All

Barcelo Grand Faro Los Cabos Reviews

Mexico | Mexico - Los Cabos Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 153 Reviews
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
3.9
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.5
Room Comfort
 
3.7
3.9 out of 5
"This was a very nice resort. I was a little dissapointed that we couldn't go into the ocean but the pools were nice. Very few choices for dinner but the meals we did have were good. A very safe area." – nhgirl
125 out of 169 (74%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Having fun Restaurant choices Super relaxing View from the Pool Our third floor room view The view from our balcony Room balcony view Laying on the hammock at Night Our Patio view FUN AT THE POOL View from the room

All Barcelo Grand Faro Los Cabos Customer Reviews

1-10 of 153 reviews. Sort by
June 9, 2015
Definitely Surprised Me

Me and my girlfriend had a 4 night stay here for our vacation before our busy summer starts and it was the perfect peaceful getaway. I had never been to an all-inclusive resort so I was beyond thrilled and amazed by how the entire resort operated in making sure you were as having the best time. My girlfriend had grown up in a wealthy family so she's stayed in countless all inclusive resorts but even she said that this couldn't be beat. There weren't loud parties going on so you could just relax by the pool. We layed out by the pool for a while but got up to goto the bar every so often and get some drimks. The bartenders at the pool are very friendly and nice, but they had so many orders that sometimes it takes awhile to get your drinks. Efraiam is the name of my favorite bartender. You may think you're being ignored, but you're not. They're just busy. I always tipped Efraiam at the end of the day so on the next day he knew he'd get tipped well. The resort offers a lot of pool activities and games during the day, which no matter your age, you'll have fun with it. All in all this was a trip I'll never forget and I'm definitely coming back. If you're looking for a resort and you're iffy about Barcelo, I'd say go for it and you won't regret it. You, your family and kids will love it.

Laying on the hammock at Night Our Patio view
15 of 15 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Dallas
Age: 19-24
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

February 7, 2013
Cabo February 2013

Hotel was perfect, staff was beyond friendly all the food and drinks were great! Plenty of activities for all ages and desires. Hotel is about 20 minutes north of Cabo San Lucas but it is an easy cab ride to get down there and you are away from all the crowds. Downtown San Jose del Cabo is awesome as well and there is plenty to do around there! Would definitely go back to this hotel and highly recommend it. Perfect price for what they offer.


12 of 12 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Chicago , il
Age: 19-24
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

August 14, 2013
worst trip ever!!!

This was our second trip to Cabo, the first was so great we stayed at the Riu Palace and had so much fun. It started when we arrived in Cabo and were lured by the time share people who said they were our driver 2 x Liars!! We arrived at Hola at the grounds looked nice and that was about it. After waiting in line for an hour to check in No drinks were offered and they were at our last stay, No liquor in the room like our last stay, No turn down service like our last stay limited restaurants and nothing to talk about!! we went to our rooms 2210 and 2214 Ocean view room 1 was dirty, no towels, no iron and smelled very musky. Room 2 worse smell, lamp shades dirty, no toilet paper, mold in the shower and had two double beds instead of the King. Both rooms the beds were very hard. I had really talked about how great this vacation was going to be and I was so disappointed. I went down stairs to complain and was told they had no rooms till tomorrow check back at 9:00 am OMG what a way to spend your anniversary in separate beds:( I went back down stairs at 9:00 and was told the rooms would be ready at 2 or 2:30 to pack my stuff and move in my brothers room. We decided to rent a car because you can't swim at the beach and a taxi ride was $55 dollars after waiting till 1:00 for a car we headed to Cabo. We had lunch we were starving the food at Hola was horrible.When we got back to the Hola our room was still not available! I was told wait 15 minutes 3 times!! I finally said we have dinner resv at 9:00 pm and was given a key and to WAIT 15 more min. Almost 7:00 my brother's room still not clean and we had no towels to get ready? I then checked out room 2410 disgusting and MOLD. I then was told by Gaby to check out room 1402 and 1403 nice but still not great. I will summarize the rest running out of room Restaurants are always full make resv by 8:45 am, No maid service, rent a car or pay $55 taxi ride, go to Mega mart for food and liquor WATERED down drinks, Hard to find ice machines, Safe was broken, bars close by 11:00 pm , No microwave, Pools are dirty with bugs and sand, Flat Coke, drinks are hot(milk, juice)Restaurants are hot and full of Flies, Excursions Hola Overpriced and rude, Rained on Sunday had to cancel trips found half off less than a mile away, elevators smell like gasoline? had trouble getting WIFI AND printing Isy was nice and Gaby most of the people were rude, Judith in the towels was very rude when we turned in the towels I said I am sorry we've had 5 rooms but I am not paying for someone else towels at $40 a pop?? also the bartenders who don't no how to make anything but Margarita's We will Never stay or suggest anyone stay at this cheap Motel. I don't no who wrote the others reviews maybe they have stayed at worse but I can't imagine. The lights also were going on and off and so was the shower when we checked out? also was 45 minute wait!!Everyone at Cheap Caribbean have been very nice. We all had the Mexican runs and my hubby and eye both bacterial eye infections? Never stay at Hola again maybe hire more staff and friendly one's too.


