All

Be Live Collection Canoa Reviews

Caribbean | Dominican Republic - La Romana Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 95 Reviews
Value
 
3.9
Service
 
3.5
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.2
Room Comfort
 
3.1
3.5 out of 5
"Great resort! Distance from airport was the only downfall. Would highly recommend." – SunshineHern
75 out of 114 (66%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Walking from the room to the pool and beach beyond. beach Rooms view View from my cabana. Clean beach water Rough life at the swim-up bar! professional photshoot

All Be Live Collection Canoa Customer Reviews

1-10 of 95 reviews. Sort by
June 12, 2012
Good deal, good time.

This was our second trip to a resort in La Romana, the previous trip being to Viva Wyndham Dominicus Beach. Naturally, I couldn't help but compare the two. The last trip was a honeymoon immediately after a wedding my wife and I planned and executed ourselves, so there was the issue of either not remembering how certain things were, as well as sort of remembering things more positively over time. With all that said... Rooms: We paid for the upgrade at Be Live, and the room was nicely furnished. Up-to-date linens, fairly comfortable beds, flat screen TV (non-HD feed), and a well-stocked fridge. Unfortunately we were in building 12 so we were right up against the Italian Club or whatever, so there was a lot of noise until midnight when they wound down. Didn't bother us enough to ask to move. Food: The main buffet was decent, with a good bit of variety day-to-day. The building itself was fairly enclosed, so there was very little breeze and it often got pretty hot in there. We much preferred the buffet at Viva Wyndham, where you could sit right by the water and get a great breeze. We went to two of the specialty restaurants, and weren't impressed with either (Mexican and Brazilian). Drinks: I'm a rum lover, so I didn't really drink much else besides rum-based drinks and Presidente on tap. This resort uses Ron Barcelo, which is fine with me, they're my preferred Dominican rum. I can't remember what they had at Viva Wyndham, but I don't recall it being any of the big 3. Be prepared to wait a bit when you walk up to the bar. They genuinely try to go first-come first-served, but there are plenty of people that ordered before you got up there. You're on vacation, don't be so impatient. You'll be served regardless of tipping, but tipping does get you better service, and they'll remember you. Beach: We were pretty disappointed with the beach. Don't expect any room to do much of anything along the beach. There's the rows of chairs, a couple feet of sand, then about a 1 foot dropoff to the water. Not sure if it was weather related, but the water wasn't very clear, always cloudy. There were places to play beach volleyball, but you can't see the beach (or try to impress the women on the beach...). We much preferred the beach at Viva Wyndham. Pool: We didn't set foot in the pool. You're on the beach, why are you going in the pool? Events: There was plenty of stuff going on, none of which we really got involved in. Went to a couple of the night shows, which were entertaining. Always guys from the nearby casino trying to get you to come out, free shuttle. That's not really our thing, so we gave that a miss as well. So, with all that said, when we were looking to book, Be Live Canoa and Viva Wyndham were roughly the same price, and we went with Be Live to try something new. Given the same scenario after having been to both, I'd have to say we'd go with Viva Wyndham next time. As a side note, personally I'd recommend renting a car instead of taking a shuttle to the resort. You get to see a lot more, and can stop where you want to check things out. You can also go to Jumbo (like Walmart) in La Romana to load up on rum for a much better price than you'll get on the resort or dutyfree at the airport.


22 of 22 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image
Top 1000 Contributor
From: Arlington, VA
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

