All

BelleVue Dominican Bay Reviews

Caribbean | Dominican Republic - Santo Domingo Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 65 Reviews
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
2.9
Beaches & Pools
 
3.1
Dining Options
 
2.4
Room Comfort
 
2.2
2.6 out of 5
"I would have recommended except for reception they are no help" – MJM51
27 out of 78 (35%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
View from bridge Pool Beach Belle Vue Resort

All BelleVue Dominican Bay Customer Reviews

1-10 of 65 reviews. Sort by
February 14, 2013
You get what you pay for at the Bellevue !!!!!!!

First let me say that I had an overall great time on my trip, of 7 days to the Dominican republic. I'm not your typical whiny America, who expected a $2000 dollar vacation for $750 bucks. My first package was actually just $675/pp for my stay at the Bellevue Dominican Bay, but a better flight option increased the price. That is R/T air fare, 6 nights AI stay, and R/T transfer to the hotel, this was bargain priced. On the first night I thought all the bad reviews were going to be true. I was walking back to the hotel from Duarte st( a street party closed to traffic) when a tranfomer blew in front of the hotel. Showers of sparks , and loud crackling about twenty feet in front of me. I got to see my building go black, no more power. They got right on it and 2 hours later all was good, no more power problems for the week. Here are the pros & cons of it all, if you read other reviews believe in the details but think of what you are getting for your 50 bucks a day.The property was nice overall, the main entrance, the pools and grounds, and beach. The weather was great, even though it rained a couple of time. It cooled the temp some what which was a good thing, because I saw the devil shading herself under an umbrella, sipping on a coconut trying to beat the heat. IT WAS HOT!!!!!!! As for the fine island cuisine which was just barely there. I took into consideration the property has some 440+ room with multiple guests so that is a lot of people to feed, you are not going starve. My favorite dish that I did not try was bologna Lasagna . I'm just giving it points for creativity. Breakfast for me was mainly eggs, lunch was burgers and pasta, but at dinner I braved a few of the strange dishes. The food is never really hot , just kind of lukewarm.Take advantage of the reservation restaurants that they offer(italian&carribean), the food is a lot better and served hotter. The alcohol is bottom shelf stuff, but there is plenty of it and its flows. Just give a good tip right off the bat, and they will get to you first . I'm not gonna say much about the room , because all the other reviews are true, but who goes on vacation just to stay in the room. The only plus I had was I always travel with my own pillow, so I didn't sleep on a bag of socks. Plus drinking all day in the sun really help you to sleep anywhere. Now for my own personal pet pevees . Lots of mosquitos, and biting flies. The on slot of peddlers trying to sell you goods or services on the beach. just say "no gracias" and keep on moving. The lack of staff that understood simple English term. I do get that I am in a foreign country, so I vowed to learn more Spanish since most of my travel will be in some Spanish speaking country. I was glad the A/C in the room worked, but I woke up every morning hacking up a lung. A simple screen on the balcony door would have helped, or a cleaning of the duct work. If you go to the Bellevue, just keep your expectations low and you will have a great time. Enjoy


30 of 30 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: boston
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

November 28, 2011
Best Value

My overall experience @ BelleVue was very good. The property was clean & well kept & the employees were kind & helpful. The Beach was accessible, the activities & entertainment provided were a great addition to the all inclusive package. However, check-in was time consuming & I did have an issue with my room, which was resolved in a timely manner once reported. Also, due to the location of the resort, I would suggest women go into town before nightfall or in a group.

