All

Belizean Shores Resort Reviews

Central America | Belize Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 28 Reviews
Value
 
4.5
Service
 
4.4
Beaches & Pools
 
4.2
Dining Options
 
3.2
Room Comfort
 
4.5
4.4 out of 5
"We had a great time at this resort. Loved the pool and the beach was great, the condos were clean and the staff was super friendly - would definitely recommend!!" – DAH006
29 out of 31 (94%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Building 8 Belizean Shores Coco Beach Dock Dawn Building 8 A The Blue Hole bar

All Belizean Shores Resort Customer Reviews

1-10 of 28 reviews. Sort by
September 26, 2011
WOW that was great, can we do it again?????

It was not a Park Ride, what it was, was one fantastic trip. It was a toss up between Bermuda or Belize.. We picked Belizan Shores Resort because a friend had been there two years before. His info was spot on, so we brought him back a nice tee shirt. Next March His family and ours will be back. We loved the place. The staff was fantastic, The Staff from Cheap Caribiean was fantastic. Everything worked the way it was supposed to. The flight was on time, the water taxi was on time and I know I have used the word before but it was Fantastic. The resturant was great but after going around the area, we ate at all the places not just the resort resturant. The room had a Kitchen and dining room. If you go, Take the Cat Day excursion. You can swim, fish, snorkle, spearfish. Then at noon, they go ashore and cook all the fish that was caught. Plus fruit and drinks. WOW it was great. Also if you are going to stay for any length of time, Spend the 20 USD per person and get unlimited Water Taxi back and forth from the resort to down town. You gotta feed the Tarpin. Its a blast to have a 4 foot fish come up from the water and snatch a sardine out of your hand... WOW WOW. If you go, bring a wind breaker for some of the weather changes but for the most part we had 6 out of 7 sunny days. Even the rain was nice. I could go on and on, but all I can say is, we had a great trip. everyone that we met were having a blast. Rent a Cart for the first day so that you can see what is there. Unless you are in great shape then ride that bike... But its easier to ballance a beer in a Golf cart than on a bike.. Stay safe (I say that because I work in Kabul Afghanistan with the Army)


33 of 33 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image
Top 1000 Contributor
From: Iowa
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

February 2, 2017
Had a wonderful family vacation!

My husband, 8yr old, 16yr old and myself had a great time. The resort is clean, pool is amazing, staff friendly and helpful. We rented a golf cart and went all over the island! We took the water ferry over insted of another plane. It was great and alot less money. The tours offered on the resort (tuff n nuff) were perfect. I would definitely go again & again! The full kitchen with everything you need in it was perfect. We brought left overs home from dinner ate them for lunch the next day. Also bought breakfast burritos & tamales from the guys on bikes that come on the beach & ride by the balcony starting from 630am till 8am approximately. The fish guy comes around lunch time with fresh fish & shrimp to cook also. The market closest the the resort is limited & pricey so we went to the one closest to the bridge. Watch the sand flies, only around at dusk & dawn though.


12 of 12 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: New jersey
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

July 18, 2016
A little piece of heaven

We just spent a week in heaven thanks to Belizean Shores Resort. The staff was incredible from guest services to the groundskeepers. Everyone at the resort was friendly and went above and beyond to make our stay in Ambergris Caye a week to remember. Our room was exactly what we expected - a quaint island bungalow with a view of the ocean and pool area. We were there at the beginning of the island's slow season and it truly worked in our favor. We were treated like we were the only ones at the resort even though it was still half full. My husband and I are active and enjoy adventurous excursions while on vacation. The staff at the end of the pier (Tuffennuff) had numerous options for us. Whether we were swimming with the sharks, climbing the Mayan ruins, cave tubing or just hanging out at the pool bar with Carlos, memories were made that we will remember for a lifetime. We can't thank you enough Belizean Shores.


11 of 11 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: California
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

January 27, 2012
Small beach, well out of town, good people

It was just what we like, small and out of the way. Boat taxi to town is fairly handy. Some people rent golf carts to commute--no cars on the road, but there is also a toll bridge in the way. The beach at the hotel is fairly narrow, but you can walk south to more sand. Restaurant was small with kind of limited menu, but the service and food was fine. There are at least 3 other restaurants within walking distance and many more via water taxi. Hotel staff very helpful and friendly. Dive shop was excellent and I got to see all the top local spots. They don't go to the "Blue Hole" (a 4 hour boat ride), they were very helpful hooking me up with a tour from town.


14 of 15 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: TN
Age: Over 65
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

March 14, 2016
1st time in Belize

We are a husband and wife in our mid 30's traveling with our 11 year old son and 8 year old daughter. Do's Try the on resort restaurant at least once. The chef is awesome. He sends one of his creations for free for everyone sitting around the pool to try once each day. Then he walks around the pool later getting everyone's opinions. This is a pretty cool personal touch. The coco beach resort next door is a shares property. This is the place to get a good coffee if you like lattes and stuff like that. The blue hole pool is nice. It is very well maintained. It has a swim up bar. Rent a golf cart. Seemed a little pricey at $275 per week but it would be comparable to renting a car somewhere else. Really need one to get around if you like to go places. We tend to explore so it was a definite must for us. Plus it's really cool to see them everywhere. Take your golf cart to secret beach for a day. Ask the locals. They will direct you. It's a long ride off of the beaten path but really a cool spot. Make sure your golf cart has enough gas bore you head that way. Don't I don't really have anything for don't. there aren't a lot of children around this resort. There are plenty of activities for children and everyone was really nice. Just seems like it's a little bit older crowd around for the most part. Usually our kids make friends by the pool and beach every day when we are on vacation. Tyis time they mostly hung out with us. That worked out well for us as parents. Overall great trip. Great weather. Great times. You have 2 choices of how to get to the resort from Belize international airport. Either take a small 14 passenger plane...roughly $160 round trip or take a boat. We took the plane.


