All

Barcelo Maya Palace Deluxe Reviews

Mexico | Mexico - Riviera Maya Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 211 Reviews
Value
 
4.4
Service
 
4.4
Beaches & Pools
 
4.8
Dining Options
 
4.3
Room Comfort
 
4.3
4.6 out of 5
"This was our third trip to Barcelo here in the Riviera Maya. We brought with us six other people / two families. We all were very satisfied with everything. Nice trip." – BigR
216 out of 239 (90%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
awesome beach!! View from lobby area Pool View from the lobby level Main pool Elegance at its best Pool in the morning... Beautiful pool. Panoramic view Love makes the world a happy place Beach from the hotel Pool View Beach

All Barcelo Maya Palace Deluxe Customer Reviews

1-10 of 211 reviews. Sort by
April 29, 2011 Featured Review
Great vacation!

My wife and I have vacationed at Barcelo three times now. The Palace is, by far, the most beautiful, the rooms extremely clean and well-appointed, and the grounds immaculately groomed and landscaped. The staff was very helpful and friendly, especially the waiters in the restaurants. The pools are crystal clear and beaches were lovely, the best we've been to in Mexico. This resort is appropriate for families, large groups and couples. Six weddings took place while we were there. Many families with small children were also vacationing there. Overall, our experience was very good. The food is only average, but the numbers of choices are excellent. Our only minor complaint was that the cabanas at the adult pool were always full. The same couples got them every morning and kept them all day long. There are many activities going on at the resort all day long for those of you wanting to keep busy. The non-motorized sports are free and plentiful. We enjoyed kayaking, snorkeling and feeding the fish. There are a great number of tours available, but we decided to stay at the resort this time and found it much more relaxing. Because it's an enormous resort, we never felt crowded or rushed to find our spot at the pools or beach. Cheap Caribbean did a great job coordinating our travel to and from the airport in Cancun. We will definitely vacation here again.


27 of 28 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Wyoming
Age: 55-64
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

February 20, 2017
Not that great, mediocre for the money.

This is my first review ever. I don't think the reviews for this hotel are accurate, so I felt compelled to provide a few details. I've been to about 9 different resorts in Playa, most of which I would go back, this is not one of them. The rooms is okay, but the mattress was lopsided and sheets felt like plastic. The main issues for me were the missed room cleanings, not refilling the minibar (we had to call the front desk daily), dirty glasses at the wetbar, no internet service (unless you pay about 8 dollars a day to have one device connected at a time), no drink service at the beach and small staff, most are extremely friendly, but not very accommodating. Other then the buffet, you will have a difficult time making reservations. We had to take what the concierge had available. We stayed for 8 days and we were only able to get the restaurant we wanted the very last day. The hotel was not full, probably about 60% capacity, and the restaurants never full, but we were still turned away from every single restaurant we tried. It seems like they don't really want you to go to the nicer restaurants and have everyone going to the buffet. I think you can get a more comfortable stay for the money at a different resort. Good luck.


11 of 11 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 2
Value
 
2.0
Service
 
1.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
2.0
User Image

From: Denver
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

May 30, 2013
Our Experience

Travelled May 15-21, Barceló Maya Palace Deluxe We arrived mid-morning and were able to check-in early. Our room was not available until 3ish but they held our luggage for us and allowed us to have access to the lunch buffet, pools and bars. The staff at the front desk was friendly and professional. The advertised room credit is actually discount coupons to use throughout the resort. (Complete waste for us.) We had requested 3 rooms, preferably one handicap room with at least one room adjoining, and a third room close by. At check-in they quickly realized our need for the handicap room and met our room requests without hesitation. Met with concierge immediately after check-in and reserved dinner reservations. Per day, you can book up to three night’s dinner reservations. Space was available at all our requested restaurants. Tokyo was our favorite! Dinner restaurants were good. Plenty of shrimp and lobster. We dressed-up for the dinner restaurants and we did wear opened toed sandals! Breakfast and lunch buffets, lots of fried food. Buffets become very boring. Room very nice and clean. Wonderful maid service. They do turn your bed back in the evening. At times, the room was a little warm and would not cool down. Beach in front of the Barcelo Palace is very rocky. Still beautiful. No problem getting chairs at the beach or pool. Beach and pool water was perfect not too cold or too warm. Only one quick rain shower. There is a small tourist bus that will take you to the sister resorts. Not handicap accessible for a motorized chair so we walked and it felt very safe even at night. Wonderful concrete sidewalk in front of the beach that connects all sister resorts. One of the sister resorts has a nice small shopping market. Within the resort, no shuttle service to get you to and from restaurants, pools, lobby, etc. as we have had at other large resorts. Lots of walking. Tipping: We gave $2 a day for maid service. $1-$2 per person per meal. Bartender-Every other round or two we would tip $1-$2 per person. This is a family resort. Lots and lots of babies/children under the age of 4. There is a very active pool for the little ones. Little ones do not bother me, but if you prefer no children--this is not the resort for you. Airport transfers – We used Olympus Tours. They were so wonderful. Took great care of us and the motorized chair. Main disappointment and the reason we would not return to this resort…No Grills at the Pools/Beach! So if you are hungry for breakfast or lunch, you must get out of the water, dry completely and walk to the restaurant(s). For me, this wasted precious vacation time and added even more walking. I prefer to have snacks during the day at the pool or beach.


