All

Barcelo Bavaro Palace Deluxe Club Family Reviews

Caribbean | Dominican Republic - Punta Cana Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 44 Reviews
Value
 
3.8
Service
 
3.6
Beaches & Pools
 
4.4
Dining Options
 
3.4
Room Comfort
 
4.3
4 out of 5
"Great place for family on the family side. Workers are horribly slow. And getting your money's worth of alcohol lol. Even tip money in hand can't get you a drink" – 1mighty1
37 out of 47 (79%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Main Hotel Pool Beach front by the activities center We spent hours on the beach just relaxing. Room view The view from our balcony was breathtaking! Pool on 1 side & beach on other side Bavaro Beach

All Barcelo Bavaro Palace Deluxe Club Family Customer Reviews

1-10 of 44 reviews. Sort by
January 3, 2014
Great resort for relaxation

Made plans just a few weeks before the holidays so did not have high expectations. Was pleasantly surprised at beautiful modern resort with very good wide selection of food. Gorgeous beach and lovely architecture. Room very clean, sharp and spacious. Party if you want, relax and read if you want. Lovely staff- the Dominicans are the nicest people in the Caribbean.


43 of 43 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Philadelphia
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

February 25, 2014
Just returned

I have to say, the resort is very clean. It is also very big. We stayed in a family deluxe 2 bedroom room, and it was one of the nicest rooms we've ever stayed in on vacation. A definite plus. We had no problem getting a chair on the beach, but we would get up early to scope out a great spot, but there is no rush and plenty of chairs on the beach. The pool fills up quickly, but that was no problem for us, as we prefer the beach. WE LOVED the very long unspoiled portion of beach. Someday, I'm sure Barcelo will build this up, but for now, for us, it was like heaven strolling along it. This resort is very spread out, but very manageable. The downside for us, the food. The buffet was ok. Not great and probably of the other all inclusives we've been to, our least favorite. Service in the buffet for coffee and water was slow… The restaurants were great! Service was great at 2 of the 3 we tried. We didn't care for the service at the Italian restaurant, but LOVED our service at the Mexican and Japanese restaurants. In fact, we wish we could have gone back to the Japanese restaurant every night. It was that good. Gentlemen and boys must wear PANTS to dinner, the Cheap Caribbean sight only said no open toed shoes, so beware. My son had to buy pants to get in. And because of this, we weren't allowed to eat at the seafood restaurant on our first night. Not fun to be turned away. But, it is a very nice resort. The pool and grounds and rooms and whole resort are very clean. I think the staff, especially in the buffet should be more familiar with English. It was interesting to us to find people off resort that were natives spoke great English, yet on this resort, in server positions, not many did. made ordering a glass of wine tough at times. All in all, it's a solid 4 star rating. I think I learned a little about myself in that I appreciate a clean resort, but also like the friendliness and quaintness of a smaller resort, and one that is less commercial. This resort had some high end stores, that were appreciated, especially when we needed to buy pants… but I prefer having some local artisans brought in and liked the natural untouched aspects of the undeveloped beach.


23 of 23 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
2.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Michigan
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

