All

Almond Beach Resort Reviews

Caribbean | Barbados Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 45 Reviews
Value
 
3.8
Service
 
3.8
Beaches & Pools
 
3.9
Dining Options
 
3.5
Room Comfort
 
3.3
3.7 out of 5
"Great place for a family vac. Great value for the price. Lots to do without leaving the resort. Will be back next year with the family and grandkids." – OCM1803
40 out of 55 (73%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
here we are! Sunset at Almond Beach had to be there! No filter! View from our room crystal clear water the water really is that color View from the room view from our favorite spot on the beach

All Almond Beach Resort Customer Reviews

1-10 of 45 reviews. Sort by
December 28, 2010
Incredible Time!

I had some reservations about booking this resort after seeing some of the reviews, but our experience was really wonderful. Almond Beach Village is a true caribbean experience; we were greeted with a rum punch and kind words by the staff after our long journey. Lucinda was gracious and informative and helped us to settle in to the resort. We spent every day on the beach, and took the Rum Tour, as well as two days on the Jammin Hobi Cat snorkling with the turtles and free diving on shipwrecks. Michelle helped us book the tours, and we were able to enjoy the variety and beauty of the island, as well as the bajun culture. The food was good, with enough variation for all of us, and the staff was gracious, and very helpful. Our rooms were typical caribbean, with a nice deck and our own bird pal, who visited us every morning. The beach staff was great and we took the Hobi Cats out nearly every day, and snorkled right off the beach a couple of times. Our family trip included my husband, two grown daughters and myself, and we all voted it as the best family vacation so far. I would go back in a heartbeat, and hope to soon. Almond Beach Village is big enough to not feel crowded, beautifully landscaped, and the beach is wonderful!


13 of 13 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: San Luis Obispo, CA
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

January 28, 2012
Well worthwhile!

We spent 11 days at the resort and had a very pleasant stay. Staff was very friendly and accommodating. I was looking forward to all the fresh fruit such as mangoes & papayas but was told it was out of season. Oddly enough it wasn't out of season at the fruit market so I made a point of purchasing some. The free shuttle provided was excellent. We traveled between the three resorts often and enjoyed all three. It was great having the diversity. Our room was located on the third floor above Tommy's Bar. Nice location, at times could be noisy but the resort in general quieted down at 11 pm. The bathroom was very small and could've used a bit more space and ventilation. Reservations were required for all the dinners which initially seemed like a fuss but we quickly learned that it wasn't a fuss at all. You could book all at once, individually or however you wanted and it didn't matter where you booked. So if you found one restaurant to be your favorite, you could book there every night. One very refreshing feature was NOT having to race out and "reserve" a beach lounge chair with a towel at the crack of dawn. Regardless of the time of day, there was plenty of nice lounge chairs available. Lastly, I always felt safe and very comfortable at the resorts and venturing throughout Barbados.


12 of 12 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: St. Pt., WI
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

March 21, 2012
A Truly Excellent Vacation

We had a truly "Excellent" vacation. However, when I separate the "Products" I can't give anything an "Excellent." For example, it's hard for me to assess "Value" because we went over Presidents' Week and it appears as if Jet Blue went to town with that--though it's hard to tell exactly because all I really know is the "package price" and a few fares I saw on the Jet Blue website (which leads me to blame the airline, not the hotel, for the high cost). As for "Service," we really wanted 2 adjoining rooms, but since I didn't go for the "family suite," which I think would have guaranteed us 2 adjoining rooms, the 4 of us ended up on different floors--and that was kind of a drag. We were willing to move but there was nothing available for at least 4 or 5 nights into our 8-night stay, so we gave up trying. In addition, we were put into a part of the resort to which the loud nightly entertainment came through with way too much gusto until it stopped—promptly at 11 PM, which is a little late when you’re traveling with a child. (With a 4½ -year-old in our party, you'd have thought they'd have placed us differently.) The "Beach" was terrific. Period. The "& Pools" were very nice, with a seemingly endless number of them—In a lot of nooks and crannies, which really gives this resort a roomy and luxurious feel. But the large kiddie/family pools were not cleaned particularly well—there was always a film on them, likely from sun block, but a bit disconcerting. As for "Dining," I would have liked more buffet options, and a little less difficulty getting reservations, but there was one restaurant—the Reef—that had a decent buffet (great pizza!) each afternoon and night, and proved to be a lifesaver. The "Room" was a standard size, with a king bed that in one of the rooms could be split into 2 twins--but in the other, we were stuck with a king. All this being said, all four of us—ranging from age 4½ to 80—had a truly wonderful time, and I would highly recommend this island—with its beautiful beaches, sea, sunsets, weather and people—and this particular hotel.

the water really is that color view from our favorite spot on the beach
12 of 12 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: White Plains, NY
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

June 7, 2011
Barbados

I've traveled throughout the Caribbean and I would rate the Almond Beach Village as the worst. Several of the restaurant ran out of food and we often waited an extended periods of time for our meals to be served, not to mention ALL the resort restaurant closed at 9:30 PM. I've never been to an all inclusive resort where you are unable to get food after 9:30, which was an issue b/c our flight did not arrive into Barbados until 9:30 so we were unable to eat the first night. I would also like to mention that the beach bar ran out items to make drinks daily. The resort is badly in need of updating, the rooms were down right terrible. Outside of the beach, this resort has terrible and would not recommend this resort to anyone.


