All

Barcelo Maya Palace Deluxe Reviews

Mexico | Riviera Maya Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 124 Reviews
Value
 
4.5
Service
 
4.5
Beaches & Pools
 
4.9
Dining Options
 
4.3
Room Comfort
 
4.2
4.6 out of 5
"Very nice resort, but very large. Very well manicured. Restaurants were very good, as were buffets. Beds were very uncomfortable. I maybe would not go back because of the beds." – TigerFan
131 out of 142 (92%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Pool Beach from the hotel Pool View View from lobby area Beach View from the lobby level Main pool Pool in the morning... awesome beach!! Panoramic view

All Barcelo Maya Palace Deluxe Customer Reviews

1-10 of 124 reviews. Sort by
April 29, 2011 Featured Review
Great vacation!

My wife and I have vacationed at Barcelo three times now. The Palace is, by far, the most beautiful, the rooms extremely clean and well-appointed, and the grounds immaculately groomed and landscaped. The staff was very helpful and friendly, especially the waiters in the restaurants. The pools are crystal clear and beaches were lovely, the best we've been to in Mexico. This resort is appropriate for families, large groups and couples. Six weddings took place while we were there. Many families with small children were also vacationing there. Overall, our experience was very good. The food is only average, but the numbers of choices are excellent. Our only minor complaint was that the cabanas at the adult pool were always full. The same couples got them every morning and kept them all day long. There are many activities going on at the resort all day long for those of you wanting to keep busy. The non-motorized sports are free and plentiful. We enjoyed kayaking, snorkeling and feeding the fish. There are a great number of tours available, but we decided to stay at the resort this time and found it much more relaxing. Because it's an enormous resort, we never felt crowded or rushed to find our spot at the pools or beach. Cheap Caribbean did a great job coordinating our travel to and from the airport in Cancun. We will definitely vacation here again.


24 of 24 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Wyoming
Age: 55-64
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

May 30, 2013
Our Experience

Travelled May 15-21, Barceló Maya Palace Deluxe We arrived mid-morning and were able to check-in early. Our room was not available until 3ish but they held our luggage for us and allowed us to have access to the lunch buffet, pools and bars. The staff at the front desk was friendly and professional. The advertised room credit is actually discount coupons to use throughout the resort. (Complete waste for us.) We had requested 3 rooms, preferably one handicap room with at least one room adjoining, and a third room close by. At check-in they quickly realized our need for the handicap room and met our room requests without hesitation. Met with concierge immediately after check-in and reserved dinner reservations. Per day, you can book up to three night’s dinner reservations. Space was available at all our requested restaurants. Tokyo was our favorite! Dinner restaurants were good. Plenty of shrimp and lobster. We dressed-up for the dinner restaurants and we did wear opened toed sandals! Breakfast and lunch buffets, lots of fried food. Buffets become very boring. Room very nice and clean. Wonderful maid service. They do turn your bed back in the evening. At times, the room was a little warm and would not cool down. Beach in front of the Barcelo Palace is very rocky. Still beautiful. No problem getting chairs at the beach or pool. Beach and pool water was perfect not too cold or too warm. Only one quick rain shower. There is a small tourist bus that will take you to the sister resorts. Not handicap accessible for a motorized chair so we walked and it felt very safe even at night. Wonderful concrete sidewalk in front of the beach that connects all sister resorts. One of the sister resorts has a nice small shopping market. Within the resort, no shuttle service to get you to and from restaurants, pools, lobby, etc. as we have had at other large resorts. Lots of walking. Tipping: We gave $2 a day for maid service. $1-$2 per person per meal. Bartender-Every other round or two we would tip $1-$2 per person. This is a family resort. Lots and lots of babies/children under the age of 4. There is a very active pool for the little ones. Little ones do not bother me, but if you prefer no children--this is not the resort for you. Airport transfers – We used Olympus Tours. They were so wonderful. Took great care of us and the motorized chair. Main disappointment and the reason we would not return to this resort…No Grills at the Pools/Beach! So if you are hungry for breakfast or lunch, you must get out of the water, dry completely and walk to the restaurant(s). For me, this wasted precious vacation time and added even more walking. I prefer to have snacks during the day at the pool or beach.


