All

Barcelo Langosta Beach Reviews

Central America | Costa Rica-Guanacaste Beach Region Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 11 Reviews
Value
 
4.1
Service
 
4.4
Beaches & Pools
 
3.6
Dining Options
 
2.8
Room Comfort
 
3.9
4 out of 5
9 out of 11 (82%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.

All Barcelo Langosta Beach Customer Reviews

1-10 of 11 reviews. Sort by
June 4, 2012 Featured Review
Barcelo Langosta Beach

Costa Rica is a must see magical, special and tranquil place unlike USA, Mexico or the Caribean. Pure Vida! The country is full of life and the friendly people. I did not know what to expect driving on the dirt road to the resort. When we reached the resort I was not disappointed. The resort is beautiful. The rooms were spacious, clean and had a nice size patio. There could have been more or large scatter rugs because the floor was tiled. It was exciting to see monkeys from our patio -- ask for a room in building 9 it's close to the pool and dining plus it away from the disco and amphitheatre which is loud. The grounds were beautifully landscaped with amazing plants and trees. There was 1 large pool which had an extended kiddy pool section and jacuzzi. The jacuzzi water could have been hotter. We chose the inclusive package. The food was good and there was a good variety of choices in the buffet also there was a grill for ordering meat. There was plenty of healthy choices and amazing fruits and vegetables. I was surprised to find sushi several nights and many seafood dishes on the buffet. The dining service was good. The liquid drinks and wine were included but watery. The resort is on a beautiful rustic beach perfect for surfing and exploring but not for swimming. The temperature of the water was like bath water. There is a river that pours out to the ocean less than 5 minutes away from the resort where people fished and caught lobsters. During certain times of the tides, the space between the small island and river was like a warm pool. There are nearby beaches more suitable for swimming that did not have the large waves or lava rock but I prefered the beach at Barcelona. I loved the resort and hope to visit again.


31 of 31 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: North Carolina, NC
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

July 31, 2010
Great cheap vacation

The resort was so clean and nice. The beach was a little odd, because the high tide comes right up to the mouth of the walkway. During low tide it is really beautiful. The landscaping is gorgeous. The staff is super friendly. The spa is relaxing, however, I would skip the salt scrub, too rough. Over all, it was the best cheap vacation I have ever went on. Costa Rica is a beautiful country and I would definitely return to Barcelo!


59 of 65 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: New York, NY
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

April 30, 2012
nice vacation in costa rica

me and my husband stayed at the barcelo langosta beach resort from april 19-26,2012.we requested an ocean view room which was denied upon check in and instead was put into a room with a view of a bunch of trees.i was upset at first but was pleasantly surprised when 4 out of 7 days we were visited by howler monkeys in the trees.they were so cute and we had a great time watching them and looked forward to seeing them each time they returned.the grounds are beautiful with trees and flowers all over.one downfall was the racoons.they are all over where you eat.the staff didnt seem too concerned with them but they are very annoying.we found them out in front of our door one night upon going to eat dinner and they had tipped over the garbage cans and had food all over our hallway.they were very nasty and hissing at us.again the staff seemed not be concerned so we ended up putting the garbage cans up on top of the ice machine each night to prevent that from happening.a nice place to stay but most of the time we were on our own when it came to problems.tamarindo was about a 30 minute walk away and we did that each morning after breakfast.food at the buffet was pretty good and there was usually a nice selection,overall we had a good time and loved costa rica.people are very nice.


15 of 16 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: salamanca,ny
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

May 20, 2014
May 2014 Costa Rica Trip- Great Weather

Stayed at Barcelo Langosta Beach Resort May 11-18, 2014. This is a wonderful area with friendly people in town as well as the staff at the property. 1. Food- many choices of vegetables and fruits. A vegetarian could really eat well here off the buffet. Lots of meat dishes as well, usually fish was the most common. Beef in the resturant was extremely good as well as the grilled shrimp. Service in both buffet and Resturant areas was extremly prompt and attentive. Always with a smile. 2. Beach area- you really do have to go down to the river area during low tides for a good sandy beach play area. The large rock formations out front are beautiful later in the day at high tide but not a great place to play/swim. Lots of shells to be found and enjoyed. The river is also fun to walk in a cool off. Surfing is pretty good out front and when the tide is high, waves were good and locals and visitors from all around surf here. Great place to sit back with a drink from one of the bars and watch while sitting under the palms or even from under the bar area. 3. Pools- great pool for little kids or non swimmers on one end and deeper area on opposite end. Very clean and not smelly. 4. Rooms- Rooms are clean and mostly well maintained. This is not a brand new resort so there is some usual water/rust damage in small places. (it;s near and ocean so there will be this in all properties!) The room we had was large, the bathroom nice with a nice large shower with a bench built in to the side for sitting if needed. Soap, shampoo, and cond. on the wall under the shower head. Lots of nice towels and 2 bath robes. Wonderful full powered hair dryer! Not one of cruise ship kinds!! Sliding glass doors for back wall to look out over beautiful gardens and or ocean. TV on wall with some English speaking channels. A/C and ceiling fan worked great and the bedding was very comforting. American travelers need to know about the Exit Tax before they go. It was $29 each at the airport. A lot of people we saw had not heard of this. I always to the STEP program from our government before we go to foreign countries and it was mentioned there as well. If you use a credit card to pay for this it will be billed as a cash advance. Just a heads up...we knew so we had the cash set back. Also.. we went to 5 areas to purchase a camera since mine broke on the first day. NO cameras in the town of Tamarindo at all and not even at the Wal-mart owned shops in Liberia.


