All

Barcelo Maya Colonial and Tropical Beach Reviews

Mexico | Mexico - Riviera Maya Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 737 Reviews
Value
 
4.4
Service
 
4.3
Beaches & Pools
 
4.7
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
3.9
4.3 out of 5
"The Rooms and Property where very Clean , at all times. Staff was friendly and helpful." – Middie
755 out of 850 (89%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Octopus for dinner! Barcy Water Park Cenotes Celebrating my Birthday! Beautiful Decor Pools are large Day on the beach The view from the beach Castle at Tulum great sandy beach sunrise in paradise Thank you Olympus Tours/El Cid Marina southern comfort The beach facing the Palace pool shot! Such a great time!!! Pool area at Colonial coconut island love some of the black mold Beach looking South from Colonial The beach from the resort. beach Rust in the shower Fantastic Pool for everyone Beautiful Beach Beach view Web on light...room should be cleaned welll Resort looking at the ocean Kid's Activities Poolside No place better!!! Beautiful pools Amazing Beach! By dolphinarus Paradise! Can I go back ?!! Resort Map Part of the lobby area Hotel Grounds pool Drinking Session ! Lunch and Dinner. LIFE! Swim up bar at one of the pools Beach at the resort Can you say peacefull! Resort Ground This is the view from Palace of the entire Barcelo beachfront Mexico Lindo restaurant Beach View from our room fun in the sun Butterfly fish Beach on resort Kiddie pool snorkeling off Barcelo Ocean view from walkway Me on the beautiful sandy beach Pool in front of Tropical early morning Beautiful beach Beach Pool Perfection Beach Private Beach Sunrise The Barcelo Maya beach last day sunrise Our gang! broken dresser A little night music

All Barcelo Maya Colonial and Tropical Beach Customer Reviews

1-10 of 737 reviews. Sort by
May 11, 2011
Barcelo Maya Colonial and Tropical - WE LOVE YOU!!

The Barcelo Maya Colonial and Tropical Beach is by far the best resort we have ever been to. We have been to Cancun, Puerta Vallarta and Jamaica so we have something to compare this resort to. The beaches and pools are fabulous. The grounds at this resort are absolutely gorgeous - well groomed, lush and tropical. You will see workers out every morning watering grass, trimming palm trees and and so on. With that being said, this resort is immaculate! They really do an outstanding job. There are a couple of things about this resort that we absolutely loved, so I will start there. First off the beaches are by far the most beautiful we have ever seen and swimmable. They are truly breathtaking! The first (2) days we were there, they had the red flags out, but the remaining (5) days the yellow flags were out. We have two boys, 13 and 15 - with all of the water sport activities that are available (kayaks, sail boats, jet skis, snorkeling) there was never a dull moment - and that was just the ocean. As far as the pool goes, it is HUGE and there was always something going on at the pool. Water Polo, Aerobics, Dance Lessons, Games, etc.... In addition to that, there is beach volleyball, basketball tournaments and soccer tournaments you could get involved in. They post the activities daily, so you always know what is going on and when. Our boys took their own snorkeling gear because you can only check the resorts gear out for 1 hour at a time and with a deposit. I had read that on another review prior to going and am glad we took our own gear. The Tropical Pool is the "Fun Party Pool" if you like that sort of thing - this is where all of the pool activities take place. The pool swim-up bar was an absolute blast. Of course they knew us by name by day #2! My husband is very out going and makes new friends easily and this of course included the bartenders! In addition, we knew most of them by name as well. Well... at least the fun ones. Antonio, Mario and Hector who work the swim-up bar in the Tropical Pool are an absolute blast! We just loved them! The one thing we really liked about this resort was the fact that it was so big. Because believe me, between the AWESOME breakfast, lunch and dinner buffets, you will want to do a lot of walking. In addition to the buffets there are several restaurants you can make reservations for, which we didn't have any trouble with. The Japanese was by far our favorite. In reference to the buffets, there was always something different every night. They had such a variety, steak (rib-eye and T-bone), Prime Rib, different chicken dishes, variety of seafood, pasta, yummy breads - truly, the list goes on and on! So, if you didn't want to deal with making a reservation to the restaurants and deal with having to put your hubby in long pants and shoes (because believe me, mine thought he was on vacation from dressing up also) you could find plenty of good things at the buffet. Before leaving for this trip and prior to booking, I read many reviews and found some to be negative, so that always makes you worry/wonder. But believe me, we weren't at all dissapointed in any way. We will definitely be going back and want to make this resort - "Our Resort!" One that we will visit every year. We personally can't find one thing that we feel is worth complaining about. One of our friends asked our boys if they enjoyed their trip and if it was everything they thought it would be. Their response: "It was more than we ever imagined it would be! We loved it!" I hope you find this review helpful - believe me, I could go on and on! Just book it and go! You won't be dissapointed!


