All

Barcelo Tucancun Beach Reviews

Mexico | Mexico - Cancun Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 118 Reviews
Value
 
3.9
Service
 
3.9
Beaches & Pools
 
4.3
Dining Options
 
3.2
Room Comfort
 
3.6
3.7 out of 5
"Barcelo was great, clean, great staff, good food, cant say enough." – Woody3349
100 out of 135 (74%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
looking out We be Jamin water arobics Great view from room even though the beach was washed, still beautiful! Alberto's famous shots! view from the hotel This is the view from room! Life is Good Beach in front of hotel Old friends at Lobby Bar A Good Day! Buho's sunrise Hotel and adult pool with swim up bar Tiny's Bar! View from our hotel room at Tucacncun

All Barcelo Tucancun Beach Customer Reviews

1-10 of 118 reviews. Sort by
May 26, 2011
Barcelo Tucancun - May 15 - 20, 2011

We recently stayed for 5 nights. Overall I would recommend the Hotel, If you are not looking or a luxurios, extra comfy peaceful place. It was our firt time in Cancun and we really enjoyed it. Staff members are always looking forward to make you feel great, attentive, we really liked the service. Pros: Very well located Gorgeous Beach Several Pools Nightly shows were fun, and better than expected. The Mexican show even had a Mariachi. We really liked that. Daily deals to go clubbing, from the lobby to the clubs and back with hotel staff. Activities by the pool. Cons: Food choices are just OK, nothing special, not even in the restaurants you have to book, meno was OK. Still we always found something we liked, and never felt the need to go out to a restaurant as some people said they did. Beds are hard, but its ok, you're there just for a few nights. Notes: I went with my husband and we were placed in a 2 queen bed room (which felt like full size) Instead of a room with only 1 bed. This was wierd, but we stayed there anyway because we actually liked having the extra bed to put stuff on it, and sometimes when you come in to rest, exhausted after a sunny day out, you enjoy being by yourself in a bed at least for a while. Tours are OK, but some of them a little overpriced. Chichen Itza is a must, and you should book it with a tour company, we payed $109 per person at the hotel. Playa del Carmen, Cozumel, Xcaret, Xplore, and Tulum are all reachable by public transportation. Catch a bus to Cancun downtown towards the ADO bus Station, right there were you get off you can catch a " Colectivo " to any of these places for about $3 - $7 each way. Or cross the street and get on a Mayab or an ADO bus, which are a little more expensive ( a few bucks more) and are express routes. Isla Mujeres, get on a bus towards downtown and get off at " PLAYA TORTUGAS" thats where public ferry departs to the island for $15 round trip. Careful, with people trying to get you before Playa tortugas, they just want to sell you the ticket, and the put you back on the bus, to the ferry place. So go straight to Playa tortugas. At the island you can get 2 tanning beds, an umbrella, and a little table with service the the beach for 20 pesos ( less than $2). We had 2 beers and a soda and payed $8, plus tip. Its really cheap to go there, but the tour companies charge you anywhere from $70 - $90 pp. For all these places, just ask at the reception, they'll tell you. Finally, carefull with the check. Pesos and Dollars have the same symbol, or very similar ($). An american I met said he was charged $200 ( USD) for 3 tacos and 2 margaritas. It was probably $200 PESOS, which makes sense for what he had, and he still payed the 200USD. Probably he asked the server like " $200 for this?? And the server said yes, and made his day..." So, always ask. Most of the time restaurants, stores, transportations, everything is in PESOS. but you can also pay in dollars. thats it. Enjoy your vacations, have fun! We would definetly go back!

View from our hotel room at Tucacncun
65 of 67 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image
Top 250 Contributor
From: VA
Age: 35-44

September 9, 2013
Barcelo...WOW

I don't even know where to being...My husband and I had THE best time ever at the Barcelo. We stayed 7-nights (08/30 - 09/06). As we approached the front of the Barcelo and reached the top stair step we were in paradise, the view from that top step was just amazing, overlooking the crystal clear aqua blue beach water. as we proceeded to the front of the lobby we were greeted by a staff member with a "Bienvenidos" and a glass of champagne, which by the way hit the spot. Our room was on the 3d floor (Rm.3014) very very nice. Clean sheets and towels and a very comfy bed. It had a wrap around balcony with a view to die for, it was out of this world. no matter which way we looked, there was a view, of the beach of course. Room service came by everyday to clean and stock up our mini fridge with lots of goodies. The food was great. We had no need to leave to eat elsewhere. and the alcohol drinks where very well prepared (hint: if you want the best drinks, tip your bartender which by the way are very nice as well as the rest of the staff. My husband and I have been going to Cancun off and on for the past 10-years, never to stay at the same hotel, but this is one that we both said, we will come back to next year. Thank you Barcelo for making our stay the most pleasant and relaxing one ever. :-)


