May 6, 2015
Would not recommend at all

I will start with the positives. We paid for Jr. Suite so room/bathroom were very good. Resort is LONG so lots of walking but if you can wait 10-15 mins every time they can come get you in their golf carts. Pool/beach area is good. The negatives: - The help or someone who comes to clean the room stole $500 from the wallet that was inside of the luggage. - On calling the concierge, they didnt even acknowledge the theft and focused on us "checking out" next day. - The manager NEVER meets with anyone no matter how serious the issue (even after confirming a meeting time, the manager never showed to the meeting). - Only 3 restaurants for food and we were all vegetarian and had confirmed with the resort that they can take care of our dietary restrictions before booking and HORRIBLE experience with food. Unless you can eat nachos, pasta, risoto and fajitas for 5 days for all meals. - First day we had asked to stock the room fridge with our selective items and they NEVER did for 5 days (got the same things everyday). We didnt drink any alcohol but never got the drinks we asked for). There is no customer service at this resort. You can find much cheaper/better deals on excursions outside of the resort.


6 of 9 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 1
Value
 
2.0
Service
 
1.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Chicago, IL
Age: 25-34

July 2, 2013
Amazing!

You will not be disappointed. Everything is fabulous. This is a great resort for those who just want to relax and get away... would not be great for people who want a lot of activities.


2 of 2 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Memphis, TN
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year