397 of 407 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Iowa
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

September 14, 2013
Great resort...great value

ALRIGHT, SO IF YOU’RE LIKE ME AND ACTUALLY READ REVIEWS TO HELP YOU MAKE A DECISION IN REGARDS TO A RESORT, THAN I’LL TRY TO MAKE MINE AS HELPFUL AND BRIEF AS POSSIBLE (SUMMARY AT THE BOTTOM IF YOU DON’T WANT TO READ)… First off, if you’re looking at this resort, it’s probably for one reason…you want to find a nice resort without breaking the bank. So with that being said, THIS IS THE RESORT FOR YOU. Don’t expect 5 star service and 5 star food and amenities here…if you’re complaining about not getting that like some of these other reviews have said, it’s simple…you didn’t pay $3,000 for two people to stay at Sandals or Dreams or RIU or some of the other more expensive resorts. There’s an old saying…you get what you pay for. But with Barcelo Maya Tropical/Colonial, you ABSOLUTELY get what you paid for and probably more. I’m in my early 30’s and my wife in her mid-20’s and we had a blast here. Would we come back to this resort? Heck yea. The food is good, the drinks are awesome and the pools and beach are beautiful. If you do or don’t have kids, it doesn’t matter. We don’t have any and quite frankly, don’t like kids (sorry), and that was one of my concerns at first when looking at this resort. I saw they had a kiddie pool area and I was like great….there might be a bunch of kids running around everywhere and bothering you in the pools and stuff. Totally not the case. While there were kids around the resort, this place and pools are so HUGE you don’t even notice them. With that being said, this is also not a “party” resort, which we weren’t looking for anyway, but we still had fun between the eating and drinking and plain old relaxing. We met two Italian couples and became friends while we were there and ended up going to the on-site night club (Jaguar) one night and had a blast there as well. We didn’t go to any of the shows as we were out and about every night, so can’t tell you much about them, other than they do start at 9:00 pm every night. So in brief, Barcelo Maya Tropical/Colonial is a very beautiful resort and a great value for the price and you will not be disappointed if you book this place. As far as CheapCarribean goes, this is the 1st time we’ve used them, so again, a little hesitant at first since I didn’t know what to expect from them, but we had no issues at all with them. Booked the airport transport with Olympus and that was hassle free as well. Well done Cheap Carribean…will use you guys again. Now for some quick tips/pointers… ROOMS—They’re hotel style, so not very big. If you’re thinking they’re big or looking for big, you might be dissapointed. Non issue for us though as we were hardly in there. If you’re looking to upgrade to Ocean View as we did, you may also me disappointed as you don’t get a very good view due to all the palm trees around the resort. Again, I really didn’t care but if this is a must for you than heads up. FOOD—Buffets are good…it is, after all, a buffet. Not sure what people expect out of these sometimes. Reservation restaurants were also good. We reserved the Italian, Japanese and paid for the Brazilian one and all were really good. Pants and closed shoes are required. DRINKS—Good and nice variety. Some reviews say the alcohol is watered down…didn't notice it if that’s the case. And even if they were, nothing a shot of tequila can’t fix. POOLS/BEACH—Very very nice pools, and they’re so huge there’s always space everywhere so it doesn't feel crowded at all. Same thing for the beach…I read somewhere that you need to take water shoes...not true. Beach is so long there are plenty of spots where you’ll be fine without water shoes. STAFF/SERVICE—Great staff and great service. No complaints at all from front desk, to housekeeping, to servers to bartenders. All were very friendly and helpful. RESORT/GROUNDS—Like other reviews say, be prepared to walk. This place is enormous. Grounds are also very well kept and neat…not that it mattered to me anyway, but if it that matters to you, you won’t be disappointed. INTERNET—NOT free. It’s $130 pesos per day, or $500 pesos for the entire week, so about $11 dollars a day or $45 for the week, more or less. Didn’t do the exact math, but whatever…you get the jist of it. 


