All

Arenal Lodge Reviews

Central America | Costa Rica-Arenal Volcano/Monteverde Area Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 17 Reviews
Value
 
4.5
Service
 
4.7
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.6
Room Comfort
 
4.1
4.4 out of 5
"The place is beautiful.... Beautiful view of the volcano from your room.... Staff was friendly.... Nice place to get away and relax" – Samsam0313
19 out of 21 (90%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.

All Arenal Lodge Customer Reviews

1-10 of 17 reviews. Sort by
September 13, 2015
Arenal Lodge Experiance

When they say tucked away in a Costa Rican rainforest they are not kidding. Rough ride up the mountain. The view of the volcano was amazing, however there is no lake view. We stayed there for a week. Didn't think the town would be that far away, and the place would be so deserted and quiet. If you are looking for quiet get away that is great, but for a family trip with kids- it's rough. The restaurant has limited menu ( food was good), and the only activity at the lodge was the pool and billiard table. The sauna is not usable and it has not been for quite some time. Playground consists of 2 swings. Not much to do on a rainy day or otherwise. The entire place needs a major do over. Having a car while staying there is a big plus, as the lodge does not offer any shuttle service to the closest area attractions, such us: La Fortuna, lake, hot springs. The staff was very accommodating and friendly, but still the place was lacking liveliness


25 of 25 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 2
Value
 
2.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
2.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
2.0
User Image

From: New York
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

May 12, 2014
Rustic Charm

The Arenal Lodge was a very relaxing hotel. It is tucked away off the road and really relaxing. You wake up in the morning to the delightful sounds of birds, insects, and monkeys. No city noises whatsoever! The beds are very firm so be prepared if you are used to a soft mattress, other than that the rooms have a rustic charm that reminds you of being in a log cabin. The restaurant has limited selections and all other food is a $30.00 taxi ride into the town. I would suggest that you bring snacks if you plan to stay on property. I has horseback riding and hiking trails around the property along with a butterfly house. Animals can be seen everywhere you look. There is a tour desk in the hotel if you plan to do excursions and Jessina is wonderful!! I look forward to going back to this hotel again.

Rustic Charm
19 of 19 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Atlanta, GA
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

February 29, 2016
Best Vacation yet!

My friend and I travel together each yr to a different destination. To date this trip was far the best! Arenal Lodge was beautiful the view was so grand cant even put into words! Price of this trip also amazing. Go on the ATV tour with Power Wheels in La Fotuna they are awesome and very friendly and great guides. Hanging Bridges was also beautiful. Boat ride down Cold River seeing holler monkeys white faced monkeys and numerous birds and caimans. The complete trip was awesome! Love Love Loved it!!!!

Best Vacation yet! Best Vacation yet!
17 of 17 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Missouri
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

May 15, 2014
Paradise

The Arenal Lodge was fabulous! We went the first week in May 2014. This is the beginning of the rainy season. There were passing showers but nothing to keep us from enjoying our stay. Food was good, breakfast free every day. Do get out to the local towns to enjoy their food. Roads were not bad at all, except they are not as wide as in the USA. You do have to drive careful& be alert for motorcycles etc. Loved the wildlife, birds, rainforest, volcano view! The area was peaceful because it was not high season for tourist. Our ONLY complaint was on our last day in Costa Rica, we lost our credit card in a small village and we had problems checking out at their front desk. The person was absolutely no help to us and even though he had our credit card number, he could not punch in the numbers to make it work! 2 1/2 hours of pure stress to get things straightened out! Moral of the story, have a back up emergency credit card just in case! Yes, I would go back to the Arenal Lodge and use CheapCaribbean.com!


12 of 13 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Minnesota
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

June 17, 2014
AMAZING!!

This was mine and my husbands first time in Costa Rica. We stayed in a junior suite. The view from our balcony was beyond anything we expected. Everyone at the lodge was very friendly and helpful in every way possible. The food and drinks were great and reasonably priced. The pool and juccuzis were great. There were also great trails to explore some with great photo opportunities. I would highly recommend the lodge. I hope we have the opportunity to go back someday.


11 of 12 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: texas
Age: 25-34

January 2, 2017
Damp rooms!

The staff could not have been nicer, and the views were incredible. This restaurant was good, and the wait staff was very friendly. However, the lodge is remote, and it gets dark there early in December. So, in order to avoid driving up a narrow, steep mountain in the dark, most people return early to the lodge. It would be nice to have another possible food option or even if they could add a bar menu. Also, entertainment would be a nice addition. The biggest problem is the rooms. Since you are in the rain forest, everything is damp. The sheets are damp when you get in bed, the towels are damp, clothes don't dry (and it rains every day; so, you get wet). Most rooms do not have air conditioning. I suggest that they consider putting dehumidifiers in the rooms and providing dryers for guest use. If you decide to go, I would say two nights is about the max that you will want to stay there. After that, the dampness will become a bit overwhelming.


15 of 18 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
2.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
1.0
User Image
Top 500 Contributor
From: Tampa, FL
Age: 45-54
Travel: 7+ trips/year

April 12, 2016
A real get-a-way

The hotel and the land was beautiful. The staff were all very helpful for my needs. I wasn't really sure what to expect before I go there, the hotel definitely has an older feel and is far from the town. As a person who did not have their own transportation, made it difficult to get around. That only gave me more reason to make friends. My biggest issue probably is the comfortability of the bed. For me it was too firm, so I practically slept on the fluffy pillows. Due to the area the lodge is located, I often found bugs in my room, likely as a result from leaving my door open. Luckily, they didn't seem too dangerous, mostly just beetles. I was able to get them out of the room safely. The lodge only has wifi in the lobby. This encouraged me to spend more time out of my room, socializing or actually relaxing, spending time in nature, instead of watching Netflix or browsing the internet. All in all i'd tell my friend to stay there if they were to visit La Fortuna.


6 of 7 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Seattle
Age: 19-24
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

September 22, 2016
What a wonderful trip we had!

Costa Rica overall was an amazing experience! but the Arenal Lodge made it that much more special. We stayed in the chalet which it had the most magical view ever. The people there were very helpful and nice. We did not want to leave. If you want a place away from the tourist places then stay here! You will love it. My husband and I are coming back for sure. The low season is the best time to visit for us.


3 of 3 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Milwaukee, WI
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

September 9, 2014
Bang for your buck!

The place is beautiful.... Beautiful view of the volcano from your room.... Staff was friendly.... Nice place to get away and relax

Bang for your buck! Bang for your buck!
6 of 9 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Florida
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

May 31, 2017
beutiful place with amazing frounds and views

could not have been happier. the place is amazing and customer service is wonderful. will stay here again. the road to the hotel after you pass the guard is long, a little rough and scary in the dark with the hairpin turns. Just know this and your stay will be awesome... I suppose this drive is part of what makes it so amazing!!


2 of 2 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: chicago
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year