View from bridge Belle Vue Resort
140 of 150 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Atlanta, Georgia
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

August 27, 2015
vacation flop

as we arrived to the resort we both thought we would have a great stay being that the bellman and concierge were great, however once we were given the key to our room everything changed. immediately one of the sales guys harassed us all the way to our room about making an appointment to go see a timeshare presentation. we told him that we would speak to him in the morning since we had just arrived. once we entered our room, we noticed the two single beds although we asked for a king bed since we were on our honeymoon. we asked to be switched out of that room, the answer was no because they had a limited amount of king beds. we were upset but dealt with it. two days later we were moved to a room with a king size bed, but upon arrival and careful inspection we discover that the air conditioning wasn't operating properly as well as finding the bathroom in the condition the last occupants left it; Filthy! The bed had two top sheets instead of a fitted sheet which left us basically sleeping on a stained mattress and the room was infested with ants as a result of the windows not fitting the frames properly. the final insult was to have the power blackout, which shut off the water while I was taking a shower and having the shower head pop off as well. There's a saying that you get what you pay for , but in this case this resort and the experience wasn't worth a third of the money spent! The only bright spot was the service received by two male servers in the main dinning area, they were polite and efficient. Pretty much all of the other staff members were either pestering us to purchase something they were selling or treating us like the angry Americans( by the way my wife is Dominican and speaks the language well) when communicating a problem which made us reluctant to report anything and just bare it! the excursions were very enjoyable and were a great remedy for the scars inflicted upon us by this horrible resort. book it at your own risk!


21 of 22 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 1
Value
 
1.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
2.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
1.0
User Image

From: DC
Age: 35-44
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

March 23, 2015
Worst place ever!

Cheap Caribbean needs to drop this place. Do not offer it anymore even for free. The entire place needs a facelift. The rooms need updating. Moldy, smelly air-conditioning. Mold everywhere, tiles, bathrooms, pools. They do a decent job on the grounds. The food is monotonous. No real selection. Breakfast is ok. Lunch was do able on a couple of days. Dinner was a disaster. never enough food or utensils or glasses. Totally frustrating. The drinks are in 6" cups and just OK. The resort is not on the beach. You have to get out of resort, cross the street, walk down a path through a park, down a hill and across a walkway across a road and down decking to the beach. This beach is sectioned off for the part that belongs to the resort (it does however have a bar, a lunch room, the disco, a gift shop, showers and bathrooms and a dive shop. So, you do not have to go back up to the resort for all the above. But, lunch is the same everyday and the rest of the beach area is a public beach with a thousand locals every weekend and the public part of the beach is dirty. Cups, wrappers, bottle caps, broken glass, cigarette butts. You name it, it's there. Yuk. The ocean is nice. Sandy, clear, shallow water. Could be a very nice place...but not when you have to cross the public beach to get to the water. And, the locals are selling stuff all day long. They are a real bother. AND, sand fleas. Got bit a lot. The only thing that made this vacation tolerable was the help. The bartenders, maids, wait staff, each and every one of them are great. Happy people who work so hard to clean your rooms and do anything they can for you. Not their fault they have nothing to work with. Bathrooms were the worst. No hot water ever for 3 days. Pipes leaking all over the floors. Receptacles that did not work. Moldy tiles, crudy faucets, make-shift counters, two levels of flooring. Did change rooms after 3 days and it was a bit better. Had warm water on and off. But, this place caters to the locals. They get the better rooms. They are rude, rude, rude. They cut right in front of you, push you out of the way at meal times. Pile their plates up so that within a half-hour of meal times starting there is no more food left until they bring out more food. Just crazy. We went for 2 weeks and did get a decent price from Cheap Caribbean. But, for a few dollars more we could have had a better place. Do not go to the Boca Chica area, or the Juan Dolio area. Very run down and a little shady. Stay with Punta Cana, La Romana. Hope this review helps. We've been honest about it!


