All

Allegro Cozumel Reviews

Mexico | Mexico - Cozumel Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 106 Reviews
Value
 
3.7
Service
 
3.7
Beaches & Pools
 
4.1
Dining Options
 
2.7
Room Comfort
 
3.0
3.4 out of 5
"The guys on the beach were great. Taught us to operate a Hobie Craft and sailboard. The food was ok, but not great. Service was very good." – granton5
73 out of 120 (61%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Beautiful Sunsets Sunrise Small shower w rust Enjoying the beach The Yucatan is within sight of the resorts beach! Great Diving ceiling on the upper level rooms Bed Fuji night beautiful beach Sunset at the Allegro Cozumel

All Allegro Cozumel Customer Reviews

1-10 of 106 reviews. Sort by
March 26, 2012
Had fun but wouldn't go back!

This was our tenth all inclusive resort and definitely our least favorite. I will hit on the main points... *The Room: Room style is very neat, we had a top floor room with a thatched roof and had no problems with rain or leaking as other people stated. However, the walls do not completely touch the ceiling so its like you are in the room with the people beside you also. You can hear EVERYTHING.. and I mean EVERYTHING. The beds were so hard we had a hard time sleeping in them even with the foam placed over the mattress. The maids did a great job cleaning but we noticed that items were missing out of both our rooms by the end of the trip. We were told that they were checking the laundry for them.. never heard back. The Hammocks on each balcony area were a very nice touch! *The Food: The food here was our least favorite out of any resort we have been to. The Buffets at night were awful! The Oriental and Mexican restaurants were much better but they only allow 2 reservations per week stay at those. Breakfast was the best time to eat there, it was pretty average compared to what I have seen before. I did not like that you had to wait in line to be seated at every buffet (approximately 10-15 min wait all the time). *The beach: was the best part! Water was the clearest I have ever seen! We did a lot of snorkeling and swimming. Spend most of our time there. Beach bar was nice but always a wait for drinks as well. *The pool: The pool was average, not very crowded. A little cloudy and cold. The Resort was Small and Relaxing. Staff was friendly and helpful overall but I feel like they were a bit understaffed. We had fun but I wouldn't recommend this resort to others.


30 of 35 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 2
Value
 
2.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
2.0
User Image

From: West Middlesex, PA
Age: 19-24
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

July 19, 2011
Beach and food comments

Beach and pools are excellent Food is bland and tasteless. Drinks are watered down The beds are like rocks, even after another egg crate a day, we could not sleep well. The staff really tried to solve the problems, and really meant well, but were dealing some other problems The shrubs are so butchered, that there are no tropical flowers. Everything is squared off.what few flowers were left , the maids picked for the daily decoration on your towel. Cute, but would be better for everyone to see lots of flowers than one in every room........and none left in the resort grounds to see. great kids pool and kids areas this website will not let me say what I really think


7 of 7 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 2
Value
 
2.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
1.0
User Image

From: Dallas, Texas
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

May 20, 2017
Well Deserved Vacation!

