All

Barcelo Maya Caribe and Beach Reviews

Mexico | Mexico - Riviera Maya Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 445 Reviews
Value
 
4.4
Service
 
4.4
Beaches & Pools
 
4.7
Dining Options
 
3.9
Room Comfort
 
4.1
4.4 out of 5
"Great location. Very nice beach. Food was fine. Room was very noisy. People above, kids running in hallways and slamming doors. Lots to do in the evening - shows, miniature golf, shopping, bowling..." – kklh
470 out of 520 (90%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
View from the pier The gardens of our hotel. Maya Caribe Beach Clean & breath taking Caribe Buffet Loved the beaches Lobby Area Barcelo beach front view Great beach great swimable beach The walk way to our room. It was so gorgeous at night. Climbing one of the temples. I'm somehwere in there View from the pool of teh beach with rain out in the distance. The Gang! Barcelo Maya Caribe: beach Clear water! the pier Mayan Riviera Sunrise loving the beach! Barcelo Maya Caribe: Beach and palms trees Family at one of the special dinners Sunrise on beach Courtyard Barcelo pool view Barcelo Beach (just breathtaking) #loveMexico Ahhh.... the beach! Across the pool toward ocean The beach was fabulous! View from our beach My nephew's wedding mmm drinks Tulum Ruins Swimming near the pier with the fish! The main attraction at Chechen-Itza Beach Brazilian restaurant Beach outside of the Barcelo Maya Caribe Standing on the dock just down from our favorite beach. Blue Caribe Excursion pools everywhere Dolphin Encounter

All Barcelo Maya Caribe and Beach Customer Reviews

1-10 of 445 reviews. Sort by
February 1, 2013
Best beach

Overall . this resort is a great value. A family vacation with my adult children in their mid to late 20's and a girlfriend of my son. They thought there was plenty to do. Mini golf was a big hit!!!!. I made reservations for 2 rooms with King beds and 1 room with doubles. When we checked in, they had no king rooms available and we didn't find out until we got to our rooms. The check in process was pretty bad. Giving us wrong room numbers, sending us to the wrong building and then having the wrong beds. They couldn't get us king beds. But you aren't in your room that much so we just lived with it. After that ordeal, everything was great. The beach is the nicest beach in all of the Riviera Maya. We have been to a few other resorts and this is by far the most beautiful beach, and perfect white sand. The pool was very nice too. Plenty of chairs everywhere, and activities always going on. The bartenders made good drinks and few dollars always helped. The people in the buffet were extremely nice and always offering to get you drinks and prompt with clearing your plates. The buffet had a good assortment of entrees. If you stay 5 nights you get 2 tickets for the restaurants that require reservations. This is the first time I have stayed at a resort that you get tickets. The reservations were easy to make, (do it when you check in) and the food was very good. I wish there were more selections instead of just Spanish and Mexican, or maybe one more night for a fancy dinner at the steak house. But there were different themes in the buffet every night. So no shortage of food. It is an easy place to get around. Very well mapped with directions all over. There is a great shopping area right in the resort, with all kinds of vendors. The shows at the theater were very good also. We also did an excursion to Tulum which was great, and a snorkeling trip. You can bring your own snorkeling gear and see plenty of fish by the rope area of the beach. Overall a super nice place and we would definitely go again.


50 of 50 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image
Top 500 Contributor
From: Grayslake, Illinois
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

