All

Barcelo Maya Palace Deluxe Reviews

Mexico | Riviera Maya Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 95 Reviews
Value
 
4.5
Service
 
4.4
Beaches & Pools
 
4.8
Dining Options
 
4.2
Room Comfort
 
4.2
4.6 out of 5
"People are warm and helpful food was great, pools clean and ocean warm and full of exotic fish and turtles! Great vacation!!"
99 out of 110 (90%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Panoramic view Pool in the morning... Pool View Beach Beach from the hotel awesome beach!! Pool

All Barcelo Maya Palace Deluxe Customer Reviews

1-10 of 95 reviews. Sort by
June 27, 2014
Overall Great Experience

I was very hesitant using CheapCarribean for the first time, but they exceeded my expectations. I didn't have to worry about a thing- it was taken care of for me! I was easily able to check in for my flight prior to arriving, the boarding passes were ready at the airport, the shuttle was there to pick us up and take us to the hotel, and the hotel was beautiful. I would recommend using CheapCarribean to anyone!


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Ridgefield, NJ
Age: 19-24
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

June 25, 2014
Enjoyable But a Little Disappointing

Pros: Beautiful resort; lots of activities available throughout the day (kayaking, snorkeling, shuffleboard, etc.); gorgeous beach; large pool area with swim up bar; unlimited food and drinks; pleasing food presentation; wonderful excursions to partake in (we went to Coba as this is the last year you can climb and to Punta Venado for horseback riding on the beach and swimming in Cenote); stocked refrigerator (beer, soda, juice and water) in room w/snacks (nuts & chips); access to all Barceló resorts (including dining options) while staying at the Palace; brief dolphin show daily; plenty of beach and pool chairs available without having to reserve; spacious rooms/bathrooms; large bathroom and beach towels (I'm 6 feet tall); very nice artwork/statutes; shopping on site; plenty of hammocks available; World Cup available for viewing/tracking while we were there; relaxing Cons: Teen club advertised does not yet exist (it is currently being built in the area under renovation); nightly entertainment lacking (i.e. there is one 9:30 p.m. "show" (attended the Michael Jackson Show...in the interest of full disclosure, this is NOT of Las Vegas type quality) and the Jaguar's disco club for those 18 yrs older only); housekeeping leaves a good bit to be desired even if you tip (lodged complaint at front desk (and never tipped again) after coming back to room for second disappointing day in a row to find toilet paper had not been refilled, the used coffee filter left on the bathroom counter (why had it been taken in the bathroom in the first place?) thereby leaking onto hairbrushes, towels not being replaced, conditioner not being refilled, trash that had fallen from trash can left on floor and empty cups left in room for 2 days); extremely hard beds; fountains on the property constantly not working; lack of information/direction when its your first time; lack of follow up by staff (i.e. we requested more information on what was available for teens and for confirmation that the housekeeping issue had been addressed...we received no call back (even though promised) from anyone about either situation) Pro & Con: Wi-Fi not included and pricey if you want/need to pay for access...while it is nice to be disconnected on some level, it can also be inconvenient. Didn't realize how many things we tend to Google :-) We typically cruise on our family vacays and, after this all-inclusive resort stay, will likely return to that mode of travel. We feel that, for our family, it is the better option (and cheaper for us). Perhaps because of our past cruising experiences our expectations were too high for this resort; however, while awaiting our transport back to the Cancun airport, another family indicated that this was a return trip for them. They had been there 4 years earlier and they noted a significant drop in customer service. I do think it is extremely telling when you check out of a resort of this magnitude and they do not even bother to ask you if you enjoyed your stay and/or if you are likely to return. Yet, both excursions w/guides who went above and beyond asked us to complete surveys with our honest feedback. Overall, I would recommend cruising or trying another all inclusive resort. While we are glad we took this vacation, we can't fully endorse a resort wherein we spent this kind of money, but yet can't give it 5 palm trees across the board.


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
2.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Columbia, SC
Age: 35-44

June 20, 2014
Calm and Relaxing

If you are looking for a hotel that knows how to party....this resort is not for you. However, saying that, if you are looking to relax, sit on a beach, eat and drink....then this is your destination. The resort is HUGE and you have access to all of their (currently 4, usually 5) resorts which includes the pools, beaches, events, food and drink. WiFi is not included and the room service costs extra, but that didn't bother us -- we liked being forced to move every once and a while. My main issue was the room comfort....though it ls a very beautiful room with a patio and LARGE bathroom, sleep was nearly impossible because the air conditioning wasn't very great, the room smelled musty and the bed was the most uncomfortable thing EVER. I'd recommend this resort because the service and value was beyond belief, but the next time I find myself in this area, I'll likely stay elsewhere.


