All

Barcelo Bavaro Beach - Adults Only Resort Reviews

Caribbean | Dominican Republic - Punta Cana Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 344 Reviews
Value
 
4.2
Service
 
4.1
Beaches & Pools
 
4.6
Dining Options
 
3.9
Room Comfort
 
4.1
4.3 out of 5
"June is very very humid time of the year I think but overall the hotel, ppl, service, beach is really great!" – jennlee615
315 out of 381 (83%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
the pool Miramar at the Bavaro Palace had an excellent selection for breakfast. Food was phenomenal! Service. Incredible! the beach Beautiful beach : ) Beautiful clean beach Room View Poolside From our Standard Room Amazing pool!!! Postcard ready!!! Beach! View from room...this is considered Beach The pool poolside at the pool Poolside Dinner The landscape and facilities are so clean and well maintained. Must try!! Delicious!! Bavaro Beach Pool view Pool side adults only beach clean room Our fav spot! Coconut palms along Bavaro Beach Adults only beachfront Adults only pool

All Barcelo Bavaro Beach - Adults Only Resort Customer Reviews

1-10 of 344 reviews. Sort by
May 1, 2011
be careful

If you are going for a great beach, this resort is located on the best part of Bavaro beach. (I walked the entire beach - it is the nicest part!) If you are going for luxury, the food and the rooms leave something to be desired. Although I upgraded from the standard room to superior, when I questioned our room,I was told all of the rooms were superior, so why did I pay extra for the upgrade? The names are also very confusing, so be careful you are booking where you want to be. We booked (as the top states - Barcelo Bavaro Palace.) We ended up at the Barcelo Bavaro Convention Center. The other place is Barcelo Bavaro Palace Deluxe. I questioned this, but was told I was in the right place. The Palace Deluxe is where you want to be with kids or if you like a lot of action. I did not push the issue because the convention center (all adult) and very quiet was what we preferred, but I'm still not sure we didn't pay for one place and end up in the other. The Palace Deluxe is more glamoroius and newer. The rooms in the convention center were as pictured; however, I did not anticipate a room on ground level garden view when I upgraded. There is a wide variety of food; however, I was not particularly fond of the idea that you are limited to one night per restuarant, must make reservations, and there were many restaurants at the Palace we could not access. Even the Japanese restaurant (part of our package) was full for our entire stay, so we could not go there. Choices in the restaurants are limited to about 5-7 entrees. The chicken and steak were the safest choices. The lobster thermidor was the driest lobster I've ever eaten. The scallops au gratin at the fish restaurant would not even be considered an appetizer (four large shells sporting four finger-nail size scallops. Service ranges from those being phenominally helpful to many who did not understand English and offered little. This is not your place if you expect to be treated like royalty. Service by Cheap Carribbean is outstanding! Before leaving all calls were answered prompty and the staff was extremely helpful! Likewise, our contact on the Dominican was always available and within minutes had a response to our needs. I would definitely recommend booking with Cheap Carribbean! For an on line company, they went beyond my expectations. We had a great time because the weather and the beach were fantastic! The room and the food were okay (we didn't starve by any means). Just be careful that you are booking the right place and getting all that you paid for.


110 of 115 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
2.0
User Image

From: connecticut
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

October 24, 2015
Ultimate Beach Paradise!!!!!