16 of 16 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Long Beach, CA
Age: 35-44
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

March 21, 2011
Beautiful resort...Horrible food

Traveled 3-6-11 thru 3-13-11 Let me tell ya...The beach here is absolutely awesome! The sand extends out as far into the ocean as you can walk and is coral free. If you are an ocean lover and love to play in the surf this is the area for you. The waves are sometimes as high as 5ft as they hit the shallow water. The pools (3) are clean and while I was there warm. People have complained that the pools are not heated....well think about this...this is a tropical climate why in the world would you heat the pools? For a few weeks out of the year? Anyway the staff clean the pools continuously both in and around them. Alcohol was terrible. I am not picky about my surroundings generaly speaking as long as they are clean. However, this resort does not offer premium alcohol in your drinks unless you want it charged to your room. Yes its all inclusive, yes they have premium sitting out but you will not get it without paying extra. What this means is that your fruity frozen drink is not very tasty. Plenty of Corona however was warm. I was there during spring break (im 43) so there were lines for drinks at all bars. The food was not good. I read all the reviews before flying out and thought...what a bunch of whinning cry babies. Well I may be one of them. Breakfast was good...plenty of fruit, eggs, cheese, yogurts and pastries. Lunch was burgers and hotdogs (neither was good) and I love both. Lunch was generally a concoction of last nites left overs. Dinner was sometimes ok, but I had dinner at the so called seafood resteraunt and it was absolutely horrible...really it was. The food that wasn't horrible was just ok. Oh and Im on Mexico how about some mexican food. It was non-existant here. There was nothing that made me say..."wow thats good". Disappointing for me because I love food aand drink. Service was outstanding!!!!! Yes oustanding. Front desk staff was great. FERNANDO you rock and thanks for the room upgrade. THALIA and CONSUELO you ladies are gorgeous and brought me many mojitos (the best cocktail I had there). Thank you to all 3 of you. Remember something.....most complaints are NOT the fault of the service staff. Treat them kindly and you will be amazed at the kindness that is returned. Tip them a few bucks here and there, they work extremely hard for what they are paid. Because of the food and cheap booze I would not return, but the service was really good!


11 of 11 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Lansing, MI
Age: 35-44

January 23, 2012
Good vacation

Everyone wants You too go to their time share. They fight for your business. Worse than a car salesman. The first day and a half wasted fighting of salesman from the airport and hotel and from cheap Caribbean pre paid tours. don't give them eye to eye contact. Be in control. They wait for you when you get off the plane. These tour companies are not nice. You have to be really strong.they will tell you its not safe to use fear to intimidate you. When your ready or before get the tour on your terms and for the best price.They are all attached to time share and vacation club companies. If you have an extra 18,000.00 or 10,00.000 to invest ,go for it. The food is healthy. Its like ground hog day every day. If you know what i mean. The beaches and pools are great. The drinks and food are ok. Save money on the east coast check all airports. cheapest for use to drive three hours leave out of Newark. Bring $150.00 in one dollar bills for tips. The laborers seam to appreciate a two dollar tip. That works in the Dominican also. The workers are really nice people.The people in town are very. You feel very safe. I'm Home and its snowing. It was a nice, fun 7days. Oh the sand never gets hot. Its made up of natural ground sea shells. The best i have ever seen.

Life is Good We be Jamin
14 of 15 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
2.0
User Image
Top 250 Contributor
From: Horseheads NY
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

December 22, 2011
Overall a good experience

This is my first trip to Cancun and it was great. I booked Barcelo based on the price and the overall review rating. Here are the Pro and Con I have regarding the hotel: Pro: 1. Great pool and beach 2. Excellent hotel location, middle of the hotel strip. Bus stop within short walking distance. A nice shipping mall across the road. 3. Friendly Hotel staff 4. Good food in the restaurants, the buffets get a little boring after 5 days, but good selection of food. 5. Open bar, since it's all inclusive Con: 1. Some of the room is not in good shape. The first room we got has broken AC that stuck at highest level and thermal stat was not working. We were switched to another room after request. 2. WiFi connection is very poor constantly dropping, which was irritating since you actually have to pay for it. 3. The bathroom is clean, but could use some remodeling. Water Temp. is not constant, shower head is not good. Overall, I enjoyed my stay at Barcelo. I read some negative review about the front desk. Here are posible explanations: 1. They use $ for Pesos, people might think they are getting ripped off. Dollar are written as $USD. 2. Beware hotel phone is very expensive, I made a local call, which was 75 pesos ~ $USD 6. Use the public phones in the lobby, which was 3 pesos.


