All

Be Live Collection Punta Cana Reviews

Caribbean | Dominican Republic - Punta Cana Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 288 Reviews
Value
 
3.3
Service
 
3.1
Beaches & Pools
 
3.4
Dining Options
 
2.9
Room Comfort
 
3.0
3.1 out of 5
"I know everything is not perfect but this came darn close. We had a great time and would love to go again this year." – tropsunset
157 out of 330 (48%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Seafood and Lobster Restaurant Beautiful Beach View from our room The beach about 2 minutes to the left of the hotel. Sun Setting on my Last Day! Foam party The view from our third floor room (deluxe room). Saona Island at The Blue Lagoon Just 1 of 7 pools! Foam Bubble Pool Parties warm clean water foam pool party sisters celebrate life! The Beach Resort

All Be Live Collection Punta Cana Customer Reviews

1-10 of 288 reviews. Sort by
June 21, 2015
Great Value = Great Vacation

We chose Be Live for our honeymoon. The value of this vacation was spot on and we were more than satisfied with our vacation experience. Overall, we would recommend this resort and plan to return to the Dominican Republic for another vacation in the future! Check-in Process - We arrived to the resort shortly after 4:00pm and were in our room within 30 minutes of arriving. The check-in staff was friendly and efficient. There was a language barrier with a few of the front desk staff, but they did their best to answer our questions. Room- We stayed in building 2. We did not purchase any of the upgrades offered by the hotel and did not regret it. Our room was nice and clean. We had working AC throughout the entire duration of our stay and an in-room safe we purchased for $3.00 per day to keep our valuables in. The room was large and we had a great view of the beach! Resort - The resort grounds were beautiful. A few areas of the resort were undergoing renovations, but it did not affect our vacation in any way. The various pools and beach are beautiful with plenty of places to sit in the sun or shade depending on your preference. There is a large fitness center available to everyone who stays at the resorts as well as duty free and local vendor shops. The resort also has a casino and large outdoor theater where guests can attend nightly shows. Food & Alcohol - The food was great and plentiful. The buffet had a wide variety of tasty options. The buffet is open for breakfast, lunch, and dinner. No reservation is necessary. We were able to make reservations for 4 nights of our stay. We really enjoyed our meals at The Grill and Mexican restaurants. Very delicious! The alcohol selection was great. Be sure to try Dominican Rum and Mama Juana, a local liquor. Entertainment & Service- Very friendly, welcoming, and outgoing staff. Our waiters, waitresses, and bartenders were attentive and courteous. We were served in a timely manner! All staff members were energetic and ready to have a great time. Overall we were impressed by the staff. By far the entertainment staff members were absolutely fabulous. They were constantly full of energy and their positive outlook on life was contagious. The resort offered entertainment for everyone and anyone. Competitions, parties and events were held daily at the resort. Live music and shows were held in the evening. Definitely 5 star entertainment! Recommendations: Be sure to purchase the airport shuttle transportation from cheapcarribean Bring plenty of sunscreen Vendors love to barter Be sure to drink the coffee, Cafe Santo Dominigo is delicious There are vendors on the beach, but they left us alone when we told them we were not interested. Be sure to make your dinner reservations ASAP. We made reservations for every night of our stay the morning after we arrived. This will ensure your reservation as the restaurants fill up quickly, but they are definitely worth it.

Beautiful Beach Resort
23 of 23 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Birmingham, Al
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

June 30, 2011
Not a 5 star.

I would say this was a 3 star by normal standards. Positives- Pool, Beach and grounds. Lovely!! The Japanese and Mexican Rest were good. The dinner on the beach and theme dinners were good. Negatives- Staff was rude and not very nice. They seemed to almost ignore us and payed much more attention to the locals. More of a local resort. Not many Americans there in general. Rooms were dirty. Housekeeping was not the best. They didn't come until 4-5pm each day and never left towels. We had to keep asking them. and had them redo the room once because there was hair all over the floor after they mopped. and it was blonde hair. I am a brunette. Most of the places to eat were closed. By the 3rd day only the buffet had been open. It had the same items every day and some of the bread and cereal was old and stale. The all inclusive option advertises that you have 4 places to pick from and you do, but we stayed a week and not one time were all 4 open at once. Usually it was the buffet and a place that had an extra charge. The time-share people are aggressive and everyone there begs for money. You will have to be very very firm. You have to watch that the staff actually puts alcohol in your drinks. I had to watch them after figuring out they were giving me a pina colada with no alchohol in it. They did the same thing at the mexican rest. Considering the money paid, we expected more and would not return. All in all, we made the best of it but not a 5 star by any means.