12 of 12 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 2
Value
 
2.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
1.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
1.0
User Image

From: Maine
Age: Over 65
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

April 11, 2016
Disappointed

We had a very poor experience with this resort. Our first 4 days of vacation our room was without hot water. It was not until the fourth day that maintenance came to our room to fix the hot water issue. The day we finally had hot water, our air conditioning in the room stopped working. It took 24 hours for this problem to be fixed and we had to sleep in an extremely hot room that was without AC all day in 95 degree weather. The worst part was the night I woke up and had a bug crawling on me. When I sat up, there were bugs crawling all over the sheets. They were long, flying bugs, and tiny worms. After 30 minutes of not receiving the new sheets after explaining the situation, we finally had to retrieve our own from the front desk at 3 am. It was unfortunate it to have to feel uncomfortable without hot water and AC, but finding bugs in my bed made me want to end my vacation.


17 of 18 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 1
Value
 
2.0
Service
 
1.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
1.0
User Image

From: Baltimore, MD
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

March 31, 2015
NOT GOOD

THE ROOMS WERE OK FOUR COUPLES HAD GONE WITH US EVERYBODY WAS SATISFIED THE ONE COUPLE HAD NO AIR FOR FIVE DAYS THIS WAS NOT EXCEPTABLE THE SHOWERS WERE LUKE WARM WE WERE IN BUILDING 14 VERY OUT DATED.THE WHOLE PLACE NEEDS REDONE.THE BEACH ACROSS THE STREET WAS PRETTY GOOD.WE DIDNT LIKE THE VENDORS CALLING FOR YOU TO COME OVER THEY WOULD NOT GIVE UP SO WE JUST MOVED BACK SO THEY COULDNT CALL US ANYMORE.ALSO TO MANY LOCALS COME THERE ON FRIDAYS AND SATURDAYS.OUR FRIENDS THAT DIDNT HAVE AIR SHOULD GET SOME KIND OF REFUND BECAUSE IT WAS OVER 90 DEGREES..I THINK WE ARE DONE WITH DOMINICAN REPUBLIC AFTER THREE YEARS TIME TO GO SOME WERE ELSE.OVER I WOULD NOT RECCOMMEND THIS PLACE TO ANYONE.


9 of 9 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
2.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image
Top 250 Contributor
From: florida
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

August 15, 2013
Fair trip.

Given it was extremely inexpensive, we were satisfied. I went with one friend and our room was descent. It wasn't decorated but beds were comfortable and bathroom was clean. There was a small refrigerator, which did not work.. didn't really matter with me though. Oh, I do agree with some other reviews that said the pillow felt like there are balls inside or something. But I usually don't use pillow so I was okay with that. So bring your own, if anything.. There are two pools. One has a bbq going on from like 10AM till maybe like,, 7PM-ish. the other pool is more of a smaller, quiter place where you can just sort of read and tan. Both of the pools have bars right next to them, so it was convenient. The resort itself is pretty. I was actually impressed. In order to get to the beach, there is a bridge sort of place you have to walk through.. about 5-7min walking. It's not exactly a bridge, It almost feels like you're walking across a well decorated park or a garden. They did a good job there too. There was always a security or two there. So then you get to the beach, which is .. okay. It is beautiful but not THAT impressive. Nice weather,, water.. There is also a small buffet with a bar there.. so you don't need to come back to the resort for your lunch or something. Few nights we were there, they always had some shows going on at night by the smaller pool. It was okay. They invited like dancing team and hosted games... tried to get people to dance on the stage by giving away stuff. Then there is a club.. yes a dancing club. It's located on the beach, right by the buffet. It was very very small. On the first night, we had fun because a lot of the people there were our age group (early 20s) and a lot of them were from the U.S. So they played a lot of american music. But the second night was a disaster. I don't have problem with non-american music, but it became a problem when they decided to play series of very very old non-american music at a club. I guess I can't really expect too much. Oh.. the food is not really great, but eatable. My friend and I ended up eating hamburger/hpt dog 3-4 times a day instead of going to a buffet. But they had a large selection of bread, fruits, and some desserts. Staffs were very friendly most of the times. No free wi-fi. Overall, okay place to go. Since it is very cheap. it's not like you are going to stay there for a month. A few days of this resort is totally livable. BTW, it's only like 15-20min away from the airport, which is a big plus!! Apparently, traffic law/regulation... not so.. stringent there... so.. less you travel.. the better... Have fun!!!


