All

Bavaro Princess All Suites Resort, Spa & Casino Reviews

Caribbean | Dominican Republic - Punta Cana Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 109 Reviews
Value
 
3.9
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.4
Dining Options
 
3.5
Room Comfort
 
3.9
3.8 out of 5
"In a toilet water constantly flew, pillows stank, meat dishes not probably to chew.At the airport all customs from several planes held about three hours, the personnel very pleasant" – liliya
92 out of 122 (75%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Pool down by the beach Ocean & Kayaks View from room 354 Beach at the resort

All Bavaro Princess All Suites Resort, Spa & Casino Customer Reviews

1-10 of 109 reviews. Sort by
August 4, 2012
AMAZING AMAZING AMAZING

Disregard every bad review you have ever read about this resort and book it! It was my first time in punta cana and I loved every second of it! here's a breakdown: RESORT: great landscape, very well taken care of, attention to detail. The lobby is huge with bars scattered all around, and comfy sofas everywhere. STAFF: Super friendly, always smiling and dancing around. You never have to wait for them to notice you to get your drink order. They were on the ball at all times. Most of the staff members speak either French or English, in addition to Spanish. FOOD: Im not sure why people have complained about food at the BAVARO. I thought it was really good and Im a picky eater. There was a huge variety, plenty of food and the yummiest fruit. ROOM: was absolutely great. Take the bungalow suite over the Junior suite. The price difference is not significant but the difference in the rooms is. When we initially got there we got a room with a bit of a musty smell, so we talked to Jhony at the front desk and he moved us to a better room, even closer to the beach, no questions asked. The rooms are pretty big, with a king size bed, flat screen tv, jacuzzi and couches. The mini bar is restocked with beer, soda and water daily. BEACH & POOL: The beach, oh the beach! Magnificent! Beautiful clear water, very cool no matter how hot it is. The pool is large, mostly filled with kids though. But, you wants to hang out at a pool when there is a beautiful beach right there. EXCURSIONS: If you get the chance to take an excursion, GO TO SAONA ISLAND. It is the most beautiful place I have ever seen. Amazing boat ride there, beautiful beach, perfect! We bought our excursion from KING OF THE BEACH, dont worry he'll find you! He gave us a great price and some great tips about the island. have fun!


52 of 55 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Canada
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

August 28, 2012
Great value for the money...

We stayed at this resort from 8/13/12 to 8/20/12 and were pleasantly surprised. After reading the reviews I was a little concerned about what we were getting in to. We received excellent service from everyone! Especially Jaun and Claudio at the pool bar. We had no problems with our room. If you can pick, try to get a room somewhere in the middle of the resort. There is a tram service but it was often full and took a while to make it around the resort. So we ended up walking a lot. A centrally located room will help with that. We were real close to the beach which was nice, but when we wanted to go to the lobby to eat or for entertainment we had a long walk. The cleaning service was good every day. You only get two beers in your fridge per day so definitely get extra drinks from the bar to take back to your room if you want to keep drinking. The plastic cups that your cocktails or beer are served in are very small and flimsy so I recommend taking a sturdy cup to use while at the beach or pool. Just get two of whatever you are drinking and dump it into your own cup. The food left a bit to be desired but you could always find one or two really good things at each meal. Be sure to make reservations at the restaurants each night. When we didn't have reservations we found ourselves waiting to be seated for over an hour. Tipping wasn't expected but it was definitely appreciated so take some cash and tip your bartenders and servers and you will get excellent service all week. American money was taken most every where we went so no need to exchange. But make sure you know the conversion so you get the right change. I believe it was 39 pesos for each American dollar. We left the resort quite a few times to experience the culture and shop. We had no problems and were not harassed by the locals at all. Just be sure to pre-negotiate your cab fare before leaving the resort. Resort staff will tell you how much a fair price is based on where you are going. We had a great time at all the bars and night clubs we went to off the resort with the exception of "Imagine". We paid $60 for the nightclub excursion which included a ride to and from the club, entrance, and unlimited drinks. The trip was from 1145pm to 4am. The bus did not get us to the club until 1245am and then there was an excessively long line to wait in so by the time we got inside it was already well past 1am. We were supposed to have unlimited drinks but the system is set up to keep you from being able to get drinks. There was only one bar for the people who paid the extra money and were supposed to be "VIP". The lines for drinks took 30 minutes or more and the bartenders were deliberately slow and would only give you one drink at a time. At the same time the cash bar was super fast and would give you as many drinks as you wanted. So if you do go, I recommend paying the smaller fee and buying your own drinks. The place was super packed and you could barely move or dance, much less get comfortable. I do not recommend this excursion at all. I do recommend the zip lining and party boat excursions. I also recommend the tour with Punta Cana Mike. Google him. Well worth it if you really want to experience the island and the culture fully. It is not a resort sponsored excursion, you have to book it through his website in advance. Overall we were pleased with our trip and would recommend the resort if you are on a budget. Having stayed at "Sandals" and other "5 star" resorts I can see where people may not be satisfied with this resort when comparing, but it is a great value for the price we paid. It was not a 5 star resort but we definitely got what we paid for and enjoyed our stay. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again if returning to the DR.