59 of 70 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 2
Value
 
2.0
Service
 
1.0
Beaches & Pools
 
1.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
1.0
User Image

From: San Diego CA
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

May 11, 2013
Hola Grand Faro Luxury All Inclusive Resort

It was everything we wanted and more. Great food, excellent service, extra clean resort. The staff really went out of their way for us and were social. The only thing is the bed was comfortable but not cozy.... If they would upgrade thier beds I would give this place a 10++++. This is a great place for couples and families. Nice and quiet. Perfect vacation and we plan to return next year. We felt very safe here and did not encounter any problems.


17 of 20 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: California
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

May 1, 2013
first trip to Mexico

as a first experience in Mexico, we should say was great vacation, the resort in general was very good., staff were great and friendly, food was good too, service was the best, clean and neat, very happy with our choice , the only thing was disappointing was that we asked for king size bed before we go and importunity none was available, so not big deal, other than that nice place , very good times and will recommend to all friends and family in Canada, thank you for making us staying there so pleasant.


9 of 10 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Canada,Vancover
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

June 28, 2015
GREAT DEAL - LIMITED ENTERTAINMENT

THIS WAS A GREAT DEAL. THE HOTEL WAS GREAT, THE FOOD WAS GREAT, BUT IT LACKED ON NIGHLY ENTERTAINMENT. BEACH PARTY ON SUNDAY WITH LIVE BAND ON THE BEACH WAS AWESOME. SHOULD HAVE SOME FORM OF LIVE ENTERTAINMENT NIGHTLY - PREFERABLY AROUND 9 AM. SOMETHING TO KEEP THE GUESTS ENTERTAINED. AFTER SUNDAY NIGHT IT WAS REALLY 'DEAD.' WE ARE NOT PARTY ANIMALS BUT SOME FORM OF LIVE ENTERTAINMENT WOULD HAVE MADE IT EVEN BETTER. LOOKING AT THE CALENDAR PROVIDED AT CHECK IN - THEY HAD SOMETHING SCHEDULED - BUT I BELIEVE IT STARTED AT 10 AM - WILL DEFINITELY VISIT CABO AGAIN - MAY STAY AT THIS LOCATION OR CLOSER TO TOWN. TOOK 2 TOURS - SNORKELING AND SUNSET DINNER CRUISE - HAD A GREAT TIME - LEARNED ALOT ABOUT THE AREA FROM THE DRIVERS.


5 of 5 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: DENVER, CO
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

April 12, 2017
Nice place

This was a nice place. Check in was a little crazy but expected as I had read the reviews. Gave us a room with 2 double beds instead of King and had to go try to resolve. Total check in time 1 hour day 1 and 30 minutes day 2. People are so nice. Room was nice with little refrigerator full of drinks and goodies refilled everyday. Coffee maker in room. Breakfast starts at 7:30, lunch 1:00 and dinner 6:30. Snack area by pool bar with hamburgers, hot dogs, taquittos etc open from 11:00 - 6:00. People do put towels on chairs early but lounge chairs on beach are open and quiet. Had 2 wedding on property and were wonderful. Only real con is with the tile hallways the sound travels. Did not try to get into one of the 3 restaurants as someone told us they were full all week even though we never saw anyone coming or going from them. Each night is a different theme for dinner, but have pizza every night and ice cream. Only about a 15 minute walk into town. Did it 3 times. Very relaxing


5 of 5 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Livermore, CA
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