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Madison, WI
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

June 13, 2014
Wouldn't return

My family and I stayed at this resort 5 days 4 nights.. Overall the resort was beautiful, the pool was very large and I liked that there was a ton of things for the kids to do, since we chose this resort specifically because we were brining our kids, and other family members also brought their kids. The service was great and they were always on top of things. As far as the rooms go, the rooms were beautiful however the beds were ROCK HARD! For this alone.. I would not stay at this resort again. Not only was the bed uncomfortable, but so weren't the pillows. My grandmother and I ended up sleeping on the day bed a few of the nights because they were slightly more comfortable than the beds. The food. The food was average. It really wasn't that great of a buffet. Ive stayed in Mexico before so I have an idea of what a decent buffet is. It was pretty much same thing every day and then depending on the number of days you stay you get a dinner reservation. We made a dinner reservation and because there was nine of us, it took them a half hour alone just to seat us. The next time I go to Mexico with my kids and family, I would definitely not use this resort again. The beds alone did it for me.


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
2.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
1.0
User Image

From: Connecticut
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

June 12, 2014
Great vacation at the Barcelo Maya Palace

Our vacation experience was amazing at the Barcelo Palace! There are a couple of things we wished we had known upon our arrival but figured them out eventually! The front desk was the weakest link of the entire operation! They don't tell you anything, but in your room you will find on the dresser a pamphlet with all the daily activities! When you first arrive go immediately to guest service and make your dinner reservations! The Japanese House restaurant fills up quickly so make that one first! They cook in front of you and it is a lot of fun! The cleanliness of the resort far exceeded expectations as well as the service! The food was excellent at the buffet with a variety of options daily! The mini bar in your room is free as well! They re stock it daily! You have to hang your tag on the door for housekeeping and they will clean your room daily! We did not know that cheap Caribbean had a staff on site for excursions! They are located two flights down from the lobby! We booked our excursion through the hotel and had a wonder dr day snorkeling with the turtles! Also, a photographer will photograph your family free of charge and the picture is 15.00 per photo! Just make an appointment and they will do the work! Our vacation was so amazing we are considering coming back next year! We were a cruising family but have now converted over to the all inclusive resorts! Such value for your buck! Our family loved this resort!


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Jacksonville, Florida
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

June 6, 2014
Nice Resort

We had a fabulous vacation, the resort is huge and took a couple days to learn to navigate, the pools are nice and large. The beach is great plenty of chairs for everyone, a small reef and a large area to wade in the sea. Most all the staff were very courteous and helpful the one who made our trip most enjoyable was Nancy Garcia she was friendly and made our vacation even more enjoyable. The only complaints I would have was the beds were not the most comfortable nor were the pillows but the rooms were nice and clean. The food at the buffets was not very good and generally the same thing day after day however there are other dining options but you must make reservations and this didn't fit into my shchedule so that is my own fault. Overall I would definitely recommend this resort we had a wonderful time.


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Illinois
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

June 2, 2014
Oiustanding resort.The Best I have been in.

Incredible place, amenities, rooms food and service. Top of the Top for the money. Service was excellent. Staff was always pushing for the best comfort of all guests Food was top quality even in the buffets. Restaurants served great food and all drinks. Amenities included kids club, 5 other resorts in the same complex we can go to, outstanding beaches, dolphin exhibits, tennis, snorkeling, spa, etc . In short, 5 stars for a fair price.


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Fort Lauderdale
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

May 28, 2014
Beautiful, great pools and everyone was very nice!

We really enjoyed our stay at Barcelo Maya Palace Deluxe. Everything exceeded our expectations. The accommodations were wonderful. The food was great, the pools and beach were beautiful. I felt safe and relaxed the entire time and I would stay at this resort again.


1 of 1 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Kentucky
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

May 27, 2014
Great Time at a Great Place

Mexico was not on our bucket list, but a wedding invitation suddenly put us at this wonderful place. The staff all were incredibly nice, knowledgable, and just made you feel welcome. The grounds are beautiful and well maintained in great detail. The food and drink choices are endless and delicious. For me, the bed was too firm, so a little uncomfortable sleeping and the Barcelo shuttle was a disappointment. We only tried to use it once and the driver wouldn't let us on after waiting for 20 minutes. We never got to the shopping mall. That equates to a lot of money not spent, Barcelo!


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Stillwater, NJ
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

May 25, 2014
First Timer

The experience with CheapCaribbean and Barcelo were awesome, I was skeptical at first but this was the best vacation ever. Totally worry free.


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Acworth, Georgia
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year