99 of 100 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Nashville, TN
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

December 21, 2011
1st trip to Mexico Dec 06-14 2011

This was our first vacation abroad. For the past 25 years we have vacationed along the east US coast beach resorts. For our 25th anniversary we decided to go all out. We searched the internet for resorts and deals and became overwhelmed and frustrated. That's when we contacted Jeffrey at CheapCaribbean.com. He simply asked what's your interest and what do you want to do on vacation. We explained we were interested in seeing the cultural sites of Mexico and a relaxing, quiet resort with nice beach and snorkeling. He suggested a couple of resorts and we settled on Barcelo Maya Tropical. After reading the reviews on different sites of the Barelo Maya Tropical, I became concerned. There were good reviews and bad reviews, but decided to throw caution to the wind and take off. Upon arriving at the Cancun airport we were very impressed with the cleanliness of the facility including the restrooms. Things went smooth, the lines were very long but moved rather quickly. After my wife and I received the "green light" we entered the shark tank. We had been forewarned to go straight for the front doors. The sharks new tactics are to tell you they have your gate number for your shuttle to your resort and they needed to know which resort. They kept trying to pressure us to sign a paper. We finally had to become rude and push our way thru. They must have smelled the new traveler on us. They were all dressed in blue shirts and looked very professional, but our TA, Jeffery, stressed to us to look for the orange Olympus shirts and we did. They were right there at the front door no need to go looking all over for them. They were very professional, and made us feel at ease. We drove to the resort in a very nice, clean van. Upon arriving at the resort we were greeted with a glass of champagne. Our room was ready. They lead us straight to our room and our bags were brought up for us. We requested a king bed on the third floor away from the noise, and that is exactly what we got. The room was very clean and smelled good, no foul odors as other reviews had stated. True the mattress was a little firm, but we slept just fine. A few minutes later there was a knock on the door and a waiter had brought us more champagne and a cake and wished us a happy anniversary - very nice touch. Throughout the hotel, lobbies, restaurants, pool area was decorated for Christmas - even the palm trees. There were Christmas carols playing, even Frosty the Snowman, and Grandma Got Run Over By A Reindeer sung with a Spanish accent - cool!! We really enjoyed the buffets and specialty restaurants. Now I can't understand all the complaints about the food on some of the reviews I read. There was so much to choose from. It was all great. You could dress up and go to a nice restaurant, or walk in with flip flop to the buffet or grill and the food was every bit as good. We enjoyed some of the more unusual authentic dishes along with steak and seafood. My wife thought the bread was awesome, I think all of it was awesome. FYI: There is bottled water everywhere, no extra charge. We were concerned about the "don't drink the water" thing. But we brushed our teeth with tap water, ate the ice, and sampled all the fruits and veggies on the buffet and did not get sick. Some reviews were complaints about the long walk from your room the the lobby or buffet/restaurants. It only took about a minute or two to walk to the buffet and lounges, but it is a beautiful walk thru lush landscapes and waterways. The pools were beautiful and huge, but we didn't fly a thousand miles to sit by the pool. All of our time was spent on the beautiful beach under the palm trees, or snorkeling and swimming in the crystal clear water. The ocean temp was perfect for this. The weather was perfect, in the 80's (F) every day. The nights were in the 70's. It did rain a couple of times, but only for a few minutes and was gone and dried up in no time. We booked a couple of tours. The Coba Encounter, and shuttle to shopping on 5th Avenue. The Coba Encounter was an awesome experience, We repelled, ziplined and swam in the cenote. Had lunch prepared by the wonderful ladies that lived in the Mayan village, and climbed the ancient temple. The shopping at 5th Ave was an experience in the evening. Lots of activity and haggling going on. Get ready to say NO alot, the shop owners are very persuasive. We did work out some good deals on souvenirs. Actually my wife preferred to shop at the Plaza Mexicana at the resort. Monday, Wednesday, and Friday are Fiesta nights at the shopping center. Local venders and performers come out - don't miss this, have dinner early at the grill. Festivities start at 6:30. We watched a couple of the shows at the theater. We really enjoyed them. Enough can't be said about how hard the staff worked - waiters, housekeeping, performers, front desk staff, bartenders, landscapers, maintenance, and everyone working there. They worked tirelessly to make sure each and every guest was pampered (yes tip these people, they certainly deserve it). We stayed nine days and still didn't have time to fit in all the activities offered by the resort, that's why we are already planning our visit for next year. This is now our new vacation home. TIP: For all new snorkelers, like me, first practice in a shallow pool. Trust me. Also must try the Dirty Monkey drinks - my wife loved them.

