All

Barcelo Bavaro Palace Deluxe Reviews

Caribbean | Dominican Republic - Punta Cana Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 396 Reviews
Value
 
4.1
Service
 
3.7
Beaches & Pools
 
4.7
Dining Options
 
3.7
Room Comfort
 
4.3
4.1 out of 5
"Water was out for 8 hours but staff were great about apologizing and making up for it." – SallJim
361 out of 470 (77%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Punta Cana DR Feb 2011 View from our room :) Fountain in main pool. breakfast/lunch view The view from our balcony~ breathtaking! Excellent Pina Coladas View from my Balcony Beatiful beaches Miramar gorgeous view Beach view of the beach and ocean view of one of the pools The beach view from room Pool Room view view from breakfast On the beach, looking at the hotel! most beautiful white sand beach! Lisa and I, 2012

All Barcelo Bavaro Palace Deluxe Customer Reviews

1-10 of 396 reviews. Sort by
December 21, 2011
Please take this review serious

First, I'll start by telling everyone that cheap carribean was the only helpful and positive thing in our trip. Unfortunately for us, our room was robbed while we were at dinner one night and we got hit pretty hard. We called the hotel staff, and the general manager and security manager showed up and did not seemed at all concerned. We were told that the security cameras did not work and the USB port in our doorknob was also broken. Therefore, the hotel manager was unable to find the employee that broke into our room using a hotel key (no forced entry). I ventured outside the hotel directly to the local police department where I filed a police report. While in the police station, I found out that the ATM at this resort was broken into on our 2 night stay. Where is the hotel security? Upon my return, still no apology or resolution from the hotel management team. The only sympathy I ever received was from the cheap carribean representative at the hotel. Bad food and bad service can be overlooked but security is not to be ignored. I do not blame cheap carribean, I blame Barcelo Bavaro Palace Deluxe for the bad customer service. I ask everyone to please post only honest reviews as we are the eyes and ears of cheao carribean and any other travel agencies. p.s. the safety box in our room had a faulty lock. Per the GM in the hotel, this was caused by the merging of 3 hotel computer systems.


221 of 229 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 2
Value
 
2.0
Service
 
1.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Florida
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

January 14, 2011
Not a 4 star resort

Maybe it is because they haven't been open that long, but the service was not good. Staff seemed uninterested in helping and unhappy. The food in the buffets was not good. Most of it seemed like it was sitting around too long - especially the breakfast french toast, pancakes and eggs. The Spanish restaurant was the best we tried. The French restaurant plays some weird game with reservations and we were unable to get in. Other restaurants got our orders wrong or took too long to bring the main course. I would have preferred more private doors on the WC in the room. Thefacility is beautiful and so is the beach. I hope they can get their act together, make some improvements and do some staff training. We did not have a good experience with Turinter Tours. They didn't tell us when we had to be in the lobby for the van to the airport until the last minute. When the van was late there was no one to ask what happened or what we should do. They came eventually but we didn't need the aggravation.


22 of 22 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 2
Value
 
2.0
Service
 
1.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Newton, Massachusetts
Age: 55-64
Travel: 7+ trips/year

November 27, 2012
AMAZING!

Positive- My girlfriend and I went there for our little monthly vacation and we were blown away by the service, comfort, amenities, and price. Trust me we are both flight attendants and see our fare share of hotels but this one was amazing. You know the saying, "you get what you pay for" this hotel goes beyond that. From the punctual pick up time from the airport to the check out time it was all an amazing experience. The rooms are very comfortable, big, clean, updated, and they leave cookies and soft drinks as well as beer in your fridge. The beach is beautiful from white sand to turquoise water. The food was pretty good, the buffet had a lot to choose from and the restaurants were really good. We ate at the steak restaurant and the seafood restaurant. I recommend those. Also, book your meal times for the restaurants as soon as you check in because they go by FAST! Another thing the hotel also has tours if you want to leave the hotel. We also did the spa, it was a little pricey but I can say it's the first time I have ever seen my girlfriend so relaxed. The staff is probably the best in my experience. From the beginning all they cared about was making your experience a memorable and enjoyable one. So to you, the reader, if you are looking at two hotels and you see that the Barcelo Palace Deluxe is a little more expensive. Pick it. I promise you you won't regret this one. If you are looking for a cheaper on the Barcelo Bavaro beach is connected to the deluxe. The great this hotel is that both hotels share the same amenities and are connected. Ok so negatives- When you check in it can get a little crowded and confusing especially with the language barrier. Relax and you'll be ok. Also if you don't want a bell man. Tell them no. They seem to want to do it and can feel pressured at times but just say no. Yes the drinks can be weak at times. Solution is drink more! Lol after all it is all inclusive. Also some bartenders if you tip well enough they will "hook you up!" Our flight cancelled and unfortunately had to stay at another barcelo hotel (Barcelo Dominican Beach and it was a nightmare. The rooms were old, dirty, broken, no hot water, broken a/c, and dirty beaches with a lot of people wanting to sell you stuff.) Could not in mind believe how those two hotels are OWNED BY THE SAME COMPANY. All you need to know. Barcelo Bavaro Palace Deluxe or Barcelo Bavaro Beach if tight on money. BOOK IT!