8 of 8 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Sunnyvale, CA
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

March 14, 2012
Best quality/price ratio!

This resort is definitely above the average, and located in a very nice spot, right in front of the Kukulcan mall which is quite big. The food is of very good quality (although the choice might not be that diverse). The desserts are the weakest link, they could really do something for improving it. Excellent service, people are friendly and really show concern about your well being. Animation is very poor, definitely the worst I have seen in the Caribbean. There is no disco at the resort either, and what they do is arrange a trip to the clubs with a bus leaving from the resort every night, tickets with open bar are 45$ (60 for Coco Bongo). The beach is excellent, clean and beautiful, though no palm trees, it looks like the typical setting with concrete made resorts, white sand and nothing else around. Wifi is 5$/hour but you can get it for free at the mall, open from 10 am - 10 pm. The room was perfect, everything in place, free minibar refilled every day. Food service is 5$ a call, but you can get all you want (in the all inclusive package). The pools are beautiful and clean. There is no music anywhere but the main pool, they could definitely improve this.


8 of 8 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image
Top 1000 Contributor
From: Durham, NC
Age: 19-24
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

November 8, 2015
Very Satisfied

My boyfriend and I visited Barcelo Tucancun in the beginning of October 2015. Our first time in Mexico, and we loved it. The service was amazing, the hotel its self was incredible. Seriously just like in the pictures, no false advertisement. The only thing that wasn't great was the food. I wasn't a fan at all, except breakfast the omelets were phenomenal! We loved the variety of pools they had to offer, and the distance between the beach and hotel made me so happy, I think we spent more time at the beach because it was so incredibly clean and clear I felt like I was dreaming it was so amazing. The restaurant in the hotel La trattoria opened late or didn't open at all, we never got the chance to eat there. When it comes to bartenders Antonio and Alberto were so incredibly nice and we enjoyed their drinks. I believe it was Alberto that actually taught me how to make one of his famous shots and actually let me make one which was so nice. I will return to this hotel for sure, especially now that they have added more to it! I recommend this place !

Very Satisfied Alberto's famous shots!
7 of 7 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Chicago, IL
Age: 19-24
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

October 23, 2012
good times

had agood time. there where somethings that need to be better, like,room was very hot air did not work. 80 in the room all the time,but the rooms where nice and clean. the beer was draft in plastic cups and warm, that was a joke.. shuttle got there earily. we were told a different time so we had to hurry and left alot of our stuff there. they said they would leave without us and would have to find are own way., that really stunk the food was good they just sould change it up, some always the same food.. the beach was the best ever the pools are great and the people wonderful and friendly.so i would give it a 7 out of 10


11 of 13 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
2.0
User Image

From: new york ny
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

August 3, 2010

This was my first trip on a plane and out of the United States! Everything went very smoothly and we had a wonderful time at Barcelo! We made alot of great new friends and the food was great! The only downfall was that a week before we got there, there was a hurricane, so there was no beach left. The pools were a great alternative though, with fun entertainment! We would definately book a trip with Cheap Caribbean and Barcelo again, and would recommend it to all of our friends!

even though the beach was washed, still beautiful! looking out
5 of 5 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Philadelphia, pa
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

March 7, 2013
good deal for the price

Well my boyfriend and I stayed at barcelo tucancun beach from feb 28th 2013- march 4th and we were not blown away, the hotel is nice, the people are nice, the food is average but the drinks were horrible!!!! and I mean really bad!!, all the drinks tasted like aspertame, or artificially sweetened, I was really upset about that cause i wanted a really good drink. Any way we made the best of our trip by taking a bus which is right by the hotel for $1.00 dollar or 8 pesos to downtown cancun, where all the clubs are and where you can get an EXCELLENT DRINK!!! at MARGUERITAVILLE!, as well as great guacomole, please! go there, cause you will not get it at the hotel. I loved the Michal Jackson show they had in the evening, it was awesome!. We also did an excursion to Xel ha' it was alot of fun, this is a separate fee of about $120 and it included snorkling, biking, canoeing, rope climbing, dolphin attractions, food and drinks, and much much more!!!! it was worth it!!!!!, ONE MORE IMPORTANT THING TAKE THE DOLLAR BUS TO THE CLUBS, DO NOT USE THE HOTELS EXPENSIVELY PRICED SHUTTLE BUSES. SOME PEOPLE MAY NOT KNOW ABOUT THE DOLLAR BUSES MAKE SURE U ASK!!!! Have FUN!!!


5 of 5 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: queens, New york
Age: 35-44
Travel: 3-6 trips/year