All

Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort Reviews

Caribbean | Aruba Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 22 Reviews
Value
 
4.5
Service
 
4.8
Beaches & Pools
 
4.9
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.3
4.7 out of 5
"Couldnt have asked for a better resort or experience! Get the all inclusive package and your in for the best time of your life" – derek
24 out of 25 (96%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Living area Master Bedroom

All Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort Customer Reviews

1-10 of 22 reviews. Sort by
July 31, 2010
Great place

AMBR is a great place. I took my then girlfriend there for a 5 night, 6 day stay in Aug. of 2009 and proposed to her on the beach at Passions (their restaurant). The rooms are clean and comfortable for the most part. I thought the couch in our suite could have been more comfy, but we didn't spend a lot of time there anyway. We were usually sleeping or out doing things around the island. Also, there is no tub in the bathroom, only a shower. It was nice enough, but didn't have a door on it and was kind of small, so the floor usually ended up puddled by the end of shower time. The wi-fi internet didn't really work, but they have several desktop computers you can use. It's not like you should be spending a lot of time on the computer anyway! Some people will say that walking across the road to Eagle beach is a big deal, but it's really not. It's a small two-lane road. There's considerable traffic, it's not a back road, but it wasn't hard or dangerous to cross and road noise didn't bother us in our room nor on the beach. The beach is pristine, nice palapas to lounge under which is a must because it gets hot quickly in the Aruban sun. We also enjoyed the beach bar. Overall, I would definitely go back. It provides a boutique hotel experience and is set on one of the nicest beaches you'll ever find.


23 of 25 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: NC
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

April 21, 2012
Great Trip

My trip went off well, I had never booked a trip like this and Cheap Caribbean did great. Everything was perfect, from the resort to the air travel and transportation to and from the airport in Aruba. I will defiantly use them again.. The Amsterdam Manor was the nicest place I have stayed. Was very clean, the pools was nice the bar and Mangos was great. The staff were very nice! After the first night the bed was a bit hard. I spoke to the front desk in the morning and my that evening they had placed a very nice cushie pad on the bed and it made it perfect. Very good service!! The suite I was in was very nice, it was clean and well kept. The resort is very quiet in the evening which is nice and you are 5 minutes from the High-rise are and 10 from the capital. I took the bus all over only $2.50 for a round trip ticket. The other nice thing was the resort was always making improvements but you hardly noticed it. This is good because it says they care and want the customer to enjoy their experience. I will absolutely stay there next year The beach was perfect and again the resort took care of everything regarding towels and chairs at the beach and there are very nice thatch canopies with tables to use on the beach.

Great Trip Great Trip
10 of 10 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Virginia
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

May 23, 2011
Amsterdam Manor Jetblue & Amigo Car Rental

Great place, great location, good vibe - had L-4 at the end near the road--ground floor. Felt like your own little apt w back terrace. Easy to the pool, easy to park right out on the street and quickly get to this unit. Beach, awesome. Usually had to get a palapa toward the back--no big deal at all. Staff, excellent. Pretty clean place. Dont forget sunblock from home its $20 for a little bottle in the conv. shop there! Ouch. I guess you get burned either way on that deal, lol. Used Amigo car rental. Went ok, Ford Edge, beat as usual with most Aruba car rentals but no issues. Jetblue out of Boston---easy quick ride---coming home 1 hour delay, than an hour and a half in the plane due to a maint issue? Thats life I guess. All in all--reall good deal, good place - good trip!


5 of 5 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: NH
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

January 4, 2012

The Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort was a very nice hotel. We would definitely stay there again. Eagle beach was beautiful.


5 of 5 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Oakdale, New York
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

December 19, 2011
Disappointed

This was our third stay at the Amsterdam Manor. When we checked in, we were told by the staff not to adjust the thermostat in the room. The reason it would cause condensation in the room. If the room was too cold, to call, and they would send blankets. I did not think too much about, because I am hot natured. The room was so cold, that after the first night, we requested to be moved to another room. The staff informed they could not move us until 3 nights later, (arrived on 12/2/11, moved on 12/5/11). I felt like we could tolerate a few nights, so we agreed. The second night, we had a cold room, and a luke warm shower. The third night we had a cold room, and an ice cold shower. After the 3rd night, I was so upset, that I demanded we be moved. They finally did move us, (initially told us they had no rooms), but, the category was higher, so the next day, which would have been 12/5/11, they moved us out of the higher category to the lower category room. The interesting part, we spoke with a young couple from Holland, who arrived around the same time as we did, and they were asked if they wanted a room upgrade???? All the while we are freezing in this room. I doubt we will go back, because, this is not what I expect out of this category of hotel.


8 of 9 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
2.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
1.0
User Image

From: Newburgh, IN
Age: 45-54
Travel: 7+ trips/year

January 23, 2012
Great Vacation spot

The Amsterdam Manor as a great place for our Aruba vacation. The staff were very friendly and helpful. This is a much better option than staying in one of the big, corporate resorts. Very quiet and peaceful but a short bus ride to 'the action'. The bus is very convenient and inexpensive and takes you anywhere you would want to go. Being across the street from the beach rather than on the beach is not an issue. Our only issue with the 'comfort' section of the review was that the couch wasn't all that comfortabel to sit on.


8 of 9 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Staunton, Virginia
Age: 55-64
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

January 13, 2013
Fantastic beach and service, all inclusive???

Beach is phenomenal. People who work there are outstanding. The food is terrific. Those are the really good parts Now for the not so good. I was really disappointed to find out that the "all inclusive" option we purchased required us to pay an additional $15 per person to dine at the Passions restaurant on the beach. Also, there are some additional charges for somethings such as if you choose to have lobster with your dinner. You also pay extra if you order a bottle of wine or champagne, but I guess I can understand that. The other thing that really gets me is the watered down drinks.Yes, it does include all drinks, house and premium brands, but I assure you these are not "full strength" in the alcohol department. I find this type of thing deceptive and have a large problem with it.


7 of 8 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Connecticut
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

June 2, 2012
Beautiful Resort & Beach

When we attempted to check in our room wasn't ready. Check in was at 4pm & we arrived at 4:45pm. We had to wait until 5:30pm to check in. When we got to our room it had just been painted & the paint fumes were so strong I had a headache after 5 minutes. When we told the front desk clerk we could not stay in that room because of the fumes he said he didn't have anything else. I insisted that he had to find us another room. He went into "the back" & came out & said "a lady was moving but not checking out but that room would not be ready until 6:30pm or 7pm." That statement didn't even make any sense. I was so upset & he did not act concerned AT ALL. We came back around 6:30pm & the room was ready. It was very nice & the rest of our vacation was extremely nice. All the resort employees were extremely nice EXCEPT the front desk clerk. We had stayed at this resort 2 years ago & everything was perfect. That's why I was so disappointed with my experience with this front desk clerk. If I go back I will email the concierge before we arrive to clarify what type of room we will be staying in & make sure we can check in on time & not 3 hours later.


10 of 14 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Newnan, Georgia
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

July 19, 2011
amazing!

Couldnt have asked for a better resort or experience! Get the all inclusive package and your in for the best time of your life


3 of 3 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: portsmouth,va
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

July 3, 2011

Aruba is nice and Amsterdam Manor is not bad for the price. However, you have to travel a little to have better and more economical choices for dining. But do not let that deter you, the bus system is good and the rental cars are very reasonable. Also, the crime rate was nil. My wife and I walked to places late night without a worry.


2 of 2 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Atlanta, GA
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year