All

Be Live Grand Marien Reviews

Caribbean | Dominican Republic - Puerto Plata Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 63 Reviews
Value
 
3.6
Service
 
3.6
Beaches & Pools
 
3.8
Dining Options
 
3.4
Room Comfort
 
3.6
3.6 out of 5
"A good resort but rooms and furnishing including beddings were too old and worn for a 4 star Resort. Food, drinks and entertainment were great. The rooms will benefit from mordenising/refurbishing." – George
54 out of 81 (67%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
AT RODIZIO RESTAURANT WITH MY LOVE Sun coming up over the east end of the island (Hispanola). From the beach right outside my room at the Grand Oasis Marien. Samantha watching the Kite Surfers Party Time Playing in the pool We loved Grand Oasis Marien

All Be Live Grand Marien Customer Reviews

1-10 of 63 reviews. Sort by
August 30, 2011
HAVE KIDS? GET AWAY AT BE LIVE GRAND MARIEN

Be Live Grand Marien is a nice place if you plan on traveling with kids. We will not be going back. It is not a place for a couple celebrating their 28th anniversary – and yes we have two grown boys finishing up grad school. The beaches are awesome but there is only ONE hotel pool for all to use. We made the big mistake of booking our stay Fri-Tues. We did not use the pool at all because way too many children with little to no supervision running, screaming (being children) at all times of day and night through the halls of the room. So, who is to say that they didn’t conduct their kids’ business in the pool? Yuk. My wife and I opted to use the beautiful beach instead – only one day. Why? Too many peddlers on the beach, waking you up for a tour here, a tour there, or offers to go shopping here and there, etc. Can’t really rest and relax because someone always approaches you about something and don’t care to leave you alone! They are terrible pests, more than the mosquitoes. Problem: the hotel staff doesn’t say anything to them! The restaurants’ reservations is a chore and half and it really is not all that worth it. The Main Buffet is just fine without the hassle of a restaurant reservation. Then, if you go on one of the tours like the one we took to Paradise Island, it leaves early, returns late but you cannot make a late reservation because they want you to dine at 6:30-7:00pm! Concierge is not friendly at all! They act like you – the guest – are inconveniencing them. They offer reservations at all restaurants but are quick to tell you that the reservations are full. When we walked up to the restaurants, they were never packed, never full! Huh? The hassle is really not worth it!


17 of 17 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
2.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: San Salvador, El Salvador
Age: 45-54
Travel: 7+ trips/year

July 31, 2010 Featured Review
Far exceded our expectations

a spontaneous decision to try a Cheap Caribbean vacation. For the price, how bad could it be? It turned out to be one of ur best vacations ever. The hotel experience was wonderful., excellent service and the restaurants were very good. all top shelf liquor and varied choices of food. We were so surprise with the quality. But it was the Dominican Republic that captured our hearts. The people were so friendly.Not a single bad moment. We explored the island by going ziplining, river rafting near Santiago and horse back riding in the mountains.For a real experience jump on the local jitney and ride with the merry islanders to Sosua, a very quaint village by the sea. Walks along the endless beach, dancing at night under the stars, meeting so many interesting people, the days flew so quickly. We were sad to leave but we left with so many unforgettable memories. We would use Cheap Caribbean again and again and are already planning our next trip.


22 of 24 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: naples,florida
Age: 55-64

August 8, 2010
Grand Oasis Marien

The staff at the resort is extremely friendly and accommodating. Service was terrific. The Animacion team was super engaging, involved young and old and worked very hard day to keep the momentum going!!!! This group was FANTASTIC! The beach was lovely but the pool area could use some more shading. Dining was good for the most part but the menus in the restaurants were very limited. The buffet was okay and convenient but after 3 days the food seemed the same even though each night was a different theme. The air conditioning in the room was very moist lending a mildewy smell to clothes.


8 of 8 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Miami, FL
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

July 19, 2012
The pool makes the Resort

Just came back on 7/13. The pool is the best feature of the hotel along with the view of the mountains. I would have given the pool 4 palms and the beach 1, but pool and beach are in the same category. Building 2 is the worst location to stay. It's old and smells old. They wanted $40/night to upgrade. The food was ok, eat at the buffet or one of the reservation required restaurants. The restaurant staff is very nice. Do try to avoid Snack bar by the beach. The beach is dirty from all the seaweed and other items brought to shore by the constant waves, very different from the calm waters of Punta Cana. The entertainment crew are very friendly and seem to love their jobs. Our Olympus tours guides were very nice also, especially Domincan "Barney".