8 of 8 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Alma, Arkansas
Age: 55-64
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

June 16, 2015
Barcelo Langosta June 2015

We spent a week at this property in early June. This was our second trip there and we had a great time! The people working there were phenomenal - many of them remembered us from our previous visit a year ago. They made my 8 year old son feel like a VIP. The hotel is not that large, so it is quite manageable to get around. The buffet was good - during the week, they made individually prepared fish, steak or chicken - whatever one wanted. Breakfast was best with individually prepared eggs. All staff interactions were quite positive. Although all inclusive, we did tip a dollar or two which was not expected, but clearly appreciated! Downside is that you can't swim right off of the beach, but if you walk to the left, there is a cove and you can swim in that, no problem.


11 of 12 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Charlotte, NC
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

October 21, 2014
Great vacation!!!

I was impressed, and I can be very hard to please. I loved the location and it's beautiful surroundings. The hotel staff were attentive, helpful, and friendly. I don't speak fluent Spanish and had no problems at all. The hotel is a bit older but it has been updated nicely. The food was excellent. Great entertainment and activities were provided daily. Great secluded vacation spot. You are just steps from the beach. I felt safe - security guards were on duty and visible throught the day. I will definitely go back again.


5 of 5 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Greenville, SC
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

March 20, 2013
Would totally go back!

We went here for our honeymoon, November 18-23, and it was absolutely fabulous. They knew it was our honeymoon and took care of us. We stayed in one of the newer buildings, near the amphitheater. We read reviews saying the shows were loud, we never heard them from our room. We were on the 5th floor though, so that might have made a difference. The room was very comfortable. I thought the pool might be too small from the pictures but it was actually quite big and there were always loungers available in the sun and shade. The beach is great and we had a great time exploring it, just be mindful for the tides coming in. Its location to Tamarindo was great, cheap $5 taxi to town for shopping. The drinks were great, but the food was my least favorite part of the resort. We also did a canopy tour which we loved, arranged through the hotel concierge, and a river tour where we saw different monkeys and alligators and visited a coffee plantation. We loved Barcelo, loved Costa Rica, and want to go back!


10 of 12 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Monrovia, CA
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

August 1, 2013
Not like other Barcelo Resorts

Stayed at this resort from July 23-29, 2013. I have stayed at the Barcelo in Riviera Maya and had a great experience, therefore I thought this would be more of the same. I was wrong. I have traveled extensively in the Caribbean and Mexico, so I compare my other experiences with this resort. While this place is not hideous, it does not have the same acreage, attraction, and food as the other resorts. Fact is, this resort is in need of some updates to up its ratings. This is not a 4 star resort. I would give it a 3 minus. Buffet has little selection and is the same day after day. The staff is friendly. Rooms are clean. Grounds are nice, but nothing great. Beach has lots of rocks and is nothing special, at all. Everything about this resort was average at best. Unless you are on a tight budget, I would stay elsewhere. Entertainment is very amateure. Most of the guests are Costa Ricans looking for a weekend gettaway. Be prepared, as the area itself is very rustic, with many dirt roads. While I enjoy the rustic atmosphere, I prefer to get my moneys worth from my hotel. I don't feel I got that here. Decent size pool with two kids pools for those with kids. Long walk down dirt road to tamarindo, take a cab or rent a car while there. For those who want to fish, book a fishing trip in Playa Flamingo, much cheaper and the fishing was great. Nuigies is a great restaurant in town that I would recommend visiting while there, though there were many more that I did not visit. Great area to visit, just be sure to expect a very rustic area and ride from the airport.


2 of 2 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 2
Value
 
2.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
2.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
2.0
User Image

From: Orange County, California
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

September 5, 2016
We had a great time, but a few caveats:

The resort and staff were great: no complaints about our room or the very helpful people who work at the Barceló, who were all super-friendly. A few things you should know: This resort is a bit of a drive from the airport, and I think there are plenty of places to stay that are more convenient. Unless you are a surfer. The beach here is rocky and the surf can be rough. Good for surfers, not so much for swimming. We swam at a small cove to the left of the hotel beach, which was just fine. And finally: The all-inclusive is a great plan, but not if you're vegetarian. After a week of rice-and-beans and the salad bar, you'll be longing for some other type of hot food. Even the pizza had ham buried in it! BUT: the vacation itself was just great. Sunset cruise and snorkeling are highly recommended. We saw amazing humpback whales and had a really relaxing week. Take the day trip into Nicaragua if you can. You won't regret it.


2 of 2 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Jersey City, NJ
Age: 45-54

January 1, 2014
What a surprise!

After reading the previous reviews on this Property I was somewhat apprehensive - what a surprise! There were three main issues that I have with the Property: 1. The Dining Times were somewhat restrictive - but the food was excellent and a wide variety was presented: 2. The lunch offering was poor - snack bar only; 3. The "free drinks" were essentially void of alcohol. The Hotel was clean, safe and beautiful. The Staff was exceptionally helpful and polite. the beach was excellent, huge and photo quality. Do not hesitate to go to this Hotel!!


1 of 1 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image
Top 250 Contributor
From: Louisville, Kentucky
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year