44 of 47 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Orlando, FL
Age: 25-34
Travel: 7+ trips/year

March 2, 2012
Beautiful views

My husband and I had a great vacation at Barcelo Bavaro Palace Deluxe. The resort was beautiful. There was so much to do, you will never get bored! The rooms were nice, with a jacuzzi on the balcony. The language barrier was a bit of a challenge if you don't speak Spanish. The locals are very nice and accommodating. You might have to ask a few times to make sure they understand exactly what you want or need but all in all it was a great trip. On the downside, the food was not good. It seems like the resort is trying to accommodate too many nationalities. We finally had a good meal at the French restaurant, La Comedie and also at the Mexican restaurant, Mexico Lindo. The pools are awesome and there is always room, not too crowded. The beach and ocean breathtaking. The water is amazing. It was an excellent vacation for the price! I would definitely recommend it :)

Beautiful views Beautiful views
18 of 18 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Bakersfield, CA
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

July 5, 2011
things you should know about this resort

It took two hours to check in - not what you want after traveling all day starting in the wee hours of the morning. We are still waiting for our welcome cocktail - that's how slow the service is! Rooms were nice - but the AC was pititful - could not get the room cool even with paddle fans running- difficult to sleep. Food was mediocre at best - even in the specialty restaurants, What is with being dressed up on vacation? Why would men have to wear long pants and no sandals - you are on a beach- totally wrong. None of the staff seemed to speak or understand the English language (except for management) which made it challenging to say the least. Beverage service at meals was extremely painful -getting a cup of coffee or a refill was like pulling teeth. There were no outdoor bars open at night that you could sit at to relax to the sounds, and enjoy the ocean breeze. Why would we want to be indoors - we're in the Caribbean. I guess the entertainment is good - all shows were in Spanish- so there was no point in going to them and they started at 10:00m pm. The 24 hour casino was a joke - a few slot machines (all in spanish) and 5 or 6 table games - and guess what - the same dress code for men as for dinner - long pants and no sandals. While the resort was beautiful and the grounds maintained, we would never go back here or recommend it to anyone. It was definitely not worth the price we paid. The one really nice feature was the swimming pools - they were awsome and extremely clean with plenty of lounge chairs.


35 of 37 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Nazareth, PA
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

May 28, 2012
Great Vacation

We really enjoyed Dominican Republic. After a long search, we booked this trip package at the Barcelo Bavaro Palace Deluxe. It is simply outstanding. There's no need to go anywhere else..the Hotel has everything..lots of restaurants, big pool, excellent beach, theater, casino, disco, lots of activities for kids (if you are taking them), golf, etc. We stayed in the Golf section of the hotel, which is newer than the complexes next to the beach. We loved it, as everything is new and modern. The beach is great..one of the best in the world. We took a day excursion to samoda island, and found a very similar beach and paid a lot of money to get there..my point is, the beach of this hotel is gorgeous..we even talked to other people at the airport who stayed in other hotels and mentioned their beach was really bad..so I guess we were lucky to go here. Pool: Great! very big and has a pool bar. One day was raining and we stayed at the beach all day..great! The hotel is great because you can also dine in the "a la carte" restaurants, which is also included as part of the all inclusive program. They are upscale restaurants serving 5-course dinners, which you must reserve before going. Simply outstanding service and food. Overall we were very happy during our 5 day stay. We highly recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to stay away from daily life stress and go to a paradise place that includes all amenities of a 5-star hotel and a beautiful beach.


