All

Best Western Emerald Beach Reviews

Caribbean | USVI St. Thomas Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 26 Reviews
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
3.4
Beaches & Pools
 
4.6
Dining Options
 
3.1
Room Comfort
 
3.8
3.9 out of 5
"We had an awesome vacation at St Thomas. Everything we wanted or needed was at the Emerald Beach resort. Staff was great and the beach and tiki bar were a blast!!" – 4michigangirls
25 out of 29 (86%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
lindbergh bay noon lindbergh bay sunset view from 3rd floor room Hotel pool

All Best Western Emerald Beach Customer Reviews

1-10 of 26 reviews. Sort by
January 22, 2013
Not as good as advertised

I chose this hotel for a last minute winter getaway based on reviews I read and it was a reality check. Don't believe everything you read online. The hotel is located a couple of minutes from the airport, so of course, no matter what anyone says -you hear the airplanes fly over and see them over your shoulder from the beach. My daughter and I laughed every time one went over our heads and wondered at the hearing ability of those who wrote online they could not hear them. The hotel is a modest affair, with friendly front desk staff. The rooms do have have beautiful views of the beach and Lindbergh bay. However, the beach is a drop off point for afternoon visits from the cruise ships and was crowded on the sunny afternoons - do not expect a tranquil secluded space for yourself. There is a very modest and quite expensive restaurant and bar on the premises which was adequate. The rooms appeared clean - but my daughter came back with definite signs of bed bug bites - I was spared. There was no running water one entire evening and going to dinner with the remnants of sunscreen and sand still present on one's skin was not what I envisioned for my brief stay. The bathrooms leaked water from an upper floor all night after a heavy rainfall , when I called the front desk I was told not to worry. They didn't have to listening to the dripping for most of the night. The taxi fares as listed in the hotel brochure are more expensive than the cabs we called and requested. We took a trip to the East end of the island (a good 20 minute journey) for almost the same as the trip to town ( 5 minutes away) - and the lesser fares were proposed by the two different drivers we had each way - so I would say call a cab, rather than use one that sits on the premises. This was truly a lesson on discount last minute bookings - beware and be warned!


29 of 31 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 1
Value
 
2.0
Service
 
1.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
1.0
User Image

From: New York
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

October 6, 2012

If You are looking for something beautiful, peaceful and calming with no loud parties or having to fight for a spot on the beach, This is the place to go. We enjoyed it so much, we didn't want to leave. It only has about a 100 rooms total and they all have balconies that face the beach. Every morning we would sit on the balcony and drink our coffe and enjoy the peace and quiet and serenity of the waves hitting the beach. If you want a party hotel, this is not it. We rented a car and saw the whole island, plus went th St. John for the price of a ferry ride . So we saw 2 Saints for the price of one. The room was very clean and fresh, the bathroom looked newly remodeled. The room had a small frig in it and coffee pot. We asked for extra coffee pods every day because we are coffee drinkers. No problem. The only thing I wish they had was a microwave or toaster because we bought a weeks worth of bagels and cream cheese and ate our breakfast in the room. We always do that when we are on vacation. The hotel only had one restaraunt that was open air but the food was good. Breakfast, lunch, and dinner were all served there. We would go back again and stay there.


7 of 7 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Ft Worth Tx
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

November 5, 2015
The good, The bad

The Good- Hotel is close to airport, airplane noise isn't bad, about 4 per day. All rooms are beach front and close to the water. Rooms are basic but clean and comfortable. Food in restaurant was good for price. Ate breakfast everyday there , supper twice. Hotel is close to town. A couple of friendly wait staff in restaurant that were pleasant and knowledgeable about the island and how to get around. We did not rent a car. The Bad- Room not ready at check in time. Gave them another hour still not ready. Got two different rooms assigned, had to move because rooms were under construction. Moved, one of the 2nd rooms had no air, had to move again. Room didn't get cleaned one day. Towels are scarce on getting re supplied. Had a special supper one night, even if you are a hotel guest but not having that buffet you had to order food in the bar. Seems like there is minimal supervision by managers to employee's. This could be a fabulous hotel with a little more organization. I'd stay again but I know what I'm getting.


6 of 6 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Vergas , MN
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

June 14, 2016
Good value -- nice beach

We enjoyed our stay at the Emerald Beach Resort. It's not an elegant, luxurious resort like the Marriott Frenchman's Reef. It's humble and a little rough around the edges (the office, for example, seemed a bit shabby), but by staying there we saved a few hundred dollars to defray some of the (very expensive) transportation and food costs on the island. The beach is nice. It's great to stay at a place where you can just step onto the beach in the morning. We also enjoyed sitting on the balcony and enjoying the ocean view. All rooms face the ocean, though it appears that a few have views that are blocked by palm trees. (So you might want to request a clear view when you make your reservation.) The view from our third-floor balcony was great. The room was clean and included satellite TV with HBO, a small refrigerator, coffee maker, hair dryer, iron and ironing board, and an easy-to-use combination safe for securing a few valuables when you leave the room. The bar and restaurant have seating right next to the beach. The bartenders and waitresses were nice and the food was OK. The swimming pool was a bit small but was quite nice, and it looked pretty at night. There was a little shop next to the pool were you could buy souvenir beachwear, beach towels and other items. You could also book various day-trips at the shop. (We booked a fun catamaran trip to go snorkeling at Turtle Cove on Buck Island.) When we made our reservation for the Emerald Beach Resort we were a bit concerned about the possible noise from the next-door airport. And actually the noise is a drawback. If you want maximum quiet this isn't the place for you. But the passenger jet take-offs and landings are relatively few, and stop completely by 10 p.m. (And actually the airplanes look rather spectacular if you're out on the water looking back toward the hotel!) Overall, despite a few drawbacks, we were satisfied with our stay.