18 of 19 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Richmond, Va
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

September 9, 2014
July 21st to 28th, 2014

Bavaro Princess All Suites Resort, Spa & Casino July 21st to 28th 2014 From Philadelphia, PA USA Overall: 4 Value: 4 Service: 5 Beach: 5 Pool: 4 Dining Options: 5 Room Comfort: 4 We had a Wonderful 7 day vacation at the Bavaro Princess All Suites Resort, Spa & Casino. July 21 to 28, 2014. Family of 4... 2 adults (54 & 57 years old), 2 young adults (18 & 19 years old, boy & girl) Resort is Beautiful, Beach and Ocean are gorgeous. Family oriented Resort this time of year in the summer months. Mostly European vacationers, only some staff people spoke English... maybe 35 percent of the staff spoke English. I had forgotten how humid it can be in the Caribbean.... the temperature was mostly in the middle to high 80’s, but the humidity was probably around 90 to 100 percent!!! Phew....Very Humid!!! Free Non Motor Sports, Kayaks, Snorkeling, Catamaran Sailing ($35.00 lesson if you want to learn) all was GREAT!!! 2 Pools: One pool is up by the Main Lobby tucked away, quite and very nice with soft drinks and liquor in the shaded hut area. The other pool is near the beach, with swim-up bar, volleyball and entertainment each day about 3:00 pm for the kids, and exercising in the pool. Pool was cleaned very early each morning. Pool temperature not very refreshing at 85-F plus degrees. Ocean was much cooler around 75-F degrees, a very nice temperature!!!, with some sea kelp in the water, on some days. Soccer (football) on the beach, Ping-Pong, Basketball net, Volleyball area on beach. Definitely bring a insulated plastic drinking cup... drinks get warm very fast. The bartenders will fill them up for you... no problem!!! :-) Lots of people reserved pool lounge chairs with towels, but later in the day you could find some to use. For lounge chairs on the beach, under the thatched umbrella’s, you would have to get up early and mark your area before 8:00 am. But there where chairs in the sun to use. Also the Pool and Beach Bars close at 6 pm, after that time you had to go to the main lobby for a drink. And the water in the resort is OK to drink, except not from the water faucets in the rooms. The water at the restaurants that the waiters pour at the tables is fine to drink. I drank it all week and nothing happen to me. The Rooms are big and spacious... Hotel Staff Friendly and very efficient. I accidently locked myself out of the room safe... I called to get it opened, the man came within 5-10 minutes, it took him about 3 minutes to open it again. I reset my code and it work fine again. Air conditioning in the room worked, but in a tropical climate it didn’t seem to work that great. Also the bathrooms in the rooms were NOT air conditioned. Maid service was Great too!! Beverages in small refrigerator were restocked daily and Free. With BIG Bottles of water... use for brushing teeth, drinking... soft drinks and beer in the room. Large patio outside each room overlooking beautiful garden areas with 2 chairs & a small table. The beds where a little soft, but for the week, they were just fine... with full days in the sun and the warm weather, we had no trouble sleeping!!! The room had a hair dryer, close-up make-up mirror, hangers and iron with ironing board. If you use a wash cloth, bring one from home. Each room also had it’s own Big Tub with jets in the bedroom area. Shower had 2 shower heads, one on the wall and a wand type. Kind of clothes to bring: Light weight, short sleeve, shorts, open toe shoes, sandals, flip-flops... Nothing that is tight... It is VERY HUMID!!! Men have to have at least a short sleeve shirt on for dinner, no tank tops for the men at dinner. High-heal shoes are not very practical in this resort. Shuttles travelled the inner pathways of the resort to take you to the beach, pool, lobby & restaurants. The shuttles ran all day, maybe 5-10 minutes in between waiting for the next shuttle. At night the shuttles took longer to pick you up. And late at night we waited about a half hour between shuttles. We had a room closest to the beach and pool & 3 restaurants (great location), Room 354 second floor. A couple of times we walked from our Room (near the beach) to the Lobby area / entertainment area / shops / main buffet which are all in the front of the resort. The walk took us past and through