All

Barcelo Aruba Reviews

Caribbean | Aruba Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 23 Reviews
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.1
Beaches & Pools
 
4.6
Dining Options
 
3.7
Room Comfort
 
4.2
4.2 out of 5
"The Aruba Barcelo Hotel was Nice very friendly service the pool was small but nice a few of the female cooks very were not nice, But over all I did enjoy my stay. And will be returning soon." – Judy0503
17 out of 24 (71%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.

All Barcelo Aruba Customer Reviews

1-10 of 23 reviews. Sort by
February 26, 2017
My Dream Vacation

I had never been to Aruba until last week (Feb.19-25), but had always dreamed of staying at an all inclusive resort on an island where I could swim, enjoy the sun, relax, and feel safe all at the same time. I found this at the Barcelo Aruba resort. We enjoyed our room which was always clean every day (and has a stocked refrigerator with complimentary drinks!) and the pool with the swim up bar along with the option to enjoy the cool breezes under the many straw huts located along the white sand ocean beach....it was just what I had always envisioned as being my Dream Vacation! There area all kinds of activities for all age levels (if you go, check out their daily newsletters) and the people there are SO kind and helpful. Be sure to take plenty of sunscreen...like 2-3 bottles. The sun is VERY intense (you are close to the equator) and you can burn very quickly. They do offer complimentary blue mats so you can float in the water in the ocean! There are many water sports also available near the resort. Take some chair clips, too, and a beach towel (even though Barcelo offers complimentary towels) to reserve your spot EARLY in the day wherever you'd like to sit and enjoy the beautiful views/weather! Also, take your insulated mugs with you...the wonderful staff will fill them up with your favorite drink. The main restaurant that offers buffet meals 3x a day has a great variety of food for all appetites.There are also a few specialty restaurants..our favorite was the Japanese restaurant where the food/service/peaceful setting was amazing! You need to make reservations as soon as you arrive to secure a table..especially if you're there for only a week. We also planned a jeep trip and was able to tour some of the rest of the island...if you get a chance, check out Baby Beach ...on the opposite end of the island from Barcelo (absolutely breathtaking!) and rent some snorkeling equipment. This will be a highlight of your trip! All we can say is that we can't wait to return to the Barcelo in Aruba!..Great memories/wonderful people/terrific sun and fun in the water!!


6 of 6 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Bartlett, IL
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

April 3, 2017
Not going back; avoid this place

This resort is not worth it. We've been to many all-inclusive resorts and this one was by far the worst. I'd honestly recommend CheapCaribbean remove this resort as an option. FYI, the name of it used to be Occidental. Issues/negatives: 1) Found fecal matter in our bed when we got to the room after checking in. Unacceptable. 2) There was hair all over the room from the cleaning people. Cleaning staff should seriously wear hair nets. I had to pick up dozens and dozens of long black hairs (not mine nor my wife's hair is black) just so we could feel free to walk around, use the shower etc. 3) The shower did not drain and we constantly had to turn off the water so it wouldn't overflow. 4) Our TV barely worked. 5) The towels were cheap and shed everywhere. 6) The main restaurant played the same song nonstop. Literally the song didn't change the entire time we were there. I'm sure many people don't notice but how hard is it to have a few songs on a playlist? 7) We were promised champagne in our room and had to follow up about 6 times and wait in the lobby before someone finally brought some to our room (hours later) 8) The bars were constantly running out of things. For example, one day they were completely out of beer and tequila for most of the day. It is an all-inclusive resort. The least they can do is have enough alcohol (and food). Oh and they only have 1 beer to offer in general which isn't even a local one. 9) The food in general was mediocre and didn't change that much from day-to-day. 10) Most of the guest room doors don't have "do not disturb" signs. If you're in the room, you have to double lock everything so they don't come in. 11) My wife was walked in on by housekeeping because they said we had called housekeeping. We didn't; they went to the wrong room. 12) They mention they have "live music" which for most of our stay meant 1 guy singing into a mic with recorded music accompaniment. 13) In general, the staff was rude and service was not very good 14) We were told they (Barcelo management) were inquiring about getting us some kind of refund. Never heard back about it of course. The positives: 1) The manager gave us an upgraded room due to the issues (and champagne/chocolate, even though it is all-inclusive anyway) 2) Resort is near many other hotels/shops/restaurants within walking distance 3) We felt safe and there were enough security guards around 4) Hibachi grill was good (just make a reservation in as far advance as you can) Overall: If you're there to party and don't really care about cleanliness, food quality, and service then I'm sure it is fine (other than the limited alcohol options). Otherwise, avoid this place.


12 of 14 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 2
Value
 
2.0
Service
 
1.0
Beaches & Pools
 
2.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
1.0
User Image

From: Durham, NC
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

February 21, 2017
Barcelo Aruba review

Barcelo was a nice all inclusive with great service. The only complaint that my husband and I had would be the room. We thought we were getting a king sized bed with a pool view but when we checked in we actually where given 2 double beds and a view of the back parking lot. When I asked the front desk about this they said the bed and view are not garenteed if you book online. This was a little upsetting because this was our honeymoon vacation. We where put on a cancellation list but were told that it was slim chances because there was a 52 room family coming in the next day. For the inconvenience we were give 2 wifi passwords which I also thought was included but I guess not. The passwords worked in the lobby and in our room so that was nice. The food was ok but we contemplated going to other restaurants outside the resort but never ended up doing so because we figured why go pay money somewhere else when it is included there. We liked that because we booked with cheap Caribbean we got a $100 discount on our excursions, which were pretty fun. It was a fun vacation besides that and we will definitely will be returning to Aruba but maybe not staying with Barcelo but another all inclusive there.


