All

Barcelo Bavaro Palace Deluxe Club Family Reviews

Caribbean | Dominican Republic - Punta Cana Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 49 Reviews
Value
 
3.8
Service
 
3.6
Beaches & Pools
 
4.3
Dining Options
 
3.4
Room Comfort
 
4.3
4 out of 5
"Great place for family on the family side. Workers are horribly slow. And getting your money's worth of alcohol lol. Even tip money in hand can't get you a drink" – 1mighty1
41 out of 52 (79%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Bavaro Beach Pool on 1 side & beach on other side Room view We spent hours on the beach just relaxing. Beach front by the activities center The view from our balcony was breathtaking! Main Hotel Pool

All Barcelo Bavaro Palace Deluxe Club Family Customer Reviews

1-10 of 49 reviews. Sort by
January 3, 2014
Great resort for relaxation

Made plans just a few weeks before the holidays so did not have high expectations. Was pleasantly surprised at beautiful modern resort with very good wide selection of food. Gorgeous beach and lovely architecture. Room very clean, sharp and spacious. Party if you want, relax and read if you want. Lovely staff- the Dominicans are the nicest people in the Caribbean.


43 of 43 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Philadelphia
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

February 25, 2014
Just returned

I have to say, the resort is very clean. It is also very big. We stayed in a family deluxe 2 bedroom room, and it was one of the nicest rooms we've ever stayed in on vacation. A definite plus. We had no problem getting a chair on the beach, but we would get up early to scope out a great spot, but there is no rush and plenty of chairs on the beach. The pool fills up quickly, but that was no problem for us, as we prefer the beach. WE LOVED the very long unspoiled portion of beach. Someday, I'm sure Barcelo will build this up, but for now, for us, it was like heaven strolling along it. This resort is very spread out, but very manageable. The downside for us, the food. The buffet was ok. Not great and probably of the other all inclusives we've been to, our least favorite. Service in the buffet for coffee and water was slow… The restaurants were great! Service was great at 2 of the 3 we tried. We didn't care for the service at the Italian restaurant, but LOVED our service at the Mexican and Japanese restaurants. In fact, we wish we could have gone back to the Japanese restaurant every night. It was that good. Gentlemen and boys must wear PANTS to dinner, the Cheap Caribbean sight only said no open toed shoes, so beware. My son had to buy pants to get in. And because of this, we weren't allowed to eat at the seafood restaurant on our first night. Not fun to be turned away. But, it is a very nice resort. The pool and grounds and rooms and whole resort are very clean. I think the staff, especially in the buffet should be more familiar with English. It was interesting to us to find people off resort that were natives spoke great English, yet on this resort, in server positions, not many did. made ordering a glass of wine tough at times. All in all, it's a solid 4 star rating. I think I learned a little about myself in that I appreciate a clean resort, but also like the friendliness and quaintness of a smaller resort, and one that is less commercial. This resort had some high end stores, that were appreciated, especially when we needed to buy pants… but I prefer having some local artisans brought in and liked the natural untouched aspects of the undeveloped beach.


26 of 26 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
2.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image
Top 1000 Contributor
From: Michigan
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