September 10, 2014
Beyond Expectations

When my boyfriend and I decided to go to the Dominican Republic for vacation we spent an exhausting month attempting to find the best resort in the nicest area for the best price. When we finally decided on Be Live Canoa we watched multiple YouTube videos and scoured places like Trip Advisor and the like. The reviews for Be Live Canoa were all fairly decent and people seemed to enjoy the resort - with the only major "complaint" being that there aren't many Americans that vacation there (whether it be this particular resort or this particular area, I'm not sure). We booked everything through Cheap Caribbean - flights, resort, transfers, et cetera. Our flights were on Copa Airlines and the transfers were booked with AmStar, I had read some pretty bad reviews about Copa Airlines (lost baggage, rude employees, delayed flights, et cetera). We were actually pleasantly surprised by Copa Airlines. Everyone we interacted with was professional and courteous. Our flight time from Dulles International (Washington, D.C.) to Santo Domingo Airport was approximately seven hours - with an hour layover in Panama City. Our flights were on time and we had no issues with lost baggage. The in-flight meals were a little less than desirable, but it is airline food. We didn't arrive in the Dominican until about 7 p.m. that evening. When we arrived, we were greeted outside the airport by our transport service. The ride is about an hour and a half from Santo Domingo Airport to Be Live Canoa. When we arrived at the resort I was completely shocked at how closely the pictures and videos we had watched resembled the actual resort - I'm a little leery of hotel posted videos and pictures, but they were completely accurate. The resort is absolutely beautiful. Once we checked in - we had a deluxe room - the hotel staff had our bags brought up to our room and we were given a "mini tour" of the resort. The rooms are what I would consider typical hotel rooms. We had a king size bed, decent size bathroom, mini fridge, and flat screen TV. Our balcony was huge. It had two chairs and a table set up already, but if the need arises you can easily place at least three/four more chair on these balconies and be perfectly comfortable. Our balcony overlooked the pool, and beyond that was the ocean. The grounds are absolutely gorgeous. They are extremely well maintained. The resort is kind of set up like a large horseshoe - all the room buildings sort of arc around the central point of the pool and beach/ocean. It is almost impossible to get lost, since this is a larger resort than we were expecting, due to the fact that all paths pretty much eventually wind their way to wherever you need to be. We mostly only ate at the buffet restaurant, with one meal eaten at the hibachi restaurant, Akeru. The buffet was amazing. Breakfast consisted of almost anything you could imagine - eggs, bacon, yogurt, cereal, pancakes, waffles, omelets, et cetera. Lunch was just as well done. There were "make your own" sandwiches and other light fare. Dinner was exceptional - although some of the options repeated each night. They did theme nights where the majority of the food was from a particular region/country. The pool was amazing. There is only one pool on the premises, but it was never over-crowded. There is a swim-up pool bar in the middle and that section of the pool is kind of separated from the other section by a walking bridge that goes over top. Most of the children that were there stayed on the one side while all the adults pretty much stayed by the pool bar. There were plenty of pool loungers available - most with huts over top so you could get out of the sun if you wanted to. There were also a few bed type huts where you could just lay out and watch the surroundings/sleep/listen to music/et cetera. These were a little harder to come by, but we didn't have a problem finding one when we wanted. The beach and ocean were perfection. A lot of reviews I read had complaints about the rocks/boulders on the shoreline before you got into the ocean. I will say, there are rocks/boulders on the shoreline but we didn't find them to be an issue. If you are concerned about that, the right side of the beach (as you are facing the ocean) seemed to have less of this and was slightly easier and more comfortable to walk on when entering the water. The water was crystal clear and with the exception of one day the water was calm and warm. The staff on this resort is absolutely amazing. We don't speak much Spanish - maybe enough to get by, but not fluent in any way - and we had no problems speaking and interacting with the staff. Most of the staff spoke English, among many other languages, but even the few staff members we encountered that did not speak English had no problem understanding us when we spoke in (very) broken Spanish. There were not a lot of other Americans vacationing there while we were there. However, every person/couple that we met - some from Germany, some from France, others from Italy - were lovely and we were able to communicate and have a good time with no problems. A lot of reviews from other Americans seemed to complain about the lack of other Americans at this resort. I, however, enjoyed interacting with people from other countries and cultures. We learned a bit of German and a bit of French, on top of the Spanish we learned, and it was overall just a great experience. The nightlife was also excellent. We found one bar, by the front of the resort, that we hung out at a lot at night. We made friends with the bartenders and had a good time just sitting and talking with them. There is a "night club" on the resort - to the side of the bar - that was open until 2 a.m. and played a nice mix of Spanish/Dominican/American music. The one and only complaint that I could come up with - to be fair, it isn't even really a complaint - was the water pressure in the rooms. The water pressure is almost non-existent, but the water is not "hard water" like I had read in other reviews. We had a rolling blackout one day that we were there - again, not a big deal since it was during the day and, let's face it, you don't go to the Dominican to hang out in the hotel room. There is construction going on in the resort. It appears that they are adding on buildings for more rooms. The workers were there everyday and started sometime around 8 during the week. I didn't even hear this, but my boyfriend was woken up a few times by the beeping of the trucks, but all in all it was no big deal. I would highly recommend this resort. Everyone I spoke to while at the resort said they keep coming back there year after year, if not multiple times a year. The staff is excellent. The amenities are excellent. The other guests were polite and no one seemed to ever be in a bad mood. One week is not enough to do everything and to see everything Bayahibe and La Romana have to offer. We are already looking at vacation dates for next year and I think we'll be staying a minimum of 10 days next time around. This is a resort I would go to year after year - and plan to!