43 of 45 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 2
Value
 
1.0
Service
 
1.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
2.0
User Image

From: nc
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

April 20, 2015
Don't waste your money

HORRIBLE!! The only saving grace to this vacation was the weather was beautiful. This resort is horrible. It was a nightmare. Our rooms were the worst. Our first room was on the first floor and our patio area looked out onto the public alley. At night there were locals sticking their heads in the openings of the gate yelling at us. Also outside our room was the cleaning and maintenance staff area. Every morning we were woken up to glass bottles breaking and kids screaming. Day 1... clogged sink and broken phone. Day 2...lost power, a/c and still had a broken phone. Day 3... lost power again for over 2 hours. Had to demand a new room. Which thankfully they moved us within an hour or so. New room...tv was broken and there were no trash baskets. nothing relaxing at all. We also made our reservations with the vip upgrade. Yet we weren't put on the VIP side of the resort. We were put on the Adult side. Which didn't make a difference because there were still kids on our side. There was nothing VIP about our trip. We were told we had priority when it came to reservations. Yet they tell you where to eat. We asked for 8pm reservations for the entire time. Day 1...6pm at Japanese. I explained we asked for 8pm and no one in our group liked Japanese and we requested the Italian restaurant. We were told nothing we can do about it. I thought we would at least be able to choose where we wanted to dine but we were told they make the reservations and that's that. The food was terrible everywhere. Thank God for the snack bar at the beach. That was at least edible. Overall the staff was extremely rude and not helpful at all. The only staff that was accommodating and helpful was the staff at the Adult pool and beach bar, Carmelo and Irwin. The stores they have on the property do not sell any type of snacks. We asked multiple times where the disco was and in the 6 days we were there, we never found it. The adult beach borders the public entrance. So trying to relax on the beach was tough when you had the women braiding hair yelling the entire time. The seaweed on the beach was everywhere. It seemed like they raked it into big piles but didn't remove it. I would NEVER go back to this resort. It was such a waste of money and the worst vacation I've ever experienced. You get what you pay for...if you want to travel to DR do yourself a favor and spend the extra money and stay at a 5 star resort. Don't take a chance with this resort.


21 of 21 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 1
Value
 
2.0
Service
 
1.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
1.0
User Image
Top 500 Contributor
From: Boston, MA
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

June 29, 2012
Good vacation for the money

We had a good time at Be Live. We went the first week in June, 2012 and it was hot. 100% humidity every day. The beach and pools were beautiful. The staff is very friendly and hard working. We did have a bit of a language problem at times. We had 2 double superior rooms which are just like you see in the pictures. The rooms were very clean and comfortable. We went on several excursions which were a lot of fun and well worth the money. We booked the excursions with Olympus and were very satisfied. We went to all the shows at the resort which were fantastic. We did not care too much for the food at the buffet, but there is plenty to choose from. The ala carte restaurants were good. We especially enjoyed the Japanese restaurant. The liquor is definitely watered down but the bartenders were great and took care of us when we asked for stronger drinks. All in all it was a good vacation. I would go back but I would like to try a different resort next time.


15 of 15 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: New Jersey
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

March 15, 2011
RUN...

