All

Barcelo Maya Palace Deluxe Reviews

Mexico | Riviera Maya Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 112 Reviews
Value
 
4.5
Service
 
4.5
Beaches & Pools
 
4.9
Dining Options
 
4.2
Room Comfort
 
4.2
4.6 out of 5
"Very nice resort, but very large. Very well manicured. Restaurants were very good, as were buffets. Beds were very uncomfortable. I maybe would not go back because of the beds." – TigerFan
117 out of 128 (91%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Beach Pool View awesome beach!! Beach from the hotel Pool in the morning... Main pool Pool Panoramic view View from lobby area View from the lobby level

All Barcelo Maya Palace Deluxe Customer Reviews

1-10 of 112 reviews. Sort by
September 13, 2014
Good vacation

I would like to thank Cheapcararibbean, and Barcelo Maya Palace, mi wife and I, had same problems with the room, first room hade a toilet that was not working properly, then they transfer us to another room, and the door did not lock, they fixed, but the safety handle inside did not work at all, they said that they will comback tu fixed, but never hapen, then started working in the next room, they ware breaking walls by hammer, then they painted and paint gat into the A/C. we had to lived the room, becouse we could not breath so we coul not use the A/C so we can sleep, we called the personal in charge and few of then came but never resolve anything, we stayed for 9 days, as far the place it's excelent, we are sure that BARCELO administration will take this matters in concideration and fixed, yes we'll be back next year.


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Los Angeles
Age: Over 65
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

September 4, 2014
Still one of the best

Second time at this resort...first was in 2008. Pros: Huge, resort; awesome pools and lots of them; great restaurants - food was the best we've had at any resort; coral reefs right off resort for snorkeling that are still in good shape...saw stingrays, marine turtles, etc, every day; nice shops; very friendly staff that are almost all multi-lingual; family friendly atmosphere; nice evening entertainment, nice workout facilities. Cons: Some of the rooms have very hard/cheap mattresses...we moved to another room and the mattresses were really nice in the second room; some construction noise right by our first room....they changed our room to the other side of the building, which really helped; Internet policy is strange and very backward. Internet is not included and when we paid for it, we were limited to a single session per device. If you don't log off, you can't get back on with a different device. Wake up Barceló....people posting resort photos to Facebook is a GOOD thing for you. Making internet access more difficult works against you. Better internet is a small price to pay for better publicity. There were often lines at the front desk for checkin and other service. 10-15 minutes in line was not uncommon during peak periods. They need 4 people at the front desk during peaks instead of 2. That said, Barceló Palace Deluxe is still one of the best family-friendly all-inclusives on the Riviera Maya. It is certainly one of the best values as well. The resort is so expansive that we still have yet to visit all the sites, despite repeat visits. It is virtually impossible to run out of new, exciting things to do at Barceló RM.


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Madison, WI
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

September 2, 2014
Best Anniversary Trip b

Went to Barcello Palace for our anniversary Wow what can I say from the AWSOME beach to the pool bars to the al a carte restaurants helpful staff ! We arrived on 8.24.2014 at check in the line was a little slow but they gave us drinks while we waited after we went to guest services and made our dinner reservations for the week, highly recommended !!! You can't just walk up except for buffet which serve a ton of food and full bar service. We also were able to book our excursions with our Amstar rep who provided our airport shuttle, also very good. As for the restaurants the French restaurant is very good and service very good ! Also went to the Brazilian and hibatchi restaurant at the resort next door also a barcelo so you can go to each if you stay at the palace. The steak and lobster was excellent Several pools to chose from and a 24 hr lobby bar and shows throughout the week. Rooms were very nice with large shower and tub area two couches and a mini bar with fridge full of a variety of beverages. One thing to note if your looking for an adult only there's is an adult pool very nice with its own bar area and cabanas you can reserve. This place is very kid friendly and would be great for family's with children lots of activity here. But plenty of places to get your quiet time. My only knock is the only beer all they offer is Corona but lots of top shelf liquor if you request it ! Would be nice if they could offer a better variety of beer selections. However we made due trying all kinds of other drinks they offered to make us. Also we tipped a dollar or two per person at each meal due to the excellent service we received and gave the maid service a nice tip when we left our room was always spotless and fridge restocked daily. Although tipping not required. Now to the beach this pace is so huge that you have probably a half mile to chose from we saw sea turtles and cool fish rite in from of our hotel and youn can use the other 4 properties facilities it's a short walk on the beach or there is a shuttle every ten minutes. We used the spa for massages and loved it were able to get a deal through guest services and there is also a shopping mall down by the disco which is also included with your package very fun place to get a drink and dance if your into that ! All in all a very good trip and are planning on going back soon.