June 10, 2014
Excellent Vacation, undoubtedly the BEST beach

Let me start by saying that this was our 5th trip to Punta Cana and the second time staying at the Barcelo Bavaro Resort. Definitely this new wonderfull experience erases the bad experience of the first time at the Barcelo Bavaro Resort in July 2009. We decided to come back simply because Barcelo Bavaro has undoubtedly the BEST beach in Punta Cana Check in: We didn’t have any issues at check-in, it was fast and the person checking us in was very helpful and informative. However, we had to wait about 1 hour because the room wasn’t ready. Not a big deal as we went to restaurant to eat. Room: We stayed at the Barcelo Bavaro Palace Deluxe Club Family in a Family Junior Suite Fantastic Room, comfortable beds and pillows. Plenty of space, Great Bathroom. Everything was Clean and plenty of toiletries. Clean Towels daily and excellent turndown service. Mini bar was replenished daily. Minor things to improve: There was no Wash Cloths towels available when we got in,however after leaving a friendly note and a couple of dollars to the maid, they provided wash cloths towels everyday. Our room had a wonderful ocean view. Food: The food at the buffet was good, nothing to brag about it. We always found things to eat from chicken, beef, pork to fish. side dishes were also plentiful so I have no complains there. However the staff service during breakfast and lunch at the buffet’s was mediocre. They all seem as they were in a bad mood and not glad that you were there. Food at the buffets in 2009 was a lot better, so i will say the quality of the buffet food has gone down. Specialty Restaurants: We ate at 4 different restaurants; Santa Fe Steak House, good food, great presentation and excellent service. Do not expect high quality of meats.. Italian restaurant La Dolce Vita: Very classic and elegant atmosphere, food was great (specially the cannelloni and the pork milanese dessert were excellent too. Excellent service, Highly recommend it… Spanish Restaurant La Fuente: Nice restaurant, Excellent food, Excellent service. Every thing we order was great. The Paella was excellent!! Seafood Restaurant El Coral: Great seafood, great presentation, excellent service, we sat at the terrace with the view of the ocean and the beach as our backdrop. Lovely meal. I recommend it. There are other restaurants but we didn’t visit them because there wasn’t enough time. Make your reservations as soon as you arrive. The Beach: Bavaro has the best beach, Tranquil crystalline blue water, fine white sand, no waves excellent for swimming and relaxing.It made the whole trip worth it for us. Plenty of beach chairs, shade is scarce. The Pools: Clean and crowded specially around the swin-up bar area. With that beautiful ocean really there was no need for us to get into the pool, however they were very inviting and big. Tip: if you prefer the quiet, the adults only pool by building 5 is very nice and it has a pool bar that is always empty and the service is excellent. Entertainment: As I compare this resort to others, it is lacking some, the animation team had barely any presence and what ever activities they had were not widely advertised, so unless you went looking for it, you wouldn’t know there was some day entertainment. The nightly entertainment at the Bavaro Theater was alright, they have a variety of daily shows and they could be entertaining if you get passed the audio problem of the theater and the lack of coordination of the dancers…The drink service during the shows is alright, the waitress bring you what you order however do not expect a big smile or excellent service once again that is lacking… The Spa looks very inviting and so is the Gym, however I didn’t have a chance to visit either one. The Casino and the Disco can be a lot of fun if that is your thing. I enjoying the Disco. Building 4 and 5 are closer to pool, restaurant, and lobby. Ideal if you don’t want to walk too much. Overall, this is a Great Hotel, the grounds are beautiful and it is a huge hotel so be ready to walk. I highly recommend this Hotel.

Main Hotel Pool Bavaro Beach
11 of 11 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Miami, FL
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

August 29, 2016
Nice, but could have been better!

First, let me say that when we first arrived the shuttle driver was awesome. When we arrived at the hotel and got to the check-in desk, the receptionist spoke zero English, so if you do not speak Spanish, this hotel will be a difficult one for you. It took about twenty minutes or so to check-in due to the language barrier. We asked about the discount package that Cheap Carribbian talked about on their website and they gave us a piece of paper that was photocopied with a 25%bdiscount on it and did not explain anything. Secondly, let me talk about the ridiculous so called waterpark, what a joke it was! It was made for kids under the age 7 years old and was a joke. They do have a pirate waterpark, but they only allow you to use it once at no charge, then they charge you a ridiculous $14 per person per day. The kids club was another disappointment, it is geared toward 5 year old and under. There are little to no activities for the kids older than 7. The laser tag was broken and closed, the mini golf was free during the day and in the evenings they charged for it. They had a arcade, but charged ridiculous prices to play. I.E. $12 for 8 tokens and every game cost 1 token. They even charged for the kids to play pool ($8 for 1 hour). It seemed like it was not an all inclusive resort, because you were paying for something the whole time. They charge for WI-FI unless you were spending money in the casino or paying for the pirate waterpark. You see where I am going with this I hope! If you want any service from the employees, you better be tipping, if not you would receive little to no service. The food was just okay, and my wife got sick off of the nasty wine. They had one type of beer that was included, the rest you had to pay for! At the formal dinners they would offer you their house wine which was awful. You could of course get a good wine starting at $60 a bottle! I would have to say we did go on an excursion, which was nice, but it cost us $352 to go. The beaches where the resort is located are not nice. We went on an excursion and was taken to the real Carribbian side of the island. There is no comparison between the two. I would have to say it's over priced for what you get!


