All

Barcelo Maya Colonial and Tropical Beach Reviews

Mexico | Mexico - Riviera Maya Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 821 Reviews
Value
 
4.4
Service
 
4.3
Beaches & Pools
 
4.7
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
3.9
4.3 out of 5
"Overall everything was good , except one thing there was no exhaust in the bathroom . its very important to have a proper exhaust. Rest the hotel service ,pool, food , was very good." – cherian
840 out of 953 (88%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
fun in the sun Beach Kid's Activities great sandy beach Beautiful Beach Beach at the resort southern comfort Nasty Beautiful beach Lunch and Dinner. LIFE! sunrise in paradise Hotel Grounds Drinking Session ! beach By dolphinarus 7158 room Thank you Olympus Tours/El Cid Marina Beach view Beach looking South from Colonial Poolside Rust in the shower View from a beach lounge chair pool shot! Walking path A little night music Butterfly fish some of the black mold Resort Ground Pools are large Castle at Tulum Barcy Water Park Lobster dinner Perfection The Barcelo Maya beach Pool broken dresser Cenotes Resort Map Beach This is the view from Palace of the entire Barcelo beachfront Kiddie pool Beautiful pools Beach Beach on resort Such a great time!!! Private Beach Part of the lobby area Great Giant Pools! Pool area at Colonial Can I go back ?!! pool No place better!!! The beach facing the Palace Can you say peacefull! Paradise! Resort looking at the ocean Web on light...room should be cleaned welll coconut island love Not too shabby. Octopus for dinner! beach Great view The beach from the resort. Great Decor Mexico Lindo restaurant Fantastic Pool for everyone Day on the beach snorkeling off Barcelo Beautiful Decor Celebrating my Birthday! Amazing Beach! lobby desk View from our room Sunrise Swim up bar at one of the pools Our gang! The view from the beach Ocean view from walkway Pool in front of Tropical early morning Me on the beautiful sandy beach last day sunrise

All Barcelo Maya Colonial and Tropical Beach Customer Reviews

1-10 of 821 reviews. Sort by
May 11, 2011
Barcelo Maya Colonial and Tropical - WE LOVE YOU!!

The Barcelo Maya Colonial and Tropical Beach is by far the best resort we have ever been to. We have been to Cancun, Puerta Vallarta and Jamaica so we have something to compare this resort to. The beaches and pools are fabulous. The grounds at this resort are absolutely gorgeous - well groomed, lush and tropical. You will see workers out every morning watering grass, trimming palm trees and and so on. With that being said, this resort is immaculate! They really do an outstanding job. There are a couple of things about this resort that we absolutely loved, so I will start there. First off the beaches are by far the most beautiful we have ever seen and swimmable. They are truly breathtaking! The first (2) days we were there, they had the red flags out, but the remaining (5) days the yellow flags were out. We have two boys, 13 and 15 - with all of the water sport activities that are available (kayaks, sail boats, jet skis, snorkeling) there was never a dull moment - and that was just the ocean. As far as the pool goes, it is HUGE and there was always something going on at the pool. Water Polo, Aerobics, Dance Lessons, Games, etc.... In addition to that, there is beach volleyball, basketball tournaments and soccer tournaments you could get involved in. They post the activities daily, so you always know what is going on and when. Our boys took their own snorkeling gear because you can only check the resorts gear out for 1 hour at a time and with a deposit. I had read that on another review prior to going and am glad we took our own gear. The Tropical Pool is the "Fun Party Pool" if you like that sort of thing - this is where all of the pool activities take place. The pool swim-up bar was an absolute blast. Of course they knew us by name by day #2! My husband is very out going and makes new friends easily and this of course included the bartenders! In addition, we knew most of them by name as well. Well... at least the fun ones. Antonio, Mario and Hector who work the swim-up bar in the Tropical Pool are an absolute blast! We just loved them! The one thing we really liked about this resort was the fact that it was so big. Because believe me, between the AWESOME breakfast, lunch and dinner buffets, you will want to do a lot of walking. In addition to the buffets there are several restaurants you can make reservations for, which we didn't have any trouble with. The Japanese was by far our favorite. In reference to the buffets, there was always something different every night. They had such a variety, steak (rib-eye and T-bone), Prime Rib, different chicken dishes, variety of seafood, pasta, yummy breads - truly, the list goes on and on! So, if you didn't want to deal with making a reservation to the restaurants and deal with having to put your hubby in long pants and shoes (because believe me, mine thought he was on vacation from dressing up also) you could find plenty of good things at the buffet. Before leaving for this trip and prior to booking, I read many reviews and found some to be negative, so that always makes you worry/wonder. But believe me, we weren't at all dissapointed in any way. We will definitely be going back and want to make this resort - "Our Resort!" One that we will visit every year. We personally can't find one thing that we feel is worth complaining about. One of our friends asked our boys if they enjoyed their trip and if it was everything they thought it would be. Their response: "It was more than we ever imagined it would be! We loved it!" I hope you find this review helpful - believe me, I could go on and on! Just book it and go! You won't be dissapointed!


