All

Barcelo Grand Faro Los Cabos Reviews

Mexico | Mexico - Los Cabos Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 76 Reviews
Value
 
4.1
Service
 
3.9
Beaches & Pools
 
4.1
Dining Options
 
3.5
Room Comfort
 
3.6
3.9 out of 5
"This was a very nice resort. I was a little dissapointed that we couldn't go into the ocean but the pools were nice. Very few choices for dinner but the meals we did have were good. A very safe area." – nhgirl
68 out of 87 (78%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
View from the Pool View from the room Our third floor room view Restaurant choices Having fun Our Patio view Room balcony view Laying on the hammock at Night

All Barcelo Grand Faro Los Cabos Customer Reviews

1-10 of 76 reviews. Sort by
April 7, 2015
Nice Vacation

Barcelo Grand is an excellent resort....very clean, service excellent...attitude of the staff 95% excellent ! All the prior reviews I read regarding watered down beverages or inability to get a drink because resort was too spread out, or not enough bars etc..... TOTALLY FALSE ! We could get basically any drink, anytime ! My GF and I set this trip up to go to a warm weather climate....we wanted to go somewhere that neither of us had been....we are both 50 and are very experienced travelers. We both tan well and the sun / pools / beach etc.....are very important to us..... along with being in a laid back fun type atmosphere..... this location near San Jose Del Cabo (Smaller, quaint little town, 28 miles from the larger, springbreak wild Cabo San Lucas) was an excellent choice...... we like to party with adults, not college kids....this was perfect for us. We were still able to go to San Lucas easily for day trips..... see the whales....Cabo Wabo (Sammy Hagar's bar)...beach...shopping etc.... but were very happy with the location & laid back atmosphere of Barcelo Grand. Ratings of food: scale of 1-5 Breakfast 3-4 star Lunch 3-4 star Pool area snacks, nachos burgers, tacos etc.... 3-4 star DINNER BUFFET 2-3 star DINNER al le carte 3 star The one area we thought needed improvement to make this a solid 4+ star resort was the quality of the dinners..... I would recommend this resort to anyone ! We had a great time......


13 of 13 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: St. Charles IL 60174
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

February 7, 2013
Cabo February 2013

Hotel was perfect, staff was beyond friendly all the food and drinks were great! Plenty of activities for all ages and desires. Hotel is about 20 minutes north of Cabo San Lucas but it is an easy cab ride to get down there and you are away from all the crowds. Downtown San Jose del Cabo is awesome as well and there is plenty to do around there! Would definitely go back to this hotel and highly recommend it. Perfect price for what they offer.


12 of 12 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Chicago , il
Age: 19-24
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

August 14, 2013
worst trip ever!!!

This was our second trip to Cabo, the first was so great we stayed at the Riu Palace and had so much fun. It started when we arrived in Cabo and were lured by the time share people who said they were our driver 2 x Liars!! We arrived at Hola at the grounds looked nice and that was about it. After waiting in line for an hour to check in No drinks were offered and they were at our last stay, No liquor in the room like our last stay, No turn down service like our last stay limited restaurants and nothing to talk about!! we went to our rooms 2210 and 2214 Ocean view room 1 was dirty, no towels, no iron and smelled very musky. Room 2 worse smell, lamp shades dirty, no toilet paper, mold in the shower and had two double beds instead of the King. Both rooms the beds were very hard. I had really talked about how great this vacation was going to be and I was so disappointed. I went down stairs to complain and was told they had no rooms till tomorrow check back at 9:00 am OMG what a way to spend your anniversary in separate beds:( I went back down stairs at 9:00 and was told the rooms would be ready at 2 or 2:30 to pack my stuff and move in my brothers room. We decided to rent a car because you can't swim at the beach and a taxi ride was $55 dollars after waiting till 1:00 for a car we headed to Cabo. We had lunch we were starving the food at Hola was horrible.When we got back to the Hola our room was still not available! I was told wait 15 minutes 3 times!! I finally said we have dinner resv at 9:00 pm and was given a key and to WAIT 15 more min. Almost 7:00 my brother's room still not clean and we had no towels to get ready? I then checked out room 2410 disgusting and MOLD. I then was told by Gaby to check out room 1402 and 1403 nice but still not great. I will summarize the rest running out of room Restaurants are always full make resv by 8:45 am, No maid service, rent a car or pay $55 taxi ride, go to Mega mart for food and liquor WATERED down drinks, Hard to find ice machines, Safe was broken, bars close by 11:00 pm , No microwave, Pools are dirty with bugs and sand, Flat Coke, drinks are hot(milk, juice)Restaurants are hot and full of Flies, Excursions Hola Overpriced and rude, Rained on Sunday had to cancel trips found half off less than a mile away, elevators smell like gasoline? had trouble getting WIFI AND printing Isy was nice and Gaby most of the people were rude, Judith in the towels was very rude when we turned in the towels I said I am sorry we've had 5 rooms but I am not paying for someone else towels at $40 a pop?? also the bartenders who don't no how to make anything but Margarita's We will Never stay or suggest anyone stay at this cheap Motel. I don't no who wrote the others reviews maybe they have stayed at worse but I can't imagine. The lights also were going on and off and so was the shower when we checked out? also was 45 minute wait!!Everyone at Cheap Caribbean have been very nice. We all had the Mexican runs and my hubby and eye both bacterial eye infections? Never stay at Hola again maybe hire more staff and friendly one's too.


