All

Barcelo Costa Cancun Reviews

Mexico | Mexico - Cancun Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 90 Reviews
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.1
Beaches & Pools
 
3.6
Dining Options
 
3.5
Room Comfort
 
3.6
3.7 out of 5
"I have been to cancun several times and have stayed in different hotels. we had a great time everyone was very nice and even remember you name will go back again." – Cbtheinfamous
86 out of 115 (75%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Catamaran in de Isla Mujeres Gorgeous view from our room Beautiful (VERY low key) beach Viva la Mexico The View from our room our view from our room Sheltered beach area Life is too short to not have fun The view from our breakfast table at Albatros

All Barcelo Costa Cancun Customer Reviews

1-10 of 90 reviews. Sort by
March 9, 2013
The Perfect Winter Escape

My friends and I were looking for a spring break destination that wasn't your typical college student mob. Barcelo Costa Cancun turned out to be a wonderful option! There were plenty of young, college age people, but there were also many families there, too. It was a great place to relax and enjoy the sunshine, and the lively music gave it a great vibe. We had a blast! This was the first time I've ever planned a vacation/international trip, and I must say that Cheap Caribbean made it so easy and stress-free. To start, the service was great. There were always servers coming around to bring us drinks by the pool. Everyone was so polite and pleasant and worked hard to make sure we were comfortable. Each night at 9:00, they put on various themed shows like International Night and Michael Jackson. They were entertaining and family-friendly. After the shows end, there isn't much to do besides hanging out at the bar, so I'd suggest going to one of the downtown clubs or finding something to do in town if you're looking for more activities. The beach area was fairly small as was mentioned in earlier comments, but it was still very nice and had plenty of lounge chairs and palm trees if you wanted some shade. Next door to the resort was the ferry stop to take you to Isla Mujeres, where there are tons of shops, snorkeling in the coral reefs, etc. It was fun to watch the various boats go past. The pool was gorgeous and well-kept, with lots of places to sit and relax. We also enjoyed the food options and felt they offered a variety of different types of food. Albatros tended to be our favorite, with lots of buffet choices. We would've liked to see some more breakfast and lunch options that weren't buffet style, but otherwise the food was just fine. The 24-hour snack bar was a very nice touch, as well. Our rooms were very clean and the beds were comfortable; however, we were positioned on floors 1 and 2 - right off of the lobby and open-air entrance to the resort in addition to the snack bar. A lot of noise carried, and people tended to get very loud around 2 or 3 a.m. We also heard a lot of machine noises at this time (most likely a vacuum or other cleaner). We did thoroughly enjoy the refilled-daily complimentary mini bar, though. I'm guessing that rooms located elsewhere would have much less of an issue with the noise. Overall, the resort was beautiful, and we had a great time! We were lucky to have perfect weather, which added to the quality of the trip. Everything was very clean and bright. We added on round-trip airport transfers and the Jungle Maya excursion, which I highly recommend. Bottom line: if you're looking for a wild spring break with tons of college students and partying, I'd look elsewhere. If you're looking for something a bit tamer and refined, Barcelo Costa Cancun is an affordable and enjoyable way to indulge in an exotic beach vacation with friends or family.

The view from our breakfast table at Albatros
21 of 21 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Pittsburgh, PA
Age: 19-24
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

November 15, 2010
Just what we were looking for

We were looking for somewhere all inclusive, that had no dress up rules for dinner, evening activities, shows, etc, easy access to town, multiple restaurants, close to sight seeing activities and a great price. Well guess what, we found it at the Barcela Costa Cancun. Not only did we have all of the above, but the staff was terrific. We got to know the wait staff, front desk, travel and housekeeping staff really well. We loved the fact that the safe and the well stocked refrigerator in the room was not an extra charge. They also had extra like an outside clothes stand to dry your suits, as well as one in the shower.The choices of food were excellent, shows were great, beach or pool wonderful. You could walk go to the pool area or around the corner of the resort and book outside excursions and then get on most of them right there Our room was beautiful, the shower was huge, decor excellent. I have been to Mexico many times, but my partner had not and he was very pleased and I was very happy even comparing to other resorts I have stayed at. We would highly recommend this resort and would go there again ourselves. I have recommended it to others I work with many times already. Do not hesitate to check it out!

Gorgeous view from our room Sheltered beach area
55 of 60 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Michigan
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

July 9, 2015

This place was really nice. The staff was extremely courteous Linda was our waitress most days and she was a delight. Always had a smile on her face. We played some games with Alexandro he was quite engaging and friendly. I wish we could have brought the two bartenders in the picture home with us. they interacted with everyone and didn't make you feel like you were bothersome. My hat goes off to the chef(s) I don't normally care for Mexican food but this food was off the chain.We absolutely LOVE BARCELO COSTA CANCUN. We would come back next year but have to use our timeshare


9 of 9 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Saint Louis
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

May 28, 2015
Perfect Vacation!!