400 of 410 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Iowa
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

September 14, 2013
Great resort...great value

ALRIGHT, SO IF YOU’RE LIKE ME AND ACTUALLY READ REVIEWS TO HELP YOU MAKE A DECISION IN REGARDS TO A RESORT, THAN I’LL TRY TO MAKE MINE AS HELPFUL AND BRIEF AS POSSIBLE (SUMMARY AT THE BOTTOM IF YOU DON’T WANT TO READ)… First off, if you’re looking at this resort, it’s probably for one reason…you want to find a nice resort without breaking the bank. So with that being said, THIS IS THE RESORT FOR YOU. Don’t expect 5 star service and 5 star food and amenities here…if you’re complaining about not getting that like some of these other reviews have said, it’s simple…you didn’t pay $3,000 for two people to stay at Sandals or Dreams or RIU or some of the other more expensive resorts. There’s an old saying…you get what you pay for. But with Barcelo Maya Tropical/Colonial, you ABSOLUTELY get what you paid for and probably more. I’m in my early 30’s and my wife in her mid-20’s and we had a blast here. Would we come back to this resort? Heck yea. The food is good, the drinks are awesome and the pools and beach are beautiful. If you do or don’t have kids, it doesn’t matter. We don’t have any and quite frankly, don’t like kids (sorry), and that was one of my concerns at first when looking at this resort. I saw they had a kiddie pool area and I was like great….there might be a bunch of kids running around everywhere and bothering you in the pools and stuff. Totally not the case. While there were kids around the resort, this place and pools are so HUGE you don’t even notice them. With that being said, this is also not a “party” resort, which we weren’t looking for anyway, but we still had fun between the eating and drinking and plain old relaxing. We met two Italian couples and became friends while we were there and ended up going to the on-site night club (Jaguar) one night and had a blast there as well. We didn’t go to any of the shows as we were out and about every night, so can’t tell you much about them, other than they do start at 9:00 pm every night. So in brief, Barcelo Maya Tropical/Colonial is a very beautiful resort and a great value for the price and you will not be disappointed if you book this place. As far as CheapCarribean goes, this is the 1st time we’ve used them, so again, a little hesitant at first since I didn’t know what to expect from them, but we had no issues at all with them. Booked the airport transport with Olympus and that was hassle free as well. Well done Cheap Carribean…will use you guys again. Now for some quick tips/pointers… ROOMS—They’re hotel style, so not very big. If you’re thinking they’re big or looking for big, you might be dissapointed. Non issue for us though as we were hardly in there. If you’re looking to upgrade to Ocean View as we did, you may also me disappointed as you don’t get a very good view due to all the palm trees around the resort. Again, I really didn’t care but if this is a must for you than heads up. FOOD—Buffets are good…it is, after all, a buffet. Not sure what people expect out of these sometimes. Reservation restaurants were also good. We reserved the Italian, Japanese and paid for the Brazilian one and all were really good. Pants and closed shoes are required. DRINKS—Good and nice variety. Some reviews say the alcohol is watered down…didn't notice it if that’s the case. And even if they were, nothing a shot of tequila can’t fix. POOLS/BEACH—Very very nice pools, and they’re so huge there’s always space everywhere so it doesn't feel crowded at all. Same thing for the beach…I read somewhere that you need to take water shoes...not true. Beach is so long there are plenty of spots where you’ll be fine without water shoes. STAFF/SERVICE—Great staff and great service. No complaints at all from front desk, to housekeeping, to servers to bartenders. All were very friendly and helpful. RESORT/GROUNDS—Like other reviews say, be prepared to walk. This place is enormous. Grounds are also very well kept and neat…not that it mattered to me anyway, but if it that matters to you, you won’t be disappointed. INTERNET—NOT free. It’s $130 pesos per day, or $500 pesos for the entire week, so about $11 dollars a day or $45 for the week, more or less. Didn’t do the exact math, but whatever…you get the jist of it. 