1st - My experience with ordering the vacation package with my travel buddy via CheapCaribbean was excellent. And it was fantastic that we could individually purchase using our separate credit cards, even though the package was for two. 2nd - Re: the Resort. I have to admit, for the price we paid, I was really skeptical of just what "Cheap Caribbean" was getting us into. I kept joking that we might be sleeping in a hammock outside for five days, lol. But, I was truly pleasantly surprised when we arrived. I read numerous reviews beforehand, and several mentioned that the resort had been recently renovated - and this was indeed the case. The main lobby/hall is quintessential Caribbean, open (i.e., no doors) and airy. And the design was contemporary, clean and with an island touch of the thatched roof(s). The overall resort reminds me of a residential development in Florida (I used to live in Fort Lauderdale). Stucco buildings, low-rise. We had a standard room and it was great. Similar to a Residential Inn/Hampton Inn-level room. Tiled floors, fluffy comfy bed, contemporary furniture, A/C, sink in the room and modern tiled shower with glass door and rain shower fixture (really loved that!). Each room has a patio (or deck) with a personal hammock - loved that too. The resort campus is large, but not obnoxiously so. And they had plenty of amenities/things to do, like tennis courts, volleyball, giant-sized chess, game room, etc. The kiddie-pool is huge with water slides and wading level water. Two other large pools were great for adults or families. Our biggest decision making was between "pool or beach". The "private" beach was great and the water in Cozumel, beautiful. The sunsets are gorgeous too (remember to wear bug repellent at night!). They also have two souvenir stores, one by the main lobby and another in a hut by the children's playground, which also includes ceramic painting. We really enjoyed that activity. We each purchased ceramics to paint, painted them, then they were glazed by the assistant there (Sebastiana) and ready the next morning. Our food and drinks (including alcohol) were all-inclusive, which was wonderful. Having the food/drinks and entertainment/amenities all-inclusive, reminded me of a cruise ship. Overall, the main dining options for breakfast, lunch or dinner had plenty of variety and catered to western tastes. The only thing I wished they had were more options for non-pork eaters, like turkey sausage or bacon for breakfast! Otherwise, the drinks were great. We were definitely a bit buzzed from breakfast/mid-day on, lol. Pina Coladas, Mojitos and a drink called the Isabella, were delicious. One other caveat - not necessarily the resort's fault, but the drinks on the island, including canned soda (and perhaps this is true of Mexico in general), often contained sucralose (or Splenda) - which I hate. However, the canned Pepsi doesn't contain sucralose. Also, the resort includes several separate dining room options for dinner that you can go to via "reservations". The food/drinks are still free, but they have different restaurant themes - Italian, Mexican and Asian. The resort also has evening entertainment/performances by, I assume, local performers. One night they had a "light" show at their stage/theater, which was actually quite good. Another night, a Caribbean dance performance - Copacabana style. And they have a really nice "disco" room. My vacation was 5-days, 4-nights - and having not been to Mexico before, I wanted to see more of the island and the mainland, so I signed up for three separate excursions - which I enjoyed. But, honestly, if you just want to relax, swim, sit by the beach, drink and eat - you'd be just fine staying in the resort. Also, all of the resort staff were very kind, gracious, helpful and responsive. Overall, I had a wonderful stay (and I got to practice my Spanish too!). Oh! One more thing - CheapCaribbean advises that tips aren't necessary, but some people do (we did). Budget to leave a $1 (approx. 20 pesos) or so after meals or at the bar and something for the person who cleans your room.


7 of 7 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Washington, DC
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

July 30, 2013
Met our expectations

First, let me start with...if you're anything like me, you have been reading all the reviews since you booked your stay at Allegro. Now let me tell you a little about us... We wanted to take a much needed vacation without breaking the bank and we did exactly that! My husband wanted to do some diving and I wanted to relax on the beach. Our daughter wanted to play in the sand and snorkel! We all got to do exactly what we wanted to do!! We weren't there to hang out in our room, we just needed a clean room to shower and sleep in...we got exactly that! We didn't go on vacation to gain weight so we all found something we liked to keep us fueled!! Is Allegro a 5 star resort? No. But they don't claim to be either. The rooms are a bit dated but met our needs. The food isn't gourmet but again, met our needs. The beach was amazing, the staff very friendly and accommodating, the diving was excellent (according to my husband) and my 8 year old daughter became an expert snorkler!! We all got what we went for. This was our first all inclusive so we would like to try another sometime. Bottom line, would we go back? Absolutely!


15 of 19 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Las Vegas, nV
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

August 14, 2011
Great place to dive!

Biggest bang for your buck, if your a scuba diver. The resort is 5 minutes from the best reefs. The beach is awesome. Pro Dive is a great dive shop. The only negatives were the food could have been better and the walls in our room were too thin, could here everything next door. But I always found something to fill my belly! A small price to pay for world class diving for so cheap! If you have to have good food every meal stay at the grand instead for 500 dollars more, your choice! But the diving is worth any inconveniences experienced! I would recommend this resort and use it again, absolutely!