June 10, 2014
Excellent Vacation, undoubtedly the BEST beach

Let me start by saying that this was our 5th trip to Punta Cana and the second time staying at the Barcelo Bavaro Resort. Definitely this new wonderfull experience erases the bad experience of the first time at the Barcelo Bavaro Resort in July 2009. We decided to come back simply because Barcelo Bavaro has undoubtedly the BEST beach in Punta Cana Check in: We didn’t have any issues at check-in, it was fast and the person checking us in was very helpful and informative. However, we had to wait about 1 hour because the room wasn’t ready. Not a big deal as we went to restaurant to eat. Room: We stayed at the Barcelo Bavaro Palace Deluxe Club Family in a Family Junior Suite Fantastic Room, comfortable beds and pillows. Plenty of space, Great Bathroom. Everything was Clean and plenty of toiletries. Clean Towels daily and excellent turndown service. Mini bar was replenished daily. Minor things to improve: There was no Wash Cloths towels available when we got in,however after leaving a friendly note and a couple of dollars to the maid, they provided wash cloths towels everyday. Our room had a wonderful ocean view. Food: The food at the buffet was good, nothing to brag about it. We always found things to eat from chicken, beef, pork to fish. side dishes were also plentiful so I have no complains there. However the staff service during breakfast and lunch at the buffet’s was mediocre. They all seem as they were in a bad mood and not glad that you were there. Food at the buffets in 2009 was a lot better, so i will say the quality of the buffet food has gone down. Specialty Restaurants: We ate at 4 different restaurants; Santa Fe Steak House, good food, great presentation and excellent service. Do not expect high quality of meats.. Italian restaurant La Dolce Vita: Very classic and elegant atmosphere, food was great (specially the cannelloni and the pork milanese dessert were excellent too. Excellent service, Highly recommend it… Spanish Restaurant La Fuente: Nice restaurant, Excellent food, Excellent service. Every thing we order was great. The Paella was excellent!! Seafood Restaurant El Coral: Great seafood, great presentation, excellent service, we sat at the terrace with the view of the ocean and the beach as our backdrop. Lovely meal. I recommend it. There are other restaurants but we didn’t visit them because there wasn’t enough time. Make your reservations as soon as you arrive. The Beach: Bavaro has the best beach, Tranquil crystalline blue water, fine white sand, no waves excellent for swimming and relaxing.It made the whole trip worth it for us. Plenty of beach chairs, shade is scarce. The Pools: Clean and crowded specially around the swin-up bar area. With that beautiful ocean really there was no need for us to get into the pool, however they were very inviting and big. Tip: if you prefer the quiet, the adults only pool by building 5 is very nice and it has a pool bar that is always empty and the service is excellent. Entertainment: As I compare this resort to others, it is lacking some, the animation team had barely any presence and what ever activities they had were not widely advertised, so unless you went looking for it, you wouldn’t know there was some day entertainment. The nightly entertainment at the Bavaro Theater was alright, they have a variety of daily shows and they could be entertaining if you get passed the audio problem of the theater and the lack of coordination of the dancers…The drink service during the shows is alright, the waitress bring you what you order however do not expect a big smile or excellent service once again that is lacking… The Spa looks very inviting and so is the Gym, however I didn’t have a chance to visit either one. The Casino and the Disco can be a lot of fun if that is your thing. I enjoying the Disco. Building 4 and 5 are closer to pool, restaurant, and lobby. Ideal if you don’t want to walk too much. Overall, this is a Great Hotel, the grounds are beautiful and it is a huge hotel so be ready to walk. I highly recommend this Hotel.

Main Hotel Pool Bavaro Beach
11 of 11 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Miami, FL
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

August 29, 2016
Nice, but could have been better!

First, let me say that when we first arrived the shuttle driver was awesome. When we arrived at the hotel and got to the check-in desk, the receptionist spoke zero English, so if you do not speak Spanish, this hotel will be a difficult one for you. It took about twenty minutes or so to check-in due to the language barrier. We asked about the discount package that Cheap Carribbian talked about on their website and they gave us a piece of paper that was photocopied with a 25%bdiscount on it and did not explain anything. Secondly, let me talk about the ridiculous so called waterpark, what a joke it was! It was made for kids under the age 7 years old and was a joke. They do have a pirate waterpark, but they only allow you to use it once at no charge, then they charge you a ridiculous $14 per person per day. The kids club was another disappointment, it is geared toward 5 year old and under. There are little to no activities for the kids older than 7. The laser tag was broken and closed, the mini golf was free during the day and in the evenings they charged for it. They had a arcade, but charged ridiculous prices to play. I.E. $12 for 8 tokens and every game cost 1 token. They even charged for the kids to play pool ($8 for 1 hour). It seemed like it was not an all inclusive resort, because you were paying for something the whole time. They charge for WI-FI unless you were spending money in the casino or paying for the pirate waterpark. You see where I am going with this I hope! If you want any service from the employees, you better be tipping, if not you would receive little to no service. The food was just okay, and my wife got sick off of the nasty wine. They had one type of beer that was included, the rest you had to pay for! At the formal dinners they would offer you their house wine which was awful. You could of course get a good wine starting at $60 a bottle! I would have to say we did go on an excursion, which was nice, but it cost us $352 to go. The beaches where the resort is located are not nice. We went on an excursion and was taken to the real Carribbian side of the island. There is no comparison between the two. I would have to say it's over priced for what you get!