16 of 17 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Dallas, Tx
Age: 45-54
Travel: 7+ trips/year

June 26, 2012
Barcelo Palace

Booked this trip in December and it was the first time to use Cheap Carribean. Their customer service was top notch. The resort we stayed at was great and we were very happy with everything about it. Things I would improve on would be make the beds a bit more comfortable. They were very hard and sheets could be softer. The food at the regular buffets was better than expected and since we were there for 7 days we all found something we liked. The reservation restraunts were all good with the exception of the Italian which was at the Tropical. The waiter we had was very short with us and rude. The food was just OK. The Brazilian at the Palace was our favorite. Be sure and book your reservations at them when you first get to the resort because the times fill up fast. The pool was huge and very clean. The beach was great and the snorkeling off the beach was fantastic. Saw stingrays and sea turtle along with a lot of colorful fish around the reef. The whole resort was very clean and the staff was all very friendly. The recreation staff were very organized and work very hard at making sure you and your kids have a very active and fun time! Would definitely come back or go to another Barcelo resort in the future.


8 of 8 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: DFW
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

June 13, 2012
Beautiful Location, Less Than Desireable Service

My wife and I traveled to Barcelo Palace Deluxe for a wedding with 30 other family members. I had read a number of the reviews on this site and was excited for what would be a memorable vacation. It was memorable for all the wrong reasons. Before advising why I reviewed this property poor, let me start with the reason why it wasn't rated "terrible." Location The location of this property, an hour and ten minutes south of Cancun airport, is very nice to look at. The pool is beautiful, the beach is very nice and the ajoining properties are also very pleasing to the eye. However, the first negative I have is the layout of the property leaves alot to be desired especially if you are booked in one of the rooms furthest from the beach, restaurant and main building. My wife and I were placed in one of the last rooms and the walk was to anything was over ten minutes. In additon, it really doesn't matter how beautiful a property is, if other key areas are lacking. Attempting to be as objective as possible, let me advise you on the other issues we had as a group with the property: Front Desk and Booking Every guest had an issue checking in at the Front Desk. If you booked through an outside site, cheapcarribbean or apple vacations for example, you did not have that much of an issue. If you booked through Barcelo, the front desk staff had severe issues checking people in. For example, they double booked the Presidential Suite for one guest (despite the guest calling every month to make sure it was theirs), they didn't have one guest in the system, etc. Anytime that the bride and groom had to go to the desk or their planner for something, details changed, rooms were not available, promises were broken and they were given the run around or didn't understand what was requested. My wife called the front desk operator because she had an issue with our room only to be rerouted to 8 different people none of whom were able to assist. Everytime she tried to expalin her issue she was transferred to another person who was unable to help. We found this was typical of our experience at the resort. Rooms and Mattresses The rooms are decent, however, are beginning to show their age. If you are not Club Premium, do not expect to have any liquor in your mini-fridge, just beer. The mattresses are the worst mattress I have ever slept on in my entire life. They are hard and plastic. I am assuming since it is a family resort and kids have accidents they wanted to make sure that cleanup would be easy. That is the only reason why you would purchase a hard, plastic wrapped King size bed. Dining When you check in, make sure you make reservations for the A La Carte restaurants if you stay at the Deluxe. They advised numerous members of group that the restaurants were booked, when in reality, they are not. They tend to push people to the buffets. For example, we took a cancelled reservation of a "booked" restaurant to find less than half of the tables booked. In addition, the buffets are good and plentiful, but by far, if you are foodie or enjoy quality food, ingredients, you will be disappointed. It is average at best. By day 4 or 5 you will wonder if they ever change the menu and trust me, they do not. The Al La Carte's are also severly lacking. The meals are disjointed and trust me when I say they have the hardest time getting tempatures on meats right. I ordered the lamb at the French restaurant and one part of the rack was rare and the other well done. At the Brazilian Rodizo, the meat was not seasoned properly and all well done, also known as tough and dead. The sushi place at the Colonial, not hibachi, was probably one of the worst meals I have had. The seafood place at the Colonial was again a horrible meal. The sushi, to be fair, I cannot even begin to call it sushi was tiny and made incorrectly. My wife and I found the French restaurant and the Caribe Seafood resturant at the Palace to be the "best choice." Liquor Make sure you ask for your drink by name, othewise you will be poured the bottom of the barrel liquors. In addition, it would be in your best interest to ask for the bartender to make it stronger as most were very, very light with their pouring. They made sure you had as much sugary filler as possible though. Service As I stated above, service is what any all-inclusive property hangs its hat on and some have stated that the service has declined at this resort. I cannot speak to that, but only what I witnessed and the service by most key staff was horrible. As stated, the Front Desk staff does not communicate well with any other group in the hotel or among each other. In addition, the wedding planning staff left alot to be desired when it comes to taking care of the bride and groom previous to the big day. Our couple had quite a bit of stress when numerous things went wrong or were missed previous to their wedding. In additon, how do you promise the bride that she has the Presdiental Suite the night before her wedding (and the night of, which was paid for) and then advised her it's not available to get ready in until 2 pm (wedding starts at 4 pm)? How do you then proceed to tell her that if she pays $700 right now she can get into the unoccupied room early? The key here is that the room was unoccupied. It was bad. This is the first all inclusive I have been told , "No." At the buffet, "No, you can't sit there and eat. This section is closed" At the bufftet, "no you cant have any coffee, it is too late." At the restaurants, "No, you can have one cold appetizer, one hot one or soup or salad, but not both." This is an all-inclusive right? This was the first all-inclusive with restrictions on what you could get. No room service without a charge, unless you are premium.. $4 per plate plus tax and tip adds up, especially when you are all inclusive and paid for it already. All in all, there were a few workers who did go above and beyond to take care of my wife and my requests, however, many only wanted tips to complete standard tasks. Many were not attentive to what we asked for and many seemed very unhappy to handle the request. This by far is the most glaring thing wrong with this place. Ultimately, I would never return to this property. You get what you pay for in life. For us, this vacation was cheaper than other stays we have had in Mexico and the quality of food, service, and joy we had suffered because of it.


