All

Amaryllis Beach Resort Reviews

Caribbean | Barbados Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 36 Reviews
Value
 
4.3
Service
 
4.2
Beaches & Pools
 
4.3
Dining Options
 
3.4
Room Comfort
 
4.0
4.2 out of 5
"This is a very nice resort, with a gorgeous beach. One of the most memorable assets of the hotel is the lady who books the tours. She was delightful, knowledgeable and very helpful." – atravelbug
40 out of 45 (89%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
swim to freedom At the beach bar eatin' fishcakes Amaryllis beach front PARADISE Reggie on the Beach Crane Beach - we were the only two people there Picture perfect! Beautiful sunsets

All Amaryllis Beach Resort Customer Reviews

1-10 of 36 reviews. Sort by
May 26, 2011
Stop & See JoyAnn for your Activities!

The staff is outstanding. Should you have a chance stop off to see JoyAnn the actiivities coordinator. She planned several outting for us and we had a BALL!! She made reservations for dinner, arranges tranpsortation to and from the events and provided us with the best scuba, fishing and Jewelry options! When Joyann learned we were looking for a particular tyoe of male wedding band for my daughters finance - and we could not make it to the Jewelers - Joy Ann had the Jewelers bring their goods to the hotel for a private viewing & we found what we wanted!! The Hotel is wonderful, well maintained, and well staff. We wanted for nothing and we met people from all over the world!! We enjoyed the Managers Cocktail hours and Mom won a prize! How great was that! Food was great if you like local West Indian cooking and other local resturants near by offer more American food if you desire. Best price was on Cheap Caribbean, these prices even beat the hotel Rack prices. GO TO AND VISIT!! IT is wonderful!!

Stop & See JoyAnn for your Activities!
8 of 8 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Hempstead, NY
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

May 24, 2013
Overall a good experience

Our stay at the Amaryllis was pretty good, and just returned 2 days ago (5/21/13). We requested an ocean view room (212) but the view was obstructed with a palm tree right in front of the balcony. The room smelled pretty bad too and it was small with a weird layout. I called down to the front desk and politely requested another room and had to wait a few hours for it to be ready. The room they gave us (215) was bigger, with a better view, bigger bathroom, nicer layout and we were very happy. The bathrooms were a little dated, and didn't have an exhaust fan. The shower water took a little time to get warm, but nothing worth complaining about. This is a 3-star resort and anyone that complains should spend more on a 4-star. As the other reviewers warned, the Almond Tree Restaurant at the hotel was not good. We ate there the first night and the food was just aweful. The 2nd night we ate at 39 Steps and it was fantastic. Overall, the restaurants were a little expensive. We also ate at Blakey's and Pisces, both of which were excellent, with great desserts. Chefettes was good for fast food if that suits you. We tried the Almond Tree for the buffet breakfast which was good with an omelet station. However, it cost about $100 ($50 U.S.) for two. The gift shop had some snacks and drinks which we made use of throughout our stay, however it closes around 5 or 6. The beach at the Amaryllis was calm and beautiful. The barriers kept the big waves from crashing but the smooth rocks on the floor of the beach (under the water) were not pleasant. The rocks were non-existent after reaching about 4-5 feet of water depth. There were always beach chairs available and only a few people in the water. We took a walk to Accra Beach, about 1/2 mile to the east, which had no rocks but the waves were bigger. The pools at the Amaryllis were good and not crowded at all. The large one had a deep end and was separated into 3 areas for all levels of swimmers. The jacuzzi was large and could probably fit 12 people but not as warm as I had hoped. There is also a slot machine parlor on the property that was fun as well as a small sports bar which went out of the way to put the requested sport on the big screen tv for me. The gym was good with treadmills and dumbbells. One thing that I realized after the first day was the people at the front desk were very helpful and friendly. They helped arrange day trips to Harrison Caves and a Catamaran cruise to snorkle with giant sea turtles. I recommend both. Overall we enjoyed our stay and loved the island and the friendly locals.


8 of 8 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: New York Metropolitan area
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

February 6, 2012
Amaryllis -- great loaction

We spent our first vacation in Barbados at the Amaryllis and enjoyed every minute. The hotel is well located, not to close or to far from Bridgetown. (The first day, we walked the distance comfortably.) The rest of the time, we took the local cabs and buses, cheap, safe, and easy transport. The beach was very nice, and the hoel restaurants were good. Other very nice beaches are a short walk in either direction, and the best (in my life) seafood was at Oistins, a short bus ride down the road. The rooms were clean and accommodating. We always prefer the ocean-view rooms, and enjoyed the balcony for breakfast and general hanging out. The wild birds are real beggars! And we did see one mongoose on the grounds. Quite a surprise, but benign –and as I gather, easily taken for a rat. Will we go back to Barados? Oh, ys. And to the Amaryllis – very likely, indeed.