7 of 7 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: New york, ny
Age: 19-24
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

May 27, 2016
Best last minute trip

I honestly have to say this trip was amazing!!! I booked the trip last minute for my birthday and it was fantastic. The hotel was very pretty. Not super fancy but just right for a place that isn't so over rated like Punta Cana. The people were very helpful and even the locals outside the resort were very friendly. As for the beach, I have the say Wow!!! The beach was gorgeous. The waters were so clear you could see your feet. Had a blast.


7 of 7 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: New York,NY
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

March 24, 2013
For the frugal traveler

Bellevue Dominican Bay Resort is definitely the place to stay if you are on a tight budget or just want to be at "any" all inclusive. This is not the place to stay if you want to stay at a beautiful resort with excellent service and rooms. You wont find it here. We stayed here because we needed to be close to Santo Domingo and it served our purpose.


6 of 6 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 2
Value
 
2.0
Service
 
2.0
Beaches & Pools
 
2.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
2.0
User Image

From: New Jersey
Age: 35-44
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

June 3, 2016
DANGEROUS RESORT

This was the most stressful trip I’ve ever taken. I came here with low expectations and just wanted a beautiful beach to drink on. The beach was pretty, but I felt too unsafe to go on it more than once. My sister and I were approached several times in the water with locals yelling vulgar, awful things to us and following us around. Locals are not allowed to cross over into the resort section (no ocean, just sand), so instead they would just stand behind the line and stare at us and continue to harass us. We were afraid to go anywhere and ended up just going to the pool at the resort. The resort was dangerous too – the hotel employees would say inappropriate things, and even one of the security guards. Someone even asked us if we spoke Spanish because one of the guards was saying terrible things about us. We did not feel safe at all! One night, someone continually tried to get into our room. We were so scared that we called the front desk and asked for help, AND THEY HUNG UP ON US. When we called back, THEY HUNG UP AGAIN. I have never felt so scared on a trip, and I’ve been to many different places in the Caribbean and felt completely secure. Some men from the pool called us at our room while we were sleeping … I am very concerned that the front desk or someone from the hotel gave them our room number. That is NOT okay and NOT safe, and I did NOT give anyone permission to give out our room number. I didn’t expect much from the resort, but I was appalled at how terrible the customer service was. Check in took over an hour – the front desk was incredibly rude. When we would speak to them, they would completely ignore us and walk away. The room was fine, the food was pretty good, but we had SO MUCH trouble trying to book a reservation with the specialty restaurants. The guest services lady told us we couldn’t book one the first night and could only book from 9 am to noon. So the next morning, we showed up at 9:13 am to book, and she said it was already full (even though her worksheet was practically empty), and we could not book for any other night. Then someone behind the front desk pointed to all the empty slots on her worksheet, so she offered us each a dinner slot, but only if we each went to dinner alone at separate times, which was outrageous. Finally after the front desk continued to point to the giant open spaces for reservations, she allowed us to take a reservation that night for 8:30, which had no other reservations yet, even though she told us originally everything was full. We felt like the lady from Guest Services did not like us and did not want to help us. Not to mention our excursions representative was supposed to meet us at 10 am in the lobby. We waited for an hour and he never showed and wouldn’t answer our calls. We weren’t able to book any excursions. Luckily, the watersports center with the hotel was probably the ONLY good thing about the resort. Steven and Eddie were accommodating and FRIENDLY which was such a nice change. The animations team was nice as well. Overall, I would NEVER go back or recommend it, even if you are just looking for a cheap getaway. If feeling safe and being treated with respect are important to you, then I STRONGLY urge you to book somewhere else. I have never felt so degraded and unsafe on a vacation.


6 of 6 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 1
Value
 
1.0
Service
 
1.0
Beaches & Pools
 
1.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Virginia
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year