9 of 9 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 2
Value
 
2.0
Service
 
2.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
1.0
User Image

From: Chicago
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

July 12, 2016
Excellent Trip for an Excellent Price

We stayed at the Almond resort from July 3-9, 2016 and had an excellent time. Staff were very friendly and willing to help and offered to go out of their way multiple times. Food was excellent!!! Best we've ever had on any of the 21 Caribbean islands we've visited. Excursions were offered at no extra cost and were perfect (we swam with the turtles and took the island safari tour). We ventured off the resort alone and felt safe at all times. Private taxi service to/from the airport was provided. We stayed in an ocean front room near one of the many pools and close to the only pool bar. It was so nice to have a good air conditioner to keep the room ice cold to come back to after days in the hot sun. Rooms were made up every day very nicely. We recommend this resort to anyone!


9 of 9 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Indiana
Age: 35-44
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

March 22, 2016
Dannielle's 40th Paradise Escape

My wife and I just spent the past 5 days at Almond Beach. We absolutely loved the resort. The all inclusive was what we needed. We didn't need to pull out our wallet for anything. The food was very good and the drinks were even better. Every day was a great day. I think the most outstanding part of the resort is the staff. Most (not all) are extremely friendly and do whatever they can to help. I was ok with the room, but my wife thought it was a bit outdated. But we did not spend much time in our room. We spent just about every moment by the bar, pool and ocean. It's somewhat of a long drive from the airport (45 minutes), but it's what we needed. We were away from the hustle and bustle of life. It was a very relaxing and fun visit for us. The included excursions were a bonus. We swam with the turtles and did the Island Safari tour. One word of advice, book your excursions the moment you arrive. We waited until the day after we arrived and a few of them were full. We have been to several caribbean islands and I would rate this as one of our best trips to date.


8 of 8 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Mendon, MA
Age: 55-64
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

April 6, 2016
Was Optimistic but had a Tough Start

Unfortunately we didn't have the greatest beginning at the Almond Beach Resort. We were hungry upon arrival and we were strongly encouraged to sit and wait at the front of the resort with the welcome punch for about 30 to 45 minutes. Then we were given 2 rooms in the new section of the resort for my husband and I and my husband's mom and our two sons. The room for my husband's mom and our 2 sons had a strong sewage smell at the entrance. We went to find something to eat and then to try to move rooms to not have the poor smell. Unfortunately we were told that from 5 to 6:30 pm there are no snacks being served so we would have to wait (time was 5:02 pm or so). I was quite upset and voiced my opinion. About 30 minutes later we received four hot ham and cheese sandwiches with french fries. We were thankful.. We were also moved to rooms on the 3rd and 4th floors in section 7. These rooms were much better than the initial ones on the 1st floor. Overall the service in the restaurants and bars was extremely subpar unless you tipped the bartender or waitress and then service would improve dramatically. The pools looked nice but we spent our time on the beach. The beach is beautiful but rocky. Snorkeling was good on the hotel beach and sea turtles could be seen each evening. The fitness center was adequate but lacking enough cardio equipment during peak hours. The grounds of the resort were nice. The rooms were large but in need of some repair but definitely adequate. The service in the Guest Services Center was excellent. We requested a driver/tour guide for dinner one night and half of the next day and our driver was outstanding. The country of Barbados is beautiful and I strongly recommend exploring the entire island as we think the East (Atlantic) side is amazing. I would pay more and stay at a resort that is a little nicer and hopefully with better overall service.


7 of 7 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
2.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: North Carolina
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

September 2, 2016
Time of our lives!

My husband and I booked this trip to get away from the stress for a while. This resort has the best views you will ever see, picture perfect! There is so much to do, sadly we didn't not get to do much because of the unpredictable weather. We were unable to see the reefs on the bottomless boat nor snorkel with the turtles. It was a big disappointment went we were not told about the cancellations, we found out when it was time for our events. The food was good, there's a lot of variety. The drinks were also amazing, even though it seemed like the poured half the bottle into them. Over all it was a wonderful experience!

No filter! View from our room
7 of 7 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: New York
Age: 19-24
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

August 7, 2010
Great Value

This was our first all-inclusive experience. It couldn't have been better. The staff was friendly and helpful. The orientation the morning after our arrival was very informative so don't skip it. There was a great selection of on-site of activities that were included with our package. We were disappointed that there wasn't a spa at any of the pools and all of the pools closed at 10:00 p.m. The room was small but comfortable and adequate. We particularly enjoyed having a private balcony. If you get a chance, make an appointment for the massage. It was the best ever. Side trips are reasonable and there are many from which to choose. Transportation to and from the resort entrance and bag lunches provided by the resort make these excursions convenient and hassle-free.


6 of 6 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: New York State
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

September 28, 2011
Worth it!

ABV was my first stay at an all inclusive resort and my first time in the Carribbean. The food was really good, good variety of restaurants, and the free cooking class was fun! The negatives were: -This resort is not in the "happening" area of Barbados so if you are looking for nightlife look in the other side! -The bed seemed like 2 twins pushed together, but was still comfertable. There was also a bug or two in the room. -Nightclub on the resort had a good DJ, but its pretty dead and no one was really dancing. -Vendors on beach are pesty!!! Say No firmly and they'll leave you alone. We were also disappointed that there was no jaccuzi or swim up bar. This resort is still well worth the price. Food is good, staff is great, excursions are really good!!


6 of 6 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Windsor Locks, CT
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

+ Vacation Packages
+ All-Inclusive Deals
+ Hotels
+ Destinations