18 of 18 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Annapolis, Maryland
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

July 3, 2011
I would go there again

This place is beautiful and well kept. The pool area is awesome very large and open with lots of lounge chairs. The beach area is great beautiful blue water with white sand. The food is pretty good could use a little more flavor. I think its a little bland probably to suit everyone. My husband and I had a great time we went on two excursions both were lots of fun. The first one was to Island Catalina it was a whole day of fun with shopping, snorkeling, and relaxing on the beach. In case no one tells you bring a towel, sun screen, water, and money. We didn't know about the shopping so I didn't bring much money. The other trip was to Saona Island very pretty and you stop by the natural pools to see the very large star fish and of course drink rum. This review will only let me upload 5mb of photos but I hope it gives everyone a good idea of how wonderful this place is.


14 of 14 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: California
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

December 19, 2011
Great, but mixed

For us, the chief selling point of Be Live Canoa was its proximity to a lovely, almost undeveloped National Park (d' Este), starting under 1/2 mile up the beach and running further than we could walk. However, walking must be done between dawn and 10 am or so, as the sun becomes too strong from then until late afternoon, regardless of the moderate air temperature (mid-80s). Fortunately there were lots of trees on the resort beach. The (inclusive) food and drink were plentiful and good but not great, although the International Gourmet dining option (Italian) was very good. It was surprising that there were almost no Americans at the resort: mostly Germans, French and Italians, plus a few Russians. The evening theater presentations, with a characteristic macho take, sometimes verged on offensive, although it was presented in an attitude of "good fun." The service was lovely and helpful, and even the few vendors of jewelry & timeshares were not overly intrusive. The 2-hour drive from the airport was a little tedious, but it gave us our best chance to see what the D.R. looked like outside the boundaries of our Resort. On balance, we're glad we did it, and the value was extraordinary.


27 of 29 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image
Top 250 Contributor
From: New York, NY
Age: Over 65
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

August 26, 2012
Be Live Canoa

The journey to the hotel was approximately two hours as was explained by the agent. It was a good sight-seeing experience. The minivan was very limited on space hower, we were not suprized because it is an island country. The only disappointment for such a long journey is that the driver did not speak English. We tried to communicate deparately on our limited Spanish understanding. On arrival at the hotel, we were welcomed by the front desk receptionist with two delightful refreshing beverages. The appearance of the hotel was impressive. The receptionist accommodated our request of a higher floor. Subsequently we were escorted to our room with the services of the bellhop. As we tried to settle in the assigned room, we noticed that there were no wash cloths and worst of all the toilet could not be flushed. It was already approximately 8:30pm and we decided to return to the front office and voice our concerns particularly the toilet's malfunction. Unfortunately, to our surprize the receptionist (Julian H) ask us what was he suppose to do because we paid for a standard room. My response was, please do not remind me what I paid for because I'm sure it included a bathroom that works and wash cloths so that I could take a shower. The receptionist did not react, instead he gave me the key to another room on another building for me to determine if the room was ready. We went and decided to stay there. Additionally, that bathroom was not equipped with towels either and the toilet was also not flushable. A much more pleasant receptionist came and verified our findings and got maintenance department to our room. The maintenance gentleman, told us that all the bathrooms there has a problem. We were instructed by this gentleman never to put toilet paper in the commode but always to place toilet paper in the waste bin. We were schoked! We quickly realized that perhaps, this was there standards and decided to make the best of it. The entertainment at the property was extremely good and likewise the excursion we chose. The staff extremely friendly except for that one rude front desk receptionist who was probably the supervisor for that Wedesday nightl. To elevate the standards of such a beautiful property, I would recommend the following: Hire additional bilingual staff ( There were hardly any English speaking staff), More staff for the housekeeping department, reduce the amount of salt in the meals, and they need a disco on property. They advertise it but they really do not have one. Overall, we had fun at the beach and the pool.


13 of 13 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
2.0
User Image
Top 1000 Contributor
From: Florida
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

March 19, 2012
Wonderful

This is my second time visiting this hotel. Overall it was wonderful. The weather was excellent and the food was good. They are at the time renovating but and have stated that they will be for the next two years but the hotel is still available to all the guests. The entertainment crew is excellent and they are hosting shows during the whole day either at the beach or by the poolside. At night time they have also have shows for the kids and for the rest of the family. Originally when I arrived at the hotel I was given one room but then upgraded to another room that was excellent and free of charge. Once in the room we had one of the waiters come and give us a platter of fresh fruit. The ride is about 2 hours from the hotel but it is all worth it. Hope to be going again.