11 of 11 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 1
Value
 
1.0
Service
 
1.0
Beaches & Pools
 
1.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
2.0
User Image
Top 500 Contributor
From: CA
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

February 27, 2014
Great trip for our family

Traveled in February 2014 with my wife and boys 11, 9 and 3. The weather was amazing. We stayed in the family deluxe suite. It was quite nice and spacious. The Barcy Pool was a lot of fun for the kids. It looks baby-ish online and initially in person but the slides are fast with lots of rushing water. All boys enjoyed it. The Waterpark was nice but smaller and less impressive than the pics. We got a free day there and went again free with the kid's club for an hour. The normal charge is $10/pp. The beaches, pools, buildings and grounds were gorgeous. It had a very luxorious feel. The buffets had a great selection. The restaurants were nice but the service was very, very slow. That would have been OK if not for a 3-year old. The older two boys and I went on the shark and stingray excursion. They loved it but the shark was a very sedate nurse shark. The stingray was de-stingered. The staff there worked very hard to get some great pictures. The going price for the pics was $60 but they came down to $40. We got about 30 pics on a CD. Bring lots and lots of $1 bill.s


7 of 7 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Hamburg, NY
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

April 27, 2015
Barcelo Bavaro Palace Deluxe-Punta Cana

Simply a fantastic trip from start to finish. In a million years I did not envision this trip matching our families trip to Atlantis last April but it surely did and then some. Room was great. Service was superior. Food and drink well exceeded our expectations from start to finish. My only critique relates to the children's program. Though it stated that the resort provided programming for children 5 to 12 years of age, it seemed better suited for children to perhaps age 8. A nice upgrade would be the inclusion of authentic engagement activities for 10-14 year olds. Our children, ages 10 and 11would have benefited from some form of organization with kids their age beyond casual meetings at the pool setting. The only challenges that existed related to air travel which was unrelated to Cheap Caribbean or the resort. That said, it was a fantastic resort in the eyes of our entire family.


5 of 5 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Kennebunk, Maine
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

July 15, 2015
not the best

the check in experience was fairly efficient. Paying extra for the internet is ridiculous-only accommodates 1 device and service is sporadic. Internet cafe should be free. The rooms are nice but much smaller than pictured on the website. The "credits" you are offered do not apply to anything you want to do. Glad we read the reviews about making dinner reservations -that info would be helpful to put on the site- along with the fact that men must wear long pants and closed toe shoes. Making all of your reservations for the week on the first day takes the relaxed, carefree vacation feeling completely away. The food quality is ok but the service is poor. Men waiters are more attentive than women. There doesn't seem to be any organization with the wait staff and they appear to be running in circles most of the time- forget about getting refills on drinks, coffee, etc. The desserts are frozen petit fours which in most cases are served buffet style- ruins the fine dining experience. The service improves slightly if you speak spanish or attempt to. The spanish restaurant is spanish only in name -the food is not. The french restaurant was just awful from the food choices to the service. We had reservations for 9:15PM and still had to wait over 30 min before being seated. The buffet restaurants are a nightmare-service is awful- there is a wait for napkins, flatware, cups, etc. Finding a table is a challenge. There should be sit down options for breakfast and lunch and not just buffet. The food selection however is vast. There is no bar service on the beach- only at the pools which was a real bummer. chairs at the beach are plentiful but it is not pretty with all the seaweed. The workers make the best attempt to remove it daily but it is a fruitless effort. The maintenance and landscaping staff are by far the hardest working people at the resort. The grounds are beautiful and meticulously maintained. Room service is additional which is crazy for an all inclusive resort. at the bar do not order anything with more than 2 ingredients because you will just get whatever frozen slush is in the tank plus rum. The excursion choices are ok. Our daughters did the parasailing but felt it was rushed and not worth the $. Adventure land was good but it is also rushed and you have to pay for 6 events to get lunch for an all day excursion. I would highly recommend the flying boat- so worth the experience. Be prepared to be hustled while waiting and know that all the prices are negotiable, excursions, jewelry, photos, etc. be prepared to pay cash so you can avoid the 18% tax. Housekeeping of the room is ok- for us they did not arrive until after 5pm which was when we were returning to get reading for dinner so we did not have clean towels,etc. The shows for the most part are very good but are on the side of burlesque with lots of naked bums but this is the case at the pools and beach though too with the thong bathing suits. If you don't want your kids exposed to that then this is not the resort for you. There is only 1 nightclub choice and if you prefer most of your music to be latin then this is your hotspot. The casino is one large room with a few tables and some slot machines and a girl pole dancing in the center. Do not lose your cards for your towels-especially at check out or you will be charged 20$ each.