6 of 6 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Champaign, IL
Age: 55-64
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

December 11, 2012
Too short a vacation

Our vacation was too short!! It should of been for at least two weeks. By the time we got settled it was time to come back home. The accommodations were great, clean and roomy. The beach was lovely. We enjoyed just relaxing on the beach listening to the ocean sounds and birds chirping in the trees. The service was excellent. Anything we wanted but didn't have was provided if we asked. The meals were delicious. The staff was very helpful and friendly. We are looking forward to returning to the island in the future.


6 of 6 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Vidalia, ga
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

November 27, 2012
Kind of dissapointed

We selected this hotel because a friend was meeting us there and their travel agent recommended this hotel. The hotel is situated in an area where there are no eateries nearby. It is on a steep hill that leads to the main road and the traffic on the road is truly hectic. The outer appearance is nice, but you can see where it is dated. Our room was large, but very old. If you decide to select this hotel, please ask for a room w/a kitchen. We did and were lucky. Our travel companions selected a room w/o a kitchen and it was small as a jail cell. Our bathroom was sub par with rusted fixtures, a nasty shower head and moldy tub. The kitchen had dirty dishes. We were disappointed there wasn't a tour desk. We had to find out about tourist spots on our own and then the staff wasn't knowledgeable about the spots we asked about. We asked how to get to certain locations and no one seemed to know how to get there, the prices, or the best travel method (taxi, bus, or those crazy vans that cram a dozen or more people in them at once). The beach view at the hotel was lovely, but the hotel did not offer any water sports or activities. Lastly, DO NOT PURCHASE AN INCLUSIVE PACKAGE!! The food at the hotel is terrible. How can breakfast, lunch AND dinner service be so awful? We ended up going out to eat and overpay for food (after overpaying for a taxi ride to the food). I'm sorry, but I can not recommend this hotel to anyone.


8 of 9 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 2
Value
 
2.0
Service
 
2.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Philadelphia, PA
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

August 11, 2011
An eye opener

The hotel grounds were well kept. The rooms definately need to be updated. We upgraded to a oceanview room which turned out to be a wise choice. We came to see the caribbean not stare at the courtyard. The restruant food was very good had 3 nights of different buffets, caribbean, seafood & bar b que. The beach was wonderful, white sand, lounge chairs and a tropical breeze.This is the breeding grounds for the hawk bill turtles and there is a snorkle trip that takes you out to swim with them. However I was not expecting the vegrants that came on the beach everyday after the police guards left a 5:00pm . They try to sell you massages, foot pedicures(if thats what you want to call it) hand made jewelery(so they say, I no I've seen at department stores) or just come right out and ask for money. You kept a watchful eye on your belongings while you are in the water. We would highly recommend an island tour. The Harrison cave was awesom. .


4 of 4 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
2.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Portland, OR
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

September 20, 2010
great place tp stay on a great island

totally enjoyed the Amaryllis, and expect to return soon. Great location, nice hotel, with beautiful grounds. Great service, wonderful time there - our fourth time on Barbados, great place to go.


3 of 3 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: New Hampshire
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

July 30, 2011

All in all--I enjoyed my stay at Amaryllis. We were greeted with a rum punch as we waited for about 15 mins for our room. The only thing I would suggest is that they put air freshners in their lobby as it had a moldy sent as you entered. The activities desk is full of info and there is a convenience store in the lobby and sovenir shop. Our stay was too short as we didn't get to go over to the game room. Also, when it rained and it didquite heavy, it was hard to walk in the pathway as it got flooded. The maid service was good.The beach is right there as they said, but it has a lot of rocks. We did not eat at the restraurant so no comment there. Staff is quite friendly and helpful--kudos to Rodney and Suzette. Other than that quite a beautiful place to stay.


3 of 3 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: ny
Age: 45-54

July 31, 2010
good but be careful!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Good resort with excellent breakfast. Dinner good too. Room was excellent. We had a room with ocean view and kitchen. There was a little store there with all needs. It was great. WE had a problem with the pool. We got burned by chemicals. The management would do nothing but call a taxi for to go to clinic.They changed after we got back as the doctor put in writing our burns were caused by chemicals in pool. They then paid for treatment,taxi, Perscriptions,and gave us some meals for free. We caught a baby turtle and took it to the ocean. The beach was very nice and quiet. Excellent area and good resort.

good but be careful!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
2 of 2 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Jacuba, Brazil
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

January 28, 2011
Not what we expected

I have used Cheap Caribbean previously and been very pleased. This resort didn't seem to meet my expectations:( Dining was so-so, the activities center was staffed by the same people who manned the desk for registration for the majority of the time, the pool was only marginal, no premium liquor at the beach bar, work-out room was average at best and the elevator didn't work when it was time to lug the 44# suitcase down to the lobby! I loved Barbados but will visit another resort on the next trip.


2 of 2 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
2.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
2.0
User Image

From: Lafayette, IN
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year