18 of 19 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Newark, NJ
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

November 29, 2011
Although a great beach, probably wouldn't go back

I want to say you get what you pay for, but not totally convinced I even got that much.... To start we had requested a king size bed, ended up with two doubles (how romantic). The room wasn't that clean, such as hairs in the bathroom, coffee cups not washed, fridge dirty,e tc.. The showerhead in the shower was broken so it was a wash and rinse separately kind of bathing experience. Could definitely tell the mattresses were from long, long ago based on the orange flowers and automatic roll-to-the-middle result when laying on them. The food was mediocre. The two reservation dining options are quite poor. The Asian restaurant is hibachi style, producing pretty tasteless and unimpressive stir fry. The International Gourmet restaurant served Italian food, which came out cold and overly salted. Apparently we were supposed to get steak as a second meal, but were completely unsuccessful. It took us 35 minutes to get water, wasn't going to wait around for steak. The pool and beach were fantastic. It wasn't overly busy so you could always get a spot in the shade. Facilities were clean and overall was impressed with the condition. The service was probably the most shocking. There were constantly minor things that were frustrating that added up to an overall bad service experience. Concierge desk doesn't exactly give you the most clear details, it was difficult to get change at reception before 11AM, etc. Until the bar and wait staff know your face (and you've tipped generously) it's unlikely to get service in a timely manner. It was a fun experience because who doesn't love cocktails, sun and beach, but not sure I would spend the money (though cheap) to go back to this resort.


7 of 7 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
1.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
2.0
User Image

From: NYC
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

June 21, 2012
we had agreat time

it was our first time here in dominican republic and we really loved it. the resort was pretty good. the beach was excellent nice and warm you can scuba dive and see a lot of fish. the pool was great thats where we spend most of our time cause it was really hot, we loved the bar at the pool was great the bartender Rosa was amazing with us made our drinks really good. the food was pretty good to me maybe cause im spanish and i love spanish food. the japanese restaurant was really good. the room were okay they need a little up date to make them a little big more modern but overall it was good i never had a problem with it, it always had soda and beers in the mini fridge. i loved the entretaiments the group of entratainers were really funny and always had something to do all day from 10 am to 2 am there was always something to do. we also relax a lot cause even with all the shows and entretaiments you were able to sit back and relax. i will totally go back to this resort.


7 of 7 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image
Top 1000 Contributor
From: lawerence MA
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

October 23, 2014
Great experience

We went to the resort for our Honeymoon. It was great! The people are very friendly and the staff was very nice. We had an issue with our A/C in our room and they fixed it very promptly. We stayed in the villa and would recommend it to anyone. The pool is very large so you are never crowded and you can always find a chair. The beach and water are absolutely beautiful. The only issue I had was there were large groups there at the time and there were unsupervised kids everywhere!! For some reason people think they can come to the resort and let the resort babysit their children while they relax. They were torturing the turtles, climbing in the small rivers, and throwing rocks and sand at each other on the beach. If you bring your kids please make sure they are well behaved and not ruining other peoples vacation or disturbing the beautiful scenery. I also want to note if you need transportation from the airport to the resort and back please consider CoCo Tours. They are fair priced and are great!! We had a private car back and forth and the drivers were very professional and friendly. We took a trip to Soana Island. The ride to and from were great, but the island wasn't any better than the resort. I would have much rather stayed on our beach, because the water was much cleaner and clearer. I would def go back. Hope this helps!!


6 of 6 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Raleigh, NC
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

August 12, 2010
1st time to Dominican Replublc

Although we did enjoy the resort it did lack on service and quality of food. This was our first time to Dominican Republic and we felt that we did not get the best service. There are a lot of Europeans that travel to this resort so there are not a lot of visitors that speak English. We felt that other nationalities received better service than us. This resort is under new management and during our stay they conducted a survey. I must say that after the survey we could definitely see improvements being made in dining and overall service. Hopefully they'll keep this up. The resort itself is situated on a beautiful beach and we really did enjoy it a lot. You have to come here with an open-mind and realize that your in another country.


4 of 4 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: South Plainfield, NJ
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year