August 22, 2017
Premium upgrade well worth the money

We stayed at Barcelo Gran Faro for 5 nights and it was an amazing experience! Very easy to travel here from the airport. Best tips: at the pool snack bar, they have guacamole if you ask for it, mix it with the pico de Gallo, yum !! Also, the Sky Sports Bar has the best beer and view, tall icy glasses and the Negra Modelo. This is a big deal to me! The only other place I saw the Negra Modelo was the bar right outside the premium lounge. We upgraded to the Premium level with beach side room, and it was worth every penny. With this upgrade, we enjoyed the nicer room and linens, access to the premium club room, all the reservations we needed to a la carte restaurants, free room service, free WIFI, early check in, mini bar in the room. We visited the premium club room every day to either grab water bottles, the corona light cans, some advice from the very friendly staff, they had Patron and other high end liquor in there but I mostly stuck with beer. We did not have to worry about "bad quality alcohol" which you hear in the news. First day we did the room service which was very nice- flank steak, shrimp, salad. My favorite a la carte was the Italian but we also did Mexican, Sushi, and Seafood. Her favorite was the Sushi. We also often visited the Sky Bar after dinner ! The infinity pool was also very nice and relaxing and less crowded than the pool bar. Favorite pool drink were the chocolate daiquiri, and he pineapple mojito. All of the staff was very courteous, profession, and friendly, they were always helpful. The waiters were very attentive and professional. We felt that there was good security and we felt safe, it is quiet here. The atmosphere was mostly couples and people to come here to relax not party. We visited Cabo San Lucas via bus one day, $3 each day, we wish we had stayed at the resort and enjoyed this place much better than the party city / tourist trap of Cabo San Lucas.


5 of 5 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Dallas, TX
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

April 7, 2015
Nice Vacation

Barcelo Grand is an excellent resort....very clean, service excellent...attitude of the staff 95% excellent ! All the prior reviews I read regarding watered down beverages or inability to get a drink because resort was too spread out, or not enough bars etc..... TOTALLY FALSE ! We could get basically any drink, anytime ! My GF and I set this trip up to go to a warm weather climate....we wanted to go somewhere that neither of us had been....we are both 50 and are very experienced travelers. We both tan well and the sun / pools / beach etc.....are very important to us..... along with being in a laid back fun type atmosphere..... this location near San Jose Del Cabo (Smaller, quaint little town, 28 miles from the larger, springbreak wild Cabo San Lucas) was an excellent choice...... we like to party with adults, not college kids....this was perfect for us. We were still able to go to San Lucas easily for day trips..... see the whales....Cabo Wabo (Sammy Hagar's bar)...beach...shopping etc.... but were very happy with the location & laid back atmosphere of Barcelo Grand. Ratings of food: scale of 1-5 Breakfast 3-4 star Lunch 3-4 star Pool area snacks, nachos burgers, tacos etc.... 3-4 star DINNER BUFFET 2-3 star DINNER al le carte 3 star The one area we thought needed improvement to make this a solid 4+ star resort was the quality of the dinners..... I would recommend this resort to anyone ! We had a great time......


13 of 17 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: St. Charles IL 60174
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

February 25, 2017
Has potential

Overall this was an inexpensive and good resort, however we had a number of complaints starting day 1. 1. The restaurants are actually very good and the food is excellent. As for the service, the staff are amazing and work sooo hard. The problem is that the management grossly under-staffs, which means that your server is also your host, bartender, and busser, and likely has half or the entire restaurant; essentially they leave half the tables empty, because it would be impossible to seat more. 2. Making reservations for restaurants is a nightmare. They only open one week at a time, and it opens on Sunday at 9am, so if you want to make reservations, you have to wait in line with the rest of the resort at that time. Also they only allow you to make reservations between 9 and 3, so if you have any excursions off the resort on Sunday or Monday, you can forget about the restaurants. I will say, however, the buffets are very good as a second option. 3. The resort does not prevent people from placing towels on pool chairs to reserve them without being present. Essentially, after 6:30 am, all chairs will be taken without a single person at the pool. All that the resort needs to do is place signage to prevent this. 4. The rooms need to be drastically updated. The lighting is very poor, the fixtures and furniture are old, and the bathrooms need a lot of work. The pros: 1. Amazing staff. So friendly, helpful, and hardworking. 2. The drinks are strong... be careful on your first day. 3. The food at the restaurants and buffets is very good. 4. The water is safe to drink, although we stuck to bottled water most of the time (which by the was is also what they use at the tables, in the pitchers) 5. The pools are nice, and good size.


4 of 4 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
2.0
User Image

From: CO, USA
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

+ Vacation Packages
+ All-Inclusive Deals
+ Hotels
+ Destinations