6 of 6 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Boston
Age: 45-54

January 13, 2011
Great Sunning

On our first vacation without the kids, we sat on the beach every day. The sun was great. Sunsets were terrific. We bought a bottle of island rum and had rum and cokes every day. You tend to forget that this is an island and everything has to be shipped in - ergo: costs are high. The Emerald Beach is well located for easy transport into town on the 1$ sefari taxi. The beach entertained numerous ships passengers for the day because it was so nice.. Snorkeling was a good view of the sand. All in all a great vacation


5 of 5 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Denver, CO
Age: Over 65
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

December 24, 2011
Our Vacation

The location is near the airport, you hear alot of planes going in and out but that isn't a big deal. The beach in this area is PERFECT!!!! They advertise 3 restaurants which isn't true. THere is only 1. The food isn't good and is WAY WAY WAY WAY OVERPRICED. No good dining options even close. The hotels within walking distance down the beach have about the same menu at a little better price. If you are going just for the beach, this place CAN NOT be beat. If you must have food options or if you want to be within walking distance of the shopping areas, this place ISN'T for you. Cab ride to the shopping areas are about $7 per person each direction. Also, the cab drivers are not reliable when you "reserve" them to meet you at a place and time. We were stood up twice by differennt drivers. A guy named Thomas that works out of the hotel left us stranded on the other side of the island for 2 hours.


7 of 8 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Kingsport, TN
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

August 25, 2011
I want to go back

This vacation was by far one of the best I have been on. I was traveling on a budget and found the accommodations to be more than excellent. The hotel was located very close to the airport and it was convenient. The beach was the most beautiful on the island. It was clean and quiet. I actually came back from this vacation pregnant and now have a beautiful 4 month old. I went in August of 2010. The staff does not wait on you hand and foot, however, for independent travelers that just want to be left alone - this spot was fantastic!!!!! I went to the local market, stocked on booze and munchies and enjoyed!!!! Very private beach especially at night.


4 of 4 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Bronx, New York
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

October 27, 2012
Barking dog and loud neighbors

The remote controls for the TVs don't work properly. They switched to another type of control, know that they don't work. Could have spent $20 at K Mart to get one but that's not why I go to a resort. Noisy neighbors were put next door with a dog on Friday. Loud music, stomping, dog barking began at 1:30 Saturday morning. I called front desk to complain. Same thing happened at 2:00 Sunday morning with a loud alarm going off. Had to walk to front desk because room phone was dead.( good thing that I didn't need to call 911 or have an emergency). Security responded but guests were still out. Barking, stomping and arguing started again at 4:00 AM. My wife gave up at 6:00 and just got up. We had to fly home that day so we were up 18 hours traveling. The manager was to have called Monday to discuss. As of Friday.. no call. Guests should be alerted before another guest is moved next door with pets. This property was no more than 35% full. There was no excuse for this


4 of 4 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 2
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
2.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
2.0
User Image

From: Grove City Ohio
Age: 55-64

May 24, 2012
Best Western Emerald Beach

Overall we were quite satisfied with this property. The beach is only a few steps from each room and is very secluded. This hotel is right across the street from the airport, but with so few flights per day that was not an issue with noise. The rooms were clean and well kept. The front desk staff was very helpful and polite. The only minor issue that we encountered is the fact that the St Thomas Water and Power utility is right next door to the hotel and during the day their production makes some noise, but it is not overbearing. The bar and restaurant are above average and very nice. The downtown area is about 5 miles away and is $7.00 per person to get there. The airport is also $7.00 per person for fare. Cabs are readily available at the front door of the hotel and the cab drivers are very friendly. I would suggest asking for an upper floor room. Many of the 1st and 2nd floor rooms may not have a good view of the water due to the lush vegetation. I would not hesitate to stay at this property again. We were not dissappointed.

Hotel pool view from 3rd floor room
7 of 9 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Dallas, TX
Age: 55-64
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

August 4, 2010
Walking to the hotel from the airport

I stayed at Emerald beach with a good friend for a long weekend. First off, it was great to walk from the airport to the hotel!! Never done that before.....the staff were extremely friendly, the room was spotless with great views of the beach, and this was THE PERFECT SPOT for a long weekend away from the craziness of NYC!


3 of 3 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Brooklyn, NY
Age: 35-44