October 30, 2012
Barcelo Colonial

Just got back from the Barcelo Colonial in Riveria Maya, Mexico. Here's my analysis: 1.) Flew through Mexico City (on Delta then Aero Mexico). Avoid this connection if you can. Once you arrive you go downstairs and go to immigration. Then you find your bag and put it on a conveyor belt. Next you go upstairs to the domestic terminal and catch your flight. Kind of a pain. 2.) When you walk through the airport in Cancun you will see 2 groups of people with ID's around their neck all dressed alike. KEEP WALKING. They will ask you which shuttle service you are looking for, forget them. They want to pitch you timeshare. Go outside and you will have someone holding up a sign with either your name or the transportation service. Ours was Olympus. They were very professional and courteous. 3.) It's a long ride to the resort. Try to relax. Took us about 1.45 hours. You will go through 2 police checkpoints but because you are in a tourist vehicle they wave you right through. 4.) I was second guessing my decision on selecting this resort. The drive seemed to take forever. Once we pulled into the property, WOW! A bright, beautiful, open air lobby. A beautiful huge carving was behind the reception desk. Check-in was effortless and they gave us a drink while they explained the paperwork. We were upgraded to the Colonial because the Caribe was being renovated. It was late and we were hungry, no problem Senor, leave your bags here and go to the buffet. Once they put the bracelet on our wrist we went to the buffet. Dinner was great. Lots to choose from and I, being a health nut found plenty. Off-season equals less people on the property. After dinner we went to our room. Warning: depending on where you room is located, your walk could be significant but understand this resort has 2,600 rooms. Our room was right in front of the pool which was a long walk away (Jalesco bldg). No worries, I'm in shape and my wife loves to walk. I needed the exercise because I tried to eat my body weight in protein and drink my body weight in liquor! My wife and I both paused at the front door. Again, WOW! Great room, it was big, had a tub with a shower, a separate shower and a glass sliding door which is where the toilet was located. Small complaint: analog television with very few English channels. Our room looked out to the adult pool and to my surprise, it was very quiet. 5.) Two 24 hour bars? How perfect is that! 6.) Beautiful beach. The property is actually 5 in 1. Caribe has the best beach, long, wide and flat. Getting into the water on the Colonial side is tricky (lots of rocks) and there is a steep drop off 6-8 feet from the waterline, be careful. The Tropical side, forget it, walk to either the Colonial or Caribe side. By the way, the beach is groomed every morning so there was a minimum amount of seaweed on the beach each morning for our morning walk along the shore. 7.) The buffet is excellent. Your on vacation, have a mimosa or three. Want an egg white omelet? No problem. Want smoked salmon in it? No problem, you will find it on the middle island (where you get your plates) and the cook will add it to your veggies. Lunch and dinner were good with a nice rotation of fish and meat. 8.) Ready for some sun? Plenty of chairs available at both the beach and pool. 9.) Need a drink? Go to the swim-up bar for a few cocktails. Oh, there are two swim-up bars. 10.) The restaurants require reservations and slacks are mandatory for the gentlemen. I overslept and missed the seafood restaurant reservation (too many mosquito coasts!) but did go to the Japanese steakhouse. My wife and I were the only ones at the table and that made the show even more special. Food was pretty good. 11.) I workout 5 days/week and believe it or not, I wanted to workout while on vacation. The resort gym was beyond my expectation. Open air and well equipped. Dumbbells only go up to 50, no Olympic bar but they have a Smith machine and other basic pieces. With some modifications I could do my regular workout. Cardio equipment is good but did not use. They have a cooler full of bottled water and towels are within reach. After working out I went to the steam room. Couldn't ask for more. 12.) Housekeeping/Security. They do a great job cleaning and replenishing your mini-frig. The people that provide the turndown service are very conscious about your valuables. My wife and I were out of the room late in the afternoon and when she returned there was a maid and a security officer in our room. Apparently the maid went to turndown our bed and saw our electronics out in the open (not sure why they weren't in the safe) and she called security to make sure our electronics were not touched. I have read where other guests at other properties lost their stuff. Kudos to their staff. Now my complaints: 1.) the bartenders will not pour you a strong drink. I asked, found the word for strong in Spanish, to no avail. You really need to stay on them if you want it strong. 2.) There is no consistency between bartenders. You could be at the same bar and have a different bartender make you the same drink and its not the same. 3.) No poolside or beachside service. I wasn't happy about that. 4.) I wish the reservation agent told me about the black bracelet before our last day at the resort. The black bracelet gets you access to as many passes to the restaurants to match the nights you are on the property. It also gets you free room service, free wifi and the top shelf alcohol. The cost is $40/day but you may be able to negotiate it down to $30. The Barcelo properties generally cater to a Spanish clientele, but you will be treated like gold. Most of the staff speaks English and those that can't access those that can. Be friendly, give a dollar or two tip to those that you interact with and you will have a great time. I met people that have been to this property 3 and 4 times. They just love it and I understand why. If you have a question or a problem, find a manager. They will be more than happy to take care to address your needs. TIPS: Bring your own thermal drinking container. The bartenders will gladly fill it up for you thereby eliminating multiple trips to the bar.


42 of 43 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Atlanta, GA
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

March 18, 2012
It was soooo worth it!