5 of 5 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: McDonald, ohio
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

January 19, 2017
Great Vacation Experience

I had a fun and relaxing vacation at the Allegro Cozumel. We located Hector, the Cheap Caribbean rep on the curb in front of the airport. He drove us to our hotel, dropping other visitors at resorts along the way. He was at the courtesy desk at the hotel every morning and was very helpful and personable. The resort has something for everyone. The grounds are beautifully maintained. There are 3 pools. There is one main restaurant which has a wide variety of food selections with multiple food bars.. It is not fine dining but it is good and the wait staff is attentive. The woman who cooked eggs and omelets on the grill at the back of the room was efficient and very sweet. There is a beach bar-b-que every day with hamburgers and chicken or pork chops or you can eat inside at the restaurant by the pool. The rooms are small but you only go there to sleep anyway. There is maid service daily. There is strict security and I always felt that I and my belongings were safe and secure. There are several bars. There was a drink of the day such as a Bahama Mama or Pina Colada and they can make any drink you ask for. There is a beautiful beach with chairs and a waiter who will bring you drinks when you get too relaxed to get up and get them yourself. There is a sandy white beach and large swimming area. There is music, games and activities in the afternoon if you are feeling energetic. You can use the kayaks and hobie cats everyday. There is a dock where we were picked up by Palancar Divers. The resort is perfectly located near most of the impressive dive sites that Cozumel has to offer. This was a perfect vacation for me. Hats off to Cheap Caribbean and representative Hector, The Allegro resort and staff and Palancar Diverr! Just a reminder: read all of you documents and bring a copy with you. Make sure to let your Cheap Caribbean rep know when you are leaving and make arrangements for your return transfer to the airport on the day you arrive or the next day.


12 of 17 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Asheville,NC
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

August 14, 2014
What the site doesn't tell or show you!

Last year I came to Cozumel for my birthday and fell in love with the island! My stay at the Cozumeleno was top notch and really set the bar. Naturally I decided to come back again for my birthday and this time i brought my family. From the pictures I saw online I thought that the Allegro would be even better than the Cozumeleno, BOY WAS I WRONG! I won't bore you with all of the details, but let's just say that my family and I ended up moving to the Occidental Allegro Grand resort due to our horrible experience and the Allegro not being nothing like what we saw in the pictures online. We were definitely catfished and hopefully the below things that "they" don't tell/show you online, will help you make an informed decision. What they don't tell you.... 1-WIFI is not free. Not because they don't have it, BUT because it's $81 for the week AND you can only access the wifi from the lobby or the beach. Sounds crazy right in 2014? Not only do you have to pay for a service that you can get free at many resturaunts/bars downtown, you can't even use the WIFI in your room. 2-This resort is one of the oldest resorts on the island and is very out dated. While the landscape is nice, don't let that trick you. The rooms and facility are VERY OUTDATED. 3-The Rooms- VERY DISSAPOINTING. There are hammocks in front of your room which were a nice touch, but it would help if they weren't dirty and cleaned for each guest. The full size beds are on cement blocks (yes! cement blocks) and the linenes are cheap. Sleeping in the bed felt like I was at hotel Bedrock! The tile in the bathroom had rust and i'm hoping it was not mold. Don't pay extra for the safe! The safe was completely covered in rust and had extensive water damage. The shelves that are there to store your clothes reminded me of a book shelf. The dresser that the tv sits on didn't even have drawers. When you open it, it's an open hollow space, which I thought was weird. The front door doesn't close all the way which allowed for bugs to crawl in. There were ants and spiders crawling in the shower and on the ceiling. The air conditioning didn't work. The air is supposed to come on when there is movement, but that's not the case. The tv doesn't work. While it's a given that it won't be top quality, you should be able to at least see the picture. 4-Bars/Pool/Food -It appeared as though they were heavily understaffed as it took about 10-15 minutes to get a drink. There weren't a lot of bar areas which was dissapointing and made it inconvenient walking and waiting to get a drink. The bar by the pool/beach closed really early, like 8p. The food was okay. It's rediculous that you are limited to 1 reservation at the specialty resturant for every 3 nights that you stay. When in Cozumel, I really don't come for the pools, but i did notice that the jacuzzi was filled with sand. Cozumel is an amazing place with great beaches, great locals, a lot of fun affordable activities and amazing for snorkeling. While this wasn't the way that I wanted my family to experience Cozumel, i'm glad to say that they still enjoyed the island. In fact my parents loved it so much, they joined the vacation club through Sunscape NOT Occidental and we will not be staying at the Allegro again......EVER. The things that I didn't like may not matter to you and you may see them as non-important things (totally fine). I encourage you to read a lot of reviews and look at the guest photos. I wish I would've prior to booking this trip.