the main areas of all of the rooms/suites, then the walking paths went through a Tropical Wooded area (it was hard to know which way to go at times) then finally to the Main Lobby area, this was about a 15 to 20 minute walk. There was also a truck that came around at night that sprayed chemicals in the air for mosquitoes, I used bug spray, but I still got some small mosquitoes bites. Also there is Wifi (internet service) only in the Main Lobby area.. we did not use it. But I saw I could get reception, but you needed a code to connect to it and I think you had to pay for this service. Night Time: Kids entertainment early in the main lobby area then later, some shows with music and dancers with different theme nights... The shows were somewhat entertaining, but not professional. One night was Caribbean Night in the buffet and outside in the lobby area, where local vendors sold their island items, paintings, silver jewelry, clothes, carved wood figures, etc... The Casino is out in front of the resort and is an easy & safe walk even at night, but the 2 times we walked in the casino there was hardly any gambling going on inside by vacationers. And the resort was full at this time of year. ??? There is a night club/disco in the Casino, but it didn’t open until 11pm to 5am, drinks were Free with your resort wrist band. And you had to be 18 years of age to drink. There is another disco at another resort to the right of the Princess resort and a shuttle will take you back and forth, it was about a 5 minute ride. This disco opened at 10:00pm so mostly everyone went to that disco. But the free drinks were only from 11:00 to 12:00am at that disco. Other then that, there is not very much to do at night after dinner. We brought 2 decks of cards and a few board games that were easy to back in a suitcase... I’d say we played these games 3-4 times that week. The Food: There was always a good variety to choose from. I’m a very picky eater and I found something to eat at the buffet every night I went. We went to the Italian restaurant, very good. The Steak House was only passable. The Seafood Restaurant (I was told) was not good at all, and the service was very slow. We did not go to the other restaurants. Also their was no air conditioning in the buffet area, but the other restaurants were air conditioned. If you got to the restaurant any time from 6:30 to 8:00 you almost always had to wait for about a half hour to 45 minutes to get a table. If you paid for the upgrade at the resort you went straight to the top of the waiting list... The people that paid for the upgrade wore a different kind of wrist band... it was made of leather, not the colored plastic ones everyone else got for the standard price. I think Breakfast was the best meal of the day a the buffet... plenty to eat with lots of variety and fresh fruit of all kinds, and fruit was safe to eat! The Buffet near the beach was great for breakfast & lunch at the beach. You could take your food to the outside seating area near the beach. The beach bar for drinks were great!!! The bartenders do a very good job and are alway friendly, even with a lot of people to serve at once. The this Buffet converted into the Steak House restaurant at night for dinner. There was even an additional Food Bar at the beach, that served hamburgers (not very good), French fries (very good), hot dogs (just ok)... I think the rolls mostly, didn’t have much taste and were dry. But you could just go into the buffet area instead, and get what you wanted. You had to wear a shirt and shoes and be dried off to go into the buffet. We also went outside of the resort across the street and did a little shopping in the local vendor shops. They were very nice and not very pushy at all. You can use American dollars at these shops, but bring 5’s & 10’s and 1’s, because they might give you Dominican change back and it is hard to convert the money back to American dollars. Last but not least... Tipping is not required for any service, but these Dominican people make very little money and they could alway use a little extra money... so tip them for the service they give to you. They will not ask for it, or even look at you like they want a tip, which was very nice... but I did tip for service and I also saw others that did the same. So give a tip... you will make their day!!! :-) P.S. Take a lot of one dollar bills with you!!! Have a great vacation!!! :-)

