All

Barcelo Montelimar Beach Reviews

Central America | Nicaragua Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 8 Reviews
Value
 
2.9
Service
 
2.6
Beaches & Pools
 
2.9
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
2.8
3.2 out of 5
5 out of 8 (62%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
pool area cabana's Hotel Pool Area

All Barcelo Montelimar Beach Customer Reviews

1-8 of 8 reviews. Sort by
May 1, 2012
Barcelo Montelimar Nicaragua

As English-speaking customers, we would have been in a world of hurt had it not been for my wife's recall of high school Spanish. We found only two employees who could communicate in English. Nonetheless, we were able to get what was needed. The facility is aging although very well maintained by the efficient staff. The food offerings were good although pretty repetitive for a seven day stay. For party-goers there are shows and a casino each night starting around 9:00 or 10:00 and lasting until early morning. The pool area is large with a snack area in the middle of the pool. The jacuzzi is nearby and large enough to hold 20 or more comfortably. Avoid the miniature golf course unless you want to experience old clubs and balls and a course designed by the Marquis de Sade. One hole ends in a 24 inch high volcanic cone. Good luck on that par 23 hole. On the positive side, the beach and water were nice with small to moderate swells. The water is murky but comfortable. There is plenty of beach to enjoy and not feel crowded. The grounds are delightful viewing. You are typically under a canopy of tropical jungle foliage with abundant flowers everywhere. The wide walkways give you a feel of openness under the canopy. Getting to the resort is your typical Central American taxi ride with heavy use of the horn. It's best not to look. Also, expect to pay $170 as of April, 2012 round trip from Managua. It takes about 1 1/2 hours with not a lot of scenery along the way. If you plan to use the internet it will cost you $15 for a two day wireless connection which only works in the lobby area. You can also use one of three laptops for $7 an hour. Horseback riding is available but the horses are on a sabbatical Tuesday through Thursday. Also, the crowds appear on Thursday night and Friday and leave on Monday. Tuesday through Thursday we shared the facility with probably no more than forty other guests. Overall, if you are looking for a trip where your goal is relaxation and rest, this is a good choice. The rooms are satisfactory although television options for English-speaking customers are limited to five channels, only one of which does not include Spanish sub-titles. Don't plan on hot showers - lukewarm is about the maximum. We were able to eat everything and drink the water with absolutley no adverse consequences.

Pool Area Hotel
98 of 104 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image
Top 100 Contributor
From: Texas
Age: Over 65
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

November 19, 2012
Super Resort!

We just returned from our vacation at the Barcelo Montelimar Beach. Generally, we loved it. The resort itself is beautiful, the staff was very helpful and friendly, and the food was excellent! We received much personal attention from individuals in housekeeping, reception, dining and bars. The only down side was that we were unable to swim off the beach because of tides and strong waves. (I believe this was because of the season.) Our only other problem was that transfers were not offered with our package. In checking with the resort, we found that the cost would be $90 each way. So we decided to rent a car for our week stay, which turned out to be just a bit more than the $180 we would have had to pay, and therefore we'd also have a car. Even though we had printed driving directions from the airport to the resort, we had a lot of difficulty navigating to the hotel. (Street and highway signs are not marked and, given that we arrived in the evening, it was dark and we could not see landmarks or the sun. Also, since we do not speak too much Spanish, we had difficulty understanding directions from the locals, even though they tried their best.) Somehow, we finally reached the resort, but we had the same problem returning to Managua at the end of our vacation. We decided to leave the resort one day early and booked our final night at the Barcelo Managua at an additional cost. It's a good thing we did, since it took us about 2 1/2 extra hours just being lost. Overall, the trip was excellent, the resort was fabulous, the food and drink were plentiful and delicious, and the people of Nicaragua are very friendly and gracious.


35 of 36 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Vail, AZ
Age: 55-64
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

May 29, 2015
No Go.

If you want to go to a nice resort with some nearby options, don't go here! The resort is far from anything. The food is awful and almost the same things served every day. The staff is inconsistent and knows nothing of customer service or how guests should be treated. The only thing good I can say about the place is that most of the guest don't even go to the beach so you'll almost have the beach to yourself. Other than that I can't say anything good about this place.


18 of 20 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 2
Value
 
1.0
Service
 
1.0
Beaches & Pools
 
2.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
1.0
User Image
Top 1000 Contributor
From: Washington, DC
Age: 35-44
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

November 13, 2012
We loved our trip, but....

We didn't expect this hotel to be the same as the Barcelo Resorts we love in Mexico. But there were unexpected problems. We had several e-mails with the hotel regarding transportation from the airport. We were promised a driver to meet us. This did not happen. Fortunately, an English speaking taxi rep helped us and we got a taxi to the hotel. The hotel is beautiful, the grounds and beach are wonderful. We wished we had prepared better with our Spanish, as most of the staff had no English. Almost all of the guests were also Spanish speakers, so we had to work with our limited Spanish to communicate. Our visit to the Masaya Volcano was the highlight of the trip. Worth everything. Granada and Lake Nicaragua are also wonderful., Expect a little less. and enjoy the experience. We thought it was a great experience for the value.