15 of 16 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Dallas, Tx
Age: 45-54
Travel: 7+ trips/year

June 13, 2012
Beautiful Location, Less Than Desireable Service

My wife and I traveled to Barcelo Palace Deluxe for a wedding with 30 other family members. I had read a number of the reviews on this site and was excited for what would be a memorable vacation. It was memorable for all the wrong reasons. Before advising why I reviewed this property poor, let me start with the reason why it wasn't rated "terrible." Location The location of this property, an hour and ten minutes south of Cancun airport, is very nice to look at. The pool is beautiful, the beach is very nice and the ajoining properties are also very pleasing to the eye. However, the first negative I have is the layout of the property leaves alot to be desired especially if you are booked in one of the rooms furthest from the beach, restaurant and main building. My wife and I were placed in one of the last rooms and the walk was to anything was over ten minutes. In additon, it really doesn't matter how beautiful a property is, if other key areas are lacking. Attempting to be as objective as possible, let me advise you on the other issues we had as a group with the property: Front Desk and Booking Every guest had an issue checking in at the Front Desk. If you booked through an outside site, cheapcarribbean or apple vacations for example, you did not have that much of an issue. If you booked through Barcelo, the front desk staff had severe issues checking people in. For example, they double booked the Presidential Suite for one guest (despite the guest calling every month to make sure it was theirs), they didn't have one guest in the system, etc. Anytime that the bride and groom had to go to the desk or their planner for something, details changed, rooms were not available, promises were broken and they were given the run around or didn't understand what was requested. My wife called the front desk operator because she had an issue with our room only to be rerouted to 8 different people none of whom were able to assist. Everytime she tried to expalin her issue she was transferred to another person who was unable to help. We found this was typical of our experience at the resort. Rooms and Mattresses The rooms are decent, however, are beginning to show their age. If you are not Club Premium, do not expect to have any liquor in your mini-fridge, just beer. The mattresses are the worst mattress I have ever slept on in my entire life. They are hard and plastic. I am assuming since it is a family resort and kids have accidents they wanted to make sure that cleanup would be easy. That is the only reason why you would purchase a hard, plastic wrapped King size bed. Dining When you check in, make sure you make reservations for the A La Carte restaurants if you stay at the Deluxe. They advised numerous members of group that the restaurants were booked, when in reality, they are not. They tend to push people to the buffets. For example, we took a cancelled reservation of a "booked" restaurant to find less than half of the tables booked. In addition, the buffets are good and plentiful, but by far, if you are foodie or enjoy quality food, ingredients, you will be disappointed. It is average at best. By day 4 or 5 you will wonder if they ever change the menu and trust me, they do not. The Al La Carte's are also severly lacking. The meals are disjointed and trust me when I say they have the hardest time getting tempatures on meats right. I ordered the lamb at the French restaurant and one part of the rack was rare and the other well done. At the Brazilian Rodizo, the meat was not seasoned properly and all well done, also known as tough and dead. The sushi place at the Colonial, not hibachi, was probably one of the worst meals I have had. The seafood place at the Colonial was again a horrible meal. The sushi, to be fair, I cannot even begin to call it sushi was tiny and made incorrectly. My wife and I found the French restaurant and the Caribe Seafood resturant at the Palace to be the "best choice." Liquor Make sure you ask for your drink by name, othewise you will be poured the bottom of the barrel liquors. In addition, it would be in your best interest to ask for the bartender to make it stronger as most were very, very light with their pouring. They made sure you had as much sugary filler as possible though. Service As I stated above, service is what any all-inclusive property hangs its hat on and some have stated that the service has declined at this resort. I cannot speak to that, but only what I witnessed and the service by most key staff was horrible. As stated, the Front Desk staff does not communicate well with any other group in the hotel or among each other. In addition, the wedding planning staff left alot to be desired when it comes to taking care of the bride and groom previous to the big day. Our couple had quite a bit of stress when numerous things went wrong or were missed previous to their wedding. In additon, how do you promise the bride that she has the Presdiental Suite the night before her wedding (and the night of, which was paid for) and then advised her it's not available to get ready in until 2 pm (wedding starts at 4 pm)? How do you then proceed to tell her that if she pays $700 right now she can get into the unoccupied room early? The key here is that the room was unoccupied. It was bad. This is the first all inclusive I have been told , "No." At the buffet, "No, you can't sit there and eat. This section is closed" At the bufftet, "no you cant have any coffee, it is too late." At the restaurants, "No, you can have one cold appetizer, one hot one or soup or salad, but not both." This is an all-inclusive right? This was the first all-inclusive with restrictions on what you could get. No room service without a charge, unless you are premium.. $4 per plate plus tax and tip adds up, especially when you are all inclusive and paid for it already. All in all, there were a few workers who did go above and beyond to take care of my wife and my requests, however, many only wanted tips to complete standard tasks. Many were not attentive to what we asked for and many seemed very unhappy to handle the request. This by far is the most glaring thing wrong with this place. Ultimately, I would never return to this property. You get what you pay for in life. For us, this vacation was cheaper than other stays we have had in Mexico and the quality of food, service, and joy we had suffered because of it.