102 of 105 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Nashville, TN
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

December 21, 2011
1st trip to Mexico Dec 06-14 2011

This was our first vacation abroad. For the past 25 years we have vacationed along the east US coast beach resorts. For our 25th anniversary we decided to go all out. We searched the internet for resorts and deals and became overwhelmed and frustrated. That's when we contacted Jeffrey at CheapCaribbean.com. He simply asked what's your interest and what do you want to do on vacation. We explained we were interested in seeing the cultural sites of Mexico and a relaxing, quiet resort with nice beach and snorkeling. He suggested a couple of resorts and we settled on Barcelo Maya Tropical. After reading the reviews on different sites of the Barelo Maya Tropical, I became concerned. There were good reviews and bad reviews, but decided to throw caution to the wind and take off. Upon arriving at the Cancun airport we were very impressed with the cleanliness of the facility including the restrooms. Things went smooth, the lines were very long but moved rather quickly. After my wife and I received the "green light" we entered the shark tank. We had been forewarned to go straight for the front doors. The sharks new tactics are to tell you they have your gate number for your shuttle to your resort and they needed to know which resort. They kept trying to pressure us to sign a paper. We finally had to become rude and push our way thru. They must have smelled the new traveler on us. They were all dressed in blue shirts and looked very professional, but our TA, Jeffery, stressed to us to look for the orange Olympus shirts and we did. They were right there at the front door no need to go looking all over for them. They were very professional, and made us feel at ease. We drove to the resort in a very nice, clean van. Upon arriving at the resort we were greeted with a glass of champagne. Our room was ready. They lead us straight to our room and our bags were brought up for us. We requested a king bed on the third floor away from the noise, and that is exactly what we got. The room was very clean and smelled good, no foul odors as other reviews had stated. True the mattress was a little firm, but we slept just fine. A few minutes later there was a knock on the door and a waiter had brought us more champagne and a cake and wished us a happy anniversary - very nice touch. Throughout the hotel, lobbies, restaurants, pool area was decorated for Christmas - even the palm trees. There were Christmas carols playing, even Frosty the Snowman, and Grandma Got Run Over By A Reindeer sung with a Spanish accent - cool!! We really enjoyed the buffets and specialty restaurants. Now I can't understand all the complaints about the food on some of the reviews I read. There was so much to choose from. It was all great. You could dress up and go to a nice restaurant, or walk in with flip flop to the buffet or grill and the food was every bit as good. We enjoyed some of the more unusual authentic dishes along with steak and seafood. My wife thought the bread was awesome, I think all of it was awesome. FYI: There is bottled water everywhere, no extra charge. We were concerned about the "don't drink the water" thing. But we brushed our teeth with tap water, ate the ice, and sampled all the fruits and veggies on the buffet and did not get sick. Some reviews were complaints about the long walk from your room the the lobby or buffet/restaurants. It only took about a minute or two to walk to the buffet and lounges, but it is a beautiful walk thru lush landscapes and waterways. The pools were beautiful and huge, but we didn't fly a thousand miles to sit by the pool. All of our time was spent on the beautiful beach under the palm trees, or snorkeling and swimming in the crystal clear water. The ocean temp was perfect for this. The weather was perfect, in the 80's (F) every day. The nights were in the 70's. It did rain a couple of times, but only for a few minutes and was gone and dried up in no time. We booked a couple of tours. The Coba Encounter, and shuttle to shopping on 5th Avenue. The Coba Encounter was an awesome experience, We repelled, ziplined and swam in the cenote. Had lunch prepared by the wonderful ladies that lived in the Mayan village, and climbed the ancient temple. The shopping at 5th Ave was an experience in the evening. Lots of activity and haggling going on. Get ready to say NO alot, the shop owners are very persuasive. We did work out some good deals on souvenirs. Actually my wife preferred to shop at the Plaza Mexicana at the resort. Monday, Wednesday, and Friday are Fiesta nights at the shopping center. Local venders and performers come out - don't miss this, have dinner early at the grill. Festivities start at 6:30. We watched a couple of the shows at the theater. We really enjoyed them. Enough can't be said about how hard the staff worked - waiters, housekeeping, performers, front desk staff, bartenders, landscapers, maintenance, and everyone working there. They worked tirelessly to make sure each and every guest was pampered (yes tip these people, they certainly deserve it). We stayed nine days and still didn't have time to fit in all the activities offered by the resort, that's why we are already planning our visit for next year. This is now our new vacation home. TIP: For all new snorkelers, like me, first practice in a shallow pool. Trust me. Also must try the Dirty Monkey drinks - my wife loved them.

