All

Barcelo Aruba Reviews

Caribbean | Aruba Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 11 Reviews
Value
 
3.8
Service
 
4.3
Beaches & Pools
 
4.7
Dining Options
 
3.6
Room Comfort
 
4.2
4.2 out of 5
"My only complaint was there were free amenities that we were not made aware of and found out the last day" – Kcham
9 out of 12 (75%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.

All Barcelo Aruba Customer Reviews

1-10 of 11 reviews. Sort by
February 26, 2017
My Dream Vacation

I had never been to Aruba until last week (Feb.19-25), but had always dreamed of staying at an all inclusive resort on an island where I could swim, enjoy the sun, relax, and feel safe all at the same time. I found this at the Barcelo Aruba resort. We enjoyed our room which was always clean every day (and has a stocked refrigerator with complimentary drinks!) and the pool with the swim up bar along with the option to enjoy the cool breezes under the many straw huts located along the white sand ocean beach....it was just what I had always envisioned as being my Dream Vacation! There area all kinds of activities for all age levels (if you go, check out their daily newsletters) and the people there are SO kind and helpful. Be sure to take plenty of sunscreen...like 2-3 bottles. The sun is VERY intense (you are close to the equator) and you can burn very quickly. They do offer complimentary blue mats so you can float in the water in the ocean! There are many water sports also available near the resort. Take some chair clips, too, and a beach towel (even though Barcelo offers complimentary towels) to reserve your spot EARLY in the day wherever you'd like to sit and enjoy the beautiful views/weather! Also, take your insulated mugs with you...the wonderful staff will fill them up with your favorite drink. The main restaurant that offers buffet meals 3x a day has a great variety of food for all appetites.There are also a few specialty restaurants..our favorite was the Japanese restaurant where the food/service/peaceful setting was amazing! You need to make reservations as soon as you arrive to secure a table..especially if you're there for only a week. We also planned a jeep trip and was able to tour some of the rest of the island...if you get a chance, check out Baby Beach ...on the opposite end of the island from Barcelo (absolutely breathtaking!) and rent some snorkeling equipment. This will be a highlight of your trip! All we can say is that we can't wait to return to the Barcelo in Aruba!..Great memories/wonderful people/terrific sun and fun in the water!!


6 of 6 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Bartlett, IL
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

January 19, 2017
First time trip to Aruba!

This was our first trip to Aruba and our overall opinion of the Barcelo hotel was very good. It is not a large hotel but it was definitely neat & clean. It does not have a casino in the hotel but that did not bother us. The service we received was exceptional! We enjoyed the Italian restaurant and the Japanese restaurant. We enjoyed walking on the beach every morning and of course water aerobics in the afternoon. We would recommend this hotel to our friends.

First time trip to Aruba!
2 of 3 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: New Jersey
Age: 55-64

February 9, 2017
Awesome trip

My only complaint was there were free amenities that we were not made aware of and found out the last day


1 of 1 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Long Island new york
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

February 21, 2017
Barcelo Aruba review

Barcelo was a nice all inclusive with great service. The only complaint that my husband and I had would be the room. We thought we were getting a king sized bed with a pool view but when we checked in we actually where given 2 double beds and a view of the back parking lot. When I asked the front desk about this they said the bed and view are not garenteed if you book online. This was a little upsetting because this was our honeymoon vacation. We where put on a cancellation list but were told that it was slim chances because there was a 52 room family coming in the next day. For the inconvenience we were give 2 wifi passwords which I also thought was included but I guess not. The passwords worked in the lobby and in our room so that was nice. The food was ok but we contemplated going to other restaurants outside the resort but never ended up doing so because we figured why go pay money somewhere else when it is included there. We liked that because we booked with cheap Caribbean we got a $100 discount on our excursions, which were pretty fun. It was a fun vacation besides that and we will definitely will be returning to Aruba but maybe not staying with Barcelo but another all inclusive there.