40 of 51 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 2
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
1.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
2.0
User Image

From: Greater NYC
Age: 25-34
Travel: 7+ trips/year

August 15, 2010
best price

Theres so much to say about this place. For the price we paid we actually thought they dropped us off at the wrong place. The resort was amazingly beautiful and the staff was continuosly working to maintain the place. the pools were great only wish the swim up bar was in the sun. its beaches were some of the nicest ive seen. the snorkeling was great got to see lots of sea turtles and fish and is protected by its own reef. our room was a bit of a walk to the pool and beach but well worth it for the luxury of a beautiful room, i can only wish mine bathroom at home was as nice. the food was pretty good as well along with the buffet but the only complaint was the better restuarants were always booked and wish i knew we had to book them prior to arriving. the only down side was the place was huge and to much to explore in the short time we were there and there wasnt a whole lot of night life but there was lots to do during the day. THis place was awesome. Best deal and vacation so far.

awesome beach!!
10 of 12 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: belmar, nj
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

July 31, 2010
Love this resort

This was our 2nd time staying at the Barcelo Maya Palace. The resort is beautiful, spotless, and nicely decorated. Staff is helpful and friendly. The pools are really lovely, very clean. Wonderful setting right on the ocean. Many excellent places to eat, wide variety of food choices. We were there in August 2009 and would love to return for a 3rd time!


4 of 4 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Santa Fe, NM
Age: 45-54
Travel: 7+ trips/year

February 20, 2012
Beautiful Vacation Spot

Barcelo Maya Palace Deluxe is a wonderful place to visit. It was possible to go for long walks every day and spend time relaxing. They also offer a lot of activities like Spanish lessons, water aerobics, cooking lessons, etc. I found the other guests and staff to be really nice. Learn a little Spanish before you go - it makes it more fun. Spend time trying to get to know the people working there.


4 of 4 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Seattle, WA
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

May 7, 2012
Our best vacation yet!

This was our first vacation booked through Cheap Caribbean and we went to the Barcelo in the Maya Riviera. I had some personal email issues and had to contact Cheap Caribbean when I got locked out of my old account. It was completely no-hassle to get the help I needed and the itinerary resent. When booking we upgraded to the Maya Palace Deluxe for a family suite and it was outstanding! They stocked the mini-fridge with snacks and drinks twice a day, it was clean, more amenities than I imagined and very spacious. The resort is gorgeous! Beaches are wonderful and the pools are amazing. As soon as the glasses were empty the waitress came around to bring us more drinks, always with a smile. We joked it was like Disneyland with workers everywhere, landscaping, cleaning, serving; as soon as something was needed, a worker was doing the job, always pleasant and smiling. We were very impressed! As Cheap Caribbean guests we had our own travel agent on-site who arranged anything that we needed and if we had problems, would have been the one to make sure our needs were taken care of. We never had any issues at all. She did help us with arranging transportation and our excursions to Tulum and Xel-Ha. Another great thing about the Barcelo is that it's one of the farthest away from the airport in the Maya Riviera so we felt like we were in paradise! It was a short drive to Tulum and Xel-ha and we were the last ones picked up in the morning and first to be dropped on way 'home'. The restaurants were fabulous; buffets for breakfast, lunch and dinner always had an abundance and big variety of great food. We had our favorites and tried many new things. Our favorite was made-to-order omelets and tacos. Also could get steaks, chicken and sea-food cooked to order, pasta stations and more desserts than we needed. We tried several of the reservation-only restaurants and got good seating times and excellent 4-course meals with fantastic service. The ocean views from the restaurants are incredible and our favorite meals were taken on the patios overlooking the beach. We're still shaking our heads that we got everything included for the great prices we paid. We will definitely try another all-inclusive resort through Cheap Caribbean but are already planning/saving for a return trip to the Barcelo! We were beyond thrilled by the 3-4 minutes of heavy rain so we can utilize the sunshine protection plan and get a credit towards our next trip. Our only regret about this trip is that we didn't stay longer!!!!!!


