All

Alexandra Resort Reviews

Caribbean | Turks & Caicos Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 23 Reviews
Value
 
4.2
Service
 
4.5
Beaches & Pools
 
4.6
Dining Options
 
4.1
Room Comfort
 
4.4
4.4 out of 5
"We loved the Alexandra Resort. It's not the swankiest resort on the island, but it is a great value. The resort staff is very friendly and helpful. We had a wonderful stay." – cavs23
23 out of 27 (85%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Alexandria Resort on Grace Bay Beach The Alexandria Resort Pool

All Alexandra Resort Customer Reviews

1-10 of 23 reviews. Sort by
July 26, 2011
Relax in the Turks and Caicos

If your looking for crystal clear Blue water and a beautiful beach this is the Island for you.. Its laid back atmosphere along with its friendly Island folk make it enjoyable.. The Alexandria Resort is a medium size resort which is very clean and well run. Our room for 2 was a little on the small side but it also came with a washer dryer and kitchette which came in handy, the bed was great and the flat panel tv was a plus.. The food was exceptional, fresh fish, escargo, and conch fritters as well as conch soup at the hotel restraunt "Mango Reef" we will definetly be going back here.. you can also walk 5 minutes down the beach to another great place to eat called " Bay Bistro " Best of all it was only a 3 hour direct flight from JFK airport NYC and you will be relaxing on Grace Bay Beach in no time..

Alexandria Resort on Grace Bay Beach The Alexandria Resort Pool
22 of 22 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: NYC
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

July 15, 2011
Turks vacation

The Alexandra Resort was a excellent place to stay. The guest services were outstanding and super nice. The food at the Mango Reef was delicious and resonably priced. We had dinner at a couple of the other resorts but they were not as good. The setting is more casual at the Mango Reef but the food makes up for the atmosphere. We booked a snorkel trip through Caicos Dream Tours while we were there. The ocean is crystal clear. I've never seen such beautiful water. The crew inboard were very informative and go the extra mile to ensure everyone had a fun time. Also, we chartered a deep sea fishing trip through Catch the Wave. I shopped around and they had the best price by far. We did a 4 hour trip and caught 2 nice black fin tuna. Marlin are in season but no luck catching one of them. Overall it was a 5 star trip. The island is safe and friendly. We had no worries walking around site seeing.


7 of 7 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Dayton, OH
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

April 19, 2016
Vacation ruined

How would you feel if you reached your hotel looking forward to your most needed vacation, only to find out that your reservation has been lost due to a "glitch in the system"? (exact words used) This is what happened to us when we got to the Alexandra Resort. The guest services manager told us that she is "truly very sorry" but she had to downgrade us to the only available room in the resort because our reservation was nowhere to be found and we had ended up on a waiting list. She initially insinuated that it is the reseller's fault (cheap caribbean) and suggested we should always book directly with the hotels. Later, when I insisted we call cheap caribbean on the spot, she accepted responsibility for the mistake. It gets worse. Her way of making it up to us was by offering a free dinner at the hotel restaurant. At check out, when I pointed out that if she had any management class, she should not charge us for any room incidentals, she turned annoyed to the receptionist and said: "you know what? Go ahead, refund them"! Throughout our stay, she never came to us with a gesture to show she really meant was she said with actions - not just words. WE had to go to her and ask about the status of things. I don't remember a worse attitude from a hotel executive, supposedly trained in "hospitality management". Other than that, the staff were mostly very nice and polite. The food was decent and the location of the restaurant really great, right on the waterfront. Me and my wife absolutely adore Turks and Caicos and have stayed in 4 hotels, so far. We are never going back to a place that doesn't know how to provide proper customer service and is capable of ruining our vacation. Never again.


8 of 9 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 2
Value
 
2.0
Service
 
2.0
Beaches & Pools
 
2.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
2.0
User Image

From: Manhattan, New York
Age: 35-44
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

October 24, 2011
Amazing Honeymoon

Great food, great customer service, amazing beach, went on off season the resort was very quite, great location!!! Would stay here again!!


6 of 7 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Wisconsin
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

October 20, 2014
not family friendly

This place pictures well, that is all, they sent a car service that almost killed me and my family with reckless driving and they are rude and not accomidating