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Bacelo Maya Caribe for 7 days 6 nights. It was worth every dollar! We really didnt' get to experience the whole resort just because we were off doing excursions which were amazing and you should take full advantage of them. The part of the resort that we did get to experience was really relaxing and well worth it. The staff was always there to assist you with making your stay amazing and exciting! The Spanish restaurant was great and so was the service!! The buffets they had were ok. There was always something different but it was always good. A buffet is a buffet. :) The rooms were really relaxing especially with the garden view. We always saw wild life and it was allllllways so peaceful and quite. The beach was amazing and the water was soooo gorgeous!!! We saw alot of sea turtles and color fish! It was pretty awesome snorkling off the dock with all the beautiful fish and coral. We would recommend this is anyone that is headed that way and we will be traveling there again with friends!! :)

Tulum Ruins The walk way to our room. It was so gorgeous at night.
19 of 19 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Kansas
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

January 7, 2013
Nothing all inclusive about this all inclusive

There is nothing “all-inclusive” about this all-inclusive resort. Let’s just start with the dining options. The Barcelo Maya Caribe Hotel boasts two a la carte restaurants and two buffet restaurants and two “snack bars”. Upon arrival you need to sit with the guest services person to book your allotment of a la carte dinners (based upon your length of stay). Our allotment was three a la carte dinners. The first thing the guest services person does is pull out several menus and tell you that you can book at several a la cartes in the resort property (made up of 5 separate hotels). You get excited. You pick one that sounds good. She tells you, “That costs $15 or $20 extra.” So, after doing this a few times, you discover there are only two a la carte restaurants with which you can book dinner reservations that are included in your deal. Okay. So, you pick a day and the guest services person says, “That day is not available.” After several tries, we were able to book only two of the three reservations because everything was booked up. One dinner was at 10pm. The other at 6pm. The food at both was without taste or, at best, marginal. Now, let’s talk about the buffets. There are two. One is the buffet at the Maya Caribe. The other is at the Maya Beach next door. There are buffets at all the hotels at the resort property, but if you want to eat at anything other than the Caribe or Beach, you pay extra. The buffet at the Caribe is open for breakfast, but not lunch. So, you have to go to the Beach for lunch. They are mirror images of each other. There is nothing different. There is no choice between one or the other based upon a preference. They are just buffets. And they offer a wide variety of exceptionally bad food. Imagine having to eat at Country Buffet or Golden Corral every day. I would say that it tastes like they bought all their ingredients at Costco, but that would be an insult to Costco. Then, there are the snack bars. These are actually smaller versions of the exceptionally bad buffet food you are getting at the bigger buffets. One snack bar is at the Caribe. One at the Beach. AND, the snack bar at the Caribe transforms into one of the a la carte restaurants at night. You can also get snacks at the pool bar like burgers or chicken wings. This bar is approximately 20 feet away from the snack bar/buffet restaurant. However, if you want to eat at the bar, it costs you extra money. Not inclusive. I should mention that the wait/service staff at the restaurants and buffets are enthusiastic and friendly for the most part while also being less than talented at their jobs. The bartenders are generally friendly and fast, but the booze is so bottom shelf that they might as well be serving two buck Chuck and generic tequila. The beer was not bad. They had help-yourself snacks at the lobby bar: popcorn, peanuts, olives, fruit. Odd mix. Now, let’s talk about the room. When we checked in, even though I had requested a King Bed, they booked a couple with no children (my husband and I) into a room with two double beds. I had to ask for the king bed, and there was, of course, one available. Why wouldn’t they do this in the first place? When we got to our room, we turned on the light and the A/C. It stayed on for about 5 minutes and then the room went completely dark. I called the front desk. The phone didn’t work very well and I got transferred several times. Finally, I got someone that could barely understand me and they said they would send someone. When I tried to ask when, they got tired of trying to understand me and said, “I’m hanging up because I can’t understand you.” What we discovered between the time we called and when the repair man came is that there is a card reader next to the door. You must put your room key in the card reader and leave it there for the lights to remain on and the A/C to remain on. It might have been a good idea for either the front desk or the bellman that delivered our bags to mention that. And, it just happens to be a very stupid idea. Here are the technical problems we reported to the front desk the next day that needed to be fixed: The A/C barely worked. Mostly it blew air but not cool air. The phone didn’t work. The sink leaked so severely we had a large puddle in the bathroom in the morning. The bathtub drain was very slow and backed up when you took a shower. Here’s what they fixed. The phone and the sink leak. That’s it. Turns out, the toilet also would run every time it was flushed and you had to wiggle the plunger just right to make it work. We didn’t even report it because we felt it would be a waste of breath. The housekeeper left the toilet running more than once. There was no free Wifi in the room, which is just stingy and a reflection of the non-inclusive experience we had at this all-inclusive resort. You have to pay handsomely to use the business center, too. Which, of course, wasn’t working. The beach is stinky. The water was not clear. The beach chairs functioned poorly. Wait staff did not come to you at the pool or on the beach to take your drink order. They did send someone to come around and pick up your empties, though. The entry to the ocean from the beach requires water socks because it’s rocky at the beginning. Once you get out about 20 feet, though, the bottom is sandy. I can’t fault the hotel for a rocky entry into the ocean. That’s just mother nature. So, if you are vacationing along one of the most beautiful reefs in the world, you want to snorkel, right? Well, this not all-inclusive resort included one hour per day free snorkel equipment. That’s it. One hour. The snorkel excursions cost extra. Of course. We decided to rent a car to do a road trip. We had to go to several of the different hotel lobbies on the property to try to find the rental car desk. No one knew for certain where to find it and if there would be anyone there when we got there. The first time we found it, there wasn’t anyone there. It was in the middle of the day. A sign said, “Will return in 30 minutes.” Forty-five minutes later, no one had returned, so we took a brochure and decided to call the toll free number from the room. I called the front desk to confirm the call would actually be, dare I say it, inclusive. The answer was “no.” Even toll free calls in Mexico from the hotel room phone cost $6 per minute. Yes. That’s what she said. Six dollars per minute. We returned to the rental car desk in the afternoon and the rental agent was there. He rented us a car to pick up in two days time. When we came to pick up the car, as we were approaching the desk, my husband said, “Watch. He’s going to say that the car we rented isn’t available but he can rent us another car for more money.” My husband was not wrong. We were, however, able to negotiate the same price as the car we originally rented and off we went. The rental car experience from there on was pretty uneventful. I will only say this about the tour that we booked through the tour operator in guest services. It was colossally bad on every level. However, the tour sales person is not really a part of the hotel. They are allowed to pedal their tour packages there, but the hotel does not control the outcomes of those tours. The front desk staff was generally nice. And, the guest services woman we met on our first night complained a bit that we kept her late, but the guest services woman that helped us by printing our return boarding passes for us was quite helpful and we appreciated her assistance. Just in case you think we are picky, on the early morning ride back to the airport, we shared our van with another woman who had stayed at the hotel for a friend’s wedding. She was equally disappointed in almost everything the hotel had to not-offer. The resort credit we received from cheapcaribbean.com was actually for a coupon booklet that gave us 50% off on things we did not really desire. Like bottles of the bad wine they had at the restaurant or 50% off on the business center for the week (but the business center was out of service) or 50% off on the snorkel trip which should have been inclusive. It's really just a way for the resort to make more money off of you by telling you you're getting a discount on a service. Finally, even though this is an all-inclusive resort, and gratuities are pre-paid, the general expectation of service staff was to get tips. It was uncomfortable at times. We will not be returning to this resort. Ever.


