All

Barcelo Maya Palace Deluxe Reviews

Mexico | Riviera Maya Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 118 Reviews
Value
 
4.5
Service
 
4.5
Beaches & Pools
 
4.9
Dining Options
 
4.3
Room Comfort
 
4.2
4.6 out of 5
"Very nice resort, but very large. Very well manicured. Restaurants were very good, as were buffets. Beds were very uncomfortable. I maybe would not go back because of the beds." – TigerFan
125 out of 136 (92%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Panoramic view View from the lobby level awesome beach!! Main pool Beach Pool View Beach from the hotel View from lobby area Pool Pool in the morning...

All Barcelo Maya Palace Deluxe Customer Reviews

1-10 of 118 reviews. Sort by
April 8, 2015
Excellent Rersort

Take the tram to the Club makes it easy. The Club was Bumping !!! Take Dinner Rolls to the beach ....the sea turtles will eat them from your hand while your swimming...... they show up every day !!! Adult pool was our number 1 find. Quiet !!!! Dinner was great never a problem to get a reservation. We just showed up and tipped the Manager $5. Got a great table , Great service and excellent dining experience!!! Staff was friendly and helpful , Rooms were top notch !!!


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Hazleton , Pennsylvania
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

April 6, 2015
Barcelo Maya Palace

First thing to say is this resort is BEAUTIFUL! ! the pools, grounds and beaches were fantastic. The folks who worked there were very friendly and treated us well. I would definitely recommend this for a family getaway. Food: very typical all inclusive. Buffets for breakfast and lunch I would call average. Many choices for all, omlette station, grill station etc. A lot of fresh fruits and breads. Dinner buffet just so so. The fancy restaurants were very good but make your reservations when you get there as rhey fill up and men must were pants. Rooms: we had a JR suite deluxe w 2 double beds for my family of 4. They were nicely large and had 2 couches that were really day beds so the kids slept on them. The beds very very hard (was a little disappointed in that) but all had balconies . Bring: snorkeling gear. Lot's of fish right on the beach and we fed a see turtle bananas right out of our hand way cool!! Also bring a large tumbler to drink from as they give you small plastic cups and your drinks get warm quickly. I would also gett the private car to take you to your hotel as its about a 45 min drive.


1 of 1 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: cincinnati
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

March 29, 2015

trip was great till the kids showed up for spring break. took over the pools, to loud, rude and keeping up to much noise. the staff was great. the food was good, but to much of the same thing every day. drinks was to watered down! over all great trip


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Maryland
Age: 45-54
Travel: 7+ trips/year

March 27, 2015
great for kids

we love this place, we have been there 5 times. the kid's club program is great, the girls that run it, like Fabiola, are great. the kids love it, and you can get some time to yourselves. the only thing i can think of that management should address is that sometimes many of the items on the huge dinner buffets are cold. there are plenty of choices, so you can always go though and find great things that are not cold, but we waste food throwing out cold entrees. the rooms are large and really nice, the beds are hard as they often are in Mexico, we don't mind it but some people do. the grounds are gorgeous and the staff is attentive and friendly.


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Ohio
Age: 55-64
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

March 26, 2015
excellent

My husband and I went to mexico for the first time. We stayed at the Barcelo Maya Palace , and it was a wonderful experience. The staff was so friendly and eager to please you. It was not only beautiful but very clean in all areas of the resort. I was amazed and very pleased. Can't wait to go back.


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: tulsa Oklahoma
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

March 23, 2015
Cheap? No. Value? Definitely.

We stayed at Barceló Maya Palace Deluxe. It exceeded our expectations. Huge pool, bountiful buffets, but the beach was the best part. The chairs by the pool filled up quickly, but there was always room at the beach. The water was warm, clear and teeming with aquatic life. I got amazing pictures of schools of fish and especially of sea turtles (I used a waterproof Olympus Tough). We also had a terrific trip to Chichen Itza, thanks to Amstar/Apple Vacations, through a connection to CheapCarribean.com. Never mind the name; it's a real value, not a cheap thing at all.


1 of 1 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Metro Denver, CO
Age: Over 65
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

September 13, 2014
Good vacation

I would like to thank Cheapcararibbean, and Barcelo Maya Palace, mi wife and I, had same problems with the room, first room hade a toilet that was not working properly, then they transfer us to another room, and the door did not lock, they fixed, but the safety handle inside did not work at all, they said that they will comback tu fixed, but never hapen, then started working in the next room, they ware breaking walls by hammer, then they painted and paint gat into the A/C. we had to lived the room, becouse we could not breath so we coul not use the A/C so we can sleep, we called the personal in charge and few of then came but never resolve anything, we stayed for 9 days, as far the place it's excelent, we are sure that BARCELO administration will take this matters in concideration and fixed, yes we'll be back next year.