sunrise in paradise
93 of 98 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image
Top 100 Contributor
From: southeastern,Kentucky
Age: 35-44
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

April 8, 2011
THING TO KNOW BEFORE YOU GO

THE PROPERTY ITSELF IS BEAUTIFUL AND CLEAN. The staff however is not very fluent in english. They have a bracelet policy to reflect age and travel company. If a bracelet is lost there is a $250 charge. This was not explained at check -in. So just be careful with wrist bands. However it does help with the underage drinking and clubbing as their wrist bands are a different color. The beds are uncomfortable and small i might suggest the kings. Food was wonderful, however you need to pick your resturants and times directly after checking in or you will find that the dinner reservations are full and you will be at the buffet all week (which is still nice). The pools are also vey well kept and have fun activites. However leave your resort towel on a chair late evening as we found "NO" pool lounges available at 7 am! There are nice lounge chairs located on the beach as well. Please note that you also pay extra for wine and premium drinks. Side note if pool towel is lost $20 if room key is lost $5. If you need to see a doctor do not use the one in the resort it is worth the cab ride to Town to medical urgent care and there is a walmart for RX's. Overall great trip these are things i guess i knew ahead of time instead of finding them out along our travels. M


98 of 108 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
2.0
User Image
Top 100 Contributor
From: MICHIGAN
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

September 18, 2012
Outstanding

We recently stayed at the Barcelo Maya Colonial and Tropical Beach. All I can say is WOW......... what a great resort, there is so much to do for anyone. Great snorkling,food, activities,shops and service. I had read other reviews on this property and I can not say why some people put down what they did but we were not diiapointed at all. I would highly recommend when your staying there is to make sure you stay at the Colonial it is in the center of the 5 resorts and has the best part of the beach right in front of it. The beach is 1 1/2 miles long and you can use it all but I feel this is the best part of the beach. Anytime you go out the country anything can happen, but when making your reservations make sure you tell your agent that you want to stay at the colonial. Not that the rest of the resort is bad but I think the location of this one is on spot. Also it is a huge property so my wife and I up graded to be closer to the beach and pools and it was worth it. When you get to the resort see where you room is located and then decide. We bargined with the resort and got the upgrade for 30 dollars a night. It included premium liquors,20% percent of purchases at the resort and a few othe ammenities......well worth the money to get a premium room. Don't settle with just anyroom at any resort over there when you get there if you talk to them in a nice way and and demand a room you can usally get what you want, as we have learned in the past. Great job also to Cheapcarribian. When booking call the 1-800 number let them help you and they can put in the notes to the resort what you expect it helps. In my photos there is a map of the property. Thanks Cheapcarribian this is the 7th time I used ya great job....