10 of 10 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 1
Value
 
1.0
Service
 
1.0
Beaches & Pools
 
1.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
2.0
User Image
Top 500 Contributor
From: CA
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

February 27, 2014
Great trip for our family

Traveled in February 2014 with my wife and boys 11, 9 and 3. The weather was amazing. We stayed in the family deluxe suite. It was quite nice and spacious. The Barcy Pool was a lot of fun for the kids. It looks baby-ish online and initially in person but the slides are fast with lots of rushing water. All boys enjoyed it. The Waterpark was nice but smaller and less impressive than the pics. We got a free day there and went again free with the kid's club for an hour. The normal charge is $10/pp. The beaches, pools, buildings and grounds were gorgeous. It had a very luxorious feel. The buffets had a great selection. The restaurants were nice but the service was very, very slow. That would have been OK if not for a 3-year old. The older two boys and I went on the shark and stingray excursion. They loved it but the shark was a very sedate nurse shark. The stingray was de-stingered. The staff there worked very hard to get some great pictures. The going price for the pics was $60 but they came down to $40. We got about 30 pics on a CD. Bring lots and lots of $1 bill.s


7 of 7 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Hamburg, NY
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

April 27, 2015
Barcelo Bavaro Palace Deluxe-Punta Cana

Simply a fantastic trip from start to finish. In a million years I did not envision this trip matching our families trip to Atlantis last April but it surely did and then some. Room was great. Service was superior. Food and drink well exceeded our expectations from start to finish. My only critique relates to the children's program. Though it stated that the resort provided programming for children 5 to 12 years of age, it seemed better suited for children to perhaps age 8. A nice upgrade would be the inclusion of authentic engagement activities for 10-14 year olds. Our children, ages 10 and 11would have benefited from some form of organization with kids their age beyond casual meetings at the pool setting. The only challenges that existed related to air travel which was unrelated to Cheap Caribbean or the resort. That said, it was a fantastic resort in the eyes of our entire family.


5 of 5 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Kennebunk, Maine
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