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Los Angeles
Age: Over 65
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

September 4, 2014
Still one of the best

Second time at this resort...first was in 2008. Pros: Huge, resort; awesome pools and lots of them; great restaurants - food was the best we've had at any resort; coral reefs right off resort for snorkeling that are still in good shape...saw stingrays, marine turtles, etc, every day; nice shops; very friendly staff that are almost all multi-lingual; family friendly atmosphere; nice evening entertainment, nice workout facilities. Cons: Some of the rooms have very hard/cheap mattresses...we moved to another room and the mattresses were really nice in the second room; some construction noise right by our first room....they changed our room to the other side of the building, which really helped; Internet policy is strange and very backward. Internet is not included and when we paid for it, we were limited to a single session per device. If you don't log off, you can't get back on with a different device. Wake up Barceló....people posting resort photos to Facebook is a GOOD thing for you. Making internet access more difficult works against you. Better internet is a small price to pay for better publicity. There were often lines at the front desk for checkin and other service. 10-15 minutes in line was not uncommon during peak periods. They need 4 people at the front desk during peaks instead of 2. That said, Barceló Palace Deluxe is still one of the best family-friendly all-inclusives on the Riviera Maya. It is certainly one of the best values as well. The resort is so expansive that we still have yet to visit all the sites, despite repeat visits. It is virtually impossible to run out of new, exciting things to do at Barceló RM.


1 of 1 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Madison, WI
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

September 2, 2014
Vacation of a Life Time

Barceló Maya Palace Deluxe was beyond anything I could have imagined in a vacation. It was like arriving to a palace where everyone took care of you and the service was extremely friendly. This was my first time to Mexico and let me tell you, it was the best vacation I have taken in 26 years. I was completely mind blown. The food was amazing, and I mean everything from the breakfast to lunch to dinner, everything was great! The rooms where spacious and had all accommodations to make our stay a great one. The entertainment was awesome as well, they had lots to do and fun shops to check out. The pool was out of this world and so was the beach. When I say this is a trip of a life time I mean it 100%. There wasn't one thing I wasn't happy with. I would recommend this to anyone looking for an all inclusive get away. And cheapcaribbean made it happen. Their service was exceptional and everything went according to plan. Looking forward to booking my next one.


1 of 1 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Newark,DE
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

September 2, 2014
Best Anniversary Trip b

Went to Barcello Palace for our anniversary Wow what can I say from the AWSOME beach to the pool bars to the al a carte restaurants helpful staff ! We arrived on 8.24.2014 at check in the line was a little slow but they gave us drinks while we waited after we went to guest services and made our dinner reservations for the week, highly recommended !!! You can't just walk up except for buffet which serve a ton of food and full bar service. We also were able to book our excursions with our Amstar rep who provided our airport shuttle, also very good. As for the restaurants the French restaurant is very good and service very good ! Also went to the Brazilian and hibatchi restaurant at the resort next door also a barcelo so you can go to each if you stay at the palace. The steak and lobster was excellent Several pools to chose from and a 24 hr lobby bar and shows throughout the week. Rooms were very nice with large shower and tub area two couches and a mini bar with fridge full of a variety of beverages. One thing to note if your looking for an adult only there's is an adult pool very nice with its own bar area and cabanas you can reserve. This place is very kid friendly and would be great for family's with children lots of activity here. But plenty of places to get your quiet time. My only knock is the only beer all they offer is Corona but lots of top shelf liquor if you request it ! Would be nice if they could offer a better variety of beer selections. However we made due trying all kinds of other drinks they offered to make us. Also we tipped a dollar or two per person at each meal due to the excellent service we received and gave the maid service a nice tip when we left our room was always spotless and fridge restocked daily. Although tipping not required. Now to the beach this pace is so huge that you have probably a half mile to chose from we saw sea turtles and cool fish rite in from of our hotel and youn can use the other 4 properties facilities it's a short walk on the beach or there is a shuttle every ten minutes. We used the spa for massages and loved it were able to get a deal through guest services and there is also a shopping mall down by the disco which is also included with your package very fun place to get a drink and dance if your into that ! All in all a very good trip and are planning on going back soon.

View from lobby area Main pool
1 of 1 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Placentia California
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year