View from room 354 Ocean & Kayaks
18 of 19 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Suburbs of Philadelphia
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

December 10, 2012
A Mediocre Experience

We travel to the Dominican at least once or twice per year but this was our first time at this resort. As usual, the reviews were mixed so we didn't choose this vacation based on any one review. It seemed like a good price. Our rooms were ready as soon as we arrived although the front entrance to resort was not mesmerizing. Our bags were brought to our rooms within 20 min. The staff was nice but we soon learned not to be too nice back. During past vacations the staff would go out of their way to give us an "experience".Staff at previous resorts would try hard to make sure we had a good time. People would walk around to get people involved in bingo and volleyball, soccer darts etc. I was not asked or did I see any staff at this resort pushing such activities. At this resort you had to dodge staff in dress shirts since they were trying to sell you time share or something. I spoke to one poor sole that got stuck listening to to a sales speech for over an hour! When he refused again they were rude to him. I don't think this staff is paid by resort but probably pay the resort to harass their clients. I noticed a lot of little differences in food and drink comparing this resort to others in the past. You could walk up to the bar by the beach and ask for bottled water any time. ....but what my wife really missed was that Dominican apple juice that you just can't find in the US. It was no where. to be found at the resort. I called around one day willing to pay extra for some. After several calls I was told it could be bought at the lobby store. .....so I took the little bus to the front lobby once again. I was told they were out. However they offered to go pick some up at the market for me......so I waited. I purchased 4 little bottles for $10 and was told that was all they had. I am not picky when it comes to food and definitely did not leave hungry.....but if some were to have a complaint about food at this resort I can understand it. The fish was always good but all I ever saw was. perch and some fish steak (forgot kind). No salmon or anything fancy. Chicken was always tender but pork and beef was never tender.....always tough and chewy. Ice cream was always half melted or warm, and flavors were almost always limited to vanilla and strawberry. I guess I got spoiled when we were at the Iberostar where they even had soft serve. This was the first time we didn't attend an A la Carte restaurant at a resort....so not sure what we missed out on there. My wife said she wasn't impressed at previous resorts and figured the buffet would suffice. However, the A La Carte restaurants at this resort required no reservations and no limit to how many you could attend. The entertainment was below average. Music was primarily Spanish and dancers were same every night. No real change of themes nightly. I have enjoyed watching members from resort participate at previous resorts. I have been at resorts where entertainment was comparable to that found at a circus. For example acrobats, sword swallowing, magicians. etc. This was a little boring I must admit. The rooms were nice. Double sinks, and Jacuzzi tubs are not typical for the price we paid....the kids loved the Jacuzzi. On last morning the Bell Hop must have been swamped. It took about an hour for them to come pick up our bags. I called several times and was told they would be right there. They finally told me they were really busy because alot of people were checking out. When I got to the lobby I must have lucked out. There was no line to wait in and checked out and had a taxi called within minutes. This was overall a good trip. The weather and beach had alot to do with it. Service was minimal. I was never a offered a drink by waiters during nightly entertainment. Also, come to think of it, drink refills at dinner were rare.


15 of 16 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Missouri
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