March 30, 2016
Great Spring Break Week

I'm writing this review more to discount several negative comments that I've seen and also to provide any tips that may be helpful to other future guests. We did the Bavaro Palace Family Deluxe Club Family package and had the room layout that is actually two rooms separated by a foyer and bathroom. 1. The check in was easy with no delay. We arrived, received a nice welcome with drink and people to take our bags, and were ushered to the reception desk. We were checked in and on our way in less than 10 minutes. 2. While I checked in my wife went to the concierge desk to get our a la carte meal tickets. We made reservation about 2 weeks before our arrival and had 6:45 pm reservations all week. Others that we spoke with that didn't do this had much later times. With kids that may not work for you. 3. Room was great. Checked it for bugs upon arrival and found nothing. Everything worked and it was very clean. maid service came late morning every day and replenished the refrigerator and towels as needed. Turn down service only seemed to happen every other day. 4. Food - I can't say any particular restaurant wowed us, but the a la carte restaurants were a nice change of pace from the buffets. With 6:45 reservations we had no long waits and nothing wrong with our orders. I would grade them as follows - Italian (C+), Japanese (B+), Steakhouse (B+), Spanish (B-). Did not go to the seafood restaurant or the Mexican restaurant. We went to the Golf Course restaurant on Saturday night. Waited about 20 minutes for a table and everything went smooth from there. 5. Beach - Plenty of chairs, but do recommend getting out there in the early morning to save your spot with a towel. Seaweed was minimal and was just the 5-6" strands. Nothing that wraps around your legs. No bugs, no smell, just soft sand and warm sunshine. No bar service on the beach. 6. The pools - lots of pools and water parks to choose from. They seemed to be segregated between families, just adults, young adults, etc. Pools were clean and fun to play ball in with several groups and activities taking place at one time. Pools around the main building do have bar service, but your only about a 60 second walk from any bar anyway. No bugs here either. 7. Grounds - Exceptionally maintained. Workers were not intrusive. I recommend to take the train/shuttle around the grounds once just to see everything. The grounds are large, but everything is within walking distance. 8. Entertainment - the shows didn't start until 10 pm so we didn't make it to any of these. The sports bar was good for a quick snack in the afternoons and evenings. Bowling alley looked good, but we didn't try it. 9. Service - There is a language barrier, but with some patience we were able to communicate with everyone. Reception, bartenders, and servers speak decent English. Bell hops were tough to understand, but we figured it out. 10. Very relaxing week, even with all the families. Could find a place somewhere on the grounds that meets your needs. If it's to play, relax, swim, eat, drink, dance, golf, etc. - this place has it all.


8 of 12 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Arlington, VA
Age: 35-44
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

December 7, 2015
Not a 5 star resort - you'll need a segway

The resort is sprawling, it isn't that it is "big" but it is very man made and the layout is poorly designed. The resort centers around the buildings/rooms, each grouping of rooms is nested together with stores or other amenities. Since the design puts you a significant distance from the beach/food/pools. It becomes a problem to move around the resort areas for food, swim and shopping - if you need your room throughout the day and don't want to leave your personal items laying around in public. The kids club/babysitting was literally two people standing or sitting while the kids did whatever they wanted to each other. I would NOT recommend leaving a child under 8-10 a the Barcy Club. The food is so-so, not what I would have expected and far from five star quality. Most of the food was bland, the fruit was good. You should not be able to unscrew a saltshaker to find rust pouring out. The staff speak very little English and the majority of my interactions were difficult at best. If you sit down to eat, better ask for everything you need the first time because no waiter/waitress is going to come back after you have your beverages. I found the practices of the resort to be deceptive and didn't appreciate the gaslighting experience. I tried to buy the wireless internet and it didn't work, they didn't want to refund the money. I tried to go snorkeling and arranged to go earlier in the day (pre-paying), when I arrived to snorkel the water was choppy and they said they only snorkel 15 minutes from shore by catamaran. I have snorkeled quite a bit, for $30/hr. it would have been a waste of money. After much irritating "sales" pitching for me to not get a refund, about fifteen minutes later I finally got the money returned. The cleaning staff sometimes cleaned and sometimes didn't. Garbage bags would disappear. Birthday cake was never wiped from the counter. I watched as a staffer washed the coffee cups and water glass in the sink with water I was advised against drinking. The counters, floors, trays of cups/soaps were all dirty. We barely had any towels even after multiple requests, three people called and asked what we needed and we kept telling them - we still never had enough towels. There is no "reception" area for families. There is no "cereal"/breakfast option in the room. They have two spoons for coffee, breakable coffee cups and heavy glasses - no bowls, no real cereal to speak of (a tiny bag with about 1/8 cup of an unrecognizable substance in a well worn bag of bright colors. The room was interesting. It defies common sense that an upper balcony should be used for a master bedroom so that anyone in the upper or lower areas can hear every detail of anything echoing through the bi-level room. I had to listen to my father go to the bathroom, there were no lights that could be used in the upper or lower level that would let the other level sleep. If you are parents, you don't want the bi-level layout and if you have grandparents traveling along it is far worse! The maintenance of the room was poor. The shower overflowed outside the shower, the corners of the shower were rotting and rusting. The closet never stayed closed. There was no privacy for either shower area, the lower area was right at the entrance of the room and the upper also has no barrier. The doors to the outside balcony were difficult and you could easily be locked outside, since we were on the third floor that could be extremely bad. It was easily 1/4 mile from the room to the beachfront, my feet hurt and my child (3) was exhausted just walking to breakfast and back to change for swimming and sunscreen. There were too many disappointing things about this resort and although I never left the resort, I cannot see myself ever returning to the DR with the little I saw from the PUJ airport in transit.