41 of 56 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 2
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
1.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
2.0
User Image

From: Greater NYC
Age: 25-34
Travel: 7+ trips/year

July 31, 2010
Love this resort

This was our 2nd time staying at the Barcelo Maya Palace. The resort is beautiful, spotless, and nicely decorated. Staff is helpful and friendly. The pools are really lovely, very clean. Wonderful setting right on the ocean. Many excellent places to eat, wide variety of food choices. We were there in August 2009 and would love to return for a 3rd time!


5 of 5 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Santa Fe, NM
Age: 45-54
Travel: 7+ trips/year

May 7, 2012
Our best vacation yet!

This was our first vacation booked through Cheap Caribbean and we went to the Barcelo in the Maya Riviera. I had some personal email issues and had to contact Cheap Caribbean when I got locked out of my old account. It was completely no-hassle to get the help I needed and the itinerary resent. When booking we upgraded to the Maya Palace Deluxe for a family suite and it was outstanding! They stocked the mini-fridge with snacks and drinks twice a day, it was clean, more amenities than I imagined and very spacious. The resort is gorgeous! Beaches are wonderful and the pools are amazing. As soon as the glasses were empty the waitress came around to bring us more drinks, always with a smile. We joked it was like Disneyland with workers everywhere, landscaping, cleaning, serving; as soon as something was needed, a worker was doing the job, always pleasant and smiling. We were very impressed! As Cheap Caribbean guests we had our own travel agent on-site who arranged anything that we needed and if we had problems, would have been the one to make sure our needs were taken care of. We never had any issues at all. She did help us with arranging transportation and our excursions to Tulum and Xel-Ha. Another great thing about the Barcelo is that it's one of the farthest away from the airport in the Maya Riviera so we felt like we were in paradise! It was a short drive to Tulum and Xel-ha and we were the last ones picked up in the morning and first to be dropped on way 'home'. The restaurants were fabulous; buffets for breakfast, lunch and dinner always had an abundance and big variety of great food. We had our favorites and tried many new things. Our favorite was made-to-order omelets and tacos. Also could get steaks, chicken and sea-food cooked to order, pasta stations and more desserts than we needed. We tried several of the reservation-only restaurants and got good seating times and excellent 4-course meals with fantastic service. The ocean views from the restaurants are incredible and our favorite meals were taken on the patios overlooking the beach. We're still shaking our heads that we got everything included for the great prices we paid. We will definitely try another all-inclusive resort through Cheap Caribbean but are already planning/saving for a return trip to the Barcelo! We were beyond thrilled by the 3-4 minutes of heavy rain so we can utilize the sunshine protection plan and get a credit towards our next trip. Our only regret about this trip is that we didn't stay longer!!!!!!