sunrise in paradise
95 of 100 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image
Top 100 Contributor
From: southeastern,Kentucky
Age: 35-44
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

September 18, 2012
Outstanding

We recently stayed at the Barcelo Maya Colonial and Tropical Beach. All I can say is WOW......... what a great resort, there is so much to do for anyone. Great snorkling,food, activities,shops and service. I had read other reviews on this property and I can not say why some people put down what they did but we were not diiapointed at all. I would highly recommend when your staying there is to make sure you stay at the Colonial it is in the center of the 5 resorts and has the best part of the beach right in front of it. The beach is 1 1/2 miles long and you can use it all but I feel this is the best part of the beach. Anytime you go out the country anything can happen, but when making your reservations make sure you tell your agent that you want to stay at the colonial. Not that the rest of the resort is bad but I think the location of this one is on spot. Also it is a huge property so my wife and I up graded to be closer to the beach and pools and it was worth it. When you get to the resort see where you room is located and then decide. We bargined with the resort and got the upgrade for 30 dollars a night. It included premium liquors,20% percent of purchases at the resort and a few othe ammenities......well worth the money to get a premium room. Don't settle with just anyroom at any resort over there when you get there if you talk to them in a nice way and and demand a room you can usally get what you want, as we have learned in the past. Great job also to Cheapcarribian. When booking call the 1-800 number let them help you and they can put in the notes to the resort what you expect it helps. In my photos there is a map of the property. Thanks Cheapcarribian this is the 7th time I used ya great job....


18 of 18 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Nashville tn
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

April 8, 2011
THING TO KNOW BEFORE YOU GO

THE PROPERTY ITSELF IS BEAUTIFUL AND CLEAN. The staff however is not very fluent in english. They have a bracelet policy to reflect age and travel company. If a bracelet is lost there is a $250 charge. This was not explained at check -in. So just be careful with wrist bands. However it does help with the underage drinking and clubbing as their wrist bands are a different color. The beds are uncomfortable and small i might suggest the kings. Food was wonderful, however you need to pick your resturants and times directly after checking in or you will find that the dinner reservations are full and you will be at the buffet all week (which is still nice). The pools are also vey well kept and have fun activites. However leave your resort towel on a chair late evening as we found "NO" pool lounges available at 7 am! There are nice lounge chairs located on the beach as well. Please note that you also pay extra for wine and premium drinks. Side note if pool towel is lost $20 if room key is lost $5. If you need to see a doctor do not use the one in the resort it is worth the cab ride to Town to medical urgent care and there is a walmart for RX's. Overall great trip these are things i guess i knew ahead of time instead of finding them out along our travels. M


102 of 115 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
2.0
User Image
Top 100 Contributor
From: MICHIGAN
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

August 26, 2012
Not what you saved your money for!