3 of 3 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
2.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
2.0
User Image

From: New Jersey
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

April 25, 2015
very nice VERY BIG.

Just home last night. Had a great time. The resort was HUGE but nice. We stayed in the Deluxe family suites and the room was nice but close to the water parks and golf (no ocean view) but nice to have separate rooms for adults and kids. Very happy but next time we will go closer to the ocean as the view and beach is AWESOME . Service was great but if you know basic Spanish you will be better off . The bars (especially the large pool bar) likes tips and believe me they earn them. The Steak house was great , the Mexican one not so much and the Japanese one was GREAT !! . We didn't do the others because we had no interest . The buffets are better than expected (seafood , numerous cheeses,fruits and veggies and carved ham or beef ... and that is for breakfast . The sports bar is pretty cool and open 24/7. There is something for everyone here (and the adult only section is far enough away if that is your thing.) Below the lobby is shopping area that goes on and on. The nightly shows are really good but all start at 10 pm , even the kids shows.The kids club is great . We travel a lot and go back here again.


2 of 2 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Maine
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

July 11, 2015
A slice of paradise!

Everything was just about perfect at this resort...so get ready for a slice of paradise! My kids & I just returned from our vacation a couple of days ago & we all had an AMAZING time! The pools are wonderful, huge & with great details like underwater lounge chairs, underwater bar, waterfalls, whirlpool, diving pool, little kids pool, etc. The beach will take your breath away, it had me saying, "This is paradise, I'm in paradise right now, wooooow." The restaurants were very good, so much to choose from & drink. I must of gained 5 pounds because I couldn't help but eat more than the usual. So make room to try Dominican foods, which you haven't tried yet, you will be sure to enjoy it. The specialty restaurants are with reservations only & have a dress code of casual, yet elegant (no shorts, men/boys: closed toe shoes, no sleeveless shirts). Make sure you make reservations the same or following day of your arrival for the desired specialty restaurants (they're for dinner only) because it's hard to get them. We dined in the Japanese restaurant (scrumptious, cool tricks) and ate FRIED ice cream! We also dined in the seafood restaurant (delicious, big salad/dessert bar)...lobsters, loooooobsters! All restaurants have beautiful decor & are very clean. Staff is very friendly. We stayed in the family DELUXE room, which was perfect (we were a family of 5). Kids room had balcony w/view of the kid's waterpark area, parents room had balcony w/jacuzzi & view of garden & golf course). Bathroom had 2 vanity sinks & big rain shower head, very spacious. Inroom safe is included & you create the password. Mini fridge stocked w/beer, soda, water, little juice boxes. We slept like royalty on those comfy beds. Ironically, we enjoyed the pools over the beach. The beach has a lot of seaweed washing up to the shoreline, which is constantly being cleaned up by staff. However, it's not like the US seaweed...it's like tiny branches almost, not slimy. Kayaking & paddle boats are included in the package. When dinning in the restaurant near the pool, ALWAYS be attentive to your plate because since the doors are always opening, flies may get on your plate. As far as the food on the buffets go, the main courses have lids, so flies do not go near there. Overall, loved the resort & Cheap Caribbean made the whole vacation process easy. Make sure to get the round trip transfers from the airport, it will save you a headache.

Pool on 1 side & beach on other side
2 of 2 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: NY
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

August 31, 2015
Nice Place

The rooms were up to date and clean. Love the shower and the king size bed. Overall it’s a great room. The staff are all friendly. The grounds are prefect. There are so many choices of food to meet anyone’s needs. I will go back.


2 of 2 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: N.Y.
Age: 55-64
Travel: 3-6 trips/year