All

Barcelo Puerto Vallarta Reviews

Mexico | Mexico - Puerto Vallarta Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 92 Reviews
Value
 
4.2
Service
 
4.2
Beaches & Pools
 
3.9
Dining Options
 
3.5
Room Comfort
 
4.4
4.1 out of 5
"This was our first experience y we liked everything the hotel offered us, so we are planning to return." – moris
87 out of 108 (81%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
one of the pools at night Beach snorkle trip 30 min by boat from hotel View from dinner one night What a pool! a vew from our balcony Wow - what a sunset! Room veiw

All Barcelo Puerto Vallarta Customer Reviews

1-10 of 92 reviews. Sort by
April 19, 2012
We LOVE the Barcelo Puerto Vallarta resort!

This is our second straight year staying at the Barcelo Puerto Vallarta and we LOVE it! We got an excellent package deal via Cheap Caribbean (non-stop flights to/from Seattle on Alaska Airlines, shuttles to/from the airport, and then a great stay at the Barcelo Puerto Vallarta), the weather was wonderful (sunny and 82 degrees every day, with only a bit of clouds the day we arrived and the day we went home). Wonderful pools, an excellent beach, beautiful and comfortable rooms, a great Kid's Club (for ages 5-12... Great activities every day!), and great food. What more could you ask for? The Puerto Vallarta Zoo is just about 1-mile up a dirt/concrete road through a small town, and it a lot of fun. Make sure to purchase a bag of food to feed the animals. Also, if you are up for some "adventure", make sure to sign up for the Los Veranos Canopy Tour! You can register online before you leave home. Then, on your scheduled day, you take a taxi from the front of the hotel about 5-10 minutes south to the Le Kliff restaurant (80 pesos/ $6-$7 dollars as of April, 2012). That's where you meet the Los Veranos shuttle to whisk you up into the jungle to their property on a great river there. The staff is warm, funny, and welcoming and VERY focused on safety. This was a great first experience for our family at ziplining. My wife and I really enjoyed it, and our 6-year old son LOVED it (you have to be at least 6). They bring you back to your hotel for free. We definitely recommend the Barcelo Puerto Vallarta resort and Cheap Caribbean!


31 of 33 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image
Top 1000 Contributor
From: Seattle, WA
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

July 31, 2011
would have been good if not for the bedbugs

The beach was very nice, close to Los Arcos and other awesome beaches, the food was good, the hotel was nice and seemed to be well maintained but the bedbugs messed up everything. We checked in on 3 suites and all had bed bugs. The odd thing about bed bug bites is that you wont see the symptoms right away. It starts showing up a few days before you are ready to leave and gets worse by the time you get home. We were there for a week.


13 of 13 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
1.0
User Image
Top 1000 Contributor
From: California
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

April 11, 2013
Stay at a Rui Resort instead

I recently stayed at the Puerto Vallarta Barcelo resort. I wanted to try something different because I usually stay at the Rui Resorts.Pros is it is a beautiful resort. It is clean and the drinks are strong. Cons: Don't plan on snokeling on site. They will take you to a place for $35. There were two old looking kayakas and no one used them while we were there. The evening entertainment and the food was not that great. Not much food selection. Children are allowed in the pool with the bar even though they have their own pool. I didn't think children should see how stupid some adults act when they drink to much. Take insect repellent. There are little bitting bugs. We were suppose to get two nights in the speciality restaurants. However, the only choice available was the steak restaurant. We got one night because nothing was available for the rest of our stay. We ordered rib eye and they brought us something that was flat and looked like flank steak. It was very fatting tasting so one bite was it for me. However, their desert was good. I reserved a room with two double beds and got one with a king size bed because there were no double bed rooms available. Which I didn't understand. The hotel knew we were coming and had reserved and payed for a certian type of room. I won't be booking at any more Barcelo Resorts. I am going back to booking with the Rui Hotels. Matter of fact , I'm going to stay at the Rui in Costa Rica in a few weeks.


10 of 10 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
2.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: California
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

September 22, 2011
A good Value

This place is really nice. There are 4 pools, a swim up bar, waterfalls, a water slide, and water volleyball. The room was really nice too and well maintained. The suite was huge for the two of us, you could easily fit a family in there. The buffet was just okay. Beautiful views but the food was just okay. Their restaurants though were really great. We learned a little secret while there, if you go to the reservation desk after 3pm you can make a reservation for a nice dinner without using one of the coupons they give you. This allowed us to eat well 3 nights even though we only had two coupons. The negatives...even though they say tip is included, plan on tipping. If you don't, do not expect good service or any attention. We spent about $300 tipping over the course of 5 days. Also, this is really far out there from town. This was nice for our romantic honeymoon, but made it difficult to go to town. Also, it's hard booking excursions, I think probably because you are so far from town. We booked snorkeling through the hotel and the tour guides never showed up. There are plenty of people on the beach offering to take you out, but it was hard to know who to trust. We ended up just lounging by the pool instead.

View from dinner one night
8 of 8 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Martinez, CA
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

September 19, 2016
Repeat customers

We have been coming here last 5 years! We have also stayed Barcelo Bavaro in Dominican Republic! Great suites, very roomy to move around & great value!