122 of 147 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 1
Value
 
1.0
Service
 
2.0
Beaches & Pools
 
2.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
2.0
User Image
Top 100 Contributor
From: Venice, CA
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

December 23, 2012
Very good resort

I'll try to bullet point this to break it into categories: The food - Above and beyond. You get two restaurant vouchers with the All-Inclusive. The other nights (and other meals) you are eating at the buffet. However, this isn't a Ryan's. The buffet always has a theme and it is as good as the other restaurant. The food is well prepared, varied, and delicious. The beach, pools, and atmosphere were all perfect. The beach is in a great shape that adds a secluded atmosphere. The pools are large and separated. You can easily go to the other pool if one has too many people (or too few!). You do have to walk a lot. It's a huge campus, but it keeps the feeling of privacy. The rooms - Nice. Very good service. We got a king sized bed and it was comfortable. The bathroom was very nice and the shower was large and had good flow. The patio (we had ground floor and I would recommend asking for it) was very nice. However, I wouldn't say the rooms were much better than your average resort. Definitely nice, but not luxurious. The "upgrade" - Probably worth it if you care for that kind of thing. We didn't take it and we easily got our value out of the trip. They of course try to upsell you, but it's by no means at all required to have a good trip. As a closing I'd like to put some things I learned that will make your trip much more enjoyable. Book your dining options right after check in. When ordering at the bars (two in the lobby, two by the beach/pools) make sure to get the bartenders attention; they don't queue up well and you can wait a long time if you're passive. And, make sure to go to the theatre. It's surprisingly fun.