Hubby and I just returned yesterday from 6 nights/7 days as an anniversary/belated honeymoon trip and couldn't be more pleased with the entire experience! So much so that we are already excited to plan our next visit as a group with other couples. The beach itself is absolutely beautiful and the impeccably maintained grounds only add to the "awe" factor. I highly recommend the Club Premium upgrade due to the additional option of unlimited access to the "sister" resort next door (Palace Deluxe) as well as the absolutely incredible concierge services offered with this upgrade. Even though we had full access to all of the specialty restaurants at both resorts, we were quite content the majority of the time to eat breakfast and lunch at the buffets due to the variety and quality. The local fresh fruit and juices that were offered 24 hours a day were at a quality level that simply cannot be found anywhere else, and when combined with omelet stations, crepe stations, meat carving boards, seafood grilling stations and a plethera of addtional international cuisine, there really is no need to look for any other options especially when you're partaking in langostino and mimosas every day! =) We did reserve dinner at a few of the specialty restaurants and they were all enjoyable experiences. Chez Gourmet is one of the more formal atmospheres, but the food and service matched the atmosphere and aside from most of the dessert options being somewhat gelatinous and the dinner portions being a little small, we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. Kyoto has quite an exciting atmosphere with couples /families being seated at the next hibachi table that is available until it is full.....great opportunity to make new friends while enjoying the interactive chef's show on the cooktop (our cheeks were hurting from laughing) and if you tip the wait staff a buck or 2 after the first water and/or cocktail refill then your drinks will never get below half full without being refilled. The "starter" portions are small but incredibly yummy, and the dinner portions are quite large. Santa Fe Steakhouse was a bit of hustle and bustle, but not unusual for a traditional steakhouse. Soup, entrees and drinks are ordered from wait staff and salad, appetizers, breads, desserts etc are buffet style with a GREAT variety! If you're a wine drinker like I am then it's well worth it to spend the money to purchase a bottle from the SUBSTANTIAL wine menu at any of the restaurants as opposed to trying to drink the "house" wine (vinegar water) that is included at no additional charge. If you want to purchase souvenirs, go to the local shops on the beach at the west end of the adult only side, and you can also get better deals on the party boat and snorkeling excursions and they'll remember you and treat you right every time you return. We did, however, parasail with SeaPro Divers because we had booked online a week prior to our trip and they were absolutely AMAZING to deal with......ask for Marcos! Pretty much any water activity that you could possibly want is available right on the beach and due to the fact that it's essentially a lagoon with no water break close by, it's even reasonable to enjoy the kayaking and peddle boats! There is definitely more night time activity on the Palace Deluxe side, especially with the night club and casino being available, but the Adult Only has much more of the authentic Caribbean feel that we were looking for, and reserving a Club Premium room gave us the option to be more adventurous with the additional amenities at Palace Deluxe when we chose to, so it was the best of BOTH worlds! The customer service throughout the entire complex was what really impressed us. The employees and locals are just so happy and positive and want to do anything and everything that they can to ensure that you get the most out of your vacation and it's incredibly refreshing and inspiring! Take plenty of $1's and $5's for tipping because they TRULY earn it AND appreciate it! From what we saw, essentially EVERY room in the Adult Only complex has some version of an ocean view, but the rooms that are designated as Ocean Front have full views and are not as close to the noise from the pool, evening entertainment pavilion, bar etc. There are also five 2- room suites on the premises with double ocean front balconies, 2 bathrooms, full closets, 2 mini bars, CA King size beds, and a second smaller corner balcony with a hot tub and ocean views as well! I would highly recommend room 4079 that we were in due to the fact that it's the only one of the 5 suites that the hot tub balcony is actually private and not viewable by any other rooms on the resort! LOL


30 of 30 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image
Top 1000 Contributor
From: Tucson, Arizona
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

March 8, 2016
Perfect Destination!

We had a party of 6 for my sister's bachelorette party in Punta Cana at the Adults Only Bavaro Beach Resort. We had never been to the Caribbean before, but this was a great first experience and we would love to go back. The AmStar group was easy to spot and great to work with. The informative meeting on the first morning of your arrival is very helpful. We did not understand how things were charged to our room and what the $1,000 in credits and 25% discount meant. It means that you can get up to $1,000 off in 25% discounts. It wasn't a balance for your food and drink. You are only charged if you went to two of the restaurants that weren't on the list or ordered a bottle of wine with your dinner. We made reservations for three nights at a restaurant, and we were easily accommodated. We left the other days out to see if there were recommendations from other travelers. (Skip the Coral Seafood restaurant, go to the Spanish La Fuente and the Santa Fe Steakhouse.) The Mexican restaurant was pretty good too. La Fuente had the best service; The Hoyo (the restaurant on the golf course side) had the worst service and worst breakfast. I can not say for dinner as we never ate dinner there. Many said it was great, but we didn't witness any of this by the breakfast service. Juanito in the guest services building was incredibly helpful! He answered all of our questions and made our reservations. The attention paid to shuttle and pick up for the airport was also greatly appreciated. They had a list with all of our flight information and what time they would be there to get us to the airport on time. (It may leave just a shade before they say, so get there about 15-20 minutes before they recommend.) I don't think I'll ever go on a vacation again that isn't all inclusive. I spent $60 while I was there for 4 nights and 5 days. It is an incredible bargain. The rooms were clean, large, and very functional. I recommend a first floor room, as you have lounge chairs into a beautiful courtyard of sorts. It was so nice to have an a assortment of sodas, juices, water, snacks and beer in your room! The safes were very easy to use. Our air conditioner was not as powerful as the one in my mother's room, but it was better than outside. Just keep the door closed into the bathroom area to maximize the ac in your sleeping area. The rooms had robes, slippers, every toiletry item you could need, and a scale to weigh your luggage! Ours did not work, but the one in my sister's room did. Don't over pack. Take copious amounts of sunscreen and reapply every time you pop out of the water. Applying 50spf cream twice a day with spray touch ups of 30-50spf during the day, I still burned a little bit as I am very pale. I got a spray tan before I left to help and I am glad I did. Take very dark sunglasses. My eyes watered like crazy every time I was in the water from the glare. Next time, I will take a dark, chrome-finished pair of sunglasses.