59 of 69 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 2
Value
 
2.0
Service
 
1.0
Beaches & Pools
 
1.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
1.0
User Image

From: San Diego CA
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

June 9, 2015
Definitely Surprised Me

Me and my girlfriend had a 4 night stay here for our vacation before our busy summer starts and it was the perfect peaceful getaway. I had never been to an all-inclusive resort so I was beyond thrilled and amazed by how the entire resort operated in making sure you were as having the best time. My girlfriend had grown up in a wealthy family so she's stayed in countless all inclusive resorts but even she said that this couldn't be beat. There weren't loud parties going on so you could just relax by the pool. We layed out by the pool for a while but got up to goto the bar every so often and get some drimks. The bartenders at the pool are very friendly and nice, but they had so many orders that sometimes it takes awhile to get your drinks. Efraiam is the name of my favorite bartender. You may think you're being ignored, but you're not. They're just busy. I always tipped Efraiam at the end of the day so on the next day he knew he'd get tipped well. The resort offers a lot of pool activities and games during the day, which no matter your age, you'll have fun with it. All in all this was a trip I'll never forget and I'm definitely coming back. If you're looking for a resort and you're iffy about Barcelo, I'd say go for it and you won't regret it. You, your family and kids will love it.

Laying on the hammock at Night Our Patio view
11 of 11 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Dallas
Age: 19-24
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

May 11, 2013
Hola Grand Faro Luxury All Inclusive Resort

It was everything we wanted and more. Great food, excellent service, extra clean resort. The staff really went out of their way for us and were social. The only thing is the bed was comfortable but not cozy.... If they would upgrade thier beds I would give this place a 10++++. This is a great place for couples and families. Nice and quiet. Perfect vacation and we plan to return next year. We felt very safe here and did not encounter any problems.


13 of 14 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: California
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

August 2, 2013
Hola Grand Far-NO

Upon arrival, the desk staff was very rude and although I had made the reservation for one adult and one child, was told that I had made the reservation for two adults- which caused an inconvenience if some sort in the desk getting a blue bracelet instead of orange. When we arrived to our room, there was only one bed. I had requested a two bed room and had called the resort prior to arriving to confirm this- at the time they said yes. When I called the desk from the room to ask for a different room, I was told no, because they had booked all other rooms. We asked for a roll away bed, which was brought up later by housekeeping. After settling our items in, we headed down to find one of the restaraunts to eat in since we were starving after a long flight. Only two of the five restaraunts were open, but they required a "reservation" and the desk was no longer taking reservations. We were told we could order room service instead. We went back up to the room and there was no menu in the binder. We called the front desk and were told that someone would bring us a menu. We waited 20 minutes, no one showed up so I went down to the desk to get it myself. When I got there and asked for the menu, I was told NO- you will have to wait for someone to bring it to you. I was appalled with the attitude not to mention the lack of accommodation. I went back up to the room and told my son that we would just head out and find something at a nearby restraunt. As we we were leaving, housekeeping arrived and walked over to the binder that was supposed to house the room service menu, picked it up and handed it to me, as if I was an idiot and hadn't checked there for the menu. I showed her there was no menu, so she walked briskly over to the room next door to us, came back in with another binder and threw it on the table. At that point my son was so hungry I just opened the menu to order room service. Extremely limited, but we ordered a pizza and chicken fingers. It arrived about 30 minutes later and before I even looked at the food I was informed by the gentleman delivering it that I just needed to give him a tip. Maybe that's a personal pet peeve, but I do not appreciate this kind of behavior. I can tell you how in-edlible the food was, bad enough that my 10 yr old son said he could eat it. The "pizza" was a piece of flatbread with half melted squares of some kind of cheese and hotdogs sliced up and laid on top. The chicken was soggy and cold and didn't taste like any kind of chicken I have ever had. I wish that I could say this was an isolated experience, but all food in the buffets and the restaraunt (we were only able to get one reservation out of five nights due to "restaraunt is full" every other night). The drinks were equally terrible and the service was moderate at its best. I went to the gift shop to use the Internet and was told that I could not charge it to my room because the system was down and that I could not use US $ because they didn't have change and that I must use pesos. When I paid in pesos I was short changed based on the exchange rate and was told that it was different for the gift shop. And after going back and forth with the very snotty cashier, she huffed and puffed and threw the password sheet at me. Every time I called the desk for a reservation I was told no. Everytime we made a request for anything I was told no. My son went to get towels at the pool and and they wrote down that we took 4, instead of two ( you are charged $40/ towel that you don't return) upon checking out, I was charged $30 for two phone calls that never went through ( because the phone in our room was broken) and then charged $5 for the Internet that I was told I could not charge to my room and forced to pay for in pesos! Over this was the theme of my experience, much more bad than good and terrible attitudes and service all over. I paid for "inclusive" when I booked and spent at least $150 US/day eating outside of the reset because the all the restaraunts were either closed or fully reserved. By the way, don't depend on housekeeping either, one day they showed up at 5:30pm and the next not at all. When they do come, very minimal cleaning.