My husband and I hadn't been on a "real" vacation... So we arranged childcare and booked this resort. It was worth EVERY penny we paid for it and then more! I won't lie, when we first got there we thought it was not going to be the best. The check in process was very long (almost 30 minutes) but I think it was because we came right at check in time (due to when our flight got in). That was literally the ONLY negative experience we had there. The amount of money we paid seemed very minimal for everything we've got. As I said, we've never done a real vacation before so the whole all-inclusive concept is new to us. We absolutely loved it! There's a nice little mini bar in the room, as well as the 24 hour snack bar (which, as a bonus to us, was just down the hall from us). They have 4 different restaurants-- The buffet (no need for reservations, open breakfast, lunch & dinner), the Spanish restaurant (didn't check that out), the Mexican restaurant, and the seafood restaurant. The food was excellent! I have very low expectations when it comes to buffet, because I've had my fair share of terrible experiences. But their buffet had a LOT of variety of both American food and Mexican (not to mention if it was dinner they had whatever cuisine was the special for that night). All of the restaurants were truly fantastic. I still can't believe we got ALL that vacation for as little as we paid! The staff at this hotel was FANTASTIC!! Our personal favorite was the emcee for all of their special events and entertainment. On our last full day, we wanted to get a bottle of the house tequila (that we found out about at their casino night event the night before)... He wasn't sure of how/where to get it, but he got us in contact with a lady who was able to direct us to where to get it. And he was genuinely friendly, as was EVERYONE there. The bartenders were VERY nice and knew how to make good drinks (bonus!). I couldn't have asked for a more pleasant and courteous staff! The overall resort was fantastic. My husband and I were amazed at how clean it was and also how secure. (We had a particularly early flight, and they had security outside... So we assume there all night). It was truly a beautiful resort. We look forward to booking our next vacation! Although we're torn as to whether we go back to Barcelo Costa Cancun or try one of Barcelo's many other resorts. One thing is certain, Barcelo Costa Cancun set the bar HIGH for our next vacation!

The View from our room Beautiful (VERY low key) beach
12 of 13 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Kansas City, MO
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

June 25, 2013
Super Vacation

It was like camp for adults - the staff and activities were tremendous - super value for the money. I'll be returning.


7 of 7 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Philadelphia, PA
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

May 2, 2016
Great Get Away

I decided last minute to take a solo vacation. I called Cheap Caribbean on a Monday and was on a beach on Wednesday. First let me say I was fearful that this website might be a scam but it is very much legit. Because I was booking so last minute I had to call customer service, because the website wouldn't verify my flights. The person I spoke with, and I hate I can't remember her name, was phenomenal. She was so patient and friendly. She made sure to include my room choices in the comments to the hotel and even added to make sure I had one of there best rooms. Make sure to take the $19 Ultramar trip to the next island. Its a small city where you can get a deal on souvenirs because of the many merchants. The beach is a little nicer there than the small portion allotted to the guests at the resort. I even got a full body massage and facial on the neighboring beach for $35.00 and it was amazing. The food choices are pretty good, not the best. But they have numerous options at the albatross buffet which was my favorite. I tried one of the al a carte restaurants but the food just wasn't as good to me. Alcohol was also included with the resort, except for wine and I think a few liquors. I don't drink much so I was more-so getting mimosas, and pina coladas. The nighttime entertainment shows were fun. I think this resort is a great value for the money. Room 712 was great. Good view from the balcony of the pool.

Great Get Away Great Get Away
7 of 7 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Birmingham, AL
Age: 35-44
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

March 20, 2012

I was disappointed with the beach most of all. I thought it was a beach with waves and everything. Instead it was more like a bay and you're confined by ropes so you can only swim about ten feet out. The restaurants were great except you had to wake up at 7am and wait in line to put your name down. I wasn't impressed with the buffet at all. The food looked and tasted old and stale. Place was full of loud music and annoying drunk idiots way into the night. I woke up 3 times to drunks pounding on my door. The hot water in the shower didn't work either. I felt like the hotel staff just didn't care about what you had to say or what problem you had. This hotel is poorly located and not close to any excursions, shopping, or anything conveinient. On the plus side, the room was very nice and had a hammick and hot tub on the deck. I also like how the fridge was stocked everyday in the rooms. The maids and restaurant staff were very nice and professional. Hotel staff was very poor.


20 of 25 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 2
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
1.0
Beaches & Pools
 
1.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Utah
Age: 25-34

August 17, 2011
Poor Customer Service

Be aware if you requested double beds it is just that a request. When you arrive they can place you in a room with one king size bed unapologetically and then inform you that it doesnt matter how far in advance you booked priority on rooms is based on family size and room assignments are done the night before arrival. The food was OK and the drinks were not the best either. The resort itself is beautiful but Cancun is filled with beautiful resorts and if I were you I would choose another one.


5 of 5 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 2
Value
 
2.0
Service
 
1.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
2.0
User Image

From: New York, NY
Age: 19-24

August 30, 2011
You won't regret picking this resort

At first I was annoyed because its a bus ride to the hotel/club zone. But actually that was a blessing! I was able to relax and take any bus to the tourist areas for a buck. It sits on the ocean side of the island, so no blue-greeen Carribean Sea but the blue ocean with all the lovely boats made the views just as picturesque. The room comfort and guest services were very good. The beach area was far too small but if you love the pool, you will not be disappointed. Even if you did not find satisfaction in the buffet, the restaurants were palatable. The chef will even make an effort to prepare you what you ask for. The bars were fun places and good drinking times. You meet people from all over the world . It was a getawawy I will book again...next time with my whole family.


5 of 5 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Bronx, NY
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

January 31, 2013
Great Trip!

Nice hotel, well maintained and kept. Staff very friendly. Absolutely loved our spacious room - ocean view, 4th floor. Gigantic balcony with an awesome hot tub. Lounged in the hot tub every night with bath salts and bubbles! Only regret is we didn't get a chance to use the hammock on the balcony. Beach is small but has good sand and plenty of lounge chairs. Enjoyed drinking dirty monkeys and Miami Vice drinks from the bar. Restaurants and food were good, but not great. Really enjoyed the live entertainment every night on the stage - that was a nice touch. All in all - a great trip. Weather was perfect - met a lot of fellow Canadians on the beach. Wish we could have stayed longer. We'll be going back for sure!


5 of 5 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Indianapolis, IN
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year