18 of 18 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Nashville tn
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

April 25, 2013
It's All Good

Just came back from a very beautiful, relaxing vacation at the Barcelo Maya Colonial resort. I'll keep this simple - if you're looking for a nice place to relax, soak up some sun, and enjoy some cold beverages in a stress free environment, this is the place for you. Quick rundown... -Resort was very well maintained... Clean, tropical, and pretty. -Staff was very nice and courteous. -Beach was ok - nice to look at, but very rocky under the water in some parts which made it tough to dip in. But that's what the pools were for, and there were plenty of them with more space than you'll ever need. -Food was good - not out of this world, but definitely solid. Hibachi was randomly great, and a fun time. Mexican restaurant was great too. -Rooms were big, simple, and clean. Beds weren't the most comfortable, but this isn't the Ritz Carlton... It was easy to get a good night's sleep after 10 hours in the sun. I read questionable reviews on this place as well as good ones as I was debating whether or not to go initially. I think that the people who have complaints on this place are just complainers in general and will find something to moan about. There was absolutely nothing wrong with this place and I'd definitely recommend it.


25 of 26 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Connecticut
Age: 25-34

August 26, 2012
Not what you saved your money for!

Place was very clean throughout resort. Understaffed in all areas. Bar drinks were sweet and lacked liquer. Air conditioners in two rooms broken. My family had to be split up because of room issues. Only can attend two restaurant dinners otherwise had to use buffet or pay $15.00 a person. Staff at reservations for dinner very unhelpful and lacked any interest in helping or explaining. Many wonderful staff in buffet. Cleo and Marlense at front dest only only competent desk help. Many children throughout resort. Running all over prior to shows at night. Tried to go snorkling x2 but they ran out of equipment. Have to put down a credit card for $50.00 for each person who wants to snorkel. Really not all inclusive at all. Bring money to tip constantly. Resort came hightly recommended but we were very disappointed.