5 of 5 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Southern California
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

May 25, 2012
Nice vacation place

We went to Barcelo Maya Palace for our 5 year anniv. It was our first vacation since our honeymoon. At the time of booking, Cheap Carribean asked for a room close to the pool or ocean, but they put us at the very back of the hotel. Very little rooms have Ocean view. It took a long time to walk back and forth to our room. I would not go back if that was the room provided next time. And the bed was very hard and lumpy. I asked many times to change rooms closer to pool and lobby and wasted hours in lines and on hold. They never moved us at any time during the 7 days. It was also very disappointing that all the pool bars closed at 7. After 7 you had to get your drinks at the bar in the lobby or the buffet. We were looking foward to hanging out and having drinks outside by the Ocean. Seriously, 7 is way too early to close. I also recommend that you do NOT buy a disposable camera from the hotel store. Not a single picture came out. And watch out about taking cash from the lobby ATM. I took out 300.00 and my credit card company said it shows we took out 367.00. We are still trying to figure out where the extra 67.00 came from. We were charged separate for the 10.00 withdrawal fee. So the machine charged a lot more than it said. The best experience we had was our ala carte meal at the French restaurant. The food was much better than the sea food restaurant. And the staff were extremely nice. I wish we had more tickets to eat there. The buffet was great the first two days, but got old after a while. They did have large selections. Although I wish they provided more mexican food. The swimming pool was fantanstic! My daughter would have loved the kids play areas had she been with us. There is an adult pool too. Very nice. The Ocean water and beach was wonderful. I did not like all the rocky areas, but they had good clean areas to swim too. The shuttle to all the other hotels was nice. You can tell that the other Bercelo hotels were cheaper. I was happy we stayed at Palace. It was clearly the nicest of the 5. The maid service was great. They give you fresh razors, toothbrush, toothpaste and more every day. Had I known I would not have brought my own. Overall the hotel was very nice and we felt very safe. The only good thing about our room issue was that it made us walk off all the food and drinks we had.


5 of 5 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
2.0
User Image

From: Arizona
Age: 25-34

January 19, 2014
Excellent Stay

Traveled as a couple to Barcelo Palace and really enjoyed our stay. The service is excellent. The staff was incredibly friendly and accommodating. It is a very large and newly finished resort. The views are beautiful and the beaches are pristine. The pools were very nice although they seemed almost too big for the crowd. Perhaps during peak seasons they are just the right size. The food is good in terms of all inclusive resorts. We enjoyed both the buffet meals as well as the French and Brazillian restaurants. Would certainly recommend this to others and return for a trip ourselves. I would say this resort is best for families and couples. If you are a group looking for a more wild nightlife it might not be the best option.


4 of 4 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Boston, MA
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

July 8, 2015
A wonderful experience at Barcelo Palace Deluxe

We stayed at Barcelo Palace for 4 nights over the July 4th weekend and we would definitely return. We usually do not repeat the same place twice so this is saying a lot. Upon arrival we were upgraded to a pool view room. Great view! It was my daughters' 18th birthday and they sent up a cake and a bottle of champagne also. What a lovely surprise! We heeded the advice of previous travelers and asked for a pillow topper for our king mattress for a softer sleep experience. We left the mini frig cabinet door open to allow the frig to get cooler, it worked. Booked our dinner reservations for 4 nights upon arrival. All great advice from previous travelers. I wish I had heeded the advice to bring our own rafts and then gifted them forward to others once our stay was over. Food was really good, fresh veges, fruits, meats, seafoods at every meal. Th only "complaints" that I have are really just observations. Seafood restaurant on Caribe resort seemed short staffed and slow but the food was delicious. We tried to check out scuba equipment twice. First time nothing was available since a paid excursion needed them. We went back the next day and was told we needed to leave a credit card or cash deposit, which we did not walk down with. No big deal, just disappointing. Next visit I will bring our own so we can snorkel when we want to. All in all I would highly recommend this vacation paradise!


4 of 4 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: North Carolina
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

+ Vacation Packages
+ All-Inclusive Deals
+ Hotels
+ Destinations