February 2, 2016
Spectacular Beach & solid Resort Over-all

I thought the resort over-all was ranked appropriately as a star 3 1/2! The decor of the lobby was somewhat blah and a bit out dated. Getting around to / from the lobby & beach & restraunts was relatively easy via the trolley system. The main buffet was located at the lobby where all the main action took place, shows and bookings for trips. The rooms were nice and kept very clean.The beds were also very comfortable with soft pillows unlike the beds in Mexico. Most of the service people had a bit of trouble understanding english but this is expected so no big deal.The food was hit and miss andt the buffet was best described as blah with not much selection from day to day. The dinners were fair but not great. Unexpectedly, the entertainment was solid and very enjoyable. The favorite part of the trip was the beach & pool areas. Best beach I ever set my toes on!! Nice white sand and clear blue water with 2-3 foot waves making it very scenic and enjoyable. The beach also had a great place for lunch that was outside from the buffet. Great philly cheese steak sandwich and chicken sandwich with great fries!! Try to avoid the buffet during lunch and take advantage of the outside food shack. There are plenty of excursions to par take in. We did the boat tour and swimmed with sting rays & sharks. Nurse sharks!! They are very harmless but impressive!! After the sharks, they take you to a sand bar area, and the rum part starts!! Incredible environment!! Best ever. See Carlos on the beach for the booking. PS. He looks like Pedro Martinez-Redsox hall of famer!! If you enjoy the casino, they have a nice one and you actually can win a few bucks. If you get a chance go right outside of the gate and try some shopping. It's safe!! it's a 5 minute walk!! Fun time. The airport process was smooth and not a big deal while the check in process was a piece of cake. The people who work the management side of things are all well versed in english so no communication break downs occur. Just the maids and servants are a bit slow.Just a little side note, I would suggust wearing long pants at night to avoid the little mosquito bites.They do a great job spraying for these critters but you are in a tropical paradise so they are out there.The only bad thing to report on would be my beloved PATS lost to the Broncos. We watched the game on a big screen tv at the theatre located at the main lobby.. Denver played well so I give them credit!! Overall, I had a very enjoyable trip with my Canadien adopted famil;y!!I would definetely recommend this resort to anyone!!


8 of 8 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Burlington ma
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

July 2, 2015
beach! coconuts! and a great time!

the beach is beautiful, as others have commented, and in particular on bavaro beach i believe this resort has the most well maintained beach in terms of removal of seaweed every morning and keeping it beautiful! the pool is fun. a swim up bar, friendly bartenders, large enough to spread out, fun activities throughout the day. it can definitely get crowded, but if it's too crowded you can just head to the beach (less crowded). rooms are very clean, feel private, have a nice patio, and the mini-fride is stocked regularly with water, beer and soda (all included w all-inclusive). the restaurants (what we tried) were fine. they weren't the most amazing food i have ever had but they certainly weren't bad. they do rice & beans to perfection (naturally), i had some great tasting grilled chicken, the hibachi japanese restaurant is really fun and it's relatively good, the steak restaurant was fine. and the service everywhere was phenomenal, everyone who worked at the resort seemed to make it their highest priority to tend to even our smallest need. re transportation: we paid extra to pre-book transportation and maybe if i had to do it again i would just take a taxi once we got there. it takes at least double the time using the group transportation (bc you stop at other resorts along the way) and you end up with a lot of lost time on the travel days. Transportation was $25 on the bus vs $35 by taxi (per the hotel concierge), so if you just want to get there and get on the beach and maximize your fun in the sun you might want to spend a little more on a taxi. my highlights definitely include gorgeous beach and the fresh coconuts! i spent most of my time on the beach and in the ocean and i loved it! and i totally overdosed on fresh coconuts (the guys who keep the grounds are in green uniforms, ask any of them for a fresh coconut and tip them a couple of dollars)! i think the bottom line for deciding on an all-inclusive resort is to just make a decision (this one was a great one!), have very realistic expectations (it is not going to be the Four Seasons), and when you get there just decide that you are going to have a great time! there are always going to be things to complain about (seaweed, mosquitos, language barrier, food that isn't as good as when you make it), but i can tell you at least at the bavaro princess there was so much to be happy about! i wish i could have stayed longer and i would definitely go again!


7 of 7 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: New York, NY
Age: 35-44
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

October 26, 2015
Very dated locale.

Let me start by saying that I've been to Punta Cana five times. All different resorts. By far this was the worst. While the employees are great, the resort is very dated. The resort has a 90's feel. The rooms are so outdated that they do not include an alarm clock/radio. The telephones as is the room, are right out of the early 90's. As for the bath room, the toilets run all day and night. Let's not talk about the mold and rust inside of showers.The jet tub would not hold water either. The tile work is very hard to look at as it's installed very messy and an eyesore. As for food...if I never see another hot dog, it will be too soon. The breakfast buffet is boring but, always has hot dogs available! The steak house was barley edible however; the Japanese restaurant was great. Now for the grounds. The beach and pool are great however; the grounds are way too large and require a train/trolley to get everywhere. You can't walk much as everything is too far away no matter where your room is located. In closing, I'd avoid the Bavaro Princess. There are many other options that I've stayed at in the past and will return to.