12 of 12 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Atkins, AR
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

September 6, 2011
Better than expected

Well I am ashamed to admit that I was reluctant to vacation in Mexico due to all the negative things you hear on the news. Yes, you should always travel with caution but I want to say that Cancun and the Riviera Maya location are completely safe! I had such a great time that at the end I felt so ashamed of myself because I almost cancelled the day before I was suppose to go on vacation but the cheap Caribbean representative eased my nerves and my friend and I decided to stick with it. I never write reviews on anything but I felt the need to write this one because I'm sure there are other people out there who might be reluctant to travel to Mexico like I was so hopefully this review will help them with their choice. Hotel: We stayed at the Caribe hotel. They gave us a beautiful room overlooking the pool. I read some reviews about people having problems with their AC but we never came across anything like that. In fact, we would have to turn it off when we would come from the pool because it got too cold in there. We appreciated the fact that our balcony had a screen where you could leave it open but the bugs wouldn't come in. We also liked the fact that our balcony had a drying rack where we could dry our bathing suits. The staff did a superb job cleaning the room everyday and it's funny because there was a sign in our hotel room saying to re-use our towels but don't pay attention to this. The staff changes the towels everyday. The bed and pillows are so nice and comfy. I miss my hotel bed! The staff at the hotel are so nice. I speak both languages so I was able to communicate with them in both languages. The hotel has great gift shops and they accept American dollars. You pay at the hotel lobby. The hotel also changes your money without charging you nay fee which I thought was great. The beaches are beautiful and clean. They had so many pools I don't think we got to explore all of them because we had other activities. The ones we did get to experience were clean and relaxing. My favorite was one that like a jacuzzi. The pools also have a bar where you can get drinks. Food: I love food and I am very picky. The first two days we were there I was not impressed by the food or water. I thought the buffet choices were too basic. They had a lot of different choices ranging from fish to mean, to pasta, to pizza, different kinds of soups but nothing that impressive but it comes with your vacation deal so I ate it. The water was something else. I only drink water (no alcohol, or other drinks but there's plenty there) so when I first tasted the water I was so disappointed. It was too salty. Almost like they had put something in it. Then on my second night there the problem was fixed because the water tasted fine. I had my friend taste it to see if if maybe it was me but she said it tasted like regular water. Not sure what happened there but I was glad the problem was fixed because I was going crazy without water. The food also got better on the third day. They had Mexican night and Caribbean night and they had great fish like tuna and some kind of shrimp and eggplant pastry. It was delicious! Also, I was so impressed by the a la carte restaurants. One was a Spaniard restaurant and the other was a Mexican restaurant. Oh my the food in there was delicious and I was happy to be dining indoors with AC. I mean you get used to the temp at the buffet, plus they do have fans going on but it felt nice dining in a nice cool place. Excursions: We did three excursions. I would recommend all three. the first one we did was horseback riding in the jungle. Which by the way isn't a real jungle but some fields. Anyway that excursion almost didn't happen because someone messed up our reservation but Olympus tours managed to fix the problem. Plus our guide Victor made the excursion and the fact that we were late worth while. He was great! I love horseback riding but even if you haven't ridden before it's ok they set you up with an easy horse. The second excursion was to Chechen-Itza. I have to say I had been looking forward to this excursion for a long time and it was kinda of a let down. It takes like 3 hours to get there. Once you're there the time goes by pretty fast. My tour guide was great and gave us a history of the temples but it was soon hot. Do wear as little as possible. i was wearing shorts and tank top and was dying of heat. Also make sure you are wearing a hat and sunglasses. Some people brought umbrellas, I would recommend that as well. the sun will bake you otherwise. The food there is actually great. Real traditional plus you get to drink a traditional tea (which looks kinds gross but actually taste terrific!) My third excursion was called the Mayan expedition. We chose this one because you get to climb one of the temples. This expedition is worth the money (I think it costs 119). It's full of adventure, from hiking through the Mexican jungle (now this was the real jungle), to swimming inside a cave, to zip lining down a river, canoeing in another river and of course climbing the temple. It was so great plus your tour guide doesn't force you do do anything that you don't want to so f you fear climbing the temple or the zip line, that's ok you don't have to do it. And before we knew it was time to go home. Oh Mexico how I miss you :( My promise to Mexico is that I will return one day! Beautiful country and beautiful people so lucky and privileged to have visited. Thank you Mexico!!!