Place was very clean throughout resort. Understaffed in all areas. Bar drinks were sweet and lacked liquer. Air conditioners in two rooms broken. My family had to be split up because of room issues. Only can attend two restaurant dinners otherwise had to use buffet or pay $15.00 a person. Staff at reservations for dinner very unhelpful and lacked any interest in helping or explaining. Many wonderful staff in buffet. Cleo and Marlense at front dest only only competent desk help. Many children throughout resort. Running all over prior to shows at night. Tried to go snorkling x2 but they ran out of equipment. Have to put down a credit card for $50.00 for each person who wants to snorkel. Really not all inclusive at all. Bring money to tip constantly. Resort came hightly recommended but we were very disappointed.


17 of 17 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 2
Value
 
2.0
Service
 
2.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
2.0
User Image

From: New York
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

April 25, 2013
It's All Good

Just came back from a very beautiful, relaxing vacation at the Barcelo Maya Colonial resort. I'll keep this simple - if you're looking for a nice place to relax, soak up some sun, and enjoy some cold beverages in a stress free environment, this is the place for you. Quick rundown... -Resort was very well maintained... Clean, tropical, and pretty. -Staff was very nice and courteous. -Beach was ok - nice to look at, but very rocky under the water in some parts which made it tough to dip in. But that's what the pools were for, and there were plenty of them with more space than you'll ever need. -Food was good - not out of this world, but definitely solid. Hibachi was randomly great, and a fun time. Mexican restaurant was great too. -Rooms were big, simple, and clean. Beds weren't the most comfortable, but this isn't the Ritz Carlton... It was easy to get a good night's sleep after 10 hours in the sun. I read questionable reviews on this place as well as good ones as I was debating whether or not to go initially. I think that the people who have complaints on this place are just complainers in general and will find something to moan about. There was absolutely nothing wrong with this place and I'd definitely recommend it.


28 of 30 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Connecticut
Age: 25-34

July 18, 2011
Amazing vacation!

We booked this trip last minute, about a week before we left, on a whim, and we booked because it was cheap. It turned out to be amazing!!! The Barcelo Tropical is huge, 5 hotels sitting on a long strip of white-sand beach. For 5 days, we explored the beach, the reef, the fields of coral waving the sea, the pools, the (free) drinks...everywhere we went, our expectations were exceeded. The pools were crystal clear, filled with private spots in the shade, bubbly whirlpools and swim up bars. The beach was huge! Cool, soft, white sand everywhere, palm trees with lounge chairs underneath, gentle waves washing up on the beach. And the swimming was fabulous: warm, clear turquoise water, spots of coral and rocks 50-100 feet into the ocean and filled with fish and stingrays. You could stay the whole week just in the resort and never get bored. The food was great too! We never got bored with the buffet and we were never hungry. The snack bar was wonderful too, perfect for coming off the beach to get some quick food and some rest, then going back out again. I especially loved the salsa bar and the quesadilla grills. We got 3 restaurant times, so we chose the steak house, the japanese cooking show and the spanish restaurant. The steak house was kind of terrible - music too loud, cheap "cowboy" uniforms and decent steak, not my favorite. The Japanese cooking show was fantastic! I had great miso soup and duck stir-fry, and our chef was so entertaining! Our last restaurant was, by far, the best for me: the Spanish restaurant Don Quixote. I had sweet Sangria, fabulous tapas, fresh seafood and the most delicious creme brulee I've ever tasted! The Spanish restaurant was the crowning jewel of my dinner experiences on this trip. We also went on 2 excursions through Olympus Tours during our stay. I highly recommend the Mayan Adventure tour. My husband can't swim well at all and neither of us had ever been snorkeling before, but this trip was fantastic! Our guide was a flirty, early-20s Mexican guy who made us laugh the whole time and kept us comfortable while taking us into new snorkeling territory. We went to 3 snorkeling places during the tour: a large ocean inlet, a cave cenote and an open sinkhole cenote. The ocean inlet was so cool - we saw so many colorful fish and a sea turtle! My favorite was the open cenote. The guide explained that the cenotes are pools of the underground rivers which form caves and eventually the ceilings of the caves fall in to form sinkholes, or open cenotes. They are just giant (100-200 feet diameter) holes in the ground with all kinds of rock formations at the bottom. Crystal clear water lets you see all the way down and explore all the wildlife...tons and tons of tiny fish! I would also recommend checking out the pier at the Barcelo. The staff are so helpful and friendly, even though I don't speak a word of Spanish. They set me up with another snorkeling tour, an hour of snorkeling, one-on-one, just me, the guide and the boat. It was incredible! The reef is amazing and the guide was so knowledgeable. He let me wander wherever I wanted and only pulled me back to show me cool stingrays or coral formations. Overall, this trip was amazing and if you're having any doubts, forget them and go! The resort is perfect to relax and eat or drink all day or have some fun exciting entertainment, whatever your vacation style is, you'll find it here.