4 of 4 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Southern California
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

June 26, 2012
Barcelo Palace

Booked this trip in December and it was the first time to use Cheap Carribean. Their customer service was top notch. The resort we stayed at was great and we were very happy with everything about it. Things I would improve on would be make the beds a bit more comfortable. They were very hard and sheets could be softer. The food at the regular buffets was better than expected and since we were there for 7 days we all found something we liked. The reservation restraunts were all good with the exception of the Italian which was at the Tropical. The waiter we had was very short with us and rude. The food was just OK. The Brazilian at the Palace was our favorite. Be sure and book your reservations at them when you first get to the resort because the times fill up fast. The pool was huge and very clean. The beach was great and the snorkeling off the beach was fantastic. Saw stingrays and sea turtle along with a lot of colorful fish around the reef. The whole resort was very clean and the staff was all very friendly. The recreation staff were very organized and work very hard at making sure you and your kids have a very active and fun time! Would definitely come back or go to another Barcelo resort in the future.


4 of 4 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: DFW
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

August 24, 2012
Great Vacation, Great Value, Would Come Back

We just returned a few days ago (on 8/17/12) from a 6-day, 5-night vacation at the Barcelo Maya Palace Deluxe celebrating our 30th wedding anniversary. We travelled with two friends and must say that, although the resort could use some improvement in organizational efficiency (or maybe just more staff), it was all that we expected it to be. The hotel lobby, eating areas, and grounds were beautiful and constantly being kept up. Our room was very nice and the location was great. The staff was very friendly and professional, the food was plentiful and excellent. Having the ability to use any of the 5 resort properties (if you purchased the Premium package) was wonderful too. We took time out to visit only two of the other properties because we all that we needed at the Palace. The other properties (Tropical and Colonial) were very nice as well. Taking the shuttle around the properties was very convenient. Even so, be prepared to do a lot of walking. Also, the resort even provided a nicely decorated cake and bottle of sparkling wine to celebrate our anniversary which was a very nice touch! The beach was beautiful and well kept - though that was the case for the whole place. The Pool area was very nice and we especially enjoyed the all-adult pool and the cabana beds that could be reserved for the day. I might mention though, that the resort could stand to improve on the check-in process as well as on the service when it came to addressing issues with the rooms, towels, or television. The check-in process took longer than necessary because the lines could have people who were checking in, checking out, or just in line for other reasons and, had those been separate, it might have been better. Also, when you checked in-you had to wait for them to get documents or paperwork from an area that was separate from the Reception Desk. The employees had to take your information, and go back to another room to retrieve the packets that included your towel cards, vouchers, property maps, etc, instead of all of that waiting for you up front when they knew that you were expected and en route. The negative comments: The beds were not very comfortable as the mattress was hard and the mattress topper could stand to be replaced since the quilted mattress topper was very flat. We also had these little light brown ants/ant-like bugs that visited our room. Now part of that, we can attribute to us having left the cake out. However, the other instances were 1. in an area that didn't have any food or drink items left out, so we couldn't figure out why that was a problem; 2. When my husband and I had an open beer can and a coffee cup with a tea bag in it out on the counter. I wouldn't have expected the little creatures to come out for those items within a few hours, but then, we aren't from Mexico, so maybe that was typical or to be expected. We would just recommend that the resort be sure to spray the rooms in between visitors. Also, if you're like me, having Lysol wipes was helpful, because after each visit by the tiny bugs, I wiped the areas down and had no further issues - though it did creep me out a bit. Nonetheless, these two instances won't keep us from staying here or recommending the place. The bottom line recommendations for the resort - improve the organizational efficiency, spray the rooms between guests, respond in a timely manner to requests for more towels or items for the rooms, and come when you say you're going to address a problem. All of that said, we had a wonderful stay, and with the recommended improvements, we would definitely return.


4 of 4 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Georgia
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

April 6, 2015
Barcelo Maya Palace

First thing to say is this resort is BEAUTIFUL! ! the pools, grounds and beaches were fantastic. The folks who worked there were very friendly and treated us well. I would definitely recommend this for a family getaway. Food: very typical all inclusive. Buffets for breakfast and lunch I would call average. Many choices for all, omlette station, grill station etc. A lot of fresh fruits and breads. Dinner buffet just so so. The fancy restaurants were very good but make your reservations when you get there as rhey fill up and men must were pants. Rooms: we had a JR suite deluxe w 2 double beds for my family of 4. They were nicely large and had 2 couches that were really day beds so the kids slept on them. The beds very very hard (was a little disappointed in that) but all had balconies . Bring: snorkeling gear. Lot's of fish right on the beach and we fed a see turtle bananas right out of our hand way cool!! Also bring a large tumbler to drink from as they give you small plastic cups and your drinks get warm quickly. I would also gett the private car to take you to your hotel as its about a 45 min drive.


4 of 4 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: cincinnati
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year