9 of 9 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Omaha, ne
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

August 14, 2016

Belizean Shores Resort is beautiful resort on San Pedro. The resort is closer to town than others, which is nice for dining options and stocking up on groceries. Pros: Great pool/hot tub, very close to the beach, nice greeting upon arrival, decorated our room for our anniversary, golf cart rentals, bike rentals, free WiFi, large, comfortable rooms, lots of activities like a tennis court, basketball court, ping pong, games, etc. Cons: limited dining options, didn't feel taken care of during storm Unfortunately, our stay included a hurricane. The hotel accommodated us with water, a flashlight, and some candles, however the restaurant remained closed and we lost power for 2 days (including a refrigerator full of purchased groceries). While this is not the fault of the resort, we felt that the response of taking care of the guests was not exemplary. Jose in the front office was wonderful!


7 of 7 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
2.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: California
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

November 15, 2010
Relaxing and Fun Stay

My wife and I visited Ambergris Caye in March 2010. We stayed at the Belizean Shores Resort and had a wonderful time. The reort is a boat ride away from the main town San Pedro, but for us it was perfect. We were looking for a quit place to relax and enjoy each other's company and Belizean Shores Resort was perfect. I also went there to enojoy the scuba diving and found a great place just down the beach from the resort, White Sands Dive Shop, great people and very knowledgeable. The scuba diving was excellant. We plan on going back soon and may even buy a place on the island we enjoyed it that much. I would recommend Ambergris Caye, Belizean Shores Resort, and White Sands Dive Shop to anyone looking for a great place to relax, enjoy the sun and water, the local food and people you won't be disappointed

Relaxing and Fun Stay Relaxing and Fun Stay
6 of 6 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Baton Rouge, LA
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

March 27, 2016
Had a great time!

We firmly believe that every situation is what you make of it! The excellent customer service made it easy to overlook some of the physical short comings of this property. Yes, the decor is dated, bathrooms & kitchen areas need renovations, & hot water for showers was imited. BUT the employees at this resort are top notch! They knew us by name upon arrival & were constantly striving to make our stay more enjoyable. We were always greeted with a smile from friendly resort employees.These are some of the hardest working people we have ever encountered on vacation especially the front desk, housekeeping & grounds maintainence. They provided an extra foam matress pad & fan to help my son sleep better, arranged for golf cart rental, & even found & returned a lost cell phone! The pool area & grounds were well kept. We enjoyed hanging out at the pool bar and meeting both owners & other vacationers! Our unit D10 had a beautiful view of both the pool & Caribbean Sea. The location of this resort was perfect for us too! It was away from the busy downtown area, but just a short golf cart ride from restaurants, nightife, etc... If we return Ambergris Caye, we would not hesitate to stay there again!


6 of 6 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Cypress, Texas
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

July 12, 2016
Ok purchase

The resort is dated - upgrades in need. The people were nice and helpful but I thought overall it was pricey. Unfortunately even though hotel is on the beach you can not swim in it unless you take a kayak out farther into the ocean. I prefer the beach over the pool so this was very disappointing. You can take a golf cart to Secret beach it's only a few miles away however the ride is bumpy! Secret beach is worth going to as it is free from heavy seaweed and is deep enough to swim in unlike beach at hotel. Food is expensive and just ok, many times they were out of menu items. You can go into town of San Pedro for food but again I wasn't blown away by their cuisine. Excursions are expensive just need to be prepared. I would recommend cave tubing. Had a lovely vacation and I would certainly return to Belize but I'd probably stay elsewhere. When I go on vacation I want access to the beach!


6 of 6 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
1.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Raleigh , NC
Age: 35-44

July 31, 2010
Fine place to stay but not a resort

We were introduced to the concept of a "Condotel" on this trip. Definitely upgrade to the upstairs rooms, they are larger, more secure and cooler at night. Remember Belize is a developing nation so things we take for granted like power, water, phone and internet service, etc may come and go. Drawing water from the central well seemed a hinkey to me but look for "The Store" at nearby Captain Morgan's for bottled water & basic groceries. This property is distant from San Pedro downtown so getting with the water taxi program is a must. Learn that schedule or you will be sad wasting hours on the dock waiting for the next ferry. The pool and "blue hole" swim up bar is good fun, nice size. The sports bar and room service were not a great value but all of the rooms have kitchenettes so bring some of the wonderful fruit back from town. There are a few better restaurants in range if you don't want to deal with the taxi you can walk to Capt. Morgan's or bike down to the Palapa Bar or Lazy Croc BBQ, ( but check their hours first!) All of the excursions planned through Tuff-e-nuff were professionally run and worth the money. In Belize the beaches are not too great but this property has an artificial reef for kids, a deeper ocean swimming area and access to the reef via free sea kayak rental.

The Blue Hole bar Dawn
13 of 16 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
2.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Schenectady, NY
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year