Bed Small shower w rust
7 of 9 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 1
Value
 
1.0
Service
 
2.0
Beaches & Pools
 
2.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
1.0
User Image

From: Bay Area, CA
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

April 5, 2016
Allegro Cozumel Not as It Appears

Just arrived back from our trip to Allegro Cozumel. A bit of feedback; a great dive shop at the Allegro Cozumel, terrible accommodations. I would rate our room as worse than a Motel 6. See below for why. The food was pretty awful too. I wouldn’t recommend it to anyone unless they wanted a great dive shop to dive with and want all you can eat & all you can drink. And 3 pools, including a kiddie pool. The crowd is pretty drunk by mid afternoon, so not a great place for kids at least that time of the year when Canadians & Midwesterners appear to flee the winter snow. The beach is beautiful & you can always get a lounge chair, which was useful. It was too hot for us to lie at the beach, so that didn’t matter to us. The night time entertainment was pretty bad; we had to leave because the sound levels were excessive. A few things to know: • Our room smelled like sewage 2 of the nights—the facilities are old and they seem to have some sewage issues. I called to fix it, but it returned. • The fan in our room made a constant licking sound. They fixed it, but the sound kept returning. • You had to have the fan on because the room smelled of mold. You couldn’t open the windows because they didn’t have screens & the mosquitos would eat you alive. • There was no hot water or water pressure. Taking a shower was difficult. • No wifi—you have to pay exorbitant rates for any access. Something I should have checked out more closely; we were off the grid the entire week (which is not necessarily a bad thing.) The resort has a special area for time share people and dive people (Ultimate Dive Experience). I wonder if your people stayed in those accommodations; they could have been more upscale. They only thing that really saved us was the great dive shop on the property.


3 of 3 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 2
Value
 
2.0
Service
 
2.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
1.0
User Image

From: california
Age: 45-54

June 27, 2016
Great place to swim

Sea water for swimming was perfect, swimming pools had good range for different activities . We love to swim. We enjoyed it very much . Only one problem was conditions of the room. It was too warm all the time, the odor of old palm leaves, which you see as a sealing was too strong. We supposed to have "supreme room," which I thought was very ordinary and quite dirty instead.These are some rooms updated and have good conditioners, but we were told we need to pay $25 per person per day or even $75 . Those surprises don't make your stay more comfortable. Plus they say there is "wifi in the lobby.." . You need to pay $ 11 per hour or $21 per day, which I didn't expect . If they will be more clear about their charges before you come to this" all inclusive deal, " it will be wonderful.


3 of 3 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: El Paso,tx
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

July 24, 2016
Just not worth it.

Rooms are not what they appear . Non working a/c, mold, water leaking from vents. All pools close at 8 p.m. Food was fair. Be ready for the time share people at check in. Could go on and on. Bottom line spend a little more for a better place.


3 of 3 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 2
Value
 
2.0
Service
 
1.0
Beaches & Pools
 
2.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
1.0
User Image

From: Houston
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

+ Vacation Packages
+ All-Inclusive Deals
+ Hotels
+ Destinations