17 of 17 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image
Top 1000 Contributor
From: Ohio
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

December 6, 2012
Want an easy get away? Look no further!

This is my first all-inclusive hotel. And I would have to admit that it was definitely the perfect getaway with all the other necessary fringes. My room was not earth-shattering. But, I didn't expect it to be since the majority of my time was not meant to be spent inside. The beauty of this resort is outdoors -- the quiet, serene pool on the Adult Only side; or the activity of the staff on the beach. Guests of the BBB are allowed to use the facilities and amenities of the Palace Deluxe side as well. The activities there are non-stop throughout the afternoon hours: Water Volleyball, Volleyball, Beach Paddle tennis,Water Polo, Dance Lessons, Exercise hour, and guest interactive games abound. Of course, the winner of the games is awarded a bottle of Dominican rum. So, you would be foolish not to participate. Enjoy the shuffleboard, lifesize chess game, pool tables, ping pong tables, and more. You can never be bored! There are several pools and plenty of surrounding chairs for all guests to enjoy. The poolside pergolas offer a respite from the hot, morning and afternoon sun. And the location of the bars is ideal to grab an all-inclusive beverage. The hotel nightclub, which opens at 11pm nightly, was HUGE, and afforded dancing while the gigantic movie-style screen streamed music videos until 3a. The casino is somewhat small. But, it has all of the basics from slot machines to roulette, black jack tables, and dancing ladies. I felt safe on the resort, as I am a female and traveled alone for this last minute vacation. The other guests visiting the resort were so nice that it was easy to meet strangers and make instant friendships. There's not much to do outside of the resort at night unless you want to venture to the few local bars (by taxi). "Imagine", the cave bar, is worth the $20 admission, which includes one drink. The Open Bar package $40 allows you to wait in an obnoxious mass amongst other thirsty people in order to get your beverage. So, I'm not so sure that it is worth the aggravation. It is best to get there around midnight, and is open until 4a during the week. 6a on weekends. Saturday is their busiest day, otherwise, they close off the other sections of the cave. Mangu (about 30 min away) is laden with "friendly women" So, if you are a male, you will be a constant target for "services". So, make sure that you travel with other females to avoid the hassel All of the hotel restaurants are not included in the package; so depending upon which side (BBB vs. Palace Deluxe) you booked your room, determined if any additional costs were needed for the Japanese or French restaurants. And nightly reservations were needed for the individual restaurants; otherwise, buffets were always the other option. Of course, if you wanted to enjoy the buffet, or the late night sport's bar buffet, you should get there fairly early as the food tends to sit for a long time if you do not plan it during peak times. The are trains that will take you around the resort to avoid the walk. They frequent every 15 minutes or so and circle around to each hotel, to the casino, to the remote golf area rooms, etc... A round trip will take approx 30 minutes, so make sure that you catch the train in the appropriate direction, otherwise, you will be committed to the full ride around the resort. The walk from one resort to the other is only 7-10 minutes. So, if you don't mind walking, I would advise this convenience. There is an awesome area/pool for kids to play, as that area is full of water slides, wave pools, and other water activities. Since I traveled alone, I really didn't venture here so I'm sure that there is more to do then what I described. But, from walking past the family pool, it looked like fun. The golf course appeared well manicured, as the resort gets irrigated nightly to maintain it's lush green color. I was impressed by the landscaping crew who meticulously cleaned, raked, and gathered palm tree debris on a daily basis to keep the beaches and grounds beautiful. There is night-time entertainment scheduled for each hotel that ranges from Karaoke night, to Dominican Dancing, to Theater performances, to orchestra and night club singers. Both start around 9p or so. All of the staff were very friendly. And the bartenders throughout both resorts made excellent drinks. I had no complaints!! But, it seemed as though the night shift staff was not as informed as the day shift staff. So, definitely save your questions for the day-time folks. Overall, this was a great get-away. Well worth the value of an all-inclusive resort. If you can afford the upgrade to a Junior Suite, then I would recommend the extra luxury of a modern room with amenities of room service and an outdoor jacuzzi on the balcony. Otherwise, the standard rooms were just fine. I stayed on the BBB side and noticed that the housekeeping staff are beyond noisy when they begin their day at 8:30a. And the way that the rooms are configured, in a "U" shape, allows talking and heel/flip-flop noises to echo and magnify. So, hopefully, you are an early riser. Otherwise, don't plan to sleep in while you are here. Plan to take an afternoon nap on the beach!