12 of 12 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image
Top 250 Contributor
From: Coolville, OH
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

April 26, 2013
Loved every mintue!

Wow, what an excellent hotel. Our group consisted of my husband and myself, my Father from Germany and a female friend of his. I hate to say it, but none of us are easily impressed but this place was amazing. The grounds and common areas were so clean, a piece of trash would get cleaned up before it had the chance to hit the floor. The rooms were clean as well, the beds comfortable and the service downright fabulous. The food was ok, nicely presented in an appealing and appetizing manner, but the taste was just ok. The same goes for the restaurants that require reservations. The beach is beautiful, the pools immaculate and the hotel offers a variety of tours, of which we did two, one to Chichen Itza and the other to Xcaret. Both were great. We stayed at the Barcelo Tropical, but the lobby of the Colonial is right next door and only a few steps away is a cute little market with a variety of vendors. The night life is tame, but that is what we were looking for, just peace and relaxation and a beautiful scenery to enjoy and we certainly got more than we expected. My husband is already after me to book another stay in a few months. This place is a winner.


12 of 12 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Colorado Springs, CO
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

June 23, 2012
a great experience

This was our first experience with an all-inclusive resort, thus no way to compare. However, we would visit Barcelo again since we had pleasant and easy experience. We had a great time and took full advantage of the beach, pool, fitness, buffets and restaurants. We took teens with us for a family vacation and this was a terrific way to facilitate a good time for all of us. Barcelo is beautiful, comfortable, and the employees work very hard to accommodate both regular and special requests. The buffets were a nice surprise. The food is delicious and there are plenty of healthy choices. Some of our favorites were the abundance of fresh fish, salsas, ceviche(s), fruit, and fruit smoothies (breakfast). It was easy to eat well, healthfully, and abundantly (ugh! and yum!). We also used the fitness area everyday. Although my first choice of machine (elliptical) was sometimes already in use, I always had another option (treadmill, bikes) available. My husband used the free weights area with ease too. Because the resort is vast, it was easy to get walking exercise just moving from activity to activity (room to fitness area via beach, room to dinner via gardens and grounds). Our teens loved the planned and pick-up beach soccer and volleyball games... and poolside hammocks. We even bought a hammock from the market shops (decently priced) to bring home. Though you did not have to leave the resort, we did for a few outings to Tulum, Puerto Adventuras (dolphin swim), and Akumal (snorkeling with sea turtles) . It was clear from these experiences that Barcelo has crafted a lovely oasis that felt safe, luxurious, and welcoming.


11 of 11 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: State College, PA
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year