Climbing one of the temples. I'm somehwere in there The main attraction at Chechen-Itza
17 of 18 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: New York City
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

May 30, 2012
Highly recommended!!!

Where do I start......really from the moment we walked up to the front desk to check in, to the last time we walked up to the front desk to check out we were very impressed! We were given all three rooms on the ground floor, my sons were okay with that but we wanted a little more privacy so they changed us to the third floor right on the spot. My husband and I took out 3 adult sons for a 4 day trip to Barcelo Maya Caribe. We are always concerned about there being enough activity for our very active sons and there was! A good crowd of young, old, older,single, and couples. There was plenty to do seeing how you can use the facilities in all the resorts except for the Palace. We were very happy with all the amenities and rarely left our own resort area.. The beach was to die for awesome and there were plenty of loungers every single day. Along the Barcelo resorts the beach changes from soft sand entries in the water to rocky areas. You never get bored with the scenery. It's definitely the nicest along the Caribe. And the clear water is so many shades of blues and greens! AMAZING!!!! Also, the resort is kinda in a cove type area so the waves are very small. If you are looking to ride waves, this isn't the beach for you. If you enjoy walking out in calm waters and floating and relaxing.....this is for you!!!! There were so many things to do! We kayaked right off the beach in the crystal clear Caribbean waters, snorkeled with schools of beautiful fish right off the pier, walked on the lovely powder white beach up the the Barcelo Palace and looked for washed up coral. Not to mention my sons played basketball, life size chess, ping pong, frizbee and much more. We all got massages and they weren't the best so not sure if you want to spend the resort price on it! The pools were great, with swin up bars and lots of places to lounge and relax. There is an activities pool and there is a quieter pool. We enjoyed hanging at the quiet one! The restaurants are nice but not amazing. Don't let that scare you off though. We have done many all inclusives and this was by far one of the best. It's an all inclusive so don't expect 5 star dining!!! And the only thing about all the restaurants is that they are all open air and it tended to get a little warm and muggy at times, but what the heck, we were headed for the pool or beach right after anyway!!!! The food was good and we all always found yummy things to munch on. The lunch was probably the most disappointing and seemed to be the same at every restaurant. The selection was nice and if your didn't put everything on your plate the first day to try like me, LOL, there were lots of different meals each day. The steak house was the best and I would just use all my reservations tickets for there. Make your reservations immediately after you check in so you get the time you want. I recommend 8, we went at 7 and it was a little early. We felt a little rushed because we really weren't ready to leave the beach yet!!! Tipping is not required but it is very appreciated. They work hard whether or not they get them but why not. I look at it as a few dollars sure makes a difference in their world more than mine! And I can spare them!!!!! The rooms were nice, and the views of the gardens which they keep immaculate are so nice! Use one of your keycards to turn on your A?C and leave it in there all the time so your room is nice and cool when you walk in! You will be happy you did it! Everywhere you look there are flowers and tropical plants and even nice touches with different types and colors of rocks. And the palm trees are sooooo huge and beautiful! There is one walkway that's lined with palm trees and lit at night! A must to walk through!!!!! The theater seemed to be enjoyed by many every night, we would walk in and sit for a few and the go to our room.....we were so wiped out by the end of the night all we wanted to do was be in our room. Last thing, if you are a little worried about the safety of Mexico right now...don't worry here! We never felt unsure or unsafe at all! There are police checkpoints as you go down the road but it's only for precaution. Take the private transportation so you don't have to stop at all the resorts along the way. It's an hour ride in the private van so I can't imagine stopping along the way to let others off first. We even had our driver stop at the nearest ice house so we could get a couple 6 packs for the ride! NICE! I hope this review was helpful and if you decide to go, ENJOY!!!!!


22 of 24 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: TEXAS
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

January 15, 2017
Best Resort Ever!