8 of 13 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 2
Value
 
2.0
Service
 
2.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
1.0
User Image

From: Wisconsin
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

April 25, 2015
very nice VERY BIG.

Just home last night. Had a great time. The resort was HUGE but nice. We stayed in the Deluxe family suites and the room was nice but close to the water parks and golf (no ocean view) but nice to have separate rooms for adults and kids. Very happy but next time we will go closer to the ocean as the view and beach is AWESOME . Service was great but if you know basic Spanish you will be better off . The bars (especially the large pool bar) likes tips and believe me they earn them. The Steak house was great , the Mexican one not so much and the Japanese one was GREAT !! . We didn't do the others because we had no interest . The buffets are better than expected (seafood , numerous cheeses,fruits and veggies and carved ham or beef ... and that is for breakfast . The sports bar is pretty cool and open 24/7. There is something for everyone here (and the adult only section is far enough away if that is your thing.) Below the lobby is shopping area that goes on and on. The nightly shows are really good but all start at 10 pm , even the kids shows.The kids club is great . We travel a lot and go back here again.


2 of 2 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Maine
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

July 11, 2015
A slice of paradise!

Everything was just about perfect at this resort...so get ready for a slice of paradise! My kids & I just returned from our vacation a couple of days ago & we all had an AMAZING time! The pools are wonderful, huge & with great details like underwater lounge chairs, underwater bar, waterfalls, whirlpool, diving pool, little kids pool, etc. The beach will take your breath away, it had me saying, "This is paradise, I'm in paradise right now, wooooow." The restaurants were very good, so much to choose from & drink. I must of gained 5 pounds because I couldn't help but eat more than the usual. So make room to try Dominican foods, which you haven't tried yet, you will be sure to enjoy it. The specialty restaurants are with reservations only & have a dress code of casual, yet elegant (no shorts, men/boys: closed toe shoes, no sleeveless shirts). Make sure you make reservations the same or following day of your arrival for the desired specialty restaurants (they're for dinner only) because it's hard to get them. We dined in the Japanese restaurant (scrumptious, cool tricks) and ate FRIED ice cream! We also dined in the seafood restaurant (delicious, big salad/dessert bar)...lobsters, loooooobsters! All restaurants have beautiful decor & are very clean. Staff is very friendly. We stayed in the family DELUXE room, which was perfect (we were a family of 5). Kids room had balcony w/view of the kid's waterpark area, parents room had balcony w/jacuzzi & view of garden & golf course). Bathroom had 2 vanity sinks & big rain shower head, very spacious. Inroom safe is included & you create the password. Mini fridge stocked w/beer, soda, water, little juice boxes. We slept like royalty on those comfy beds. Ironically, we enjoyed the pools over the beach. The beach has a lot of seaweed washing up to the shoreline, which is constantly being cleaned up by staff. However, it's not like the US seaweed...it's like tiny branches almost, not slimy. Kayaking & paddle boats are included in the package. When dinning in the restaurant near the pool, ALWAYS be attentive to your plate because since the doors are always opening, flies may get on your plate. As far as the food on the buffets go, the main courses have lids, so flies do not go near there. Overall, loved the resort & Cheap Caribbean made the whole vacation process easy. Make sure to get the round trip transfers from the airport, it will save you a headache.

Pool on 1 side & beach on other side
2 of 2 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: NY
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year