8 of 8 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 2
Value
 
2.0
Service
 
1.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
1.0
User Image

From: Portland,OR
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

April 29, 2015
Barcelo, Cabo, San Jose

My wife and I had a wonderful experience. The staff was extremely kind. Willing to give the shirt off their back. Very relaxing, beautiful, and peaceful resort. You really have no reason to leave except to do excursions. We did however wish the beds were a little softer. And didn't realize the barcelo was 30 mins from San Lucas. Only about 15mins from the airport. We went and 6 nights and it was perfect, by the end we were ready to get back home to the kids. The barcelo is very kid friendly, we wish we had brought the children.

Having fun View from the room
7 of 7 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Brentwood, CA
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

September 15, 2016
Great Time!

This was our second visit to this resort and it was fabulous! A great big special "Thank You!" to the management and staff during Hurricane Newton. The hotel was prepared and was on top of the situation at all times. We only lost one day due to the hurricane - but the hotel made sure that the guests had food and drink. The hotel also provided free entertainment every evening - which was great! Lots of food options on the buffets. We really liked how the snack bar by the pool offered a variety of snacks throughout the day! There was always something available to munch on! Staff were always friendly and pleasant. We will stay at this hotel again when visiting Cabo or another Barcelo at another location.


6 of 6 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: DENVER, CO
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

June 28, 2015
GREAT DEAL - LIMITED ENTERTAINMENT

THIS WAS A GREAT DEAL. THE HOTEL WAS GREAT, THE FOOD WAS GREAT, BUT IT LACKED ON NIGHLY ENTERTAINMENT. BEACH PARTY ON SUNDAY WITH LIVE BAND ON THE BEACH WAS AWESOME. SHOULD HAVE SOME FORM OF LIVE ENTERTAINMENT NIGHTLY - PREFERABLY AROUND 9 AM. SOMETHING TO KEEP THE GUESTS ENTERTAINED. AFTER SUNDAY NIGHT IT WAS REALLY 'DEAD.' WE ARE NOT PARTY ANIMALS BUT SOME FORM OF LIVE ENTERTAINMENT WOULD HAVE MADE IT EVEN BETTER. LOOKING AT THE CALENDAR PROVIDED AT CHECK IN - THEY HAD SOMETHING SCHEDULED - BUT I BELIEVE IT STARTED AT 10 AM - WILL DEFINITELY VISIT CABO AGAIN - MAY STAY AT THIS LOCATION OR CLOSER TO TOWN. TOOK 2 TOURS - SNORKELING AND SUNSET DINNER CRUISE - HAD A GREAT TIME - LEARNED ALOT ABOUT THE AREA FROM THE DRIVERS.


5 of 5 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: DENVER, CO
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

September 17, 2015
Quality experience!

From the planning process to the sad day of departure - it was a great experience! Our trip planning representative was extremely helpful and informative and available to us. Our flights and connections were good with no unnecessary layovers. The transfers to and from resort were right on time, clean, helpful and relaxed. The resort was accomodating when we had a special request for our group. The resort quality was very good - we enjoyed the all inclusive buffets as well as the themed dinner evenings and special reservation restaurants. The pools were very clean and very beautiful. The bar service around the pool was wonderful. The offering of activities both on site and excursions was great. The activity staff seemed to be around 24-7 and besides doing their job, would go out of their way to help you with anything you needed - they made everyone feel so welcome and comfortable. The rooms were clean and nicely supplied with little 'extras'. The views were very good. The weekend live band was great. This booking was a total quality experience - extremely satisfied and will use their services again!


5 of 5 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: KY
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year