20 of 23 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
2.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image
Top 1000 Contributor
From: Chillicothe, Ohio
Age: Over 65
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

August 12, 2014
Beautiful Country

We were supposed to stay at this resort for 5 nights. We only ended up staying 3 nights and that was too long! The hotel property is beautiful well kept and clean as were the rooms. We found the staffing unhelpful and a bit rude.We tipped after every drink(beer) ordered while it seemed most other guests did not, and the employees did not say thank you or even appear gracious. We tried making reservations at the "special" restaurant on several different occasions, the front desk said we had to make them at the buffet, the buffet said we had to make them at the restaurant we walked up to the restaurant/casino and it was closed. The next day we had tried at the buffet again for that night and they said we had to make them the day before. It was awful especially since we were stuck eating at the buffet, the same par food morning noon and night.. As it got closer to the weekend the resort became very crowded with what seemed to be a lot of local families and multiple children making the pool feeling very cramped, we ended up seeking most of our peace and quiet on the beach, which was beautiful! But make sure you bring some drinks and a bottle of water, the closest place to get a drink was the buffet or the pool. We checked out early and set up some private tours and a retreat at a bed and breakfast which was the way to go. We saw so much of the beautiful countryside, culture and cities. I will be returning to Nicaragua, however a stop at this sub par Barcelo property will not be in my future


20 of 24 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
1.0
Service
 
1.0
Beaches & Pools
 
2.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Port Saint Lucie, FL
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

May 20, 2013
A waste of our money.

It was not what we expected to be,The add on the resort was very deceiving.Upon arrival to the airport we took a taxi that took us two hours to get to the resort at a cost of $85.00 us dollars because the resort itself does not provide transportation .The drive to the resort was so sad it brought tears to my eyes this country is so poor and yet the people that lives there are so content with what they have god bless them .Upon arrival to the resort we checked in to one of their hut " " NOT A GOOD IDEA'' '' The toilet didn't flush we had to call maintenance , and while taking a shower the shower handle stayed in our hands . and the housekeeping in the room horrible .I had to notify them to clean the room and also give us soap and extra towels which was so old i felt like i was trying myself with sandpaper. When out and about at the resort area it was not the cleanest place the gym was out door and it was rusty and old.They have one restaurants sometimes when the resort was not full they would use the casino as a restaurant and trust me it didn't make a difference the food was not all that .On that note being so disappointed with stay at this resort which was not any ones mistake but ours for not doing better research. ""MY HUSBAND AND I "" Had decided to donated all of excursions money to the staff instead at the resort for all there hard work. " I DO NOT RECOMMEND THIS PLACE IF YOUR TRYING TO HAVE FUN THIS IS NOT THE PLACE TO GO TO . oh and don't be fooled the same way they speak spanish they speak english. " GOD BLESS NICARAGUA.


32 of 42 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 1
Value
 
1.0
Service
 
2.0
Beaches & Pools
 
2.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
1.0
User Image

From: VIRGINIA BCH
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

May 20, 2016
So-So Experience

The hotel was beautiful as soon as we pulled up, but the service, amenities, food and entertainment lacked. Some of the staff were rude and seemed to be bothered to be there. There was very little English spoken and they did not want to deal with you trying to speak Spanish. There are 3 restaurants there, other than the buffet and snack bars, that were not open when we requested to make reservations. Even if they were open we were told when we got there that we only get 2 meals at the restaurant and the rest needed to be at the buffet. This is unlike any other all-inclusive I've been to. The food at the buffet was okay, nothing great. As far as amenities, the pools were nice and well taken care of. There was horseback riding and ATVs to rent but you were limited to where you could go. There were 3 surfboards available for rent that weren't great quality and were old. The WiFi is only accessible in the lobby of the hotel, not throughout the hotel as stated in the description. Not a problem for me since I wanted to disconnect, but could be a problem for others. Overall, it was fine for my purpose to get away and relax, but it didn't leave me with a desire to return.


8 of 9 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
2.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: NYC
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

April 27, 2015
pretty good get away

The resort overall was beautifully surrounded by greenery. Palm trees, flowers, plants…You get a lovely cabana with a hammock outside of it. The room has it's necessities. Complimentary bottled water, soda and 2 beer cans in the fridge daily. It is nothing fancy, but it is well worth the affordable price you pay. We did have two lizards in our room during our stay and you find those tiny ants around. But you are again surrounded by all this land. Make sure you make special arrangements with this hotel to have someone come pick you up or take you to the airport if you need to because they do not offer you roundtrip transfers. This hotel is not a close ride from the airport. It is between an hour and a half to an hour and fourty five minutes away. Also note that this hotel does not offer you any kind of excursions or tours that you can purchase through them. You would have to make your own arrangements. If you inquire with them, they can arrange for a chaufer that will charge you just to drive you to where you want to go. But you will have to have an idea of what you want to do and where you want to visit. The pool was clean and very large. But they do not offer the swim up bar that they advertise. They say that they do not have anyone to work it and that it's dangerous for them to get up and down to serve the people at the swim up bar. The all inclusive food is the daily buffet and the snack shack by the pool/bar area. They do have two other restaurants on the premises, but you are only able to eat at those restaurants once every third day of your stay. The beach is right there, but most of the guests are by the pool. If you want to go to a very basic all inclusive resort to just be away from your normal routine, this place is great.

pool area cabana's
7 of 8 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: New York, NY
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year