This was my first all inclusive resort experience. Nomally we book the trip on our own and have a great time. We travel to the caribbean twice a year for the last 10 years. The resort was breath taking, the resort was beautiful. However we found according to your band color determines what kind of of services you are entiled to. The main dining hall was nicknamed "THE MESS HALL". I asked for a Mimosa and all I got was a clueless look and a shoulder shrug. 98% of staff spoke little to no english. My spouse speaks limited spanish and with out that I don't how we would have survived. We were shown all the resturants on the resort but for some reason we could not get a reservation, they were all booked. Our friends joined us a day after our arrival and they booked their trip with another company, and paid about the same and they were booked to the other side of the resort. They were given a grey wrist band. So after they were checked in we decided to go to a resturant closer to their room and they were allowed in and we were not because of the band color.I could not get a straight answer as to why. It was a constant battle to get an explanation. I could not get a White wine but my friend could. I couldn't get a top shelf drink, but they could. They could even get reservations at the fancier resturants that were booked up.. I will never go back there!! I could not even get Cash(American Dollars) but they took it and and gave me Pesos. It felt like all the employees wanted was my American dollars. In one single morning 6 sales persons approached me. Trying to relax on the beach constant sales people coming up to you. All employees of the resort. The conceirge... NO HELP. The casino was a joke. For 7% intrest they will give you American Cash. The only good part of that trip was the Spa message and the golfing. I felt like if someone would have explained to us the different color bands gives you different amenities then I would not have been on this major mystery of decodeing the band color. I will Never return to Punta Cana because I don't like playing this game of running from sales people all day and trying to figure out what can I have and how to not get hustled for my American dollar. Think twice.


23 of 25 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 2
Value
 
1.0
Service
 
1.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
2.0
User Image

From: Dallas, TX
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

March 17, 2016
Great Value!

I read A LOT of reviews and decided to book Be Live anyway. This is a budget beach resort, and as long as you go in with realistic expectations, based on the stars and the amount that you paid, you will not be disappointed. I did upgrade my room one level (from standard to deluxe) so my review is based on that room--and I highly recommend the upgrade, which was very affordable. The room was comfortable, exactly as in the pictures. The food was average. Two or three of the restaurants were closed, but the 4 others that we ate at were decent. I always found my food to be a little dry, but the selection and presentation were always very nice. The main buffet is very large. Even the picky eater in our group was able to eat well at the buffet. None of us got sick and it was never even a concern! The drinks were great! They only had one kind of beer to offer (Presidente), but it was good. I want to briefly address the other reviews that I do not think were fair: Remember that coconut milk is a natural laxative. A lot of the drinks have coconut milk! I do not think you will get sick from the food, but the drinks might get you if you do not limit yourself to 5 drinks with coconut milk a day. None of us had any problems. If you do not want your room to flood, make sure you remove the silver cover/cap over the drain in the shower and the sink. This is a tropical climate, so it is humid! The cleaning lady always had our AC on high, so the room was comfortable and never smelled damp. There are many countries that do not allow you to flush toilet paper. It is not a big deal! The beach is fine. There is some seaweed, but it is near the shore and does not prevent you from being able to swim. Overall, I think Be Live is an excellent value. The staff were attentive with lots of activities throughout the day, the shows at night were entertaining, and the food was average. I would definitely go back again! The only thing I would change is to not fly on Frontier. Not because there were any problems, the flight and plane were great, but after all the additional fees, I could have flown my preferred airline for less. My tip is to bring your own insulated mug and have the bartender put your drinks in that cup. Drinks get warm fast in the sun!

The beach about 2 minutes to the left of the hotel. The view from our third floor room (deluxe room).
10 of 10 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Chicago
Age: 35-44
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

September 16, 2011
DO NOT GO THERE. EVER!

I came to this place because the one in Puerto Plays was amazing. But this place was nowhere near that. Extremely horrible service from check in till check out. Rooms stinks. Had to wash everything twice when I got back just to get the smell out of it. Mold, mildew and sewer smell will make you cry. Welcome home my behind. THIS PLACE IS THE WORST PLACE YOU CAN VISIT IN PUNTA CANA. They take pictures of other hotels and use it as theirs. Only a few restaurants are included. 3 to be exact. A buffet and 2 dinner ones. Get used to eating the same bs stuff every day if you go. Do yourself a favor and DO NOT GO THERE. They only have 2 pools and they are barely 3 feet deep. The beach was horrible. So much seaweed on the shore they needed bulldozers, pick up truxks and a 30 man team from morning to evening to clean it up. I'm not one to listen to reviews but trust me, I wish I had listened to the reviews before.going. They should have a sign that reads "abandon all hope those who enter here" at the entrance. Anyway, goodluck if you go. I will never again. I wish I could get my work vacation days back. DO NOT GO THERE. YOU WILL BE DISAPPOINTED.