I usually don’t write reviews unless my experience has been either extremely good or bad. I chose this resort because of the customers reviews I saw on CheapCaribbean.com (the website I used to book my trip) and I should say, it certainly exceeded my expectations. I was there with my fiancee to celebrate our engagement. Everything we saw at the resort was the way it was shown on the pictures online. Let’s start with the overall appearance of the resort and the customer service. The pools were fabulous, the beach was gorgeous, the facilities and common areas are well maintained and super clean to the point I thought it was a brand-new resort! Housekeeping is eager to clean and tidy up your room every morning. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. They are always there to assist you and answer your questions, they genuinely care about you. With regards to the dining options, the food quality at the buffets was amazing! We were there for a week and they served a different variety of food every single day at the buffets. We counted at least 8 different buffets we could dine at and there might even be more that we didn’t notice. We also went to the restaurants at night. While all restaurants were good, Capri was the best! FYI, the dress code is strictly enforced for gentlemen who are required to wear pants and shirts in all restaurants. As far as the activities at the resort, one thing I can say for sure is that you will never get bored! There is just so much to do that you can’t even do it all in 10 days! They have a shopping mall, tennis courts, mini golf course, basketball courts, ping pong, outdoor giant chess, table soccer, bowling, nightclub (including a disco for kids), beach volley ball, water park surfing, swimming pool basketball and volleyballs games, kayaking, snorkeling, swimming and interacting with dolphins, jet skis, water tricycle, catamaran, surfing, night shows, gym, spa (including a kid’s spa) and the list goes on forever…. I recommend exploring all activities on the resort before doing the excursions outside. Most activities are free, some aren’t but you get a discount if you are a guest at the resort. Also, I highly recommend booking the excursions when you get there instead of buying them online as you get additional discounts when you book them through actual agents. As for the weather, it rained almost every single day that we were there and the temperatures dropped the second day we arrived (bummer!). I was told that these weather conditions were very unusual for that area but in all fairness, the sky clears up immediately after it rains although the temperature may remain a bit chilly. It could have been because of the time of the year we went so I recommend going in the spring or summer to enjoy everything to the maximum.


21 of 23 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image
Top 500 Contributor
From: Washington DC
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

October 13, 2015
Disneyworld like environment

If your looking for an all inclusive then by all means this is the place. Too much to list in a 5 night 4 day trip. Recommend a min of 7 days. The grounds are Disneyworld like in the cleanliness of the grounds, beach, and pools. The choices for eating out are plentiful and in all rights, good to really good. The beach is vast and there is no worry to hope to find a good spot in the sun. These are the reasons to go and for all practical purposes a very good value for the dollar. The service was great with a friendly staff and someone was always greeting us with a smile and willing to assist in answering our questions. Now some of the down sides. Our largest complaint would be against having to use Spirit Airlines. Mainly because their website was poorly developed and could not handle the load of persons trying to check in 24 hours in advance or pay a per person fee to get passes at the gate. However, you pay for extra for any seat if you wish to sit together anyway so getting your pass 24 hour in advance is kind of mute. Prepare yourself to pay for everything and anything. Spirit really is low fare if you aren't bringing luggage or want any more than an air supply on the flight. Just stating this so folks know what to expect. For the resort, the only complaint was due to the mechanical failure of the air conditioner which was due to bad sensor on the sliding balcony door. When it did work, it struggled to pull any moisture out the air. In the end, the room was wet. Wet, wet, and wet. Hard to get a good night sleep when your bed sheets are moist. In spite of this, we loved the Barcelo and intend to return now that we are prepared to counter the negatives. If you looking for more RAW facilities this would not be the place, This place has everything, live entertainment theater, night club, restaurants, shops, lighted walking paths, music around every corner, a mexican market, and much more.. No reason to really leave unless you want to take in the local. Very family friendly but also adult friendly as well. Enjoy. I would give this selection a BETTER than good rating with a value of excellent.


16 of 17 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Oklahoma City OK
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

August 6, 2010 Featured Review
Girls Trip

Girls Trip to Mexico was a last minute decision. The resort was beyond our expectations. The beach was beautiful, the resort was beautiful, the service was wonderful. The exercusions we took were fun and exciting and would recommend. I told my relatives to save their money and that we needed to plan a trip to come to this resort. I know that one of the girls that took this trip already has taken a couple of her friends to this same resort. 5 PALMS.


26 of 30 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Blytheville, AR
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year