2 of 2 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Massachusetts
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

April 7, 2017
Aruba is Great

The trip was great and the beaches, scenery, attractions, food, people and service was great. All inclusive trips are the only way to go to Aruba. The submarine ride, catamaran and full day bus tour were very good. Also, taxis are inexpensive


2 of 2 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Port Orange, FL
Age: Over 65
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

January 19, 2017
First time trip to Aruba!

This was our first trip to Aruba and our overall opinion of the Barcelo hotel was very good. It is not a large hotel but it was definitely neat & clean. It does not have a casino in the hotel but that did not bother us. The service we received was exceptional! We enjoyed the Italian restaurant and the Japanese restaurant. We enjoyed walking on the beach every morning and of course water aerobics in the afternoon. We would recommend this hotel to our friends.

First time trip to Aruba!
2 of 3 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: New Jersey
Age: 55-64

February 9, 2017
Awesome trip

My only complaint was there were free amenities that we were not made aware of and found out the last day


1 of 1 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Long Island new york
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

March 24, 2017
Not the best. Not the worst. Very pretty!

So my trip started off poorly as my luggage was lost. When my boyfriend and I went to check in I explained this to them because they would be receiving my bag the next day. I asked if they had any toothpaste as mine wouldn't be here and they directed me to the shop. Not exactly what I had wanted. The desk didn't seem to care much. We are told to go to the reservations desk to make dinner reservations. We were unable to do hibachi because you must call or email at least a week ahead of time to get the reservation. No worries. We decided on the Japanese restaurant and the seafood place. When you only stay 4 nights you can only book two dinners and must eat buffet for the others. The guy at guest services said to try to go to the restaurant and see if anyone cancelled. We went up to our room and it was clean and a decent size for two people. We went down to the pool and it is really pretty. There are iguanas everywhere which is awesome. We went to the bar and had drinks and relaxed. The pool and hot tubs are clean and the bartenders were friendly. We tried to go to a restaurant later and they were booked until 930pm. We ate at the palm buffet and it was edible. The bar in the lobby makes much stronger drinks than the pool bar. The next day we had an excursion in the morning and ate at the arubian pool buffet for lunch. This was much better than the palm. We ate here again later in the trip. I wouldn't recommend booking excursions through Barcelo. Their trips aren't as good as some of the other ones. Definitely do the UTV/ATV tour from someone else so you can go to the natural pool. It's the best part of the trip. The worst part of the hotel was that our door broke twice. Our keys wouldn't work and when I went down to the desk she said the battery in the door died and it happens all the time. Security would come up and fix it. The whole ordeal took over 25 minutes and no one seemed to bat an eyelash. When I asked why it happens all the time they said it just does and laughed. They also have an issue with keys getting deactivated often. We saw a few couples waiting outside their rooms for security to reprogram the door. The staff just didn't seem to care that it was an inconvience. Also when we were at one of the restaurants you needed to make reservations for there was no one there. They were empty!!! They could have sat so many more people. It seemed like they didn't want to accommodate guests in this manor though. The Aruban seafood was okay but the Japanese place was good. Overall the cost was cheap and the resort was pretty. The staff could have been friendly and accommodating. They shouldn't be okay inconviencing others. Aruba is a beautiful place no matter where you stay and the hotel should try to be more customer service oriented. The newly renovated casino is very small. We went elsewhere. Multiple cab drivers told us since it become the barcelo it has gone downhill. We won't be staying at a barcelo again.


1 of 1 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
2.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Ny
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

May 11, 2017
Amazing Resort

Everything about this resort was amazing, the food, the drinks, the staff and the hospitality. My girls and I had a wonderful 6 days in Aruba full of energy and excitement. Will definitely be returning to this resort in the near future. The only thing I would say it was very bad was the WiFi. We only had free WiFi for an hour while being in the lobby. We had to purchase WiFi for the days we were staying. The front desk promised that if we did, we would have WiFi in our room, pool area, restaurants etc. This did not happened, we paid for nothing the service was still very bad only in the room we had service coming in and out. Also the room that we stayed at the AC was leaking water, we reported but nothing was fixed. Other than that everything else was great.


1 of 1 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Bronx. NY
Age: 19-24
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

March 30, 2017

Lovely hotel, but unfortunately we had issues with our room. Neither the safe or phones worked. The air conditioning would not adjust temperature and the blower never turned off. The front desk service was not welcoming. The food was fine and the wait staff excellent. The grounds were beautiful but get out there early to save your chairs/cabanas. We will probably try another hotel next time we visit Aruba.


1 of 2 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Lancaster, OH
Age: 55-64
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

January 20, 2017
The good And the bad

The bad Staff just randomly trying to enter our room in the middle of the night, mentioning that they thought no one was in the room...strange!! Slow service throughout from drinks to food People putting towels on the beach chairs to reserve before 6am and then no one shows up to the "reserved" chairs until 10am or later Raw food and under cooked while at the hibachi restaurant and it wasn't sushi The good The seafood restaurant was excellent, Italian was good, hibachi Boi performed greatly but his cooking was not so good Heavy pouring of alcohol which was good at times if you wanted a quick buzz Beaches were great if you could get a palapala before 6am Pool bar is good but service at times was no existent Staff was friendly for the most part Good place to relax


1 of 3 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
2.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
2.0
User Image

From: Boston, MA
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year