35 of 42 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 1
Value
 
1.0
Service
 
1.0
Beaches & Pools
 
1.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
1.0
User Image

From: NEW YORK. NY
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

September 28, 2015
Ehhh....

Room was in poor condition, 4" mattress, missing lamp shades, multiple appliances didn't work, very poor craftsmanship. Signs everywhere not to flush toilet paper, including rooms??? I know this is common in the carribean but this is the first resort ive seen it at. Everyone is trying to sell you something and they harass you constantly. Some staff is great but many are completely disengaged. The pros: great beech, great entertainment. Still a good vacation but I would not come back here, nicer resorts would have been worth the money.


8 of 8 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
2.0
Beaches & Pools
 
2.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
1.0
User Image

From: Michigan
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

December 7, 2015
We really enjoyed our stay

Stayed 5 nights in mid November. We wanted a quiet getaway in the sun and found this resort to be fine. It is not a top of the line place, but it was what we were looking for. BUT - make sure you upgrade to VIP status, it made our stay very enjoyable. With the upgrade came a private beach (about 40-60 people frequenting) with beach bar, a private indoor bar with outside covered patio and Wi-Fi, a private pool, an extra sit down restaurant, and a suite instead of the regular room. Also had better booze at the indoor bar than anywhere else. The private areas were much more quiet than the other areas. I also noticed that we received bottled beer at the VIP bars, draught beer in the non VIP areas. Staff was great - especially Claudio and Vanessa. We tipped everyone a few $$ here and there and found everyone to be very helpful. The ocean is pretty disgusting with seaweed everywhere. They cleaned it up daily so it wasn't bad on the beach, but we never swan in the ocean. Plenty of pools to enjoy though. I recommend this resort, but I can't stress enough that the upgrade to VIP status is well worth the cost if you want to have a quiet and pampered getaway.


8 of 8 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Northeast Ohio, snow belt USA
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

August 10, 2012
WIll go back to the DR but never to this hotel

The shuttle from the airport to the hotel was awesome! The driver from Olympus was friendly and talkative which was nice, he was giving us information where we were staying. Upon arrival to the hotel...ugh! Samuel the front desk worker was ignorant and rude. He checked me and my husband in a 2 Queen bed room when I clearly stated 1 King bed. He told me it would be a fee to switch rooms. I said "absolutely not" He did switch rooms for us free of charge but gave us some dungeon that was falling apart. The fan didnt work, the air cond. was brokern, the toilet leaked, and the shower was moldy. I cried as my husband called the front desk and asked for a manager. I wasn't going to pay that much money for a vacation and get disrespected. After about 20 minutes we were moved to a different building - #3 and the room was much better (liveable at least). The pool was beautiful and clean for the most part. There were a lot of things floating that i wasn't sure what...lol The bartender Pedro that worked the entire week we were there was FANTASTIC!!! he deserved every tip he received. Beware of the restaurants. There was one place outside the pool that was listed as the "restaurant" IF you were having mexican it was decorated with sombraros and if it was italian night they just changed the tableclothes. The mexican restaurant food was very good but Italian food was GOD AWEFUL!!! I ordered a hawaiin pizza and it came with pilmento loaf on it. My friend ordered pasta and it was hard that the meat sauce smelled like something other than beef. I HIGHLY RECOMMEND EATING AT THE BUFFET - VERY GOOD FOOD!!! When booking I thought this resort was on Bavaro beach which is a clean beautiful beach with blue water and it wasnt. This beach was full of seaweed and stunk. Now to the Casino - it is to long to explain so I will make it short and sweet....DONT GO!!! These people are crooks and change the rules in the middle of the game. If you are from the United States, they play everything different there. There is a game called Super Rouletta - I advise not to even look at it...you are not going to win and they will just keep taking your $$$. Overall i give this hotel a 3 out of 5. It was relaxing but not what I expected at all. :( Was very disappointed.


16 of 18 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
2.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
2.0
User Image

From: Chciago, IL
Age: 25-34