51 of 58 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
2.0
User Image

From: Chicago
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

January 10, 2013
Young 55

Great travel service. I only wish I had a direct flight from Boston to Punta Cana. Never again 1 stop or more conections. It can be a long day of traveling. Resort was beautiful. Food to die for !!!!! Beach clean and always orginized for the next day. I felt very special. Bring a lot of singles for tips. Everybody loves you if you leave few dollars for a drink !!!! Im going back in March for a week again. Dont take too much clothes ! You dont need a warm clothes. Weather was BEAUTIFUL every day !!!! See you there !!!


19 of 20 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Cape Cod Ma
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

October 23, 2016
Everything was perfect except......

Everything was perfect. The Service excellent, the beach was picture perfect and the resort just beautiful. The food was ok. make sure to get those reservations in early, you will want them. The Resort will go out of its way to try to make you happy. I would totally recommend this to my friends and family except..... my wife and I got horrible stomach infections from the buffet. Its been 6 days since we got home we still are taking antibiotics and cant be away from a bathroom for more than an hour or 2. Also the pain.... I have been fighting stomach pains the whole time. I wish the stomach issue never happened but it has really left a bad impression on me.


12 of 12 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Youngstown, Ohio
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

December 8, 2015
Horrible Vacation

The Barcelona Bavaro Beach (Adults Only) was a dump. The customer service was unprofessional and made no efforts to truly make this a positive and memorable vacation. We lost power for four hours on our first night and asked for a percentage off our spa treatments for restoration. The management went to great lengths to try and not give us anything (we were a group of 15) for our inconvenience. The tub in the bathroom drained poorly so the water pooled around our feet (disgusting). The entertainment at the adult portion of the resort was abismal. The entertainers looked as if the show was put together minutes before showtime. A member of the party was injured during the vacation and told that the clinic services would be an additional cost. Having to pay extra to access restaurants at an all-inclusive resort does not make it all-inclusive. Finally, there was no accommodation to check in for flights without purchasing an Internet card. On the slightly brighter side, the Caribe restaurant had the best food at the resort. The housekeeping staff was friendly and willing to get whatever supplies were needed by the guests. The island is gorgeous and there are great views from the resort. Overall, I would not recommend this to any friend who I want to enjoy their vacation and the hotel where they are staying.