8 of 8 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
1.0
User Image

From: Atlanta, GA
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

June 13, 2012
Good Hotel

Everything about the hotel was great, from food, to drinks, pool, beach and service. The only thing i would say is that the rooms need upgrading but the entertainment team made the stay a great one. It is an amazing hotel for those ages 16-30, lots of fun.


7 of 7 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: NYC
Age: 19-24
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

October 31, 2011
le marien

as a travel professional and person who do visit resorts a lot i am very deeply disappointed with that resort first and most service terrible all staff just wait for a tips do not care for guest needs few exeptions /hostess in buffet restaurant or spa personal/ cooks in all buffet restaurant comes with an attitude looking down on a turist do not understand what service is all about looking for money where they do not deserve what a bad experience bartenders non friendly front desk plastic non friendly we specify honeymooners on the order room was facing a palm tree and no gift basket not even welcome will not go back to this resort ever !!!!!!!!!


21 of 26 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 1
Value
 
2.0
Service
 
1.0
Beaches & Pools
 
2.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: new york ny
Age: 35-44
Travel: 7+ trips/year

October 29, 2011
best trip in quite a while

what a trip - from the word go. We didn't use the pool ( can do that at home ), but the beach was super, The maintenance of it tops, and the all in all sanitary top notch. If anyone would leave hungry - they must have had a pers. problem as food and drinks were plentyful and so tasty you didn't have to add anything! The staff was friendly & helpful ( I walk on a cane ) and even arranged for a wheelchair at the airport. Room comfort should actually be a 4 1/2 palms, as the doors need oiling & the light switches ( all 2 way ) were quite confusing. Same for service, as nobody told us we had to exchange our 2 blue cards for beach towels at the pool, this is something we found out from repeat guests we met at the beach. But that - by no means - took away from the fact that we were tempted to extend our stay - only that would have been at full $ - putting into perspective just what a good deal this was. All in all I can only say that I forwarded the website address to ALL my friends and hope they use it - I KNOW MY HUSBAND & I WILL DO THIS AGAIN This trip was worth every penny PS one other thing that really made it fun: being grey haired with full beard, my husband got right away the name "papa noel" aka Santa, & I was mama Santa - not bad for a VERY family friendly resort hohoho - go try it - you won't regret it!


5 of 5 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Canada
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

July 27, 2012
Wonderful Vacation

The resort was well run. The employees was professional, willing to serve, and always with a smile. The grounds are well cared for. The resort is well managed. It is a beautiful place, with delicious cuisine, great atmosphere, and wonderful people. Don't forget to try their "Banana Mama" drink and have your "Mamajuana" every night. I highly recommend the drinks and the resort.


5 of 5 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Miami, FL
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

August 7, 2010
Great Resort, Excellent Value!!

I stayed at the Grand Oasis Marien this past January, and the resort is WONDERFUL. It is kept very clean, the staff is friendly and ready to help with anything you need, the food choices are good (make reservations early for dinner at one of the several a la carte restaurants, though), the beach is nice and had plenty of chairs, and the activities staff ALWAYS has something going on for you to get involved with (I won the beer drinking and water balloon toss on day 1!). The rooms were nice, although I didn't spend much time in them. I did the Yakiza Zipline excursion and the City Tour, and would recommend both -- one that I didn't do and wanted to was the mud-buggy one (not sure what it's called exactly); I saw groups coming back every day COVERED in mud with huge smiles on their faces. I recommend that one and I didn't even do it! All in all, the resort was everything I hoped it would be, and then some. I have no issue giving them a "5 palm tree" rating across the board. I'm a single bachelor, but I believe the resort is equally as hospitable and comfortable for a family trip as well. I booked everything through CheapCarribean, and they were an absolute pleasure to work with - everything was incredibly easy and went off without a single hiccup. -110% Satisfied Customer "Fresh"

Sun coming up over the east end of the island (Hispanola). From the beach right outside my room at the Grand Oasis Marien.
4 of 4 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: St Petersburg, FL
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

August 24, 2016

Staffing is too little. Not enough towels for beach. Many people on the property hounding you to buy excursions and are literally rude. If you are going for a nice beach and not an upscale experience, then this is the place for you. I would not go back to Be Live...So beware.


4 of 4 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 2
Value
 
2.0
Service
 
1.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
1.0
User Image

From: Pennsylvania
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year