View from lobby area Main pool
0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Placentia California
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

September 2, 2014
Vacation of a Life Time

Barceló Maya Palace Deluxe was beyond anything I could have imagined in a vacation. It was like arriving to a palace where everyone took care of you and the service was extremely friendly. This was my first time to Mexico and let me tell you, it was the best vacation I have taken in 26 years. I was completely mind blown. The food was amazing, and I mean everything from the breakfast to lunch to dinner, everything was great! The rooms where spacious and had all accommodations to make our stay a great one. The entertainment was awesome as well, they had lots to do and fun shops to check out. The pool was out of this world and so was the beach. When I say this is a trip of a life time I mean it 100%. There wasn't one thing I wasn't happy with. I would recommend this to anyone looking for an all inclusive get away. And cheapcaribbean made it happen. Their service was exceptional and everything went according to plan. Looking forward to booking my next one.


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Newark,DE
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

August 26, 2014

The maid skipped our room even after we hung the sign to clean, we even tipped her in the beginning of the trip. The staff at the bars are not very friendly or welcoming. Beautiful resort but the additional services are a bit pricey after spending so much to go on the trip and paying to stay at the higher end side.


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: norristown, pa
Age: 25-34

August 26, 2014
Good choice for First Time All Inclusive

Service in restaurants and buffets was really great. The team members work REALLY hard to give great service. Food in the buffets was good but the food in the restaurants was REALLY good. The drinks in both buffet and restaurant were excellent! The drinks at the pool bars were so so tried the normal frozen drinks just too much sugar for my taste. The whole complex is CLEAN and very beautiful. The beach was the the real deal!! LOTS of room, plenty of chairs and shade, middle of August is not really a good time to go, way to hot! The reef was the best snorkeling I have done just beautiful with all the different types of coral and tropical fish, like swimming in an aquarium! Will look hard at another Barcelo property when we decide to go to the beach again. One night there was an issue, the room next to us brought there party on to their room being VERY loud, beating on the walls and dragging the furniture around in the room at one o'clock in the morning! I called the front desk and complained and with in ten minuets the party was shutdown and all was quite as it should be.


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Texarkana, AR
Age: 55-64

August 26, 2014
Excellent Vacation

A wonderful vacation, the resort is everything it was promised to be, beautiful and relaxing. The staff was top notch and very attentive. The food was excellent and abundant. The rooms are spacious and the bathroom was the best part! The only issue was the bed, it was very uncomfortable unless you like a VERY hard bed. However that would not keep me away! I hope to return sometime!


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Cocoa, Fl
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

August 12, 2014
Picture Perfect Vistas

Great resort. Prefect for families and couples. We were torn between Dreams Puerto Aventuras, Paradisus Playa del Carmen and Barcelo Maya Palace Deluxe. This was the right choice. The property is pristine. The service was great. The food was good, considering it is an all-inclusive. The kids club was good too. One thing i loved was that this was a HUGE resort but i never felt crowded, unlike cruises where i feel like cattle. Another plus was the air conditioning. This was a necessity in August. Many all inclusive resorts have a lot of open air restaurants. In the heat of the summer this can get nasty. but all the restaurants here are in air-conditioning and the food looks good. The fruit looks good. The salad looks good. I've been to resorts where things sit out and it just leaves me scared to eat. Here i saw the staff checking the food quality. The beach was beautiful. There were rocky places but it just added to the beauty. There was plenty of perfect sandy area. The kids' water park was amazing. There were two, one at the Palace and one at the property next door. My 5 y/o loved them. The kids club was OK. My daughter went once and liked it the second time we tried it was chaos and there was only one attendant. Pool service was great too. We upgraded to the premium and it was worth it. It gave us a pool front room. If i wasn't going to get pool front i would not have done it. This didn't seem available through Cheap Caribbean. The negative, the dolphin area was tiny. It made me sad to see 5-7 dolphins in a tiny pool. And the dolphin experience here is not worth the money. Do that at Dreams.

View from the lobby level
0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Miami, FL
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

August 12, 2014
Great family trip

We took our four kids, ages 20 - 16. It was perfect, they had a wonderful time, so we did too! The Barcelo is super clean, the service was amazing. Lots of fun things to do or you could just float around the pool for hours. The beach was clean. We got to see sea turtles 20 feet off of the shore. Food was great, but you need to make reservations for the nicer restaurants as soon as you check in. The room was beautiful, the bathroom was really cool. Only negative was the bed was hard.


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Philadelphia
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

August 1, 2014
Great resort

Barceló was fantastic, would highly recommend. Very clean, very nice accommodations. The restaurants were good although the buffets could be a little better! Bars and pools were great, but should have been open longer. Especially the adult pool, only open until 7:00!


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: New York
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year