15 of 15 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 2
Value
 
2.0
Service
 
2.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
2.0
User Image

From: New York
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

June 22, 2015
Thorough and honest review

My husband and I stayed at the Barcelo Maya Colonial resort for 1 week, June 13th-20th. Overall it was a positive experience and I would recommend the resort, with a couple forewarnings which I'll include. Grounds and overall appearance: absolutely impeccable. The hotel gardens, grounds, and overall appearance was phenomenal. It was unlike anything I've ever seen before. In the main lobby there are shallow pools in between all the buildings which look like winding rivers with fountains and beautiful plant life all around them. The grounds were always kept extremely clean and well maintained. The entire resort is a group of several hotels, each with unique flair which makes it interesting to walk from hotel to hotel and see the different decor at each. The hotels are linked by paved sidewalk through the hotels themselves as well as along the beach so walking between them is very easy. Pools: the pools are also phenomenal! Each pool is HUGE which is great because no matter how many people are in them, they never feel crowded. There is something for everyone here, you just have to find what suits you. There is a pool for each hotel, all equally large and beautiful, yet each a little different. The Colonial pool seemed to be the main pool, so there was always a lot of action going on here. It has the most "party" vibe of all the pools so it attracted a lot of the younger crowd. Music would be playing, there's areas for pool sports, contests were held here, just about everything you could think of. One hotel down was the Caribe, which had a more laid back vibe. This is where my husband and I spent most our time because we wanted a relaxing vacation. There's also tons of pools for the kiddos- some with slides, pirate ships, and other fun things for them to do so it is definitely kid friendly if that's what you are looking for. Each of the large pools has a swim up bar which served relatively good drinks- the mojitos are by far the best. Be warned though- depending on which resort you are staying at, only certain bars will serve you. My husband and I went to a neighboring pool (don't remember which) and we were flat out refused service at the swim up bar. So all inclusive for us meant all inclusive at some of the hotels, but not all. We could use the bars and restaurants at the Colonial, Tropical, and Caribe. It was a little embarrassing to find this out the hard way, since we were never informed of this on our arrival. There was always tons of seating around the pool with lots of chairs and hammocks as well. This is not the kind of place you have to wake up at the crack of dawn to reserve your chair, which I greatly appreciated. Overall the pools and surrounding areas were top notch, the only suggestion I could have would be to include an adults only pool because having little kids canon ball next to you when you are relaxing on a float is not always ideal. While I was at the resort there was construction going on at a pool area so maybe this is already in the works. Attractions: there are so many things to do here! Again, some but not all of these things are included in the "all inclusive". We did not take advantage of all of these, but some of the activities include a bowling alley (nice if a storm rolls through), miniature golf, snorkeling, kayaks, pool tables, ping pong, basketball, tennis, a dolphin show/ swim with dolphins experience, a night club, and so much more. You will never be bored if you're worried about not having enough to do or worried about being "stuck" on a resort. There's also a lot for the kids, in addition to the water slides they have play grounds, face painting, and have different activities to keep them entertained. There are also shows every evening and we actually got to participate in one which was a lot of fun. They also have a spa which looked very nice but we never used because the prices were a little steep. In the main lobby they have people to help you set up any excursions you wish to go on. We did the Chichen Itza tour through Amstar which I highly recommend. We also did the Jolly Roger Pirate Cruise which I do not recommend as highly, because it is a loooong drive and not quite worth it. Beach: I am going to assume our beach experience was so poor because of bad timing. The first day we got to the resort a tropical storm was blowing through. This being so, the waves were fierce and he beach was unswimmable for two days. And with the waves came the seaweed. No joke- like a wall of seaweed. The first night we wanted to take a walk down the beach and couldn't because the wall of seaweed was probably a foot deep and four feet across. It had dead fish laying in it and smelled awful. The following day the resort made a valiant attempt to rectify this by having dump trucks and tractors on the beach scooping up the seaweed and hauling it away. Obviously this was appreciated but anther beach day was gone because the pleasure of sitting on the beach is somewhat taken away when your view is a dump truck full of seaweed. The following few days we were able to get into the ocean and it was nice. The water was warm and calm after the storm passed. However, the trucks were able to cart away some of the seaweed wall but a large portion still remained. If you wanted to get in the water you still had to walk through it, and there was still a ton. We also always sat pretty far from the front of the beach because it stunk so bad it took away from the experience. This was overall a poor beach experience, but hopefully it was just a fluke thing and it isn't like that year round. Hotel room: we stayed in the junior suite and it was lovely. The bathroom was all updated and tiled. The rooms were updated and were very spacious. We were on the ground floor and had a nice view of the gardens. I would however recommend (if it's in your budget) to stay at the Caribe hotel. They had more options that looked nice. For example you could chose to have a porch with a hammock, a hot tub on your patio, and even a personal swim up pool. Staff: everyone was very friendly. Service was always prompt. I have been learning Spanish and they were all very patient with me trying out my limited Spanish conversational ability with them and were always willing to teach me more. I've been to other all inclusive resorts which had " no tipping" policies. This is NOT the case here. This is the first one we've been to where tipping is allowed so we were caught off guard when we saw other people leaving tips on their tables at the buffet breakfasts and lunches. Again, we could have been spared some embarrassment if we knew that tips were expected. My husband ran back to the hotel room to grab some cash so we didn't leave our waiter empty handed. Restaurants: the at Colonial/Tropical are mediocre at best. Try to stray away from the food in the warming bins as they often taste like it's been sitting out for hours. Instead, go for the fresh stuff the make in front of you like the omelettes in the morning and the pasta bowls at night. The Caribe buffet is FAR better. We didn't go there until the last two days though because of our experience being turned down service at a different hotel pool bar. I wish we would've known earlier that we could dine at the Caribe because we would've gone there every day. There are also specialty restaurants which were very very good. I particularly liked the steak house. If you want reservations at the hibachi grill, make them a few days in advance. We were never able to eat there because it's so popular. They will try to up sell you wine at the restaurants but don't be sucked in like we were! We spent $50 dollars at three restaurants for a bottle of wine because we thought that was our only option. You can still drink the house wine at the specialty restaurants free of charge. So for 7 nights you get 4 "tickets" per person to make reservations at the specialty restaurants. You are supposed to get these at check in- and we did not. We went to customer service because we didn't know how to make reservations. We were told by the customer service representative hat there was "no way" the front desk staff forgot to put them in our welcoming package and flat out refused to allow us reservations at any of the restaurants without them. After speaking with the manager and showing that our welcome packet did not include tickets, we were then given our four allotted tickets and were then allowed to make reservations. Overall it was a good experience that could have been better if there was a little more communication at check in. It would have been nice if they outlined on the hotel map with which hotels we could go to for the buffets and bars. This would've made the experience much easier. The reservation process should have been explained at check in as well. It also would've been nice to know their tipping policy and not have been caught off guard. The beach left something to be desired, but again maybe it was just the time of year I went as they are approaching rainy season next week. The pools, gardens, activities, specialty restaurants, and hotel rooms were all great and overall made the experience unforgettable.