6 of 6 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 2
Value
 
2.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
1.0
User Image

From: Connecticut
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

May 26, 2016
It was a Paradise!

Such an enjoyable vacation we had!! Our two families – one is from Florida, USA and another is from Russia – spent such a wonderful time at Bavaro Princess All Suites Resort, Spa&Casino on May 14-20, 2016. We read many reviews to be prepared before we came. Some of them were very positive, some of them weren’t so. We are not spoiled and we love to have new experience, so we were enjoying` of each hour of the day. The resort has a big&beautiful territory with an ecology park, where you can be close to the untouched nature, to feed peacocks, flamingos, different kind of ducks, bunnies and else; amazing swimming pool with a bar in it. Very beautiful and very clean beach, white sand and the turquoise water color makes you feel you are in Paradise. The first line on the beach. 5 minutes’ walk from our suites. Sunbeds/towels/umbrellas – everything free and enough for everyone. You can eat/drink during all day..and after you got some pounds, run to the gym or on the beach, swim in the ocean or in the swimming pool. Your choice There is 6 restaurants we visited during our vacation. They are all different and interesting. But the most we loved were Italian, Oriental, Japanese, French buffet. All restaurants have a dress code, simply jeans or long pants and t-shirt is ok. At the morning we loved to have a breakfast at the receptionist buffet, and we had a lunch next to the beach (Argentinian restaurant). There is such a big choice of buffet, no one left hungry. There is not easy to walk with a full belly, but we preferred to walk instead of take a little train. There such a beautiful climate, sea fresh air, birds are singing…all make you feel so relax. If you would like to have some fun – go to the big swimming pool, which is next to the beach – there you will always find some fun and choose the drink you like. You can also play basketball or volleyball in the pool, or on the beach, choose the games to play, or get into the tennis cort..its all up to you. Our rooms were located at the Bungalow Suites with Jacuzzi #s 268/276/277 – we were happy with everything – right on the middle of everything, easy to get to any spot at the resort, great service, very clean, minibar stoked every day, and Jacuzzi at night after lazy day. Our days were so full and enjoyable, so we didn’t have any time to watch TV or think about Wi-Fi. I would recommend this hotel for families, honeymoon celebration, families with kids (there is a great area with a pool for kids) or just as a place to get relax time and stay out of routine life. Loved it so much!! We want to thank everyone who works up there for the great and so friendly/lovely service. Keep going!! Thanks to Zachary (receptionist) for the great suites he suggested for us!!

It was a Paradise! It was a Paradise!
6 of 6 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: USA, Florida
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