3 of 3 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 1
Value
 
1.0
Service
 
1.0
Beaches & Pools
 
1.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
1.0
User Image

From: Cary, NC
Age: 35-44
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

June 2, 2014
Fantastic Relaxing Vacation

We just returned from our vacation last night. We stated 5 nights at the Alexandra in a "studio" room. We were surprised by how roomy it was…and VERY happy. I guess we were expecting it to be a bit smaller. The room was beautiful and VERY clean. Huge window/balcony overlooking the pool and a partial view of some oceanl. We left curtains open and the sun woke us up happily in the morning. We had a washer/dryer in closet in room which we def made use of… lounge chairs on balcony and table where we had breakfast from Mango Reef in morning. SO GOOD. Bathroom had stand up shower and was super clean. The bed was extremely comfortable. Sheets were nice and soft. Decor in room was really pretty. They have a DVD player so definitely bring along some favorite movies for night time. We ate at the mango reef which has a really nice selection of food on menu. A lot of fresh food as well as fried fare. Prices for food all over the island are pretty high, but here you get a lot of food for your money. Mango reef deck has a lovely view of ocean and sand. You're really close. Service is great. Yolanda was really nice to us. Very welcoming and very kind. If you want to order drinks on the beach you can or you can go up to the bar and bring drinks back. The resort has towels for you to use every day and a bin to toss them in when you're done right before you leave the beach. Very convenient. There are paddle boars, snorkels, and kayaks that are available for free to use. We got to try everything and had a blast. The water on the beach of Grace Bay is so beautiful and clear. and a short walk gets you some great snorkeling. This is really the type of resort you can just stay at…not worry about having to rent a car or travel around. It's so lovely. You have choice between beautiful pool (very clean) and gorgeous beach. We went to pool a few times (not overly chlorinated which was so nice) but spent most of our time at the beach. BRING A TON OF SUNBLOCK and remember to reapply because sun is insane. :) We had no problem getting lounge chairs on the beach with table and big yellow umbrellas to shade us. We are definitely coming back to Turks and Caicos and will stay at The Alexandra for sure. :)


5 of 7 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: New Jersey
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

March 3, 2013
Nice Property, great beach, great pool & location!

Overall a great solid 3/4 star property! We stayed in a one bedroom oceanview room which had a very good size living room, full kitchen, decent sized bedroom and nice outdoor patio. The beach is beautiful and the hotel has a great pool so the outdoor space is very nice and good location! You can also walk to a variety of other properties if you want to eat dinner out at night and walk up or down the beach to get to some of the other locations. This is more of a time share property than a hotel so if you expect room service, this is not the place for you. If you are however looking for a decent hotel and food shop to use your full kitchen (food is expensive so I would highly encourage a trip to the grocery store)!. The staff is very pleasant and aims to please! Only real criticism is the first impression doesn't "wow" you compared with some of the other hotels as the check in area is very bland. Once you get past that, the property more than makes up for initial bland impression!


2 of 2 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Norwalk, CT
Age: 45-54
Travel: 7+ trips/year

August 10, 2012

Crystal clear waters, really nice staff. Highly recommended staying here.


3 of 5 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Miami, FL
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

November 12, 2012
wonderful and quiet

The trip was excellent in all ways. The beach was spectacular,quiet and beautiful. Probably the best trip to the Caribbean we have ever had.


2 of 3 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Indiana
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

March 8, 2016
Great Value and Good Place

The Alexandra was a great value for the money and actually a really nice place. Our room was the lock off room for I guess is a 2 or 3 room condo/timeshare unit. Upon entering, the room had a small kitchenette, with a microwave, small fridge, sink, coffee maker, all on a granite countertop, it was perfect for our needs. A little further on was our room and it had a King Bed, TV, nice size closet, and was very tastefully decorated. The bathroom was just average in size, but clean and always well stocked with shampoo, conditioner, etc. In fact the room cleaning was spot on and always done on time and thoroughly. Our room had a balcony which was nice and gave you a view of the ocean and the grounds, although it would not be considered ocean front. I did take a peek in the adjoining room and it looked very nice with a full kitchen, living room and a balcony that was ocean front. Outside the grounds were well kept and attractive but not as impressive as other places I have been to. For food there is one restaurant where you can sit inside or outside if the weather is good and the food was very good, well presented and tasty, the service was so so but always friendly, in fact all of the staff were very nice as was everyone on the island with the exception of the staff at the bar in the airport when leaving, lol, To be certain the airport does not offer much in the way of food and beverage and you are relegated to a bar area upstairs that does not have enough seating and pretty ambivalent staff to put it as nicely as I can. I digress....The beach was spectacular, water was clear and at least during my week getting chairs and an umbrella were not a problem. You can walk for miles and it's beautiful and clean. The lobby personnel were fine, however not much going on there, but you can buy water, candy, pretzels and print your boarding passes. Oh yeah there is an outdoor bar and it was fine, it was not a real hot spot but the booze was fine and did its job. The pool was real nice and there was a swim up bar but I don't think it's staffed always and did not appear to be when I was there. A cab ride to the strip (you can walk it) it's about 20 minutes, was $10 and everywhere I went the cabs were about $10 to $12 a ride. Colvin was my cabby of choice as he was a real nice guy and very knowledgeable about the island and the restaurants. The food everywhere was great and my wife and I really enjoyed the infinity bar at the Grace Bay Resort, where we had dinner, its outside and very unique and beautiful, if you can go, and take in the sunset while there. All in all I thought the Alexandra was great for the price and very good overall, I would go back in a minute if I could, Cheap Caribbean's price was excellent by the way.

Great Value and Good Place Great Value and Good Place
1 of 1 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Long Island NY
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year