Thorough and honest review
30 of 33 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Toledo, OH
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

April 26, 2013
Loved every mintue!

Wow, what an excellent hotel. Our group consisted of my husband and myself, my Father from Germany and a female friend of his. I hate to say it, but none of us are easily impressed but this place was amazing. The grounds and common areas were so clean, a piece of trash would get cleaned up before it had the chance to hit the floor. The rooms were clean as well, the beds comfortable and the service downright fabulous. The food was ok, nicely presented in an appealing and appetizing manner, but the taste was just ok. The same goes for the restaurants that require reservations. The beach is beautiful, the pools immaculate and the hotel offers a variety of tours, of which we did two, one to Chichen Itza and the other to Xcaret. Both were great. We stayed at the Barcelo Tropical, but the lobby of the Colonial is right next door and only a few steps away is a cute little market with a variety of vendors. The night life is tame, but that is what we were looking for, just peace and relaxation and a beautiful scenery to enjoy and we certainly got more than we expected. My husband is already after me to book another stay in a few months. This place is a winner.


12 of 12 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Colorado Springs, CO
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

October 20, 2011
Lushly landscaped resort with great snorkeling

We arrived at the Barcelo Maya Tropical on Oct. 6, 2011 and were checked in by Carlos, the desk manager, who was helpful and responsive to any need during our week stay. Carlos stopped us several times as we passed through the lobby during the week to ask us if we needed anything and inquire about how we were enjoying our stay. All desk staff and most restaurant, lobby, dive and rental shop staff spoke English although cleaning staff did not. If you needed something the cleaning staff would ask you to please call the lobby if you didn't speak Spanish. I do but my husband doesn't so several times he would call me over to translate if he needed something. One thing to remember - you are in a foreign country. How can people get upset about people not speaking English in Mexico? There are many people from all over the world coming to this resort. Should we expect the maids who probably have no more than a grammar school education to be multilingual when we ourselves are not? I have seen reviews here complaining about staff not speaking English. If you are visiting a foreign country please learn a few simple words to communicate your needs and do not become an ugly American expecting everyone to learn your language. Ok back to the review. One important thing to understand about this resort - they say there are 5 resorts in one here but it is really more like three resorts in one, although each does have it's own lobby. There is kind of a tiered system of use. The Barcelo Maya Beach and Barcelo Caribe are on the bottom. The rooms and public areas are somewhat smaller and you can only use the outdoor buffets and 2 specialty restaurants available to these resorts if you stay here. The Barcelo Colonial and Barcelo Tropical are next on the tiered system. The public areas are expansive, less crowded and the breakfast and dinner buffets are air conditioned. Your also have a choice of 4 more specialty restaurants and can use any of the restaurants or buffets of the Beach or Caribe. The Maya Palace is at the top of the system with 3 more specialty restaurants and an air-conditioned buffet overlooking the beach. These are available only to those staying at the Palace and they then have a choice of any of the 11 specialty restaurants the resort has to offer. We felt very comfortable staying at the Tropical. The property is quite extensive and we really never had the time to visit all the buffets although we did enjoy the Japanese, Mexican, Spanish, Steakhouse, and Seafood restaurants. Our favorite things about this resort were the water sports. Snorkeling right off the beach was great with lots of coral, sea fans, and fish. Stay away from the pier where there is a wall of super aggressive fish waiting to be fed. They will swarm you and even bite you trying to get a handout as people are always feeding them from the pier. Fortunately, they don't follow you away from the pier and we didn't see these aggressive fish anywhere else. The Hobie cats are all in excellent condition and very easy to sail and there are single and double kayaks available to take out. The bay is so large even though we went snorkeling 5-6 times we never made it down to the south side in front of the Maya Beach and Caribe. We definitely recommend this resort and would consider returning.

snorkeling off Barcelo Butterfly fish
22 of 24 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Delray Beach, FL
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year