All

Barcelo Maya Palace Deluxe Reviews

Mexico | Riviera Maya Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 105 Reviews
Value
 
4.5
Service
 
4.5
Beaches & Pools
 
4.9
Dining Options
 
4.2
Room Comfort
 
4.2
4.6 out of 5
"People are warm and helpful food was great, pools clean and ocean warm and full of exotic fish and turtles! Great vacation!!"
110 out of 121 (91%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Beach from the hotel Beach View from the lobby level Pool in the morning... Pool View Panoramic view awesome beach!! Pool

All Barcelo Maya Palace Deluxe Customer Reviews

1-10 of 105 reviews. Sort by
August 12, 2014
Picture Perfect Vistas

Great resort. Prefect for families and couples. We were torn between Dreams Puerto Aventuras, Paradisus Playa del Carmen and Barcelo Maya Palace Deluxe. This was the right choice. The property is pristine. The service was great. The food was good, considering it is an all-inclusive. The kids club was good too. One thing i loved was that this was a HUGE resort but i never felt crowded, unlike cruises where i feel like cattle. Another plus was the air conditioning. This was a necessity in August. Many all inclusive resorts have a lot of open air restaurants. In the heat of the summer this can get nasty. but all the restaurants here are in air-conditioning and the food looks good. The fruit looks good. The salad looks good. I've been to resorts where things sit out and it just leaves me scared to eat. Here i saw the staff checking the food quality. The beach was beautiful. There were rocky places but it just added to the beauty. There was plenty of perfect sandy area. The kids' water park was amazing. There were two, one at the Palace and one at the property next door. My 5 y/o loved them. The kids club was OK. My daughter went once and liked it the second time we tried it was chaos and there was only one attendant. Pool service was great too. We upgraded to the premium and it was worth it. It gave us a pool front room. If i wasn't going to get pool front i would not have done it. This didn't seem available through Cheap Caribbean. The negative, the dolphin area was tiny. It made me sad to see 5-7 dolphins in a tiny pool. And the dolphin experience here is not worth the money. Do that at Dreams.

View from the lobby level
0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Miami, FL
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

August 12, 2014
Great family trip

We took our four kids, ages 20 - 16. It was perfect, they had a wonderful time, so we did too! The Barcelo is super clean, the service was amazing. Lots of fun things to do or you could just float around the pool for hours. The beach was clean. We got to see sea turtles 20 feet off of the shore. Food was great, but you need to make reservations for the nicer restaurants as soon as you check in. The room was beautiful, the bathroom was really cool. Only negative was the bed was hard.


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Philadelphia
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

August 1, 2014
Great resort

Barceló was fantastic, would highly recommend. Very clean, very nice accommodations. The restaurants were good although the buffets could be a little better! Bars and pools were great, but should have been open longer. Especially the adult pool, only open until 7:00!


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: New York
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