23 of 25 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 1
Value
 
1.0
Service
 
1.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
2.0
User Image

From: Maryland
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

June 11, 2013
Good Value

My boyfriend and I traveled to this resort for five nights during the first week in June. It was my first trip to the Caribbean and each of our first all-inclusive experience. I did a fair amount of research and got a positive word-of-mouth recommendation before booking Bavaro Beach with Cheap Caribbean (with whom I had a really great experience). Food: We were not expecting the food to be the highlight of our trip; it was not. With the exception of Coral restaurant though, the food was fine. We ate at Coral the first night and it was BAD (ambiance & meal). The second night we ate at Chez Gourmet and were pleasantly surprised. Being afraid of a second experience like the one at Coral, we cancelled our reservation at the Mexican restaurant and ate Chez Gourmet again. Based on reports from other guests we spoke with, that was a mistake. By all accounts the Mexican restaurant was good. We heard negative things about Santa Fe. On our last night we ate at the Japanese restaurant & had a great time. We didn't know until our last night about the cigar, coffee, & rum bar upstairs on the Palace side. It was a gem that we wish we'd found earlier. I had an upset stomach the last few nights, but my boyfriend had no such issues. I would suggest sticking to foods you know are fresh or that would be ok sitting out for a bit (think made-to-order eggs, pasta, veggies & fruits). Service: In general the staff was very friendly and helpful. The front-desk and guest services staff is all multi-lingual. Not all of the servers, housekeeping, or maintenance staffs are- but little Spanish is required for a polite interaction (I got by with a smile & “Hola”). All of the a la carte restaurants had servers proficient in English. Rooms: We arrived at noon and were mistakenly dropped off on the Palace side. A porter drove us directly to the Beach side where we were greeted with a drink and checked in. Our room, however, was not available until 3:00pm at which time we did have to wait in line to get our key. Our request for an ocean view was accommodated (it seemed to be a slow week so there may have been more availability). The bathroom could use updates, but the room was kept spotless. The bed was comfy, water pressure was good, and there were a good handful of English channels on the TV (they're high numbers). The staff made extra efforts to stock the mini-fridge with what they noticed we liked. The toilet clogged once the 2nd day we were there, but it was fixed immediately and the problem did not repeat itself. Regarding security, we had no issues. I bought small luggage locks after reading some of the reviews that noted theft. One afternoon my boyfriend forgot the close the sliding glass door to our first floor room before joining me at the pool. When we came back the door was wide open, and nothing was out of place. I killed two small bugs in the room one night (after the door was left open), but that was it for what I saw of bugs. Excursions: Avoid the excursions run by the hotel. They are overpriced. Head down the beach to where the local vendors have their stands. They are super aggressive, but you can get much better deals. We met an ex-patriot Canadian named Greg, but he told us that he goes by "El Gringo". We had a better time for less than 1/2 the price for an excursion similar to one we booked through the hotel. Orlando our excursion guide was fantastic & so were the rest of the crew. Best deal on the Island! Overall we had a great time. The pool and beach were gorgeous, the grounds were beautiful, our room was comfortable, and the staff was lovely. The food was not great, but we were never hungry. The adult only atmosphere was priceless. We had a fabulous time for not a lot of money.


17 of 18 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Jersey City, NJ
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

November 1, 2015
Loved our trip to Bavaro Beach

We've been to Caribbean many times but this was 1st time in Dominican Republic. My wife and I were impressed with everything; the beauty of the countryside, the friendly and equally beautiful people, the great beaches at our resort (the seaweed that washes up constantly is a nuisance but small price to pay for that greatness), the pools on the Bavaro Beach property were spotless, the variety of eating options exceeded expectations, etc., etc. Lots of positives to add here. If you're considering this property, you won't go wrong for its overall value and comfort. :)

Coconut palms along Bavaro Beach
10 of 10 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Chicago, IL
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

January 12, 2016
Outstanding Service and Resort

This was a long deserved vacation/anniversary. Both the pre-trip service and the onsite service provided by Cheap Caribbean were fantastic. Everything and I mean everything went off as expected and planned. As for the resort, the service was good to great. We would definitely go back. If you go on vacation looking for things to complain about, you will find them. The rooms were comfortable and clean, we upgraded to on ocean front room in advance and got one at check in. The view was great and worth the upgrade. If you book a an all inclusive vacation like this one, picture a really nice cruise ship that does not move and has a great beach. Go in with that expectation and you will be blown away. If you are are thinking the Ritz, well, book the Ritz. Already planning our return trip with Cheap Caribbean and back to Barcelo Bavaro Beach (Adults-Only) for next year!

Poolside
10 of 10 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: NH
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year