1 of 1 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Massachusetts
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

January 20, 2017
The good And the bad

The bad Staff just randomly trying to enter our room in the middle of the night, mentioning that they thought no one was in the room...strange!! Slow service throughout from drinks to food People putting towels on the beach chairs to reserve before 6am and then no one shows up to the "reserved" chairs until 10am or later Raw food and under cooked while at the hibachi restaurant and it wasn't sushi The good The seafood restaurant was excellent, Italian was good, hibachi Boi performed greatly but his cooking was not so good Heavy pouring of alcohol which was good at times if you wanted a quick buzz Beaches were great if you could get a palapala before 6am Pool bar is good but service at times was no existent Staff was friendly for the most part Good place to relax


1 of 3 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
2.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
2.0
User Image

From: Boston, MA
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

February 6, 2017
Great Experience

The resort was clean and beautiful. Although the beach bar was gone the addition of wait staff on the beach more than made up for it. The staff was friendly and very helpful. The rooms were well stocked with refreshments. The food was very good and readily available. Only downside was the lack of huts on the beach. Many are pre reserved by time share holders limiting the opportunity for many other guests to enjoy the beach with shade. I would suggest having umbrellas for those guests to use as an option when no huts are available. Overall was a great resort and I would definitely stay there again!


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Windsor, Ontario
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

February 20, 2017
Barcelo has gotten better since it took over.

Our overall experience was great! Barcelo made some significant improvements since it took over the Occidental with all of its amenities. The beds are of superior quality and comfort. The service on the 9th floor restaurant was perfect. George and the rest of the restaurant staff were always courteous and accommodating to our needs. Across from the restaurant is Sandra and her staff which was very helpful setting up our reservations and making sure we always had what we needed. The beach is amazing. Long strip of sand which you can walk to either side without any vendor disruptions. The water is beautiful turquoise with some areas that had little seaweed but very clean. Alex and Clara at the beach bar were great with their service and making you feel welcome each time as if you were part of the family. We did a few of the restaurants but the one that really stood out was Kyoto. It stood out over the others by leaps and bounds all around. Kudos to Barcelo and its team for making our family vacation and fun and relaxing one!


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Aberdeen, NJ
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

March 5, 2017
Somewhat disappointed

I expected that a resort hotel room at a five-star hotel would feature a large sitting area, a scenic balcony and a hot tub. What a disappointment. This hotel room had none of the above. Instead, it felt just like a roadside Holiday Inn. The balcony was so tiny, you could not even take three lateral steps from left to right, or even one single step outward. That balcony was supposed to be "ocean front". Well, sure, I know the ocean must have been out there somewhere, but I sure as heck couldn't see it. The food was average, with limitations on the number of items that could be ordered at a single seating, an upcharge for lobster, and otherwise miniscule portion sizes. After dining at one of their restaurants, I usually was still hungry and had to wander over to the buffet to eat whatever scraps were left there at that hour of the evening. The nighttime entertainment featured talented acrobats and dancers, but they were lip-synching all the songs and even the dialog. The swimming pool was OK, and once you hit the beach and forgot about the resort, the trip was pretty fun.


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
2.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
2.0
User Image
Top 500 Contributor
From: Silver Spring, MD
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

March 6, 2017

Enjoyed our stay immensely, except for a few things. On arrival they gave us probably one worse views from a room they have, but gave us a room change the next day with spectacular views and sunsets. Made reservations for 2 of the restaurants for outside dining days in advance and we're told no seats were available when we arrived. Other than that we had a great time. Staff was always helpful and friendly. Wish we were still there. Such a beautiful place.


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Sandusky ohio
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

March 17, 2017
Will not go back

Spent 5 nights there. Resort was nice enough, beach and weather were beautiful. Food was nothing to rave about. Bar drinks not great either. Had to go and "mark" chairs and shade before breakfast since there was not enough tiki huts on the beach to accommodate everyone. Staff and service were good......very happy with that


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Indiana
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year