Repeat customers
8 of 8 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: San Francisco, CA
Age: 55-64
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

August 5, 2015
Good Vacation

I stayed at Barceló Tropical and Colonial in Riviera Maya in 2014 and I loved it so I decided to stay at Barceló Puerto Vallarta for my 2015 vacation. I stayed July 29-August 3rd. Overall, a good vacation. On the first night, we were told the buffet was not good and it was VERY humid so we were worried about the rest of our vacation. Turns out, we had nothing to worry about. The buffet food was great, the weather turned out to be just fine. The first day was cloudy but the next three were nothing but sun. (Be prepared for short rain showers in the middle of teh day if you go during the rainy season though! But no worries, the clouds pass very quickly and the sun comes back out.) The three fancy restaurants were delicious (although we did not try the Italian restaurant). The room was GREAT. It was just my friend and me, yet we were put in a gigantic room that could have fit 6 people. The Barcelo staff is so amazing and friendly. Tony at the Cantina was awesome. Gilberto and Okimy, who ran the entertainment, were so much fun. Overall, we loved our trip! I have no qualms about Barceló at all. The only downfall to our vacation was the beach. Generally, the Pacific side of Mexico has rougher beaches so if you're looking for a great BEACH, then I would recommend the Gulf side of Mexico (Riviera Maya had an amazing beach). The beach here was okay, just not great. It was kind of small and rocky. But if you're just looking for a relaxing time at the pool, Barceló Puerto Vallarta was awesome.


7 of 7 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: St. Louis, MO
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

May 25, 2016
Left 4 days early!

My husband and I travel pretty often and we were really looking forward to our trip to Puerto Vallarta. Our experience started out okay. Flight was delayed, we arrived late- no big deal not the resorts fault obviously, but when we did arrive it wasn't a very inviting feel. We checked in and went to our room. We were very impressed- it was huge and very nice! The only complaint was the bed was uncomfortable and they never filled our mini bar despite us asking and leaving $20 US dollar tips per day. The service was average at best at the bars/restaurants. There was only one restaurant open each day so not a lot of variety. The entire time we just didn't feel very comfortable or like there was much to do. There were bus loads (literally) of locals coming on the 2nd and 3rd days, so it was pretty crowded and understaffed. We literally were bored after 3 days so we booked a completely new flight and came home 4 days early. We love Barcelo hotels and it's our go to brand but we will not be back to this one.


7 of 7 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 2
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
2.0
Beaches & Pools
 
2.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
2.0
User Image

From: Denver Colorado
Age: 25-34
Travel: 7+ trips/year

September 13, 2016
Good but Front Desk/Concierge Needs Improvement

The property and room were really exceptional. We had a suite with a partial ocean view. The poolside and restaurant service was great and attentive. However, we ran into issues with the front desk upon check-in. We arrived a little after 4 pm and were not informed that we needed to make dinner reservations for the special restaurants no later than 5pm. So by the time we got our room, it was too late. Upon calling they added us to the restaurant "as a favor." That's a bit insulting. The front desk also didn't inform us that we needed to tell the bellhop which room we were checking into. So, we waited nearly an hour to get our bags. We had to call about that as well. The concierge desk had only one person who was helpful for getting reservations but the others were more interested in saying "no" than trying to work on alternative dinner plans or making a minimum effort. If the initial check-in has better communication, many problems will resolve themselves. Otherwise, the beach was fine but small. The pools are very pretty and accessible with good service.


6 of 6 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Pasadena, CA
Age: 35-44
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

October 10, 2011
Anniversary Vacation

My husband and I stayed at Barcelo Peurto Vallarta to celebrate our 3rd wedding anniversary. We were upgraded to the Romance package and given a beautiful ocean view room on the top floor. We also received a bottle of champagne and petit fors in our room upon arrival, as well as 25% off a massage in the spa (which was wonderful I must admint). The staff of Barcelo was outstanding, the accomadations were first rate and the food in the restaurants was superior. All in all we had a wonderful vacation experience, and plan on visiting other Barcelo resorts in our future travels. Definitely a 5 Palms experience. Thanks Barcelo and staff for a simply wonderful experience.


8 of 9 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Erie
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

December 2, 2015
Great resort, totally underrated!!

I did a lot of research before I planned this trip for 9 of us. The rooms are huge and clean. The entire resort & pool area, beach etc. is very clean. Showers are clean and very large also. The beach is fairly small, but we are pool people so that wasn't an issue. Pool/entertainment staff was very friendly!! Meals were always great. My only complaint is there needed to be a little more variety in the food at the buffet. Menu's for restaurants were great. Referral from a family that has been going to this resort for 9 years to talk to Sergio on the beach, that took 6 of us on a snorkeling & fishing excursion that was excellent. He dove down with us and showed us starfish, blowfish and we caught a HUGE mahi mahi that his brother cooked up for us in his restaurant right around the corner from the resort (Juan's place). I would absolutely recommend this place to a friend.


7 of 8 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Lindenhurst, IL
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year