21 of 22 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image
Top 500 Contributor
From: South Texas
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

December 26, 2012
Great Facility, not so great service

Good parts: Great facility. The resort is very beautiful, and the family room was awesome - we have two kids, and the family suite(two good-size bedrooms: one with king bed and the other with two double) worked out perfect. This is the best room we have had on family vacations, and the beds are very comfortable. The swimming pools are beautiful and well-maintained. The beach is long and beauitiful. There are all kinds of activities for different ages - casinos, game zone, water arobics, dance on the beach(with DJ), beach volyball, sailings, Disco, theatre etc. Great food: We love the buffet, and the restaurants. The food has a large variety of selections, and the quality is fantastic. All organic, and tastes great. We ate so much, but never felt uncomfortable as we would do in the US(with the additives, chemicals all that). Poor service: People can hardly speak English, and they appear to be not very friendly, but it may be the cutural thing. Slow at pouring water at the buffet- we did tip often, but it did not seem to help. Very few people walking around the resort asking you to drink. (We did have more of these in the Rivera Maya resort last year.) At check-in, the front desk asked whether we would like some drinks, and we clearly said "Yes", but never got any. :-( They don't take credit cards very well here at the shops. Most of the time they will tell you they want cash, otherwise they have to charge you a whopping 16% tax. Advise: pack your suncreen, as they will cost you a fortune there with the same brand. Avoid shopping(except gift) here will be good. One more thing: when we booked the package, we were promised a $1200 resort credit and I had the impression that I can use it as cash to shop on the resot. That is totally a scam. They are just cupons and you have to purchase things to use them, and I did not find anyone that was willing to take them. Overall, if you don't mind language barrier and are content with limited personal services. this is a great place to go for all-inclusive. It is the best Barcelo property we have been to. By the way, It is only 20 minutes ride from the airport.


45 of 52 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
1.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Washington, DC
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

January 22, 2013
Awesome!

We loved Barcelo Bavaro Palace Deluxe !! Our oceanfront room with jaccuzi was awesome ! The resort was very modern and had a unique decor. The beach was beautiful. There were plenty of lounge chairs available to sunbathe in. The pools, pool bar, spa, activites, etc were great. The staff was very nice and helpful. There was a signifiant language barrier and it took awhile to get them to understand what you were requesting; such as asking for a drink with a lemon, then you would receive a lime. If you ask for towels, the room service staff does not understand what you want, you need to go to their cleaning cart and actually show them what you need. When booking your reservation I would recommend the VIP package. It is so worth the extra minimal expense for the service you receive. You check in to the VIP area which has a lot of perks, snacks, desserts,drinks, priority dinner reservations, etc. I would say the only thing that needs improvement is the quality of the food. I think that they try to cater to too many nationalities and the food is definitely lacking. You are safe with fresh veggies and fruit when eating at the Buffet. There are numerous restaurants to choose from and the food is much better than the buffet. Be cautious if you bring kids because there are a lot of topless women sunbathing and walking on the beach. If you like to people watch the beach is the place to do it! Lots of speedos and fanny packs!! Funny sight for people visiting from the USA. Excellent vacation destination!

View from our room :) Punta Cana DR Feb 2011
22 of 24 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Bakersfield, CA
Age: 35-44
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

August 6, 2010
Lost 8 pounds. Food was NOT fit to eat

Rooms were great! All of the food was extremly BAD. I thought i could eat just about anything(but liver) I found out i could"t. Most of the resorts have something that is good NOT this one. My wife and i were amazed how bad it really was. The staff did not care if you tipped or not. Terrible service all the way from the top down..Save your money and stay away Barcelo Bravo Deluxe


21 of 23 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 1
Value
 
2.0
Service
 
1.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: parkersburg, WV
Age: 55-64
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

July 24, 2011
Great Deal

My wife and I have been travelling to Punta Cana for twenty years. This is the first time we travel with family for a reunion. We were totally satisfied with the new Deluxe. The Casino, the swimmimg pool and of course the beach; one of the best in the world.


9 of 9 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Miami, Florida
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year