April 8, 2013
Decent

Resort (****): The resort is very big! Very nice looking, well maintained, but expect a lot of walking if you dont want to wait for the trolley that takes you back and forth from the main entrance to your rooms/beach. My one problem with the resort was that it seemed like you only had one place to go drink at night which was only open til about 1 am and was very small for the size of the resort. This isnt exactly a couples resort either. There were a lot of families. Lots of kids running around all over the place. Lots of nightly activities going on, but none of them interested me. Casino was decent/fun, not very big, but it had enough ($1 USD table minimums which is always fun). Beach (****): Beach was very nice. I traveled in July and there was no one on the beach which was great. There were a ton of kids at this resort, but they all stayed in the pool all day. This was a huge bonus for me that the beach was fairly empty every day. There is a bar and grill on the beach which is nice. They dont serve you drinks you have to get them yourself. IF YOU LIKE TO DRINK ON THE BEACH A LOT, MAKE SURE YOU BRING YOUR OWN CONTAINER TO DRINK OUT OF!!!!! You get like a little 3-4oz cup thats like taking shots, so you will have to go back every 5 mins if you are a drinker. They have no problem filling up a bigger sized cup. Rooms (****): Rooms are all for the most part very close to the beach. A few rooms are further away from the beach, but I think you have to request those. I believe all the rooms are the same; if you get a "honeymoon suite" it is exactly the same, it just includes "free room service" (Which is well worth it!). Rooms are perfect size for a couple. Bathrooms were nice (expect some bugs, not in a gross way though). Decent jacuzzi, there were some signs of use and ware. Careful with the closets, I know we had an AC vent right about our closet and it leaked on anything that was stored in closet. Cable television is provided, beds are okay, and fridge is restocked daily with 2 waters, 1 bottle coke, 1 bottled sprite, and two cans of beer (they wont give you anymore). Food (**): Food was tough for me. I am a young American (Ohio,USA) just to set the stage so-to-speak. The main hall has the biggest eating area. It is a big buffet style restaraunt. It is also about a 15 minute walk from your rooms, unless you take the trolley. The food just tastes strange, I read a lot of reviews that said it was great. I don't know what those people are accustom to eating or what they were eating, but I can tell you it was not great! Yes, the fruit was fresh and delicious, breakfast is hard to mess up so that was one plus, and yes there was a ton of deserts available, but other than that it was all just served in mass portions and looked like slop with a laddle of butter and salt poured on it. I tried just about everything they had; was not good by any means. There are also about 7 other "specialized restaraunts". You have to make reservations for these places by going back to the main hall in the morning and putting in your name for a reservation. Reservations fill up fast so you need to be up there by 8-9am to get it in time. Anyways the 7 "different restaraunts" ALL HAVE THE SAME FOOD! Ex. there is an italian restaraunt if you were to get pizza or spaghetti, it is exactly the same as going to the main restaraunt. I think the specialized restaraunts had very few other items that werent included in the main buffet. I did room service a lot and just got a plate of fresh fruit and sandwhich. Booze is all bottom shelf, if you are trying to get drunk you'll need to drink a lot of beer, wine, or champagne; cocktails wont do it here. Service (***): Everyone speaks english, but not all understand it if that makes sense. (Ex. Room service had a sandwhich with turkey, ham, egg, bacon, and cheese. I wasn't able to get an egg and cheese sandwhich "because they dint have it". Instead I had to ask for the turkey, ham, bacon, and cheese sandwhich, but with no ham, no turkey, no bacon and then it was okay). Staff is friendly and for the most part will accomodate you in any way. Servers are great too, if you tip them a few dollars (USD in my case) they will go out of their way to make sure you always have booze in your hand. Sometimes there would be a little line on the beach bar, and the bartenders would see me in the back of the line and would have a drink for me ready to go just because I would give them a few dollars a day. I am probably missing a lot, but all in all the place was nice-okay. Its well worth the price. I had a great time, the rooms were nice, beach was great, and the place looked great. There was just too much walking, too many kids, and bad food, but that was the concensus from talking to other people from other resorts.


5 of 5 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Cleveland, Ohio
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

September 28, 2016
Enjoyable vacation except for the food

Everything was great but the food was just so horrible and that you can only eat dinner between 6 and 10 so you feel like you're rushed from the pool or Beach just to go back to your room and get ready and to go find somewhere to eat and went by the time you get that certain place to eat it's a 45 minute wait just to see you in the place closes at 10 so you're like okay well you're closing in an hour and I have to wait an hour and I going to get but we tried the steakhouse which was really good that Ellen plays was okay and a seafood place was okay also but the portions are very very small so I felt like I was still hungry when I was already done with my three four course meal. Yes I did see some Roaches on the buffet line during lunch and yes there was flies on the food but we at what are you going to do because all the venues were mostly outside course the Flies are going to come the room was beautiful I wouldn't take anything back about the room it was spacious for three people in there the bathroom was also a good size just wish that the little mini bar with the fridgerator had a sink next to it so we can make their drinks but also wanted to leave a couple of comments towards the bartender Claudio & Raphy. The towel guy Luis sweet!!! And our waiter Micheal!!! And can't for get Theo the landscape guy that gave is fresh coconuts every morning, chopped right in front of u. I will be Back for the men. not the food.

Enjoyable vacation except for the food
5 of 5 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Orlando, florida
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year