July 28, 2014
Excellent Deal!! More than we bargained for

This was an first time amazing experience for a young couple and three young adults. We were looking for a relaxed experience yet still looking to have fun and enjoy ourselves. First of all the resort is immaculate, this is the best one out the whole complex of three or four hotels in the same area, which one can access whenever or eat at their restaurants (other resort guests can't come to this one or use the facilities) Drinks were extremely easy to get( either with tip or no tip) The beaches were nice and clean, no pesky time share people which we were worried about hearing it from others about the area, (this is a private resort) We even took a class on wind sailing and did kayaking at the hotel for free. One thing I would recommend is if you're looking to snorkel on the beach, buy or bring your own equipment as they make you hold a deposit for one or two hours I believe (for the same price you can own your stuff and snorkel as long as you want) the cabanas and chairs were no hassle to get at anytime. Our food was excellent, so many fresh juices, fruits and the buffet was top notch, a la carte and the service was impeccable. We made reservations the day of with no problem and even got to change the time about an hour before we originally scheduled, we tried the Japanese(which was good) and the Brazilian( which was ok, same as the buffet, I was expecting Rodizzio service) The rooms were awesome and very modern and eco friendly( the lights turned off and the a/c turned off when you left but it was still cool enough when we got back to the room. Beds were firm and by the third night it was uncomfortable but I never woke up with back pain that I got from other beds which is an indication of they really must be orthopedic firm beds as the matress says. The amenities in the bathroom were great, fancy blowdryer for my wife, bathrobes, iron, so much little bathroom things even Qtips!! the bathroom shower has a dispenser on the wall for shampoo,conditioner and shower gel. The rooms were always stocked, our safe didn't work, but we used our other friends safe with no problem. I asked for the Oaxaca building which was far, but worth it to get some sleep, it was a little bit of a walk but we didn't mind, we always passed the beach and the amazing crystal clear pools. The nightime shows were ok, nothing to write home about but it was something to do to pass time. One thing I really hope they consider is having a food bar or leaving a restaurant open for late eaters like ourselves or even if one goes out of the hotel and comes back after the restaurants close which was 8pm. We were hungry at midnight from all the shenanigans and we only could get nuts and popcorn....I highly highly recommend doing the XPlore fuego excursion...you will not regret it. Ziplines over jaguars and alligators and even through fire, ATV, kayaking(with hand paddles!!!) a walking through the river under a cave tour! this was all done at night and the park is lit with torches so it adds an amazing experience, they provide you with as much juice and snacks as you want, we did the package with the buffet which was extremly worth it. They have a basement where one can book all the excursions and your transportation. It will help you tremendously if you speak spanish, we asked the waiters and waitresses and they gave us tips and hints where to go and how to get cheap trips, cab rides, what shops to go to etc. We were able to score a cab ride back for all five of us for $15 when it normally costs $70! Nightlife: eh none at all, the other hotel has a club called jaguar, but to put it plainly..it sucked! lots of techno and just booming music, not enjoyable, they have a tram that takes you to the sister hotel that runs through 2am, some of the shows at the other hotels were supposedly better from what we talked to some guests. My advice is brush up on your spanish (it helps a lot) make friends with guests(some of them can help you our or give you hints) and enjoy your time, take lots of pictures( I highly highly recommend a waterproof,sand proof camera i got a fujixp specifically for this and it was amazing how I can look back at the pictures and be brought back again) Oh and don't do what I did and not bring extra batteries for the camera!! WIll definitively come back.


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Kansas City, MO
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

July 27, 2014
Something for everyone!

We stayed at Barcelo Maya Palace... We took our entire family. My husband and I loved every minute of the entire trip!! And so did our 3 children whose ages are varied, 20, 15, and 12. We couldn't get of anything! We did the Jungle Maya excursion--phenomenal!! All the kids swam with the dolphins on the resort grounds--terrific experience and money well spent! Food was great, service was great! Pools and the beach were all amazing!!! <3 One complaint I would have is that some of the restrooms were not as clean as I would have liked and the smell was unpleasant...only a couple, the others were very clean and fresh smelling. If we could manage the time off and the financing we'd go back tomorrow!! We will definitely return to this resort when we return to Cancun :)


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Louisiana
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

July 25, 2014
riviera maya mexico

hotels was bbeautiful was everything i expected to be. had a wonderful time. only thing was my ride from airport to hotel. Iwas picked up in a van 10 minutes into my ride we stop. pull over and traded cars . they put us in a dirty compact car. we were told that the reason we traded cars was there was contruction going on and that oour van was to high to get in the resort. we got there there was no contruction. i was very displease with the car service.


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: indiana
Age: 45-54

July 17, 2014
Perfect

We had rented a house for our last visit and loved it! This was our first time all-inclusive. Hands down the best experience!


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Northeast Ohio
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

July 16, 2014
Gorgeous

The Barcelo Premium Deluxe Resort is amazing I would go again I miss it already It rain for 1 day and half the next day but not to bad


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Shelby Twp, Michigan
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

July 10, 2014
Cindy Beautiful Resort

Hotel was beautiful. The walk to your rooms is really far. We went with a bunch of family and could not get dinner reservations together yet when we went to the restaurants they were empty. Also were told there were no tables available then place would be empty. Also the beds were awful but the couches slept great doesn't make since in this nice of hotel.


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
2.0
User Image

From: AR
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

July 8, 2014
Greatest resort ever

Everything was excellent, the food, the staff, the room. Fernando at the French restaurant was exceptional. All around great time.


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: West Virginia
Age: 35-44
Travel: 3-6 trips/year